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NOTICES OF SUPPLEMENTAL PROPOSED RULEMAKING

After an agency has filed a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking with the Secretary of State’s Office for Register publica-
tion and filing and the agency decides to prepare a Notice of Supplemental Proposed Rulemaking for submissio
the Office, the Secretary of State shall publish the Notice under the Administrative Procedure Act (A.R.S. § 41-10
et seq.). Publication of the Notice of Supplemental Proposed Rulemaking shall appear in the Register before holding
any oral proceedings (A.R.S. § 41-1022).

NOTICE OF SUPPLEMENTAL PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

PREAMBLE

1. Register citation and date for the original Notice of Proposed Rulemaking:
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking: 6 A.A.R. 3747, September 29, 2000

2. Sections Affected: Rulemaking Action:
R17-4-307 Amend

3. The specific authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the
rules are implementing (specific):

Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 28-366

Implementing statute: A.R.S. § 28-4151

4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rule:
Name: Ellen Damron, Rules Analyst

Address: Arizona Department of Transportation
Motor Vehicle Division, Mail Drop 507M
3737 N. 7th Street, Suite 160
Phoenix, AZ 85014-5017

Telephone: (602) 712-6722

Fax: (602) 241-1624

E-mail: edamron@dot.state.az.us

Please visit the ADOT web site to track progress of this rule and any other agency rulemaking m
www.dot.state.az.us/about/rules.

5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
A.R.S. § 28-4151 establishes a $50 reinstatement fee for a motor vehicle registration and license plate that w
pended due to a cancellation or nonrenewal of a motor vehicle liability insurance policy. The rule’s revision
from proposed agency action in the five-year review report (F-98-0401) approved by the Governor’s Reg
Review Council on May 5, 1998. The agency agrees that an amendment to A.R.S. § 28-4151 requires an ex
of an exception to the $50 fee. Motor carriers subject to the financial responsibility requirements of Arizona R
Statutes, Title 28, Chapter 9, Article 2, are exempt from this fee. The amendment also updates the rule’s lan
be clear, concise and understandable as required by both the Secretary of State and the Governor’s R
Review Council.

NOTE: This notice reflects a change in numbering of rule R17-4-224, as part of the recodification of 17 A.A.C.,
and filed with the Secretary of State on July 20, 2001.

6. An explanation of the substantial change which resulted in this supplemental notice:
Non-substantive changes in word selection and sentence structure were made with the recommendation of th
nor’s Regulatory Review Council. The Agency failed to file the Notice of Final Rulemaking according to the 
frames prescribed in A.R.S. § 41-1024(B). This filing complies with that requirement.
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7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a
previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
The Motor Vehicle Division and motor vehicle liability insurance companies not exempt under R17-5-502(F) experi-
ence substantial costs for electronic data interchange that identifies uninsured motorists. Those vehicle liability insur-
ance companies exempt under R17-5-502(F) experience minimal to moderate cost for cartridge or manual report
processes. Vehicle liability insurance companies benefit when uninsured drivers must obtain mandatory liability cover-
age. Uninsured motorists identified to the system have their vehicle registration and license plate suspended until the
motorist acquires and provides proof of mandatory vehicle liability insurance. Before reinstatement can occur, the $50
fee must be paid. Uninsured drivers may experience costs for alternative transportation and time off to complete the
insurance acquisition and reinstatement processes. The general driving public that possesses mandatory liability cover-
age may benefit since reduction of uninsured motorists may lower coverage costs for uninsured motorist insurance.

9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the
economic, small business, and consumer impact statement:

Name: Ellen Damron, Rules Analyst

Address: Arizona Department of Transportation
Motor Vehicle Division, Mail Drop 507M
3737 N. 7th Street, Suite 160
Phoenix, AZ 85014

Telephone: (602) 712-6722

Fax: (602) 241-1624

E-mail: edamron@dot.state.az.us

10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the adoption, amendment, or repeal of the rule or, if no
proceeding is schedule, where, when, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:

No oral proceeding is scheduled for this rulemaking. Written, faxed, and e-mail comments or requests for an oral pro-
ceeding may be made by contacting the rules analyst listed in item #4, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday
through Friday. If no oral proceeding is requested, the public comment period shall continue for 30 days from this
Notice’s publication date. This rulemaking’s public record will close at 4:30 p.m. on September 10, 2001.

Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:

Not applicable

Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
None

13. The full text of the changes follows:

TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

ARTICLE 3. TRANSFERRED TITLES AND REGISTRATION
Section
R17-4-307. Motor vehicle registration and number plate reinstatement fee Motor Vehicle Registration and License Plat

Reinstatement Fee

ARTICLE 3. TRANSFERRED TITLES AND REGISTRATION

R17-4-307. Motor vehicle registration and number plate reinstatement fee Motor Vehicle Registration and License
Plate Reinstatement Fee
A fee of $50 shall be assessed for the reinstatement of a motor vehicle registration and number plate pursuant to A.
1262 due to cancellation or nonrenewal of a motor vehicle liability insurance policy.
A. Under A.R.S. § 28-4151(A), the Division shall assess a $50 fee for reinstatement of a motor vehicle registrat

license plate suspended under A.R.S. §§ 28-4148 and 28-4149.
B. Subsection (A) does not apply to a motor carrier subject to the financial responsibility requirements prescribe

A.R.S. Title 28, Chapter 9, Article 2.
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