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NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

Unless exempted by A.R.S. § 41-1005, each agency shall begin the rulemaking process by 1st submitting to the
retary of State’s Office a Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening followed by a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking th
contains the preamble and the full text of the rules. The Secretary of State’s Office publishes each Notice in the 
available issue of the Register according to the schedule of deadlines for Register publication. Due to time restraints,
the Secretary of State’s Office will no longer edit the text of proposed rules. We will continue to make numbering a
labeling changes as necessary.

Under the Administrative Procedure Act (A.R.S. § 41-1001 et seq.), an agency must allow at least 30 days to el
after the publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Register before beginning any proceedings for
adoption, amendment, or repeal of any rule. A.R.S. §§ 41-1013 and 41-1022.

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER 19. BOARD OF NURSING

PREAMBLE

1. Sections affected Rulemaking action:
Article 5 Amend
R4-19-505 Amend
R4-19-507 Amend
R4-19-508 Amend
R4-19-509 Repeal

2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the
rules are implementing (specific):

Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 32-1606(A)

Implementing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 32-1601(11)(e) and 32-1606(B)(11)

3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 5 A.A.R. 2012, June 18, 1999.

4. Name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:
Name: Janet M. Walsh, Associate Director

Address: Arizona State Board of Nursing
1651 E. Morten, Suite 150
Phoenix, Arizona 85020

Telephone: (602) 331-8111, Ext. 145

Fax: (602) 906-9365

5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
As indicated in Section 1, the Board is initiating rulemaking on Article 5 for several reasons. First, rulemaking action
on Article 5 incorporates the amendments recommended in the 5-year-rule review. Second, the Board voted to delete
the requirement of renewal of prescribing and dispensing authority, the requirement of providing the name of a col-
laborating physician to the Board, and the deletion of the standards of practice statements. Additionally, this proposed
rulemaking incorporates editorial changes to the sections affected for the purpose of increasing clarity of the affected
rules.
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6. A reference to any study that the agency proposed to rely on in its evaluation or justification for the proposed rule
and where the public may obtain or review the study, all data underlying each study, any analysis of the study and
other supporting material:

None at the present time.

7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a
previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable.

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
The amendment to R4-19-507 regarding deletion of the requirement to renew prescribing and dispensing authority
will have a minimal impact on nurse practitioners with prescribing and dispensing authority who will not be required
to pay $20 a year for renewal of this authority. The Board anticipates a loss of income in the amount of $20,000 for
renewal of prescribing and dispensing authority for approximately 1,000 nurse practitioners. The Board, however,
will save costs associated with mailing renewal forms and processing renewals of prescribing and dispensing author-
ity. The additional amendments to Article 5 will not have any economic impact on the individuals regulated under
Article 5, the Board, the public, small businesses, or consumers. 

9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the
economic, small business, and consumer impact statement:

Name: Janet M. Walsh, Associate Director

Address: Arizona State Board of Nursing
1651 E. Morten, Suite 150
Phoenix, Arizona 85020

Telephone: (602) 331-8111, Ext. 145

Fax: (602) 906-9365

10. The time, place and nature of the proceedings for the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the rule, or if no
proceeding is schedule, where, when, and how many persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:

The Board has scheduled a public hearing on the proposed amendment to Article 5 for July 20, 1999, at 9 a.m. The
Board will accept written comments submitted to the Associate Director identified in question #4 until the close of
record on July 20, 1999, at 5 p.m.

11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:

Not applicable.

12. Incorporation by reference and their location in the rules:
Not applicable.

13. The full text of the rule follows:

TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER 19. BOARD OF NURSING

ARTICLE 5. EXTENDED AND ADVANCED NURSING PRACTICE

Section
R4-19-505. Scope of Practice of the a Registered Nurse Practitioner
R4-19-507. Prescribing and Dispensing Authority
R4-19-508. Dispensing of Prepackaged Labeled Medications
R4-19-509. Inactive Prescribing and Dispensing Authority Repealed

ARTICLE 5. EXTENDED AND ADVANCED NURSING PRACTICE

R4-19-505. Scope of Practice of the a Registered Nurse Practitioner
A. In addition to the scope of practice permitted a professional nurse, a RNP registered nurse practitioner may perform the

following acts in collaboration with a physician:
1. Examine a patient patients and establish a medical diagnosis diagnoseis by client history, physical examination, and

other criteria;
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2. Admit a patient patients into a health care facility facilitiesy;
3. Order, perform, and interpret laboratory, radiographic, and other diagnostic tests;
4. Identify, develop, implement, and evaluate a plan of care for a patient to promote, maintain, and restore health;
5. If authorized under R4-19-507, prescribe Prescribe and dispense medication when granted authority in accordance

with R4-19-507; and
6. Refer to and consult with appropriate health care professionals.

B. Within 30 days of beginning new employment as a registered nurse practitioner or of a change in the identity of a collabo-
rating physician, a registered nurse practitioner shall provide the name and address of the collaborating physician to the
Board. The Board shall confirm the license status of the physician with the physician’s licensing board.

C. Registered nurse practitioners shall practice in accordance with the standards of nursing specified in the following scope
of practice statements, and no other editions, for the practitioner’s specialty area. Each of these scope of practice state-
ments is incorporated by reference and on file with the Board and the Office of the Secretary of State:
1. The Scope of Practice of the Primary Health Care Nurse Practitioner, 1985, pages 3, 4, and 6 through 9, American

Nurses’ Association, 2420 Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108;
2. Standards of Practice for the Primary Health Care Nurse Practitioner, 1987, pages 4 through 9, American Nurses’

Association, 2420 Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108;
3. Standards of Practice for PNP/As, 1987, National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates and Practitioners, 1101

Kings Highway North, Suite 206, Cherry Hill, N.J. 08034;
4. Ave., N.W., Suite 900, Washington, D.C. 20006; 
5. Nurse Providers of Neonatal Care, Guidelines for Educational Development and Practice, 1990, pages 4 and 5, NAA-

COG, 409 12th St., S.W., Washington, D.C. 20024-2191;
6. The Obstetric-Gynecologic/Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner, Role Definition, Competencies, and Educational

Guidelines, Third Edition, 1990, page 2, NAACOG, 409 12th St., S.W., Washington, D.C. 20024-2191; 
7. Standards for the Nursing Care of Women and Newborns, Fourth Edition, pages 5 through 13, 15 through 25, 27

through 61, and 63 through 77, NAACOG, 409 12th St., S.W., Washington, D.C. 20024-2191;
8. Neonatal Nurse Practitioners, Standards of Education and Practice, 1992, page 2, National Association of Neonatal

Nurses, 1304 Southpoint Blvd., Suite 280, Petaluma, CA 94954-6859;
9. Statement on Psychiatric-Mental Health Clinical Nursing Practice and Standards of Psychiatric-Mental Health Clini-

cal Nursing Practice, 1994, pages 25 through 34, American Nurses Association, 600 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Suite
100 West, Washington, D.C. 20024-2571;

10. Standards of School Nursing Practice, 1983, pages 5 through 11, American Nurses’ Association, 2420 Pershing Road,
Kansas City, Missouri 64108;

11. Standards of Practice, 1993, American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, Capitol Station, LBJ Building, P.O. Box
12846, Austin, TX 78711;

12. Scope of Practice for Nurse Practitioners, 1993, American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, Capitol Station, LBJ
Building, P.O. Box 12846, Austin, TX 78711; and

13. Core Competencies for Basic Nurse-Midwifery Practice, 1992, American College of Nurse Midwives, 818 Connecti-
cut Ave., N.W., Suite 900, Washington, D.C. 20006.

R4-19-507. Prescribing and Dispensing Authority
A. The Board shall authorize a RNP registered nurse practitioner to prescribe and dispense medication within the RNP’s

scope of practice only if the RNP registered nurse practitioner satisfies the following requirements:
1. Is a professional nurse currently licensed in Arizona in good standing and authorized by the Board to practic

a specialty area identified in R4-19-501;
2. Has 1 year of documented active practice as a registered nurse practitioner immediately before applying for 

ing and dispensing authority;
3.2. Submits a completed, notarized application on a form provided by the Board containing The applicant shall provide

the following information:
a. Name, address, and home phone number;
b. Professional nurse license number;
c. Nurse practitioner specialty;
d. Certification number;
e. Business address and phone number;
f. Length of time that applicant has practiced as a RNP registered nurse practitioner and whether full or part time;
g. If a faculty member, the number of hours of direct patient contact during the year preceding the date of a

tion;
h. Name and address of a collaborating physician who prescribes and dispenses and whose license status

confirmed by the Board with the physician's licensing board;
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i.h. Chronological listing of continuing education obtained by the applicant in pharmacology or clinical management
of drug therapy or both in the last 2 years;

k.i. Authority for which the applicant is applying; and,
l.j. Applicant’s Sworn sworn statement by the applicant verifying the truthfulness of the information provided by th

applicant.
3. Submits evidence of completion of a minimum of 45 contact hours of education in pharmacology or clinical m

ment of drug therapy or both: within 2 years immediately before the date of the application.
a. An applicant shall complete:

i. At least 6 of the 45 hours in the 12-month period immediately prior to the application date; and
ii. All 45 hours within the 2-year period before the application date.

a.b. Six of the 45 contact hours shall have been obtained within 1 year immediately before the date of app
One-half (22 hours) of the required contact hours submitted for application for prescribing authority may be from
mediated instruction and self study.

c. If documented, contact hours may consist of hours of the initial presentations of b. A a RNP registered nurse
practitioner who leads, instructs, or lectures to groups of health professionals on pharmacy-related topics
tinuing education activities. sponsored by a national professional accrediting organization shall be granted
tact hours for the time expended during the initial presentation, upon documentation to the Board.

c.d. A RNP registered nurse practitioner whose primary responsibility is the education of health professionals s
not be granted does not earn contact hours for time expended on normal teaching duties within the a learning
institution.

B. Upon receipt of an application, the Board shall review the application and the related material and shall approve t
cation if the applicant meets the requirements of this Section. The authority to prescribe and dispense medication
valid through December 31 of the year in which the authority is granted. An applicant who is denied medication P & D
prescribing and dispensing authority may request a hearing by filing a written request with the Board within 30 da
service of the Board's order denying the application for P & D prescribing and dispensing authority. Board hearings Hear-
ings shall comply with be conducted in accordance with A.R.S. Title 41, Chapter 6, Article 6 10, and 4 A.A.C. 19, Article
6.

C. A RNP registered nurse practitioner who has been granted with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority may:
1. Prescribe medications, and medical devices, and appliances.;
2. Provide for refill of prescription-only medications for 1 year from the date of the prescription.

D. A RNP registered nurse practitioner to whom the Board has granted with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority and
who wishes to prescribe a controlled substance shall make application apply to the DEA and to obtain a DEA registration
number before prescribing a controlled substance. The RNP registered nurse practitioner shall file the DEA registration
number with the Board.

E. A RNP registered nurse practitioner with a DEA registration number may prescribe a Class II controlled substance sched
uled as Class II, as defined in the Federal Controlled Substance Act, 21 U.S.C. § 801 et seq., or Arizona's Uniform
trolled Substance Act, A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 27, but shall not permit prescribe refills of the prescription.

F. A RNP registered nurse practitioner with a DEA registration number may prescribe a Class III or IV controlled substance
scheduled as Class III or IV, as defined in the Federal Controlled Substance Act or Arizona's Uniform Controlled 
stances Act, and may provide for prescribe a maximum of 5 refills in 6 months.

