Arizona Administrative Register
Notices of Proposed Rulemaking

NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

Unless exempted by AR.S. § 41-1995, each agency shall begin the rulemaking process by 1st filing a Notice of Proposed Rule-
making, cotitaining the preamble and the full text of the rules, with the Secretary of State’s Office. The Secretary of State shall
publish the notice along with the Preamble and the full text in the next available issue of the Arizona Administrative Register.

Under the Administrative Procedure Act (A.R.S. § 41-1001 ef seq.}, an agency must allow at least 30 days to elapse after the pub-
lication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Register before beginning any proceedings for adoption, amendment, or
repeal of any rule. AR.S. §§ 41-1013 and 41-1022.

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 12. NATURAL RESOURCES

CHAPTER 4. GAME AND FISH COMMISSION

PREAMBLE
1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
R12-4-102 Amend
R12-4-114 ~ Amend
R12-4-203 New Section
R12-4-218 Repeal
R12-4-309 Amend
RIiz-4-310 New Section
R12-4-422 Repeat
R12-4-422 New Section . ,
R12-4-501 Amend
- R12-4-502 Amend . T
R12-4-503 Amend
R12-4-505 Amend
R12-4-510 Amend
Ri12-4-517 Amend

2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the autherizing statute (general) and the statutes the rules are
implementing (specific):
Authorizing statute: AR.S. § 17-231(A)(1) is the Commission's general rulemaking authority for Title 17, and AR.S. § 5-
311(AX(1) is the Commission's general rulemaking authority for Title 5. -

implementing statutes:A.R.S § 17-333 for R12-4-102, R12-4-203, and R12-4-218;

‘ ARS. § 17-332 for R12-4-114;
ARS. § 17-102 for R12-4-309;
ARS. § 17-331 for R12-4-310;
ARS. § 17-238 for R12-4-422;
ARS. § 5-301 for R12-4-501;
A RS §§ 5-321(A), 5-391(A), and 3-311(AX3) for R12-4-502;
ARS. § 5-321 for R12-4-503;
AR.S. § 5-311 (A)(5) for R12-4-303, R12-4-510, and R12-4-317.

3. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:

Name: Susan L. Alandar, Administrative Services Manager
Address: Game and Fish Department DOAS
222% West Greenway Road
Phoenix, Arizona 835023-4399
Telephone: (602) 789-3289 '
Fax: (602)789-3299

4.  Anexplanation of the rule, including the agency's reasons for initiating the rule:
- Ri2-4-102

" R12-4-102 establishes fees for licenses, tags, stamps, and permits. It is proposed to: reduce the nonresident guide license fee to be
the same as the resident guide license fee; and to extend to nonresident youths the special fee of $18 for a Class F license which
was recently adopted by the Commission for resident youths.
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Nonresident Guide License Fee Reduction. The 1994 Arizona Legislature amended A.R.S. § 17-362 to remove a long-standing
prohibition against licensing nonresidents as guides. The Department supported this bill, which was proposed as a result of a court
ruling that invalidated that prohibition. The bill also amended A.R.S. § 17-333(A)(22) to add authorization for a fee of up to $500
for a nonresident guide lcense. The Game and Fish Commission adopted rulemaking which became effective December 16, 1994,
establishing the fee at $500. The ceiling amount of $500 was adopted in order for the new fee to remain consistent with other non-
resident fees for licenses and permits, which are set at an average ratio of 3:1.

However, nonresident guides have since questioned the legality of the $500 fee. The Department's legal counsel found that courts
have recently held that less favorable treatment by the state toward nonresidents runs afoul of the Privileges and Immunities
Clause if the activity involved is "sufficiently basic to the livelihood of the nation" as to fall within the purview of the clause, and
"it is not closely related to the advancement of a substantial state interest.” Carlson v. State, 798 P.2d 1269 (Alaska 1990).

Professional gniding in Arizona is a commerciai operation upon which people depend for their livelihoods, A R.S. § 17-101 (AX9),
and is entitled to the protection of the Privileges and Immunities Clause. Therefore, the discriminatory nonresident guide fee must
demonstrate a sufficiently close connection to a legitimate state purpose to be valid.

The Game and Fish Department is unable at this time to establish a legitimate interest or "peculiar source of evil at which the state

* is aimed," Hicklin v. Orbeck, 98 S. Ct. 2482 (1978), created by nonresident guides which requires a $500 fee. See Powell v. Daily,

712 P.2d 356 (Wyoming 1986).

Class F License Nonresident Youth Fee Reduction. At its meeting in August 1993, the Commission adopted an amendment to
this rule to modify the fees that are assessed for the sale of certain licenses. The effective date for the implementation of the new
fees will be January 1, 1997.

One of the licenses that was modified as a result of this action was the Class F resident youth license. It was reduced from $25 to
518

During this rulemaking, the agency discussed a suggestion to also establish a nonresident youth license for the same fee. Since the
original proposed amendment to the rule did not include a consideration for a nonresident youth lcense, to include such a recom-
mendation at the August Commission meeting may have been a substantive change to the proposed rule. It was believed that the
public should have full opportunity to address this proposal. The Department therefore instead prepared this separate proposed
amendment to the rule. The proposed amendment would establish a nonresident youth lcense, also for a fee of $18, effective date
January 1, 1597.

Recent trends in Arizona and other states indicate that the average age of the hunting and fishing public is rising. This means that
we are seeing a decline in the interest in, and recruitment of, the younger members of the population to hunting and fishing activi-
ties.

The Department and Commission are comumitted to developing programs that will encourage and recruit youth to hunting and fish-
ing so they will be encouraged to retain their interest and participation in these activities when they become adults, It is necessary
to continue to recruit the younger generations in order to provide for the long-term management of wildlife.

The Commission established the Class F resident youth license to help meet this objective. It is hoped this will serve as an incen-
tive to the youth and their parents to encourage their participation in these activities. This is 2 major program commitment by the
Commission to strive to develop hunters and anglers who will have a longer interest in the participation of hunting and fishing.

The Commission feels that the residency of youth should not be a limiting factor in the Commission's desire to recruit younger
hunters and anglers.

The Class F license is authorized by A.R.S. § 17-333(A)8) with a ceiling of $32 for residents and $135.50 for nonresidents. The
fees implemented within R12-4-102 includes 2. $2 surcharge authorized by AR.S. § 17-345. No change in the surcharge is
ingluded in the proposal.

R12-4-114

It is proposed that this rule be amended to reserve 10% of available hunt permit-tags for each hunt number for ek, buffalo, bighom
sheep, and antelope for persons and groups who have bonus points.

Background: "The Drawing." The Department uses a random selection process, generally known as "the drawing", to equitably
apportion available tags among hunters when demand exceeds supply.

The Game and Fish Commission annuaily reviews wildlife management statistics and input from the public and, by "Commission
order,” establishes seasons during which wildlife may be taken. (Commission orders are exempted from rulemaking pursuant to
ARS. § 41-1005(AN2). Open seasons are for a stated time period, in a specific area, and for a specific "legal animal" (as
described in the Commission order.) Many of these seasons are further restricted to the "method of take" which may be used
(authority for this is established by rule.) As part of this process, based upon wildlife management requirements, the Commission
may determine whether only a limited number of "legal animals" may be taken during an open season, and if so, how many. The
Commission Order then designates the number of "hunt permits" to be made available to the public for that season, and assigns a

"hunt number” to that season to differentiate it from areas and seasons where this restriction does not apply.

The drawing becomes necessary because there are more persons wishing to hunt a particular species in 4 particular area by a par-
ticutar method of take than there are available hunt permits for that species. The drawing is intended to ensure that this limited
number of tags (known as "hunt permit-tags"} is distributed fairly. R12-4-114(C) prescribes how the drawing is to be conducted.
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Bonus Point System. Until March 1, 1991, hunt permit-tags were awarded on a "straight" random drawing system, wherein each
applicant for a particular hunt number had exactly the same statistical probability of being drawn as every other applicant for that
hunt number. Before the computer age, "the drawing” was a social event where hunters gathered to see if their name would be
among those manually drawn from the big, hand-rolled cage.

However, Arizone's human population has grown greatly since those days. In 1989, during the review of the Commission's rules
on the drawing, it was decided to look for ways 1o help the frustrated hunter who applies hopefully each year for a big game tag,
but who is all too frequently unsuccessful, since certain tags must be limited while the number of hapeful hunters is not.

The Department studied different types of drawing systems (including "waiting periods” and "prefetence points” which are used
by other states), and surveyed and talked to many hunters, and afier a rulemaking process with much public involvement, adopted
R12-4-107 to implement the "bonus point system"” for 4 of the most popular big game species. This system has basically 2 require-
ments in order to participate: 1st, you must have 2 hunting license at the time you apply in the drawing (since the intent s to reward
those who have faithfully supported wildlife management) and 2nd, you must submit 2 valid application in the drawing, Each time
a person meets those requirements, and is not successful in being drawn, that person accumulates a bonus point for that genus.
Each bonus point accumulated grants that person an extra "entry” in the drawing the next time they apply.

This system was chosen over other systems because, while it rewards those persons who have supported wildlife management and
who have submitted applications regularly, it does not deny others the opportunity to be drawn, Persons who prefer to buy their
license only after being drawn may always have their normal valid entry; also, new hunters...young and old alike...may compete in
the drawing. :

The bonus point system has been successful in meeting its objective of improving the odds for long-term participants, but not suc-
cessful enough for everyene. In September 1993, Dan Westfall and Larry Knipp, 2 avid elk hunters from Glendale, came to the
Commission with a plan to set aside some of the hunt permit-tags just for people with a lot of bonus points. The Commissioners
asked the Department to explore the plan further, and get public comment. As part of this assignment, the Department contracted a
survey by the Behavior Research Center, Inc., of Phoenix. The results of this survey were that 7 out of 10 big game hunters (72%)
believe the bonus point system should be modified to reserve the first 10% of each hunt's permits for those hunters with the great-
est number of bonus points.

The proposed modification to R12-4-114(C) contains this proposal. It should be noted that the proposal could not apply to hunt
numbers for which there are less than 10 hunt permit-tags available.

