Arizona Administrative Register

Notices of Emergency Rulemaking

NOTICESOF EMERGENCY RULEMAKING

Under the Administrative Procedure Act, an agency may determine that adoption, amendment, or repeal of aruleis
necessary for immediate preservation of the public health, safety or welfare and the notice and public participation
requirements are impracticable. Under this determination, the agency may adopt the rule as an emergency and submit
it to the Attorney General for review. The Attorney General approves the rule and then files it with the Secretary of
State. The rule takes effect upon filing with the Secretary of State and remainsin effect for 180 days. An emergency
rule may be renewed for one 180-day periods if the requirements of A.R.S. § 41-1026 are met. If the emergency rule
is not renewed or the rule is not permanently adopted by the end of the 180-day period, the emergency rule expires
and the text of the rulereturnsto its former language, if any.
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NOTICE OF EMERGENCY RULEMAKING

TITLE 7. EDUCATION

CHAPTER 2. STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

PREAMBLE
Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
R7-2-606 Amend
R7-2-608 Amend
R7-2-609 Amend
R7-2-610 Amend
R7-2-612 Amend

The specific authority for the rulemaking. including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the
rules areimplementing (specific):
Authorizing statute: A.R.S. 8§ 15-203(A)

Implementing statue: A.R.S. § 15-203(A)(14)

Effective date of therule:
May 23, 2002

A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing thefinal rule:
Not applicable. Rulemaking is not arenewal of a previous emergency rulemaking.

The name and address of agency personnel with whom per sons may communicate regarding therule:

Name: Corinne L. Velasquez, Executive Director
Address: 1535 W. Jefferson, Room 418
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Telephone: (602) 542-5057
Fax: (602) 542-3046

An explanation of therule, including the agency’s reasonsfor initiating therule:
The amendments referenced above will address two critical issues that must be resolved immediately. The first issue
isthe conversion of Provisional Certificates to Standard Certificates, absent a performance assessment, which is cur-
rently a requirement to convert the Provisional Certificate. The second issue is that of Emergency Teaching Certifi-
cates, and the concurrence of the county school superintendent in determining whether or not an emergency
employment situation exists at a school district.

A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a
previous grant of authority of a palitical subdivision of this state:
Not applicable

Volume 8, Issue #24 Page 2562 June 14, 2002



Arizona Administrative Register
Notices of Emergency Rulemaking

8. Thesummary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
The amendments will have no negative economic, small business, or consumer impact. The economic and consumer
impact is expected to be positive with teacher candidates being able to convert their Provisional Certificates to Stan-
dard Certificates and for applicants to obtain Emergency Teaching Certificates.
9. Any other mattersprescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:
Not applicable

10. Incorporationsby reference and their location in therules:
None

11. An explanation of the situation justifying the rule’s adoption as an emergency rule:
The State Board of Education has determined that the amendments to R7-2-606, R7-2-608, R7-2-609, R7-2-610, and
R7-2-612 are necessary for the immediate preservation of the public health, safety, or welfare of the students enrolled
in the public schools in Arizona, and to avoid serious prejudice to the public interest and the interest of the parties
concerned, namely the students, teachers, schools, school districts and school communities, and pursuant to A.R.S. §
41-1026.

In 1999, the State Board of Education adopted a large number of amendments to most of the rules related to teacher
certification. In April 2002, the Attorney General rejected the amendments submitted and returned the package to the
State Board of Education. Although the amendments addressed many issues, two of the issues were critical to the
issuance of certificates to potential teacher candidates and the employment of teachers in Arizona classrooms. First,
the rules required a passing score on a performance assessment to convert atwo-year Provisional Certificateto asix-
year Standard Certificate. Since the Board had policy concerns and questions regarding the validity and practicality of
a performance assessment, and the first two-year Provisional Certificates were approaching expiration, the Board
amended the rule to alow an aternative method (teaching experience) to substitute for the performance assessment
until such time as the Board could resolve its concerns and adopt an appropriate assessment. Thus, with the rejection
of the adopted amendments, completion of a performance assessment to convert a Provisional Certificate to a Stan-
dard Certificate is arequirement, but a performance assessment has not been adopted by the Board. There are approx-
imately 15,000 individuals holding Provisional Certificatesthat are effected by thisrule, alarge number of whom will
be unavailable to sign contracts or teach in the upcoming school year because they will not hold valid certificates.