G. A RNP registered nurse practitioner with a DEA registration number may prescribe a Class V controlled substance sched
uled as Class V, as defined in the Federal Controlled Substance Act or Arizona's Uniform Controlled Substance A
may provide for prescribe refills for a maximum of 1 year.

H. A RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority shall ensure that all prescriptio
orders contain the following:
1. The RNP’s name, address, phone number, and specialty area of the registered nurse practitioner;
2. The prescription date the prescription is written;
3. The name and address of the patient;
4. The full name, and strength, dosage form, (of a controlled substance when applicable,) and directions for use;
5. Two signature lines for the prescriber with “dispense as written” under the left signature line and “substituti

missible” under the right. The right side of the prescription shall contain under the signature line the phrase “substitu
tion permissible”. The left side shall contain under the signature line, the phrase “dispense as written”; and

6. The DEA registration number, if applicable.
I. A registered nurse practitioner with prescribing and dispensing authority shall, each calendar year, obtain 10 cont

of continuing education in pharmacology or pharmacology management or a combination of both.
1. A maximum of 5 of the required contact hours for renewal of prescribing and dispensing authority may be from

ated instruction and self study.
2. Registered nurse practitioners shall submit to the Board, before December 31 of each year, a notarized affid

ing that they have obtained the required number of contact hours of continuing education and the annual ren
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Registered nurse practitioners who are granted prescribing and dispensing authority after October 31 shall not be
required to obtain the 10 contact hours of continuing education for that year.

3. A registered nurse practitioner with prescribing and dispensing authority shall submit to the Board, at its request, doc-
umentation of the contact hours of continuing education taken by the registered nurse practitioner.
a. A registered nurse practitioner who leads, instructs, or lectures to groups of health professionals on pharmacy-

related topics in continuing education activities sponsored by a national professional accrediting organization
shall be granted contact hours for the time expended during the initial presentation, upon documentation to the
Board.

b. A registered nurse practitioner whose primary responsibility is the education of health professionals shall not be
granted contact hours for time expended on normal teaching duties within the learning institution.

J. Whenever there is a change in the identity of a collaborating physician who prescribes and dispenses, a registered nurse
practitioner shall provide the Board with the name and address of the new collaborating physician who prescribes and dis-
penses within 30 days. The Board shall confirm the license status of the physician with the physician’s licensing board.

K. A registered nurse practitioner with prescribing and dispensing authority shall apply for renewal of the authority on or
before December 31 of each year. A registered nurse practitioner who fails to apply for renewal before expiration shall be
considered delinquent but shall be permitted to renew the prescribing and dispensing authority by paying the expiration
renewal fee and submitting the notarized affidavit required by subsection (I)(2). A registered nurse practitioner who fails
to apply for renewal within 90 days of the expiration date shall apply for prescribing and dispensing authority in accor-
dance with subsection (A). 

L.I. The Board of Nursing shall annually send a list of registered nurse practitioners with P & D prescribing and dispensing
authority to the Board of Pharmacy, the Board of Medical Examiners, and the Board of Osteopathic Examiners in Medi-
cine and Surgery.

J. A RNP shall not prescribe or dispense medications without prior Board authority. The Board may impose a civil penalty
for each violation, suspend the RNP’s P & D authority and impose other sanctions under A.R.S. § 32-1606(C). 
mining the appropriate sanction, the Board shall consider factors such as the number of violations, the severity o
lation, and the potential or existence of patient harm.

R4-19-508. Dispensing of Prepackaged Labeled Medications
A. A registered nurse practitioner with prescribing and dispensing authority shall dispense only to the registered nurs

tioner’s patients and only for conditions being treated by the registered nurse practitioner.
BA. Before dispensing a medication, a RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority shall

provide to the give a patient a written prescription on which appears with the following statement in bold type: “THIS
PRESCRIPTION MAY BE FILLED BY THE RNP OR BY A PHARMACY OF YOUR CHOICE.”

CB. A RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority may dispense prepackaged label
medications, controlled substances, and medical devices, and appliances. Samples of medications packaged for individ
use by licensed manufacturers or repackagers of medication may be dispensed without a prescription order.

DC.A RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority shall dispense all medication pre
packaged in a unit-of-use package labeled with the following information:
1. The dispensing RNP’s registered nurse practitioner’s name, and address, phone number, and specialty area;
2. The date the medication is dispensed;
3. The patient’s name and address;
4. The name and strength of the medication, manufacturer’s name, quantity in the container, directions for its 

any cautionary statements; and
5. The prescription order number.

ED. In all outpatient settings and at the time of hospital discharge, a RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing
and dispensing authority shall personally provide to the patient or the patient’s representative, directions for use, n
prescribed medication, and any special instructions, precautions, or storage requirements when any of the f
occurs:
1. A new prescribed medication is dispensed to the a patient or a new prescription number is assigned to a previou

dispensed medication;
2. The A prescription medication has not been previously dispensed to the patient in the same strength or dosa

or directions for a prescription medication have been changed;
3. In the RNP’s professional judgment of the registered nurse practitioner, these instructions are deemed warranted; or
4. The patient or patient’s representative requests instruction.

FE. A RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority shall enter into the patient’s medica
record,:
1. theThe name and strength of the medication dispensed, ;
2. theThe date the medication is dispensed, ; and
3. theThe therapeutic reason for the medication.
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GF. A RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority shall obtain medication only from a
physician, a pharmacist, a manufacturer, a wholesaler, a distributor, or a registered nurse practitioner with prescribing and
dispensing authority.

HG.A RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority shall:
1. keepKeep all medication in a locked cabinet or room, ;
2. controlControl access to the cabinet or room by a written procedure, ; and
3. maintainMaintain a current inventory of the contents of the cabinet or room.

IH. A RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority shall preserve all original prescrip-
tion orders dispensed for a minimum of 3 years. The RNP registered nurse practitioner shall make the original prescription
orders available at all times for inspection by the Board of Nursing, the Board of Pharmacy, and law enforcement officers
in performance of their duties.

JI. A RNP registered nurse practitioner shall, if dispensing a controlled substances substance, maintain an inventories inven-
tory and a records record of the controlled substances as follows:
1. Inventories and records of all controlled substances listed in Schedule II Controlled Substances, as defined in the Fed-

eral Controlled Substance Act or Arizona’s Uniform Controlled Substances Act, shall be maintained separately from
all other records, and a prescriptions prescription for these a Schedule II substances substance shall be maintained in
a separate prescription file; and

2. Inventories and records of controlled substances listed in Schedules III, IV, and V Controlled Substances, as defined
in the Federal Controlled Substance Act or Arizona’s Uniform Controlled Substances Act, shall be maintaine either
separately from all other records or in a form that the information required is readily retrievable from ordinar
ness records. Prescriptions for these substances shall be maintained either in a prescription file for contro
stances listed in Schedules III, IV, and V only or in a form that they are readily retrievable from other presc
records. A Prescriptions prescription shall be deemed is readily retrievable if, at the time they are it is initially filed,
the face of the prescription is stamped in red ink in the lower-right corner with the letter “C” no less than 1 inc
and filed either in the prescription file for a controlled substances substance listed in Schedule II or in the usual con
secutively-numbered prescription file for a noncontrolled substances substance.

KJ. A RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority shall record the following informa-
tion on the back of each prescription order when the prescription order is refilled:
1. Date refilled,
2. Quantity dispensed, and
3. RNP’sRegistered nurse practitioner’s name or identifiable initials. By initialing and dating If the registered nurse

practitioner merely initials and dates the back of the prescription order, the RNP registered nurse practitioner shall b
deemed to have dispenseds dispenses a refill for the full amount of the original prescription order.

LK.A RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority shall comply with all applicable
laws and rules in prescribing, administering, and dispensing a medications medication or a controlled substances sub-
stance, including compliance with labeling requirements of A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 18.

ML.Under the supervision of a RNP registered nurse practitioner with P & D prescribing and dispensing authority, licensed or
unlicensed personnel may assist the RNP registered nurse practitioner in the following:
1. Receiving a request for refilling a prescription medication by prescription order number;
2. Accepting a verbal refill authorization from the RNP registered nurse practitioner: and
3. recordingRecording a verbal refill authorization on the back of the original prescription form and in the pati

medical record: 
a theThe RNP’s registered nurse practitioner’s name,
b. dateDate of the refill, and
c. nameName and quantity of medication; and

34. Typing and affixing labels for prescription medications.
N. A registered nurse practitioner shall not prescribe or dispense medications without being granted the authority to 

and dispense medications by the Board. A registered nurse practitioner who fails to timely renew the authority to p
or dispense medications shall not prescribe or dispense medications until renewal is approved by the Board. A r
nurse practitioner who violates this subsection shall be subject to a civil penalty which the Board may impose 
transaction. In addition, the Board may suspend the registered nurse practitioner’s prescribing and dispensing 
and impose other sanctions under A.R.S. § 32-1606(C).

R4-19-509. Inactive Prescribing and Dispensing Authority Repealed
A. A registered nurse practitioner may request that the Board put the registered nurse practitioner’s prescribing and

ing authority on inactive status by notifying the Board in writing. A registered nurse practitioner shall not prescribe
pense medications while the authority to do so is on inactive status.

B. To reactivate prescribing and dispensing authority, a registered nurse practitioner shall submit to the Board the ren
and documentation of 6 contact hours of continuing education in pharmacology or clinical management of drug 
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or both, for each year on inactive status before 1997. For each year on inactive status from and after 1997, the registered
nurse practitioner shall submit documentation of 10 contact hours of continuing education in pharmacology or clinical
management of drug therapy, or both. The maximum number of contact hours required to reactivate prescribing and dis-
pensing authority shall not exceed 45.

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 7. EDUCATION

CHAPTER 2. STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

PREAMBLE

1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
R7-2-607 Amend
R7-2-608 Amend
R7-2-609 Amend
R7-2-610 Amend
R7-2-611 Amend
R7-2-612 Amend
R7-2-614 Amend
R7-2-615 Amend
R7-2-1301 Amend
R7-2-1302 Amend
R7-2-1303 Renumber
R7-2-1304 Renumber
R7-2-1305 Amend
R7-2-1306 Amend
R7-2-1307 Amend

2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statue (general) and the statutes the rules
are implementing (specific):

Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 15-203(A) and (B)

Implementing statute: A.R.S. §§ 15-203(A), (B), and 15-534

3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 5 A.A.R. 1320, May 7, 1999.

4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:
Name: Corinne L. Velasquez, Executive Director

Address: State Board of Education
1535 West Jefferson, Room 418
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-5057

Fax: (602) 542-3046

5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
The State Board of Education proposes to amend the rules related to certification (Article 6) to address statutory
changes and requirements. Specifically, the Board will add language related to a Class I or Class II fingerprint clear-
ance card as a requirement for certification. In addition, language will be added to the requirements for an elementary
certificate to include training in research based systematic phonics instruction pursuant to A.R.S. § 15-203(A

The State Board of Education proposes to amend the rules related to conduct (Article 13) to make technical
in the wording of the rule. Specifically, the Board desired to make the rules clearer by changing the terminolo
related to allegations, charges, and complaints.
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6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justification for the proposed
rule and where the public may obtain or review the study, all data underlying each study, any analysis of the study
and other supporting material:

Not applicable.

7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a
previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable.

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business and consumer impact:
The Board does not anticipate an economic, small business or consumer impact related to, or created by, the proposed
amendments.

9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the
economic, small business and consumer impact statement:

Name: Corinne L. Velasquez, Executive Director

Address: State Board of Education
1535 West Jefferson, Room 418
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-5057

Fax: (602) 542-3046

10. The time, place and nature of the proceedings for the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the rules, if no proceeding
is scheduled, when, where, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rules:

An oral proceeding on the proposed rulemaking is scheduled as follows:

Date: August 23, 1999

Time: 1:30 p.m.

