Arizona Administrative Register / Secretary of State
Notices of Proposed Rulemaking

NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

Unless exempted by A.R.S. § 41-1005, each agency shall begin the rulemaking process by first submitting to the Secretary of
State’s Office a Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening followed by a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking that contains the preamble
and the full text of the rules. The Secretary of State’s Office publishes each Notice in the next available issue of the Register
according to the schedule of deadlines for Register publication. Under the Administrative Procedure Act (A.R.S. § 41-1001 et
seq.), an agency must allow at least 30 days to elapse after the publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Register
before beginning any proceedings for making, amending, or repealing any rule. (A.R.S. §§ 41-1013 and 41-1022)

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 3. AGRICULTURE

CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
PLANT SERVICES DIVISION

[R05-407]
PREAMBLE
1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
R3-4-301 Amend
R3-4-302 Repeal
R3-4-303 Repeal
R3-4-304 Repeal
R3-4-305 Repeal
R3-4-306 Repeal
2. The statutory authority for the rulemaking. including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the
rules are implementing (specific):
Authorizing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 3-107(A)(1), 3-201.01(A)
Implementing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 3-212, 3-217
3. Alist of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 10 A.A.R. 5221, December 27, 2004
4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:
Name: Rebecca A. Nichols, Rules Analyst
Address: Arizona Department of Agriculture
1688 W. Adams, Room 235
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Telephone: (602) 542-0962
Fax: (602) 542-5420
E-mail: rnichols@azda.gov
5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
This rulemaking consolidates six rules into one. Outdated references to the State Entomologist and the Commission
of Agriculture and Horticulture are deleted. Definitions are amended and added as needed. New certification termi-
nology is used. The types of nursery certifications are modified, and expiration dates are given for each certification
type. The Department’s actions when pests are detected during inspections are specified. Nursery certification inspec-
tion fees are raised to the statutory cap of $50. References to fees for laboratory analysis are removed. The Depart-
ment initiated this rulemaking in response to commitments made in the 2003 Five-year-review report of the Plant
Services Division rules.
6. A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and either proposes to rely on or not rely on

in its evaluation of or justification for the rule, where the public may obtain or review each study, all data underly-

ing each study. and any analysis of each study and other supporting material:
None
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7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a previ-
ous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business. and consumer impact:
A. The Arizona Department of Agriculture.

The Department will incur modest expenses related to educating staff and the regulated community regarding the
new regulations.

B. Political Subdivision.
None

C. Businesses Directly Affected By the Rulemaking.
Nurseries electing to participate in the voluntary nursery certification program will benefit by having all certifi-
cation options available to them in one concise rule. Nurseries electing to participate in the voluntary nursery cer-
tification program will pay $50 for each type of certification.

9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the

economic, small business. and consumer impact statement:
Name: Rebecca A. Nichols, Rules Analyst

Address: Arizona Department of Agriculture
1688 W. Adams, Room 235
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-0962
Fax: (602) 542-5420
E-mail: rnichols@azda.gov

10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the rule, or if no proceed-
ing is scheduled, where, when, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:
An oral proceeding is not scheduled for these proposed rules. To request an oral proceeding or to submit comments,
please contact the rules analyst listed in item #4 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Fri-
day, except Arizona legal holidays. If a request for an oral proceeding is not made, the public record in this rulemak-
ing will close at 5:00 p.m. on December 12, 2005.

11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:
None

12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
None

13. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 3. AGRICULTURE

CHAPTER 4. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
PLANT SERVICES DIVISION

ARTICLE 3. NURSERY RULES

Section

R3-4-301. Speeial-nursery-eertification-definitions Nursery Certification

R3-4-302. Speetal-nursery-certifieation; Arizona-—certified nursery-inspeetions-Repealed
R3-4-303. Speeial-nursery-eertifieation-ozontumreotretinspeetion-Repealed
R3-4-304. Speeial-nursery-eertifieation-other-eertification-inspeetions Repealed
R3-4-305. Speelal—ﬂufselyeemﬁe&&eﬂ—appheaﬁeﬂ Repeale

R3-4-306. e ev

attonr Repealed
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ARTICLE 3. NURSERY RULES

R3-4-301. i i HoH: it Nursery Certification
Tothi iete—unl | | . o
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Definitions. The following terms apply to this Section.

“Associate Director” means the Associate Director of the Arizona Department of Agriculture’s Plant Services Division.

“Certificate” means a document issued by the Director, Associate Director or by a Department inspector stating that the
nursery stock complies with the criteria set forth by an agricultural agency of any state, county, or commonwealth.

“Collected nursery stock” means nursery stock that has been dug or gathered from any site other than a nursery location.

13

‘Common pest” means a pest, weed or disease, which is not under state or federal quarantine or eradication program and
is of general distribution within the state.

“Commercially clean” means nursery stock offered for sale is in a healthy condition and though common pests may be
present, they exist at levels that pose little or no risk.

“Director” means the Director of the Arizona Department of Agriculture.

“Nursery location” means a parcel of ground with one physical address, upon which nursery stock is propagated., grown,
sold, distributed. or offered for sale.

“General nursery stock certification” means an inspection carried out at the request of a person for the purpose of meeting
the general nursery inspection requirements of another state.

“Quarantine plant pest” means an economically important pest that does not occur in the state or that occurs in the state

but is not widely distributed or is being officially eradicated.

3

‘Single Shipment inspection certificate” means an inspection requiring one visit to a single location by a Department

inspector to certify one or more shipments of nursery stock to comply with the quarantine requirements of the receiving
state, county, or commonwealth.

General nursery stock inspection certification. A person may apply for general nursery stock inspection certification by
submitting to the Department the application prescribed in subsection (E). A $50 inspection fee shall be submitted to the
Department at the time of inspection. Each nursery location shall be separately certified. An application for initial certifi-

cation may be submitted at any time. A renewal application shall be submitted each year by February 15.

1. The Department shall issue a general nursery stock inspection certificate to the applicant if, following a Department
inspection, the nursery stock is found free of quarantine pests, and commercially clean of common pests that are

adversely affecting the nursery stock.
a. The Department shall only certify nursery stock that is found free of quarantine pests. The applicant shall not
remove from the nursery any nursery stock that is found infested with a quarantine pest until an inspector deter-

mines that the pest has been eliminated.
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b. The Department shall restrict the movement of any nursery stock found infested with a non-quarantine pest that
an inspector determines is adversely affecting the nursery stock. The applicant shall establish a treatment pro-
gram to control the pest and shall not remove the infested nursery stock from the nursery until a determination
that the pest has been controlled.

A nursery with general nursery stock inspection certification shall remain free of quarantine pests and commercially
clean of common pests that are adversely affecting the nursery stock throughout the certification period.

Nursery stock from a certified nursery shall not be distributed, transported, or sold interstate if it is infested with a
quarantine pest or a non-quarantine pest that is adversely affecting the nursery stock.

A general nursery stock inspection certificate may be reproduced without the Department’s permission for use by the
certified nursery

A nursery’s general nursery stock inspection certificate shall accompany each shipment of nursery stock that is
moved out of the state.

A nursery with general nursery stock inspection certification shall maintain all invoices or other shipping documents
for shipments received by and shipped by the nursery for up to one year. The nursery shall make the documents avail-
able to the Department upon request, as authorized by A.R.S. § 3-201.01(A)(6).

The Department shall inspect a nursery with general nursery stock inspection certification throughout the certification
period to verify compliance with the conditions in this Section.

A nursery’s general nursery stock inspection certification shall expire on December 31 of each year unless suspended
or revoked as provided in subsection (F).

