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NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

Unless exempted by A.R.S. § 41-1005, each agency shall begin the rulemaking process by first submitting to the 
retary of State’s Office a Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening followed by a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking th
contains the preamble and the full text of the rules. The Secretary of State’s Office publishes each Notice in the 
available issue of the Register according to the schedule of deadlines for Register publication. Due to time restraints,
the Secretary of State’s Office will no longer edit the text of proposed rules. We will continue to make numbering a
labeling changes as necessary.

Under the Administrative Procedure Act (A.R.S. § 41-1001 et seq.), an agency must allow at least 30 days to el
after the publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Register before beginning any proceedings 
adoption, amendment, or repeal of any rule. A.R.S. §§ 41-1013 and 41-1022.

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER 12. BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND EMBALMERS

PREAMBLE

1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
R4-12-101 Amend
R4-12-106 New Section
  Table 1 New Table
R4-12-108 Amend
R4-12-201 Repeal
R4-12-201 New Section
R4-12-202 Amend
R4-12-203 Amend
R4-12-204 Amend
R4-12-205 Amend
R4-12-206 Amend
R4-12-207 Amend
R4-12-208 Amend
R4-12-209 New Section
R4-12-211 Repeal
R4-12-531 Repeal
R4-12-601 Repeal
R4-12-611 Repeal

2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the
rules are implementing (specific):

Authorizing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 32-1307(A)(5) and 32-1391.01

Implementing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 32-1309, 32-1321, 32-1322, 32-1323, 32-1325.01, 32-1327, 32-1328, 32-1
1331, 32-1335, 32-1339, 32-1383, 32-1386, 32-1388, 32-1391.02, 32-1391.12, 32-1391.14, 32-1391.16, 3
32-1396, and 41-1072 through 41-1079

3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rules:
Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 6 A.A.R. 713, February 18, 2000
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4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rules:
Name: Rodolfo R. Thomas, Executive Director

Address: Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers
1400 West Washington, Room 230
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-3095

Fax: (602) 542-3093

5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rules:
As required by A.R.S. § 41-1072 through § 41-1078, the Board is establishing time-frames for each type of a
license, endorsement, permit, or registration issued by the Board. The rules also set forth application requirem
each type of approval, license, endorsement, permit, or registration issued by the Board. The Board is ad
requirements for the annual intern, apprentice embalmer, or embalmer’s assistant report, and the subjects te
state equivalent examination, including the requirement to work 40 hours each week during an apprentic
internship. The Board is repealing current definitions because they are not used in the rules and is providing 
initions to clarify terms used in the rules. The Board is also repealing the provisions labeled apprenticeship 
ments for embalmer’s license, apprenticeship time criteria, background checks, processing application,
directors’ examination, examinations, oral examinations, exception to written examination, application for f
establishment license, salesperson registration application, crematory definitions and registration of cre
authority. The Board is repealing its fees because they are already stated in A.R.S. § 32-1309, but is retaining
for copying, the information pamphlet, and annual report according to A.R.S. § 32-1391.06.

6. A showing of good cause why the rules are necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a
previous grant of a political subdivision of the state:

Not applicable

7. A reference to any study the agency relied on in its evaluation of or justification for the proposed rule and where
the public may obtain or review the study, all date underlying each study, any analysis of the study, and other
supporting material:

None

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
The Board will incur moderate costs to promulgate the rules and to notify interested parties of the new rules 
rules are approved. The Board should incur moderate costs to implement and enforce the rules. The costs for
tion of incompleteness should be minimal. An apprentice or intern should incur minimal costs because of the 
ment to work 40 hours each week during an apprenticeship or internship. All applicants and the Board should
because of the increased consistency and efficiency in the application process. There are no other expecte
other government entities or the public.

9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the
economic, small business, and consumer impact statement:

Name: Rodolfo R. Thomas, Executive Director

Address: Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers
1400 West Washington, Room 230
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-3095

Fax: (602) 542-3093

10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the rule; or, if no
proceeding is scheduled, where, when, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:

Oral proceedings will be conducted by the Board at the following locations in the state for the purpose of tak
and written testimony on the proposed rule from members of the public.

Date: September 26, 2000

Time: 11:00 a.m.

Location: 1400 West Washington, B-1 Conference Room
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
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Date: September 29, 2000

Time: 11:00 a.m.

Location: 400 West Congress, Room 222
Tucson, Arizona 85701

Date: October 4, 2000

Time: 12:00 p.m.

Time: Coconino Public Library
300 West Aspen
Flagstaff, Arizona 86001

The public record on the proposed rulemaking will close at 5:00 p.m., October 4, 2000.
11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of

rules:
None

12. Incorporation by reference and their location in the rules:
None

13. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER 12. BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND EMBALMERS

ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

Sections
R4-12-101. Definitions
R4-12-106. Time-frames for Board Approvals
  Table 1. Time-frames (in days)
R4-12-108. Fees

ARTICLE 2. LICENSING PROVISIONS

Sections
R4-12-201. Apprenticeship requirements for embalmer’s license Repealed
R4-12-201. Application for a State Equivalent Examination
R4-12-202. Apprenticeship time criteria Application for an Intern, an Embalmer, or a Funeral Director License
R4-12-203. Background checks Application for an Embalmer’s Assistant Registration
R4-12-204. Processing application Application for a Funeral Establishment License or an Interim Funeral Establish

Permit
R4-12-205. Funeral directors’ examination Application for a Prearranged Funeral Sales Endorsement
R4-12-206. Examinations Application for a Prearranged Funeral Salesperson Registration
R4-12-207. Oral examinations Application for a Crematory License
R4-12-208. Exception to written examination Annual Intern, Apprentice Embalmer, or Embalmer’s Assistant Report
R4-12-209. State Equivalent Examination
R4-12-211. Application for funeral establishment license Repealed

ARTICLE 5. PREARRANGED FUNERAL AGREEMENTS

Section
R4-12-531. Salesperson registration application Repealed

ARTICLE 6. CREMATORY AND CREMATION REGULATION

Sections
R4-12-601. Definitions Repealed
R4-12-611. Crematory authority; registration Repealed
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ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

R4-12-101. Definitions
1. “Board” means the Arizona State Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.
2. “Cash advance item” means any item of service or merchandise described to a purchaser as a “cash a

“accommodation”, “cash disbursement”, or similar term. A cash advance item is also any item obtained from
party and paid for by the funeral establishment on the purchaser’s behalf. Cash advance items may include
not limited to, the following items, cemetery or crematory charges, pallbearers, public transportation, clergy H
flowers, motorcycle escorts, musicians or singers, hair dressers, barbers, nurses, obituary notices, gratuities 
certificates.

3. “Conviction” means a judgment of conviction by any state or federal court of competent jurisdiction in a cri
cause, regardless of whether an appeal is pending or could be taken, and includes any judgment or order b
plea of no contest.

4. “Direct cremation” means cremation of human remains without a ceremony, formal viewing or visitation 
human remains excluding an identification of the human remains.

5. The terms “fraudulent”, “misleading”, “misrepresentation”, “deceive”, “deception”, “deceptive”, or “false” as us
connection with statements or activities of licensees with respect to transactions with funeral services consu
defined and interpreted as provided in A.R.S. § 44-1522.

6. “Funeral services consumer” or “purchaser” means any person, entity or agency which purchases or reques
merchandise or services from a funeral establishment in connection with or in preparation for funeral arrang
transportation or disposition of human remains.

7. “Immediate burial” means a disposition of human remains by burial, without formal viewing, visitation or cere
with the body present.

8. “Inexpensive caskets” means the least expensive adult caskets held for sale by the establishment to funera
consumers.

9. “Licensee” means any person or enterprise issued a licenses, certificate of qualification or registration, permi
ilar authority or to provide any other services or funeral merchandise pursuant to Title 32, Chapter 12, A.R.S.

10. “Unfinished wood box” means an unornamented casket made of wood or wood products which does not hav
interior lining.

1. “Applicant” means:
a. An individual requesting to take a state equivalent examination;
b. An individual requesting an initial license or registration issued by the Board; or
c. The following if requesting a funeral establishment license, a crematory license, an interim permit, or a

ranged funeral sales endorsement:
i The individual, if a sole proprietorship;
ii. Any 2 of the corporation’s officers, if a corporation;
iii. The managing partner; if a partnership or limited liability partnership; or 
iv. The designated manager, or if no manager is designated, any 2 members of the limited liability com

a limited liability company.
2. “Application packet” means the fee, documents, forms, and additional information the Board requires to be su

by the applicant or on the applicant’s behalf.
3. “Board” means the same as the definition in A.R.S. § 32-1301.
4. “Burial” means a disposition of human remains, other than direct cremation.
5. “Cash advance item” means any service or merchandise such as: pallbearers, transportation, clergy, flowers,

cle escorts, hair dressers, barbers, nurses, obituary notices, or death certificates, which is paid for by a fune
lishment on behalf of a purchaser and charged to the purchaser at the same amount as originally purchased.

6. “Cremation” means the same as the definition in A.R.S. 32-1301.
7. “Days” means calendar days.
8. “Designated funeral director” has the same meaning as responsible funeral director in A.R.S. § 32-1301.
9. “Direct cremation” means cremation of human remains without a formal viewing, ceremony; or visitation 

human remains except for identification purposes.
10. “Endorsement” means the written authorization issued by the Board to a funeral establishment to offer or se

ranged funeral agreements under 4 A.A.C. 12, Article 5.
11. “Fraud”, “misleading”, or “false” means the actions described in A.R.S. § 44-1522.
August 11, 2000 Page 2891 Volume 6, Issue #33
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12. “Immediate burial” means a disposition of human remains, other than direct cremation, without a formal vi
visitation, or ceremony.

13. “Manager” means an individual who manages according to A.R.S. § 32-1301.
14. “Previous owner” means the person who owned 10% or more of funeral establishment immediately before the

owner.
15. “Unfinished wood box” means an unornamented receptacle or casket for human remains.
16. “Week” means the time beginning on Sunday at 12:01 a.m., and ending at 12:00 p.m., the following Saturday

R4-12-106. Time-frames for Board Approvals
A. The overall time-frame described in A.R.S. § 41-1072(2) for each type of approval granted by the Board is set 

Table 1. The applicant and the Executive Director of the Board may agree in writing to extend the overall time-fram
substantive time-frame may not be extended by more than 25% of the overall time-frame.

B. The administrative completeness review time-frame described in A.R.S. § 41-1072(1) for each type of approval
by the Board is set forth in Table 1.
1. The administrative completeness review time-frame begins:

a. For approval to take a state equivalent examination, when the Board receives an application packet req
R4-12-201;

b. For approval or denial of a license, when the Board receives an application packet; or
c. For approval or denial of an endorsement, a registration, or a permit, when the Board receives an app

packet.
2. If the application packet is incomplete, the Board shall send to the applicant a written notice specifying the 

document or incomplete information.
a. The administrative completeness review time-frame and the overall time-frame are suspended from the p

date of the notice until the date the Board receives a complete application packet from the applicant.
b. An applicant who disagrees with the Board’s statement of deficiencies may request a hearing.

3. When an application packet is complete, the Board shall send a written notice of administrative completene
applicant.

4. If the Board grants a license, a registration, an endorsement, or an approval during the time provided to asse
istrative completeness, the Board shall not issue a separate written notice of administrative completeness.

C. The substantive review time-frame described in A.R.S. § 41-1072(3) is set forth in Table 1 and begins on the p
date of the notice of administrative completeness.
1. As part of the substantive review for a funeral establishment license, the Board shall conduct an inspect

funeral establishment that may require more than 1 visit.
2. During the substantive review time-frame, the Board may make 1 comprehensive written request for addition

mation or documentation. The time-frame for the Board to complete the substantive review is suspended f
postmark date of the comprehensive written request for additional information or documentation until the
receives the additional information or documentation.

3. The Board shall send a written notice of approval to an applicant who meets the qualifications in A.R.S. T
Chapter 13 and this Chapter.

4. The Board shall send a written notice of denial to an applicant who fails to meet the qualifications in A.R.S. T
Chapter 13 and this Chapter.

D. The Board shall consider an application withdrawn if within 360 days from the application submission date the ap
fails to:
1. Supply the missing information under subsection (B)(2) or (C)(2); or
2. Take a national board, state equivalent, or state laws, and rules examination.

E. An applicant who does not wish an application withdrawn may request a denial in writing within 360 days from the
cation submission date.

F. If a time-frame’s last day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or an official state holiday, the Board shall consider the ne
ness day as the time-frame’s last day.
Volume 6, Issue #33 Page 2892 August 11, 2000
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Table 1. Time-frames (in days)

R4-12-108. Fees
A. The Board will charge the following fees concerning funeral directors applications and renewals:

1. Application for examination, $150.00;
2. Application for oral re-examination, $20.00;
3. Application for out-of-state license, $200.00;
4. Biennial renewal of each license, $140.00;
5. Reinstatement for each license, $20.00;
6. Issuance of license, prorated quarterly until the next biennial renewal date, $140.00.

B. The Board will charge the following fees concerning embalmer’s applications and renewals:

Type of Approval Statutory Authority Overall Time-
frame

Administrative 
Completeness 
Time-frame

Substantive 
Review Time- 

frame

Application for a state
equivalent examination
R4-12-201

A.R.S. §§ 32-1327,
32-1328, 32-1329

50 20 30

Application for an
Embalmer Assistant
Practical Examination

A.R.S. § 32-1325.01 50 20 30

Application for an
intern, an embalmer or a 
funeral director license
R4-12-202

A.R.S. §§ 32-1309,
32-1321, 32-1322,
32-1323, 32-1337

110 20 90

Application for an
embalmer or funeral
director license by an
applicant who holds an
out-of-state license
R4-12-202(D)

A.R.S. § 32-1335 110 20 90

Application for a
multiple funeral director
license
R4-12-202(E)

A.R.S. § 32-1384 110 20 90

Application for an
embalmer’s assistant
registration
R4-12-203

A.R.S. § 32-1325.01 110 20 90

Application for a funeral
establishment license
R4-12-204

A.R.S. § 32-1383 110 20 90

Application for a
prearranged funeral
sales establishment
endorsement
R4-12-205

A.R.S. § 32-1391.12 60 20 40

Application for a
prearranged funeral
salesperson registration
R4-12-207

A.R.S. § 32-1391.14 110 20 90

Application for
crematory license
R4-12-208

A.R.S. § 32-1395 110 20 90
August 11, 2000 Page 2893 Volume 6, Issue #33
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1. Application for examination, $150.00;
2. Application for oral re-examination, $20.00;
3. Application for out-of-state license, $200.00;
4. Biennial renewal of license, $120.00;
5. Reinstatement for each license, $20.00;
6. Issuance of license, prorated quarterly until the next biennial renewal date, $120.00.

C. The Board will charge the following fees concerning assistant funeral directors’ applications and renewals:
1. Application for registration, $65.00;
2. Application for transfer, $10.00;
3. Annual renewal of registration, $65.00;
4. Reinstatement of registration, $10.00 per year;
5. Issuance of registration, prorated quarterly until the next annual renewal date, $64.00.

D. The Board will charge the following fees concerning apprentice embalmers’ applications and renewals:
1. Application for registration, $50.00;
2. Reinstatement after lapse of registration:

a. If actively employed during lapse of registration, $10.00 for the first year and $50.00 per year thereafter;
b. If inactive during lapse and within two years of lapse date, $10.00;

3. Annual renewal of registration, $50.00;
4. Issuance of registration, prorated quarterly until the next annual renewal date, $52.00.

E. The Board will charge the following fees for the applications and renewals of funeral establishments:
1. Application for license, $300.00;
2. Application for change of ownership, $300.00;
3. Application for change in location, $250.00;
4. Application for change in name, $50.00;
5. Biennial renewal of license shall be based on the number of final dispositions of human remains performed

establishment during the immediately preceding calendar year as follows:
a. Those establishments which perform from zero to 50 final dispositions, $200.00;
b. Those establishments which perform from 51 to 300 final dispositions, $350.00;
c. Those establishments which perform 301 or more final dispositions, $400.00.

6. Reinstatement for each license, $50.00 per year;
7. Issuance of license, prorated quarterly until the next biennial renewal date, $340.00. This fee shall not be imp

licenses for change of ownership, location or name if the previous license has not elapsed.
F. The Board will charge the following fees concerning prearranged funeral sales:

1. Application for sales endorsement, $150.00;
2. Application for sales person registration, $80.00;
3. Annual renewal of sales endorsement, $140.00;
4. Annual renewal of salesperson registration, $60.00;
5. Reinstatement of sales endorsement, $50.00;
6. Reinstatement of salesperson registration:

a. If actively selling during lapse, $20.00 per year;
b. If inactive during lapse, $10.00 for each reinstatement.

7. Issuance of sales endorsement, prorated quarterly until the next annual renewal date, $140.00;
8. Issuance of salesperson registration, prorated quarterly until the next annual renewal date, $60.00;
9. Examination fee for salesperson registration, $70.00;
10. Filing of annual report:

a. For each establishment which has a prearranged funeral trust account and files in the time and manner
by A.R.S. § 32-1391.15 and R4-12-561, $150.00;

b. For each establishment which has a prearranged funeral trust account and files late, incomplete or o
inconsistent with A.R.S. § 32-1391.15 and R4-12-561, $200.00;

c. For each establishment which does not have a prearranged funeral trust account established after Janua
but has contractual prearranged funeral agreements, fixed or non-fixed, established prior to that date 
timely and complete, $100.00;

d. For each establishment which meets the criteria in subparagraph (c) but files late, incomplete or otherwis
sistent with A.R.S. § 32-1391.15 and R4-12-561, $150.00;

e. For each establishment which has no contractual prearranged funeral agreements and files in a timely m
charge;

f. For each establishment which has no contractual prearranged funeral agreements but files late, $100.00
Volume 6, Issue #33 Page 2894 August 11, 2000
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G. Except for inactive prearranges funeral sales persons and inactive apprentice embalmers, reinstatement fees are penalties
for failure to renew a license or registration. Such fees are imposed in addition to the regular license or registration fee for
each year or portion of a year from the time the renewal is due.

H. The Board will charge the following fees for the duplication or copying of public records:
1. Noncommercial copy, 25¢ a page;
2. Commercial copies requiring more than 15 minutes’ search and copying time will be charged at the rate of $

each additional 15-minute interval;
3. Directories for noncommercial use, 5¢ per name and address; if printed on labels, 10¢ per name and address;
4. Directories for commercial use, 25¢ per name and address; if printed on labels, 30¢ per name and address;
5. The Board may waive the fees under this subsection for charitable organizations and governmental entities.

I. The Board will charge $5.00 per copy of the funeral directors’ laws and rules. Any licensee may request one free
this publication during each renewal period.

J. Federal Trade Commission rules and guidelines identified in rules R4-12-305 and R4-12-310 respectively, $5.00 p
K. The Board will charge each licensed funeral establishment the actual cost of production and handling of each c

information pamphlet entitled Arizona Funerals Information which is published by the Board and distributed 
licensed establishments pursuant to R4-12-308.

L. Duplicate license, $20.00.
A. Fees for filing an annual report under A.R.S. § 32-1391.06 are nonrefundable and are as follows:

1. For each funeral establishment that has a prearranged funeral trust account and files the annual report in the
manner required in A.R.S. § 32-1391.16, $150.00.

2. For each funeral establishment that has a prearranged funeral trust account and files the annual report late 
plete, $200.00.

B. Fees for the duplication or copying of public records under A.R.S. § 39-121.03 are nonrefundable and are as follo
1. Noncommercial and commercial copy 25¢ per page
2. Copying requiring more than 15 minutes $5.00 for each 15-minute interval exceeding 15 minutes
3. Directories for noncommercial use 5¢ per name and address
4. Directories for noncommercial use printed on labels10¢ per name and address
5. Directories for commercial use 25¢ per name and address
6. Directories for commercial use printed on labels 30¢ per name and address
7. A directory in (3),(4),(5), or (6) issued on a diskette$5.00 and the applicable name and address fee

C. The Board may waive any of the fees in subsection (B) for charitable organizations and governmental entities.
D. For the consumer information pamphlet, entitled Arizona Funerals Information, the Board shall charge a funeral e

ment the Board’s actual cost of publishing, distributing, and mailing the pamphlet.

ARTICLE 2. LICENSING PROVISIONS

R4-12-201. Apprenticeship requirements for embalmer’s license Repealed
A. The Board will accept apprenticeship wherever served, provided the apprenticeship was:

1. Registered with the state in which the apprenticeship was served, or 
2. Served under the auspices of a recognized agency of the federal government or in an area where it was impossible to

register the apprenticeship, and 
3. Served under a qualified practicing embalmer.

B. The applicant shall provide:
1. If applicable, a written explanation of the reasons why the apprenticeship was not registered.
2. The names of the qualified practicing embalmers under which the apprenticeship was served, and
3. Written documentation of the apprenticeship including the dates served and the number of bodies embalmed from

either the association of group charged with certifying an apprenticeship in the area in which the apprenticeship was
served, or from the funeral establishments or the agencies or the federal government in which the apprenticeship was
served.

C. An apprentice does not quarry for examination until the apprentice has served one hundred and four weeks or twenty-four
months of approved apprenticeship.

R4-12-201. Application for a State Equivalent Examination or Embalmer Assistant Practical Examination
An applicant for a state equivalent examination or embalmer assistant practical examination shall submit an application packet
to the Board that contains the following:

1. An application form provided by the Board, signed and dated by the applicant, and notarized that contains:
a. The applicant’s name, mailing address, telephone number, and social security number;
b. The applicant’s date and place of birth; and
c. The applicant’s height, weight, hair color, and eye color;

2. A photocopy of the applicant’s high school diploma or general educational diploma issued in any state;
August 11, 2000 Page 2895 Volume 6, Issue #33
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3. If applying to take a state equivalent examination, a photocopy of the diploma issued to the applicant upon graduation
from an accredited or provisionally accredited school of mortuary science;

4. Two passport photographs of the applicant, no larger than 1 ½ x 2 inches, taken not more than 60 days befor
of the application; and

5. The fee required by the Board.

R4-12-202. Apprenticeship time criteria Application for an Intern, an Embalmer, or a Funeral Director License
For the purposes of determining actual apprenticeship time served, the following criteria will be used:

1. At least 20 hours per calendar week will constitute one week of apprenticeship time, or
2. At least 86 hours per calendar month will constitute one month of apprenticeship time.