R12-4-218 and R12-4-203

it is proposed to repeal R12-4-218 (Game Bird Stamp) and replace it with new section Ri2-4-203 (National Harvest Information
Program) which would require that persons taking ducks, geese, doves, band-tailed pigeons, snipe, coots, common moorhen or
blue grouse have evidence of compliance (either an HIP stamp or code number on their license) in possession,

The National Harvest Information Program (HIP) was developed as a cooperative effort between state wildlife agencies and the
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) to obtain more accurate, comparable data on the harvest of migratory game birds. Accu-
rate harvest data is a vital tool for management of wildlife populations. Since migratory game bird populations occur in several
states and countries, data must be collected throughout the annual range of the population. Although all states collect some type of
harvest data, differences in methodology have not allowed compilation of regional or national totals, nor direct comparison. Data
on lightly hunted species is limited,

In order to address this problem, the International Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies recommended implementation of the
HIP. Federal rules have been enacted requiring state participation. Other states began phasing into the program i 1992 (the sched-
ule for state participation is based on the number of migratory game bird hunters within each state) and all states will be partici-
pants in 1998, Arizona is scheduled to enter the program in 1997, which is when this rule will become effective.

The role of each state in the HIP is to collect names, addresses and hunting information from migratory game bird hunters. That
data is then provided to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. The USFWS selects a stratified random sample of hunters based upon
the hunters' responses regarding their hunting activity the previous year. The selected hunters receive a questionnaire on current
harvest by period (month), area (county), and species or group of species harvested. The responses are compiled and statewide
harvest estimates developed. When this information is combined with harvest data from other states and countries (including Can-
ada and Mexico) within the range of any given population, the total harvest pressure on that population can be determined. The
harvest data in conjunction with population survey data will facilitate adjustment of hunting regulations commensurate with popu-
lation status and objectives. Because all states will be collecting comparable data, hunt requiations can also be adjusted to achieve
¢quitable sharing of the resource among the various states, provinces and nations.

In order to implement this program in Arizona, it is proposed to repeal R12-4-218 and adopt new Section R12-4.203, R12-4-218
requires hunters to obtain a "game bird stamp” to validate their hunting license for taking band-tailed pigeons, blue grouse, and/or
pheasant. That rule becomes unnecessary with the enactment of the HIP, since the purpose of the game bird stamp is basically the
same: to collect name and addresses for hunting surveys.

The new rule has been developed to place the least possible burden on the hunting public. It gives them a choice: they can obtain 2

.. "HIP stamp” by filling out a form, or provide the same information by phone and be given a code number to write on the back of
* their license. The form will be available from any office and will be reprinted in the annual "hunt regulations” which are distrib-

uted through license dealers statewide; the telephone number will be contained in the same publication.
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This validation (the stamp or the code number) will be available from July 1 through March 10 each year and will be valid from .
September 1 through March 10 each year. The Migratory Bird Treaty Act prohibits migratory bird seasons between March 10 and
September 1. Making validation available July 1 provides a "window" of 2 months for hunters to validate their licenses prior to the
opening of the first migratory bird season. Many of these seasons cross over calendar years, and even though a hunter will (as
always) have to have a hunting license valid for both calendar years, they will not be required to obtain 2 HIP validations. They
only need to retain their old license with the stamp on it to prove compliance, or transfer their code number to the back of the new
license. Waterfow! hunters are familiar with this process as the same situation exists for waterfowl stamps,

The proposed rule does contain a provision that the HIP stamp or code number will validate a license for band-tailed pigeons only
if the individual indicates the intent to take band-tailed pigeons at the time of application (this will be a question within the appli-
cation process). This requirement is not yet in the federal rule, but is being premulgated, and is expected to become effective in
1997. 1t is necessary because such a small percentage of persons hunt band-tailed pigeons that they need to be "separated” to attain
an adequate survey sample.

The rule would become effective July I, 1997, to begin the st annual cycle under the new Harvest Information Program.
R12-4-309

The purpose of R12-4-309 is to reduce the incidence of "buddywhunting," by closing certain big game hunt areas to all hunters
except those holding the required big game permits. It is important to understand what the term "buddy-hunting" means.

Buddy-hunting is a term used to describe an individual who does not have a big game permit but does accompany a lawfully pes-
mitted hunter and unlawfully participates in the take of wildlife. Buddy-hunting also includes a permitted hunter who shoots more
than 1 animal for the benefit of a party of people. It is taking wildlife and tagging it for another.

Such actions increase the total harvest of the big game resource. The number of permits made available is based upon the Depart-
ment's total desired harvest and the expected factor for the percentage of successful hunters. When the success ratio goes up, the
number of available permits must go down in subsequent years.

The Commission annually establishes hunting season dates and locations by Commission order (Commission orders are lawfuily
exempted from the rulemaking process). The types of seasons ("general”, "archery-only", "muzzieloader”, etc.) are established in
R12-4-318 and the requirements listed in R12-4-318 apply to the seasons opened by Commission order. (For instance, when the
Commission opens an "archery-only” season for elk, only archery equipment may be used to take elk during that season.)

R12-4-309(A)} states that seasons for elk (general, muzzleloader, and archery) and general javelina seasons are closed to all hunters
5 not in possession of a permit for those hunts. This is intended to reduce the number of hunters afield and to reduce the potential for
} ' buddy hunting, - ‘

There are exceptions to subsection (A), however, and the proposed amendment is to the exceptions. It results from a petition for
rule change from the Arizona Bowhunters Association, which the Commission accepted on Aungust 4, 1995,

As currently written, subsection (C)(2) of the rule allows hunting during these elk and javelina seasons by:

Persons holding "special big game license tags” pursuant to AR.S. § 17-346. Only 2 of these tags per big game species may
L be issued each year to nonprofit organizations, who may then seil the tags with the resultant proceeds used for wildlife man-
agement.

Deer or antelope hunters (when the Commission has opened a season for deer or antelope in the same unit as a season for elk

or javelina). People may obtain antelope tags only through the drawing, but archery deer tags may also be purchased "over the
counter.”

The proposed amendments to (C)(2) would result in the following changes:

Deer hunting in these units would be restricted to persons who have an elk or javelina tag or a deer "hunt permit-tag” obtained
through the drawing. "Over the counter” deer tags would no longer be valid in these areas unless the holder also has the elk
or javelina hunt permit-tag. This addresses a concern with overcrowding in the elk units if seasons were to be opened concur-
rently.

Persons with hunt permit-tags for buffalo or bighorn sheep would now be able to hunt in these units when seasons are run
concurrently.

There would be no change for antelope hunters,

The result of these changes is that the Commission would now be able to establish concurrent, or overlapping seasons by Comrmis-

sion order, increasing recreational opportunity for persons with hunt permit-tags while maintaining the restrictive purpose of the
rule. .

R12-4-310

This would be a new Section establishing a free fishing permit for governmental agencies and nonprofit organizations which pro-
... vide rehabilitation and treatment services for persons with disabilities. The permit would allow these agencies and organizations to
provide unlicensed fishing opportunity to persons with physical, developmental, or mental disabilities.
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ARS. § 17-331 prohibits the take of wildiife without a license in possession, except as provided in Title 17 or Commission
"order" (since Commission Orders may only do those things specified within the Administrative Procedure Act as exempted from
rulemaking, an exemption from lcensing requirements must be done by rule, not order.)

The agency is proposing to provide authority for the Commission to establish a free group fishing permit for govemmental agen-
cies or departments and nonprofit organizations which provide rehabilitation and treatment services for individuals with disabili-
ties. The intent is to provide unlicensed fishing opportunity to a segment of the public which currently has great difficulty in
engaging in this recreational activity. Since the rule will require the permittee to provide 1 hour instruction to the participants, the
Department will furnish an outline of the subject matter to dssist the permittee in meeting this requirement,

Current statute provides for a resident youth group 2-day fishing license, as authorized in A.R.S. § 17-333(A)}6). Under this stat-
ute, only nonprofit organizations which sponsor adult supervised activities for groups of juveniles 14 through 17 years of age are
eligible for this license. This license was established primarily for scouting groups, though other groups could be considered under
this license if they meet the age restrictions. Because of the age restrictions, this license provides little practical opportunity for use
by disabled patients and clients of agencies and organizations which provide rehabilitation and treatment services. The age restric-
tion places major constraints since most patients and clients are of all ages.

The agency believes that there is a need to provide fishing recreation opportunities for individuals and groups who are under super-
visory care in rehabilitation and treatment service agencies and organizations. These persons currently do not have the ability to
participate in fishing activities alone, and it would be cost prohibitive for the agencies and organizations to purchase fishing
licenses for these persons, as would be required under current law and rules. :

Several representatives of agencies and nonprofit organizations have contacted the Department requesting that provisions be made
to allow those jurisdictions to conduct free fishing clinics for disabled persons. The intent of the requested clinics would be to pro-
vide a recreational experience for their clients and patients as well as benefit the rehabilitation and treatment objectives of these
organizations.

The proposal would authorize the clinics to take place at any public body of water within the state or on its borders. In waters that
border other states, the Colorado River, individuals would be required to fish from the Arizona shoreline only, unless they pos-
sessed the necessary licenses and permits which allowed them to fish from a boat. Commission rule R12-4-312(A) requires per-
sons fishing from a boat or other floating device on the waters of Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, or the Colorado River forming the
mutual boundary between Arizona and Nevada and Utah, to have an additional permit. Also, A.R.S. § 17-342(A) through (C) has
a similar requirement on the waters between Arizona and California. This situation exists because there is concurrent jurisdiction
by the adjacent states; enforcement officers from ecach of these states, enforce the same law on the water. 1t is not likely that many
of the fishing opportunities authorized by these permits would be conducted in boats because of the potential safety concerns.

R12-4-422

In response to a petition from the Arizona Falconers' Association, the Commission proposes to amend R12-4-422 to preciude issu-
ance of a citation to falconers in the event of inadvertent kill of nontarget wildlife by a raptor. The Section is being repealed and

adopted in more understandable style and format, and provision is also being added to allow capture of raptors by nonresident fal-
COners.

Falconry is defined as the sport of taking quarry by means of a trained raptor (a raptor is a bird of prey). R12-4-422 allows the tra-
ditional practice of falconry while protecting Arizona raptors and complying with federal standards regulating the taking, posses-
sion, and transportation of raptors for the purpose of falconry.