A nursery with general nursery stock inspection certification may also need to obtain special nursery stock inspection
certification to meet a specific quarantine entry requirement of another state, as prescribed in subsection (C).

Special nursery stock inspection certification. A person may apply for special nursery stock inspection certification to

meet specific quarantine entry requirements of another state other than those prescribed in subsection (B), by submitting

to the Department the application prescribed in subsection (E) and a $50 inspection fee for each nursery location.

1.

2.

3.

=

The applicant’s nursery stock shall be free from quarantine pests as required by the receiving state and commercially
clean of common pests that are adversely affecting the nursery stock. The Department shall not certify nursery stock
that is infested with a quarantine pest until an inspector determines that the pest has been eliminated. The Department
shall not certify nursery stock that is infested with a non-quarantine pest that a Department inspector determines is
adversely affecting the nursery stock.

A special nursery stock inspection certificate shall not be duplicated or reproduced without written permission from
the Department.

A special nursery stock inspection certificate shall be valid for one year from the issue date unless the receiving state
requires a shorter certification period.

Single shipment inspection certification. A person may apply for single shipment certification to meet the entry require-

ments of another state by submitting to the Department the application prescribed in subsection (E) with a $50 fee for each

nursery stock shipment.

1.
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The nursery stock in each shipment shall be free from quarantine pests as required by the receiving state and commer-
cially clean of common pests that are adversely affecting the nursery stock. The Department shall not certify nursery
stock that is infested with a quarantine pest until an inspector determines that the pest has been eliminated. The
Department shall not certify nursery stock that is infested with a non-quarantine pest that a Department inspector
determines is adversely affecting the nursery stock until the pest has been controlled.

A single shipment inspection certificate shall be valid for no more than 7 calendar days following the inspection date.
The applicant may apply for new certification if the original certificate expires before the shipment leaves Arizona.

A single shipment inspection certificate shall not be reproduced or duplicated.
A person applying for single shipment inspection certification for collected nursery stock shall retain a record, for at

least one year from the shipment date, of the street address from which each plant in a shipment was collected. The
collected nursery stock record shall be made available to the Department upon request.

pplication. A person applying for certification under this Section shall provide the following information on a form
btained from the Department:

[ [ [ =

Applicant’s name, nursery name, mailing address, telephone and fax numbers, and e-mail address, as applicable;
Location at which inspection is to be made, by legal description or physical address;

Number of acres, structures, or vehicles to be inspected, as applicable;

For shipping, the state, county, or commonwealth of planned destination, the category of inspection, and the nursery
stock to be certified;

Applicant’s social security number or tax identification number, and

Applicant’s signature, and date of signature.

enial, revocation, or suspension of a nursery certification.

[=
=D o [

The Associate Director may deny issuing a certification if, after inspection, it is determined that a requirement for
certification is not met.
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2. The Associate Director may revoke a certification for a violation of a condition of the certification.

3. The Associate Director may suspend, for a period of up to 90 days, a certification for misuse or misrepresentation of
the certification.

4. The Associate Director may refuse to issue or suspend a certification issued under this Article if the person represent-

ing a nursery refuses to present to the Department any documents required by the Department to determine the own-
ership, origin or destination of nursery stock presented for certification.

R3-4-302. Speeinl-nursery-eertifieationArizona-eertified-nursery-inspeetions Repealed

9
atton—frem-anurseryman-andp 6

R3-4-303. Speeinl-nursery-eertifiention-ozonivmrootrotinspeetion Repealed
A pecton-ardtee—Hponwettten— tenh oft-a-xt S
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R3-4-305. Speeialnursery-eertifieationapplieation-Repealed

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER 10. BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY

[R0O5-401]
PREAMBLE
1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
R4-10-101 Amend
R4-10-105 Amend
R4-10-108 Amend
R4-10-109 Repeal
R4-10-110 Amend
R4-10-111 Amend
R4-10-201 Amend
R4-10-203 Amend
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R4-10-204 Amend
R4-10-205 Amend
R4-10-206 Amend
R4-10-401 Amend
R4-10-402 Amend
R4-10-403 Amend
R4-10-404 Amend

The statutory authority for the rulemaking. including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the

rules are implementing (specific):
Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 32-504(A)(1)

Implementing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 32-501, 510, 511, 512, 513, 514, 515, 517, 518, 531, 532, 533, 537, 541, 542, 543,
544, 545, 551, 552, 554, 555, 556, 557, 558, 559, 560, 561, 562, 563, and 564

A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 11 A.A.R. 4141, October 21, 2005

The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:

Name: Cheryl Adams, Deputy Director and Rules Coordinator
Address: 1721 E. Broadway Rd.
Tempe, AZ 85282
Telephone: (480) 784-4539, ext. 227
Fax: (480) 784-4962
E-mail: cheryl.adams@cb.state.az.us

An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
A.R.S. § 32-504 requires the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology to adopt rules for the regulation of the cosmetol-
ogy profession.

The rule amendments are meant to clarify rules, eliminate unnecessary requirements, and make grammatical correc-
tions. Further, R4-10-108 allows examination candidates the choice of a live model or a mannequin in some examina-
tions and the change will allow the use of a mannequin only for nail technology and cosmetology examinations.
This same rule will now allow for pre-screening of examination candidates allowing them to examine and enter the
work force at an earlier date. R4-10-109 is repealed, as the requirements are outmoded. Changes to R4-10-110 will
affect the reactivation of a license that has been inactive between three and five years making it easier and less expen-
sive for an inactive licensee to reenter the work force. R4-404 will clarify requirements for mobile service salons
allowed by a law change to A.R.S. § 32-501.

A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and either proposes to rely on or not rely on
in its evaluation of or justification for the rule, where the public may obtain or review each study, all data underly-

ing each study. and any analysis of each study and other supporting material:
None

A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a previ-

ous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:
Not applicable

The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
The Board of Cosmetology, licensed schools, and students will bear any costs associated with the rules. Changes such
as pre-screening of an application and reactivating inactive licenses will result in a savings, as both changes will
allow licensees to enter or reenter the work force at an earlier date. The requirement for a microdermabrasion
machine in R4-10-205 will require some schools to purchase the machine.

Other rules eliminate the requirement of signing before a notary public which may constitute a saving.

The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the

economic, small business, and consumer impact statement:
Interested persons may contact the rules coordinator listed in item #4 regarding the economic, small business, and
consumer impact statement.

10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment. or repeal of the rule, or if no proceed-

ing is scheduled, where, when, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:
No public hearing is planned for this rulemaking; however, oral proceedings may be requested by contacting the per-
son listed in item #4 above by telephone, fax, email, or in person. Interested persons may submit oral or written com-
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ments on the proposed rules Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., except state holidays, via telephone, fax,
email, or in person to the person listed in item #4 above.

A person with a disability may request a reasonable accommodation, such as a sign language interpreter, by contact-
ing the individual listed in item #4. A request should be made as early as possible to allow time to arrange the accom-
modation.

11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:
Not applicable

12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
Not applicable

13. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER 10. BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY

ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

Section

R4-10-101.  Definitions

R4-10-105.  Application for License by Reciprocity
R4-10-108. Licensing Examinations

R4-10-109.  InstruetorExaminatiens Repealed
R4-10-110. Reactivating an Inactive License
R4-10-111. Display of Licenses and Signs

ARTICLE 2. SCHOOLS

Section

R4-10-201. Application for a School License; Renewal
R4-10-203. General School Requirements

R4-10-204. School Records

R4-10-205.  Aesthetic School Requirements
R4-10-206.  Cosmetology School Requirements

ARTICLE 4. SALONS

Section

R4-10-401.  Application for a Salon License

R4-10-402.  Changes Affecting a Salon License
R4-10-403. Salon Requirements and Minimum Equipment
R4-10-404.  Mobile Services

ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

R4-10-101.  Definitions

In this Chapter unless otherwise specified:
1. “Accredited” means approved by the:

New England Association of Schools and Colleges,

Middle states States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools,

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools,

Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges,

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, or

Western Association of Schools and Colleges.