A. An applicant for an intern, an embalmer, or a funeral director license shall submit to the Board an application pac
contains the fee required by the Board, documents and information required in A.R.S. § 32-1323, and the followin
1. An application form provided by the Board, signed and dated by the applicant, and notarized that contains:

a. The applicant’s name, mailing address, telephone number, and social security number;
b. The applicant’s date and place of birth;
c. Any prior names or aliases of the applicant;
d. The name and address of the high school from which the applicant graduated and the graduation date

applicant received a general equivalency diploma;
e. The name and address of the mortuary school from which the applicant graduated and graduation date;
f. The name, address, and telephone number of the funeral establishment employing the applicant;
g. Whether the applicant has ever been convicted of or entered into a plea of no contest to a class 1 or 

including the information in subsection (A)(1)(h)(i) through (A)(1)(h)(vi);
h. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has been convicted of or entere

plea of no contest to a felony or a misdemeanor that is reasonably related to the applicant’s proposed
licensure including the:
i. Charged felony or misdemeanor;
ii. Date of conviction;
iii. Court having jurisdiction over the felony or misdemeanor;
iv. Probation officer’s name, address and telephone number, if applicable;
v. Notice of expungement; if applicable; and
vi. Notice of restoration of civil rights, if applicable;

i. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has committed any act involving d
esty, fraud, misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary duty, gross negligence or incompetence reasonably r
the applicant’s proposed area of licensure;

j. Whether the applicant is currently incarcerated in or on community supervision after a period of imprisonm
a local, state, or federal penal institution or on criminal probation;

k. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has had an application for a license
tration, certificate, or endorsement, denied or rejected by any state funeral licensing authority including th
i. Reason for the denial or rejection;
ii. Date of the denial or rejection; and
iii. Name and address of the agency that denied or rejected the application;

l. Whether the applicant has, within 5 years from the date of the application, had a license, registration, ce
or endorsement suspended or revoked by any state funeral licensing authority including the:
i. Reason for the suspension or revocation;
ii. Date of the suspension or revocation; and
iii. Name and address of the state licensing authority that suspended or revoked the license;

m. Whether the applicant has ever surrendered a license, registration, certificate, or endorsement to the Boa
state funeral licensing authority;

n. The dates the applicant served as an apprentice embalmer or intern, location of apprenticeship or intern
the number of bodies embalmed, if applicable;

o. A statement of whether the applicant has passed a national board examination or state equivalent examin
applicable; and

p. A notarized statement by the applicant verifying the information on the application is true and correct;
2 A copy of the applicant’s high school or general equivalency diploma; and
3. A copy of the transcript from each mortuary college attended by the applicant and diploma issued to the appl

B. In addition to the requirements in subsection (A), an applicant for an intern license shall submit on the application
1. The name of the embalmer who will be supervising the applicant; and
2. A notarized statement from the embalmer who will be supervising the applicant; and:

a. Attests to the applicant’s good character, reputation and professional ability; and
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b. Recommends approval of the applicant.
C. In addition to the requirements in subsection (A), an applicant for an embalmer license shall submit to the Board:

1. On the application form:
a, Whether the applicant has embalmed 25 or more dead human bodies;
b. Apprenticeship or internship information including:

i. Commencement and conclusion dates,
ii. The state in which the apprenticeship or internship was served,
iii. The applicant’s state registration number and date of issuance, and
iv. The number of dead human bodies embalmed by the applicant during the apprenticeship or internsh

c. The following information:
i. The name of each state in which the applicant has been licensed or registered as an embalmer o

director,
ii. The date of issuance of each funeral director or embalmer license or registration, and
iii. The license or registration number in each state in which the applicant is or has been licensed or regis

an embalmer or funeral director.
d. The name of each mortuary at which the applicant has practiced as an embalmer or funeral director for

immediately before the application date, commencement and conclusion dates of the practice, and a de
of the practice, if applicable;

e. A notarized statement from a funeral director licensed or registered in any state that contains the funer
tor’s:
i. State in which licensed;
ii. License number and issuance date;
iii. Statement of length of time that the funeral director has known the applicant;
iv. Statement attesting to the applicant’s good character, reputation and professional ability; and
v. Recommendation for the Board’s approval of the applicant;

2. A report of apprenticeship or internship containing:
a. The applicant’s name;
b. The name of the funeral establishment in which the apprenticeship or internship was served;
c. The name of the embalmer supervising the applicant;
d. The beginning and ending dates covered in the report;
e. The number of hours worked each month during the apprenticeship or internship;
f. The number of dead human bodies embalmed each month during the apprenticeship or internship;
g. For each dead human body embalmed:

i. The name of the deceased,
ii. The date of death,
iii. A statement of whether an autopsy was performed,
iv. The supervising embalmer’s signature and license number, and
v. The signature of the responsible funeral director.

D. In addition to the requirements in subsection (A), an applicant for a funeral director license shall submit to the 
report containing:
1. The applicant’s name;
2. The name of the funeral establishment in which 1 year of funeral directing experience was obtained;
3. The name of the responsible funeral director;
4. The beginning and ending dates covered in the report;
5. For each burial, immediate burial, or direct cremation conducted by the applicant:

a. The name of the deceased;
b. The date of the burial, immediate burial, or direct cremation;
c. A statement of whether the applicant conducted a burial, immediate burial, or direct cremation; and
d. The supervising funeral director’s signature.

E. In addition to the requirements in subsection (A), an applicant for an embalmer or funeral director license who h
out-of-state embalmer or funeral director license shall:
1. Submit on the application form, the name of each state in which the applicant is licensed or registered as an e

or funeral director; and
2. Arrange for the out-of-state licensing authority to complete the following on the application form:

a. Certification of current licensure of the applicant;
b. Type of license, license number, and date license was issued;
c. A statement of whether the applicant qualified by examination or by being licensed by another state;
d. A statement of whether the licensing authority has ever suspended, revoked or taken any other agenc

against the applicant’s license; and
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e. Notarized signature and title of agency official;
F. An applicant for a multiple funeral director license shall submit an application form that is signed and dated by the appli-

cant, and notarized that includes the information in subsection (A)(1)(a) through (A)(1)(c) and:
1. The name and address of the funeral establishment for which the applicant:

a. Currently is the responsible funeral director; and
b. Is applying to act as the responsible funeral director;

2. The distance, stated in miles, between the current funeral establishment and the funeral establishment for which the
application is being made;

3. For the funeral establishment for which application is being made and for 12 months immediately preceding the
application, the number of:
a. Funerals and cremations of human remains that were conducted at the funeral establishment; and
b. Transportations of human remains that were arranged through the funeral establishment;

4. Fee required by the Board; and 
5. Other information required by the Board.

R4-12-203. Background checks Application for an Embalmer’s Assistant Registration
A. Except for apprentice registration, each application for a license shall be accompanied by a completed fingerprint card and

the fee prescribed by and made payable to the Arizona Department of Public Safety.
B. If an applicant has previously submitted legible fingerprints to the Board, this requirement is waived.
An applicant for an embalmer’s assistant registration shall submit to the Board an application packet that contains th
ing:

1. An application form that contains:
a. The applicant’s name, mailing address, telephone number, and social security number;
b. The applicant’s date and place of birth;
c. Any prior names or aliases of the applicant;
d. The name and address of the high school from which the applicant graduated and the graduation date

applicant received a general equivalency diploma.
e. The name and address of each mortuary college attended by the applicant;
f. The name and address of the mortuary college from which the applicant graduated and graduation date;
g. The name, address, and telephone number of the funeral establishment employing the applicant;
h. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has had an application for a license

tration, certificate, or endorsement, denied or rejected by any state funeral licensing authority including th
i. Reason for the denial or rejection,
ii. Date of the denial or rejection, and
iii. Name and address of the agency that denied or rejected the application.

i. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has had a license, registration, ce
or endorsement suspended or revoked by any state funeral licensing authority including the:
i. Reason for the suspension or revocation;
ii. Date of the suspension or revocation; and
iii. Name and address of the state licensing authority that suspended or revoked the license;

j. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has ever surrendered a license, 
tion, certificate, or endorsement to the Board or any state funeral licensing authority;

k. The name of the applicant’s current supervising embalmer;
l. If applicable, the commencement and conclusion dates the applicant served as an apprentice embalmer, 

cant’s registration number and date of issuance, and the number of bodies embalmed and date of each
ing;

m. A notarized statement by the applicant verifying the information on the application is true and correct;
n. A notarized statement from the supervising embalmer who:

i. Vouches for the applicant’s good character, reputation and professional ability; and
ii. Recommends approval of the applicant;

2. A copy of the applicant’s high school or general equivalency diploma;
3. A copy of the transcript and diploma from the mortuary college attended by the applicant;
4. A report of apprenticeship containing:

a. The applicant’s name;
b. The name of the funeral establishment in which the apprenticeship was completed;
c. The name of the supervising embalmer;
d. The beginning and ending dates covered in the report;
e. The number of clock hours worked each month during the 2 most recent consecutive years of apprentice;
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f. The number of dead human bodies embalmed by the applicant or in which the applicant assisted in the embalm-
ing for each month during the apprenticeship;

g. For each dead human body embalmed by the applicant or in which the applicant assisted in embalming for the 2
most recent consecutive years of the apprenticeship:
i. The name of the deceased;
ii. The date of death;
iii. The cause of death;
iv. A statement of whether an autopsy was performed;
v. The supervising embalmer’s signature and license number; and
vi. The applicant’s and supervising embalmer’s signatures.

5. A completed and legible fingerprint card; and
6. The fee required by the Board.

R4-12-204. Processing applications Application for a Funeral Establishment License or Interim Funeral Estab-
lishment Permit
A. The Board will notify the applicant as follows:

1. If eligible to take the examination, the applicant will be notified of the place and time of the examination.
2. If the Board determines that the applicant is not qualified or has cause to believe that the applicant has made

tial false or misleading statements on the application, it will deny the application and the applicant will be not
the reasons for the denial.

B. If the only reason for denial is failure to meet the apprenticeship or embalmer time requirements and such requ
can be met within one year of the Board’s decision, the application will be held pending completion of the time r
ments but not longer than 15 months and no additional application fee will be charged for the examination.

C. Application fees are not refundable. Application fees will not be applied toward a future examination if the applica
to appear at the examination for which he applied, except as provided in subsection (B) or under one of the follow
ditions:
1. A serious accident or severe illness to the applicant or a member of the applicant’s immediate family which

documented.
2. A death or extreme emergency involving a member of the applicant’s immediate family which can be docume

D. The Board will approve an application subject to receipt of required materials, but no license will be issued u
requirements for licensure have been satisfied.

A. An applicant for a funeral establishment license shall submit to the Board an application packet that contains
required by the Board, the documents and information required in A.R.S. § 32-1383, and an application form th
tains:
1. The funeral establishment’s current and previous name, if any;
2. The address of the physical location and telephone number of the funeral establishment;
3. The responsible funeral director’s name and license number;
4. The name of the funeral establishment’s current and previous owner;
5. A statement of whether the applicant is a corporation or a subsidiary of a corporation, partnership, or proprie
6. If the previous owner was a corporation, the name of the corporation;
7. The name and address of each person owning 10% or more of the establishment or corporation common sto
8. If a corporation, the state and date of incorporation, name and address of the Arizona statutory agent, a

officer’s and director’s name, address, and title;
9. Whether the applicant has ever been convicted of or entered into a plea of no contest to a class 1 or 2 felony, 

the information in subsection (A)(10)(a) through (A)(10)(f);
10. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has been convicted of or entered into 

no contest to a felony or a misdemeanor that is reasonably related to the applicant’s proposed area of licensu
ing the:
a. Charged felony or misdemeanor;
b. Date of conviction;
c. Court having jurisdiction over the felony or misdemeanor;
d. Probation officer’s name, address and telephone number, if applicable;
e. Notice of expungement; if applicable; and
f. Notice of restoration of civil rights, if applicable;

11. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has committed any act involving dish
fraud, misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary duty, gross negligence or incompetence reasonably related to t
cant’s proposed area of licensure;

12. Whether the applicant is currently incarcerated in or on community supervision after a period of imprisonme
local, state, or federal penal institution or on criminal probation;
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13. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has had an application for a license, registra-
tion, certificate, or endorsement, denied or rejected by any state funeral licensing authority including the:
a. Reason for the denial or rejection;
b. Date of the denial or rejection; and
c. Name and address of the agency that denied or rejected the application;

14. Whether the applicant has, within 5 years from the date of the application, had a license, registration, certificate, or
endorsement suspended or revoked by any state funeral licensing authority including the:
a. Reason for the suspension or revocation;
b. Date of the suspension or revocation; and
c. Name and address of the state licensing authority that suspended or revoked the license;

15. Whether the applicant has ever surrendered a license, registration, certificate, or endorsement to the Board or any
state funeral licensing authority;

16. A statement, signed by the responsible funeral director and notarized, affirming licensure in Arizona and confirming
responsibility for the funeral establishment’s compliance with Arizona state laws and rules; and

17. The applicant’s signature.
B. An applicant for an interim funeral establishment permit shall submit to the Board an application packet that cont

documents and information required in A.R.S. § 32-1388 and an application form that contains:
1. The funeral establishment’s current and previous name, if any;
2. The address of the physical location and telephone number of the funeral establishment;
3. The name of the funeral establishment’s current and previous owner;
4. The responsible funeral director’s name and license number;
5. Whether the applicant is a corporation or a subsidiary of a corporation, partnership, or proprietorship;
6. If the previous owner was a corporation, the name of the corporation;
7. The name and address of each person owning 10% or more of the establishment or corporation common sto
8. If a corporation, the state and date of incorporation, name and address of the Arizona statutory agent, a

officer’s and director’s name, address, and title;
9. The name of the previous licensed owner;
10. A statement, signed by the responsible funeral director and notarized, affirming licensure in Arizona and con

responsibility for the funeral establishment’s compliance with Arizona state laws and rules; and
11. The applicant’s signature.

R4-12-205. Funeral directors’ examination Application for a Prearranged Funeral Sales Endorsement
The examination for a funeral director’s certificate shall consist of not less than seventy written questions upon the fog
subjects: funeral directing, proper embalming practices and procedures; methods of determining whether proper em
practices and procedures are being, or have been, followed for preservation of the dead human body and prevent
spread of disease; the laws and regulations and approved practices governing the preparation, burial, and dispos
human bodies, and the shipment of bodies dying from infectious or contagious diseases.
An owner and the owner’s responsible funeral director applying for a prearranged funeral sales endorsement for 
establishment shall submit to the Board an application packet that contains the fee required by the Board, documents 
mation required in A.R.S. § 32-1391.12, and an application form that contains:

1. The funeral establishment’s name, mailing address, and telephone number;
2. The funeral establishment’s designated funeral director’s, manager’s, corporate officers’, owner’s, trustee’s

controlling person’s:
a. Current name and any prior names or alias;
b. Current address, telephone number, and social security number;
c. Date and place of birth; and
d. Former addresses, including dates of residence, for 7 years immediately preceding the date of the applic

3. The total amount of trust funds, including accrued interest, for 12 months immediately preceding the applicati
4. The total number of currently existing prearranged funeral agreements entered into before January 1, 1985;
5. The total number of prearranged funeral agreements sold by the funeral establishment for the calendar year

ately preceding the date of the application;
6. Whether the designated funeral director, a manager, a corporate officer, a trustee, or an owner, within 7 year

ing the date of application, in any state or federal jurisdiction, has:
a. Been convicted of or entered into a plea of no contest to a felony or any misdemeanor involving dish

fraud, deception, misrepresentation, embezzlement, or breach of fiduciary duty; or
b. Been issued a judgment or consent order for consumer fraud or securities violation or civil racketeering;
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7. The names, addresses, aliases, and telephone number of each individual named in subsection (6) and the following:
a. The charged felony;
b. Date of conviction or judgment;
c. Court having jurisdiction over the felony;
d. Probation officer’s name, address and telephone number, if applicable; and
e. Notice of restoration of civil rights, if applicable; and

8. A notarized statement signed by the owner and designated funeral director verifying the information on the 
tion is true and correct;

R4-12-206. Examinations Application for a Prearranged Funeral Salesperson Registration
A. Written examinations for embalmer and funeral director licensing will be given at least twice each year.
B. While an examination is in progress, examines shall not leave the room nor communicate with any other person

the permission of an attending proctor.
C. An examinee who creates any disturbance which interferes with the maintenance of order during an examination

ejected from the room; and, if ejected, will be considered to have failed the examination and shall forfeit all app
fees.

D. At the completion of the written examination, all examination questions and answers shall be delivered to the pro
An applicant for a prearranged funeral salesperson registration shall submit an application packet to the Board that
the fee required by the Board, documents and information required in A.R.S. § 32-1391.14, and an application form t
tains:

1. The applicant’s telephone number, and social security number;
2. A statement of whether the applicant is a funeral director or embalmer licensed in Arizona;
3. Whether the applicant has ever been convicted of or entered into a plea of no contest to a felony or a misd

involving dishonesty, fraud, deception, misrepresentation, embezzlement or breach of fiduciary duty in any 
federal court within 7 years preceding the date of application including the:
a. Charged felony or misdemeanor;
b. Date of conviction;
c. Court having jurisdiction over the felony or misdemeanor;
d. Probation officer’s name, address and telephone number, if applicable;
e. Notice of expungement, if applicable; and
f. Notice of restoration of civil rights, if applicable.

4. Whether the applicant, within 7 years preceding the date of the application, has ever had an application for 
or certificate, other than a driver’s license, denied or rejected by any state funeral licensing authority including
a. Reason for the denial or rejection,
b. Date of the denial or rejection, and
c. Name and address of the agency that denied or rejected the application.

5. Whether the applicant, within 7 years preceding the date of the application, has ever had a license, certificate
istration, other than a driver’s license, suspended or revoked by any state funeral licensing authority including
a. Reason for the suspension or revocation,
b. Date of the suspension or revocation, and
c. Name and address of the agency that suspended or revoked the license; and

6. A notarized statement signed by the applicant verifying the information on the application is true and correct;
7. A notarized statement signed by the responsible funeral director verifying the applicant will be employed 

responsible funeral director upon issuance of the registration by the Board.

R4-12-207. Oral Examinations Application for a Crematory License
A. An oral examination shall consist of at least twenty-five questions on the laws of Arizona pertaining to the Funera

tors Act, A.R.S. § 32-1301 et seq., these rules, and the Department of Health Services rules (A.A.C.) R9-19-301 
appropriate.

B. Oral examination questions appropriate to the type of license or registration applied for shall be constructed and a
by the Board prior to the examination date.

C. The passing grade for an oral examination shall be a score of 75% or more. The Board may weight questions acc
their importance in determining the competency of the applicant.

D. The Board may determine that the applicant may read the questions propounded, but all answers will be given
unless a physical handicap prevents a verbal response.

E. The Board shall attempt to accommodate handicapped applicants insofar as it is able to without jeopardizing the
of the examination.

F. An oral examination given pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-1323, to be taken in conjunction with a written examination, 
given at a different place and time if it is mutually agreeable to the applicant and the Board’s administrator.
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G. Oral examinations given pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-1333 (out-of state applicant) or A.A.C. R4-12-208 (waiver of 
examination) will be given by individual appointment at a time and place mutually convenient to the applicant a
Board’s administrator and may be given prior to the Board’s approval of application and license but, in no case
license be issued without prior approval of the Board and payment of the license fee.

An applicant for a crematory license shall submit to the Board an application packet that contains the fee require
Board, documents and information required in A.R.S. § 32-1395, and the following:

1. An application form that contains:
a. The name of the crematory;
b. The address of the physical location and telephone number of the crematory;
c. A statement of whether the applicant is a corporation or a subsidiary of a corporation, partnership, or pro

ship;
d. The name and license number of the responsible funeral director or cremationist;
e. The name and address of each person owning 10% or more of the establishment or corporation common
f. A statement, signed by the responsible funeral director or cremationist and notarized, affirming licensure

zona and confirming responsibility for the funeral establishment’s compliance with Arizona state laws and
g If a corporation, the state and date of incorporation, name and address of the Arizona statutory agent, 

officer’s and director’s name, address, and title;
h. Whether the applicant has ever been convicted of or entered into a plea of no contest to a class 1 or 

including the information in subsection (1)(i)(i) through (1)(i)(vi);
i. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has been convicted of or entere

plea of no contest to a felony or a misdemeanor that is reasonably related to the applicant's propose
licensure including the:
i. Charged felony or misdemeanor;
ii. Date of conviction;
iii. Court having jurisdiction over the felony or misdemeanor;
iv. Probation officer’s name, address and telephone number, if applicable;
v. Notice of expungement; if applicable; and
vi. Notice of restoration of civil rights, if applicable;

j. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has committed any act involving d
esty, fraud, misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary duty, gross negligence or incompetence reasonably r
the applicant’s proposed area of licensure;

k. Whether the applicant is currently incarcerated in or on community supervision after a period of imprisonm
a local, state, or federal penal institution or on criminal probation;

l. Whether the applicant, within 5 years from the date of the application, has had an application for a license
tration, certificate, or endorsement, denied or rejected by any state funeral licensing authority including th
i. Reason for the denial or rejection;
ii. Date of the denial or rejection; and
iii. Name and address of the agency that denied or rejected the application;

m. Whether the applicant has, within 5 years from the date of the application, had a license, registration, ce
or endorsement suspended or revoked by any state funeral licensing authority including the:
i. Reason for the suspension or revocation;
ii. Date of the suspension or revocation; and
iii. Name and address of the state licensing authority that suspended or revoked the license;

n. Whether the applicant has ever surrendered a license, registration, certificate, or endorsement to the Boa
state funeral licensing authority; and

p. The applicant’s signature.
2. A copy of a funeral establishment license or crematory authority certificate issued by the Arizona Department

Estate to a cemetery that operates a crematory;

R4-12-208. Exception to written examination Annual Intern, Apprentice Embalmer, or Embalmer’s Assistant
Report
A. The Board shall accept a certificate issued by the Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards in lieu of the written

portion of the embalmer’s or funeral director’s examination provided such examination was successfully com
within five years of application or the applicant has legally practiced the art of embalming or the profession of 
directing, as appropriate applicable to the application, within the last five years.

B. This exception does not apply to the oral examination.
A. To meet the requirements in A.R.S. §§ 32-1322(A)(4), 32-1324 or 32-1325.01(B)(2), an intern, apprentice emba

embalmer’s assistant is required to work a minimum of 40 hours each week and a minimum of 160 hours each m
ing an internship or apprenticeship.
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B. As required in A.R.S. § 32-1330, an intern, an apprentice embalmer, or an embalmer’s assistant shall submit the f
on a form provided by the Board:
1. The name of the licensee or registrant;
2. The name of the funeral establishment employing the applicant;
3. The supervising embalmer’s name and license number;
4. The beginning and ending dates being covered by the report;
5. The number of hours worked each week at the employing funeral establishment;
6. For each body embalmed:

a. The name of the deceased;
b. The date of death;
c. The cause of death;
d. A statement of whether an autopsy was performed; and
e. The supervising embalmer’s signature and license number;

7. A statement signed by the intern, apprentice embalmer, or embalmer’s assistant verifying the information
application is true and correct;

8. A statement signed by the responsible funeral director verifying the intern; apprentice embalmer, or emb
assistant has been employed by the responsible funeral director; and

9. A statement signed by the supervising embalmer verifying supervision of the intern, apprentice embalm
embalmer’s assistant.

R4-12-209. State Equivalent Examination
A. The funeral service science section of the state equivalent examination shall consist of not less than 70 written 

covering the following subjects:
1. Embalming practices and procedures;
2. Methods of determining whether proper embalming practices and procedures are being or have been followe

preservation of the dead human body and prevention of the spread of disease;
3. The laws and regulations and approved practices governing the preparation, burial, and disposal of dead hu

ies; and
4. The shipment of human remains when the cause of death was an infectious or a contagious disease.

B. The funeral services arts section of the state equivalent examination shall consist of not less than 70 written ques
ering the following subjects:
1. Funeral directing,
2. Funeral service law,
3. Funeral merchandising,
4. Business law,
5. Accounting,
6. Sociology,
7. Accounting, and
8. Psychology.

R4-12-211. Application for funeral establishment license Repealed
A. Each application shall meet the requirements of R4-12-203 pertaining to background checks for each owner

receiver or other person desiring a funeral establishment license.
B. The responsible funeral director of the establishment shall certify on the application that the establishment 

equipped and maintained in accordance with this Chapter.
C. If an application is for change of owner, the location or the name of the establishment, the license previously issu

establishment shall be surrendered with the application for an establishment license.
D. A license surrendered with a timely application will remain in effect until a new license is issued or denied.

ARTICLE 5. PREARRANGED FUNERAL AGREEMENTS

R4-12-531. Salesperson registration application Repealed
The application for prearranged funeral salesperson shall be signed and dated by the applicant and sworn to befor
public. The responsible funeral director shall verify on the application that he will employ the applicant as a prea
funeral salesperson if the registration is issued. The application and verification shall be dated no more than 30 days the
application is filed with the Board. The written examination shall be taken by an applicant for registration within 30 daer
the application is filed.
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ARTICLE 6. CREMATORY AND CREMATION REGULATION

R4-12-601. Definitions Repealed
In A.R.S. § Title 32, Chapter 12, Article 6, and this Article, the following definitions of terms shall apply:

1. “Commissioner” means the Real Estate Commissioner.
2. “Cremation container” means a rigid, combustible, closed container into which the body of a deceased perso

for subsequent placement in the cremation chamber for a cream.
3. “Licensing authority” means the Board for funeral establishments licensed under this Chapter or the Comm

for owners or operators holding a certificate of authority to operate a cemetery.
4. “Violation or offense” means each incident, action or failure to act which violates any provision of A.R.S. § Tit

Chapters 12 or 20, or rules adopted pursuant to those chapters.