AR.S. § 17-235 requires the Commission to prescribe rules in accordance with the Migratory Bird Treaty Act. Raptors are listed
within 50 CFR 10.13 as migratory birds, Arizona is a participant in the joint federal/state falconry permit system. R12-4-422 is
written to comply with federal law. However, it is being repealed and adopted in clearer form as part of this rulemaking. A cross-
reference between the current rule and the proposed rule is included in the economic impact statement and is available from the
Department. Discussion of proposals:

Inadvertent Take. This amendment of R12-4-422 would be a new provision concering the use of falconry for the take of wild-
life, intended to remove the potential for the issuance of a citation by a law enforcement officer to a falconer whose hunting bird
{raptor) inadvertently kills a species for which there is no season or the season for the species is closed. It is proposed, within new

subsection (M), as the result of a petition from the Arizona's Falconers Association, which the Game and Fish Commission
accepted on August 4, 1995.

Under the current rule, licensed faiconers are responsible for their raptor's kill as though they were the hunter rather than the raptor.
If the raptor inadvertently kills a species that is not in season, or 1 for which there is no season, the licensed falconer may be guilty
of illegal take and subject to receiving a citation from a law enforcement officer,

The falconry rule aliows a hunter (the falconer) to use a method other than a mechanical device to aid in the taking of wildlife for
the hunter. It should be noted that the raptor is under the command of the licensed falconer as a result of training the raptor has
received from the falconer; however, the raptor in not under the direct control of the falconer at the time the bird is released and is
actually engaged in the hunting activity.

*'* The natural hunting instinct of the raptor may result in the accidental killing of a species that is not open to hunting, As a result of
such an incident, the hunter may be held responsible for the action of the raptor, even though the hunter has no direct control of the
bird from the time the bird is released from its tether to engage in the actual hunting endeavor.
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The proposed Tule includes a provision that if the raptor does accidently kill a species that is not legal, the hunter shall leave the
dead wildlife where it lies. Additionally, the bird will have the epportunity to feed upon the dead animal before leaving the site.
The purpose of this is to reinforce the retention of the hunting skill of the raptor by retaining an "award" incentive in the bird.

There are only about 80 licensed falconers in the state of Arizona. Nearly all of the licensed falconers are members of the Arizona
Falconers Association. These individuals are authorized to use their trained raptors to take all small game species as provided in
R12-4-304(B) during the open seasons as authorized by the Commission.

Since there are so few licensed falconers in the state, there is 2 very small percentage of the hunting public engaged is this activity.
The megnitude of hunting pressure created by hunting with raptors is very small when compared with the rest of the hunting pop-
ulation. The result is that the law enforcement effort required to enforce falconry laws is insignificant and the potential of the
officers encountering falconers in the field becanse of the statewide distribution is very small. There have been very few citations
written by the Department for any violations by falconers. There have been no citations written by the Department for any viola-
tions regarding accidental kills of species by raptors.

In order for a person to become a licensed falconer in the State, it is necessary that the individual go through an extensive training
and gqualification program in order to receive the required certification to participate in falconry. This results in a much closer
adherence to rules and statutes than is attributed to the much larger hunting public of Arizona.

There are 34 states that have instituted similar rules that relieve the falconer from liability if it is determined that the killing of pro-
tected or out-of-season species was accidental. There are 7 other states that have informal policies and practices within their wild-
life departments where they treat the accidental kills in the same manner. The Department’s Law Enforcement Branch indicates
that it currently takes a similar perspective and leaves it 1o the discretion of the officer in the field to determine if the kill was inad-
vertent. The majority of the states have, therefore, recognized that it appears to be reasonable to assume that raptors under the
command of license hunters will, from time {o time, inadvertently kill a protected species or kill 2 legal species out of season.
These states acknowledge that the falconer should not be responsible for this kill if the falconer leaves the dead wildlife where it
lies (rnost states) or aliows the raptor to feed upon it.

Take by nonresident falconers. Upon the advice of legal counsel, the provision restricting capture of raptors from the wild to res-
ident falconers is being changed to extend this privilege to nonresidents who are licensed falconers in a state recognized by the U,
S. Fish and Wildlife Service as meeting federal falconry standards. This appears in subsection (J).

The number of raptors captured to date has been limited by 2 factors: (1) the limited number of licensed Arizona falconers, who
are the only persons authorized to capture raptors; and (2} when it is necessary to further restrict harvest of a particular species of
raptor, Commission rule R12-4-114 is implemented, and a limited number of permits are made available, which applicants must
compete for by following the instructions in R12-4-104. This has been done only rarely to protect certain species of raptors.

Adding nonresident falconers to the persons who may capture raptors creates an almost untimited pool of persons who may be tak-
ing raptors. The rule has therefore been written with the following intent and purpose:

(1) A hunt permit-tag (acquired through a drawing) would be required for nonresident falconers to capture any species of
raptor for which there is evidence lo believe would be over-harvested by nonresidents if the number of permits were not
limited. There are specific concemns which apply only to nonresidents; a more detailed explanation follows later.

(2) & would rot require a hunt permit-tag for resident falconers to take the same species of raptor, because of other inher-
ently limiting factors (the number of licensed Arizona falconers and the restrictions on take and replacement within R12-
4-422) which would not result in over-harvest by residents, (To reiterate: currently and in the future, if there is concern
that even limited resident harvest could impact raptor populations, a limited number of permits are set and residents must
compete in a drawing to obtain those permits.)

(3) The rule in effect would establish a pool of permits for nonresidents only - residents would not be competing with non-
residents for these permits. '

Special concerns which apply to nonresident falconers. Arizona currently has 3 species of raptors for which there is a large
demand from falconers. First is the Harris hawk. Harris hawks are only found in the wild in Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona.
They are 1 of the most, if not the most, popular falconry bird. They sell for $400 to $700 when purchased from authorized federal
raptor breeding facilities. Allowing unlimited nonresident take would likely result in levels of harvest that would negatively impact
the wild population.

The next raptor of concern is the Goshawk. Curfently only 3 permits for the capture of Goshawks are available statewide. Gos-
hawk populations throughout the west are under scrutiny and some states do not allow Goshawk harvest for falconry purposes.
Allowing unlimited take by residents or nonresidents would negatively impact the wild population.

Peregrine falcons will also be a concern. They are on the endangered speéies list and currently may not be harvested from the wild,
The listing may be removed in the next couple of years, and harvesting could then become legal. In that event literally bundreds of
falconers could expect to wish to capture them from the wild.

) Other Arizona falconry birds are not that enticing to nonresidents at this time, and permits for take by residents or nonresidents
" ... would probably be unnecessary.
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R12-4-501 and R12-4-502

R12-4-501 contains definitions applicable to the rules within 12 A.A.C. 4, Article 5, Boating and Water Sports. It is proposed to
.amend the definition for "letter of gift" to remove reference to address of previous and new owner.

R12-4-502 establishes application requirements for Arizona watercraft registration. All applicants would be required to surrender
original registration or titling decuments previously issued by any jurisdiction in order to obtain current Arizona registration.
Another provision would prohibit persons from obtaining watercraft registration by providing false information or documentation.

Definition for "letter of gift" in R12-4-501. Defining the necessary contents of a letter of gift is infended to clarify registration
requirements, making the process easier for everyone concerned, However, the current definition results in the requirement that the
watercraft registration applicant provide the address of both the buyer and the seller of the watercraft. This is an unnecessary bur-

den on the applicant. The definition for "bill of sale” does not contain this requirement, and neither should the definition for "letter
of gift."

Proposal to require surrender of all original registration or titling documentation, R12-4-502 establishes the requirements for
applying for an Arizona watercraft registration.

Amendments to the rule would require that an applicant surrender any titling or registration documents previously issued by an
agency of jurisdiction, in order to receive current Arizona registration. Titling and/or registration documents issued by agencies
are considered legal documents of existence and ownership.

Unless all such legal documents are surrendered to the agency of jurisdiction upon application for current registration, these docu-
ments remain “at large” as proof of existence and ownership useless to any individuals except thieves who may wish to use these
documents to "launder" stolen watercraft. Since Arizona (and most other states) does not have the resources to inspect ali water-
craft for which registration is sought, it is possible for a person to falsify or illegally use such docurnents to register a watercraft to
which they dre not the rightful owner, These documents may also be used to defraud an insurance company for a watercraft that
does not exist. The surrender of the original certificates or titles removes these documents from circulation.

Prohibition against false statements or documentation. New language appears in subsection (K) to provide an avenue to prose-
cuie persons that give false information or documentation when attempting to register a watercraft. Currently the only course of
prosecution lies within A.R.S. § 13-2407 (tampering with a public record) and A.R.S. § 13-2704 (unsworn falsification). Enforce-
ment of AR.S. § 5-321 and R12-4-502 pursuant to Title 13 involves several problems: Ist, these statutes involve culpable mental
states for prosecution and are classified as high offenses, (class 6 felony and class 2 misdemeanor); 2nd, many precincts specify
procedural requirements involving a county attorney's office and/or grand jury indictments prior to the filing of charges.

" This new provision would altow for more timely prosecution of violators attempting to provide the department with false informa-
tion, statements or documentation. A violation under this Section would be classified as a class 3 misdemeanor.

R12-4-503

It is proposed to remove the requirement that an applicant submit a notarized form in order to rencw registration garlier than the
15th of the month prior to the month of expiration. This was a new provision in 1992; prior to that time, early registration had not
been allowed. The form was believed necessary because of the staggered registration scheduled authorized by AR.S, § 5-321{01).
Administration of the schedule requires issuance of a variety of decals valid for a period of up to 18 months to the Department's 7
offices which register watercraft. The concern was that allowing early renewals would require handling an even greater variety of
decais with subsequent increase in the chance for confusion and error. The form was intended to provide a tracking device for
internal purposes as well as ensuring the renewal is issued only to the owner. However, the notarized form has proven to be an
unnecessary burden on the owner.

R12-4-505

This rule prohibits registration of a watercraft without a hull identification number (HIN), and specifies when the Department may
assign a HIN to a watercraft. It is proposed to add a provision allowing assignment of a HIN to a watercraft which has had its HIN

fraudulently removed or altered, when the assignment is requested by governmental agencies subsequent to forfeiture proceedings
or civil process.