The second issue that is critical involves emergency certificates (valid only for one school year). Emergency certifi-
cates are issued upon request of the school district, after making a determination that an emergency employment situ-
ation exists. In the State Board's rule related to Emergency Substitute Certificates and Emergency Teaching
Certificates (R7-2-612), there is a requirement that the county school superintendent concur that an emergency
employment situation exists. This requirement was abused and it became burdensome and difficult for school districts
to employ individuals under emergency conditions. Additionally, there is no statutory authority requiring or allowing
the county school superintendent to concur or approve a determination made by a school district. Therefore, the State
Board adopted an amendment, which was part of the rejected package, that deleted the requirement that the county
school superintendent concur with an emergency employment situation. The State Board of Education issues approx-
imately 5,000 Emergency Substitute and Emergency Teaching Certificates each year. It is anticipated that this pool of
candidates will also not be available to teach in the upcoming school year.

Arizona s currently experiencing a severe teacher shortage and the two issues outlined above critically enhance an
already desperate situation. It is estimated that the rule in its current state would remove approximately 5,000 individ-
uals from an already shallow pool of teacher candidates and would cause serious prejudice to the public interest and
the interest of the parties concerned. Eliminating these 5,000 individuals from eligibility to teach in our K-12 public
school system will not protect the welfare of the public and will affect all school districts in the state and approxi-
mately 150,000 students. Finally, excluding 5,000 individuals from the workforce will have a negative economic
impact on school districts as well as the state of Arizonaas awhole.

This emergency situation has not been created due to delay or inaction by the State Board of Education. The Board
recognized the circumstances well before there was any affect on an individual’s certification, and the Board adopted
remedies to the two issues outlined herein in an effort to avoid a critical situation.

12. Thedate of the Attorney General’s approval of therules:
May 23, 2002
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13. Thefull text of therulefollows:

TITLE 7. EDUCATION

CHAPTER 2. STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
ARTICLE 6. CERTIFICATION

Section
R7-2-606. Proficiency Assessments
R7-2-608. Elementary Teaching Certificates
R7-2-6009. Secondary Teaching Certificates
R7-2-610. Specia Education Teaching Certificates
R7-2-612. Other Teaching Certificates
ARTICLE 6. CERTIFICATION
R7-2-606. Proficiency Assessments
A. No Change
B. No Change
C. No Change
D. The performance portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment shall assess proficiency as described in R7-2-

Temm

602(B), R7-2-602(C), R7-2-602(D), R7-2-602(E), R7-2-602(F), and R7-2-602(G) as a requirement for certification of
elementary, secondary, and special education teachers. In lieu of a passing score on the performance portion of the Ari-
zona Teacher Proficiency Assessment, a teacher who holds a provisional teaching certificate may convert such certificate
within two months prior to its expiration to a standard elementary, secondary or special education teaching certificate pur-
suant to R7-2-606(H) if the Board has not adopted the performance assessment portion of the Arizona Teacher Profi-
ciency Assessment.

No Change

No Change

No Change

The provisional elementary, secondary, or special education certificate allows the beginning teacher up to 4 semesters or 2

school years of teaching experience before completing the performance assessment portion of the Arizona Teacher Profi-

ciency Assessment.

1. If the Board has adopted the performance assessment portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment but the
teacher has not been employed in ateaching position for 4 semesters or 2 school years, the certificate shall, upon the
written reguest of the holder, be extended once for the equivalent of the time the teacher was not employed during the
provisional certification period.

2. |If the Board has adopted the performance assessment portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment and the

teacher has been employed for 4 semesters or 2 school years but-has-net-sdeeessiuthy-eompleted and has taken but not

passed the performance assessment, the certificate shall be extended once, for 1 year, upon the written request of the
holder.

If the teacher has been employed full-time for 4 semesters or 2 school yearsin a private school, public school, charter

school, or parochial school in the United States or any Department of Defense dependent school or in a closely

related education field and the Board has not yet adopted the performance portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency

Assessment, the provisional certificate shall be converted within two months prior to its expiration to a standard

teaching certificate upon verification by the teacher to the Department that he or she has had 4 semesters or 2 school

vears of teaching experience or experience in a closdly related education field. “Closely related education field”
means employment involving the presentation of instruction to K-12 students whether self-employed or employed by
aprivate, parochial, public or charter school.