R4-12-611. Crematory authority; registration Repealed
A. A person desiring to operate a crematory in Arizona for the cremation of human remains shall register with the Bo

crematory authority.
B. The application for registration shall contain the following information and shall be executed under oath or affirma

the crematory authority’s responsible funeral director or cemetery operator:
1. Name and location of the crematory.
2. License number and name of the funeral establishment or the cemetery authority under which the crematory 

desires to register.
3. Statement as to whether the crematory is a sole proprietorship, partnership, or a corporation.
4. Name of each person owning ten percent or more of the crematory, or, if a corporation, the name of each per

ing ten percent or more of the capital units or shares in the corporation.
C. The application for registration also shall contain the following information:

1. Mailing address and telephone number of the crematory.
2. Name, address and telephone number of the crematory authority’s responsible funeral director or cemetery o
3. Address and telephone number of each person named in subsection (B)(4), and, if a corporation, the names,

and telephone numbers of the officers and statutory agent of the corporation.
4. Photocopy of the funeral establishment license or cemetery certificate of authority under which the crematory

registered.
D. The application for registration shall be accompanied by a fee of $25. The certificate of registration issued by th

shall be in the name of the funeral establishment or cemetery operator.
E. Upon request of the crematory authority and for an additional fee of $25, the Board also may issue a certificate of

tion in the name of the crematory.
F. If the information provided pursuant to subsection (B) changes in any way, a new application and fee for registrat

be submitted to the Board within 30 days after the change.
G. If the owner of the crematory authority intends to close the crematory, the owner shall notify the Board at least 

prior to closing. If the crematory is closed unexpectedly, the owner shall advise the Board immediately.
H. A duplicate funeral establishment license or cemetery certificate of authority and the certificate of registration s

prominently displayed in the crematory.
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-331,
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 14. PUBLIC SERVICE CORPORATIONS; CORPORATIONS AND

ASSOCIATIONS; SECURITIES REGULATION

CHAPTER 2.   CORPORATION COMMISSION - FIXED UTILITIES

PREAMBLE

1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
R14-2-201 Amend
R14-2-202 Amend
R14-2-203 Amend
R14-2-206 Amend
R14-2-207 Amend
R14-2-208 Amend
R14-2-209 Amend
R14-2-211 Amend
R14-2-212 Amend
R14-2-213 Amend
R14-2-1601 Amend
R14-2-1603 Amend
R14-2-1604 Amend
R14-2-1606 Amend
R14-2-1607 Amend
R14-2-1608 Amend
R14-2-1609 Amend
R14-2-1610 Amend
R14-2-1611 Amend
R14-2-1612 Amend
R14-2-1613 Amend
R14-2-1614 Amend
R14-2-1616 Amend
R14-2-1617 Amend

2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the
rules are implementing (specific):

Authorizing statutes: Arizona Constitution Article XV, A.R.S. §§ 40-202, 40-203, 40-250, 40-321, 40-322, 40
40-332, 40-336, 40-361, 40-365, 40-367, and under the Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 40, generally.

Implementing statute: Not applicable

3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
None

4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:
Name: Deborah R. Scott

Director, Utilities Division

Address: Arizona Corporation Commission
1200 West Washington
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-0745

Fax: (602) 542-2129
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5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
On September 29, 1999, in Decision No. 61969, the Commission adopted the Retail Electric Competition Rules
(A.A.C. R14-2-1601, et seq.) along with modifications to the Electric Utilities Rules (A.A.C. R14-2-201, et seq.)
These rules provided the framework for the introduction of retail competition to the electric industry in Arizona.
However, Commission staff has determined that there is a need to make clarifying revisions to the rules before the
onset of full competition scheduled for January 1, 2001.

Some of the significant changes to the rules are as follows:

A. Definitions of some terms have been expanded.

B. Locations within the Commission for filing required documents have been specified.

C. The requirement that utilities have to file with the Commission copies of reports required by the Securities and
Exchange Commission has been removed.

D. A statement restricting the release of customer-specific information has been added.

E. Corrections have been made to the timeliness in the application processes for Certificates of Convenience and
Necessity (CC&N). In addition, a clarification in the process for a competitive CC&N has been made in regard
to the timing of providing written notice to the Commission of notification to incumbent utilities.

F. References to Regional Transmission Organization (RTO) have been added where appropriate in response to
federal support for such an organization. In addition, clarification has been made regarding the functions of an
RTO or Independent System Operator (ISO) in the absence of an Arizona Independent Scheduling Administra-
tor (AISA).

G. A clarification of holidays in regard to meter data has been added.

H. A provision has been added to allow Electric Service Providers who provide separate bills to competitive cus-
tomers to not be required to list billing cost elements for services they do not provide.

I. In regard to the semi-annual and annual reports filed under the Retail Electric Competition Rules, the number
of categories in reporting the number of retail customers has been reduced. In addition, these reports would no
longer be required to be filed in both written and electronic forms.

6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justification for the propose
rule and where the public may obtain or review the study, all data underlying each study, any analysis of the stud
and other supporting material:

Not applicable

7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish 
previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
Anyone who reads the revised rules would benefit from improved definitions of terms and from corrections in spell-
ing, grammar and punctuation.

Specification in the rules of where to file required documents would save employee time for both Utilities and Elec-
tric Service Providers because they would not have to contact the Commission for that information. It would also
benefit Commission staff who would no longer have to search in various places for filed materials. Commission staff
would also benefit by clarifying timeline issues in the application process for a Certificate of Convenience and Neces-
sity.

Utilities would benefit from no longer being required to file copies of reports required by the Securities and Exchange
Commission. Affected Utilities and Electric Service Providers would benefit from not being required to file their
semi-annual and annual reports in both written and electronic formats.

Both Utility Distribution Companies and Electric Service Providers would benefit by holidays being standardized. In
addition, Electric Service Providers would be able to reduce costs by eliminating billing cost elements from customer
bills when the entities do not provide particular services and the entities bill separately. Customers would benefit by
receiving less confusing bills.

Consumers would also benefit from clarification about when customer-specific information could be released. They
would be assured that their privacy would be protected.
Volume 6, Issue #33 Page 2906 August 11, 2000



Arizona Administrative Register
Notices of Proposed Rulemaking
Probable costs to the Commission of the proposed rule revisions would be minimal.

Adoption of the proposed permanent rule revisions would allow the Commission to more effectively implement the
restructuring of the retail electric market.

9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the
economic, small business, and consumer impact statement:

Name: Deborah R. Scott
Director, Utilities Division

Address: Arizona Corporation Commission
1200 West Washington
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-0745

Fax: (602) 542-2129

10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the rule or, if no
proceeding is scheduled, where, when, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:

Date: September 15, 2000

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: Hearing Room 
Arizona Corporation Commission
1200 W. Washington Street
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Nature: Oral Proceeding

11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:

Not applicable

12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
1997 ANSI C2 (National Electrical Safety Code) incorporated in R14-2-207 E.3.c. and R14-2-208 F.1; 1995 ANSI
B31.l (ASME Code for Pressure Piping) incorporated in R14-2-208 F. 1; 1989 ANSI C84.1 (American National Stan-
dard for Electric Power Systems and Equipment-Voltage Ratings [60Hz]) incorporated in R14-2-208 F.2.

13. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 14. PUBLIC SERVICE CORPORATIONS; CORPORATIONS AND
ASSOCIATIONS; SECURITIES REGULATION

CHAPTER 2. ARIZONA CORPORATION COMMISSION - FIXED UTILITIES

ARTICLE 2. ELECTRIC UTILITIES

Sections
R14-2-201. Definitions
R14-2-202. Certificate of Convenience and Necessity for Electric Utilities; Filing Requirements on Certain New Plants
R14-2-203. Establishment of Service
R14-2-206. Service Lines and Establishments
R14-2-207. Line Extensions
R14-2-208. Provision of Service
R14-2-209. Meter Reading
R14-2-211. Termination of Service
R14-2-212. Administrative and Hearing Requirements
R14-2-213. Conservation
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ARTICLE 16. RETAIL ELECTRIC COMPETITION

Sections
R14-2-1601. Definitions
R14-2-1603. Certificates of Convenience and Necessity
R14-2-1604. Competitive Phases
R14-2-1606. Services Required To Be Made Available
R14-2-1607. Recovery of Stranded Cost of Affected Utilities
R14-2-1608. System Benefits Charges
R14-2-1609. Transmission and Distribution Access
R14-2-1610. In-state Reciprocity
R14-2-1611. Rates
R14-2-1612. Service Quality, Consumer Protection, Safety, and Billing Requirements
R14-2-1613. Reporting Requirements
R14-2-1614. Administrative Requirements
R14-2-1616. Code of Conduct
R14-2-1617. Disclosure of Information

ARTICLE 2. ELECTRIC UTILITIES

R14-2-201. Definitions
In this Article, unless the context otherwise requires, the following definitions shall apply. In addition, the definitions con-
tained in Article 16, Retail Electric Competition, shall apply in this Article unless the context otherwise requires.

1. No change.
2. No change.
3. No change.
4. No change.
5. No change.
6. No change.
7. No change.
8. No change.
9. No change.
10. No change.
11. No change.
12. No change.
13. No change.
14. No change.
15. No change.
16. No change.
17. No change.
18. No change.
19. No change.
20. No change.
21. No change.
22. No change.
23. No change.
24. No change.
25. No change.
26. No change.
27. No change.
28. No change.
29. No change.
30. No change.
31. No change.
32. No change.
33. No change.
34. No change.
35. No change.
36. No change.
37. No change.
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38. No change.
39. No change.
40. No change.
41. No change.
42. No change.
43. No change.
44. No change.
45. “Utility”. The public service corporation providing electric service to the public in compliance with state law, e

in those instances set forth in R14-2-1612 (A) and (B).
46. No change.

R14-2-202. Certificate of Convenience and Necessity for Electric Utilities; Filing Requirements on Certain New
Plants
A. Application for new Certificate of Convenience and Necessity.

Six copies of each application for a new Certificate of Convenience and Necessity shall be submitted to the Com
through Docket Control, in a form prescribed by the Commission and shall include, at a minimum, the following info
tion:
1. The proper name and correct address of the proposed utility company and its owner, if a sole proprietorsh

partner, if a partnership, or the President and Secretary if a corporation.
2. The rates proposed to be charged for the service that will be rendered.
3. A financial statement setting forth the financial condition of the applicant.
4. Maps of the proposed service area or a description of the area proposed to be served.
5. Appropriate city, county and/or state agency approvals, where appropriate.
6. The actual number of customers within the service area as of the time of filing and the estimated number of c

to be served for each of the 1st 5 years of operation.
7. Such other information as the Commission by order or the staff of the Utilities Division by written directive

request.
B. No change.

R14-2-203. Establishment of Service
A. Information from new applicants

1. A utility may obtain the following minimum information from each new applicant for service:
a. Name or names of applicant or applicants.
b. Service address or location and telephone number.
c. Billing address/telephone number, if different than service address.
d. Address where service was provided previously.
e. Date applicant will be ready for service.
f. Indication of whether premises have been supplied with utility service previously.
g. Purpose for which service is to be used.
h. Indication of whether applicant is owner or tenant of or agent for the premises.
i. Information concerning the energy and demand requirements of the customer.
j. Type and kind of life-support equipment, if any, used by the customer.

2. Customer-specific information shall not be released without specific prior written customer authorization unl
information is requested by a law enforcement or other public agency, or is requested by the Commission or
or is reasonably required for legitimate account collection activities, or is necessary to provide safe and relia
vice to the customer.

2.3. A utility may require a new applicant for service to appear at the utility’s designated place of business to p
proof of identity and sign the utility’s application form.

3.4. Where service is requested by 2 or more individuals the utility shall have the right to collect the full amount o
the utility from any 1 of the applicants.

B. Deposits
1. A utility shall not require a deposit from a new applicant for residential service if the applicant is able to meet

the following requirements:
a. The applicant has had service of a comparable nature with the utility within the past 2 years and was n

quent in payment more than twice during the last 12 consecutive months or disconnected for nonpaymen
b. The applicant can produce a letter regarding credit or verification from an electric utility where service of 

parable nature was last received which states applicant had a timely payment history at time of service
tinuance.
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c. In lieu of a deposit, a new applicant may provide a Letter of Guarantee from a governmental or nonprofit entity
or a surety bond as security for the utility.

2. The utility may issue a nonnegotiable receipt to the applicant for the deposit. The inability of the customer to produce
such a receipt shall in no way impair his or her right to receive a refund of the deposit which is reflected on the util-
ity’s records.

3. Deposits shall be interest bearing; the interest rate and method of calculation shall be filed with and approve
Commission in a tariff proceeding.

4. Each utility shall file a deposit refund procedure with the Commission, through Docket Control, subject to Commis-
sion review and approval during a tariff proceeding. However, each utility’s refund policy shall include provisio
residential deposits and accrued interest to be refunded or letters of guarantee or surety bonds to expire
months of service if the customer has not been delinquent more than twice in the payment of utility bills.

5. A utility may require a residential customer to establish or reestablish a deposit if the customer becomes delin
the payment of 2 bills within a 12-consecutive-month period or has been disconnected for service during the
months.

6. The amount of a deposit required by the utility shall be determined according to the following terms:
a. Residential customer deposits shall not exceed 2 times that customer’s estimated average monthly bill.
b. Nonresidential customer deposits shall not exceed 2 1/2 times that customer’s estimated maximum mon

7. The utility may review the customer’s usage after service has been connected and adjust the deposit amo
upon the customer’s actual usage.

8. A separate deposit may be required for each meter installed.
9. If a Utility Distribution Company’s customer with an established deposit elects to take competitive services f

Electric Service Provider, and is not currently delinquent in payments to the Utility Distribution Company, the 
Distribution Company will refund a portion of the customer’s deposit in proportion to the expected decre
monthly billing. A customer returning to Standard Offer Service may be required to increase an established de
proportion to the expected increase in monthly billing.

C. No change.
D. No change.
E. No change.

R14-2-206. Service Lines and Establishments
A. No change.
B. Service lines

1. Customer provided facilities
a. Each applicant for services shall be responsible for all inside wiring including the service entrance an

socket.
b. Meters and service switches in conjunction with the meter shall be installed in a location where the met

be readily and safely accessible for reading, testing and inspection and where such activities will cause 
interference and inconvenience to the customer. However, the meter locations shall not be on the front
wall of the home; or in the carport or garage, unless mutually agreed to between the home builder or c
and the utility. The customer shall provide, without cost to the utility, at a suitable and easily accessible lo
sufficient and proper space for installation of meters.

c. Where the meter or service line location on the customer’s premises is changed at the request of the cus
due to alterations on the customer’s premises, the customer shall provide and have installed at his ex
wiring and equipment necessary for relocating the meter and service line connection and the utility may 
charge for moving the meter or service line.

2. Company provided facilities
a. Each utility shall file, in Docket Control, for Commission approval, a service line tariff which defines the ma

mum footage or equipment allowance to be provided by the utility at no charge. The maximum footage or
ment allowance may be differentiated by customer class.

b. The cost of any service line in excess of that allowed at no charge shall be paid for by the customer as a 
tion in aid of construction.

c. A customer requesting an underground service line in an area served by overhead facilities shall pay for
ference between an overhead service connection and the actual cost of the underground connection as
fundable contribution.

C. No change.

R14-2-207. Line Extensions
A. General requirements
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1. Each utility shall file, in Docket Control, for Commission approval, a line extension tariff which incorporates the pro-
visions of this rule and specifically defines the conditions governing line extensions.

2. Upon request by an applicant for a line extension, the utility shall prepare, without charge, a preliminary sketch and
rough estimate of the cost of installation to be paid by said applicant.

3. Any applicant for a line extension requesting the utility to prepare detailed plans, specifications, or cost estimates
may be required to deposit with the utility an amount equal to the estimated cost of preparation. The utility shall,
upon request, make available within 90 days after receipt of the deposit referred to above, such plans, specifications,
or cost estimates of the proposed line extension. Where the applicant authorizes the utility to proceed with construc-
tion of the extension, the deposit shall be credited to the cost of construction; otherwise the deposit shall be nonre-
fundable. If the extension is to include oversizing of facilities to be done at the utility’s expense, appropriate
shall be set forth in the plans, specifications and cost estimates. Subdivisions providing the utility with approv
shall be provided with plans, specifications, or cost estimates within 45 days after receipt of the deposit ref
above.

4. Where the utility requires an applicant to advance funds for a line extension, the utility shall furnish the ap
with a copy of the line extension tariff of the appropriate utility prior to the applicant’s acceptance of the u
extension agreement.

5. All line extension agreements requiring payment by the applicant shall be in writing and signed by each party
6. The provisions of this rule apply only to those applicants who in the utility’s judgment will be permanent cus

of the utility. Applications for temporary service shall be governed by the Commission’s rules concerning tem
service applications.

B. No change.
C. No change.
D. No change.
E. No change.
F. No change.

R14-2-208. Provision of Service
A. No change.
B. No change.
C. No change.
D. Service interruptions

1. Each utility shall make reasonable efforts to reestablish service within the shortest possible time when servi
ruptions occur.

2. Each utility shall make reasonable provisions to meet emergencies resulting from failure of service, and eac
shall issue instructions to its employees covering procedures to be followed in the event of emergency in orde
vent or mitigate interruption or impairment of service.

3. In the event of a national emergency or local disaster resulting in disruption of normal service, the utility may
public interest, interrupt service to other customers to provide necessary service to civil defense or other em
service agencies on a temporary basis until normal service to these agencies can be restored.

4. When a utility plans to interrupt service for more than 4 hours to perform necessary repairs or maintenance, t
shall attempt to inform affected customers at least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled date and estimated
of the service interruption. Such repairs shall be completed in the shortest possible time to minimize the i
nience to the customers of the utility.

5. The Commission, Consumer Services Section, shall be notified of interruption in service affecting the entire syst
or any significant portion thereof. The interruption of service and cause shall be reported by telephone to th
mission within 2 hours after the responsible representative of the utility becomes aware of said interruption 
lowed by a written report to the Commission.

E. Curtailment
Each utility shall file with the Commission, through Docket Control, as a part of its general tariffs a procedural plan f
handling severe supply shortages or service curtailments. The plan shall provide for equitable treatment of individ
tomer classes in the most reasonable and effective manner given the existing circumstances. When the availabil
vice is so restricted that the reduction of service on a proportionate basis to all customer classes will not main
integrity of the total system, the utility shall develop procedures to curtail service giving service priority to those c
ers and customer classes where health, safety and welfare would be adversely affected.

F. No change.
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R14-2-209. Meter Reading
A. Company or customer meter reading

1. Each utility, billing entity or Meter Reading Service Provider may at its discretion allow for customer reading of
meters.

2. It shall be the responsibility of the utility or Meter Reading Service Provider to inform the customer how to properly
read his or her meter.

3. Where a customer reads his or her own meter, the utility or Meter Reading Service Provider will read the cus
meter at least once every 6 months.

4. The utility, billing entity, or Meter Reading Service Provider shall provide the customer with postage-paid ca
other methods to report the monthly reading.

5. Each utility or Meter Reading Service Provider shall specify the timing requirements for the customer to subm
her monthly meter reading to conform with the utility’s billing cycle.

6. Where the Electric Service Provider is responsible for meter reading, reads will be available for the Utility Di
tion Company’s or billing entity’s billing cycle for that customer, or as otherwise agreed upon by the Electric S
Provider and the Utility Distribution Company or billing entity.

7. In the event the customer fails to submit the reading on time, the utility or billing entity may issue the custo
estimated bill.

8. In the event the Electric Service Provider responsible for meter reading fails to deliver reads to the Meter Rea
vice Provider server within 3 days of the scheduled cycle read date, the Affected Utility may estimate the read
event the Affected Utility responsible for meter reading fails to deliver reads to the Meter Reader Service P
server within 3 days of the scheduled cycle read date, the Electric Service Provider may estimate the reads.

9. Meters shall be read monthly on as close to the same day as practical.
B. No change.
C. No change.
D. No change.
E. Meter testing and maintenance program.

1. Each utility shall file with the Commission, through the Compliance Section, a plan for the routine maintenance an
replacement of meters which meets the requirements of the 1995 edition (and no future editions) of ANS
(American National Standard Code for Electricity Metering), incorporated by reference and on file with the Of
the Secretary of State. Copies are available from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc., 3
47th Street, New York, New York 10017.

2. Each utility shall file an annual report with the Commission, through Docket Control, summarizing the results of the
meter maintenance and testing program for that year. At a minimum, the report should include the following d
a. Total number of meters tested, at company initiative or upon customer request.
b. Number of meters tested which were outside the acceptable error allowance of +3%.

F. No change.

R14-2-211. Termination of Service
A. Nonpermissible reasons to disconnect service. A utility may not disconnect service for any of the reasons stated 

1. Delinquency in payment for services rendered to a prior customer at the premises where service is being p
except in the instance where the prior customer continues to reside on the premises.

2. Failure of the customer to pay for services or equipment which are not regulated by the Commission.
3. Nonpayment of a bill related to another class of service.
4. Failure to pay for a bill to correct a previous underbilling due to an inaccurate meter or meter failure if the cu

agrees to pay over a reasonable period of time.
5. A utility shall not terminate residential service where the customer has an inability to pay and:

a. The customer can establish through medical documentation that, in the opinion of a licensed medical ph
termination would be especially dangerous to the health of a customer’s customer or a permanent resident resid
ing on the customer’s premises health, or 

b. Life supporting equipment used in the home that is dependent on utility service for operation of such ap
or 

c. Where weather will be especially dangerous to health as defined herein or as determined by the Commis
6. Residential service to ill, elderly, or handicapped persons who have an inability to pay will not be terminated 

of the following have been attempted:
a. The customer has been informed of the availability of funds from various government and social assistan

cies of which the utility is aware.
b. A 3rd party previously designated by the customer has been notified and has not made arrangements t

outstanding utility bill.
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7. A customer utilizing the provisions of subsection (4) or (5) above may be required to enter into a deferred payment
agreement with the utility within 10 days after the scheduled termination date.

8. Disputed bills where the customer has complied with the Commission’s rules on customer bill disputes.
B. No change.
C. No change.
D. No change.
E. No change.
F. No change.

R14-2-212. Administrative and Hearing Requirements
A. No change.
B. No change.
C. No change.
D. Notice by utility of responsible officer or agent

1. Each utility shall file with the Commission, through Docket Control, a written statement containing the name, addre
(business, residence and post office) and telephone numbers (business and residence) of at least 1 office
employee responsible for the general management of its operations as a utility in Arizona.

2. Each utility shall give notice, by filing a written statement with the Commission, through Docket Control, of any
change in the information required herein within 5 days from the date of any such change.

E. Timeframes for processing applications for Certificates of Convenience and Necessity
1. This rule prescribes time-frames for the processing of any application for a Certificate of Convenience and N

issued by the Arizona Corporation Commission pursuant to this Article. These time-frames shall apply to a
tions filed on or after the effective date of this rule.

2. Within 120 calendar days after receipt of an application for a new Certificate of Convenience and Necessi
amend or change the status of any existing Certificate of Convenience and Necessity, staff shall notify the a
in writing, that the application is either administratively complete or deficient. If the application is deficien
notice shall specify all deficiencies.

3. Staff may terminate an application if the applicant does not remedy all deficiencies within 60 calendar day
notice of deficiency.

4. After receipt of a corrected application, staff shall notify the applicant within 30 90 calendar days if the corrected
application is either administratively complete or deficient. The time-frame for administrative completeness 
shall be suspended from the time the notice of deficiency is issued until staff determines that the application
plete.

5. Within 150 days after an application is deemed administratively complete, the Commission shall approve or re
application.

6. For purposes of A.R.S. § 41-1072 et seq., the Commission has established the following time-frames:
a. Administrative completeness review time-frame: 120 calendar days;
b. Substantive review time-frame: 150 calendar days; and
c. Overall time-frame: 270 calendar days.

7. If an applicant requests, and is granted, an extension or continuance, the appropriate time-frames shall be to
the date of the request during the duration of the extension or continuance.

8. During the substantive review time-frame, the Commission may, upon its own motion or that of any intereste
to the proceeding, request a suspension of the time-frame rules.