Location: State Board of Education
1535 West Jefferson, Room 417
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Written comments may be submitted on or before 5 p.m., August 20, 1999, to the contact person listed above.

11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:

Not applicable.

12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
None.

13. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 7. EDUCATION

CHAPTER 2. STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

ARTICLE 6. CERTIFICATION

Section
R7-2-607. General Certification Provisions
R7-2-608. Elementary Teaching Certificates
R7-2-609. Secondary Teaching Certificates
R7-2-610. Special Education Teaching Certificates
R7-2-611. Vocational Teaching Certificates
R7-2-612. Other Teaching Certificates
R7-2-614. Administrative Certificates
R7-2-615. Other Professional Certificates
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ARTICLE 13. CONDUCT

R7-2-1301. Definitions
R7-2-1302. Statement of Complaint
R7-2-1304R7-2-1303.ChargeComplaint
R7-2-1303R7-2-1304.Notification of Complaint; Investigation investigation
R7-2-1305. Conviction of Criminal Offenses; Investigation
R7-2-1306. Reviewable Offenses
R7-2-1307. Criminal Offenses; Nonreviewable

ARTICLE 6. CERTIFICATION

R7-2-607. General Certification Provisions
A. No change.
B. No change.
C. No change.
D. No change.
E. No change.
F. No change.
G. No change.
H. No change.
I. No change.
J. No change.
K. Class I and Class II fingerprint clearance cards shall be issued by the Arizona Department of Public Safety.

R7-2-608. Elementary Teaching Certificates
A. No change.
B. Provisional Elementary Certificate -- grades K-8

1. The certificate is valid for 2 years and is not renewable.
2. The requirements are:

a. A Bachelor’s degree;
b. One of the following:

i. Completion of a teacher preparation program in elementary education from an accredited institutio
Board-approved teacher preparation program, described in R7-2-604; or

ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7
including at least 8 semester hours of practicum in grades K-8. Two years of verified teaching experi
grades Prekindergarten-8 may be substituted for the 8 semester hours of practicum; or

iii. A valid elementary certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment; 
d. A passing score on the elementary education subject knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Pro

Assessment.; and
e. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

C. Standard Elementary Certificate -- grades K-8
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. Qualification for the provisional elementary certificate; and
b. A passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment.;
c. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card; and
d. Forty-five hours or 3 semester hours of instruction in research-based systematic phonics. An accredited institu

tion or other provider may provide this instruction.

R7-2-609. Secondary Teaching Certificates
A. No change.
B. Provisional Secondary Certificate -- grades 7-12

1. The certificate is valid for 2 years and is not renewable.
2. The requirements are:

a. A Bachelor’s degree;
b. One of the following:

i. Completion of a teacher preparation program in secondary education from an accredited institutio
Board-approved teacher preparation program, described in R7-2-604; or
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ii. Thirty semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7-2-602,
including at least 8 semester hours of practicum in grades 7-12. Two years of verified teaching experience in
grades 7-postsecondary may substitute for the 8 semester hours of practicum; or

iii. A valid secondary certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on 1 or more subject knowledge portions of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment; and
d. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment.; and
c. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

C. Standard Secondary Certificate -- grades 7-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. Qualification for the provisional secondary certificate; and
b. A passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment.; and
c. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

R7-2-610. Special Education Teaching Certificates
A. No change.
B. No change.
C. Provisional Cross-Categorical Special Education Certificate -- grades K-12

1. The certificate is valid for 2 years and is not renewable.
2. The holder is qualified to teach students with mild to moderate mental retardation, emotional disability, specific

learning disability, orthopedic impairments and other health impairments.
3. The requirements are:

a. A Bachelor’s degree;
b. One of the following:

i. Completion of a teacher preparation program in special education from an accredited institution,
included courses in mental retardation, emotional disability, specific learning disability, orthopedic im
ments and other health impairments; or

ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the standards described in R7-2-602, in
21 semester hours of special education courses and 8 semester hours of practicum with students rep
at least 3 of the 5 disability areas. Special education courses shall include survey of exceptional s
teaching methodologies and strategies for students with disabilities; foundations course in mild to m
mental retardation, learning disability, emotional disabilities, and physical/health impairment; and dia
and assessment of mild disabilities. Two years of verified teaching experience in special education in
K-12 may substitute for the 8 semester hours of practicum; or

iii. A valid cross-categorical special education certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment; 
d. A passing score on the cross-categorical special education portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency

ment.; and
e. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

D. Standard Cross-Categorical Special Education Certificate -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The holder is qualified to teach students with mild to moderate mental retardation, emotional disability, s

learning disability, orthopedic impairments and other health impairments.
3. The requirements are:

a. Qualification for the provisional cross-categorical Special Education certificate; and
b. A passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment.; and
c. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

E. Provisional Specialized Special Education Certificate -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 2 years and is not renewable.
2. The holder is qualified to teach students with mental retardation, emotional disability, specific learning dis

orthopedic impairments or other health impairments, as specified on the certificate.
3. The requirements are:

a. A Bachelor’s degree;
b. One of the following:

i. Completion of a teacher preparation program in the specified area of special education from an ac
institution; or

ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7
including 21 semester hours of special education courses and 8 semester hours of practicum in th
nated area of disability.  Special education courses shall include survey of exceptional students; t
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methodologies for students with disabilities; foundations of instruction in the designated area of disability;
and diagnosis and assessment of disabilities. Two years of verified teaching experience in the area of disabil-
ity in grades K-12 may be substituted for the 8 semester hours of practicum; or

iii. A valid special education certificate in the specified area from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment; and
d. A passing score on the specified disability special education portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assess-

ment; and
e. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

F. Standard Specialized Special Education Certificate -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The holder is qualified to teach students with mental retardation, emotional disability, specific learning disability,

orthopedic impairments or other health impairments, as specified on the certificate.
3. The requirements are:

a. Qualification for the provisional Special Education certificate; and
b. A passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment.; and
c. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

G. Provisional Severely and Profoundly Disabled Certificate -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 2 years and is not renewable.
2. The requirements are:

a. A Bachelor’s degree;
b. One of the following:

i. Completion of a teacher preparation program in severely and profoundly disabled education from an 
ited institution; or

ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7
including 21 semester hours of special education courses and 8 semester hours of practicum. Speci
tion courses shall include survey of exceptional students, teaching methodologies for students with
and profound disabilities, foundations of instruction of students with severe and profound disabilitie
diagnostic and assessment procedures for students with severe and profound disabilities. Two years
fied teaching experience with students in grades Prekindergarten-12 who are severely and profoun
abled may be substituted for the 8 semester hours of practicum; or

iii. A valid Severely and Profoundly Disabled certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment; 
d. A passing score on the severely and profoundly disabled special education portion of the Arizona Teach

ciency Assessment.; and
e. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

H. Standard Severely and Profoundly Disabled Certificate -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. Qualification for the provisional severely and profoundly disabled certificate; and
b. A passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment.; and
c. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

I. Provisional Hearing Impaired Certificate -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 2 years and is not renewable.
2. The requirements are:

a. A Bachelor’s degree;
b. One of the following:

i. Completion of a teacher preparation program in hearing impaired education from an accredited inst
or

ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7
including 21 semester hours of special education courses for the hearing impaired and 8 semester 
practicum. Special education courses shall include survey of exceptional students, teaching metho
for students with hearing impairment, foundations of instruction of students with hearing impairmen
diagnostic and assessment procedures for the hearing impaired. Two years of verified teaching expe
the area of hearing impaired in grades Prekindergarten-12 may be substituted for the 8 semester 
practicum; or

iii. A valid hearing impaired certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment; 
d. A passing score on the hearing impaired special education portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency 

ment.; and
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e. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.
J. Standard Hearing Impaired Certificate -- grades K-12

1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. Qualification for the provisional hearing impaired certificate; and
b. A passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment.; and
c. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

K. Provisional Visually Impaired Certificate -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 2 years and is not renewable.
2. The requirements are:

a. A Bachelor’s degree;
b. One of the following:

i. Completion of a teacher preparation program in visual impairment from an accredited institution; or
ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7

including 21 semester hours of special education courses for the visually impaired and 8 semester 
practicum. Special education courses shall include survey of exceptional students, teaching metho
for students with visual impairment, foundations of instruction of students with visual impairment, and
nostic and assessment procedures for the visually impaired. Two years of verified teaching experienc
area of visually impaired in grades Prekindergarten-12 may be substituted for the 8 semester hours o
cum; or

iii. A valid visually impaired special education certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment; 
d. A passing score on the visually impaired special education portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency A

ment.; and
e. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

L. Standard Visually Impaired Certificate -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. Qualifications for the provisional visually impaired certificate; and
b. A passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment.; and
c. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

M. Provisional Speech and Language Impaired Certificate -- grades K-12
1. This certificate is valid for 2 years and is not renewable.
2. The requirements are:

a. A Bachelor’s or higher degree in speech pathology or communication disorders;
b. One of the following:

i. Completion of a teacher preparation program in speech and language special education from an accre
institution; or

ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7
including 30 semester hours of special education courses for the speech impaired. Special education
shall include survey of exceptional students, teaching methodologies for students with speech impa
foundations of instruction of students with speech impairment, diagnostic and assessment procedure
speech impaired, and a minimum of 200 clock hours of supervised clinical practice in providing spee
language impairment services. All clinical practice clock hours shall be supervised by an American 
and Language Association-certified pathologist or by a state-certified speech and language therapist

iii. A valid Speech and Language Impaired special education certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment; 
d. A passing score on the speech and language impaired special education portion of the Arizona Teach

ciency Assessment.; and
e. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

N. Standard Speech and Language Impaired Certificate -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. Qualification for the provisional speech and language impaired certificate; and
b. A passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment.; and
c. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

O. Provisional Early Childhood Special Education Certificate -- Birth to 5 years
1. The certificate is valid for 2 years and is not renewable.
2. The requirements are:
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a. A Bachelor’s degree; 
b. One of the following:

i. Completion of a teacher preparation program in early childhood special education from an accredite
tution; or

ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the standards described in R7-2-602, in
child development and learning, language development, social and emotional development, curr
development and implementation, and assessment and evaluation, early childhood special educatio
semester hours of practicum in early childhood special education. Two years of verified teaching exp
in the area of early childhood special education may be substituted for the 8 semester hours of pract

iii. A valid early childhood special education certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment; 
d. A passing score on the early childhood special education portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Asse

and
e. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

P. Standard Early Childhood Special Education Certificate -- Birth to 5 years
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. Requirements are:

a. Qualify for the provisional early childhood Special Education certificate; and
b. Passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment.; and
c. A valid Class I fingerprint clearance card.

R7-2-611. Vocational Teaching Certificates
A. No change.
B. Provisional Vocational Certificate - Agriculture -- grades K-12

1. The certificate is valid for 2 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. A Bachelor’s degree;
b. Eighteen semester hours of courses in agriculture; and
c. Two thousand clock hours of verified employment in agriculture in the last 6 years.; and
d. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

3. The holder of this certificate shall receive a passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the 
Teacher Proficiency Assessment before the 2nd renewal of the provisional vocational certificate or the issuan
standard vocational certificate.