If the teacher has not been employed full-time for 4 semesters or 2 school years in a private school, public schoal,

charter school, or parochial school in the United States or any Department of Defense dependent school or in a

closely related education field, and the Board has not yet adopted the performance assessment portion of the Arizona

Teacher Proficiency Assessment, the provisional certificate shall be extended 2 years, upon written request of the

holder to the Department. “ Closely related education field” means employment involving the presentation of instruc-

tion to K-12 students whether self-employed or employed by a private, parochial, public or charter school.

If the performance assessment portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment is adopted by the Board prior

to the expiration of a teacher’s provisional certificate, the provisional certificate shall be extended two years, upon

written request of the holder to the Department, to allow the teacher additional time in which to take the performance
portion of the assessment.
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I. If the provisionally certified teacher has net-sueeessfully-completed taken but not passed the performance assessment by
the expiration date on the extended certificate pursuant to (H)(1) or (H)(2) of this Section, the individual may reapply for
aprovisiona certificate after 1 year, upon verification of the following:

1. Effortsto remediate deficienciesidentified in the performance assessment;
2. Passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment taken in the past

year; and
3. Completion of the requirements for the provisional certificate which arein effect at the time of reapplication.
R7-2-608. Elementary Teaching Certificates
A. No Change

B. Provisiona Elementary Certificate -- grades K-8
1. Thecertificateisvalid for 2 years and is not renewable but may be extended as set forth in R7-2-606 (H) or (1).
2. Therequirements are:
a. A Bachelor’sdegrese;
b. One of thefollowing:
i. Completion of ateacher preparation program in elementary education from an accredited institution or a
Board-approved teacher preparation program, described in R7-2-604; or
ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7-2-602,
including at least 8 semester hours of practicum in grades K-8. Two years of verified teaching experience in
grades Prekindergarten-8 may be substituted for the 8 semester hours of practicum; or
iii. A valid elementary certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment;
d. A passing score on the elementary education subject knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency
Assessment; and
e. AvalidClass1 or Class 2 fingerprint card.

C. No Change
R7-2-609. Secondary Teaching Certificates
A. No Change

B. Provisiona Secondary Certificate -- grades 7-12
1. Thecertificateisvalid for 2 years and is not renewable but may be extended as set forth in R7-2-606 (H) or (1).
2. Therequirements are;
a. A Bachelor’sdegree;
b. One of thefollowing:
i. Completion of a teacher preparation program in secondary education from an accredited institution or a
Board-approved teacher preparation program, described in R7-2-604; or
ii. Thirty semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7-2-602,
including at least 8 semester hours of practicum in grades 7-12. Two years of verified teaching experiencein
grades 7-postsecondary may substitute for the 8 semester hours of practicum; or
iii. A valid secondary certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on one or more subject knowledge portions of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment;
d. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment; and
e. AvadlidClass1 or Class 2 fingerprint clearance card.

C. No Cﬁange
R7-2-610. Special Education Teaching Certificates
A. No Change
B. No Change

C. Provisional Cross-Categorical Special Education Certificate -- grades K-12
1. Thecertificateisvalid for 2 years and is not renewable but may be extended as set forth in R7-2-606 (H) or (1).
2. Theholder is qualified to teach students with mild to moderate mental retardation,
emotional disability, specific learning disability, orthopedic impairments and other health impairments.
3. Therequirements are:
a. A Bachelor’sdegrese;
b. One of thefollowing:

i. Completion of a teacher preparation program in special education from an accredited institution, which
included courses in mental retardation, emotional disability, specific learning disability, orthopedic impair-
ments and other health impairments; or

ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the standards described in R7-2-602, including
21 semester hours of special education courses and 8 semester hours of practicum with students representing
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at least three of the five disability areas. Special education courses shall include survey of exceptional stu-
dents; teaching methodologies and strategies for students with disabilities; foundations course in mild to
moderate mental retardation, learning disability, emotional disabilities, and physical/health impairment; and
diagnosis and assessment of mild disabilities. Two years of verified teaching experiencein special education
in grades K-12 may substitute for the 8 semester hours of practicum; or

iii. A valid cross-categorical special education certificate from another state.