F. Filing of tariffs
1. Each utility shall file with the Commission, through Docket Control, tariffs which are in compliance with the rule

and regulations promulgated by the Arizona Corporation Commission within 120 days of the effective date 
rules.

2. Each utility shall file with the Commission, through Docket Control, any proposed changes to the tariffs on file wi
the Commission; such proposed changes shall be accompanied by a statement of justification supporting the 
tariff change.

3. Any proposed change to the tariffs on file with the Commission shall not be effective until reviewed and appro
the Commission.

G. Accounts and records
1. Each utility shall keep general and auxiliary accounting records reflecting the cost of its properties, operating

and expense, assets and liabilities, and all other accounting and statistical data necessary to give complete a
tic information as to its properties and operations.

2. Each utility shall maintain its books and records in conformity with the Uniform Systems of Accounts for Class
C and D Electric Utilities as adopted and amended by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission or, for 
cooperatives, as promulgated by the Rural Electrification Administration Utilities Service.
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3. A utility shall produce or deliver in this state any or all of its formal accounting records and related documents
requested by the Commission. It may, at its option, provide verified copies of original records and documents.

4. All utilities shall submit an annual report to the Commission, through the Compliance Section, Utilities Division, on
a form prescribed by it. The annual report shall be filed on or before the 15th day of April for the preceding calendar
year. Reports prepared by a certified or licensed public accountant on the utility, if any, shall accompany the annual
report.

5. All utilities shall file with the Commission a copy of all reports required by the Securities and Exchange Commission.
6.5. All utilities shall file with the Commission, through the Compliance Section, Utilities Division, a copy of all annual

reports required by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and in addition, for electric cooperatives, annual
reports required by the Rural Electrification Administration Utilities Service.

H. Maps. All utilities shall file with the Commission, through Docket Control, a map or maps clearly setting forth the loca-
tion and extent of the area or areas they hold under approved certificates of convenience and necessity, in accordance with
the Cadastral (Rectangular) Survey of the United States Bureau of Land Management, or by metes and bounds with a
starting point determined by the aforesaid Cadastral Survey.

I. No change.
J. No change.

R14-2-213. Conservation
Energy conservation plan

1. The Arizona Corporation Commission recognizes the need for conservation of energy resources in order to maintain
an adequate and continuous supply of safe, dependable, and affordable energy. Therefore, in order to promote the
state’s economic development and the health and welfare of its citizenry, each class A and B electric utility s
an energy conservation plan which encompasses at a minimum the following considerations:
a. Development of consumer education and assistance programs to aid the populace in reducing energy c

tion and cost.
b. Participation in various energy conservation programs sponsored by other municipal, state or federal gov

entities having such jurisdiction.
2. Each utility shall file an energy conservation plan with the Commission, through the Compliance Section, U

Division, within 1 year of the effective date of these rules and annual updates thereafter when changes requir

ARTICLE 16. RETAIL ELECTRIC COMPETITION

R14-2-1601. Definitions
In this Article, unless the context otherwise requires:

1. No change.
2. No change.
3. No change.
4. No change.
5. No change.
6. No change.
7. “Competitive Services” means all aspects of retail electric service except those services specifically defined a

competitive Services” pursuant to R14-2-1601(27) R14-2-1601(29) or noncompetitive services as defined by th
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

8. No change.
9. No change.
10. No change.
11. No change.
12. No change.
13. No change.
14. No change.
15. No change.
16. No change.
17. No change.
18. No change.
19. No change.
20. No change.
21. No change.
22. No change.
23. No change.
24. No change.
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25. No change.
26. No change.
27. No change.
28. No change.
29. No change.
30. No change.
31. No change.
32. “Potential Transformer (PT)/Voltage Transformer (VT)” is an electrical device used to step down primary voltage

120V for metering purposes.
33. “Provider of Last Resort” means a provider of Standard Offer Service to customers within the provider’s cert

area whose annual usage is 100,000 kWh or less and who are not buying competitive services Competitive Services.
34. No change.
35. No change.
36. No change.
37. No change.
38. No change.
39. No change.
40. No change.
41. No change.
42. No change.
43. No change.
44. No change.
45. No change.
46. No change.

R14-2-1603. Certificates of Convenience and Necessity
A. No change.
B. No change.
C. No change.
D. No change.
E. At the time of filing for a Certificate of Convenience and Necessity, each applicant shall notify the Affected Utilities

ity Distribution Companies, or an electric utility not subject to the jurisdiction of the Arizona Corporation Commiss
whose service territories it wishes to offer service of the application by providing a copy of the application to the A
Utilities, Utility Distribution Companies, or an electric utility not subject to the jurisdiction of the Arizona Corpora
Commission. Prior to Commission action No later than 10 days after application is filed, each applicant shall provide writ-
ten notice to the Commission, through Docket Control, that it has provided notification to each of the respective Affec
Utilities, Utility Distribution Companies, or an electric utility not subject to the jurisdiction of the Arizona Corpora
Commission. The attachment to the CC&N application should include a listing of the names and addresses of the
Affected Utilities, Utility Distribution Companies, or an electric utility not subject to the jurisdiction of the Arizona 
poration Commission.

F. No change.
G. The Commission may deny certification to any applicant who:

1. Does not provide the information required by this Article;
2. Does not possess adequate technical or financial capabilities to provide the proposed services;
3. Seeks certification as a Load-Serving Entity and does not have an Electric Service Provider Service Acq

Agreement with a Utility Distribution Company and Scheduling Coordinator, if the applicant is not its own Sch
ing Coordinator;

4. Fails to provide a performance bond, if required;
5. Fails to demonstrate that its certification will serve the public interest;
6. Seeks certification as a Load-Serving Entity and fails to submit an executed Service Acquisition Agreemen

Utility Distribution Company or a Scheduling Coordinator for approval by the Director, Utilities Division, prio
the offering of service to potential customers. Agreements are to be filed with the Compliance Section, Utilitie
sion.

H. No change.
I. Every Electric Service Provider obtaining a Certificate of Convenience and Necessity under this Article shall obta

fication subject to the following conditions:
1. The Electric Service Provider shall comply with all Commission rules, orders, and other requirements relevan

provision of electric service;
2. The Electric Service Provider shall maintain accounts and records as required by the Commission;
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3. The Electric Service Provider shall file with the Director, Utilities Division, through the Compliance Section, all
financial and other reports that the Commission may require and in a form and at such times as the Commission may
designate;

4. The Electric Service Provider shall maintain on file with the Commission all current tariffs and any service standards
that the Commission shall require;

5. The Electric Service Provider shall cooperate with any Commission investigation of customer complaints;
6. The Electric Service Provider shall obtain all necessary permits and licenses, including relevant tax licenses;
7. The Electric Service Provider shall comply with all disclosure requirements pursuant to R14-2-1617;
8. Failure to comply with any of the above conditions may result in rescision rescission of the Electric Service Pro-

vider’s Certificate of Convenience and Necessity.
J. No change.
K. Time-frames for processing applications for Certificates of Convenience and Necessity

1. This rule prescribes time-frames for the processing of any application for a Certificate of Convenience and N
issued by the Arizona Corporation Commission pursuant to this Article. These time-frames shall apply to a
tions filed on or after the effective date of this rule.

2. Within 120 calendar days after receipt of an application for a new Certificate of Convenience and Necessi
amend or change the status of any existing Certificate of Convenience and Necessity, staff shall notify the a
in writing, that the application is either administratively complete or deficient. If the application is deficien
notice shall specify all deficiencies.

3. Staff may terminate an application if the applicant does not remedy all deficiencies within 60 calendar day
notice of deficiency.

4. After receipt of a corrected application, staff shall notify the applicant within 30 90 calendar days if the corrected
application is either administratively complete or deficient. The time-frame for administrative completeness 
shall be suspended from the time the notice of deficiency is issued until staff determines that the application
plete.

5. Within 180 calendar days after an application is deemed administratively complete, the Commission shall ap
reject the application.

6. For purposes of A.R.S. § 41-1072, et seq., the Commission has established the following time-frames:
a. Administrative completeness review time-frame: 120 calendar days;
b. Substantive review time-frame: 180 calendar days;
c. Overall time-frame: 300 calendar days.

7. If an applicant requests, and is granted, an extension or continuance, the appropriate time-frames shall be to
the date of the request during the duration of the extension or continuance.

8. During the substantive review time-frame, the Commission may, upon its own motion or that of any intereste
to the proceeding, request a suspension of the time-frame rules.

R14-2-1604. Competitive Phases
A. No change.
B. As part of the minimum 20% of 1995 system peak demand set forth in subsection (A), each Affected Utility shall 

a residential phase-in program that provides an increasing minimum percentage of residential customers with a
competitive electric services according to the following schedule:
1. January 1, 1999 1 1/4%

April 1, 1999 2 1/2%
July 1, 1999 3 3/4%
October 1, 1999 5%
January 1, 2000 6 1/4%
April 1, 2000 7 1/2%
July 1, 2000 8 3/4%
October 1, 2000 10%

2. Access to the residential phase-in program will be on a first-come, first-served basis. The Affected Utility shal
and maintain a waiting list to manage the residential phase-in program, which list shall promptly be made ava
any certificated Load-Serving Electric Service Provider upon request.

3. Residential customers participating in the residential phase-in program shall be permitted to use load profilin
isfy the requirements for hourly consumption data; however, they may choose other metering options offered
Electric Service Provider consistent with the Commission’s rules on metering.

4. If not already done, each Affected Utility shall file a residential phase-in program proposal to the Comm
through Docket Control, for approval by Director, Utilities Division, by September 15, 1999. Interested parties
have until September 30, 1999, to comment on any proposal. At a minimum, the residential phase-in progr
posal will include specifics concerning the Affected Utility’s proposed:
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a. Process for customer notification of residential phase-in program;
b. Selection and tracking mechanism for customers based on first-come, first-served method;
c. Customer notification process and other education and information services to be offered;
d. Load Profiling methodology and actual load profiles, if available; and
e. Method for calculation of reserved load.

5. After the commencement of competition under R14-2-1602, each Affected Utility shall file quarterly residential
phase-in program reports with the Compliance Section, Utilities Division, within 45 days of the end of each quarter.
The 1st such report shall be due within 45 days of the 1st quarter ending after the start of the phase-in of competition
for that Affected Utility. The final report due under this rule shall be due within 45 days of the quarter ending Decem-
ber 31, 2002. As a minimum, these quarterly reports shall include:
a. The number of customers and the load currently enrolled in residential phase-in program by Energy Service Pro-

vider,
b. The number of customers currently on the waiting list,
c. A description and examples of all customer education programs and other information services including the

goals of the education program and a discussion of the effectiveness of the programs, and
d. An overview of comments and survey results from participating residential customers.

6. Aggregation or Self-Aggregation of residential customers is allowed subject to the limitations of the phase-in per-
centages in this rule.

C. No change.
D. No change.
E. No change.
F. No change.

R14-2-1606. Services Required to be Made Available
A. No change.
B. No change.
C. Standard Offer Tariffs

1. By July 1, 1999, or pursuant to Commission Order, whichever occurs first, each Affected Utility shall file proposed
tariffs to provide Standard Offer Service. Such rates shall not become effective until approved by the Commission.
Any rate increase proposed by an Affected Utility or Utility Distribution Company for Standard Offer Service must
be fully justified through a rate case proceeding.

2. Standard Offer Service tariffs shall include the following elements, each of which shall be clearly unbundled and
identified in the filed tariffs:
a. Competitive Services:

i. Generation, which shall include all transaction costs and line losses;
ii. Competition Transition Charge, which shall include recovery of generation related regulatory assets;
iii. Generation-related billing and collection; 
iv. Transmission Services;
v. Metering Services;
vi. Meter Reading Services; and
vii. Optional Ancillary Services, which shall include spinning reserve service, supplemental reserve, regulation

and frequency response service, and energy imbalance service.
b. Non-Competitive Services:

i. Distribution services;
ii. Required Ancillary services, which shall include scheduling, system control and dispatch service, and reac-

tive supply and voltage control from generation sources service;
iii. Must-Run Generating Units;
iv. System Benefit Charges; and
v. Distribution-related billing and collection.

3. Affected Utilities and Utility Distribution Companies may file proposed revisions to such rates with the Commission
through Docket Control. Any rate increase proposed by an Affected Utility or Utility Distribution Company for Stan-
dard Offer Service must be fully justified through a rate case proceeding, which may be expedited at the discretion of
the Utilities Division Director.

4. Such rates shall reflect the costs of providing the service.
5. Consumers receiving Standard Offer Service are eligible for potential future rate reductions as authorized by the

Commission. 
6. After January 2, 2001, tariffs for Standard Offer Service shall not include any special discounts or contracts with

terms, or any tariff which prevents the customer from accessing a competitive option, other than time-of-use rates,
interruptible rates, or self-generation deferral rates.
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D. By the effective date of these rules, or pursuant to Commission Order, whichever occurs first, each Affected Utility or
Utility Distribution Company shall file an Unbundled Service tariff that shall include a Noncompetitive Services tariff.
The Unbundled Service tariff shall calculate the items listed in R14-2-1602(C)(2)(b) R14-2-1606(C)(2)(b) on the same
basis as those items are calculated in the Standard Offer Service tariff.

E. No change.
F. No change.
G. Customer Data

1. Upon written authorization by the customer, a Load-Serving Entity shall release in a timely and useful manner that
customer’s billing demand and energy data, including consumption, demand, and power factor (if available), for the
most recent 12-month period to a customer-specified properly certificated Electric Service Provider.

2. The Electric Service Provider requesting such customer data shall provide an accurate account number fo
tomer.

3. The form of data shall be mutually agreed upon by the parties and such data shall not be unreasonably withh
4. Utility Distribution Companies shall be allowed access to the Meter Reading Service Provider server for cu

served by the Utility Distribution Company’s distribution system.
H. No change.
I. Electric Service Providers offering Competitive Services under this R14-2-1606 shall provide adequate supportin

mentation for their proposed rates. Where rates are approved by another jurisdiction, such as the Federal Energ
tory Commission, those rates shall be provided to this Commission as part of the supporting documentation.

R14-2-1607. Recovery of Stranded Cost of Affected Utilities
A. No change.
B. No change.
C. No change.
D. No change.
E. No change.
F. No change.
G. No change.
H. No change.
I. The Commission may, after notice and hearing, order regular revisions to estimates of the magnitude of Stranded Co

R14-2-1608. System Benefits Charges
A. Each Affected Utility or Utility Distribution Company shall file for Commission review non-bypassable rates or re

mechanisms to recover the applicable pro-rata costs of System Benefits from all consumers located in the Affec
ity’s or Utility Distribution Company’s service area. Affected Utilities or Utility Distribution Companies shall file 
review of the Systems Benefits Charge at least every 3 years. The amount collected annually through the System
charge shall be sufficient to fund the Affected Utilities’ or Utility Distribution Companies’ Commission-approved Sy
Benefits. Filings shall be made with the Commission through Docket Control.

B. No change.
C. No change.

R14-2-1609. Transmission and Distribution Access
A. No change.
B. No change.
C. The Commission supports the development of an Federal Energy Regulatory Commission-approved Regional Trans

sion Organization (RTO), an Independent System Operator (ISO) or, absent a Regional Transmission Organizatio an
Independent System Operator, an Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator (AISA). The Commission belie
such organizations are necessary in order to provide nondiscriminatory retail access and to facilitate a robust and
electricity market.

D. The Commission believes that an Independent Scheduling Administrator is necessary in order to provide nondis
tory retail access and to facilitate a robust and efficient electricity market. Therefore, those Affected Utilities that own or
operate Arizona transmission facilities shall form an Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator which shall fi
the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission within 60 days of this Commission’s adoption of final rules here
approval of an Independent Scheduling Administrator having the following characteristics:
1. The Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator shall calculate Available Transmission Capacity (ATC) fo

zona transmission facilities that belong to the Affected Utilities or other Arizona Independent Scheduling Ad
trator participants and shall develop and operate an overarching statewide OASIS.
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2. The Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator shall implement and oversee the nondiscriminatory application
of operating protocols to ensure statewide consistency for transmission access. These operating protocols shall
include, but are not limited to, protocols for determining transmission system transfer capabilities, committed uses of
the transmission system, available transfer capabilities, Must-Run Generating Units, energy scheduling, and energy
imbalances.

3. The Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator shall provide dispute resolution processes that enable market
participants to expeditiously resolve claims of discriminatory treatment in the reservation, scheduling, use, and cur-
tailment of transmission services.

4. All requests (wholesale, Standard Offer retail, and competitive retail) for reservation and scheduling of the use of Ari-
zona transmission facilities that belong to the Affected Utilities or other Arizona Independent Scheduling Adminis-
trator participants shall be made to, or through, the Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator using a single,
standardized procedure.

5. The Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator shall implement a transmission planning process that includes all
Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator participants and aids in identifying the timing and key characteristics
of required reinforcements to Arizona transmission facilities to assure that the future load requirements of all partici-
pants will be met.

E. The Affected Utilities that own or operate Arizona transmission facilities shall file a proposed Arizona Independent
Scheduling Administrator implementation plan with the Commission, through Docket Control, within 30 days of the
Commission’s adoption of final rules herein. The implementation plan shall address Arizona Independent Sch
Administrator governance, incorporation, financing, and staffing; the acquisition of physical facilities and staff by th
zona Independent Scheduling Administrator; the schedule for the phased development of Arizona Independent 
ing Administrator functionality and proposed transition to a regional ISO Independent System Operator or Regional
Transmission Organization; contingency plans to ensure that critical functionality is in place no later than 3 mon
lowing adoption of final rules herein by the Commission; and any other significant issues related to the timely a
cessful implementation of the Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator.

F. Each of the Affected Utilities shall make good faith efforts to develop a regional, multi-state Independent System
tor or Regional Transmission Organization, to which the Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator should tran
its relevant assets and functions and characteristics as specified in R14-2-1609(D) as the Independent System Operator 
Regional Transmission Organization becomes able to carry out those functions. Absent Federal Energy Regulatory 
mission approval of an Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator, the functions and characteristics as spe
R14-2-1609(D) will be assumed by the Independent System Operator or Regional Transmission Organization.

G. It is the intent of the Commission that prudently-incurred costs incurred by the Affected Utilities in the establishm
operation of the Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator, and subsequently the Independent System Op
Regional Transmission Organization, should be recovered from customers using the transmission system, includin
Affected Utilities’ wholesale customers, Standard Offer retail customers, and competitive retail customers on a 
criminatory basis through Federal Energy Regulatory Commission-regulated prices. Proposed rates for the rec
such costs shall be filed with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and this Commission through Docket 
In the event that the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission does not permit recovery of prudently incurred Inde
Scheduling Administrator costs within 90 days of the date of making an application with the Federal Energy Reg
Commission, the Commission may authorize Affected Utilities to recover such costs through a distribution surcha

H. The Commission supports the use of “Scheduling Coordinators” to provide aggregation of customers’ schedule
Independent Scheduling Administrator and the respective Control Area Operators simultaneously until the impl
tion of a regional Independent System Operator or Regional Transmission Organization, at which time the schedules wil
be submitted to the Independent System Operator or Regional Transmission Organization. The primary duties of Schedul-
ing Coordinators are to:
1. Forecast their customers’ load requirements;
2. Submit balanced schedules (that is, schedules for which total generation is equal to total load of the Scheduli

dinator’s customers plus appropriate transmission and distribution line losses) and North American Electric R
ity Council/Western Systems Coordinating Council tags;

3. Arrange for the acquisition of the necessary transmission and ancillary services;
4. Respond to contingencies and curtailments as directed by the Control Area Operators, Arizona Independent 

ing Administrator, or Independent System Operator or Regional Transmission Organization;
5. Actively participate in the schedule checkout process and the settlement processes of the Control Area O

Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator, or Independent System Operator or Regional Transmission 
zation.
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I. The Affected Utilities and Utility Distribution Companies shall provide services from the Must-Run Generating Units to
Standard Offer Service retail customers and competitive retail customers on a comparable, nondiscriminatory basis at reg-
ulated prices. The Affected Utilities shall specify the obligations of the Must-Run Generating Units in appropriate sales
contracts prior to any divestiture. Under auspices of the Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator, the Affected
Utilities and other stakeholders shall develop statewide protocols for pricing and availability of services from Must-Run
Generating Units. These protocols shall be presented to the Commission for filed with Docket Control for Commission
review and, when appropriate, approval, prior to being filed with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission in conjunc-
tion with the Arizona Independent Scheduling Administrator tariff filing. Fixed Must-Run Generating Units costs are to
be recovered through a regulated charge to end-use customers. This charge must be set by the Commission as part of the
end-use customer distribution service charges. 

J. No change.

R14-2-1610. In-state Reciprocity
A. The service territories of Arizona electric utilities which that are not Affected Utilities or Public Power Entities shall not

be open to competition under the provisions of this Article, nor shall Arizona electric utilities which are not Affected Util-
ities be able to compete for sales in the service territories of the Affected Utilities.

B. An Arizona electric utility, subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission, which that is not an Affected Utility or a Public
Power Entity may voluntarily participate under the provisions of this Article if it makes its service territory available for
competing sellers, if it agrees to all of the requirements of this Article, and if it obtains an appropriate Certificate of Con-
venience and Necessity.

C. An Arizona electric utility, not subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission, and which that is not a Public Power Entity,
may submit a statement to the Commission, through Docket Control, stating that it voluntarily opens its service territory
for competing sellers in a manner similar to the provisions of this Article. Such statement shall be accompanied by the
electric utility’s nondiscriminatory Standard Offer Tariff, electric supply tariffs, Unbundled Services rates, Strande
charges, System Benefits charges, Distribution Services charges and any other applicable tariffs and policies fo
the electric utility offers, for which these rules otherwise require compliance by Affected Utilities or Electric Servic
viders. Such filings shall serve as authorization for such electric utility to utilize the Commission’s Rules of Pract
Procedure and other applicable rules concerning any complaint that an Affected Utility or Electric Service Provide
lating any provision of this Article or is otherwise discriminating against the filing electric utility or failing to provideust
and reasonable rates in tariffs filed under this Article.

D. No change.
E. An affiliate of an Arizona electric utility which is not an Affected Utility or a Public Power Entity shall not be allowe

compete in the service territories of Affected Utilities unless the affiliate’s parent company, the nonaffected electricy,
submits a statement to the Commission, through Docket Control, indicating that the parent company will voluntarily ope
its service territory for competing sellers in a manner similar to the provisions of this Article and the Commission m
finding to that effect.

R14-2-1611. Rates
A. No change.
B. No change.
C. Prior to January 1, 2001, competitively negotiated contracts governed by this Article customized to individual cu

which comply with approved tariffs do not require further Commission approval. However, all such contracts whos
is 1 year or more and for service of 1 MW or more must be filed with the Director, Utilities Division, through the Co
ance Section, as soon as practicable. If a contract does not comply with the provisions of the Load Serving E
approved tariffs, it shall not become effective without a Commission order. The provisions of such contracts shall
confidential by the Commission.

D. No change.
E. No change.
F. Requests for changes in maximum rates or changes in terms and conditions of previously approved tariffs may

with the Commission, through Docket Control. Such changes shall become effective only upon Commission approva

R14-2-1612. Service Quality, Consumer Protection, Safety, and Billing Requirements
A. No change.
B. No change.
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C. No consumer shall be deemed to have changed providers of any service authorized in this Article (including changes from
the Affected Utility to another provider) without written authorization by the consumer for service from the new provider.
If a consumer is switched to a different (“new”) provider without such written authorization, the new provider shall
service by the previous provider to be resumed and the new provider shall bear all costs associated with switching
sumer back to the previous provider. A new provider who switches a customer without written authorization shall 
refund to the retail electricity customer the entire amount of the customer’s electricity charges attributable to the
generation service from the new provider for 3 months, or the period of the unauthorized service, whichever is  A
Utility Distribution Company may request the Commission’s Consumer Services Section to review or audit written
rizations to assure a customer switch was properly authorized. A written authorization that is obtained by deceit o
tive practices shall not be deemed a valid written authorization. Electric Service Providers shall submit reports within 30
days of the end of each calendar quarter to the Commission, through the Compliance Section, Utilities Division, itemizing
the direct complaints filed by customers who have had their Electric Service Providers changed without their au
tion. Violations of the Commission’s rules concerning unauthorized changes of providers may result in penalties
pension or revocation of the provider’s certificate. The following requirements and restrictions shall apply to the 
authorization form requesting electric service from the new provider:
1. The authorization shall not contain any inducements;
2. The authorization shall be in legible print with clear and plain language confirming the rates, terms, conditio

nature of the service to be provided;
3. The authorization shall not state or suggest that the customer must take action to retain the customer’s cur

tricity supplier;
4. The authorization shall be in the same language as any promotional or inducement materials provided to 

electric customer; and
5. No box or container may be used to collect entries for sweepstakes or a contest that, at the same time, is us

lect authorization by a retail electric customer to change their electricity supplier or to subscribe to other serv
D. No change.
E. Customer-specific information shall not be released without specific prior written customer authorization unless th

mation is requested by a law enforcement or other public agency, or is requested by the Commission or its Staff, 
sonably required for legitimate account collection activities, or is necessary to provide safe and reliable servic
customer.