2. 0« Admlnlstratlve completeness review” means the Board’s process for determining that an individuaal applicant has=-
a- Previded provided all efthe information and documents required by Board statute or rule for an application;-and-

Prme a0 o
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3. “Applicant” means an individual or any of the following seeking licensure by the Board:
a. Ifa corporation, any two officers of the corporation;
b. Ifa partnership, any two of the partners; or
c. If alimited liability company, the designated manager corporate contact person, or if no manager contact person
is designated, any two members of the limited liability company.

4. “Application packet” means the forms and documents required by the Board requires-an-applicant-to-submit-erhave
bmitted-o i} Leant’s behalf

5. “Certification of hours” or “certification of licensure” means a document that states the total number of hours com-
pleted at a school or status of license, including:

a. A written statement of the hours received in a licensed school or a; record of license history;-ereredits-a-student
reeetved; signed by the administrator of the agency authorized to record hours or issue cosmetology, nail techni-
cian, er aesthetics, or instructor licenses in the JurlSdlCthIl in which the applicant reeeived-atieense-or received
certified or accredited vocational or academic training or is licensed, affixed with the agency’s official seal; or

b. Amnetarized If a student is transferring from one Arizona school to another pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-560, a trans-
fer application that reflects the hours or credits a student received, signed by the administrator of the school
where the apphcant recelved certlﬁed or accredlted tra1n1ng—vs4&eﬁ—a—studeﬂ{—tfaﬂsfefs—ffem4%f&eﬂa—eesmetel-

6. “Chnlc ﬂeef ee means the area where stu-
dents practice on the general Dubllc for a fee.

7. “Course” means an organized subject matter in which instruction is offered within a given period of time and for
which credit toward graduation or certification is given.

8. “Credit” means one earned academic unit of study based on completing a high school’s required number of class ses-
sions per calendar week in a course or an earned academic unit of study based on attending a + one-hour class session
per calendar week at a community college, an accredited college or university, or a school.

9. “Days means calendar days

H- “Double bracmg means using a stable base of support and two points of contact for the hand while performing a pro-
cedure.

1211 .“Establishment” means a business that eperates functions as a school or a salon #-a-straeture-that-has-aphysteal
street-address-and-funetions-as-a-salon-or-sehool at least an average of 20 hours a week for the majority of the year:

and
a. If a salon, operates as a salon in, or is dispatched from, a structure that has a physical street address; or
b. Ifaschool
i.  Equipment for each classroom is to be the same as that required for each course of instruction in a school;
ii. Combination school requirements are the same for distant classrooms:;
iii. Private Post Secondary facilities shall not extend the school beyond .5 miles apart as verified by map read-
ings; and
iv. Public educat10na1 facilities shall not extend the school beyond the school designated campus.
13 = i 22
& )
b-
€

1+4:12.“Graduation” or “graduated from a school” means the completion of the criteria established by a cosmetology, an
aesthetics, or & nail technology school for the course in which the applicant was enrolled; including the completion of
the required curriculum hours speetfted-inR4-10-302, R4-10-303, R4-10-304;-er R4-10-305.
45:13.“High school equivalency” means:
a. A high school diploma from a school recognized by the basic education authority or the Department of Educa-
tion in the jurisdiction in which the school is located,
b. A total score of 45 points on a high school equivalency general educational development test or its equivalent as
required by the Department of Education,
¢. An associate degree or 15 academic credits from a junior college recognized by the basic education authority in
the jurisdiction in which the college is located, or
d. Any degree from a college or university recognized by the basic education authority in the jurisdiction in which
the college or university is located.
1+6:14.“Hour” means one clock hour.
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+7:15.“Instructor training” means the courses reguired-by specified in R4-10-302.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.
22.

“Lab” means the area in which instruction is provided regarding demonstration, theory, and practice on mannequins
or live models without charge.

“Licensed in another state of the United States or foreign country” means that a governmental regulatory agency in

the state or country is authorized to examine candidates that have graduated from a licensed cosmetology, nail tech-
nology, aesthetics school, or examines instructors for those disciplines, for competency and issues licenses that have

continued monitoring by the agency.
“Manager” means an individual licensed by the Board who is responsible for ensuring a-saler’s an establishment’s

compliance with A.R.S. §§ 32-501 threugh32-575 et seq. and this Chapter.

“Model” means a mannequin for a cosmetology or nail technology examination, er person for an aesthetics examina-
tion, or either a mannequin or person for an instructor examination on whom an applicant performs demonstrations
for the practical section of a licensing examination.

“Owner” means an individual or entity that has controlling legal or equitable interest and authority who is responsible

for ensuring an establishment’s compliance with A.R.S. 32-501 et seq. and this Chapter in-an-establishment.

“Patron” means any client of an establishment or student of a school.
“Personal knowledge” means actual observation of an individual;-etherthan-afamily-member; who is-eurrently-prae-

tieing practiced aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail technology in any state or country.

22:23 .“Practice” means engaging in the eeeupatier profession of aesthetics, cosmetology, er nail technology, or instructor.

24.

25.

26.

27.

b -
“Reciprocity” means the procedure for granting an Arizona license to an applicant who has received the required

hours from a school licensed in another state of the United States or a foreign country or is currently licensed in
another state of the United States or a foreign country.
“Substantive review” means the Board’s process for determining that an applicant for licensure meets the require-

ments of A-RS—§§32-504-threugh 32-575-and-thisChapter the license for which application is made including, if

applicable, taking and passing an examination given by the Board.
“10th grade equivalency” means;

16 Ten high school credits, including two in English, from any school recognized by the basic education author-

ity or the Department of Education in the jurisdiction in which the credits were obtained;-erpreef ;

b. Proof that the prospective student is 23 years old. Satisfactory proof of the prospective student’s age is shown by
a government-issued driver’s license or identification card, a birth certificate, or a passport; or

c. High school equivalency.

“Transfer application”, as used in A.R.S. § 32-560, means an application that documents the transfer of a student

from one Arizona cosmetology, nail technology, or aesthetics school to another and contains the student’s name,

address, identification number, phone number, and number of hours of instruction received.

o

R4-10-105.  Application for License by Reciprocity
An applicant for an aesthetics, cosmetology, nail teehnietan technology, or instructor license by reciprocity shall submit the
applicable fee required in R4-10-102 and all of the following to the Board:

1

An application provided by the Board; and signed by the applicant;-and-netarized that contains:
a. The applicant’s name, address, telephone number, gender, passport quality photo, seetal-seeurity Social Security
number, and birth date;

b. If previously licensed by the Board, the type of license, license number, license expiration date, and the name
used on the license; and

c. A statement of whether the applicant has ever had an aesthetics, a cosmetology, & nail technietan technology, or

an instructor license suspended or revoked in any state or foreign country;-and .

A certification of hours and proof of graduation or licensure in another state of the United States or a foreign country
that shows the number of hours received in a school or the initial and final dates of licensure:-and .
0 N 10 1th ha 0 100 a 3 o 1 h A A b,
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R4-10-108.  Licensing Examinations

A. An-examination applieation A pre-screening review of examination qualifications may be submitted prior to graduation
from a school but shall not be aeeepted pprove unt1l the apphe&nt student has graduated—frem—a—eesmetelegy—naﬂ—teeh—

- received a mini-

mum of:
1450 hours of cosmetology training,

500 hours of aesthetics or nail technician training,

550 hours of cosmetology instructor training,

400 hours for aesthetics instructor training, or

250 hours of nail technician instructor training.