c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment;
d. A passing score on the cross-categorical specia education portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assess-
ment; and
e. AvalidClass1 or Class 2 fingerprint clearance card.
No Change
Provisional Specialized Special Education Certificate -- grades K-12
1. Thecertificateisvalid for 2 years and is not renewable but may be extended as set forth in R7-2-606 (H) or (1).
2. The holder is qualified to teach students with mental retardation, emotional disability, specific learning disability,
orthopedic impairments or other health impairments, as specified on the certificate.
3. Therequirements are;
a. A Bachelor’sdegrese;
b. One of thefollowing:
i. Completion of ateacher preparation program in the specified area of special education from an accredited
institution; or
ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7-2-602,
including 21 semester hours of special education courses and 8 semester hours of practicum in the desig-
nated area of disability. Special education courses shall include survey of exceptional students; teaching
methodologies for students with disabilities; foundations of instruction in the designated area of disability;
and diagnosis and assessment of disabilities. Two years of verified teaching experience in the area of disabil-
ity in grades K-12 may be substituted for the 8 semester hours of practicum; or
iii. A valid special education certificate in the specified area from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment;
d. A passing score on the specified disability special education portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assess-
ment; and
e. AvalidClass1 or Class 2 fingerprint clearance card.
No Change
Provisional Severely and Profoundly Disabled Certificate -- grades K-12
1. Thecertificateisvalid for 2 years and is not renewable but may be extended as set forth in R7-2-606 (H) or (1).
2. Therequirements are;
a. A Bachelor’sdegrese;
b. One of thefollowing:
i. Completion of ateacher preparation program in severely and profoundly disabled education from an accred-
ited institution; or
ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7-2-602,
including 21 semester hours of special education courses and 8 semester hours of practicum. Special educa-
tion courses shall include survey of exceptional students, teaching methodologies for students with severe
and profound disabilities, foundations of instruction of students with severe and profound disabilities, and
diagnostic and assessment procedures for students with severe and profound disabilities. Two years of veri-
fied teaching experience with students in grades Prekindergarten-12 who are severely and profoundly dis-
abled may be substituted for the 8 semester hours of practicum; or
iii. A valid Severely and Profoundly Disabled certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment;
d. A passing score on the severely and profoundly disabled special education portion of the Arizona Teacher Profi-
ciency Assessment; and
e. AvadlidClass1 or Class 2 fingerprint card.
No Change

Provisional Hearing Impaired Certificate -- grades K-12

1. The

certificateisvalid for 2 years and is not renewable but may be extended as set forth in R7-2-606 (H) or (1).
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2. Therequirements are;
a. A Bachelor’sdegree;
b. One of thefollowing:
i. Completion of ateacher preparation program in hearing impaired education from an accredited institution;
or
ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7-2-602,
including 21 semester hours of special education courses for the hearing impaired and 8 semester hours of
practicum. Special education courses shall include survey of exceptional students, teaching methodologies
for students with hearing impairment, foundations of instruction of students with hearing impairment, and
diagnostic and assessment procedures for the hearing impaired. Two years of verified teaching experiencein
the area of hearing impaired in grades Prekindergarten-12 may be substituted for the 8 semester hours of
practicum; or
iii. A valid hearing impaired certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment;
d. A passing score on the hearing impaired special education portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assess

ment; and
e. AvadlidClass1 or Class 2 fingerprint clearance card.
J.  No Change

K. Provisiona Visually Impaired Certificate -- grades K-12
1. Thecertificateisvalid for 2 years and is not renewable but may be extended as set forth in R7-2-606 (H) or (1).
2. Therequirements are;
a. A Bachelor’sdegrese;
b. One of thefollowing:
i. Completion of ateacher preparation program in visual impairment from an accredited institution; or
ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7-2-602,
including 21 semester hours of specia education courses for the visually impaired and 8 semester hours of
practicum. Special education courses shall include survey of exceptional students, teaching methodologies
for students with visual impairment, foundations of instruction of studentswith visual impairment, and diag-
nostic and assessment procedures for the visually impaired. Two years of verified teaching experiencein the
area of visually impaired in grades Prekindergarten-12 may be substituted for the 8 semester hours of practi-
cum; or
iii. A validvisually impaired special education certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment;
d. A passing score on the visually impaired special education portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assess