E.F.Each Electric Service Provider providing service governed by this Article shall be responsible for meeting applica
ability standards and shall work cooperatively with other companies with whom it has interconnections, directly 
rectly, to ensure safe, reliable electric service. Utility Distribution Companies shall make reasonable efforts to
customers of scheduled outages and also provide notification to the Commission.

F.G.Each Electric Service Provider shall provide at least 45 days’ written notice to all of its affected consumers of its intent 
cease providing generation, transmission, distribution, or ancillary services necessitating that the consumer obta
from another supplier of generation, transmission, distribution, or ancillary services.

G.H.All Electric Service Providers rendering service under this Article shall submit accident reports, through the Com
Section, as required in R14-2-101.

H.I.An Electric Service Provider providing firm electric service governed by this Article shall make reasonable efforts t
tablish service within the shortest possible time when service interruptions occur and shall work cooperatively wi
companies to ensure timely restoration of service where facilities are not under the control of the Electric Serv
vider.

I.J. Electric Service Providers shall give at least 5 days notice to their customer of scheduled return to Standard Offer
Electric Service Providers shall provide 15 calendar days’ notice prior to the next scheduled meter read date to th
priate Utility Distribution Company regarding the intent to terminate a service agreement. Return of that customer 
dard Offer Service will be at the next regular billing cycle if appropriate metering equipment is in place and the re
provided 15 calendar days prior to the next regular meter read date. Responsibility for charges incurred between 
and the next scheduled read date shall rest with the Electric Service Provider.

J.K.Each Electric Service Provider shall ensure that bills rendered on its behalf include its address and toll-free te
numbers for billing, service, and safety inquiries. The bill must also include the address and toll-free telephone n
for the Phoenix and Tucson Consumer Service Sections of the Arizona Corporation Commission Utilities Divisio
Electric Service Provider shall ensure that billing and collections services rendered on its behalf comply with sub
(A).

K.L.Additional Provisions for Metering and Meter Reading Services
1. When authorized by the consumer, an Electric Service Provider who provides metering or meter reading serv

taining to a particular consumer shall provide appropriate meter reading data via standardized EDI formats, approved
by the Director, Utilities Division, to all applicable Electric Service Providers serving that same consumer.
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2. Any person or entity relying on metering information provided by an Electric Service Provider may request a meter
test according to the tariff on file and approved by the Commission. However, if the meter is found to be in error by
more than 3%, no meter testing fee will be charged.

3. Each competitive point of delivery shall be assigned a Universal Node Identifier by the Affected Utility or the Utility
Distribution Company whose distribution system serves the customer.

4. Unless the Commission grants a specific waiver, all competitive metered and billing data shall be translated into con-
sistent, statewide Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) formats, based on standards approved by the Utility Industry
Group (UIG) approved by the Director, Utilities Division, that shall be used by the Affected Utility or the Utility Dis-
tribution Company and the Electric Service Provider.

5. Unless the Commission grants a specific waiver, an Electronic Data Interchange Format the standardized data
exchange formats approved by the Director, Utilities Division, shall be used for all data exchange transactions from
the Meter Reading Service Provider to the Electric Service Provider, Utility Distribution Company, and Schedule
Coordinator. This data will be transferred via the Internet using a secure sockets layer or other secure electronic
media.

6. Minimum metering requirements for competitive customers over 20 kW, or 100,000 kWh annually, should consist of
hourly consumption measurement meters or meter systems. Predictable loads will be permitted to use load profiles to
satisfy the requirements for hourly consumption data. The Load-Serving Entity developing the load profile shall
determine if a load is predictable. 

7. Competitive customers with hourly loads of 20 kW (or 100,000 kWh annually) or less will be permitted to use Load
Profiling to satisfy the requirements for hourly consumption data, however, they may choose other metering options
offered by their Electric Service Provider consistent with the Commission rules on Metering.

8. Metering equipment ownership will be limited to the Affected Utility, Utility Distribution Company, and the Electric
Service Provider or their representative, or the customer, who must obtain the metering equipment through the
Affected Utility, Utility Distribution Company, or an Electric Service Provider.

9. Maintenance and servicing of the metering equipment (including Current Transformers and Potential Transformers)
will be limited to the Affected Utility, Utility Distribution Company, and the Electric Service Provider or their repre-
sentative.

10. Distribution primary voltage Current Transformers and Potential Transformers may be owned by the Affected Utility,
Utility Distribution Company or the Electric Service Provider or their representative.

11. Transmission primary voltage Current Transformers and Potential Transformers may be owned by the Affected Util-
ity or Utility Distribution Company only.

12. North American Electric Reliability Council-recognized holidays will be used in calculating “working days”
meter data timeliness requirements. If a holiday officially occurs on a Saturday, the preceding Friday will be
nized as the date of the holiday. If a holiday officially occurs on a Sunday, the following Monday will be recog
as the date of the holiday.

13. By May 1, 1999, the The Director, Utilities Division shall approve operating procedures to be used by the Utility 
tribution Companies and the Meter Service Providers for performing work on primary metered customers. 

14. By May 1, 1999, the The Director, Utilities Division shall approve operating procedures to be used by the M
Reading Service Provider for validating, editing, and estimating metering data.

15. By May 1, 1999, the The Director, Utilities Division shall approve performance metering specifications and stand
to be used by all entities performing metering.

L.M.Electric Service Providers shall comply with applicable reliability standards and practices established by the W
Systems Coordinating Council and the North American Electric Reliability Council or successor organizations.

M.N.Electric Service Providers shall provide notification and informational materials to consumers about competiti
consumer choices, such as a standardized description of services, as ordered by the Commission.

N.O.Billing Elements. After the commencement of competition within a service territory pursuant to R14-2-1602, a
tomer bills, including bills for Standard Offer Service customers within that service territory, will list, at a minimum
following billing cost elements:
1. Competitive Services:

a. Generation, which shall include generation-related billing and collection;
b. Competition Transition Charge;
c. Transmission and Ancillary Services;
d. Metering Services; and
e. Meter Reading Services.

2. Non-Competitive Services:
a. Distribution services, including distribution-related billing and collection, required Ancillary Services and M

Run Generating Units; and 
b. System Benefit Charges.

3. Regulatory assessments; and
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4. Applicable taxes.
5. In cases where the Utility Distribution Company and the Electric Service Provider provide separate bills to custom-

ers, the Electric Service Provider is not required to list the billing cost elements for non-competitive services. In cases
where the Utility Distribution Company and the Electric Service Provider provide separate bills to customers, the
Utility Distribution Company is not required to list the billing cost elements for competitive services if the customer
is obtaining competitive services from an Electric Service Provider.

O.P.The operating procedures approved by the Director, Utilities Division, will be used for Direct Access Service Requests as
well as other billing and collection transactions.

R14-2-1613. Reporting Requirements
A. Reports covering the following items, as applicable, shall be submitted to the Director, Utilities Division, through the

Compliance Section, by Affected Utilities or Utility Distribution Companies and all Electric Service Providers granted a
Certificate of Convenience and Necessity pursuant to this Article. These reports shall include the following information
pertaining to competitive service offerings, Unbundled Services, and Standard Offer services in Arizona:
1. Type of services offered;
2. kW and kWh sales to consumers, disaggregated by customer class (for example, residential, commercial, industrial);
3. Revenues from sales by customer class (for example, residential, commercial, industrial);
4. Number of retail customers disaggregated as follows: residential, commercial/industrial under 40 21 kW, commer-

cial/industrial 41 21 to 999 kW, commercial/industrial 1000 kW or more, industrial less than 1000 kW, industrial
1000 kW or more, agricultural (if not included in commercial), and other;

5. Retail kWh sales and revenues disaggregated by term of the contract (less than 1 year, 1 to 4 years, longer than 4
years), and by type of service (for example, firm, interruptible, other);

6. Amount of revenues from each type of Competitive Service, and, if applicable, each type of Noncompetitive Service
provided [using breakdown from R14-2-1612(O)];

7. Value of all assets used to serve Arizona customers and accumulated depreciation
8. Tabulation of Arizona electric generation plants owned by the Electric Service Provider broken down by generation

technology, fuel type, and generation capacity;
9. The number of customers aggregated and the amount of aggregated load; and
10. Other data requested by staff or the Commission;

B. Reporting Schedule
1. For the period through December 31, 2003, semi-annual reports shall be due on filed by April 15 (covering the previ-

ous period of July through December) and October 15 (covering the previous period of January through June). The
1st such report shall cover the period January 1 through June 30, 1999.

2. For the period after December 31, 2003, annual reports shall be due on filed by April 15 (covering the previous period
of January through December). The 1st such report shall cover the period January 1 through December 31, 2004.

C. No change.
D. Any Electric Service Provider, Affected Utility or Utility Distribution Company governed by this Article which fails to

file the above data in a timely manner may be subject to a penalty imposed by the Commission or may have its Certificate
rescinded by the Commission.

E. Any Electric Service Provider holding a Certificate pursuant to this Article shall report to the Director of the Utilities
Division the discontinuation of file a request in Docket Control to discontinue any competitive tariff as soon as practicable
after the decision to discontinue offering service is made.

F. In addition to the above reporting requirements, Electric Service Providers, Affected Utilities and Utility Distribution
Companies governed by this Article shall participate in Commission workshops or other forums whose purpose is to eval-
uate competition or assess market issues.

G. Reports filed under the provisions of this section shall be submitted in written format and in electronic format. Electric
Service Providers shall coordinate with the Commission staff on formats.

R14-2-1614. Administrative Requirements
A. Any Electric Service Provider certificated under this Article may file with the Commission, through Docket Control, pro-

posed additional tariffs for Competitive Services at any time which include a description of the service, maximum rates,
terms, and conditions. 

B. No change.
C. No change.
D. No change.
E. Prior to October 1, 1999, the Director, Utilities Division, shall implement a Consumer Education Program as approved by

the Commission.
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R14-2-1616. Code of Conduct 
A. No later than 90 days after adoption of these rules, each Affected Utility which plans to offer Noncompetitive Services

and which plans to offer Competitive Services through its competitive electric affiliate shall propose a Code of Conduct to
prevent anti-competitive activities. Each Affected Utility that is an electric cooperative, that plans to offer Noncompetitive
Services, and that is a member of any electric cooperative that plans to offer Competitive Services shall also submit a
Code of Conduct to prevent anti-competitive activities. All Codes of Conduct shall be filed in Docket Control and be sub-
ject to Commission approval after a hearing.

B. No change.

R14-2-1617. Disclosure of Information
A. No change.
B. No change.
C. No change.
D. No change.
E. No change.
F. No change.
G. The consumer information label, the disclosure report, and the terms of service shall be distributed in accordance with the

following requirements:
1. Prior to the initiation of service for any retail customer,
2. Prior to processing written authorization from a retail customer with a load of less than 1 MW to change Electric Ser-

vice Providers,
3. To any person upon request,
4. Made a part of the annual report required to be filed with the Commission pursuant to law semi-annual and annual

reports required by R14-2-1613.
5. The information described in this subsection shall be posted on any electronic information medium of the Load-Serv-

ing Entities.
H. No change.
I. No change.

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

PREAMBLE

1. Sections affected: Rulemaking Action:
R17-4-707 Amend

2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the
rules are implementing (specific):

Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 28-366

Implementing statute: A.R.S. § 28-372

3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 6 A.A.R. 2421, July 7, 2000

4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:
Name: George R. Pavia, Administrative Rules Unit Supervisor

Address: 3737 North Seventh Street, Suite 160
Mail Drop 507M
Phoenix, Arizona 85014-5017

Telephone: (602) 712-8446

Fax: (602) 241-1624

E-Mail: gpavia@dot.state.az.us
Volume 6, Issue #33 Page 2924 August 11, 2000



Arizona Administrative Register
Notices of Proposed Rulemaking

 for dis-
rule to
. The fee
ndustry

t industry
ess and
800 bad
veraged
 revenues
inimal.
5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
The second regular session of Arizona’s 44th legislature enacted a revision to A.R.S. § 28-372 to bring fees
honored payment instruments in line with provisions in A.R.S. § 44-6852. This rulemaking will amend the 
increase check fees to the full amount authorized by the statutory revision, $25.00 per dishonored instrument
amount for a dishonored payment instrument plus actual financial institution charges also coincides with i
standard at the time of rulemaking.

6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justification for the proposed
rule and where the public may obtain or review the study, all data underlying each study, any analysis of the study
and other supporting material:

None

7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a
previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
The returned check fee under statute and rule prior to amendment has been $10.00 per instrument. Curren
standard is $25.00 per instrument. Raising the amount to industry standard allows banking industry busin
ADOT to equalize cost and benefit in processing returned checks. The agency receives approximately 8,
checks per year with a collection rate of 70%. At $10.00 per returned check, the collected fees have a
$69,000.00. With the fee increase to $25.00 per returned check, the agency anticipates recouped processing
of approximately $103,000.00. To individual bad check writers, the cost of check fees would most likely be m
Collectively, the processing costs recouped by the banking industry and ADOT are substantial.

9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the
economic, small business, and consumer impact statement:

Name: George R. Pavia, Administrative Rules Unit Supervisor

Address: 3737 North Seventh Street, Suite 160
Mail Drop 507M
Phoenix, Arizona 85014-5017

Telephone: (602) 712-8446

Fax: (602) 241-1624

E-Mail gpavia@dot.state.az.us

10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the rule, or if no
proceeding is scheduled, where, when, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:

Date: Monday, September 18, 2000

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: ADOT-MVD, Executive Hearing Office, Hearing Room 2
3737 North Seventh Street, Suite 160
Phoenix, Arizona 85014-5017

Nature: Public Hearing

11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:

Not applicable

12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
None

13. The full text of the rules follows:
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TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

ARTICLE 7. MISCELLANEOUS RULES

Section
R17-4-707. Fee for returned checks Returned Check Penalty

ARTICLE 7. MISCELLANEOUS RULES

R17-4-707. Fee for returned checks Returned Check Penalty
A. Any person who issues a check which is subsequently returned to the Department because of insufficient funds, payments

stopped or closed accounts shall be assessed a fee of $10.00 and any statutory penalties for each check.
Fee assessment.
1. The Department shall assess a fee for each check, draft, or order returned because of

a. Insufficient monies,
b. Payment stopped, or
c. Closed account.

2. A fee under this subsection shall include
a. A $25.00 returned check charge,
b. Any applicable financial institution penalty prescribed under A.R.S. § 44-6852, and
c. Any applicable late title and registration penalty prescribed under A.R.S. § 28-2162.

B. For each check returned for the reasons set forth in subsection (A) of this rule, the Department shall require pay
means of certified funds or cash, of both the original amount of the returned check and the fee described in subse
of this rule.
Remedial remittance.
1. The Department shall require payment for a returned check, draft, or order by

a. Cash, or
b. Other certified means.

2. A remittance under this subsection shall include
a. The original remittance amount, and
b. Any fee assessed under subsection (A)(2).

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 18. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

CHAPTER 5. DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEWS AND CERTIFICATIONS

ARTICLE 1. CLASSIFICATION OF TREATMENT PLANTS AND CERTIFICATION OF OPERATIONS

PREAMBLE

1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
R18-5-101 Amend
R18-5-102 Amend
R18-5-103 Amend
R18-5-104 Amend
R18-5-105 Amend
R18-5-106 Amend
R18-5-107 Amend
R18-5-108 Amend
R18-5-109 Amend
R18-5-110 Amend
R18-5-111 Repeal
R18-5-112 R18-5-111 Renumber
R18-5-113 Repeal
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R18-5-114 R18-5-112 Renumber
R18-5-115 R18-5-113 Renumber

2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the
rules are implementing (specific):

Authorizing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 49-104, 49-202, 49-203, 49-351, 49-352, 49-353, and 49-361

Implementing statute: A.R.S. § 49-352

3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 6 A.A.R. 1441, April 14, 2000

4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:
Name: Margaret L. McClelland or Martha L. Seaman

Address: Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
3033 North Central Avenue
Phoenix, Arizona 85012

Telephone: (602) 207-2224

Fax: (602) 207-2251

5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
A. Background for These Proposed Rules

On February 6, 1999, the EPA finalized the “Guidelines for the Certification and Recertification of the Opera
Community and Nontransient Noncommunity Public Water Systems.” The Safe Drinking Water Act (SD
Amendments of 1996 require that these final guidelines be published in the Federal Register by February 6, 1999.
These guidelines provide states with the minimum standards for the development, implementation and enfo
of operator certification programs for community and nontransient noncommunity public water systems. Begin
years after publication, EPA must withhold 20% of a state’s Drinking Water State Revolving Fund capitalizatio
funds unless the State has adopted and is implementing an operator certification program that meets the req
of these guidelines or submits its existing program that is substantially equivalent to these guidelines.

The primary purpose of the SDWA is to ensure that drinking water supplied to consumers by public water sys
safe to drink, does not exceed prescribed maximum contaminant levels (MCLs), that consumers are confid
their water is safe to drink and that public water system operators are trained and certified and that they hav
edge and understanding of the public health reasons for drinking water standards. Public water systems are
to have a remote or onsite certified operator to ensure that water is safely being supplied to the consumers. If
ator resigns or is relieved of his duties, it is the responsibility of the water supplier to take the necessary a
eliminate the operator vacancy.

ADEQ held 5 stakeholder meetings during April and May to discuss the proposed new rule to establish crit
operator certification. Approximately 50 stakeholders attended the meetings and gave their input on the dra
ADEQ incorporated many of the suggestions by the stakeholder group. The rules establish the requirements 
fication and classification, examinations, renewal of certificates, expired certificates, revocation, reciprocity f
of-state applicants, experience and education. One major component of this rule is the repeal of the fees a
with examinations, certification and renewals. The rules also provide for the examinations for certification to b
ducted by 3rd-party examiners. ADEQ will provide a list of examiners approved by ADEQ to give the certific
examinations and applicants who wish to be tested will take the test from one of those examiners. The rules
that ADEQ may contract with examiners to allow the examiner to be put on the list of approved examiners. Th
be no money involved with the contract. This revision to the rules should increase flexibility for the public wat
tems because they may be able take examinations closer to the location of their operations. The rules sh
allow applicants more flexibility when they take operator certification examinations. Instead of only having an 
tunity to take the examination quarterly, as is currently the case, they may be able to take examinations on a
basis or by appointment from an approved examiner.

Certified operators are an important element in achieving the public health protection goals of the SDWA. 
water system has been designed and constructed, it is imperative that the system be operated correctly. 
operation can result in public health threats. For example, many water systems apply chlorination as a dis
agent to kill harmful bacteria and pathogens which may exist in water. 
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If the chlorination is not applied in the proper dose and the residual concentration is not properly measured, the chlo-
rination may not kill the bacteria and pathogens in the water, or, when chlorine is applied in too high of a dose, other
harmful contaminants may be formed from the chlorine’s interaction with organics in the water. In order to first
mine and then ensure the proper dose of chlorine is being applied, the system operator must have knowledge
ematical equations to determine water volume and the ability to interpret water quality test results of raw
Through this knowledge the proper dose which ensures adequate disinfection while minimizing the forma
other harmful contaminants is determined. A certification program provides testing and training requirements 
sons who will be responsible for the operation of water systems. Through the certification program person
and demonstrate their ability to safely operate drinking water systems.

Prior to this EPA action, some states did not have a program to certify operators of public water systems. In 
to establish national baseline standards for the certification and recertification of public water system operato
has developed “guidelines for the certification and recertification of the operators of community and nontra
noncommunity public water systems.” These guidelines establish the minimum requirements for a program
approved by EPA. Because the EPA guidelines represent only minimum standards, EPA expects that state
current operator certification program requirements go beyond or exceed these minimum standards will no
their operator certification program requirements. EPA will not approve the operator certification program 
state that reduces its standards below the level that existed on February 5, 1998.

Public water systems range for simple to complex to operate depending on the source water quality and sys
Generally, smaller water systems are less sophisticated and easier to operate than larger water systems. B
this, it is not appropriate or economical to require small systems to have an operator of the same compete
larger water system. As system size increases so does the complexity of the system. Because of this, it is ne
devise a graduated system of classifying water systems. Arizona’s current operator certification program prov
this graduated system classification system. This classification system has been enhanced and modified in re
the EPA guidelines. The proposed classification system now operates on a point system, where additional p
accrued as population and system sophistication increases.

The SDWA is one of the most complex regulatory protocols that exists. Additionally, the SDWA effects some
smallest of regulated facilities. In Arizona, there are approximately 1700 regulated public water systems. O
1700 regulated water systems, 15% of the largest and most sophisticated systems provide water to appro
90% of the Arizona population. The remaining 85% of water systems are small (serving between 3,300 to 10,
sons) and very small (serving fewer than 3,300 persons) serving the remaining 10% of the Arizona populat
operator certification program ensures that water systems ranging from the very small to very large have a
oversight commensurate with the sophistication of the system.

During a persons lifetime they will drink water from a variety of drinking water systems ranging in size and
graphic location. By establishing minimum requirements and competency standards the operator certificat
gram allows citizens to obtain drinking water from a variety of public water systems with confidence that the d
water is safe.

B. Section-by-Section explanation of the rules

R18-5-101 sets forth definitions for this Article.

R18-5-102 establishes what facilities are exempt form the requirements of this Article.

R18-5-103 sets forth the requirements for the certification committee.

R18-5-104 sets forth general requirements for classifying a facility.

R18-5-105 sets forth the requirements for eligibility for certification

R18-5-106 sets forth requirements for taking an examination.

R18-5-107 sets forth the requirements for renewal of a certificate.

R18-5-108 sets forth the requirements for reinstatement and renewal of an expired certificate.

R18-5-109 sets forth requirements for revocation of a certificate.

R18-5-110 sets forth requirements for reciprocity for out-of-state certificate holders.

R18-5-111 sets forth requirements for the experience and education requirements for certification.

R18-5-112 sets forth requirements for how wastewater treatment plants and collection systems will be classif
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R18-5-113 sets forth requirements for how water treatment plants and distribution systems will be classified.

Time-frames requirements in these rules that fall under the Licensing Time-frames rules will be included in the next
amendment to the LTF rules. 

6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justification for the proposed
rule and where the public may obtain or review the study, all data underlying each study, any analysis of the study
and other supporting material:

None

7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a
previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

None

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business and consumer impact: 
A. Identification of Proposed Rulemaking

Title 18, Chapter 5, Article 1, “Classification of Treatment Plants and Certification of Operators.”

ADEQ is requesting additional information about impacts to the various entities so that it can be included in t
EIS. Please respond to the contact person listed in part 9.

B. Background Information

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has promulgated final guidelines, specifying minimum standa
certification and recertification of operators, in the Federal Register (vol. 64, No. 24, 5916-5921, pub. 2-05-99).1 The
effective date of the rules is February 5, 1999, with a compliance deadline of February 5, 2001. Unless a s
adopted and is implementing an operator certification program substantially equivalent to the published gui
EPA will withhold 20% of a state’s Drinking Water State Revolving Fund capitalization grant funds.2

The development process involved 2 work groups: the State-EPA Work Group, composed of 7 states and 10 
resentatives, and the Operator Certification Work Group of the National Drinking Water Advisory Council
called the Partnership), composed of 23 members.3 The 2 work groups achieved consensus on “baseline standa
The Partnership provided the National Drinking Water Advisory Council with the standards, and in October o
the NDWAC formally recommended the baseline standards to EPA. Then, EPA incorporated recommendation
NDWAC into draft guidelines published March 27, 1998. During the 90-day public comment period, over 90 
submitted public comments.4 The development of the guidelines enables states to have flexibility in impleme
and enforcing their programs while ensuring protection of public health.