C. Standard Vocational Certificate - Agriculture -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. Qualification for the provisional vocational certificate - Agriculture;
b. Thirty semester hours of courses in agriculture with 5 semester hours of courses in 3 of the following are

mal science; plant science including soils; agricultural engineering; economics or agricultural econom
agricultural resources; and

c. Eighteen semester hours of courses, to include the following areas: methods of teaching agriculture, cu
and materials of instruction, and practicum in agriculture in grades K-12. Two years of experience teachin
culture in grades K-12 may substitute for the practicum.; and

d. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.
D. Provisional Vocational Certificate - Business -- grades K-12

1. The certificate is valid for 2 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. A Bachelor’s degree;
b. Thirty semester hours of business and office courses;
c. Six semester hours of vocational education courses; and
d. Two thousand clock hours of verified employment in business/office occupations or a practicum in bu

office occupations in the past 6 years.; and
e. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

3. The holder of this certificate shall receive a passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the 
Teacher Proficiency Assessment before the 2nd renewal of the provisional vocational certificate or the issuan
standard vocational certificate.

E. Standard Vocational Certificate - Business -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:
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a. Qualification for the provisional vocational certificate - Business; and
b. Twenty-one semester hours of vocational education courses, to include methods of teaching business and princi-

ples of vocational education.; and
c. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

F. Provisional Vocational Certificate - Family and Consumer Sciences -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 2 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. A Bachelor’s degree;
b. Thirty semester hours of courses in family and consumer sciences with 1 course in each of the follow

span development; family or human relations; clothing and textiles or merchandising; nutrition, health o
preparation; facility management, housing or interior design; consumer economics or family resources; c
arts; and practicum in child care or elder care; and

c. Two thousand clock hours of verified employment in family and consumer sciences or 5 semester h
practicum in family and consumer sciences, completed in the last 6 years.; and

d. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.
3. The holder of this certificate shall receive a passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the 

Teacher Proficiency Assessment before the 2nd renewal of the provisional vocational certificate or the issuan
standard vocational certificate.

G. Standard Vocational Certificate - Family and Consumer Sciences -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. Applicants shall meet all of the requirements in 1 of the following options:

a. Option A:
i. Qualification for the provisional vocational certificate - Family and Consumer Sciences; and
ii. Eighteen semester hours of courses in vocational education to include methods of teaching family a

sumer sciences.; and
iii. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

b. Option B:
i. A Bachelor’s degree;
ii. Six thousand clock hours of verified employment in family and consumer sciences, completed in the

years; and
iii. Fifteen semester hours of courses in vocational education, to include methods of teaching family an

sumer sciences.; and
iv. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

H. Provisional Vocational Certificate - Health Occupations -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 2 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card;
ab. A professional license and 6,000 clock hours of verified employment in a health occupation in the last 6 y
bc. A Bachelor’s degree in a biological science, health science, or physical science; 2,000 clock hours of 

employment in the area to be taught, completed in the past 6 years; and a professional license in a health
tion.

3. The holder of this certificate shall receive a passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the 
Teacher Proficiency Assessment before the 2nd renewal of the provisional vocational certificate or the issuan
standard vocational certificate.

I. Standard Vocational Certificate - Health Occupations -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. Qualification for the provisional vocational certificate - Health Occupations; and
b. Twelve semester hours of vocational education courses, to include the following: methods of teaching, 

lum development, and evaluation.; and
c. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

J. Provisional Vocational Certificate - Industrial Technology -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 2 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.
ab. A Bachelor’s degree and 2,000 clock hours of verified employment in the area to be taught; or
bc. Six thousand clock hours of verified employment in the area to be taught. A valid industry-recognized o

tional certification or license may substitute for the employment.
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3. The holder of this certificate shall receive a passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona
Teacher Proficiency Assessment before the 2nd renewal of the provisional vocational certificate or the issuance of the
standard vocational certificate.

K. Standard Vocational Certificate - Industrial Technology -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. Qualify for the provisional vocational certificate - Industrial Technology; and
b. Fifteen semester hours of courses in vocational education, to include methods of teaching industrial technology.;

and
c. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

L. Provisional Vocational Certificate - Marketing -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 2 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.
ab. A Bachelor’s degree; and 6,000 clock hours of verified employment in the area to be taught; or
bc. A Bachelor’s or more advanced degree in business or marketing; 2,000 clock hours of verified employm

marketing or a practicum in marketing occupations; and 6 semester hours of courses in each of the fo
marketing, management, and finance.

3. The holder of this certificate shall receive a passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the 
Teacher Proficiency Assessment before the 2nd renewal of the provisional vocational certificate or the issuan
standard vocational certificate.

M. Standard Vocational Certificate - Marketing -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. Qualification for the provisional vocational certificate - Marketing under the requirements in para
(L)(2)(b); and

b. Twelve semester hours of marketing or business education courses to include methods of teaching, and
lum and materials of instruction.; and

c. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

R7-2-612. Other Teaching Certificates
A. No change.
B. Substitute Certificate -- grades K-12

1. The certificate is valid for 6 years and renewable by reapplication.
2. The certificate entitles the holder to substitute in the temporary absence of a regular contract teacher. A pers

ing only a substitute certificate shall not be assigned a contract teaching position.
3. An individual who holds a valid teaching or administrator certificate shall not be required to hold a substitute

cate to be employed as a substitute teacher.
4. A person holding only a substitute certificate shall be limited to teaching 120 days in the same school eac

year.
5. The requirement for issuance is a Bachelor’s degree and a valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card
6. Substitute certificates previously issued as valid for life under this rule shall remain valid for life.

C. Emergency Substitute Certificate -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid for 1 school year or part thereof. The expiration date shall be the following July 1.
2. The certificate entitles the holder to substitute only in the specified county and in districts the county school s

tendent approves.
3. The certificate entitles the holder to substitute in the temporary absence of a regular contract teacher. A pers

ing only an emergency substitute certificate shall not be assigned a contract teaching position.
4. The holder of an emergency substitute certificate shall be limited to 120 days of substitute teaching per sch

and shall not serve in any 1 classroom for more than 20 working days.
5. The requirements for initial issuance are:

a. High school diploma;
b. Verification from the school district superintendent that an emergency employment situation exists; and
c. Concurrence by the county school superintendent that an emergency employment situation exists.; and
d. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

6. The requirements for each reissuance are:
a. Two semester hours of academic courses completed since the last issuance of the Emergency Substitu

cate. District in-service programs designed for professional development may substitute for academic c
Fifteen clock hours of in-service is equivalent to 1 semester hour. In-service hours shall be verified by the
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superintendent or personnel director. Individuals who have earned 30 or more semester hours are exempt from
this requirement.;

b. Verification from the school district superintendent that an emergency employment situation exists;
c. Concurrence by the county school superintendent that an emergency employment situation exists; and
d. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

7. When the requesting school is a Bureau of Indian Affairs school, a Bureau of Indian Affairs grant school, a tribally
controlled or contract school, concurrence by the county school superintendent shall not be required.

D. Emergency Teaching Certificate -- grades K-12
1. The certificate is valid 1 school year or part thereof. The expiration date shall be the following July 1.
2. The certificate entitles the holder to enter into a teaching contract.
3. Emergency teaching certificates shall be issued only for elementary and secondary certificates required by 

15-502(B), special education certificates, and required endorsements.
4. The requirements for initial issuance are:

a. A Bachelor’s degree;
b. Verification from the school district superintendent that an emergency employment situation exists; and
c. Concurrence by the county school superintendent that an emergency employment situation exists.; and
d. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

5. The requirements for reissuance are:
a. Verification from the school district superintendent that an emergency employment situation exists;
b. Concurrence by the county school superintendent that an emergency employment situation exists; and
c. Six semester hours of courses toward meeting the requirements for the specified certificate or endorseme

pleted since the last issuance of the emergency teaching certificate. If an applicant is enrolled in a
approved teacher preparation program, 90 clock hours toward completion of the program may substitute 
semester hours.; and

d. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.
6. When the requesting school is a charter school, a Bureau of Indian Affairs school, a Bureau of Indian Affair

school, tribally controlled or contract school, concurrence by the county school superintendent shall not be re
E. Teaching Intern Certificate -- grades K-12

1. The certificate is valid for 2 years and is not renewable.
2. The intern certificate entitles the holder to perform intern or paraprofessional duties in whatever grades or le

assigned.
3. The requirements are:

a. Current enrollment in a teacher preparation program; and
b. A recommendation from the dean of a college of education or the administrator of a Board-approved 

preparation program.; and
c. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

4. The holder shall be under the direct supervision of college and certified school personnel.
F. Adult Education Certificates

1. The adult education certificates are issued for individuals teaching in the areas of Adult Basic Education, 
Educational Development, English as a Second Language, or Citizenship.

2. Provisional Adult Education Certificate
a. The certificate is valid for 3 years and is not renewable.
b. The requirement for issuance is a valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card and a Bachelor’s degree or 3

years of experience as a teacher, tutor, or aide in an adult education program or in grades K-12. Up to 2
experience may be waived by postsecondary academic credit, with 30 semester hours equivalent to 1
experience.

3. Standard Adult Education Certificate
a. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
b. The requirements are:

i. One year of part-time or full-time teaching experience under a provisional adult education certificate
fied by an adult education program administrator; and

ii. Completion of 10 clock hours in a professional development program described in R7-2-617(B) sin
issuance of the provisional adult education certificate.; and

iii. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.
c. The renewal requirements are completion of 60 clock hours in a professional development program, des

R7-2-617(B).
G. Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps Teaching Certificate -- grades 9-12

1. The certificate is valid for 6 years and is renewable upon application.
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2. The certificate is valid at any local education agency which conducts an approved Junior Reserve Officer Training
Corps program of the Air Force, Army, Navy, or Marine Corps.

3. The requirements are:
a. Verification by the district of an approved Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps program of instruction in which

the applicant will be teaching; and
b. Verification by the district that the applicant meets the work experience required by the respective military ser-

vice.; and
c. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

H. Athletic coaching certificate – grades 7-12
1. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The certificate entitles the holder to perform coaching duties in interscholastic and extracurricular athletic ac

It is not required for teachers who hold a valid elementary, secondary or special education certificate.
3. The requirements are:

a. Valid certification in first aid and Coronary and Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR);
b. Completion of 15 semester hours of courses which shall include at least 3 semester hours in courses 

each of the following: methods of coaching; anatomy and physiology; sports psychology; adolescent p
ogy; and the prevention and treatment of athletic injuries; and

c. 250 hours of verified coaching experience in the sport to be coached. Coaching experience may include
ence as a head coach or assistant coach in a school program or in an organized athletic league.; and

d. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.
4. Renewal requirements are:

a. Completion of 60 clock hours in a professional development program described in R7-2-617(B);
b. Valid certification in first aid and CPR.

R7-2-614. Administrative Certificates
A. No change.
B. Supervisor Certificate -- grades Prekindergarten-12

1. The supervisor certificate is required for all personnel whose primary responsibility is administering instru
programs, supervising certified personnel, or similar administrative duties.

2. The certificate may be renewed with a concurrently held teaching certificate. The expiration date shall be the
the expiration date of the teaching certificate.

3. The requirements are:
a. A standard elementary, secondary, or special education certificate;
b. A Master’s or more advanced degree;
c. Three years of verified teaching experience in grades Prekindergarten-12;
d. Completion of a program in educational administration which shall consist of a minimum of 18 graduate 

ter hours of educational administration courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7-2-6
e. A practicum in educational administration or 2 years of verified educational administrative experience in

Prekindergarten-12;
f. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Administrator Proficiency Asses

and
g. A passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Administrator Proficiency Assessment.; and
h. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

4. A valid supervisor certificate from another state may be substituted for the teaching experience, program in
tional administration, and practicum described in paragraphs (3)(c), (3)(d), and (3)(e) of this section.