The 1993 S-year review of this rule resulted jn the following findings:

A "hull identification number” as described in R12-4-501 is required for registration of watercraft as prescribed within R12-
4-502. 33 CFR 181.23 and 181.25 prescribe the number, size, sequence and placement of characters to be included in the hull
identification number. All manufacturers and state jurisdictions are required to comply. The hull identification number {or
"HIN"} is the essential element of watercraft identification, so much so that AR.S. § 5-391(F} makes it a class 6 felony to
fraudulently alter or remove a hull identification number. Assigning an identification number to a watercraft, either by the
manufacturer or the issuing authority, provides for identification of a boat, regardless of state of registration. This is the only
form of identification that stays with the boat from time of manufacture to the end of the life of the hull.

Additionally, the rule provides for manufacturer and governmental error or noncompliance. The rule allows for corrections
that do not result in unfairly penalizing a new watercraft owner who had no responsibility for the error or the noncompliance.
The rule also considers that the Department  must ensure that a missing or improper HIN is not the result of fraud.

The rule does meet its intended objective to provide for the issuance of a unique identification number for each watercrafi, pro-
vides for exemptions, and corrects errors or acts of noncompliance that would render a watercraft unregisterable.
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The Department has discovered a minor omission in subsection () that over-restricts the Department's authority to issue a huil
identification number for a specific and uncommon circumstance. During the investigative process of enforcing A.R.S. § 5-392,
watercraft are seized that have had all identification numbers intentionally removed. These boats are suspected stolen, but because
they cannot be identified, the rightful owner cannot be found. Pursuant to A.R.S. § 13-4305 the boat is forfeited to the seizing
governmental agency. However, the limitations of the rule that guard against replacement of a HIN that has been fraudulently
removed, also prevents a governmental agency from obtaining a HIN to sell unidentifiable forfeited craft at auction.

Due to the overly restrictive language of subsection (B), the department recommends amending the language to allow hull identifi-
cation numbers to be issued to watercraft that have been forfeited to governmental agencies by civil process or court order.

R12-4-519

The current rule allows the Department to issue a refund for the renewal of watercraft registration when the owner has erroneously
paid twice for the same renewal, It is intended as 2 customer service to correct an honest mistake. It is proposed to amend the rule
to also allow the Department to issue a refund when a person erroneously pays for the renewal of registration on a watercraft they
no longer own.

The Department mails renewal notices to all registered watercraft owners 6 weeks prior to their expiration date as established
under the staggered watercraft registration system.

Generally, the owner mails the notice back to the Department with the required fee, and their renewal registration is mailed to them
in turn. Obviously, most people do not pay twice for the same renewal, nor would they want to, :

There is 1 fairly common exception:

Some persons receive this notice, but instead of responding immediately, they put it aside. They mail it back later, when itis draw-
ing near to the date of expiration of their watercraft registration.

Sometimes they wait so long, in fact, that the date of expiration arrives and they have not yet received their renewal. Yet they want
to use their boat, and are aware that if they do they could receive a citation for operating with expired registration.

Quite ofien, they hitch their boat up and drive to the nearest Department office on the way to the lake. They explain what has hap-
pened and that they want their renewed registration "now" even though their check and notice are in the mail,

As a convenience, the Department will and does issue a renewal so that they can use their watercraft. But since it is not possible to
determine whether they have really mailed their fee already, the fee must be paid "now". And, if the expiration date has passed,
the penalty fee of $5 must be paid as well.

Yet this rule does not fully meet its customer service objective. It does allow for a refund for 1 renewal of a watercraft when the
registered owner has paid twice for the same renewal, but it does not allow for the individual that has paid a renewal for a water-
craft that has been sold to another individual.

For example, the registered owner owns more than I jet ski. He sells 1 jet ski to a second individual who has not transferred own-
ership yet. Because the jet ski has not been transferred, the registered owner receives the renewal notice through the mail. The
registered owner does not verify the renewal notice and therefore, pays the renewal by mistake. It is estimated that this example
occurs approximately 20 times a year.

It is proposed to add a provision that will allow for a refund of a watercraft registration that was paid in error. This provision will
address only watercraft that have been sold, where the seller inadvertently renewed the incorrect watercraft. A refund would be
granted, provided the certificate and decals are returned unused within 30 calendar days. This transaction would be deleted from
the data base, therefore allowing the new registered owner to purchase the certificate and decals in his/her name.

The applicant is advised that they may get a refund for the fee already sent in, but not for any penaity fee which they have paid.
AR.S. § 5-321(H) is quite clear: "On renewal of any watercraft registration that has not been renewed by the current expiration

date, the Department shall assess a penalty unless the watercraft ownership has been transferred and the watercraft was not re-reg-
istered subsequent to the expiration date."

The rule requires that the owner return the certificate of number and the decals that are not going to be used in order to obtain the

refund. The Department wants these back, because there is always the potential for fraudulent use on an unregistered or stolen
watercraft.

R12-4-517

This rule restricts the use of watercraft and boat engines on certain bodies of water in order to protect the public and the environ-
ment. It is proposed to add Coors Lake to the list of waters restricted for the use of power boats to a single electric troiling motor
oniy. : .

Coors Lake is a smalil, shallow reservoir approximately 2 miles north of the town of Bagdad, in Yavapai County. Its size fluctuates

between 28 and 35 acres, and it is a maximum of 36 feet deep. The land surrounding the lake is owned by the State Land Depart-

ment on the east and by the Cyprus Bagdad Copper Company on the west. The Game and Fish Department and the Cyprus
- Bagdad Copper Company do have a cooperative agreement that the lake is managed as sport fishery available for public use.

It is proposed to add this lake to the List of lakes restricted to the usé of an electric trolling motor only (unpowered watercraft are
and will continue to be allowed on the lake.) The Department's Wildlife Manager assigned to the area has received several public

Tuly 5, 1996 Page 3279 Volume 2, Issue #27




Arizona Administrative Register
Notices of Proposed Rulemaking -

complaints regarding people running high horsepower outboard motors at the lake. Due to the small size of the lake and many
unmarked obstructions (rocks and submerged vegetation) within the lake, this is not considered safe. Cyprus Bagdad Copper
Company has posted signs against the use of gas motors, and most people abide by the signs, but there are a few who are aware
there is no law prohibiting the use of gas motors on the lake. Enforcement officers miust iristead rely upon statutes prohibiting
reckless operation of watercraft, and must witness careless or reckless operation in order to issue a citation. Prohibiting the use of
gas motors would simplify law enforcement efforts and enhance public safety since it would reduce the ability of watercraft on the
leke to reach unsafe speeds. It would also assist in maintaining water quality in this small lake by reducing the risk of fuel and oil
spills from gasoline epgines. o

Other changes to the rule are for the purpose of clarity. Subsection (D) is deleted as unnecessary; these closures are properly
accomplished by controlled-use markers.

5. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diininish a previous srant of

authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable.

6. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and_consumer impact:

R12-4-102: Nonresident Guides. Based upon 1995 licensing figures, Department revenue would be reduced by $11,200 annually
as a direct result of the rule change. Each nonresident guide would benefit by a reduction of $400 in cost annually.

R12-4-102: Nonresident Youth. Direct revenue reduction to the Game and Fish Department should be less than $90,000 and

would be outweighed by the potential benefit created for the future of hunting and fishing and its peripheral benefit to the Arizona
economy.

R12-4-114. This rule would have some benefit to persons who have accumulated bonus points by repeated, unsuccessful entry in
the "drawing" for hunt permit-tags for buffalo, antelope, and elk, at minimal cost to the Department. It would not currently benefit
persons with bonus points for bighorn sheep. ’

R12-4-203 and R12-4-218. The rule establishing the state "game bird stamp” program would be repealed and replaced with the
national program in compliance with federal regulations. Main impact would be upon dove and snipe hunters, who are the only
affected hunters who do not already have to abtain either a game bird stamp or waterfow] stamp to validate their hunting license
for these birds. There will be no cost to hunters. Federa! grant will pay for the program the 1st 2 years; cost after that time is esti-
mated at $25,000 annually. The program will result in more accurate harvest data nationwide and will benefit hunters in the future.

R12-4-309. The amendment would create additional recreational opportunity at no additional cost to the Department or hunters.

R12-4-310. There would be no cost to businesses or to the organizations obtaining the fres permit except costs related to conduct-
ing the 2-day fishing events authorized by the permit. Costs to the Game and Fish Department would be minimal and absorbed
into ongoing programs. '

R12-4-422, Impact on the Department will be minimal. No citations have ever been issued for inadvertent kill of nontarget wild-
life by a falconer's raptor. Allowing capture of raptors by nonresident falconers will not increase or decrease costs to the Depart-
ment or change management of wild raptors, as numbers which may be captured are limited by Commission order.

R12-4-501 and R12-4-502. This proposed rulemaking would reduce opportunities for criminals to "legitimize" stolen watercraft,
It would provide a clearer avenue for prosecution of persons providing false statements or documentation to register watercraft,

R12-4-503. Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1055(D)(3), the proposed rulemaking is exempt from the requirement to prepare an economic, ‘
small business, and consumer impact statement.

R12-4-505. The rule will provide economic benefit to federal, state, county, and local governments by allowing previously "unreg-
isterable" watercraft to be sold at public auction. The public would benefit by being provided an opportunity to purchase seized or
forfeit watercraft for salvage or use.

R12-4-510. The rule does contain safeguards to ensure it is used only as intended: application for refund must be made within 30
days, and the person applying for the refund must return the original certificate of number and decals to the Department. The rule
would incur some administrative costs to the state, but it is not expected that requests for refunds will exceed 20 or 30 per year, and
it is believed that the costs are outweighed by the need to provide this service to the public.

R12-4-517. Persons would not be able to use gasoline motors on Coors Lake, a very small lake approximately 2 miles north of the
town of Bagdad in Yavapai County. Economic impact is expected to be very limited.

7. The name and address of agency persennel with whom persens may communicate regarding the accuracy of the economic,
small business, and consumer impact statement: ‘

m———u—-l—..__....._p..____“

Name: Susan L. Alandar, Administrative Services Manager
Address: Game and Fish Department DOAS
2221 West Greenway Road
. Phoenix, AZ 85023-4399
""" Telephone: (602) 789-3289
Fax: (602) 789.3299
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8. The time. place. and nature of the proceedings for the adeption, amendment, or repeal of the rule: or. if no proceeding is

scheduled, where, when, and how persons mayv reguest an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:
Written comments will be accepted at the above address until August 6, 1996. Public hearings to discuss the proposals will be held

as follows: .