C. Proposed Changes and Potential Impacts

A major benefit of this rulemaking is better training for operators of small systems with indirect benefits of imp
public health protection for consumers served by these public water systems. In addition, Congress establish
vision for reimbursing small system operators for training and certification costs.

Although this rulemaking is expected to generate cost-saving benefits, ADEQ anticipates that the shift from 
ment-administered exams to a 3rd party (local entities qualified to administer the exams) will increase com
costs for operators. An additional increase in costs is expected to occur due to increased training requiremen
tional information will be provided in the final EIS.

ADEQ expects that this rule will not negatively impact employment, revenues, payroll expenditures, or stat
nues. Although the Department expects no direct impact to consumers or the general public, it could have an
positive impact due to improved public health.

These changes are expected to impact ADEQ minimally even though the repeal of the fees under this prog
mean a loss of about $20,000 annually. ADEQ will continue to issue certifications and renewals. Additional in
tion will be provided in the final EIS.

D. Rule Impact Reduction on Small Businesses

State law requires agencies to reduce the impact of a rule on small businesses by using certain methods whe
legal and feasible in meeting the statutory objectives for the rule making. ADEQ considered each of the meth
scribed in A.R.S. §§ 41-1035 and 41-1055(B)(5)(c) for reducing the impact on small businesses.
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Methods that may be used include the following: (1) exempt them from any or all rule requirements, (2) establish per-
formance standards which would replace any design or operational standards, or (3) institute reduced compliance or
reporting requirements. An agency may accomplish the 3rd method by establishing less stringent requirements, con-
solidating or simplifying them, or setting less stringent schedules or deadlines.

As a result of providing increased flexibility, clarity, and improved efficiency, this rulemaking potentially could pro-
vide cost-saving benefits to small businesses. For example, small systems do not need to have a certified operator on-
site full-time. This should reduce the financial burden on these small systems. Except what is built-into the federal
minimum standards, ADEQ has been unable to incorporate other methods to further reduce the impact on small busi-
nesses.

E. Less Intrusive or Costly Methods

ADEQ could not find any alternative methods that would be less intrusive or less costly to implementing the rule
objectives. 

F. Endnotes for EIS

1 The guidelines provide states with minimum standards for developing, implementing, and enforcing an operator
certification program for community and nontransient noncommunity public water systems.

2 To avoid this sanction, a state must be implementing an operator certification program that meets the EPA guide-
lines or it must submit an existing program that is substantially equivalent to the EPA guidelines. The compliance
date for this requirement is 2-05-01. See The Safe drinking Water Act Amendments of 1996, § 1452 (Pub. 
182).

3 The members of the Partnership represented public water systems, environmental and public interest a
groups, state drinking water program representatives, EPA, U.S. Department of Agriculture, U.S. Public Hea
vice, Indian Health Service, and other interest groups.

4 In August of 1998, both work groups, the State-EPA Work Group and the Operator Certification Work Group
NDWAC (also called the Partnership), met to consider the public comments and to make recommendations. 
ommendations were provided to the NDWAC for consideration. In November of 1998, the NSWAC formally
vided EPA with its recommendations. EPA made changes based on public comments and on recommendati
work groups and the NDWAC.

9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the
economic, small business, and consumer impact statement: 

Name: David H. Lillie, Economist

Address: Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
3033 North Central (M0836A)
Phoenix, Arizona 85012-2809

Telephone: (602) 207-4436 (any extension may be reached in-state by dialing 1-800-234-5677, and
for that extension)

Fax: (602) 207-2251

E-Mail: lillie.david@ev.state.az.us

10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the rule or, if no
proceeding is scheduled, where, when, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:

ADEQ will hold oral proceedings to receive public comments in accordance with A.R.S. § 41-1023. The time,
and location of the hearings are listed below:

SIERRA VISTA

Date: Monday, September 11, 2000

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: Sierra Vista City Complex
911 North Coronado Drive
Sierra Vista, Arizona
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TUCSON

Date: Monday, September 11, 2000

Time: 3:00 p.m.

Location: State Office Complex
400 West Congress, Room 158
Tucson, Arizona

FLAGSTAFF

Date: Thursday, September 14, 2000

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Location: Flagstaff City Hall, Council Chambers
211 West Aspen Avenue
Flagstaff, Arizona

SHOW LOW

Date: Friday, September 15, 2000

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: Show City Complex
200 West Cooley
Show Low, Arizona

YUMA

Date: Tuesday, September 19, 2000

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: Yuma City Public Works Department
155 West 14th Street
Yuma, Arizona

PHOENIX

Date: Thursday September 21, 2000

Time: 1:00 p.m.

Location: Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
3033 North Central Avenue
Phoenix, Arizona

KINGMAN

Date: Wednesday, September 27, 2000

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: Kingman City Complex, Council Chambers
310 North 4th Street
Kingman, Arizona

The record will close on October 4, 2000. ADEQ will accept written comments that are received at ADEQ by 5:00
p.m., October 4, 2000.

ADEQ is committed to complying with the Americans With Disabilities Act. If any individual with a disability needs
any type of accommodation, please contact ADEQ at least 72 hours before the hearing.

11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:

None
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12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
None

13. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 18. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

CHAPTER 5. DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEWS AND CERTIFICATION

ARTICLE 1. CLASSIFICATION OF TREATMENT PLANTS AND CERTIFICATION OF OPERATORS

Sections
R18-5-101. Definitions
R18-5-102. Exemptions
R18-5-103. Certification Committee
R18-5-104. General Requirements
R18-5-105. Certification
R18-5-106. Examinations
R18-5-107. Renewal of Certificates A Certificate
R18-5-108. Lapsed Certificates An Expired Certificate
R18-5-109. Denial and Revocation
R18-5-110. Reciprocity
R18-5-111. Certification without Examination
R18-5-112. R18-5-111. Experience and Education
R18-5-113. Fees
R18-5-114. R18-5-112. Classification of Wastewater Treatment Plants and Collection Systems
R18-5-115. R18-5-113. Classification of Water Treatment Plants and Distribution Systems

ARTICLE 1. CLASSIFICATION OF TREATMENT PLANTS AND CERTIFICATION OF OPERATORS

R18-5-101. Definitions
In this article unless otherwise specified The terms in this Article have the following meanings:

1. “Certified operator” means an operator who holds a current certificate issued by the Department of Environ
Quality in the field of water treatment, wastewater treatment, distribution or collection.

2. “Collection system” means pipelines or conduits, pumping stations, force mains, and all other devices, appur
and facilities a pipeline or conduit, pumping station, force main or any other device, appurtenance or facility used for
collecting and conducting wastewater to a central point for treatment and disposal.

3. “Department” means the Department of Environmental Quality or its designated representative.

4. “Director” means the Director of the Department of Environmental Quality or his the director’s designated represen
tative.

5. “Direct responsible charge” means day-to-day decision-making responsibility for a water or wastewater tre
plant, collection system, or distribution system, or a major portion of such a facility.

6. “Distribution system” means the pipelines, appurtenances, devices and facilities a pipeline, appurtenance, device o
facility of a public water system which conduct that conducts water from a water source or treatment plant to consu
ers for ultimate domestic or potable use.

7. “Facility” means a water treatment plant, wastewater treatment plant, distribution system, or collection system

8. “Industrial waste” means the liquid, gaseous, or solid waste produced as a result of any from industrial operation.

9. “On-site operator” means an a certified operator who visits a facility at least daily, for the purpose of ensuring th
is operating properly.

“On-site representative” means a person located at a facility who monitors the daily operation at the facil
maintains contact with the remote operator regarding the facility.

10. “Operational experience” means skill or knowledge obtained by full or part-time through employment in the opera-
tional control of all or part of a facility or portion thereof.
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11. “Operator” means a person who is a certified operator responsible for the actual day-to-day operation daily on-site
operation or the remote operation from a central location of all or part of a facility or a portion thereof. This includes
the operator of a remote control system in which the operator is in direct control of the entire system or a
thereof from a central location. It also includes the chief operator who supervises the operation of the facil
term operator includes both on-site and remote operators, as defined in this Article.

12. “Population equivalent” means the population which that would contribute an equal amount of biochemical oxyg
demand (BOD) computed on the basis of 0.17 pounds of five-day 5-day, 20-degree centigrade BOD per capita p
day.

13. “Public water system” has the meaning ascribed to it in A.A.C. R18-4-101.
“Professional development hour” or “PDH” means 1 hour of participation in an organized continuing education
rience related to engineering, biological or chemical sciences, or a closely related technical or scientific discip

14. “Qualifying experience” shall be considered as the total of operational experience, related experience, and 
sory experience calculated on a monthly basis.

15. “Related experience” means that skill or knowledge obtained in employment which can be applied directly
operation of a facility.
“Public water system” means a system for the distribution of water to the public for human consumption tha
15 or more service connections or an average of at least 25 persons per day for at least 60 days a year.
a. A public water system includes:

i. Any collection, treatment, storage, and distribution facility under the control of the water supplier and
in connection with the system; and

ii. Any collection or pretreatment storage facility not under the control of the water that is used in conn
with the system.

b. A public water system is either a community water system, or a noncommunity water system.
“Qualifying experience” shall be considered as the total of means operational experience, related experience, a
supervisory experience calculated on a monthly basis.
“Related experience” means that the skill or knowledge obtained in employment which that can be applied directly in
the operation of a facility. Related experience does not include such activities as bookkeeping or handling p
matters.

16. “Remote operator” means an a certified operator who is not an on-site operator.
17. “Semipublic water system” is defined in A.A.C.
18. “Significant modification” means any alteration or expansion of a facility sufficient to require submission t

Department of plans for construction under the rules existing at the time of modification. It does not include 
maintenance or replacement of a portion of a facility to improve the quality or reliability of service. It does in
any change of process of water or wastewater treatment.

19. “Supervisory experience” means skill or knowledge obtained by employment which that includes responsible, techni
cal, and operational direction of a facility or a portion thereof.

20. “Wastewater” means sewage, industrial waste, and all other waterborne wastes which that may pollute or tend to pol-
lute any lands or waters of the state.

21. “Wastewater treatment plant” means processes, devices and structures a process, device or structure used for the pur-
pose of treating or stabilizing wastewater or industrial waste and disposing of the effluent.

22. “Water treatment plant” means processes, devices and structures which are a process, device or structure that is used
to improve the physical, chemical, or biological quality of water of a public water system.

R18-5-102. Exemptions
Owners of the following facilities are shall be exempt from the requirements of this Article:

1. Private or semipublic water systems.
2. Facilities described in A.A.C. R18-4-102(C). These are water systems which consist only of distribution and s

obtain all water through closed conduit from systems governed by these rules but are not owned or operated
systems to which these rules apply, do not sell water to any person, and are not carriers which convey pass
interstate commerce.

1. A public water system listed in R18-4-102(C).
3.2. Septic tanks and collection systems discharging to septic tanks A septic tank or collection system that discharges t

septic tank.
4.3. Any collection system serving a population of fewer than 2500 persons which discharges into a facility which A col-

lection system that serves < 2,500 persons and discharges into a facility that is operated by a certified operator.
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5.4. Any collection system serving a nonresident population and discharging A collection system that serves a nonresident
population and discharges into a collection system operated by a certified operator.

6.5. Irrigation systems An irrigation system, an industrial water facilities facility, or a similar facilities facility in which
water is not used for domestic or drinking purposes.

7.6. Irrigation An irrigation or industrial wastewater facilities facility used to treat, recycle, or impound industrial or agri-
cultural wastes within the boundaries of the industrial or agricultural property.

8.7. Industrial An industrial waste pretreatment facilities facility in which treated wastewater is released to a collection
system or wastewater treatment plant which that is regulated by this Article.

9.8. Facilities A facility for treating industrial wastes which are not treatable by biological means.
10.9.Facilities A facility used to impound surface water before such waters are conducted to a water treatment plant.
11.10.Wastewater A wastewater treatment devices device serving individual homes that serves a home.

R18-5-103. Certification Committee
A. A certification committee shall be established by the Department Director to make recommendations and to provide the

Department with technical advice and assistance as may be requested.
B. The certification committee shall consist of nine 11 members as follows:

1. One 1 employee of the Department.
2. One 1 currently employed wastewater treatment plant operator with Grade 4 certification.
3. One 1 currently employed water treatment plant operator with Grade 4 certification.   
4. One 1 currently employed wastewater collection system certified operator with Grade 4 certification. Any person

appointed to this position after July 1, 1990, shall have Grade 4 collection
5. One 1 currently employed water distribution system certified operator with Grade 4 certification. Any person

appointed to this position after July 1, 1990, shall have Grade 4 distribution system certification.
6. One 1 faculty member teaching sanitary sciences at an Arizona university or community college.
7. One 1 professional engineer registered and residing in Arizona engaged in consulting in the field of sanitary engineer-

ing.
8. One 1 elected or appointed municipal official.
9. One 1 representative of an investor owned water or wastewater facility.
10. 1 representative of the small public water systems.
11. 1 currently employed remote operator representative.

C. The Director shall appoint all each certification committee members member.
D. At the first meeting of each calendar year, the Committee shall select, from its membership, a chairman chairperson and

such other officers as deemed necessary. The member of the Department shall be the executive secretary and shall keep
records of all meetings.

E. The terms of the certification committee are subject to the following: term of a certification committee member shall be 3
years.
1. The terms of the members who were appointed pursuant to subsections (B)(2), (7), and (8) shall expire on December

31, 1987; the terms of the members appointed pursuant to subsections (B)(3), (4), and (9) shall expire on December
31, 1988; and the terms of members appointed pursuant to subsections (B)(5), and (6) shall expire on December 31,
1989.

2. The terms of the members appointed to the certification committee after the expiration of the terms described in sub-
section (E) shall be three years.

F. A meeting quorum shall consist of the chairman or his chairperson or designated representative, executive secretary or his
designated representative, and three 3 other members of the committee at any meeting.

G. In the event of a vacancy caused by death, resignation, or removal for cause, the Director shall appoint a successor for the
unexpired term.

H. Certification A certification committee members member may be reappointed, but no member may serve more than three
3 consecutive terms.

R18-5-104. General Requirements
A. There are four types of facilities. They are: A facility shall be classified as 1 of the following types of facility:

1. Water A water treatment plants, plant,
2. Distribution systems, A water distribution system;
3. Wastewater A wastewater treatment plants, and plant; or 
4. Collection systems A wastewater collection system.

All facilities shall be classified according to type of facility population or population equivalent served and by com-
plexity of treatment as described in these rules.
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B. The owner or the purveyor of services shall utilize the services of a certified operator of the required classification for
each facility for the purpose of assuring that the facility is operating properly. of a facility shall ensure that the person in
direct responsible charge of the facility is a certified operator, certified at or above the grade of the facility. The certified
operator shall have direct responsible charge of the operation of the treatment plant, or the collection or distribution sys-
tem. Any owner or purveyor who meets the requirements for certification may become certified as operator of the facility
for which he has direct responsible charge. The chief operator or superintendent in direct responsible charge shall be cer-
tified at the grade of the facility. Shift foremen or other operators in charge of the facility in the absence of the chief oper-
ator or superintendent A person in charge of a facility, in the absence of the principal certified operator, shall be certified
at a grade no lower than one 1 grade below the grade of the facility. No person shall make a decision about process control
or system integrity regarding water quality or water quantity that affects public health, unless that person is a certified
operator. If a certified operator is in direct responsible charge of more than 1 facility the certified operator shall be certi-
fied at or above the grade of the facility with the highest grade.

C.  It is the facility owner’s responsibility to The facility owner shall ensure that the name of the required current certified
operator is on file at all times with the Department and that no person who replaces a certified operator begins op
a facility prior to being certified. If the owner of a facility replaces the designated operator with another operator, th
operator shall be properly certified at the time he begins operation of the facility. The owner shall notify the Department in
writing within ten 10 days of the replacement. The certified operator shall notify the Department in writing within te 10
days of the date he the certified operator ceases operation of a facility and within ten 10 days after he commences com-
mencing operation of any other facility.

D. There are four shall be 4 grades of classification, with Grade 4 being the classification for the most complex. The Depart-
ment may change the classification of a particular facility by reason of the incorporation in the facility of special f
of design or characteristics more difficult to operate than usual, or by reason of water or wastewater unusually di
treat, or by reason of effluent reuse or other potential health factors. The Department may change the classification o
facility for any of the following reasons:
1. The facility has special features of design or characteristics of the facility make it more difficult to operate than
2. The water or wastewater is unusually difficult to treat;
3. The facility uses effluent; or
4. The facility poses potential risks to public health.
The Department shall notify the owner in writing of any change in classification. The owner may respond to any 
in classification within 30 days of notification. In For a multi-facility systems system, each facility shall be classified
according to complexity and the total population or population equivalent served.

E. A person holding certification in any particular type and grade is permitted to certified operator may operate all facilities
in that particular any facility of the same type and grade and any or lower grade.

F. Except as provided in this subsection, each facility requires the services of an on-site operator certified at the gra
facility A Grade 3 or Grade 4 facility shall have an on-site operator certified at the grade of the facility. An A certified
operator may operate one 1 or more Grade 1 or Grade 2 facilities as a remote operator under if  the following conditions
requirements are met:
1. The remote operator is certified at or above the grade of the facility.
2. Each facility, except a Grade 1 facility, has an on-site operator certified at a level no lower than one grade b

grade of the facility. A Grade 1 facility requires an on-site representative, who is not required to be certified. A Grade
1 or Grade 2 facility may have an on-site representative on the premises who is not certified, but that facili
have at least a remote operator who is certified.

 3. The remote certified operator personally instructs shall instruct the onsite operator or representative representative in
proper operation and maintenance of each facility, provides him with provide written instructions, and assures ensure
that adequate records are kept.

 4. The remote operator provides shall provide the onsite operator or representative representative with a telephone num-
ber or numbers at which he the remote operator can be reached at all times.

5. The remote operator resides shall reside no more than three hours travel time 200 miles by ground travel from any
facility which he serves as remote operator that the remote operator serves.

6. Any The remote operator shall ensure that each facility operated by the remote operator is operated in complia
with all applicable state rules and federal regulations.

7. The remote operator shall personally inspects inspect a facility as often as necessary to assure proper operation
maintenance, but in no case less than the following schedule:
a. Monthly for a Grade 1 water facilities consisting of that produces and distributes groundwater production and

distribution with no treatment other than disinfection - monthly.
b. Monthly for a Grade 2 water facilities consisting of groundwater production and distribution and serving facility

that produces and distributes groundwater and serves fewer than 1000 people - monthly.
c. Monthly for a Grade 1 wastewater treatment plants - monthly plant.
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d. Bimonthly for a Collection systems serving collection system that serves fewer than 2500 2,500 people -
bimonthly.

e. Weekly for a Grade 2 wastewater treatment plants serving that serves less than 1000 people - weekly.
8. A remote operator may operate a Grade 1 water distribution system serving that does not have an onsite representa-

tive if that water distribution system serves fewer than 100 people with no on-site representative under and the fol-
lowing conditions are met: 
 a. The name of the certified operator and telephone number at which he the remote operator can be reached shall be

posted at the facility, enclosed with water bills, or otherwise made readily available to the water users. If the
remote operator is to be absent for any reason such as illness or vacation, the name and telephone number of a
substitute person certified operator shall be made available.

 b. The remote operator or substitute certified operator shall be able to reach the site within two hours reside no
more than 200 miles by ground travel from the facility in case of emergency.

c. The facility shall be operated in compliance with State rules and federal regulations.
d.c. The certified operator shall inspect the facility weekly.

G. The owner or the purveyor of services for any of a facility is in violation of this Section if the facility is operated in a man-
ner which clearly violates the Department’s rules for the protection of water quality and the environment.

R18-5-105. Certification
To be eligible for operator certification by the Department, each an applicant shall:

1. Submit an application obtained from the Department.
21. Meet the experience and educational requirements set forth in R18-5-112 R18-5-111.
32. Pass a written examination for the grade for which application was is made.
4. Pay any fees required by R18-5-113.

R18-5-106. Examinations
A. The Department shall conduct examinations provide a list of examiners who are approved by the Department to give

examination for certification of operators of water and wastewater treatment plants at least twice annually. The Depart-
ment may contract with an examiner for the examiner to be included on the list of approved examiners. The
approved examiners shall be available at the Department upon request.

B. By July 1, 1990, the Department shall begin conducting examinations for certification of operators of Grades 1, 2
4 collection systems, as classified under R18-5-114 and the certification for operators of Grades 1, 2, 3, and 4 dis
systems as classified under R18-5-115. Thereafter, these examinations shall be conducted at least twice annual

B.  The examiner shall grade and notify the applicant of the results within 30 days of completion of the examination.
C. Written examinations shall be used in determining knowledge, ability and judgment of the applicant.
C. The Department shall not issue an initial certificate to an applicant who has not taken and passed the examinatio

tification.
D. Written examinations will be graded and the applicants notified of the results. Examinations will not be return

applicant may review his corrected examination in the Department office if he makes a written request for an appo
within 30 days of notification of examination results.

E. An applicant for examination shall submit his application by the closing date designated by the Department. An 
tion submitted after the closing date shall not be accepted by the Department.

F. Applicants for certification as collection, distribution, water and wastewater facility operators shall pay the fees s
in R18-5-113.

R18-5-107. Renewal of Certificates a Certificate
A. Until January 1, 1988, the following rules shall apply:

1. Holders of all renewable certificates are required to file applications for renewal annually before the expiratio
2. Each holder of a certificate will be sent one renewal notice at least 30 days prior to the expiration date, maile

last address on record. Failure to receive such notice shall not relieve the holder of his responsibility to rene
expiration date.

3. The Department shall mail a receipt to each certified operator indicating that his certificate has been renewe
valid for the time period specified.

A. If the Department renews a certificate, the certificate shall be renewed for a term of 3 years, unless the certified
requests a shorter term in writing.

B. After January 1, 1988, the following rules shall apply:
1. Renewed certificates of operators whose last names begin with letters A through G shall expire on June 3

Certificates of operators whose last names begin with H through O shall expire on June 30, 1989, and certif
operators with last names beginning with P through Z shall expire on June 30, 1990.

2. All certificates shall be renewed for three-year periods thereafter.
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3. Applicants for renewal of collection, distribution, water and wastewater operator certificates shall pay fees as speci-
fied at R18-5-113. Fees will be prorated based on three-year renewals.

B. To have a certification renewed, an operator shall maintain documentation and provide documentation to the Department
upon request that verifies completion of at least 30 PDHs accumulated during a certification period. Documentation of
PDHs shall be on a form provided by the Department. At least 10 of the PDHs shall be directly related to the specific job
functions of the operator. If a certified operator holds multiple certificates, the required PDHs may be applied to all certif-
icates if the PDHs are acquired within that certification period. Completion of each PDH shall be verified in writing by the
operator’s supervisor or the entity that provided the education or training.

C. A certified operator may renew a certificate by taking and passing an examination for the same grade and classifi
lieu of meeting the requirements of subsection (B).

R18-5-108. Lapsed Certificates An Expired Certificate
A. Certificates which have not been renewed in accordance with R18-5-107 will be lapsed and invalid.
B. Lapsed certificates may be reinstated without examination upon application within six months from the date of exp
C. A lapsed certificate not renewed within six months of the date of expiration cannot be reinstated. It is necessar

holder of such a certificate to reapply and be reexamined according to the rules for new applicants.
D. Both renewal and late renewal fees shall be paid for reinstatement of lapsed collection, distribution, water, and wa

facility operator certificates.
A. A certificate shall expire on the expiration date printed on the certificate. An expired certificate may be reinstated

same grade without examination if the certificate holder files the appropriate application and documentation of c
tion of the required PDHs with the Department within 90 days from the date of expiration.