C. Principal Certificate – grades Prekindergarten-12
1. The principal certificate is required for all personnel who hold the title of principal, assistant principal, or othe

similar administrative duties.
2. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
3. The requirements are:

a. A Master’s or more advanced degree;
b. Three years of verified teaching experience in grades Prekindergarten-12;
c. Completion of a program in educational administration for principals including at least 30 graduate se

hours of educational administration courses teaching the knowledge and skills described in R7-2-603;
d. A practicum as a principal or 2 years of verified experience as a principal or assistant principal in grades

dergarten-12;
e. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Administrator Proficiency Asses

and
f. A passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Administrator Proficiency Assessment.; and
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g. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.
4. A valid principal certificate from another state may be substituted for the teaching experience, program in educational

administration, and practicum described in paragraphs (3)(b), (3)(c), and (3)(d) of this section.
D. Superintendent Certificate -- grades Prekindergarten-12

1. The superintendent certificate is required for superintendents, assistant or associate superintendents, district chief
executive officers regardless of title, and others with similar district-level administrative duties.

2. The certificate is valid for 6 years.
3. The requirements are:

a. A Master’s or more advanced degree including at least 60 graduate semester hours;
b. Completion of a program in educational administration for superintendents, including at least 36 graduate

ter hours of educational administrative courses which teach the standards described in R7-2-603;
c. Three years of verified teaching experience in grades Prekindergarten-12;
d. A practicum as a superintendent or 2 years verified experience as a superintendent, assistant superint

associate superintendent in grades Prekindergarten-12;
e. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Administrator Proficiency Asses

and
f. A passing score on the performance portion of the Arizona Administrator Proficiency Assessment.; and
g. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

4. A valid superintendent certificate from another state may be substituted for the program in educational adm
tion, teaching experience, and practicum described in paragraphs (3)(b), (3)(c), and (3)(d) of this section.

5. Individuals who hold an Alternative Superintendent Certificate before the effective date of this rule shall be is
Superintendent Certificate at the time of renewal. Individuals who were evaluated for an Alternative Superin
Certificate before the effective date of this rule and who meet the qualifications in effect at the time of eva
within 2 years of the evaluation shall be issued a Superintendent Certificate.

R7-2-615. Other Professional Certificates
A. No change.
B. Guidance Counselor Certificate -- grades K-12

1. The guidance counselor certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. A Master’s or more advanced degree; 
b. Completion of a graduate program in guidance and counseling. A valid guidance counselor certificat

another state may substitute for this requirement; and
c. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card; and
cd. One of the following:

i. Completion of a supervised counseling practicum in school counseling;
ii. Two years of verified, full-time experience as a school guidance counselor; or 
iii. Three years of verified teaching experience.

C. School Psychologist Certificate -- grades Prekindergarten-12
1. The school psychologist certificate is valid for 6 years.
2. The requirements are:

a. A Master’s or more advanced degree;
b. Completion of a graduate program in school psychology consisting of at least 60 graduate semester hou
c. A practicum of at least 1,000 clock hours.; and
d. A valid Class I or Class II fingerprint clearance card.

3. A valid school psychologist certificate from another state may be substituted for the completion of a p
described in paragraph (2)(b).

ARTICLE 13. CONDUCT

R7-2-1301. Definitions
In this Article, unless the context otherwise specifies:

1. “Alleging party” means an individual, partnership, corporation, association, governmental subdivision or un
governmental subdivision, a public or private organization of any character or other agency who completes
ment alleging immoral or unprofessional conduct against a certificated individual.

12. “Applicant” means a person who has submitted an application to the Department requesting an evaluatio
requirements set forth in R7-2-601 et seq., requesting issuance of a certificate pursuant to R7-2-601 et
requesting renewal of a previously held certificate issued pursuant to R7-2-601 et seq.

23. “Board” means the State Board of Education.
34. “Certificated individual” means an individual who holds an Arizona certificate issued pursuant to R7-2-601 et
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4. “Complaining party” means an individual, partnership, corporation, association, governmental subdivision or 
a governmental subdivision, a public or private organization of any character or other agency who completes
ment of complaint alleging immoral or unprofessional conduct against a certificated individual.

5. “ChargeComplaint” means the filing of allegations a charge by the Board against a certificated individual allegin
immoral or unprofessional conduct.

6. “Department” means the Department of Education.
76. “Hearing” means an adjudicative proceeding held pursuant to Title 41, Chapter 6 and R7-2-701 et seq.
87. “PPAC” means the Professional Practices Advisory Committee established pursuant to R7-2-205.
9. “Respondent” means a certificated individual who is charged with committing an immoral or unprofessional a

R7-2-1302. Statement of Complaintallegations
A. Any person may file, with the Board, a statement of complaint allegations against a certificated individual on forms pro

vided by the Board.
B. A statement of complaint allegations shall state the facts under which the complaining a party is alleging immoral or

unprofessional conduct and shall be signed and notarized.
C. The facts in a statement of complaint allegations shall clearly state the details of the alleged immoral or unprofessio

conduct. 
D. A statement of complaint allegations shall contain the names, addresses and telephone numbers of individuals who 

contacted to provide information regarding the allegations contained in the statement of complaint. The list of individuals
shall also include a brief summary of the substance and extent of each individual’s knowledge regarding the all
contained in the statement of complaint.

E. The complaining alleging party may attach written or other evidence to a statement of complaint allegations at the time
that the statement is filed with the DepartmentBoard.

F. A statement of complaint allegations filed by a school district shall be accompanied by a certified copy of a school b
resolution authorizing the statement of complaint allegations to be filed.

G. A statement of complaint allegations may be returned to the complaining alleging party if the statement is not complete o
not legible.

H. The Board shall conduct an investigation of all statements of allegations filed pursuant to this Article.

R7-2-1304R7-2-1303.ChargeComplaint
A. Upon completion of an investigation resulting from a statement of complaintallegations, the Board may file a chargecom-

plaint against a certificated individual.
B. The Board may, at its own discretion, investigate any matter and file a complaint against a certificated individu

receiving any information, from any source, indicating immoral or unprofessional conduct has occurred.
BC. A hearing shall be held on a charge complaint before the PPAC.

R7-2-1303R7-2-1304.Notification of Complaint; Investigation investigation
A. Within 20 days after the filing of a statement of complaint, the Board shall notify the certificated individual that a sta

ment of complaint has been filed and the Board shall provide the certificated individual with a copy of said statem
complaint. Such notice shall be delivered personally or by certified mail to the last known address.

B. The certificated individual shall have 15 days from receipt of notification by the Board to respond to the statem
complaint. The certificated individual’s response to the complaint shall be filed with the Board.

C. An investigation of all statements of complaint filed pursuant to this Article shall be conducted.

R7-2-1305. Conviction of Criminal Offenses criminal offenses; Investigation investigation
A. Applicants shall certify on forms that are provided by the Department Board whether they are awaiting trial on, or hav

ever been convicted of, or have admitted in open court or pursuant to a plea agreement committing any offense
A.R.S. § 15-534. Applicants for certification shall not be required to disclose information regarding misdem
offenses other than those listed in A.R.S. § 15-534.

B. Upon receipt of notification that an applicant or certificated individual has been convicted of or admitted in open c
pursuant to a plea agreement committing any criminal offense specified in A.R.S. §15-534, the Board shall in
investigation.

C. Applicants and certificated individuals who are alleged to have been convicted of a criminal offense specified in A
15-534 shall provide the Board with copies of court records or reports pertaining to the conviction.

R7-2-1306. Reviewable Offenses
A. Reviewable offenses are those offenses listed in A.R.S. § 15-534 which are not included in R7-2-1307.
B. Upon completion of an investigation, the Board may file a charge complaint against a certificated individual or may issu

or deny certification to an applicant.
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R7-2-1307. Criminal Offenses offenses; Nonreviewable nonreviewable
A. The Board shall revoke, not issue, or not renew the certification of a person who has been convicted of or admitted in open

court or pursuant to a plea agreement committing any of the following criminal offenses in this state or similar offenses in
another jurisdiction:
1. Sexual abuse of a minor,
2. Incest,
3. First-degree murder,
4. Sexual assault,
5. Sexual exploitation of a minor,
6. Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor,
7. A dangerous crime against children as defined in A.R.S. § 13-604.01,
8. Armed robbery,
9. Sexual conduct with a minor,
10. Molestation of a child, and
11. Exploitation of minors involving drug offenses.

B. Upon notification that a certificated individual has been convicted of a nonreviewable offense, the Board shall rev
certificate.

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

PREAMBLE

1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
R17-4-709 New Section
R17-4-709.01 New Section
R17-4-709.02 New Section
R17-4-709.03 New Section
R17-4-709.04 New Section
R17-4-709.05 New Section
R17-4-709.06 New Section
Appendix A New Appendix
Appendix B New Appendix

Appendix C New Appendix
R17-4-709.07 New Section
R17-4-709.08 New Section

2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the
rules are implementing (specific):

Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 28-366

Implementing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 28-1462, and Laws 1998, Chapter 302, § 42, as amended by Laws 1999
303, §§ 8 and 12, effective August 6, 1999.

3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 4 A.A.R. 2172, August 7, 1998.
Notice of Emergency Rulemaking: 4 A.A.R. 4343, December 28, 1998.
Notice of Public Information: 5 A.A.R. 624, February 26, 1999.

4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:
Name: Lynn S. Golder

Address: Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division
3737 North 7th Avenue, Suite 160, Mail Drop 507M
Phoenix, Arizona 85014
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Telephone: (602) 712-7941

Fax: (602) 241-1624

5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
An ignition interlock device (“IID”) is a device designed to be installed in a vehicle, to measure a driver’s b
alcohol concentration, and to prevent starting the vehicle when the driver’s breath alcohol concentration is at o
a preset level. The driver must breathe into the device and provide an acceptable breath sample. The device 
vehicle ignition switch to start the engine only when the breath sample is below the alcohol setpoint.

In 1998, the Legislature established an IID pilot program of not more than 300 people ordered, by Arizona
from December 1, 1998, through November 30, 1999, to have certified ignition interlock devices installed. T
zona IID pilot program was enacted to test the efficacy of installed and functioning IIDs as a means of DUI
ment.

In the 1999 legislative session, the program was expanded and made permanent through the passage of
which was signed by the Governor and filed with the Secretary of State on May 18, 1999. The new law (Law
Chapter 303, effective August 6, 1999) removes the 300-person limit and the November 30, 1999, end to the 
program. Specific changes are as follows:

a. An Arizona court shall issue an IID order to a person convicted of a 2nd DUI under A.R.S. § 28-1381
60 months or convicted of DUI within 60 months of a conviction for extreme DUI under A.R.S. § 28-1382, a
vated DUI under A.R.S. § 28-1383, or an out-of-state DUI;

b. An Arizona court may issue an IID order to a person convicted of extreme DUI;

c. An Arizona court shall issue an IID order to a person convicted of a 2nd extreme DUI within 60 mon
convicted of extreme DUI within 60 months of an Arizona conviction for DUI or aggravated DUI or an out-of
DUI conviction;

d. An Arizona court shall issue an IID order to a person convicted of aggravated DUI under A.R.S.
1383(A)(1) or § 28-1383(A)(2);

e. An installer of a certified IID shall submit to the Division a $25,000 bond in a Division-approved form

f. For noncompliance with an IID order, the Division shall suspend the person’s driver license after the 
tunity for a hearing; and

g. For a conviction of a violation under A.R.S. § 28-1464(A), (B), (C), (D), (F), or (H), the Arizona court 
extend an IID order as the court deems appropriate.