B. After pre-screening is complete, a student may receive an examination date but will not be examined until certification of
graduation is received. A pre-screening review does not substitute for an official agency acceptance or issuance of a

license. If the examination time passes without submittal of school provided certification of graduation, the examination
fee is forfeited.

If an examination pre-screening review is not requested, an examination application will not be accepted until the appli-

cant has received the hours required for graduation and has graduated from a school licensed by the Board.

All examinations shall be held in the Board’s examination center at the Board’s office unless another location is desig-

nated by the Board in its written notice to the applicant.

The Board shall notify applicants in writing atleast10-days-before-the-examination of the time and place assigned for the

examination.

B:F. Applicants shall werify-their provide identification upon entering the examination center with a passport, driver’s license,
bank identification card, military identification, or United States government-issued identification card. Identification
shall contain a photograph of the applicant.

E—G.Exammatrons shall consist of both wrrtten and practlcal sections and shall 1nclude live demonstrations ef-aestheties;eos-

& W ' 3 . Demonstrations ef-wet-sets-ané

eemb—euts—ma’yhbe—peffefmed—eﬂ—a—manﬂequm— ora cosmetology or narl technology examination shall be performed on a
mannequin. Demonstrations for an aesthetics examination shall be performed on a model. Demonstrations for an instruc-

tor examination shall be performed on a model or mannequin.
E:H.Applicants shall comply with all infection control and safety standards required by R4-+0-+09 R4-10-112 during the

examination.
Gl Apphcants who cannot appear for an exammatlon as scheduled shall ﬂe&fy—the—Be&rd—&t—le&st—%—heurs—befere—the—sehed-
W y ee forfeit the examination fee. Applrcants
Who arrive te at an exam1nat10n 51te after the exam1nat10n has begun shall not be examined. Applicants who arrive after
the examination has begun; and applicants who fail to appear for the scheduled examination witheutnetifiring-the Beard
atleast48-heursbefore-the-examination; mayresehedule will be rescheduled only after paying another examination fee. A
one time cancellation within at least 48-hours of the examination start time will be allowed and not require another exam-
ination fee.
H:J. Apphcants shall supply equ1pment supplres tools or tmplemeﬂts 1nstruments and a mannequin or model as required.

[ [ [ =

@

I®

=

EK. Current or former students er—student—tnstruetefs in an aesthet1cs cosmetology, or na1l technology seheelrs school shall not
be used as models in the live demonstration of aesthetics;-cosmetology,-or-nai-technelogy or instructor examinations.
&L. Exammanon materials shall are not be-made available te-appheants for inspection or copying before,duringorafteran

K—MNotebeeks,—netes,—tape—feeofders,—aﬂd—dteﬁoﬂaﬂes Written material or recording media shal are not be allowed in either

the written or practical sections of the examination for aestheticians, cosmetologists, or nail technicians. The examination
administrator may exclude other items from the written or practical sections of the examination that may impede the fair
administration or security of the examination. An applicant who seeks to impede the fair administration of an exam, cop-
ies or asks information from another applicant, or has a blood spill that is not treated following proper blood spill proce-

Volume 11, Issue 46 Page 4506 November 14, 2005



Arizona Administrative Register / Secretary of State
Notices of Proposed Rulemaking

dures shall be dismissed from the examination and shall forfeit the examination fee.
E=N.If an applicant has passed the examination but does not apply for an original license within one year after the date of the
examination, the examination scores shall be voided.

N:O. the If apphcatlon is made bV recmrocnv the Board may accept a score on a written or practical examination from
another jurisdiction if the examination was the same national examination as that administered in Arizona and the score is
at least the same as the passing score that was required by the Board at the time the applicant took the examination in that
the other _]urlSdlCthIl Fhe An applicant shall provide the Board with documentation from the other jurisdiction to verify
the previous passing score and that this score was received within one year of the date that the Beardreeeived-the-apph-
eant’s-appheation applicant applied for licensure with this Board.

©O:P.The Board shall conduct all examinations in English and applicants shall submit answers in English.

R4- 10 109 Tnstrueteroxaminations Repealed

& .

b- tes;
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R4-10-110.  Reactivating an Inactive License
A. A cosmetology, nail technology, aesthetietan aesthetics, or instructor license that has been inactive for less than one year

will be reactivated by paying the delinquent renewal penalty.
B. A cosmetology, nail technology, aesthetics, or instructor license that has been inactive for more than one year, but less

than we ﬁve years, may be reactivated by the licensee paying the delinquent renewal penalty and eempletingt-ofthefol-

1 Attending completing an Infection Control class and a Law Review class, offered by the Board, to be paid for by the
licensee: .

B-:C. A cosmetology, nall technology, aesthetics, or instructor license that has been inactive for more than twe five years, but

less than 10 years, may be reactivated by the licensee paying-the-delinquentrenewal-penalty-and completing ene all of the

following requirementss :
Doccino the 14t o

ttoﬂ—éB)—belew— Complete the mfectlon Drotect1on class and law review class given bV the Board
3. Take and pass the Board examination pertaining to the type of license formerly held; and
4. Pay the delinquent renewal penalty.

&:D. If a cosmetology, nail technology, aesthetics, or instructor license has been inactive for more than 48 ten years, the lic-
ensee shall complete all orlgmal l1cens1ng requ1rements
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R4-10-111. Display of Licenses and Signs

>z

|.U§357=1

The name on an establishment’s exterior sign, advertising, er and publication shall be the same as the name on the estab-
lishment hcense issued by the Board. The establishment’s exterior sign shall contain lettering at least 2 1/2 inches in
height

Schools shall prominently post a class schedule that lists the names of instructors and classes. The establishment school
and instructor licenses shall be displayed near the establishiment school entrance where visible to the public.

Salons shall prominently post the salon license and the individual licenses of all licensees performing services in the
salon.

A licensee whe—ts performmg moblle services shall promlnently dlsplay a duphcate personal ef-the and establishment
license frem h A ense in the area where mobile services are
being prov1ded The hcensee S orlgmal hcense shall be promlnently displayed in the salon from where which the licensee
was dispatched.

B:E.A copy of R4-10-109 R4-10-112 shall be prominently posted in beth the establishment and-the-mebileservice-area.

E

A Ssalens salon shall prominently post a notice of salon services that are not regulated by the Board and-are-performed-by
people-wheo-are netlicensed-by-the Board.

ARTICLE 2. SCHOOLS

R4-10-201.  Application for a School License; Renewal

A.