ment; and
e. AvalidClass1 or Class 2 fingerprint clearance card.
No Change

<r

. Provisiona Speech and Language Impaired Certificate -- grades K-12
1. Thiscertificateisvalid for 2 years and is not renewable but may be extended as set forth in R7-2-606 (H) or (1).
2. Therequirements are;
a. A Bachelor’sdegrese;
b. One of thefollowing:
i. Completion of ateacher preparation program in speech and language special education from an accredited
ingtitution; or
ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the knowledge and skills described in R7-2-602,
including 30 semester hours of special education courses for the speech impaired. Special education courses
shall include survey of exceptional students, teaching methodologies for students with speech impairment,
foundations of instruction of students with speech impairment, diagnostic and assessment procedures for the
speech impaired, and a minimum of 200-clock hours of supervised clinical practice in providing speech and
language impairment services. All clinical practice clock hours shall be supervised by an American Speech
and Language Association-certified pathologist or by a state-certified speech and language therapist; or
iii. A valid Speech and Language Impaired special education certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment;
d. A passing score on the speech and language impaired special education portion of the Arizona Teacher Profi-
ciency Assessment; and
e. AvalidClass1 or Class 2 fingerprint clearance card.
N. No Change
O. Provisional Early Childhood Specia Education Certificate -- Birth to five years
1. Thecertificateisvalid for 2 years and is not renewable but may be extended as set forth in R7-2-606 (H) or (1).
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2. Therequirementsare;
a. A Bachelor’sdegrese;
b. One of thefollowing:
i. Completion of ateacher preparation program in early childhood special education from an accredited insti-
tution; or
ii. Forty-five semester hours of education courses which teach the standards described in R7-2-602, including
child development and learning, language development, social and emotional development, curriculum
development and implementation, and assessment and evaluation, early childhood specia education, and 8
semester hours of practicum in early childhood special education. Two years of verified teaching experience
in the area of early childhood specia education may be substituted for the 8 semester hours of practicum; or
iii. A valid early childhood special education certificate from another state.
c. A passing score on the professional knowledge portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment;
d. A passing score on the early childhood special education portion of the Arizona Teacher Proficiency Assessment;

and
e. AvalidClass1 or Class 2 fingerprint clearance card.
P.  No Change
R7-2-612. Other Teaching Certificates
A. No Change
B. No Change

C. Emergency Substitute Certificate -- grades K-12
1. Thecertificateisvalid for 1 school year or part thereof. The expiration date shall be the following July 1.
2. The certificate entitles the holder to substitute only in the specified-county-and-a-districtsthe-county-school-saperin-
tendent-approves: digrict that verifies that an emergency employment situation exists.
3. The certificate entitles the holder to substitute in the temporary absence of aregular contract teacher. A person hold-
ing only an emergency substitute certificate shall not be assigned a contract teaching position.
4. The holder of an emergency substitute certlflcate shall be I|m|ted to 120 days of substitute teaching per school year.

5. The reqw rementsfor |n|t|al issuance are:
a. High school diplomg;
b. Verification from the school district superlntendent that an emergency empl oyment 5|tuat|0n eX|sts and

el-c A vahd Class 1 or CIassZ flngerprlnt clearance card
6. Therequirements for each reissuance are:
a. Two semester hours of academic courses completed since the last issuance of the Emergency Substitute Certifi-
cate. District in-service programs designed for professional development may substitute for academic courses.
Fifteen clock hours of in-service is equivalent to 1 semester hour. In-service hours shall be verified by the district
superintendent or personnel director. Individuals who have earned 30 or more semester hours are exempt from
this requirement;
b. Verification from the school district superlntendent that an emergency empl oyment 5|tuat|0n eX|sts and

D. Emergency Teach| ng Cert|f|cate - grades K-12

1. Thecertificateisvalid 1 school year or part thereof. The expiration date shall be the following July 1.

2. The certificate entitles the holder to enter into a teaching contract.

3. Emergency teaching certificates shall be issued only for elementary and secondary certificates required by A.R.S. §
15-502(B), special education certificates, and required endorsements.

4. The certificate entitles the holder to teach only in the district that verifies that an emergency employment situation
exists.

4:5. The requirements for initial issuance are:
a. A Bachelor’s degrese;
b. Verification from the school district superlntendent that an emergency empl oyment srtuat|on eX|sts and

el-c A vahd Class 1 or CIassZ flngerprlnt clearance card
5.6. The requirements for reissuance are:
a. Veification from the school district superl ntendent that an emergency empl oyment S|tuat|0n eX|sts
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€b. Six semester hours of courses toward meeting the requirements for the specified certificate or endorsement, com-
pI eted since the IasI |ssuance of the emergency teachi ng cert|f|cate—H—an—appHeaHt—r&enFeHed—m—a—BeaFd-

No Change
No Change
No Change

TEmMm
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