Certification, reliability, and accuracy of ignition interlock devices to be installed pursuant to court order d
affect the public health, safety, and welfare. Drinking and driving increases the probability of motor vehicle ac
and injury from motor vehicle accidents. A.R.S. § 28-1462, as amended by Laws 1999, Chapter 303, § 8, inst
Division to adopt rules to certify IIDs and to assure the reliability and accuracy of certified IIDS. The propose
fulfill the statutory instruction and carry out an Arizona IID program designed to prevent DUIs and the associa
of injury or death.

For the rulemaking, the Division reviewed and relied on the studies named in question #6 of this Preamble
studies report a significant reduction in repeat DUIs for offenders with IIDs installed in their vehicles; stron
dence that the Arizona IID program will reduce repeat DUIs.

In February 1999, the Division obtained the Secretary of State’s permission to separate the lengthy IID em
rule into a series of shorter, more useful rules, for the regular rulemaking. Therefore, the Division is proposing
concise, and understandable IID rules. The Division anticipates that proposed rules R17-4-709 through R17-4
will be effective by December 1, 1999.

6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justification for the proposed
rule and where the public may obtain or review the study, all data underlying each study, any analysis of the study
and other supporting material:

The following studies were reviewed by the Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division fo
rulemaking: Beirness, Marques, Voss, and Tippetts, “Evaluation of the Alberta Ignition Interlock Program: P
nary Results,” 1997; “Michigan Drunk Driving Recidivism Assessment May 1998 Literature Review Report,” M
igan Public Health Institute; and “Preliminary Study of the Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Pilot Program,”
BAIID Division, Department of Administrative Hearings, State of Illinois, June 30, 1997. The studies are on file
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7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a
previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable.

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
In 1998, the Arizona Legislature enacted an IID program. The Division determined that implementation of the IID
program produces economic consequences. However, the reduction of future DUIs and the increase in business
opportunities resulting from the IID program outweigh the costs to the Division, other government agencies, IID
manufacturers, authorized installers, independent laboratories, insurance and surety companies, and people ordered to
install IIDs. The Division identified the following economic impacts:

a. Substantial costs to the Division;
b. Minimal* to moderate** costs to the Department of Health Services and Arizona courts;
c. Moderate costs to the Attorney General, the Secretary of State, and the Governor’s Regulatory 
Council;
d. Substantial*** up-front costs to IID manufacturers and authorized installers, with the possibility of sub
tial income from providing certified IIDs in Arizona;
e. Minimal to moderate costs to independent laboratories to test IIDs and prepare laboratory reports a
ratory certification forms, with moderate income from these activities;
f. The possibility of substantial income to insurance companies and surety companies from the sale
product liability insurance to IID manufacturers and surety bonds to installers, with the possibility of subs
costs in providing indemnification under an IID product liability insurance policy or an installer bond;
g. Moderate costs to participants in the Arizona IID program, those ordered by an Arizona court to instal
tified IID, offset by avoidance of future DUIs and associated costs and penalties;
h. Substantial costs to the DUI Abatement Council for reviewing and reporting on the IID program;
i. Substantial funds from court assessments against people convicted of extreme DUI and aggrava
deposited in the DUI Abatement Fund, administered by the DUI Abatement Council, and expended in
dance with A.R.S. §§ 28-1303 and 28-1304; and
j. Substantial benefit to the general public from any reduction in DUI recidivism resulting from the IID
gram.

*Minimal means under $1,000.

**Moderate means between $1,000 and $10,000.

***Substantial means greater than $10,000

9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the
economic, small business, and consumer impact statement:

Name: Lynn S. Golder

Address: Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division
3737 North 7th Street, Suite 160, Mail Drop 507M
Phoenix, Arizona 85014

Telephone: (602) 712-7941

Fax: (602) 241-1624

10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the rule, or if no
proceeding is scheduled, where, when, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:

Written comments on the proposed rulemaking or preliminary summary of the economic, small business, a
sumer impact should be submitted to the person specified in question #3 no later than the close of the record 
Friday, July 29, 1999.

An oral proceeding is scheduled as follows:

PHOENIX

Date: Monday, July 26, 1999

Time: 2 p.m.

Location: Arizona Department of Transportation Auditorium
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Phoenix, Arizona 85007

11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:

Not applicable.

12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Model Specifications for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices
(BAIIDs), 57 FR 11772 to 11787, April 7, 1992, incorporated in the definition of “independent laboratory” at R
709.01(C)(3)(a).

13. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

ARTICLE 7. MISCELLANEOUS RULES

Section
R17-4-709 Ignition Interlock Device Program Definitions
R17-4-709.01Ignition Interlock Device Certification; Application Requirements
R17-4-709.02Application Completeness; Refusal to Certify an Ignition Interlock Device; Hearing
R17-4-709.03Cancellation of Certification; Hearing
R17-4-709.04Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Modification of a Certified Ignition Interlock Device
R17-4-709.05Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Referral to Authorized Installers; Manufacturer Oversight of Autho

Installers
R17-4-709.06Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Installation Verification; Accuracy Check; Noncompliance Report
  Appendix AIgnition Interlock Installation Verification
  Appendix BIgnition Interlock Accuracy Check
  Appendix CIgnition Interlock Noncompliance Report
R17-4-709.07Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Emergency Assistance by Authorized Installers; Continuity of Serv

Participants
R17-4-709.08Records Retention; Submission of Copies and Monthly Reports; Periodic Audits

ARTICLE 7. MISCELLANEOUS RULES

R17-4-709. Ignition Interlock Device Program Definitions.
In Sections R17-4-709.01 through R17-4-709.08, unless the context otherwise requires:

“Audit” means an examination by Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division personnel of parti
records, and supplies of warning labels and written instructions.
“Authorized installer” means a person or entity appointed by a manufacturer to install and service certified ignitio
lock devices provided by the manufacturer.
“Calibration” means the testing, adjustment, or systematic standardization of an ignition interlock device to determ
verify the device’s accuracy.
“Certified ignition interlock device” has the meaning prescribed in A.R.S. § 28-1301(1).
“Data logger sheet” means the printed report generated from an ignition interlock device that contains all activiti
recordings, and actions pertaining to the device.
 “Division” means the Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division.
“Ignition interlock device” has the meaning prescribed in A.R.S. § 28-1301(4).
“Independent laboratory” means a laboratory, not owned or operated by a manufacturer, that can test an ignition 
device in accordance with Sections 1 and 2 of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Spe
tions for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices (BAIIDs), 57 FR 11772 to 11787, April 7, 1992.
“Manufacturer” means a person or entity that provides ignition interlock devices, requests the Division to certify a
of ignition interlock device, and appoints and oversees the authorized installers of the certified ignition interlock d
“Material modification” means a change to a certified ignition interlock device that affects the functioning of the de
“NHTSA specifications” means the specifications for BAIIDs.
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“Participant” means a person ordered by an Arizona court to equip each motor vehicle operated by the person wit
tioning certified ignition interlock device and who becomes an authorized installer’s customer for installation and 
ing of a certified ignition interlock device.
“Use” means the installation, operation, service, repair, and removal of an ignition interlock device.

R17-4-709.01. Ignition Interlock Device Certification; Application Requirements.
A. A participant shall only have an ignition interlock device which has been certified by the Division, in accordanc

R17-4-709.01 and R17-4-709.02, installed in a motor vehicle.
B. A manufacturer shall submit a properly completed application to the Division that provides:

1. The manufacturer’s name;
2. The manufacturer’s business address and telephone number;
3. The manufacturer’s status as a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company or corporation;
4. The name of the sole proprietor or of each partner, officer, director, manager, member, agent, or 20% or mo

holder;
5. The name and model number of the ignition interlock device and the name under which the ignition interlock

will be marketed; and
6. The following statements, signed by an authorized representative for the manufacturer and acknowledged by

public or Division agent:
a. A statement that all information on the application form and attachments to the application is complete, tr

correct;
b. A statement that the manufacturer agrees to indemnify and hold the state of Arizona, the Division, a

department, division, agency, officer, employee or agent of the state of Arizona harmless from all liability 
1. Damage to property and injury to people arising, directly or indirectly, out of any act or omission by the manuf

or authorized installer appointed by the manufacturer relating to the use of the ignition interlock device; and
2. All court costs, expenses of litigation, and reasonable attorneys’ fees;

a. A statement that the manufacturer agrees to comply with the breath alcohol level established by the Divi
certified ignition interlock devices and printed on the application form; and

b. A statement that the manufacturer agrees to comply with the requirements of administrative rules R17
through R17-4-709.08.

C. With the application form, the manufacturer shall submit the following additional items:
1. A document setting forth a detailed description of the ignition interlock device, with a photograph, drawing, o

graphic depiction of the device.
2. A document containing complete technical specifications that describe the accuracy, reliability, security, data

tion and recording, and tamper detection of the ignition interlock device.
3. An independent laboratory’s report that:

a. Presents data that demonstrate the ignition interlock device meets or exceeds the test results required by
1 and 2 of the NHTSA specifications. The NHTSA specifications are incorporated by reference and are
with the Division and the Office of the Secretary of State. The NHTSA specifications are also available fro
Office of Research & Traffic Records, Room 6240 (NTS-30), NHTSA, 400 7th Street SW., Washington
20590, Telephone: (202) 366-5593. This incorporation by reference contains no future editions or amend

b. Provides the laboratory’s name, address, and telephone number; and
c. Provides the name and model number of the ignition interlock device tested.

4. The laboratory certification form, signed by an authorized representative of the laboratory that prepared th
required in R1-4-709.01(C)(3) and acknowledged by a notary public or Division agent, that states:
a. The laboratory is not owned or operated by a manufacturer;
b. The laboratory tested the ignition interlock device in accordance with Sections 1 and 2 of the NHTSA spe

tions;
c. The ignition interlock device met or exceeded the test results required by Sections 1 and 2 of the NHTSA

fications;
d. The laboratory used properly maintained equipment and trained personnel to test the ignition interlock 

and
e. The laboratory presented accurate test results.

5. A list of all authorized installers of the ignition interlock device, including the name, location, telephone nu
contact person, and hours of operation of each authorized installer.

6. The complete written instructions provided to authorized installers for installation, operation, service, repa
removal of the ignition interlock device that include requirements to affix a warning label, conforming to the d
printed on the application form by the Division, to each installed certified ignition interlock device.

7. The complete written instructions provided to participants and other operators of a vehicle equipped with the 
interlock device.
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8. A certificate of insurance, issued by an insurance company authorized to transact business in Arizona, specifying:
a. A product liability policy with a current effective date;
b. The name and model number of the ignition interlock device covered by the policy;
c. A policy limit of at least $1,000,000;
d. The manufacturer as the insured and the Division as an additional insured;
e. Product liability coverage for defects in manufacture, materials, design, calibration, installation, operation, ser-

vice, repair, and removal of the ignition interlock device; and
f. The insurance company will notify the Division 30 days before cancellation of the product liability policy.

R17-4-709.02. Application Completeness; Refusal to Certify an Ignition Interlock Device; Hearing.
A. Application completeness occurs when the Division receives:

1. A properly filled out application form,
2. All additional items required by R17-4-709.01(C), and
3. An outside reviewer’s written confirmation or disapproval of the independent laboratory’s report that the ig

interlock device meets the NHTSA specifications. The Division shall choose an agency or individual outs
Division to review an independent laboratory’s report.