An applicant for a school license shall submit the documents required in A.R.S. § 32-551 and:

1. Submitan An application on a form provided by the Board, signed by the applicant, and notarized that contains:
a. The applicant’s name, address, seetal-security-namber; federal tax identification number, and telephone number;
b. Ifa partnership, each partner’s name and address and an identification of whether a limited or general partner;
c. Ifa corporation, the state of incorporation and the name, title, and address of each-offiecer at least two officers of

the corporation;
d. The name under which the school will be operated;
e. The name and-address and Board issued license number of the Beard-lieensed instructor swhe-is in charge of the
school;

f.  If an existing school, the date the applicant will be assuming ownership; and
g. Ifanew school, the date of scheduled opening of the school;

2. Ifacorporation, submit the articles of incorporation;

3. Submitan812" by H"floerplan-eftheschool A signed statement that the establishment has equipment required by
statute and rule for the school;

4. Submitan An uncompleted unexecuted contract form required by A.R.S. § 32-558;

Submita A schedule that includes the hours of each day and each day of a calendar week during which the school

will be open for instruction;

Submita A proposed schedule of classes to be taught at the school;

The name, address, and phone number of the bonding company and a copy of the bond;

A copy of all school policies and procedures;

Submit-a A school catalog containing the information required by A.R.S. § 32-559 and

a. The number of days required for course enrollment necessary to complete the hours required for the course;

b. The days and hours of operation, vacation periods, and holidays;

c. A listing of policies regarding leaves of absence and vacation approval;

8-:10. Demonstrate compliance with A.R.S. § 32-551 through § 32-575 and these rules through a school inspection con-
ducted by the Board; and

9:11. Submit-a The fee required in R4-10-102.

In addltlon to the requlrements in R4- 10 107, a licensee shall submit the f0110w1ng when renewing a license:

1 a No " : "

2 The most recent school catalog showmg
a. Any modifications, additions, or deletions;
b. An index reflecting where the information required by A.R.S. § 32-559 is located in the catalog; and
c. The names name of each accrediting or approving organization.

3:2. A subject description of each new course and its schedule if applicable;

9]

oo =
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4-3. A new operating schedule if change occurred;
54. The name and address of any new statutory agent

6_ L I I o . " I

Zs. The name and hcense number of the current manager hcensed 1nstructor in charge of the school

6. The name, address, and phone number of the bonding company; the bond number; expiration date of the bond; and a
copy of the bond.

If the owner enters into a management contract, the terms and conditions of that contract must be submitted upon signa-

ture;

If change occurs to the catalogue, policies, procedures, bond, subject description or any new course, new operating sched-

ule, new statutory agent, or student contract during the year, changes shall be submitted within five days of change.

R4-10-203.  General School Requirements

A.

B.

C.

D.

F.

G

H.
L.

J.

Aesthetie Aesthetics, cosmetology, and nail technology schools shall comply with R4-3+6-1+689 R4-10-112 and have the fol-
lowing minimum facilities, equipment, supplies, and materials:

1. One area of instruction for every 20 students;

2. A licensed instructor as manager or director;

3. A desk, table; and chair, or other instructional fixtures and facilities for each student during theory instruction;

4. Filing cabinets to hold all school and student records;

5. An instruction Board in each room used for instruction;

6. At least 2 two cubic feet of individual locked area with a different locking device for each enrolled student and each
instructor to store personal objects and training kits;

7. A sink area for each 50 students in attendance for the preparation, mixing, and dispensing of supplies and chemicals;

and for the disinfection of small tools or implements instruments;
8. At least one rest room meeting the requirements of R4-+6-+09 R4-10-112.
9. Separate receptacles for garbage and soiled linens; and
10. One container for wet disinfectant when for each student performing aesthetics and nail technology as-speeified-by
R4-10-109.
The school shall furnish the appropriate amount of equipment, tools, implements instruments, materials, and supplies
needed to perform assignments and for instructional purposes, except that the school may require each student to furnish
small tools or-+mplertents instruments. All equipment, tools, and materials shall be salon quality and maintained in good
repair at all times.
The school shall have a library for student use which contains at least the following materials relating to the course or
courses offered by the school:
Standard dictionary;
Medical dictionary;
Anatomy chart on bones, muscles, nerves, hands, arms, nails, veins, arteries, circulatory system, hair, and skin;
Three current periodicals on the art and science of cosmetology;
Current cosmetology instruction manuals or textbooks
Current Arizona Cosmetology laws and rules g g
and
7. A cosmetology dictionary.
Each school shall maintain a complete file on all current currrculum requirements.
i a g ats: Schools shall not pay salaries to enrolled stu-

AN

dents other than student 1nstructors
Licensed schools may offer postgraduate or advanced continuing education cosmetology courses, including theory and

lab, to students currenth enrolled i in the school or currenth hcensed individuals without a licensed instructor present;

Credlt hours toward graduatron or hcensure shall not be granted or renorted to the Board;
Currently enrolled students shall not perform services upon a person without an instructor present;
A student file is not required for licensed individuals; and
Licensees must have licensee’s current Board-issued license number onsite.
Individuals licensed purstantto-A-R-S—§32-50+-et-seq: by this Board may re-enroll in a licensed school for a refresher
course as a current student. Credit hours for training received duringregular-sehoethours shall be submitted to the Board.
Schools shall establish a periodic grading schedule and keep student transcripts current.

Schools shall provide a notice to students at least 60 days prior to the end of the enrollment period set forth in the school/

student contract stating whether the student is over contract hours and if additional charges will be forthcoming. Schools
are prevented from charging over-contract hour prices if notification was not given to student. If a student goes over hours

after the 60-day notice is given. the school shall notify the student at the end of each month as to current status.
Schools shall schedule a minimum of four hours of theory classes each week for each full-time student and a minimum of

1.
2.
3.
4.
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two hours of theory classes each week for each part-time student.
&K.Safety and infection control measures relating to each subject shall be taught in conjunction with that subject.
¥=L.Schools shall not solicit students for enrollment on the site of other schools.
E=M.While in school, instructors shall wear a tag indicating their the instructor’s name and courses they teach.
MEN.Schools shall ensure compliance with the following:

el

v o

6

Students shall attend school no more than 56 hours in any one week.

Students shall operate only safe equipment in good repair.

Students of aesthetics, cosmetology, and nail technology shall perform services within the course in which they are
enrolled, upon the public or fellow students, only in the presence of a licensed instructor and, except for shampooing,
only after completing the basic training specified in R4-10-303, R4-10-304, and R4-10-305 preseribing-their-eurrieu-
lom.

Students shall not be prevented or d1scouraged from maklng a complarnt to the Board

Students shall not be dismissed from a scheduled theory instruction or written or practical examination to perform
clinical services to the public; and

%.6. While in school, each student shall wear a tag indicating their the student’s name and the course in which they-are the

student is enrolled.

R4-10-204. School Records

A. Student records shall be kept at the school where the student is enrolled and are subject to inspection by the Board at all
times.

B. When a student transfers from one school to another, the school from which the student is transferring shall keep a copy of
the student’s transcript, and shalt forward one copy to the student and another copy to the Board within three days of the

date of transfer, and shall withdraw the student on the school records and the monthly report submitted to the Board.
C. Each school shall keep:

1.
2.

4.

A complete and accurate record of the time devoted by each student to the enrolled course of study;

Reeerds A complete and accurate record which shows the basis for certification of the student hours. Schools shall

certify only those hours of training received by the student in that school or hours accepted by the school and received

in another state or country; and

An A complete and accurate individual student file for each student enrolled containing:

a. Contract and enrollment agreement;

b. Financial aid transcript;

c. Proof of 10th grade erhigh-sehoel equivalency for a student enrolled in an aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail tech-
nology course; aré or proof of high school equivalency or 23 years of age for a student enrolled &s in an instruc-
tor course as-speeified-byR4-10-104;

d. Identification smbers number;

e. Proof of one year of licensed work experience for a student instructor in-aestheties;-eesmetelogy,-ornail-technol-
ogY;

f. A signed statement signed by school administration and the student indicating reeeipt a listing of contracted sup-
phes contarned in the k1t nrovrded to the student The contract shall set forth the contents of the kit including:;

The prrce of 1tems contalned in the krt=
When the items shall be distributed;

_-.l_-.l_.
= =
="

The manufacturer of the products;

The retail value of the kit; and

A statement that if substitutions occur after the contract is signed, the substitutions shall be of comparable
value; and

g. A record of completed hours including proof of hours earned in another state or country; and

Current Complete and accurate academic transcripts and attendance and hour records or time cards ferBeard-inspee-
ton.