Date: August 6, 1996

Time: 7 p.m.

Location: Quality Hotel & Suites
475 North Granada
Tucson, Arizona

Date: August 6, 1996

Time: 7 pm.

Location: Game and Fish Department
Highway 260
Pinetop, Arizona

Date: August 6, 1996
Time: 7pm.

Location: . Game and Fish Department
3325 North Stockton Hill Road

Kingman, Arizona
Date: August 6, 1996
Time: 7 p.m.

Location: Game and Fish Department
9140 East County 10 1\2 Street

Yuma, Arizona

Date: August 6, 1996

Time: 7 pm.

Location: Game and Fish Department

' 3500 South Lake Mary Road

Flagstaff, Arizona

Date: August 6, 1996

Time: 7 pam.

Location: Wildlife Building, State Fairgrounds
17th Avenue and McDowell
Phoenix, Arizona

The Game and Fish Commission will hold an additional public hearing and may take final action on:
Date: September 6, 1996
Time: 2 pm.

Location: Little America
2515 East Butler Avenue
Flagstaff, Arizona

The Game and Fish Commission foilows Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. The Commission does not discriminate
against persons with disabilities who wish to make oral or written comments on proposed rulemaking or otherwise participate in
the public comment process. Individuals with disabilities who need a reasonable accommodation (including auxiliary aids or ser-
vices) to participate in the public comment process, or who require this information in an alternate form, may contact Susan L.

~ Alandar at (602)789-3289 (Voice); 1-800-367-8939 (TDD); 2221 West Greenway Road, Phoenix, Arizona 85023-4399. Requests
should be made as soon as possible so that the Arizona Game and Fish Department will have sufficient time to respond.
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9. Any other matters grescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of rules:
Not applicable.

10. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
Not applicable.

11. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 12. NATURAL RESOURCES

CHAPTER 4. GAME AND FISH COMMISSION

ARTICLE 1. DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL PROVISIONS 3. Nochange.
4. Guide Hcense Resident $100.00
R12-4-102, Fees for Licenses, Tags, Stamps, and Permits Nonresident $566-06 $100.00
R12-4-114.  Issuance of Nonpermit-tags and Hunt Permit-tags 5. No change.
6. No change.
ARTICLE 2. MISCELLANEOQUS LICENSES AND PERMITS 8. Nochange.
9. Nochange.
R12.-4.203  National Harvest Information Program 10. No change.
RI2-4-248: Game-Bird-Siamp 11. No change.
12. No change.
ARTICLE 3. TAKING AND HANDLING OF WILDLIFE 13. No change.
E. No change.
R12-4-309.  Restricted Hunts G. No change.

R12.4.310. Fighing Permi
____‘_3_2 shing Permits R12-4-114. Issuance of Nonpermit-tags and Hunt Permit

Tags
. LIFE RULES B
ARTICLE 4. LIVE WILD RULE A. Inaccordance with AR.S. § 17-332 and the provisions of this
RiZ-4422  Eal i ‘ rule, the Department shall annually provide numbered tags for
iig s . s sale to the public. Each tag includes shall-inelude a transporta-
-422. L 1o, and Requirements " - g D — .
R12-4-422.  Falconers; Licensing, and Reguirements tion and shipping permit 4 presoribed in ARS. §§ 17-332
: WATER SPORTS Was : and 17-371. Tags are shati-be made of tear-resistant material
.ARTICLE 5. BOATING AND WATER SPORTS with an adhesive back covered by a detachable paper backing
R12-4-501. Boating and Water Sports Definitions and shai-l cle?:Iy identify, when issued, the animal for which
R12-4-502.  Application for Watercraft Registration ?;e ta;lg is valid.
R12-4-503. Renewal of Watercraft Registration 5. No change.
R12-4-505. Hull Identification Numbers C. When the number of hunt permits for a species in a pamcular
R12-4-510. Refunds for Renewals hunt area must be limited, 2 Commission order establishes
317, d Boat Engi o shaﬁ-eeﬁabheh a hunt ngmber for that hunt area, and a hunt per-
R12-4-517.  Watercraft and Boat Engine Restrictions mit-tag is-shak-be required to take the species in that hunt area.
. ARTICLE 1. DEFINITIONS AND GENERA 1. Nochange.
L FROVISIONS 2. The Department uses shelbuase the following procedure to
R12-4-162. Fees for Licenses, Tags, Stamps, and Permits (_ietex_'mm? whetizor & hunt permit-tag will be issued to an
A. Nochange. ' applicant: : 3
B. No changs. &  The Department reserves a maximum of 10% of the
L Nochange. hunt permits for each hunt number for elk, buffalo,
2. No change. bighorn sheep. and antelope to issue to persons and
3. No change. groups who have bonus points which have been
4: No change, issued according to R12-4-107.
s No change. : b.  The Department issues the reserved hunt permit-taps
6 No change. for hu{lt numbers designated by eligible applicants
7. Class F, Combination Resident Adult $34.00 g3 Xlel HIst of_sccond choiees. Lhe Department their first or_second Chmcesf' The Department
hunting and fishing license. :ssiuesl the reserved hunt permit-tags bv random
: Ton:
Youth fee applies before  Resident or = eci].l(m First, to eligible applicants with the great-
f;ctlh Ti’;%‘;%&:ﬁéznggfhyw Nonresident Youth ~ $18.00 est number of bonus points for that genus.
i ) ii. Next if there are reserved hunt permit-
. gﬂhﬁ@- Nonresident Adult  $100.00 tags remaining. to eligible applicants with
. o change the next greatest number of bonus points
9. Nochange ' for that genus,
c 11\10 i‘ro change. ili, Ifthere are still tags remaining, to the next
D- ) NO Ch&“ge gligible applicants with the next greatest
E. Ogﬁ c ?Pge- _ number of bonus points; continuing until
+ h €;{1‘=3}1:3¢ fees: . all of the reserved tags have been issued or
2- Ng f:hﬁi: : untii there are no more applicants for that

hunt pember who have bonus points.
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#¢. First selection from all unreserved hunt permit-tags
is shed-ke by random drawing.

ed. When the bag limit established by Commission
order is more than I per calendar year, or when there
are hunt permit-tags remaining unissued after the
random drawings fiest, these hunt permit-tags are
ghal-e available on a set date on a 1st-come, 1st-
served basis by mail or over the counter from

Department offices as specified in the hunt permit- C. Following are the exceptions to subsection (A) of this rule:
tag application schedule published annyally by and 1. Archery-only elk hunters may continue to hunt other
available from the Department. wildlife in season with bow and arrow after killing their
D. The Department shall ensure that no Ne more than 10% of the permitted elk.
total available bighorn sheep or buffalo hunt permii-tags in 2. Persons holding special big game license tags issued pur-
any calendar year are shal-be issued to nonresidents and that suant to R12-4-120, or kig-geme hunt permit-tags valid
no ~Ne-more than 50% nor more than 2 bighom sheep or buf- for deer, or antelope, buffalo or bigshorn sheep may take
falo hunt permit-tags in any hunt number are sheitbe issued to their lawful big game during an open season running con-
nonresidents. currently with any season named in subsection (A).
E. The Departmnent shall ensure that ng Ne more than 10% of the 3. Nochange.
total available hunt permit-tags are shed-be issued to nonresi- 4. Trappers licensed under pussuent-te R12-4-307 may trap
dents for the following hunts, except that when hunt numbers in these areas.
have 10 or less available hunt permit-tags, nomore than i hunt D, This mule is effective January 1, 4993 1997,
??mﬁgafh%raﬁ% -Z%&a&-be issued to a nonresident: RI12-4.310. Fishing Permits
2. No change. A WMMLMWWW
. . ’ municipal agencies or departments and to nonprofit orpaniza-
F. This rule is effective January 1, 1397 4396. tions licensed by or contracted to the Department of Economic
ARTICLE 2. MISCELLANEOUS LICENSES AND PERMITS Securlty or Department.of Health Servicos, whose primary
purpose is to provide physical or mental rehabilitation ot train-~
R12-4-2063. National Harvest Information Program QEEI 12, 0T Persons WL Duusical, developmenta,, or menta; dis: f OLPElS003 thh_ b 2l cal. developmental oL mental .dls'
A. Anindividual taking ducks. geese. doves, band-tailed gigeons, ghilittes. The permit wxl% al_Ic_J\y DESONS :.mth nhvs_x_t:&i_;
- snipe, coots, common moorhen, or blue grouse shall have in _g__d____“w%m_ngveIo mental — me.ntal d:sal_);ht:e‘s o ﬁSh without  fishin
ossession cither: license. The permit will at;thonze this activity forupto 20 per-
Rm—————-l‘ A Harvest Information Program (HIP) stamp, affixed to sons for the 2 days sg_ema‘j:ed on the permit upon any Qupkc
~ ThebackofaClassF. G or H license: or waters except that fishing in the waters of the _Coiorado River
2. A Harvest Information Program code number, written in mm-—-——-g—-—————-—————-J—--mg sestricted ;oé‘fshin gmff:;he ﬁlnzpna ’;.ht?lmime ont = unless
= : e persons fishing under the authority of the permit also pos-
%WW sess 2 valid Colorado River stamp from the adjacent state. The
B. HIP stamps and code numbers are avajlable from the Depart- persons fishing under the authority of the permit shall comply
= Tent annually from July 1 throueh March 10. and are valid }mth_other statutes, Commission orders and rules not contained
from September 1 through March 10, To obtain the stamp or Inthis Section, . ) .
the code number. individuals shall provide their mame, mailing B. Ap applicant for a Fishing Permit shall provide the following -
address, date of birth. identification number, hunting license to the Department: - .
pumber, and information regarding past and anticipated hunt- L Acompleted anplication form obtained from the Depart:
ing activities, The HIP stamp or code number validates a ment, containing:
license for taking band-tailed pigeons only if the individual & Ihe name, address, and telephone pumber of the
indicates the intent to take band-tailed pigeons at the time of _E_L_..._.Q..,...,.m:e e::s o d&:rt:;i?’ or nonprofit oreanization
- . 3
%ua!s mav obtain a HIP stamp by providing the b. The name, gositiop title, and telephone number of
- required information to the Department on a form avail- the person who will. be responsible for supervising gnsible for su ervisin
able in the annual "Hunt Regulations” publication or the persons who will be fishing under the authority
gvailable from any Department office. of the permit; . .
2. Individuals mav obtain a HIP code number by providing & The total number of persons who will be fishing
the required information by touch-tope telephone to a . Underthe suthority of the nemmik; it
toll-free pumber available from the Department. 4 WT:; ddates of the 2 days for which the permit will be
Vatl -
C. Thisruleis effective Tuly 1, 1997 e The location for which the permit will be valid.
R—HA—E}S- Gmwbrrd-stamp 2 Nongmﬁt organizations shall also submit documentation
£ pipeos that they are licensed bv or contracted to the Department
of Econemic Security or the Department of Health Ser-
viges for the purpose of providing rehabilitation or treat-
ment_services fo individuals and oroups possessing
physical. developmental, or mental disabilities.