B. The Division shall refuse to certify an ignition interlock device upon finding any of the following:
1. A defect in design, materials or workmanship that causes failure of the ignition interlock device to funct

intended;
2. Termination or cancellation of a manufacturer’s liability insurance;
3. The manufacturer no longer provides the ignition interlock device;
4. False or inaccurate information provided by the manufacturer or independent laboratory and relating to the

mance of the ignition interlock device; or
5. Modification or alteration of the components, design or installation and operating instructions so that the i

interlock device no longer satisfies the NHTSA specifications.
C. The Division shall send written notification to the manufacturer of certification of an ignition interlock device 

refusal to certify the device. The notice of refusal to certify an ignition interlock device shall specify the basis 
refusal.
1. The manufacturer shall address any request for a hearing on the refusal to certify an ignition interlock devic

Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division, Executive Hearing Office, 1801 West Jefferson
Drop 507M, Phoenix, Arizona 85007.

2. A.R.S. §§ 41-1061 to 41-1067 and administrative rules R17-4-901 through R17-4-912 shall apply to a hearin
refusal to certify an ignition interlock device.

R17-4-709.03. Cancellation of Certification; Hearing.
A. The Division shall cancel the certification of a device and remove it from the list of certified ignition interlock de

upon finding any of the following:
1. A defect in design, materials or workmanship that causes failure of an ignition interlock device to funct

intended;
2. Termination or cancellation of a manufacturer’s liability insurance;
3. The manufacturer no longer provides the ignition interlock device;
4. False or inaccurate information relating to the performance of an ignition interlock device; provided by the ma

turer or independent laboratory;
5. Modification or alteration of the components, design or installation and operating instructions so that the i

interlock device no longer satisfies the NHTSA specifications;
6. A voluntary request by a manufacturer to cancel the certification of an ignition interlock device; or
7. The manufacturer’s or an authorized installer’s noncompliance with administrative rules R17-4-709 through 

709.08.
B. The Division shall send the manufacturer by certified mail, return receipt requested, the notice and order of cance

the certification of an ignition interlock device. The notice and order of cancellation shall:
1. Specify the basis for the action.
2. State that the Division will schedule a hearing to show cause why the ignition interlock device certification sho

be cancelled.
C. The notice of hearing shall be sent to the manufacturer by certified mail, return receipt requested.

1. The notice of hearing shall set forth a date, time, and place for the manufacturer’s representative to appear a
cause why the ignition interlock device certification should not be cancelled.

2. A.R.S. §§ 41-1061 to 41-1067 and administrative rules R17-4-901 and R17-4-904 through R17-4-912 shall a
the hearing.

D. If the order of cancellation becomes effective:
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1. The manufacturer shall, within 60 days and at the manufacturer’s cost, remove all decertified ignition in
devices and install certified devices; or

2. A manufacturer with no certified ignition interlock device model shall, within 60 days and at the manufacturer’
have a 2nd manufacturer provide and install certified ignition interlock devices; and

3. The Division shall not accept an application for certification of an ignition interlock device from a manufacture
a. Fails to remove all decertified ignition interlock devices and install certified devices within 60 days at the 

facturer’s cost, or
b. Fails to have a 2nd manufacturer provide and install certified ignition interlock devices within 60 days at 

manufacturer’s cost; and
4. Before providing a previously decertified ignition interlock device for installation in a motor vehicle pursuant

order of an Arizona court, a manufacturer shall:
a. Submit to the Division a completed application form and all additional items required by R17-4-709.01(C
b. Obtain certification of the ignition interlock device from the Division.

R17-4-709.04. Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Modification of a Certified Ignition Interlock Device.
A. A manufacturer shall notify the Division in writing of any material modification or alteration in the components, des

installation and operating instructions of a certified ignition interlock device.
B. Before providing a materially modified or altered certified ignition interlock device for installation in a motor vehicle

suant to an order of an Arizona court, a manufacturer shall:
1. Submit to the Division a completed application form and all additional items required by R17-4-709.01(C
2. Obtain certification of the materially modified or altered ignition interlock device from the Division.

R17-4-709.05. Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Referral to Authorized Installers; Manufacturer Oversight of
Authorized Installers.
A. A manufacturer shall only refer a participant to an authorized installer.
B. A manufacturer shall provide the Division with a toll free telephone number for a participant to call to obtain name

tions, telephone numbers, contact people, and hours of operation of authorized installers.
C. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer follows the installation, operation, service, repair, and 

procedures established by the manufacturer.
D. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer has the training and skills specified by the manufacturer t

troubleshoot, examine and verify proper operation of the certified ignition interlock device.
E. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer:

1. Complies with the manufacturer’s procedures for removing a certified ignition interlock device from a ve
and

2. Notifies the Division by certified mail, within 10 days after the removal of a certified ignition interlock devic
the device’s removal.

F. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer provides every participant and every person operating
vehicle equipped with the certified ignition interlock device with the manufacturer’s written instructions for the fo
ing:
1. Operating a motor vehicle equipped with the certified ignition interlock device;
2. Cleaning and caring for the certified ignition interlock device; and
3. Dealing with vehicle malfunctions or repairs that affect the certified ignition interlock device, including a list of 

cle malfunctions or repairs that affect the device.
G. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer provides to every participant and person operating a moto

equipped with the certified ignition interlock device the manufacturer’s specified hands-on training in operating a
vehicle equipped with the device.

H. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer affixes to each installed certified ignition interlock device 
ing label conforming to the design adopted by the Division.

R17-4-709.06. Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Installation Verification; Accuracy Check; Noncompliance Report.
A. A manufacturer shall ensure that:

1. An authorized installer complies with the manufacturer’s procedures for installing a certified ignition inte
device, and

2. An authorized installer provides a completed and signed Arizona ignition interlock installation verification
(Appendix A) to the participant.

B. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer schedules a participant for accuracy checks as follows:
1. 30 days, 60 days, and 90 days after installation of a certified ignition interlock device;
2. After the 90-day accuracy check, at least every 60 days.

C. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer:
1. Submits to the Division within 10 days after an accuracy check of an installed certified ignition interlock devic
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a. A completed and signed Arizona ignition interlock accuracy check form (Appendix B); or
b. If the certified ignition interlock device has signs of tampering, circumvention or misuse, a completed and signed

Arizona ignition interlock noncompliance report (Appendix C) plus the completed and signed Arizona ignition
interlock accuracy check form; or

2. Submits to the Division a completed and signed Arizona ignition interlock noncompliance report form within in 10
days after a scheduled accuracy check of an installed certified ignition interlock device when both the following
occur:
a. A participant fails to present a motor vehicle with an installed certified ignition interlock device for the sched-

uled accuracy check, and
b. A participant fails to present a motor vehicle with an installed certified ignition interlock device within 5 days

after the scheduled accuracy check. 
D. A manufacturer shall ensure that the Arizona ignition interlock accuracy check form completed by the authorized

installer:
1. States the calibration of the certified ignition interlock device prior to recalibration,
2. Has a data logger sheet attached, and
3. Is signed by the authorized installer.
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Appendix A
ARIZONA

IGNITION INTERLOCK INSTALLATION VERIFICATION

As Ordered by the Court

COURT DOCKET No.: ___________________     TODAY’S DATE________________

CUSTOMER NAME: _____________________________________
ADDRESS: _____________________________________________
CITY__________________ ST_______ ZIP______________
PHONE NUMBER: __________________________
DRIVER LICENSE No OR SS No.: __________________________________

INSTALLER NAME: ___________________________________________
ADDRESS: ________________________________________________
CITY___________________ST_______ZIP_______________________
PHONE NUMBER: __________________________
MANUFACTURER and MODEL TYPE: __________________________________________
SERIAL NUMBER(s): ____________________________________________________

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION:
TITLE OWNER: ________________________________TITLE No.: ______________________
Make: _______________________ Model____________ VIN____________________________
Color_____________ Year__________________ License Plate No._______________________
Odometer reading: ___________

CUSTOMER EDUCATION CHECKLIST
_____ I have been instructed on the use of the system.
_____ I understand how to power the system on and off.
_____ I have delivered and passed a proper breath sample.
_____ I have delivered and understand an abort test.
_____ I understand how the alcohol retest feature works.
_____ I understand that if I smoke cigarettes or drink alcohol prior to testing that I may receive a sensitive or fail read-

ing.
_____ I have been informed of how to obtain service for my system or to have questions answered.
_____ I have received my operator’s manual.
_____ I have been informed of the penalties for tampering or circumvention of the system.
_____ I have been informed of what happens after failing three breath attempts.
_____ I have been informed of what happens after failing “rolling retest”.

MONITORING:
Your next monitoring check is ________________.  Your ignition system will remind you that you are due to make an

appointment.  If you fail to make an appointment, your ignition interlock device will shut down and you will be
unable to start your car. It will be your responsibility to have your car towed to the Service Center. If you fail to
appear you may be found in Noncompliance, and your Driver License can be suspended for at least 1 year und
A.R.S. § 28-1463.

Signature of Participant: __________________________________________ Date__________________          

Signature of Installer: __________________________________________________
Date__________________

Attach copy of Court Order for Installation of Ignition Interlock Device.
June 18, 1999 Page 1975 Volume 5, Issue #25



Arizona Administrative Register
Notices of Proposed Rulemaking

_______
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_______
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Appendix B
ARIZONA

IGNITION INTERLOCK 
ACCURACY CHECK

DATE: ____________________
INSTALLER____________________________________________________________-
MANUFACTURER and MODEL TYPE: _____________________________________
SERIAL NUMBER(s): ____________________________________________________
MONITORING CHECK No. ________________

CUSTOMER NAME______________________________________________________
DATE OF BIRTH: ________________________
DRIVER LICENSE No.: _________________________

VEHICLE LICENSE PLATE No.: ________________________
ODOMETER READING: _____________________
CALIBRATION WAS _____ PRIOR TO RECALIBRATION.
THE SYSTEM IS NOW IN CALIBRATION: ___
THE SYSTEM HAS BEEN INSPECTED AND IS FUNCTIONING PROPERLY. ___
THERE IS NO EVIDENCE OF ATTEMPTED TAMPERING. ____
(IF THERE ARE SIGNS OF TAMPERING, COMPLETE “NONCOMPLIANCE REPORT”)

COMMENTS:
__________________________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________________________
__________

__________________________________________________________________________________

Your next monitoring check is __________________. Your ignition system will remind you that you are due to make an
appointment.  If you fail to make an appointment, your ignition interlock device will shut down and you will be unable
to start your car. It will be your responsibility to have your car towed to the Service Center. If you fail to appear you
may be found in Noncompliance, and your Driver License can be suspended for 1 year.   If convicted of tampering with
the ignition interlock device you can be required to use the device for additional time. A.R.S. §§ 28-1463 and 28-1464

Signature of Participant________________________________ Date: ___________________

Signature of Installer: _________________________________ Date: __________________

ATTACH COPY OF DATA LOGGER SHEET AND SEND TO:
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION, DRIVER IMPROVEMENT UNIT
PO BOX 2100, MAIL DROP 530M
PHOENIX, AZ 85001-2100
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Appendix C
ARIZONA

IGNITION INTERLOCK
 NONCOMPLIANCE REPORT

DATE: ____________________
INSTALLER: ________________________________________________________________
MANUFACTURER and MODEL TYPE: ____________________________________
SERIAL NUMBER(s): _________________________________________________________
MONITORING CHECK No.: ___________________

CUSTOMER NAME: ____________________________
DATE OF BIRTH: ________________________
DRIVER LICENSE No.: _________________________

VEHICLE LICENSE PLATE No.: ________________________

THE CUSTOMER FAILED TO KEEP APPOINTMENT: _____
Attempts have been made to contact customer on:

_______________________________ ________________
Date                                                       Time
_______________________________________________
Date                                                       Time
_______________________________________________
Date                                                       Time

THE DEVICE SHOWS EVIDENCE OF TAMPERING OR CIRCUMVENTION: ____
Explanation:

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
____________
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
____________
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
____________

Signature of Installer: __________________________________ Date: __________________

SEND TO:
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION, DRIVER IMPROVEMENT UNIT
PO BOX 2100, MAIL DROP 530M
PHOENIX, AZ 85001-2100
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R17-4-709.07. Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Emergency Assistance by Authorized Installers;   Continuity of
Service to Participants.
A. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer provides participants with a 24-hour emergency phone number for

assistance in the event of failure of the certified ignition interlock device or vehicle problems related to the device
ation. Emergency assistance provided by an authorized installer shall include technical information, towing serv
road service.
1. If the participant’s motor vehicle is located not more than 50 miles from an authorized installer, emergency as

shall be provided within 2 hours after the call for assistance.
2. If the participant’s motor vehicle is located not more than 100 miles from an authorized installer, emergenc

tance shall be provided within 4 hours after the call for assistance.
3. The authorized installer shall make the certified ignition interlock device functional within 48 hours after a p

pant’s emergency assistance call or shall replace the device.
B. A manufacturer shall ensure uninterrupted service to participants for the duration of their Arizona court orders.