Y-

D. A complete and accurate monthly report submitted to the Board shall be pestmarked electronically delivered no later than
the 10th day of each month. The monthly report shall include:

1.

Fhe For each student enrolled since the prior monthly report only:

a. name; Name;

b. student Student identification number;;
c. enrollment Enrollment date;;

d. address; Address:

e.

telephene Telephone number; ;
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£ Type of educational documentation to meet the requirements of R4-10-104;
g. Proof of hours received in another Arizona licensed school, state, or country certified by the school, if applicable;
h. Proof of crossover hours necessary to qualify for R4-10-306. if applicable: and
i.  birth Birth date e—tle&elrstudeﬂt—eﬁrelled—&kthe—seheel-smee—the—pﬁer meﬂt-hl-y—repeft—
2. The enrollment category of each student as-1a y o
3. i

4. The name, license number, and work schedule of the instructor in charge of the school, and name of the custodian of
records;

5-4. The name, license number, and dates-ef-employment work schedule of each instructor employed by the school;

6-5. The signature of the instructor who prepares and certifies the report as being true and correct;

6. The name of student instructors, the scheduled attendance, and eurrent-aesthetician;-cosmetologist,-ornail-technietan

Board-issued license number from-anystate-er-eountry;

&7. For each demonstration given, the name of the demonstrator, the name of the observing instructor, the name of the
process or product demonstrated, the number of students in attendance, and the name of the course in which the dem-
onstration was glven

month the current month and total cumulatlve hours. This total shall not be amended without satisfactory proof of
error;
H-9. Signature of each student verifying approval of the certified hours;
42:10. Certification of those students who have met the graduation requirements of the school, including the day, month,
and year of graduation; and
13-11. The notation “transferred?; , © withdrawn?; , © or “leave of absence” for students who discontinue training, and the
day, month, and year training was discontinued. Documentation to certify the hours earned by the student prior to dis-
eentinting withdrawal or taking a leave of absence shall be provided to the student within one week.
E. A person who has registered for the Board examination and has completed the required hours for graduation, but stays in
school until the date of the examination, shall be credited for the additional hours earned after graduation.

R4-10-205.  Aesthetic School Requirements
A. Schools which provide aesthetics 600-hour training for students, 500-hour training for instructors, or both, shall provide
the following minimum facilities, equipment, supplies, and materials in addition to that required by R4-10-203 and R4-
10-204:
1. A work station for each student in attendance to perform aesthetics services to the public, each having;
a. A facial chair or table;
b. A table top which is 32"by1+6" 12" x 18" or larger;
c. A-mirrerthatis-atleast4" by 4" whenperforming serviees-on-a-chent:-
& A dry, disinfected, covered container to store disinfected tools and #mplements instruments as-speeifted-byR4-
10169, and
e-d. A labeled receptacle for contaminated tools or-implements instruments.
2. One steamer-vaperizer,-or-pulverizer machine for every 12-studentsinattendanee four students in attendance during

lab and two students in attendance during clinic;

Qﬂe—galv&meeufreﬂt—maehme One mrcrodermabrasmn machme to be used at a non-invasive level

W

One magmfylng lamp of at least a 5 dlor)ter for every -1—2 two students in attendance durm,q lab and every four stu-

o $

dents in attendance during clinic students—m—&ttendaﬂee
8-5. Cleansingeream Cleansers;

9:6. Massage eream medium,;

16.7. Astringenttonerand-mist Toner;
H-8.Mask-erpaek Exfolients and masks; and
12:9. Chemieal-and-physieal-depilatories; Depilatories.
13- Astiftetal-eyelashes:and-
4. Cesmeties
B. Each stadent school shall kawve provide a student training kit for each enrolled. aesthetics student enrelled containing, at a
minimum, the following:

H
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One standard textbook for professional aestheticians; and-Arizona-cosmetologylaws-andrules;
One set-offour-factal-brushes-withoeut-defeets copy of Arizona cosmetology laws and rules;

PN~

One-prefessional-tweezer:

One disinfected, covered container to store disinfected tools and #mplements instruments as specified by R4-10-169
R4-10-112; and

5-4. A container for contaminated tools or-#mplements instruments.

R4-10-206.  Cosmetology School Requirements
A. Schools which provide cosmetology 1600-hour training for students, 650-hour training for instructors, or both, shall pro-
vide the following minimum facilities, equipment, supplies, and materials in addition to that specified by R4-10-203 and
R4-10-204:
1. A work station for each student in attendance performing cosmetology services to the public for a fee, each having:
a. A mirror that is at least 18" by 30" when performing services on a client;
b. A table top or counter;
c. A client chair;
d. A disinfected, covered receptacle to store disinfected tools and-implements instruments, as-speeified-byR4-10-
1409; and
e. A container for contaminated tools or-implements instruments;

2. One shampoo basin for each 10 students in attendance during praetieal lab or clinic instruction;

3. One hand-held hair dryer for each student in attendance during praetieal lab or clinic instruction;

4. One hooded dryer for each seven 20 students in attendance during praetieal lab or clinic instruction;

5. One high-frequency Tesla or violet-ray unit, including a facial and scalp electrode, for each 20 students in attendance
during practical instruction;

6. One Two electric elipper clippers in the school fer-each-five-students-in-attendanee during practicalinstruetion;

7. Chemieal-andphysieal-depiateries Depilatories;

8. Chemical hair straighteners inelading: ;
a Zlihieg}yee}a%e—aﬁd—
b:

9. One nail technology table with a 32" x16" 12" x 18" or larger top for each 10 students in attendance during practical
instruction;

10. A facial work station for each 10 aesthetie-student students in attendance during and receiving praetieal lab or clinic
aesthetics instruction;

11. An A receptacle, large enough to completely immerse beth two feet; for each 20 10 eesmetelogy students in atten-
dance during lab or clinic nail technology praetieal instruction;

12. One-ultravieletlightineachsechook-

13- One-eleetric-orbattery-operated Two nail drill drills for filing and buffing in the school; and

+4-13.Nail products for acrylics, gels, tips, wraps, and polishing.

B. Eaeh-enrolled A school shall provide each student shall-have a nonreturnable student training kit containing, at a mini-
mum, the followmg

1. One' A exth oy an izona sy-laws-andrules standard textbook for

2. 3 BHR—W 5 ent-hai

3. Combs-andbrushes-without-defeets:-

4 c oot Lo i o Mareel handle:

5. Onerazor:-

6:  One-eutting-shear;and

7 One disinfected, covered container to store disinfected tools and mplements instruments as-speetfied-byR410-109;
and

4. A container for contaminated tools or instruments.

ARTICLE 4. SALONS

R4-10-401.  Application for a Salon License
An applicant for a salon license shall submit:
1. An application on a form provided by the Board;stgned-by-the-applticant,and netarized that contains:
a. The applicant’s name, address, seetal-seeurity-number tax ID number, signature, and telephone number;
b. If applicant is a partnership, each partner’s name, address, and an identification of whether a limited or gen-
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eral partner;
c. Ifa corporation, the state of incorporation and the name, title, and address of each officer of the corporation and

statutory agent;
d. The name of the salon as regrstered w1th the Secretarv of State
e nd-lteen 53 ofthe Rage ensed-by-the

fe. If a locatron change, the prevrous address;
gf. A history of the salon including:
i.  If location was previously licensed by the Board, the last name of the salen-er sehoel previous establish-
ment;
ii. The name of each business operating at the salon address; and

iii. A statement of whether the applicant, any partner of the applicant, or any corporate officer has ever ewned-a
sa}en—rn—arry—stateer—fefe%gn eeﬁﬂtw— had a hcense in any state or forergn countrV susnended or revoked

v

¥
2. If a corporation, the articles of incorporation;
3. If a partnershrp, a copy of the partnershrp agreement

sh ignate-the-loeation ofeach A signed statement that
the estabhshment is in comphance w1th all Board 1aws and rules and has the following in the salon:
a.  Wet disinfectant as-speeified-byR4-1+6-109;
b. Dry, closed, disinfected container to store disinfected tools and #mplements instruments as-speeified-byR4—10-
+69;
Sink or shampoo bowl with hot and cold running water that is not also used as a dispensary or restroom sink as
required by R4-10-403;

°©

Station;

Restroom; and

Eleetrical-outlet-and

Aetwrty Notrce nosted for activities performed in the salon by—rndmd-&a-}s—wd&e—&re

g o o

but not regulated by the

Board and
5. The fee required in R4-10-102.