C. The Department shall issue the approved Fishing Permit to the
applicant within 30 calendar days of receiving an application
meeting the criteria of this Section, :

D. The Fishing Permit permittee shall provide 1 hour of instruc-
tion on fish identification, fishing ethics, safety, and tech-
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(A) may take other wildlife in season before killing their per-

mitted elk or javelina, according pursuent to the restrictions in
R12-4.318.




Arizona Administrative Register

It=

!

Volume 2, issue #27

Notices of Proposed Rulemaking

niques to the persons who will be fishing under authority of
the permit. The lesson plan for this instruction will be pro-
vided to the permitiee by the Department,

Each person fishing without a ficense under the authority of
the Fishing Permit may take only 1/2 the repular bap limit
established by Commission order for any species. unless the
repular bag limit is I. in which case the permit authorizes the
regular limit.

The permittee shall submit a report to the Department not later
than 30 days after the end of the anthorized fishing dates. The
Department mav_deny issuance of future Fishing Permits fo
permittees failing to submit the report. The permitiee shall
report on a form available from the Department:

The Fishing Permit number and the information con-
tained in the permit;

The total number of persons who fished and total hours
fished;

The total number of fish caught kept, and released by
species.

=

{2

[

ARTICLE 4. LIVE WILDLIFE RULES
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alepne PeRSeare-stblectto-tha-vie
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Falconers: Licensing and Reguirements

For the purposes of this Section the following definitions

apply: )

1. Evas" means a flichtless raptor that is found in the nest

and is dependent upon a parent bird for food.

“Falconry" means the sport of taking quarry by means of

a trained raptor.

“Passage” means a raptor in immature plumage capable

of flight and able to hunt and obtain its own food, and

which is less than 1 year of age.

"Raptor’ means a live migratory bird of the species great

horned owl, Bubo virginianus, of the family Stricidae;

any of the family Falconidae: and any of the family

Accipitridae, other than the bald eacle, Haliaeetus lenco-

cephalus; which under the provisions of this rule may be

used in the practice of falconry.

3. USponsor" means a licensed Class II or Class I falconer
who agrees to supervise and instruct no more than 3 Class
I falconers in the practice of falconry at any 1 time.

The Department shall inspect the raptor housing facilities and

eguipment of any applicant not previously licensed in Arizona,

and determine that the facilities and equipment meet the

requirements of this rule, before issuing a license to the appli-

cant. A license is valid from the date it is issued by the Depart-

ment until the 3rd December from the date of i issue. The

Department shall issue the falconers licenses to aggitcant
complying with application procedures in this rule and meet-

i

I

i+

. ing the following criteria:

L. An apolicant for a Class T Apprentice Falconer License:
a. Mustbe 14 vears of age or older;
b. Must have a sponsor at the time of application, and
shall provide to the Department a written commit-

o)
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ment from the sponsor to_continue sponsoring the
applicant for the Ist 2 vears as a licensed falconer:
Shall answer correctly at least 80% of the questions
on an examination supervised and administered by
the Department and approved by the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service, relating to basic biology, care, and
handling of raptors, and other subiect matter related
to falconry.

2. Anapplicant for a Class T General Falconer License: |

& Musthe 18 vears of age or older;
b. Must have at least 2 vears of falconry experience at
the Class T level computed from the date that the
applicant obtained the st Class I Apprentice Fal-
coner License;

Shall provide to the Department a letter of recom-
mendation from a falconers’ association affiliated
with_the North American Falconers Association.
stating that the applicant is qualified and eligible to
become a Class 11 falconer.

3. Anapplicant for a Class IIf Master Falconer License:
Must be 23 vears of age or older.

Must have at least 3 years of falconry exparience at
the Class II level computed from the date that the

applicant obtained the 1st Class I General Falconer
License,
Any new resident shall make application for an Arizona fal-
goner license within 30 davs of importing any raptor Dossessed
by the authority of 3 falconer license issued by another lawful

i

e

=i

Jurisdiction. Any agghcant for an_Arizona falconers license

shall present any raptor in gossessmn for inspection at the time

of application.
Applicants shall provide the following information on a form

available from the Department, and shail sign the completed

orm:
Name, address, and telephone number;
Physical description and date of birth:
Valid Arizona hunting license number and ldentlﬁcatzo
number;
The falconer license classification des;red. Class I aggh-
cants shall supply their sponsor's name and address on the
form; ‘
The number of raptors the applicant possesses at the time
of application and the species: age. if known; sex, if
known: band numbers: date of acquisition; and source of
each,
A Class I licensee may DOSSess only 1 raptor at a time; the rap-

tor may be lawfully obtained in another state. The Class I lic-
ensee shall ohtain all birds from the wild and and shall not obtain

more than 1 raptor for replacement 0368 durm any calen-

dar vear. A Class 1 licensee shall not take an ¢yas bird,
A Class H licensee shail not possess more than 2 raptors at a
time, The raptors may be any speciés except a golden eagle or

a species listed as endancered or threatened. A Class Il lic-

ensee shall not obtain more than 2 raptors during any calendar

year,

A Class 11T licensee shall not possess more than 3 raptors at a

time. The raptors mayv be of any species authorized by the 1.8,

Fish and Wildlife Service. A Class Ii licensee shall not abtain

more than 2 raptors taken from the wild during any calendar

year. but may obtain raptors from other lawful sources within
the 3-raptor possession limit.

All falconer applicants and licensees shall provide either an
indoor or outdoer housing facility meeting the following stan-

dards, desiened to protect the raptor from the environment,
predators. and nndue disturbances:

sy
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Indoor facilities must be large enousgh to allow easy
aceess for caring for the raptors housed in the facility.
The area for each bhird must be large enough to allow each
raptor to fully extend its wings, with perches textured to
prevent foot problems. The facility must have at least 1
window, protected on the inside by vertical bars, spaced
narrower than the width of the raptor's body, and a door
that can be easily closed and secured. The fioor of the
faciltity must be well drained and designed to permit easy

cleaning. The licensee shall not keep more than 1 raptor

species in the same facility unless each raptor is tethered
or separated by pattitions.

Outdoor facilities must be fenced and covered with net-
ting or wire, or roofed 1o protect the raptors from distur-
bance and attack by predators, except that perches more
than 6-1/2 feet high need not be covered or ropfed. The
enclosed area must be large enough to insure the raptors
cannot strike the fence when flying from the perch. The
licensee shall provide protection from the sun, wind, and
inclement weather for each raptor and perches which are
textured to prevent foot problems.

All falconer applicants and licensees shall possess and use the

fpo

Vfoﬂowing equipment;

1. Atleast] pair of jesses constructed of pliable high-gual-
ity leather or synthetic material, containing bracelets to
affix to each leg of a raptor, with a srommet through
which a strap passes frecly so that an escaped raptor can
pull the strap out of the bracelet. The licensee shall use
this equipment when any raptor is flown free. Licensees
may use iraditional l-piece jesses on raptors only when
not being flown;
At least 1 flexible. weather-resistant leash and 1 strong
swivel desianed for falconsy:
Atleast1 container, 2 to 6 inches deep and wider than the
length of the raptor. for drinking and bathing for each
raptor; '
At least 1 raptor perch for each raptor;
A reliabie scale or balance suitable for weighing the rap-
tor_or raptors, held and graduated to increments of not
more than 1/2 ounce, or 13 grams.
A Class I 1, or I falconer licensed in Arizona or a state rec-
ognized by the U.S, Fish and Wildlife Service as meeting fed-
eral falconty standards may capture raptors for the purpose of
falconry only, in accordance with the Commission order estab-
lishing raptor capture seasons for licensed falconers. When
there is reason to beiieve that a species of raptors may be over-
harvested by nonresidents if the number of pertnits is not lim-
ited, the Commission shall specify the pumber of permits
available to nonresidents in the Commission order.
Y. During capture. the licensee shall have in possession the
falconer license, Arizona hunting license, and any

required hunt permit-tag issued o that licensee.
2. The licensee shall immediately release any nontarget rap-

tor inadvertently ceptured. If the raptor is wearing a band
or other marker the licensee shall report the capture and
release of the marked bird to the Department, along with
any identifying number and related information.

The licensee shall not remove any, eyas raptor from any

nest unless ! or more live evas raptors remain in the nest
after the removal.

The licensee mav capture raptors only with traps or bird
nets which are unlikely o cause injury to the raptor, and
shall not use mist nets, steel-jawed traps. or stupefving

- substances.

The licensee shall ensure that all trans or nets in use are in
constant attendance, and that any raptor trap or net being

o
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used is plainly identified with the licensee's name and
address.

The licensee shall present each raptor captured to the
Department within 14 calendar days afler canture. A
Department representative shall attach a numbered band
o 1 leg of the lawfullv obtained rapter. This band shall

not be removed except by an authorized official of the
Department, or except ag provided in this rule. Licensees

shall not alter, coumterfeit, or deface a band but may
remove the rear tab on the band and mav smooth any
imperfect surface provided the inteprity of the band and
numbering are not affected.
Licensees mav use raptors for educational display.
Licensees may retain and exchange feathers that are molted or
those feathers from raptors held in captivity that die only for
purposes of repairing or replacing a broken feather with a
feather.
If any raptor used in falconry incidentally kills any species of
wildlife for which there is no open season or for which the sea-
son is closed, the licensee shall not take the dead wildlife into
possession, The licensee shall leave the wildlife where it lies,

but mav allow the raptor making the kill fo feed on the dead
wildlife before leaving the site.