B. If an invalid certificate is not renewed within 90 days of the certificate expiration date, the certificate shall not b
stated. The certificate holder shall re-apply and be re-examined according as a new applicant.

R18-5-109. Denial and Revocation
A. In the event of denial or revocation of a certificate or denial of application for examination, If the Department revokes a

certificate, the Department shall notify the applicant or certified operator of the reasons reason for such denial revocation.
Within 20 days of the receipt of the notice, the applicant or certified operator may request in writing that a hearing be hel
by the Director or his designated hearing officer to review the denial or revocation.

B. The Director may revoke a certificate if any one or more of the following grounds are found to exist for any of the follow-
ing reasons:
1. The operator is operating operates a facility in a manner which that violates Department rules relating to protection 

water quality or the environment.
2. The operator has willfully neglected his duty Willful neglect by the operator in supervising the operation of the fa

ity.
3. The operator has failed to comply with the lawful orders or rules of the Department.
4. The operator has obtained a certificate through the use of fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation.
5. The operator knowingly has prepared a false or fraudulent report or record regarding the operation or manag

the facility.
C. The Administrative Procedures Act (A.R.S. § 41-1001 et seq.) shall govern all hearings conducted by the Direct

this rule. A hearing conducted by the Director under this Article shall be governed by the Administrative Procedur
at A.R.S. § 41-1061 et seq.

D. If an An operator whose certificate has been revoked desires to obtain a new certificate, he must shall comply with all of
the requirements appropriate to his grade for the for a new certificate. Any A person whose certificate has been revok
shall be ineligible for admission to any examination for recertification for a period of not less than six 12 months from the
date of notice of revocation. nor more than two years. The length of the period of ineligibility for recertification sha
determined by the Director.

R18-5-110.  Reciprocity
A. The Department may issue certificates to applicants who hold valid certificates a certificate to an applicant who holds 

valid certificate issued under laws of any other state, territory, or the District of Columbia, tribal government, federa
entity or foreign country, if the out-of-state applicant has passed a written an examination approved by this the Depart-
ment for the particular type and grade for which application is made. Experience and educational requirements fo
cation as set forth in these rules shall apply to all such applicants. The applicant shall meet the experience and educatio
requirements of R18-5-111.

B. An applicant for certification as a collection, distribution, water, or wastewater facility operator shall pay the fees
forth in R18-5-113 with his application.
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R18-5-111. Certification without Examination Repealed
A. Certificates issued without examination before November 1, 1979, for operation of a specific facility as it existed before

March 13, 1973, are renewable as long as there is no significant modification of the facility.
B. Holders of provisional certificates issued to operators of water facilities serving fewer than 50 people or to operators of

collection systems serving fewer than 2000 people may obtain Grade 1 certification without examination.
C. Holders of temporary Grade 1 or Grade 3 certificates may obtain renewable certificates of corresponding grade without

reexamination.
D. Beginning July 1, 1990, holders of water treatment certificates may obtain certificates for distribution certification of the

corresponding grade without taking the distribution examination, and holders of wastewater treatment certificates may
obtain certificates for collection certification at the corresponding grade without taking the collection system examination,
provided that they show proof of one year’s experience of the type for which application is made. An exception is made
for holders of Grade 1 certificates, who are not required to have experience.

E. All applicants for certification shall file applications and pay any required fees.
F. Except as provided for in subsections (A) through (D), no renewable certificates may be issued without examination after

January 1, 1988.

R18-5-112. R18-5-111.   Experience and Education
A. In determining whether an applicant has the experience required for certification in a particular grade, his years of accept-

able experience in a lower grade, or acceptable experience obtained prior to the adoption of these rules, or in another juris-
diction, all shall be accumulated and credited toward the total experience required for certification in the particular grade
for which application is made. At least six months of the required operational experience, however, shall have been
acquired within the five-year period preceding the date of application.

B. An applicant cannot become certified at a grade more than one grade higher than the grade of the highest facility at which
he has at least one year of experience.

C. When education is required to be in a qualifying discipline by these rules, it shall be in engineering, biological or chemical
sciences, or a closely related technical or scientific discipline. The Department may require transcripts for an operator to
qualify on the basis of any post-secondary education

A. To determine whether an applicant has the total experience required for certification in a particular grade, the Department
shall consider the following:
1. Years of experience at a lower grade.
2. Previous experience, including experience in another jurisdiction or related field. The applicant shall have acquired at

least 6 months of operational experience within the 5-year period preceding the date of application.
B. The Department shall not certify an applicant at more than 1 grade higher than the grade of the highest grade facility at

which the applicant has at least 1 year of experience.
C. Education in a qualifying discipline shall be in engineering, biology, chemical sciences, or a closely related technical or

scientific discipline. The Department may require that the applicant provide transcripts to verify completion of the educa-
tional requirements.

D. If Required operational experience is required by these rules it shall be experience directly in the field for which applica-
tion is made. The fields of operational experience are shall be water treatment, distribution, wastewater treatment, and col-
lection.

E. Requirements for the admission to the certification examinations are An applicant shall meet the following requirements
for admission to a certification examination:
1. For Grade 1: There are no minimum education or experience requirements for admission to the Grade 1 examination.,

high school graduation or equivalent.
2. For Grade 2, at least:

a. Two years qualifying experience, including High school graduation or the equivalent and one 1 year of opera-
tional qualifying experience as a Grade 1 certified operator; or

b. High school graduation or the equivalent and one year of qualifying experience as a Grade 1 certified operator;
or

cb. Two years of post-secondary education in a related technical field and one 1 year of qualifying experience,
including six 6 months as a certified Grade 1 operator; or

dc. A bachelor’s degree in a qualifying discipline and six 6 months of qualifying experience.
 3. For Grade 3, at least:

a. Four years of qualifying experience including High school graduation or the equivalent and two 2 years opera-
tional experience, with at least of qualifying experience, including one 1 of those years year of operational expe-
rience as a certified Grade 2 certified operator, or

 b. High School graduation or the equivalent and two years of qualifying experience including one year of 
tional experience as a certified Grade 2 operator, or
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c.b. Two years of post-secondary education in a related technical field, and one 1 year and six 6 months qualifying
experience as a certified Grade 2 certified operator, or

d.c. A bachelor’s degree in a qualifying discipline and one 1 year qualifying experience including six 6 months as a
certified Grade 2 certified operator.

4. For Grade 4, at least:
a. High school graduation or the equivalent and three 3 years of qualifying experience, including one 1 year of

operational experience as a certified Grade 3 certified operator, or
 b. Two years of post-secondary education in a related technical field and two 2 years and six 6 months of qualifying

experience, including one year as a certified Grade 3 operator, or
c. A bachelor’s degree in a qualifying discipline, and one 1 year of experience as a certified Grade 3 operator.

R18-5-113. Fees Repealed
A. The fees required by this Article shall be as listed below. Fees shall be levied for application for collection, distr

water, and wastewater treatment examinations, renewal of certificates and late application for renewal. Fees
refundable.

B. Fee schedule: G1 G2 G3 G4
Application for examination 10 10 25 25
Reciprocity 15 15 15 15
3-year certification 15 15 15 15
Renewal of 3-year certification 15 15 15 15
Add. charge for late renewal 10 10 10 10

C. Certificates issued without examination for operation of a specific collection system, distribution system, water tre
facility, or wastewater treatment facility shall be renewed under the schedule prescribed in subsection (B).

R18-5-114. R18-5-112.   Classification of Wastewater Treatment Plants and Collection Systems
A. Treatment plants A treatment plant shall be classified by grade according to population equivalent served, degree of h

ard to public health, type of facility, and degree of treatment, as specified in this Section. Until July 1, 1991, colle
systems shall be classified as specified in subsection (A) of this rule. On July 1, 1991, collection systems shall be
fied as specified in subsection (B) of this rule. follows:
1. Grade 1 includes:

a. Stabilization pond serving A stabilization pond that serves 2,000 or fewer than 2000 persons, or
b. Any A wastewater treatment facility not designated as Grade 2, 3, or 4.

2. Grade 2 includes:
a. Stabilization ponds serving A stabilization pond that serves more than 2000 2,000 persons, and;
b. All An aerated lagoons lagoon, and;
c. All facilities employing A facility that employs biological treatment based upon the activated sludge principle

trickling filters designed to serve a population equivalent fewer than 5,000 persons, except as provided in
114(A)(3)(c) subsection (3)(c) below.

3. Grade 3 includes:
a. All facilities employing A facility that employs biological treatment based upon the activated sludge princ

designed to serve a population equivalent of 5,000 to 20,000 persons, and;
b. All facilities employing A facility that employs trickling filtration designed to serve a population equivalent 

5,000 to 25,000 persons.
c. Variations of activated sludge requiring A variation of activated sludge that requires specialized knowledge

including, but not limited to, that includes contact stabilization serving any that serves a population equivalent up
to 20,000 persons.

4. Grade 4 includes:
a. All facilities employing A facility that employs biological treatment based upon the activated sludge princ

designed to serve a population equivalent greater than 20,000 persons, and.
b. All facilities employing A facility that employs trickling filtration designed to serve a population equivale

greater than 25,000 persons.
5. Ordinarily, collection systems are considered as a part of the treatment facility; however, where such a con

facility is separated from treatment, either in jurisdiction or in responsibility, the collection system is classif
Grade 1.
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B. Classification of wastewater collection systems. Beginning on July 1, 1991, collection A wastewater collection systems
shall be classified by population served, as follows:
Grade Population

1 0 - 2,500
2 2,501 - 10,000
3 10,001 - 25,000
4 More than 25,000 

C.  By July 1, 1991, each owner or a purveyor of services for a collection system shall have the services of an operator certi-
fied at the grade of the system as reclassified under these Rules.

R18-5-115. R18-5-113. Classification of Water Treatment Plants and Distribution Systems
A. Until July 1, 1991, A water treatment plants and distribution systems are classified plant shall be classified by grade

according to total points for each system characteristic as follows:
TREATMENT OR 
DISTRIBUTION PROCESS  GRADE POPULATION

25- 501 2001 5001 10000+
500 2000 5000 10000

Coagulation-Sedimentation 3 3 3 3 4
Filtration (sand, gravity)2 2 3 3 4
Chemical Precipitation (Mn,Fe, softening) 3 3 3 4 4
Aeration 2 2 3 3 3
Odor &Taste Control (activated carbon) 2 2 3 3 3
Chemical Addition, (stabilization)2 2 2 3 3
Pressure Filtration 2 2 2 3 3
Ion Exchange (softening, flouride)2 2 3 3 3
Chlorination 1 2 2 2 2
Fluoridation 2 2 2 2 2
Distribution of Treated water1 2 2 2 2
Distribution of Chlorinated Groundwater 1 2 2 2 2
Distribution of unChlorinated Groundwater 1 2 2 2 2

B.  Beginning July 1, 1991, water treatment plants and distribution systems shall be classified separately as follows:
1) Water Treatment Plants
TREATMENT PROCESS GRADE POPULATION

25- 501 5001 20000+
500 5000 20000

Coagulation-Sedimentation 2 2 3 4
Filtration 2 2 2 3
Chemical Precipitation (Mn, Fe, softening) 2 3 3 4
Odor & Taste (activated carbon) 2 2 3 3
Chemical Addtion (stabliztion) 2 2 2 3
Ion Exchange (softening) 1 2 3 4
Disinfection 1 2 3 3
Fluoridation 2 2 3 4

2) Distribution Systems
Grade Population
 1 25 - 500
 2 501 - 5,000
 3 5,001 - 25,000
4 More than 25,000

C. Distribution systems are classified according to population served. For the purpose of these Rules, disinfection and
groundwater production are considered a part of distribution and shall require distribution certification.

D. Treatment processes other than disinfection shall require the corresponding water treatment certificate. The disinfection
process may be operated by a person with either a distribution or a water treatment certificate of appropriate grade,
according to population served.

E. By July 1, 1991, each owner or purveyor of services for a distribution system shall have the services of an operator certi-
fied at the grade of the facility as reclassified under these Rules.
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F. Each owner or purveyor of services for a water treatment plant shall have the services of an operator certified at the grade
of the facility as reclassified pursuant to subsections (A) and (B).

System Characteristics Points

Population 1 per 5,000

Max. Design Cap. 1 per MGD up to 10

Groundwater Source 3

Surface or GUDI Source 5

O2 2

pH Adjustment 3

Packed Tower Aeration 6

Air Stripping 6

Stability or Corrosion Control 3

Taste and Odor 8

Fe/Mn Removal 8

Ion Exchange Softening 10

Chemical Precipitation Softening 15

Coagulant Addition 6

Flocculation 4

Sedimentation 4

Upflow Clarification 2

Fluoridation 5

Activated Alumina 6

Blending 5

Residual Waste Stream 5

Control Systems Technology 2

Biologically Active Filter 20

Granular Media Filter 15

Pressure Filter 15

Gravity Sand Filter 10

Membrane Filtration 15

Chlorine Gas 6

Hypochlorite Liquid 2

Hypochlorite Solid 2

Chloramine 9

Chlorine Dioxide 9

Ozone 12

UV 3
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B. The Department shall add points to determine the grade as follows:

C. A water distribution system shall be classified by grade according to total points for system characteristics as follows:

D. The Department shall add points to determine the grade as follows:

E. A facility that disinfects or produces groundwater shall be certified for distribution.
F. A facility that engages in a treatment processes other than disinfection shall be certified for the appropriate water treat-

ment. 
G. The owner of a distribution system that is reclassified under this Article shall ensure that the facility is operated by a cer-

tified operator in compliance with this Article no later than 1 year from the effective date of this Article.
 H. The owner of a water treatment plant that is reclassified under this Article shall ensure that the facility is operated by a

certified operator in compliance with this Article no later than 1 year from the effective date of this Article.

Grade Point Range

Grade 1 1 - 25

Grade 2 26 - 50

Grade 3 51 - 70

Grade 4 >=71

System Characteristics Points

Population 1 per 5,000

Max. Design Cap. 1 per MGD up to 10

Pressure Zones 5

Booster Stations 5

Storage Tanks 3

Blending 5

Fire Protection Systems 5

Cathodic Protection 3

Control System Technologies 2

Chlorine Gas 6

Hypochlorite Liquid 2

Hypochlorite Solid 2

Chloramine 9

Chlorine Dioxide 9

Grade Point Range

Grade 1 (Small System
Classification)

Criteria: <500 Pop., GW only, Disin-
fection by chlorine gas or hypochlo-
rite only, storage tanks.

Grade 2 1 - 20

Grade 3 21 - 35

Grade 4 >=36
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 20. COMMERCE, BANKING, AND INSURANCE

CHAPTER 4. BANKING DEPARTMENT

PREAMBLE

1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
R20-4-103 Amend
R20-4-104 Amend
R20-4-105 Amend

2. The specific statutory authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) and the
statutes the rules are implementing (specific):

Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 6-123(2)

Implementing statute: A.R.S. § 6-123(4)

3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 6 A.A.R. 924, March 3, 2000

4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:
Name: John P. Hudock

Address: 2910 North 44th Street, Suite 310
Phoenix, Arizona 85018

Telephone: (602) 255-4421, Ext. 167

Fax: (602) 381-1225

E-Mail: jhudock@azbanking.com

5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
The rules in Article 1 of the Administrative Code have general application to all activities of the Superintendent and
to the interpretation of all Arizona statutes and rules administered by the Superintendent. In particular, the rules listed
in paragraph 1 of this notice concern fingerprints (R20-4-103), the use of other regulators’ forms (R20-4-10
procedures for making a claim against a deposit in lieu of a bond (R20-4-105).

The proposed amendments are to fulfill work scheduled in the Department’s Five-Year-Rule-Review 
approved by the Governor’s Regulatory Review Council in November, 1998. Regarding each of the amende
the revisions will remove passive constructions, improve the rules’ clarity of expression, make them more re
and bring them into conformity with modern rule writing standards. No change in the substantive requirem
these rules is intended by these revisions.

6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justification for the proposed
rule and where the public may obtain or review the study, all data underlying each study, any analysis of the study,
and other supporting material:

The Department does not propose to rely on any study as an evaluator or justification for the proposed rule.

7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a
previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
A. The Banking Department

The Department does not expect to experience any adverse economic impact. It will bear the administra
human resources cost of this rulemaking. The amendment of these rules will not result in any significant cost
for the Department. It will continue to bear the costs of enforcing the same requirements on its license
increased clarity of the amended rules will make them marginally easier to understand and enforce.

B. Other Public Agencies
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The state will incur normal publishing costs incident to rulemaking.

C. Private Persons and Businesses Directly Affected

Costs of services will not increase to any measurable degree. Nor should these revisions increase any licen
of doing business in compliance with these rules.

D. Consumers

No measurable effect on consumers is expected.

E. Private and Public Employment

There is no measurable effect on private and public employment.

F. State Revenues

This rulemaking will not change state revenues.

9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the
economic, small business, and consumer impact statement:

Name: John P. Hudock

Address: 2910 North 44th Street, Suite 310
Phoenix, Arizona 85018

Telephone: (602) 255-4421, Ext. 167

Fax: (602) 381-1225

E-Mail: jhudock@azbanking.com

10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the rule or, if no
proceeding is scheduled, where, when, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:

No oral proceedings are scheduled. The Department will schedule an oral proceeding on the proposed 
receives a written request for a proceeding within 30 days after the publication date of this notice, under th
sions of A.R.S. § 41-1023(C). Send requests to the Department personnel listed in this preamble’s questions
The Department invites and will accept written comments on the proposed rule or the preliminary economic
business, and consumer impact statement. Submit comments during regular business hours, at the addres
this preamble’s question 9, until the close of the record for this proposed rulemaking. The record will close
31st day following publication of this notice, unless the Department schedules an oral proceeding.

11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:

Not applicable

12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
None

13. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 20. COMMERCE, BANKING, AND INSURANCE

CHAPTER 4. BANKING DEPARTMENT

ARTICLE 1. GENERAL

Sections
R20-4-103. Fingerprints
R20-4-104. Acceptance of Other Forms
R20-4-105. Claims Against a Deposit in Lieu of Bond
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ARTICLE 1. GENERAL

R20-4-103. Fingerprints
Whenever fingerprints are requested or required by the Superintendent, they shall be taken, signed and dated by a municipal
police department, sheriff’s office, or other law enforcement authority recognized by the Superintendent, on fingerpri
provided by the Superintendent. The Superintendent shall not be responsible for any costs incurred in obtaining or s
fingerprints.
A. A licensee or applicant shall deliver fingerprints requested or required by the Superintendent on fingerprint cards p

by the Superintendent.
B. A licensee or applicant will bear any costs incurred in obtaining or submitting fingerprints.
C. A licensee or applicant shall arrange to have fingerprints taken, signed, and dated by:

1. a municipal police department,
2. a local sheriff’s office, or
3. another law enforcement authority recognized by the Superintendent.

R20-4-104. Acceptance of Other Forms
Notwithstanding any other rule, the Superintendent may accept application and other forms prescribed by federa
financial institution or enterprise regulators in lieu of the Superintendent’s forms, provided, however, that the foregoill
not limit the Superintendent’s power to require additional information concerning any application.
The Superintendent has the discretion to accept applications and forms from other entities, even if another provisio
Chapter requires a specific banking department form. The Superintendent’s exercise of the discretion to accept a
forms does not limit the Superintendent’s power to require additional information necessary to complete an applic
other form.

R20-4-105. Claims Against a Deposit in Place Lieu of Bond
A. As used in this Section rule:

1. “Deposit” means cash or alternatives to cash deposited by a licensee with the Superintendent in place lieu of a bond.
2. “Depositor” means a licensee or an employee of the licensee who makes has made a deposit with the Superintenden

and any employee of the licensee.
3. “Verified claim” means a claim filed with the Superintendent under pursuant to subsection (C).
4. “Award” means an amount of money granted under subsection (F).

B. If a person is awarded a valid judgment in any court of competent jurisdiction against a depositor for injury cause
wrongful act, default, fraud or misrepresentation of said depositor, such person may file a verified claim for re
against the deposit with the Superintendent. Such verified claim shall include the following:
1. A certified copy of the complaint in the action;
2. A certified copy of the judgment in the action;
3. A statement that execution of the judgment has not been stayed, or an explanation of the terms and basis for
4. A statement of any amounts recovered on the judgment; and 
5. A notarized statement under oath that the claim is true and correct to the best knowledge and belief of the cla

B. A person may file a claim against a deposit by delivering documentation of the claim to the Superintendent. Th
shall be based on a final judgment in favor of the claimant, entered by a court of competent jurisdiction. To su
claim, the judgment shall be:
1. Against a depositor;
2. For injury caused by the depositor’s wrongful act, default, fraud, or misrepresentation committed in the cours

depositor’s licensed business activity; and
3. Documented by:

a. A certified copy of the complaint in the action;
b. A certified copy of the judgment in the action;
c. A statement that execution of the judgment has not been stayed, or an explanation of the terms and reaso

stay;
d. A statement of any amounts recovered on the judgment; and 
e. A sworn and notarized statement that the claim is true and correct to the best of the claimant’s knowle

belief.
C. A verified claim shall be considered a request for hearing under R20-4-1208. A verified claim shall be filed with

months following the entry of judgment or the lifting of any stay of execution of judgment, whichever is later.
C. A claimant shall file a verified claim, and all required supporting documentation, not more than 6 months after entr

judgment asserted in the claim. However, if execution of the asserted judgment is stayed during the first 6 months
entry the claimant may only file a verified claim 6 months after a stay is lifted. The Department processes a time
verified claim as a request for hearing under R20-4-1208.
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D. The depositor shall be notified of, and made a party to, any proceeding commenced under this rule. Such a proceeding
shall be deemed to be a contested case and shall be governed by the rules regarding proceedings in R20-4-1202 et seq.

D. The claimant shall notify the depositor of the filing of a verified claim under this Section, and make the depositor a party
to all proceedings on the claim. To do so, the claimant shall send the depositor a copy of all documents filed under subsec-
tion (B). The claimant shall make this delivery no more than 10 days after the original filing with the Superintendent
under subsection (B). The Department considers a proceeding on a verified claim to be a contested case, governed by the
provisions of 20 A.A.C. 4, Article 12.

E. A verified claim shall be denied by the Superintendent after a hearing if the Superintendent finds any of the following:
1. The judgment is not based upon an injury caused by the wrongful act, default, fraud or misrepresentation of the

depositor that made the deposit on which the claim is made. If the judgment was awarded by default, stipulation or
consent, the judgment shall not be deemed to be based upon such an injury unless it is proven to the Superintendent
that the injury was so caused.

2. Execution of the judgment is stayed for any reason.
3. The judgment was procured through fraud or collusion.
4. The judgment has been satisfied from other sources.
5. The action in which the judgment was rendered was commenced after the expiration of the time period limitations in

the applicable statute.
E. The Superintendent shall, after a hearing, deny a verified claim if the hearing produces evidence of any of the following

circumstances:
1. The judgment is not for an injury caused by the depositor and described in subsection (B)(2);
2. The judgment was awarded by default, stipulation, or consent, and no showing is made in the hearing of an injury

caused by the depositor and described in subsection (B)(2);
3. The judgment’s execution has been stayed for any reason;
4. The judgment was procured through fraud or collusion;
5. The judgment has been satisfied from other sources; or
6. The action that produced the judgment was barred by the applicable statute of limitations at the time it wa

menced.
F. If the Superintendent does not deny the verified claim, the Superintendent shall grant the verified claim in an 

equal to the amount of compensatory damages, exclusive of attorney’s fees, awarded against the depositor 
caused by the wrongful act, default, fraud or misrepresentation of the depositor, less any amount of satisfaction p
paid upon the judgment from other sources.

F. When the Superintendent grants a verified claim, he shall do so in the amount of the compensatory damages
against the depositor in the judgment, exclusive of:
1. Attorney’s fees, and
2. Amounts previously paid on the judgment.

G. If an injured person commences an action for a judgment for which a verified claim could be made under this r
injured person shall notify the Superintendent of the action in writing at the time of the commencement of the
including a statement of the amount of compensatory damages sought from the depositor, and shall provide furth
mation relating to the action to the Superintendent on request.