R4-10-402.  Changes Affecting a Salon License

change-in-any-corporate-officer-or statutoryagent:
A new salon license shall be applied for as provided when:
A salon address is changed;

The name of a salon is changed;
The controlling ownership in a corporation is transferred or a corporation is reorganized; or

helbediNd'S

A corporation, limited liability company, or partnership has a change in any corporate officer, statutory agent, or part-

ner.

B. The salon owner and manager shall ensure that a Board issued license indicating proper ownership is posted in the salon
before beginning client services.

R4-10-403.  Salon Requirements and Minimum Equipment

A. A salon shall perform services to the public according to the type of license issued as-defired-byARS—§32-50+.
B. Salons shall have enough equipment, materials, supplies, tools, and implements instruments to ensure infection control

and safety for the public and employees.
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C. Each salon shall have:

1. A work station for each employee or person using space within the salon; and

2. Eleetrical-outlets:

3. If the salon is a cosmetology salon, a minimum of one shampoo bowl and one hair dryer that may be a blow dryer,
and; if the salon is an aesthetics or nail technology salon, a minimum of one sink in addition to the rest room or dis-
pensary sink:-aned-

5

Cleanlinenskeptin-a-eclosed-container.-
D. Aesthet1c1ans cosmetologlsts and nail technicians shall have disinfected-tools-and-implementsforeachelient.

o N—aﬂ—teelﬁmieraﬁs—shal-l—have enough equipment, materials, supplies, tools and implements instruments to ensure infection

control at all times and disinfection between clients.

R4-10-404.  Mobile Services
A. A mobile service shall-eperate which operates as an extension of a permanent licensed salon and-under shall advertise

B.

using the same name and ownership. The permanent licensed salon owner and manager are beth responsible for compli-

ance by the mobile service with statutes and rules: and:

B:1. A—heeﬂsee A salon providing mobile cosmetology, nail technology, or aesthetie aesthetics services shall apply—for

post licenses and post-them pursuantto R410-108-at-the-mebieservicetoeation as
required by R4-10-111-;

€:2. Appointments shall be made through the licensed salon where a book shall be kept of all appointments and locations
where services are performed-;

B-3. A mobile service is subject to inspection by the Board at any time-;

E=4. A retrofitted mobile unit used to conduct mobile services as an extension of a salon shall have the same equipment as
specified by R4-1+6-402 R4-10-403 and shall comply with safety and infection control requirements as specified by
R4-10-109- R4-10-112; and

¥:5. Mobile services which are conducted in other than a retrofitted mobile unit shall have equipment for-mebile-service
which is disinfected before use and stored as specified in R4-+0-109 R4-10-112.

A retrofitted motor vehicle used exclusively as a mobile facility that is dispatched from a business address shall comply

with all salon requirements and:

Comply with infection control and equipment requirements;

Appointments shall be made through the licensed retrofitted motor vehicle and a complete and current listing of

appointment locations shall be kept at the business address and displayed in a place listed on the salon application

that is available to an inspector at all times the retrofitted motor vehicle is open for business; and

The retrofitted motor vehicle owner and manager are responsible for compliance with the Board’s statutes and rules.

[N =
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	NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING
	NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING
	TITLE 3. AGRICULTURE
	CHAPTER 4. Department of Agriculture Plant Services Division
	[R05-407]

	PREAMBLE
	1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
	R3-4-301 Amend R3-4-302 Repeal R3-4-303 Repeal R3-4-304 Repeal R3-4-305 Repeal R3-4-306 Repeal

	2. The statutory authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the rules are implementing (specific):
	Authorizing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 3-107(A)(1), 3-201.01(A)
	Implementing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 3-212, 3-217

	3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
	Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 10 A.A.R. 5221, December 27, 2004

	4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:
	Name: Rebecca A. Nichols, Rules Analyst
	Address: Arizona Department of Agriculture 1688 W. Adams, Room 235 Phoenix, AZ 85007
	Telephone: (602) 542-0962
	Fax: (602) 542-5420
	E-mail: rnichols@azda.gov

	5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
	This rulemaking consolidates six rules into one. Outdated references to the State Entomologist and the Commission of Agriculture...

	6. A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and either proposes to rely on or not rely on in its e...
	None

	7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:
	Not applicable

	8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
	A. The Arizona Department of Agriculture.
	The Department will incur modest expenses related to educating staff and the regulated community regarding the new regulations.
	B. Political Subdivision.
	None
	C. Businesses Directly Affected By the Rulemaking.
	Nurseries electing to participate in the voluntary nursery certification program will benefit by having all certification option...

	9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the economic, small business, and consumer impact statement:
	Name: Rebecca A. Nichols, Rules Analyst
	Address: Arizona Department of Agriculture 1688 W. Adams, Room 235 Phoenix, AZ 85007
	Telephone: (602) 542-0962
	Fax: (602) 542-5420
	E-mail: rnichols@azda.gov

	10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the rule, or if no proceeding is scheduled, where, when, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:
	An oral proceeding is not scheduled for these proposed rules. To request an oral proceeding or to submit comments, please contac...

	11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of rules:
	None

	12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
	None

	13. The full text of the rules follows:

	TITLE 3. AGRICULTURE
	CHAPTER 4. Department of Agriculture Plant Services Division
	ARTICLE 3. NURSERY RULES
	Section
	R3-4-301. Special nursery certification; definitions Nursery Certification
	R3-4-302. Special nursery certification; Arizona certified nursery inspections Repealed
	R3-4-303. Special nursery certification; ozonium root rot inspection Repealed
	R3-4-304. Special nursery certification; other certification inspections Repealed
	R3-4-305. Special nursery certification; application Repealed
	R3-4-306. Special nursery certification inspection; denial, revocation, and suspension of certification Repealed