Licensees mav transfer raptors taken from the wild in Arizona
to an Arizona resident's federal raptor propagation license
with the concurrence of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

A licensee shall not transfer a raptor taken from the wild in
Arizona to another falconer licensed outside of Arizona or
export the raptor from the state, without written authorization
from the Department The Department shall not authorize
gxportation transactions involving more than 2 raptors taken
from the wild in Arizona singly or in combination. per lic-
ensee in any calendar vear. The Department ghall deny any
reguest for authorization of exportation when the number or
species which have been or are being exported is not in the
best interest of raptor manarement,
A licensee may place 2 raptor or raptors in the care of another
licenses, providing that the licensee gives written authoriza-
tion to the other licensee for temporaty care. If the period of
care will exceed 30 davs, the licensee shall submit the follow-
ing written information to the Department within 3 days of the
fransfer:
1. Thelocation of the raptor or raptors,
2. The name of the licensee caring for the raptor or raptors,
3. Approximate number of days the raptor or raptors will be
in the care of the other licensee,
A licensee may do 1 of the following when in possession of a
1aptor no longer used in the practice of falconry:
1. Releasce the raptor to the wild into snitable habitat, pro-
vided that the rantor was taken from the wild in Arizona,
and that all jesses, markers, or other equipment are

removed, and that any federal marker is removed and
returned to the Department within 10 days of release.

il

2. Give the raptor to another Heensed falconer, except as
rovided in subsection (0).

3. Transfer the raptor to the Department.

4

Sell or trade the raptor, if it is a lawfully possessed cap-
tive bred raptor marked with # seamaless leg band. .
Licensees changine residence to another jurisdiction may
export their lawfully possessed raptors.

A licensee shall transfer the carcass of a raptor which has died
to.a Department office. or destroy the carcass after receiving
authorization for destruction of the carcass from the Depart-
ment. The lcensee shall remove any federal markers prior to

destroving the carcass and return the markers to the Depart-
ment.
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A licensee shall report the escape of a raptor to the Department
within 5 days. Any licensed falconer may recapture an escaped
banded raptor at any time and shall notify the Department
within 5 calendar days of the capture, '

Within 5 calendar davs of acquisition of any raptor by any
method. or disposition of any raptor by any method, a falconer
licensee shall submit to the Department a copy of a U.S. Fish
and Wildlife Service Migratory Bird Acquisition and Disposi-
tion Report, Form 3-186A. dated June 30. 1991, not including
any later revisions, ‘which is incorporated by reference. The
form shall be completed and signed by the licensee in accor-
dance with the instructions on the form. A copy of the incor-

porated form js on file with the Secretary of State and
available from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Regional

Law Enforcement Office. Albuquerque, New Mexico, 87103.
V. Falconer licensees are subiect to the provisions of R12-4-409.

ARTICLE 5. BOATING AND WATER SPORTS WATER-
SEORFS

=

R12-4-501. Boating and Water Sports Definitions
A. In addition to the definitions provided in A.R.S. § 5-301, the
following definitions apply to this Article unless the context
otherwise requires: .
1. Nochange.
2. "Bill of sale” means a written agreement iransferring
" whieh-transfers ownership, and including; the name of

the buyer and seller; the manufacturer of the watercraft R12-4-503.

sold, if known; the hull identification number, unless A
exempted by R12-4-505; and the purchase price and sales )
tax paid, if any; and the signature of the seller.

3. "Boats keep out” means an operator or user of ne water-
craft, waterskis, surfboards, or similar contrivances shall
not enter. _

4. "Controlled-use marker” means an sy anchored or fixed
marker on the water, shore, or on a bridge that controls
the operation of watercraft, water skis, surfboard, or simi-
lar contrivances.

3. "Homemade watercraft" means z esy watercraft which
was not fabricated or manufactured for resale and to fer
which a manufacturer has not attached a hull identifica-
tion number # i
faeturer: A watercraft assembled from a kit, or
constriicted from an unfinished manufactured hull, is
shett-be a "homemade watercraft” if not already assigned
a hull identification number by the manufacturer,

6. No change.

7. "Letter of gifi" means a document, transferring ownership
of a watercraft, signed by the previous owner, stating that
the watercraf is a gift and listing eentainins the name and
erddddress of both the previous and the new owner, the name
of the manufacturer of the watercraft if known, .and the
hull identification number, unless exempted by R12-4-
505.

8. Nochange. .

9. "No ski” means z #e person shall not be towed on water
skis or similar devices.

10. No change.

11. "Owner"” in reference 10 a watercraft means a sy person
who claims lawful possession of a watercraft by virtue of
legal title or equitable interest, which entitles that person
10 pOSSessioft,

“12. No change.

13. "No change,

14. No change.
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15. "Sound level” means the noise level measured in decibels
on the A-weighted scale of 2 sey sound level instrument
that conforms with the requirements set forward by the
American National Standards Instimte in Specifications
for Sound Level Meters.

16 No change.

17. No change.

18. No change.

19. "Watercraft" means 3 any boat or other floating device of
rigid or inflatable construction designed to carry people
or cargo on the water and that is propelled by machinery,
oars, paddles, or wind action on a saik, Exceptions are
exeept sea-planes, makeshift contrivances constructed of
innertubes or other floatable materials which are asd not
propelled by machinery, personal flotation devices worn
or held in hand, and other objects used as floating or
swimming aids. For the purpose of registration only,
"watercrafi” does shedf not include nonmotorized inflat-
able watercraft which are 48 12 feet or less in length.

20. "Watercraft agent” means a ewy person authorized by the
Department end-eeting-inrbehelf-of the Pupartment to col-
lect appropriate fees for the registration and numbering of
watercraft.

21. "Watercraft number" means the registration number
issued by the Department ynder pursuentto AR.S. § 5-
321

22. No change.

Application for Watercraft Registration

A person shall apply Any-apphiestien for watercraft registra-

tion pursuant to AR.S. § 5-321 using shath-be-made-apon a

form provided by the Department. The applicant shall provide

the following information The-follewing-information-ghat-be

previded-en-the-ferm for registration of all watercraft except

homemade watercraft, which are addressed in subsection (B):

1. No change.

No change.

No change.

No change.

No change.

No change.

No change.

No change.

No change.

. No change.

. Name. mailing address, and date of birth of each owner,
To simplify the description of joint ownership when a
watercraft is owned by more than 1 person. the applicant

shall indicate ownership by use of 1 of the following

methods:

2 Where ownership is joint tenancy with right of sur-
vivorship or community property with right of survi-
vorship, the applicant shall use "and/or" between the
names of the owners. To transfer registration of the
watercraft_each party shall provide a signature if
both are livine. Upon lepal proof of the death of
either party. the living party may transfer registra-
tion of the watergraft upon the signature of the living
party, |
Where ownership is a tenancy in commen the appli-
cant shall use "and" between the names of the own-
ers. To transfer registration of the watercraft. each
shall provide a signature. In the event of the

death of any party. the interest of the deceased party
must be handled through probate proceedings.

Where _the ownership is joint tenancy with an

gxpress intent that either of the owners have full

’-—u—-kbooqc\u-hww
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authority to transfer registration, the applicant shall
uge "or" between the names of the owners. As a ¢on-
dition of transferring registration as just indicated
gbove, each owner must sien the application. To

transfer registration, either ggm‘s signamre is suffi-
cient for transfer

The applicant shall provide the following information for rep-
istration of homemade watercraft. using the same ownership
designations specified in subsection (A} The owner shall sign
the application and have it notarized unless it is siened in the

wmﬂmﬁ %e*feﬁewmg-mfema-

No change.
. No change.

No change.

No change.

No change.

No change.

No change.

No change.

No change.
10 No change,
In sccordance with AR.S. § 5-321. the applicant shall submit
with the apptication for registration a receipt for use tax paid
from the Department of Revenue unless:

1. The applicant is exempt from use tax as provided in 15
AAC S or

NGO 3 Oh LA B L D

i

The applicant is fransferring the watercraft from another
inrisdiction to Arizona without chanaing ownership: or.
Sales or use tax paid i3 shown on the bill of sale or receipt
submitted by the applicant; or
The applicant submits 2 notarized affidavit of exemption
stating that the acquisition of the watercraft was for rental
or resaje guggoses

g

>

To Is-erder-te obtain registration as a commercial watercraft
under pursueni-te AR.S. § 5-322(H), the owner shall provide
evidence of payment of the ad valorem property tax under the
provisions of Article 9, Section 16 of the Arizona Constitu-
tion; the tax privilege license number; and the business name,
address, and telephone number.
To rerder-te obtain watercraft dealer registration under pur-
suant-te AR.S. § 5-322(G), the applicant shall be a business
offering watercraft for sale, or a watercraft manufacturer regis-
tered by the U.S. Coast Guard. The applicant shall provide the
following information on a form available from the Depart-
ment. The Department shall issue the number of certificates
and decals specified, or deny issuance, within 30 calendar days
of receiving the application.

1. All business names used for the sale or manufacture of
watercraft in Arizona, and the mailing address and tele-
phone number for each business 1o be issued watercraﬁ
dealer registrations.