G. A person injured by a depositor shall give the Superintendent written notice at the time of filing a civil action if the 
alleged could be made as a verified claim under this rule. The written notice shall include a statement of the am
compensatory damages sought against a depositor. The injured person shall provide further information about
action to the Superintendent upon request.

H. If the Superintendent decides that a verified claim shall be granted and has not received notice of any other action
the same depositor, the Superintendent shall authorize the State Treasurer, in writing, to release the deposit in a
equal to the verified claim as granted.

H. The Superintendent shall authorize the State Treasurer, in writing, to release the deposit to the claimant in the
stated in subsection (F), if the Superintendent has not received notice of other pending civil actions under subsec

I. If the Superintendent decides that a verified claim shall be granted and has received notice of any other action a
same depositor, the Superintendent shall determine whether the deposit is sufficient to satisfy the claim as grante
compensatory damages sought in all actions against the same depositor of which the Superintendent has receiv
If the deposit is sufficient, the Superintendent shall authorize its release as set forth in subsection (H) above. If thit
is insufficient, the Superintendent shall determine the pro rata portion of the deposit payable on the verified clai
ratio that the verified claim as granted bears to the aggregate of the verified claim as granted plus the compensa
ages sought in all actions against the same depositor of which the Superintendent has received notice. The Supe
shall then authorize the State Treasurer to release the deposit in an amount equal to the pro rata portion of the de
able on the verified claim.
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I. The Superintendent shall determine, if given notice under subsection (G), whether the deposit is sufficient to satisfy all
verified claims in full under subsection (F). The Superintendent shall then determine award amounts, and authorize pay-
ment, as follows:
1. If the deposit is sufficient to satisfy all claims under subsection (F), the Superintendent shall authorize its release as

described in subsection (H).
2. If the deposit is not sufficient to satisfy all claims under subsection (F), the Superintendent shall calculate the award

on each claim as follows:
a. Each granted claim shall receive a pro rata share of the total deposit.
b. Each pro rata share shall be a dollar amount calculated by multiplying the total deposit by a fraction.

1. The numerator of the fraction shall be the amount of the Superintendent’s award for the verified claim
2. The denominator of the fraction shall be the sum of the amount of the Superintendent’s award for th

fied claim plus the total compensatory damages sought in all other civil actions against the same d
disclosed to the Superintendent under subsection (G).

c. The Superintendent shall then authorize the State Treasurer to release the pro rata portion of the depo
lated for each verified claim.

J. Prior to the release of a deposit or any portion thereof to a depositor or former licensee under A.R.S. § 6-903(J), th
intendent shall first determine whether there are any claims granted against said deposit under this rule which 
been fully satisfied due to an apportionment under subsection (I). If there are any such claims, the unpaid portio
shall be satisfied from the deposit of the depositor or former licensee. If insufficient funds remain to satisfy all 
granted under this rule, the remaining deposit shall be released to each claimant in the ratio which his verified 
granted bears to the aggregate of all claims as granted.

J. A depositor or former licensee may request return of its deposit if it substitutes a bond for the deposit, or if its lic
surrendered, revoked, or expired, and if all statutory conditions for release of the deposit have been satisfied. In a
the Superintendent shall not release any part of a deposit to a depositor or former licensee unless he shall first 
whether there are any awards on verified claims unsatisfied because of an apportionment under subsection (I). T
intendent shall pay any unsatisfied portion of those awards. If the deposit amount is not sufficient to pay in full al
isfied awards, the Superintendent will pay out the remaining amount of the deposit to claimants in the ratio their
bear to the sum total of all awards granted against the deposit.

K. If a depositor is placed into receivership, and the court supervising the receivership orders the release of the dep
receiver for distribution in the course of the receivership to persons injured by the wrongful act, default, fraud or m
resentation of said depositor, the receiver shall deliver a copy of such order to the Superintendent. If the receiv
person other than the Superintendent or other officer or agency of the state of Arizona, such copy of the order t
the deposit shall be certified. Upon receipt of such copy of an order to release the deposit, the Superintendent sh
rize the State Treasurer, in writing, to release the deposit to the receiver. After the deposit is released to the re
shall be distributed according to the receivership, and not in accordance with these rules.

K. The court supervising a licensee in receivership may order the release of a deposit to persons injured by conduct 
in subsection (B). In that event, the receiver shall deliver a certified copy of the court’s order to the Superintende
copy may be uncertified if the receiver is the Superintendent or any other officer or agency of the state of Arizo
Superintendent shall then authorize the State Treasurer, in writing, to release the deposit to the receiver. The rec
then distribute the deposit as ordered by the receivership court, and not under these rules.
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	NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING
	Unless exempted by A.R.S. § 41-1005, each agency shall begin the rulemaking process by first subm...
	Under the Administrative Procedure Act (A.R.S. § 41-1001 et seq.), an agency must allow at least ...
	NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

	TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS
	CHAPTER 12. BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND EMBALMERS
	PREAMBLE
	1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
	R4-12-101 Amend R4-12-106 New Section Table 1 New Table R4-12-108 Amend R4-12-201 Repeal R4-12-20...

	2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) an...
	Authorizing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 32-1307(A)(5) and 32-1391.01
	Implementing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 32-1309, 32-1321, 32-1322, 32-1323, 32-1325.01, 32-1327, 32-1328...

	3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rules:
	Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 6 A.A.R. 713, February 18, 2000

	4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rules:
	Name: Rodolfo R. Thomas, Executive Director
	Address: Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 1400 West Washington, Room 230 Phoenix, Arizona...
	Telephone: (602) 542-3095
	Fax: (602) 542-3093

	5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rules:
	As required by A.R.S. § 41-1072 through § 41-1078, the Board is establishing time-frames for each...

	6. A showing of good cause why the rules are necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rul...
	Not applicable

	7. A reference to any study the agency relied on in its evaluation of or justification for the pr...
	None

	8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
	The Board will incur moderate costs to promulgate the rules and to notify interested parties of t...

	9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accur...
	Name: Rodolfo R. Thomas, Executive Director
	Address: Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 1400 West Washington, Room 230 Phoenix, Arizona...
	Telephone: (602) 542-3095
	Fax: (602) 542-3093

	10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the ...
	Oral proceedings will be conducted by the Board at the following locations in the state for the p...
	Date: September 26, 2000
	Time: 11:00 a.m.
	Location: 1400 West Washington, B-1 Conference Room Phoenix, Arizona 85007
	Date: September 29, 2000
	Time: 11:00 a.m.
	Location: 400 West Congress, Room 222 Tucson, Arizona 85701
	Date: October 4, 2000
	Time: 12:00 p.m.
	Time: Coconino Public Library 300 West Aspen Flagstaff, Arizona 86001

	11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any ...
	None

	12. Incorporation by reference and their location in the rules:
	None

	13. The full text of the rules follows:


	TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS
	CHAPTER 12. BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND EMBALMERS
	ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
	ARTICLE 2. LICENSING PROVISIONS
	ARTICLE 5. PREARRANGED FUNERAL AGREEMENTS
	ARTICLE 6. CREMATORY AND CREMATION REGULATION
	ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
	R4-12-101. Definitions
	R4-12-106. Time-frames for Board Approvals
	Table 1. Time-frames (in days)
	R4-12-108. Fees

	ARTICLE 2. LICENSING PROVISIONS
	R4-12-201. Apprenticeship requirements for embalmer’s license Repealed
	R4-12-201. Application for a State Equivalent Examination or Embalmer Assistant Practical Examina...
	R4-12-202. Apprenticeship time criteria Application for an Intern, an Embalmer, or a Funeral Dire...
	R4-12-203. Background checks Application for an Embalmer’s Assistant Registration
	R4-12-204. Processing applications Application for a Funeral Establishment License or Interim Fun...
	R4-12-205. Funeral directors’ examination Application for a Prearranged Funeral Sales Endorsement
	R4-12-206. Examinations Application for a Prearranged Funeral Salesperson Registration
	R4-12-207. Oral Examinations Application for a Crematory License
	R4-12-208. Exception to written examination Annual Intern, Apprentice Embalmer, or Embalmer’s Ass...
	R4-12-209. State Equivalent Examination
	R4-12-211. Application for funeral establishment license Repealed

	ARTICLE 5. PREARRANGED FUNERAL AGREEMENTS
	R4-12-531. Salesperson registration application Repealed

	ARTICLE 6. CREMATORY AND CREMATION REGULATION
	R4-12-601. Definitions Repealed
	R4-12-611. Crematory authority; registration Repealed


	NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

	TITLE 14. PUBLIC SERVICE CORPORATIONS; CORPORATIONS AND ASSOCIATIONS; SECURITIES REGULATION
	CHAPTER 2. CORPORATION COMMISSION - FIXED UTILITIES
	PREAMBLE
	1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
	R14-2-201 Amend R14-2-202 Amend R14-2-203 Amend R14-2-206 Amend R14-2-207 Amend R14-2-208 Amend R...

	2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) an...
	Authorizing statutes: Arizona Constitution Article XV, A.R.S. §§ 40-202, 40-203, 40-250, 40-321, ...
	Implementing statute: Not applicable

	3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
	None

	4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulem...
	Name: Deborah R. Scott Director, Utilities Division
	Address: Arizona Corporation Commission 1200 West Washington Phoenix, Arizona 85007
	Telephone: (602) 542-0745
	Fax: (602) 542-2129

	5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
	On September 29, 1999, in Decision No. 61969, the Commission adopted the Retail Electric Competit...
	Some of the significant changes to the rules are as follows:
	A. Definitions of some terms have been expanded.
	B. Locations within the Commission for filing required documents have been specified.
	C. The requirement that utilities have to file with the Commission copies of reports required by ...
	D. A statement restricting the release of customer-specific information has been added.
	E. Corrections have been made to the timeliness in the application processes for Certificates of ...
	F. References to Regional Transmission Organization (RTO) have been added where appropriate in re...
	G. A clarification of holidays in regard to meter data has been added.
	H. A provision has been added to allow Electric Service Providers who provide separate bills to c...
	I. In regard to the semi-annual and annual reports filed under the Retail Electric Competition Ru...

	6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justifica...
	Not applicable

	7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule ...
	Not applicable

	8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
	Anyone who reads the revised rules would benefit from improved definitions of terms and from corr...
	Specification in the rules of where to file required documents would save employee time for both ...
	Utilities would benefit from no longer being required to file copies of reports required by the S...
	Both Utility Distribution Companies and Electric Service Providers would benefit by holidays bein...
	Consumers would also benefit from clarification about when customer-specific information could be...
	Probable costs to the Commission of the proposed rule revisions would be minimal.
	Adoption of the proposed permanent rule revisions would allow the Commission to more effectively ...

	9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accur...
	Name: Deborah R. Scott Director, Utilities Division
	Address: Arizona Corporation Commission 1200 West Washington Phoenix, Arizona 85007
	Telephone: (602) 542-0745
	Fax: (602) 542-2129

	10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the ...
	Date: September 15, 2000
	Time: 10:00 a.m.
	Location: Hearing Room Arizona Corporation Commission 1200 W. Washington Street Phoenix, Arizona ...
	Nature: Oral Proceeding

	11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any ...
	Not applicable

	12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
	1997 ANSI C2 (National Electrical Safety Code) incorporated in R14-2-207 E.3.c. and R14-2-208 F.1...

	13. The full text of the rules follows:


	TITLE 14. PUBLIC SERVICE CORPORATIONS; CORPORATIONS AND ASSOCIATIONS; SECURITIES REGULATION
	CHAPTER 2. ARIZONA CORPORATION COMMISSION - FIXED UTILITIES
	ARTICLE 2. ELECTRIC UTILITIES
	ARTICLE 16. RETAIL ELECTRIC COMPETITION
	ARTICLE 2. ELECTRIC UTILITIES
	R14-2-201. Definitions
	R14-2-202. Certificate of Convenience and Necessity for Electric Utilities; Filing Requirements o...
	R14-2-203. Establishment of Service
	R14-2-206. Service Lines and Establishments
	R14-2-207. Line Extensions
	R14-2-208. Provision of Service
	R14-2-209. Meter Reading
	R14-2-211. Termination of Service
	R14-2-212. Administrative and Hearing Requirements
	R14-2-213. Conservation

	ARTICLE 16. RETAIL ELECTRIC COMPETITION
	R14-2-1601. Definitions
	R14-2-1603. Certificates of Convenience and Necessity
	R14-2-1604. Competitive Phases
	R14-2-1606. Services Required to be Made Available
	R14-2-1607. Recovery of Stranded Cost of Affected Utilities
	R14-2-1608. System Benefits Charges
	R14-2-1609. Transmission and Distribution Access
	R14-2-1610. In-state Reciprocity
	R14-2-1611. Rates
	R14-2-1612. Service Quality, Consumer Protection, Safety, and Billing Requirements
	R14-2-1613. Reporting Requirements
	R14-2-1614. Administrative Requirements
	R14-2-1616. Code of Conduct
	R14-2-1617. Disclosure of Information


	NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

	TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION
	CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
	PREAMBLE
	1. Sections affected: Rulemaking Action:
	R17-4-707 Amend

	2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) an...
	Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 28-366
	Implementing statute: A.R.S. § 28-372

	3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
	Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 6 A.A.R. 2421, July 7, 2000

	4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulem...
	Name: George R. Pavia, Administrative Rules Unit Supervisor
	Address: 3737 North Seventh Street, Suite 160 Mail Drop 507M Phoenix, Arizona 85014-5017
	Telephone: (602) 712-8446
	Fax: (602) 241-1624
	E-Mail: gpavia@dot.state.az.us

	5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
	The second regular session of Arizona’s 44th legislature enacted a revision to A.R.S. § 28-372 to...

	6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justifica...
	None

	7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule ...
	Not applicable

	8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
	The returned check fee under statute and rule prior to amendment has been $10.00 per instrument. ...

	9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accur...
	Name: George R. Pavia, Administrative Rules Unit Supervisor
	Address: 3737 North Seventh Street, Suite 160 Mail Drop 507M Phoenix, Arizona 85014-5017
	Telephone: (602) 712-8446
	Fax: (602) 241-1624
	E-Mail gpavia@dot.state.az.us

	10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the ru...
	Date: Monday, September 18, 2000
	Time: 2:00 p.m.
	Location: ADOT-MVD, Executive Hearing Office, Hearing Room 2 3737 North Seventh Street, Suite 160...
	Nature: Public Hearing

	11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any ...
	Not applicable

	12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
	None

	13. The full text of the rules follows:


	TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION
	CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
	ARTICLE 7. MISCELLANEOUS RULES
	ARTICLE 7. MISCELLANEOUS RULES
	R17-4-707. Fee for returned checks Returned Check Penalty


	NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

	TITLE 18. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
	CHAPTER 5. DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEWS AND CERTIFICATIONS
	ARTICLE 1. CLASSIFICATION OF TREATMENT PLANTS AND CERTIFICATION OF OPERATIONS

	PREAMBLE
	1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
	R18-5-101 Amend R18-5-102 Amend R18-5-103 Amend R18-5-104 Amend R18-5-105 Amend R18-5-106 Amend R...

	2. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) an...
	Authorizing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 49-104, 49-202, 49-203, 49-351, 49-352, 49-353, and 49-361
	Implementing statute: A.R.S. § 49-352

	3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
	Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 6 A.A.R. 1441, April 14, 2000

	4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulem...
	Name: Margaret L. McClelland or Martha L. Seaman
	Address: Arizona Department of Environmental Quality 3033 North Central Avenue Phoenix, Arizona 8...
	Telephone: (602) 207-2224
	Fax: (602) 207-2251

	5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
	A. Background for These Proposed Rules
	On February 6, 1999, the EPA finalized the “Guidelines for the Certification and Recertification ...
	The primary purpose of the SDWA is to ensure that drinking water supplied to consumers by public ...
	ADEQ held 5 stakeholder meetings during April and May to discuss the proposed new rule to establi...
	Certified operators are an important element in achieving the public health protection goals of t...
	If the chlorination is not applied in the proper dose and the residual concentration is not prope...
	Prior to this EPA action, some states did not have a program to certify operators of public water...
	Public water systems range for simple to complex to operate depending on the source water quality...
	The SDWA is one of the most complex regulatory protocols that exists. Additionally, the SDWA effe...
	During a persons lifetime they will drink water from a variety of drinking water systems ranging ...
	B. Section-by-Section explanation of the rules
	R18-5-101 sets forth definitions for this Article.
	R18-5-102 establishes what facilities are exempt form the requirements of this Article.
	R18-5-103 sets forth the requirements for the certification committee.
	R18-5-104 sets forth general requirements for classifying a facility.
	R18-5-105 sets forth the requirements for eligibility for certification
	R18-5-106 sets forth requirements for taking an examination.
	R18-5-107 sets forth the requirements for renewal of a certificate.
	R18-5-108 sets forth the requirements for reinstatement and renewal of an expired certificate.
	R18-5-109 sets forth requirements for revocation of a certificate.
	R18-5-110 sets forth requirements for reciprocity for out-of-state certificate holders.
	R18-5-111 sets forth requirements for the experience and education requirements for certification.
	R18-5-112 sets forth requirements for how wastewater treatment plants and collection systems will...
	R18-5-113 sets forth requirements for how water treatment plants and distribution systems will be...
	Time-frames requirements in these rules that fall under the Licensing Time-frames rules will be i...

	6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justifica...
	None

	7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule ...
	None

	8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business and consumer impact:
	A. Identification of Proposed Rulemaking
	Title 18, Chapter 5, Article 1, “Classification of Treatment Plants and Certification of Operators.”
	ADEQ is requesting additional information about impacts to the various entities so that it can be...
	B. Background Information
	The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has promulgated final guidelines, specifying minimum st...
	The development process involved 2 work groups: the State-EPA Work Group, composed of 7 states an...
	C. Proposed Changes and Potential Impacts
	A major benefit of this rulemaking is better training for operators of small systems with indirec...
	Although this rulemaking is expected to generate cost-saving benefits, ADEQ anticipates that the ...
	ADEQ expects that this rule will not negatively impact employment, revenues, payroll expenditures...
	These changes are expected to impact ADEQ minimally even though the repeal of the fees under this...
	D. Rule Impact Reduction on Small Businesses
	State law requires agencies to reduce the impact of a rule on small businesses by using certain m...
	Methods that may be used include the following: (1) exempt them from any or all rule requirements...
	As a result of providing increased flexibility, clarity, and improved efficiency, this rulemaking...
	E. Less Intrusive or Costly Methods
	ADEQ could not find any alternative methods that would be less intrusive or less costly to implem...
	F. Endnotes for EIS
	1 The guidelines provide states with minimum standards for developing, implementing, and enforcin...
	2 To avoid this sanction, a state must be implementing an operator certification program that mee...
	3 The members of the Partnership represented public water systems, environmental and public inter...
	4 In August of 1998, both work groups, the State-EPA Work Group and the Operator Certification Wo...

	9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accur...
	Name: David H. Lillie, Economist
	Address: Arizona Department of Environmental Quality 3033 North Central (M0836A) Phoenix, Arizona...
	Telephone: (602) 207-4436 (any extension may be reached in-state by dialing 1-800-234-5677, and a...
	Fax: (602) 207-2251
	E-Mail: lillie.david@ev.state.az.us

	10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the ru...
	ADEQ will hold oral proceedings to receive public comments in accordance with A.R.S. § 41-1023. T...
	SIERRA VISTA
	Date: Monday, September 11, 2000
	Time: 9:00 a.m.
	Location: Sierra Vista City Complex 911 North Coronado Drive Sierra Vista, Arizona
	TUCSON
	Date: Monday, September 11, 2000
	Time: 3:00 p.m.
	Location: State Office Complex 400 West Congress, Room 158 Tucson, Arizona
	FLAGSTAFF
	Date: Thursday, September 14, 2000
	Time: 2:00 p.m.
	Location: Flagstaff City Hall, Council Chambers 211 West Aspen Avenue Flagstaff, Arizona
	SHOW LOW
	Date: Friday, September 15, 2000
	Time: 9:00 a.m.
	Location: Show City Complex 200 West Cooley Show Low, Arizona
	YUMA
	Date: Tuesday, September 19, 2000
	Time: 9:00 a.m.
	Location: Yuma City Public Works Department 155 West 14th Street Yuma, Arizona
	PHOENIX
	Date: Thursday September 21, 2000
	Time: 1:00 p.m.
	Location: Arizona Department of Environmental Quality 3033 North Central Avenue Phoenix, Arizona
	KINGMAN
	Date: Wednesday, September 27, 2000
	Time: 10:00 a.m.
	Location: Kingman City Complex, Council Chambers 310 North 4th Street Kingman, Arizona
	The record will close on October 4, 2000. ADEQ will accept written comments that are received at ...
	ADEQ is committed to complying with the Americans With Disabilities Act. If any individual with a...

	11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any ...
	None

	12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
	None

	13. The full text of the rules follows:


	TITLE 18. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
	CHAPTER 5. DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEWS AND CERTIFICATION
	ARTICLE 1. CLASSIFICATION OF TREATMENT PLANTS AND CERTIFICATION OF OPERATORS
	ARTICLE 1. CLASSIFICATION OF TREATMENT PLANTS AND CERTIFICATION OF OPERATORS
	R18�5�101. Definitions
	R18�5�102. Exemptions
	R18�5�103. Certification Committee
	R18�5�104. General Requirements
	R18�5�105. Certification
	R18�5�106. Examinations
	R18�5�107. Renewal of Certificates a Certificate
	R18-5-108. Lapsed Certificates An Expired Certificate
	R18�5�109. Denial and Revocation
	R18�5�110. Reciprocity
	R18�5�111. Certification without Examination Repealed
	R18-5-112. R18-5-111. Experience and Education
	R18�5�113. Fees Repealed
	R18-5-114. R18-5-112. Classification of Wastewater Treatment Plants and Collection Systems
	R18�5�115. R18-5-113. Classification of Water Treatment Plants and Distribution Systems


	NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

	TITLE 20. COMMERCE, BANKING, AND INSURANCE
	CHAPTER 4. BANKING DEPARTMENT
	PREAMBLE
	1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
	R20-4-103 Amend R20-4-104 Amend R20-4-105 Amend

	2. The specific statutory authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (g...
	Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 6-123(2)
	Implementing statute: A.R.S. § 6-123(4)

	3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
	Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 6 A.A.R. 924, March 3, 2000

	4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulem...
	Name: John P. Hudock
	Address: 2910 North 44th Street, Suite 310 Phoenix, Arizona 85018
	Telephone: (602) 255-4421, Ext. 167
	Fax: (602) 381-1225
	E-Mail: jhudock@azbanking.com

	5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
	The rules in Article 1 of the Administrative Code have general application to all activities of t...
	The proposed amendments are to fulfill work scheduled in the Department’s Five-Year-Rule-Review R...

	6. A reference to any study that the agency proposes to rely on in its evaluation of or justifica...
	The Department does not propose to rely on any study as an evaluator or justification for the pro...

	7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule ...
	Not applicable

	8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
	A. The Banking Department
	The Department does not expect to experience any adverse economic impact. It will bear the admini...
	B. Other Public Agencies
	The state will incur normal publishing costs incident to rulemaking.
	C. Private Persons and Businesses Directly Affected
	Costs of services will not increase to any measurable degree. Nor should these revisions increase...
	D. Consumers
	No measurable effect on consumers is expected.
	E. Private and Public Employment
	There is no measurable effect on private and public employment.
	F. State Revenues
	This rulemaking will not change state revenues.

	9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accur...
	Name: John P. Hudock
	Address: 2910 North 44th Street, Suite 310 Phoenix, Arizona 85018
	Telephone: (602) 255-4421, Ext. 167
	Fax: (602) 381-1225
	E-Mail: jhudock@azbanking.com

	10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the ru...
	No oral proceedings are scheduled. The Department will schedule an oral proceeding on the propose...

	11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any ...
	Not applicable

	12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
	None

	13. The full text of the rules follows:


	TITLE 20. COMMERCE, BANKING, AND INSURANCE
	CHAPTER 4. BANKING DEPARTMENT
	ARTICLE 1. GENERAL
	ARTICLE 1. GENERAL
	R20-4-103. Fingerprints
	R20-4-104. Acceptance of Other Forms
	R20-4-105. Claims Against a Deposit in Place Lieu of Bond