1. If a manufacturer terminates an authorized installer’s appointment, the manufacturer shall:
a. Obtain participant records from the former authorized installer; and
b. Provide the participant records to a new authorized installer for retention in accordance with R17-4-709.0
c. If the manufacturer does not appoint a new authorized installer, the manufacturer shall retain the pa

records in accordance with R17-4-709.08.
2. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer is located within 100 miles of the Arizona residence

participant with an installed certified ignition interlock device provided by the manufacturer. If a participant’s
zona residence is more than 100 miles from an authorized installer the manufacturer shall pay for:
a. Removal of the installed certified ignition interlock device; and
b. Installation of a certified ignition interlock device, including a model provided by a 2d manufacturer, that h

authorized installer within 100 miles of the participant’s Arizona residence.
3. A manufacturer shall notify all participants of THE appointment of a new authorized installer or replacement o

tified ignition interlock device at least 30 days before the new authorized installer’s appointment becomes effe
the replacement of the device occurs.

4. Within 10 days after a change in the list of authorized installers submitted to the Division by a manufacturer, th
ufacturer shall submit an updated list of authorized installers to the Division.

R17-4-709.08. Records Retention; Submission of Copies and Monthly Reports; Periodic Audits.
A. Records retention. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer or the manufacturer retains a par

records for 1 year after removal of a certified ignition interlock device. The retained records shall consist of ever
ment relating to the installation, service, repair, operation, and removal of the ignition interlock device.

B. Copies of records and monthly reports.
1. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer or the manufacturer provides copies of participants’

to the Division within 10 days after Division personnel request copies of records, including records of certifie
tion interlock device installation, service, repair, operation, and removal.

2. A manufacturer shall ensure that an authorized installer timely submits a monthly report to the Division so 
Division receives the report by the 10th day of each month. The monthly report shall contain the following in
tion:
a. The number of ignition interlock devices the authorized installer currently has in service,
b. The number of devices installed since the previous monthly report,
c. The number of pending installations, and
d. The number of devices removed by the authorized installer since the previous monthly report.

C. Periodic audits. The Division shall periodically conduct an audit at the premises of an authorized installer or m
turer, in accordance with A.R.S. § 41-1009. The audit shall determine the following:
1. Whether the authorized installer or manufacturer retains records in accordance with R17-4-709.08(A),
2. Whether the authorized installer maintains adequate supplies of a warning label conforming to the design ad

the Division, and
3. Whether the authorized installer maintains adequate supplies of the written instructions provided to participa

other operators of a vehicle equipped with a certified ignition interlock device.
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	Telephone: (602) 331-8111, Ext. 145
	Fax: (602) 906-9365

	10. The time, place and nature of the proceedings for the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the r...
	The Board has scheduled a public hearing on the proposed amendment to Article 5 for July 20, 1999...

	11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any ...
	Not applicable.

	12. Incorporation by reference and their location in the rules:
	Not applicable.

	13. The full text of the rule follows:


	TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS
	CHAPTER 19. BOARD OF NURSING
	ARTICLE 5. EXTENDED AND ADVANCED NURSING PRACTICE
	ARTICLE 5. EXTENDED AND ADVANCED NURSING PRACTICE
	R4-19-505. Scope of Practice of the a Registered Nurse Practitioner
	R4-19-507. Prescribing and Dispensing Authority
	R4-19-508. Dispensing of Prepackaged Labeled Medications
	R4-19-509. Inactive Prescribing and Dispensing Authority Repealed


	NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

	TITLE 7. EDUCATION
	CHAPTER 2. STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
	PREAMBLE
	1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
	R7-2-607 Amend R7-2-608 Amend R7-2-609 Amend R7-2-610 Amend R7-2-611 Amend R7-2-612 Amend R7-2-61...

	2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statue (general) and...
	Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 15-203(A) and (B)
	Implementing statute: A.R.S. §§ 15-203(A), (B), and 15-534

	3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
	Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 5 A.A.R. 1320, May 7, 1999.

	4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulem...
	Name: Corinne L. Velasquez, Executive Director
	Address: State Board of Education 1535 West Jefferson, Room 418 Phoenix, Arizona 85007
	Telephone: (602) 542-5057
	Fax: (602) 542-3046

	5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
	The State Board of Education proposes to amend the rules related to certification (Article 6) to ...
	The State Board of Education proposes to amend the rules related to conduct (Article 13) to make ...

	6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justifica...
	Not applicable.

	7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule ...
	Not applicable.

	8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business and consumer impact:
	The Board does not anticipate an economic, small business or consumer impact related to, or creat...

	9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accur...
	Name: Corinne L. Velasquez, Executive Director
	Address: State Board of Education 1535 West Jefferson, Room 418 Phoenix, Arizona 85007
	Telephone: (602) 542-5057
	Fax: (602) 542-3046

	10. The time, place and nature of the proceedings for the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the r...
	An oral proceeding on the proposed rulemaking is scheduled as follows:
	Date: August 23, 1999
	Time: 1:30 p.m.
	Location: State Board of Education 1535 West Jefferson, Room 417 Phoenix, Arizona 85007
	Written comments may be submitted on or before 5 p.m., August 20, 1999, to the contact person lis...

	11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any ...
	Not applicable.

	12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
	None.

	13. The full text of the rules follows:


	TITLE 7. EDUCATION
	CHAPTER 2. STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
	ARTICLE 6. CERTIFICATION
	ARTICLE 13. CONDUCT
	ARTICLE 6. CERTIFICATION
	R7-2-607. General Certification Provisions
	R7-2-608. Elementary Teaching Certificates
	R7-2-609. Secondary Teaching Certificates
	R7-2-610. Special Education Teaching Certificates
	R7-2-611. Vocational Teaching Certificates
	R7-2-612. Other Teaching Certificates
	R7-2-614. Administrative Certificates
	R7-2-615. Other Professional Certificates

	ARTICLE 13. CONDUCT
	R7-2-1301. Definitions
	R7-2-1302. Statement of Complaintallegations
	R7-2-1304R7-2-1303. ChargeComplaint
	R7-2-1303R7-2-1304. Notification of Complaint; Investigation investigation
	R7-2-1305. Conviction of Criminal Offenses criminal offenses; Investigation investigation
	R7-2-1306. Reviewable Offenses
	R7-2-1307. Criminal Offenses offenses; Nonreviewable nonreviewable


	NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

	TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION
	CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
	PREAMBLE
	1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
	R17-4-709 New Section R17-4-709.01 New Section R17-4-709.02 New Section R17-4-709.03 New Section ...
	Appendix C New Appendix R17-4-709.07 New Section R17-4-709.08 New Section

	2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) an...
	Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 28-366
	Implementing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 28-1462, and Laws 1998, Chapter 302, § 42, as amended by Laws 19...

	3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
	Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 4 A.A.R. 2172, August 7, 1998. Notice of Emergency Rulemakin...

	4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulem...
	Name: Lynn S. Golder
	Address: Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division 3737 North 7th Avenue, Suit...
	Telephone: (602) 712-7941
	Fax: (602) 241-1624

	5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
	An ignition interlock device (“IID”) is a device designed to be installed in a vehicle, to measur...
	In 1998, the Legislature established an IID pilot program of not more than 300 people ordered, by...
	In the 1999 legislative session, the program was expanded and made permanent through the passage ...
	a. An Arizona court shall issue an IID order to a person convicted of a 2nd DUI under A.R.S. § 28...
	b. An Arizona court may issue an IID order to a person convicted of extreme DUI;
	c. An Arizona court shall issue an IID order to a person convicted of a 2nd extreme DUI within 60...
	d. An Arizona court shall issue an IID order to a person convicted of aggravated DUI under A.R.S....
	e. An installer of a certified IID shall submit to the Division a $25,000 bond in a Division-appr...
	f. For noncompliance with an IID order, the Division shall suspend the person’s driver license af...
	g. For a conviction of a violation under A.R.S. § 28-1464(A), (B), (C), (D), (F), or (H), the Ari...
	Certification, reliability, and accuracy of ignition interlock devices to be installed pursuant t...
	For the rulemaking, the Division reviewed and relied on the studies named in question #6 of this ...
	In February 1999, the Division obtained the Secretary of State’s permission to separate the lengt...

	6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justifica...
	The following studies were reviewed by the Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Di...

	7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule ...
	Not applicable.

	8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
	In 1998, the Arizona Legislature enacted an IID program. The Division determined that implementat...
	*Minimal means under $1,000.
	**Moderate means between $1,000 and $10,000.
	***Substantial means greater than $10,000

	9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accur...
	Name: Lynn S. Golder
	Address: Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division 3737 North 7th Street, Suit...
	Telephone: (602) 712-7941
	Fax: (602) 241-1624

	10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the ru...
	Written comments on the proposed rulemaking or preliminary summary of the economic, small busines...
	An oral proceeding is scheduled as follows:
	PHOENIX
	Date: Monday, July 26, 1999
	Time: 2 p.m.
	Location: Arizona Department of Transportation Auditorium 206 South 17th Avenue, Room 107 Phoenix...


	11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any ...
	Not applicable.

	12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
	National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Model Specifications for Breath Alcohol Ignition I...

	13. The full text of the rules follows:


	TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION
	CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
	ARTICLE 7. MISCELLANEOUS RULES
	ARTICLE 7. MISCELLANEOUS RULES
	R17-4-709. Ignition Interlock Device Program Definitions.
	R17-4-709.01. Ignition Interlock Device Certification; Application Requirements.
	R17-4-709.02. Application Completeness; Refusal to Certify an Ignition Interlock Device; Hearing.
	R17-4-709.03. Cancellation of Certification; Hearing.
	R17-4-709.04. Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Modification of a Certified Ignition Interlock ...
	R17-4-709.05. Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Referral to Authorized Installers; Manufacturer...
	R17-4-709.06. Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Installation Verification; Accuracy Check; Nonc...
	Appendix A


	ARIZONA
	IGNITION INTERLOCK INSTALLATION VERIFICATION
	As Ordered by the Court
	Appendix B

	ARIZONA
	IGNITION INTERLOCK
	ACCURACY CHECK
	Appendix C

	ARIZONA
	IGNITION INTERLOCK
	NONCOMPLIANCE REPORT
	R17-4-709.07. Reliability and Accuracy Assurance; Emergency Assistance by Authorized Installers; ...
	R17-4-709.08. Records Retention; Submission of Copies and Monthly Reports; Periodic Audits.