2. Tax privilege license number.

3. U.8. Coast Guard manufacturer identification code, if
applicable.

4. The total number of certificates of number and decals to
be issued.

5. Name, address, signature and phone nurnber of the owner
or manager of the principal business.

An applicant repistering a watercraft which has never previ-

ouslv been registered bv anx ;unsdmtmn shall submit the fol-

No change.
A letter of gift if the watercraft was acquired as a pif
instead of by purchase The previous owner shall state in

1y

the letter of gift that the watercraft was never previous
_egx_s_t_egc_i_(_)i Wateremﬁwaeqmred-&&-a—-gtﬁ-msﬁea&-ﬂﬁby

3. Watercraft may be registered without either a bill of sale
or 2 letter of gift or compliance with R12-4-507 only if
the owner submits a form either notarized or signed in the
presence of a Department employee, attesting to (a), (b),
or (c) below:

a.  That the watercraft was manufactured prior to 1972,

. that it is 12 feet or less in length, and that it is not
propelled by machinery other than an outboard
engine; or

b, That the watercraft was previously owned by the
applicant in a state that required neither registration
nor titling; or

c. That the watercraft was previously owned by the
applicant in a state that did require registration and
titling, but that the applicant did not register or title
the watercraft because the watercraft was not used;
and

d. The applicant shall provide all of the following on
the form: Ad-of-the-following-are-to-be-provided-on

i. Full name and mailing address of each owner;
ii. Type of watercraft and propulsion type;

jii. Overall length of craft;

iv. Manufacturer's name, if known;

v.  Year built or model year, if known;

vi. Hull identification number, unless exempted by
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R12-4-505;

vii, Hull material;

viii. Fuel type;

ix. Horsepower of engine, if any,
An applicant transferring registration of an Arizona-registered
watercrait to a new owner shall surrender to the Department
the original certificate of number assiened bv the registered
QWner. ora bill of sale or Ietter of g:ft Appheﬁaeﬁ-fenegfs&a-

sete-op-tetter-of-pifi—If the bill of sale or letter of gift is not
signed by the registered owner, the Department shall not trans-
fer registration until it has received a release of interest from
the registered owner or until the applicant has complied with
the procedures prescribed in R12-4-507;, The only exception
is_if wmdess the watercraft has not been ewssently registered
within the past 5 years, was manufactured prior to 1972, and is

12 feet or less in length and is not propelled by machinery

gther than an outboard engine, in which case the g applicant
ovwner shall comply with the same requirements prescnbed in

subsection (F)(3)(a) and (d) of this rule.

If ownership has been transferred from a registered owner ina
manner other than sale or gift of the watercraft, or pursuant to
subsection (A)(11) of this rule, the applicant shall present legal
documentation to prove such transfer of ownership.

An applicant Asphieaties for registration of a watercraft regis-
tered in another jurisdiction shall surrender 1 of the following

fo the Department in order to obtain registration: be-seeempa-

1. Qriginal registration documentatlo n Registration by the
other jurisdiction to the same applicant,

2. Original registration documentation by the othe r Regis-
fraiton—by—anether jurisdiction showing that ownership
has been transferred to the applicant.

3.  When the other & jurisdiction's registration documenta-
tion does not include any area for showing transfer of
ownership, the applicant shall submit regisiration-shal-be
eeeompantedby a bill of sale or letter of gift from the reg-
istered owner to the applicant with the other jurisdiction's
original registration documentation.

The applicant shall submit 1 of the foliowing if reg:stra-

tion documentation has been lost:

a, Aletter from the issuing jurisdiction verifying that
the registered owner in that jurisdiction is the same
person shown as the seller ar piver on the bill of sale
or letter of gift submitted to the Departiment.

A letter from the issuing jurisdiction verifying that
the repistered owner in that jurisdiction is the same
person that is applying for registration in Arizona.

=

=

5. No change

An applicant AppHeatien for registration of a watercraft titled

in another jurisdiction shall surrenderb&aeeempamed—-by Tof

the foliowmg to the Department in order to obtain registration:
The applicant's original title, or documentation from the
lien holder lawfully holding such title, with a copy of the
title.

-2 When ownership has transferred, the original title show-

- ~ing transfer of ownership to the Arizona applicant.

The applicant shall submit 1 of the following if the tltle to
the watercraft has been lost:

|« .

R12-4-505,
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2. A letter from the issuing jurisdiction yerifying that -
the titled owner in that jurisdiction is the same per-
son shown as the seller or giver on the bill of sale or

letter of gift submitted to the Department.

A letter from the issuing {urisdiction verifying that
the titled owner in that jurisdiction is the same per-
son that is applying for repistration in Arizona.

=

4. Nochange.
K. A person shall not apply for or obtain a watercraft registration

by making a false statement or providing false information on
any agghcatmn or wntten mstmment submmed to the Degart-

The Department shall issue watercraft registrations within 30
calendar days of receiving valid application and docurnenta-
tion as required by this rule, whether from the applicant or
from a watercraft agent pursnant to R12-4-509. An applica-
tion js not shell-net~be considered valid if the Department
receives legal documentation that legal action may affect own-
ership of the watercraft.

M. No change.
R12-4-503

Renewal of Watercrafi Registration

The Department shail mail renewal notices to the address of

the watercraft owner as shown on the certificate of number, 6

weeks prior to the last day of the month of expiration gstab-

lished under preswantte R12-4-504;, [t is bui-it-shel-be the

responsibility of the owner to ensure that renewal is achieved

whether or not the notice is received.

In order to renew registration, the applicant shall submit the

registration fee required by A.R.S. Title 5, Chapter 3, and the

renewal notice provided by the Department er-the-form
In the absence of the renewal

notice, the registered owner shall present 1 of the following:

1. No change.

2. Nochange.

L. The Department shall renew watercraft registration within 30
calendar days of receiving the valid application for renewal.
The Department shail mail the renewal repisteation-shali-be
matted 1o the address of record unless the applicant has
achieved renewal in person or unless there is a notarized
request from the registered owner to mail it to another address.

Hull Identification Numbers
The Department Wetereraft shall not register watercraft be
fegwtered without a hull identification number as-defined-in

The Department shall ass:gn 2 hull identification number to a

watercraft with a missing or improper hull identification num-
ber only when the Department determines that:
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1. A hull identification number has not been fraudulently
removed or altered, unless the application is made by a

TIhe Department shafl not refund pavment of any penaltv fee
for late registration.

of watercraft registration under the following circumstances:

1. The Department shall issue a refund for 1 renewal fee
when the registered owner has paid twice for the same
registration renewal for the same watercraft.

2. The Department shall issue a refund for a renewa] fee
when & repistered owner has erroncously paid for renewal
of a watercraft that has slready been sold to another indi-
vidual, provided that the application for refund is made

) within 30 calendar days of the repewal,

3....The person applving for the refund shall surrender an

original certificate of number and 1 set of decals to the

. governmental agency and is accompanied by an order of
forfeiture or order of seizure or other civil process;
2. The missing or improper hull identification number was
caused by error of the manufacturer or a government
jurisdiction or failure of a previous owner of a watercraft
;Me’aoihzi:‘g:dzh%;ziﬁ £ R12.4517. Watercraft and Boat Engine Restrictions
defined thod in R12-4-501. Persons operating power boats on the following waters shall
Pewer—beais—en—ﬂ&e
C. The Deparment shall assign or deny assignment of a hull use a single electric trolling motor nl )
Jdent;ﬁcanon number mﬁw&a&m&p&mﬁm i e i e
o ' T Arivaca Lake McKellips Park Lake
w;thm 30 dlaiyls2 3;:: ;%c;!pt of a vahd appilcatmn descnbed in Bear Canyon Lake Nelson Reservoir
. D. The Department shall accept & # bill of sale presented with a gleck;:g,ake Lak E‘i’na Bé;mczaliake
missing or improper hull identification number shal-be ack Lanyon Lake tggs blat Lake
aeeepteé for registration purposes only if: Bunch Reservoir River Reservoir
It matches the hull identification number or lack of hull gi}a%arraldl.ake gop;:r Léke L
identification number thereof on the watercraft; c u }'foné . ue e;, f,na%/con ake
2. A hull identification number is issued by the Department COCOﬁanEakeserv oir gantzf ; ° .
under pursuent-te subsection (B) of this rule. Conc ; ak ¢ S?Ott sBleservEgk
E. The applicant or the Department shall affix the hull identifica- SOOI LAE ierra blanca Laxe
tion number issved-by-the-Depariment-shat-be-affined as fol- Dankwork Pond Soldier ~ Lake  (in
lows: ’ Cocenino County)
1. On watercraft with transoms, to the right or starboard side gogtgwréRe?se{vazir gtehr LakeL alk
- of the transom within 2 #we inches of the top of the tran- b ]Banllf:k asin Lake Ttoner?;n e
som or hull/deck joint, whichever is lowest. Kn ol Laek Wugineh eseEv ot
2. On watercraft without transoms, to the starboard out- L OV all e Lak W tfn orse ake \
board side of the hull, back or aft within 1 ese foot of the L°° L:i o © W°° . ag Resei"af
stern and within 2 +we inches of the top of the hull, gun- Lowe; ak ¢ Pleasant oods Lanyon Laxe
wale, or hull/deck joint, whichever is lowest. ki © .
3. On catamarans and pontoon boats, on the aft crossbeam b+  Lersons operating power boats on the following waters shall
within 1 ese foot of the starboard };ull attachment. use only a single electric trolling motor or a single gasoline
4. If the hull identification number would not be visible “Otxeem ua-d oe ower; Fever
because of rails, ﬂttings, or other accessories, affix it as il ' R il ;
closely as nosmble in the manner nrescr:hed in subscct;on
itk ittt Ashurst Lake Kaibab Lake
: Lo P Big Lake Kinnikinick Lake
5. Affix a # duplicate of the visibly affixed hull identifica- . .
tion number shat-be-affied in an unexposed location on Biue Ridpe Reservoir Luna Lake
a permanent part of the hull. Cataract Lake Parker Canyon Lake
6.  Each hull identification number js 1o be shalibe burned, gﬁeﬁdizfa?{y or;La!;e l;l?nbzw Laf:k
carved, stamped, embossed, molded, bonded, or other- ps olla L:éc ot Pon W.?;'V %w N eL ak
wise permanently affixed to 2 non-removable part of the Frejcl?lmll i ak #low Springs Lake
watercraft so that alteration, removal, or replacement 00! Hotiow L.ake
wouid be obvmus mwmmmw Persons shall not operate watercraft Watereraf-are-prohibited
i o f tha v s srirornevah on Frye Mesa Reservoir, Rose Canyon Lake, and Snow Flat
7. The cha.racters of each hull identification number aff xed L' »
to the watercraft are to be shati-be no less than 1/4 eme- i -
fevrth inch in height
R12-4-510. Refunds for Renewszls
A. The Department shall issue refunds for fees paid for renewal

Fuby3 g
£:D. This rule does vetersestrietions-de not apply to boats of gov-

ernmental agencies while-en-efficiai-duty or to Department-
ggrove emergency standby boats operated by lake conces-

sionaires when operating to address public safety or public

Department in order to receive the refund, welfare when-approved-by-the-Deperiment.
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