	ARTICLE 3. NURSERY RULES
	R3-4-301. Special nursery certification; definitions Nursery Certification
	In this Article, unless the context otherwise requires:
	1. “Certificate” means a document issued by the State Entomologist or by an inspector of the Commission stating that an agricultural commodity complies with the criteria set forth by an agricultural agency of any state, county, or commonwealth.
	2. “Common pest” means a pest, weed or disease which is not under state or federal quarantine or eradication program and is of general distribution within this state.
	3. “Injurious plant pests, weeds, and diseases” means any serious pest or common pest that is above the determined levels standa...
	4. “Laboratory disease analysis” means the processing of a sample so that any of the following examination and pathogen identifi...
	5. “Misuse or misrepresentation of certification” means reproduction of certificates not allowed pursuant to this Article withou...
	6. “Nursery location” means a parcel of ground operated as one unit with one physical address, upon which nursery stock is propagated or grown for commercial purposes.
	7. “Nurseryman” means any person engaged in the production of nursery stock for commercial purposes.
	8. “Serious pest” means a pest, weed or disease under state or federal quarantine or eradication programs or a pest, weed or dis...
	9. “Special nursery certification inspection” means an inspection carried out at the request of a nurseryman for the purpose of determining whether or not a certificate can be issued.
	A. Definitions. The following terms apply to this Section.
	“Associate Director” means the Associate Director of the Arizona Department of Agriculture’s Plant Services Division.
	“Certificate” means a document issued by the Director, Associate Director or by a Department inspector stating that the nursery stock complies with the criteria set forth by an agricultural agency of any state, county, or commonwealth.
	“Collected nursery stock” means nursery stock that has been dug or gathered from any site other than a nursery location.
	“Common pest” means a pest, weed or disease, which is not under state or federal quarantine or eradication program and is of general distribution within the state.
	“Commercially clean” means nursery stock offered for sale is in a healthy condition and though common pests may be present, they exist at levels that pose little or no risk.
	“Director” means the Director of the Arizona Department of Agriculture.
	“Nursery location” means a parcel of ground with one physical address, upon which nursery stock is propagated, grown, sold, distributed, or offered for sale.
	“General nursery stock certification” means an inspection carried out at the request of a person for the purpose of meeting the general nursery inspection requirements of another state.
	“Quarantine plant pest” means an economically important pest that does not occur in the state or that occurs in the state but is not widely distributed or is being officially eradicated.
	“Single Shipment inspection certificate” means an inspection requiring one visit to a single location by a Department inspector ...
	B. General nursery stock inspection certification. A person may apply for general nursery stock inspection certification by subm...
	1. The Department shall issue a general nursery stock inspection certificate to the applicant if, following a Department inspect...
	a. The Department shall only certify nursery stock that is found free of quarantine pests. The applicant shall not remove from t...
	b. The Department shall restrict the movement of any nursery stock found infested with a non-quarantine pest that an inspector d...

	2. A nursery with general nursery stock inspection certification shall remain free of quarantine pests and commercially clean of common pests that are adversely affecting the nursery stock throughout the certification period.
	3. Nursery stock from a certified nursery shall not be distributed, transported, or sold interstate if it is infested with a quarantine pest or a non-quarantine pest that is adversely affecting the nursery stock.
	4. A general nursery stock inspection certificate may be reproduced without the Department’s permission for use by the certified nursery
	5. A nursery’s general nursery stock inspection certificate shall accompany each shipment of nursery stock that is moved out of the state.
	6. A nursery with general nursery stock inspection certification shall maintain all invoices or other shipping documents for shi...
	7. The Department shall inspect a nursery with general nursery stock inspection certification throughout the certification period to verify compliance with the conditions in this Section.
	8. A nursery’s general nursery stock inspection certification shall expire on December 31 of each year unless suspended or revoked as provided in subsection (F).
	9. A nursery with general nursery stock inspection certification may also need to obtain special nursery stock inspection certification to meet a specific quarantine entry requirement of another state, as prescribed in subsection (C).

	C. Special nursery stock inspection certification. A person may apply for special nursery stock inspection certification to meet...
	1. The applicant’s nursery stock shall be free from quarantine pests as required by the receiving state and commercially clean o...
	2. A special nursery stock inspection certificate shall not be duplicated or reproduced without written permission from the Department.
	3. A special nursery stock inspection certificate shall be valid for one year from the issue date unless the receiving state requires a shorter certification period.

	D. Single shipment inspection certification. A person may apply for single shipment certification to meet the entry requirements...
	1. The nursery stock in each shipment shall be free from quarantine pests as required by the receiving state and commercially cl...
	2. A single shipment inspection certificate shall be valid for no more than 7 calendar days following the inspection date. The applicant may apply for new certification if the original certificate expires before the shipment leaves Arizona.
	3. A single shipment inspection certificate shall not be reproduced or duplicated.
	4. A person applying for single shipment inspection certification for collected nursery stock shall retain a record, for at leas...

	E. Application. A person applying for certification under this Section shall provide the following information on a form obtained from the Department:
	1. Applicant’s name, nursery name, mailing address, telephone and fax numbers, and e-mail address, as applicable;
	2. Location at which inspection is to be made, by legal description or physical address;
	3. Number of acres, structures, or vehicles to be inspected, as applicable;
	4. For shipping, the state, county, or commonwealth of planned destination, the category of inspection, and the nursery stock to be certified;
	5. Applicant’s social security number or tax identification number, and
	6. Applicant’s signature, and date of signature.

	F. Denial, revocation, or suspension of a nursery certification.
	1. The Associate Director may deny issuing a certification if, after inspection, it is determined that a requirement for certification is not met.
	2. The Associate Director may revoke a certification for a violation of a condition of the certification.
	3. The Associate Director may suspend, for a period of up to 90 days, a certification for misuse or misrepresentation of the certification.
	4. The Associate Director may refuse to issue or suspend a certification issued under this Article if the person representing a ...
	R3-4-302. Special nursery certification; Arizona certified nursery inspections Repealed


	A. Inspection and fee. Upon written application from a nurseryman and payment of an annual $30 fee per nursery location, an insp...
	B. Certification requirements. To qualify as an Arizona certified nursery, a nursery shall either be pest free or comply with the following actions required in a written remedial order issued by an inspector of the Commission.
	1. If nursery stock is found infested or infected with serious pests, it shall be quarantined until the pest has been eradicated.
	2. If nursery stock is infested or infected with common pests at detrimental levels, it shall be kept under a treatment program....

	C. Duration and use of Arizona certified nursery certificate. A current certificate declaring the nursery to be an Arizona certi...
	D. A nursery does not have to be an Arizona certified nursery to do business in the state of Arizona.
	R3-4-303. Special nursery certification; ozonium root rot inspection Repealed

	A. Inspection and fee. Upon written application from a nurseryman, an inspector of the Commission shall, for a fee of $50 per nursery location, perform an inspection as is necessary to determine whether an ozonium root rot certification can be issued.
	B. Certification requirements. Ozonium root rot certification requirements are specified in Arizona Commission of Agriculture an...
	C. Duration and use of ozonium root rot certificate:
	1. Ozonium root rot certification shall remain valid unless revoked as provided in Section R3-4-306(C) or (D).
	2. A certificate issued by the Commission cannot be reproduced without written permission of the Commission.
	R3-4-304. Special nursery certification; other certification inspections Repealed


	A. Inspection and fee. Upon the written request of a nurseryman and payment of the appropriate fee as specified below, the Commi...
	1. Shipment inspection. For an inspection which requires no more than one visit by an inspector to certify nursery stock schedul...
	2. Entire nursery location. For an inspection necessary to certify an entire nursery location, the fee shall be $30 per nursery location.
	3. Laboratory inspection. Fees for an inspection requiring laboratory disease analysis shall be assessed according to the follow...
	a. The fee for inspection of a sample for bacterium shall be $50.
	b. The fee for inspection of a sample for nematodes shall be $15.
	c. The fee for inspection of a sample for fungus shall be $15.
	d. The fee for laboratory disease analysis which exceeds the capability of the Commission’s laboratory and must be analyzed by a...

	4. Partial nursery inspection. When the agricultural agency of the receiving state, county or commonwealth does not require the ...
	5. Inspection of out-of-state shipments resulting in recertification. Plant shipments which have entered Arizona and have not lo...

	B. Certification requirements. The standard for certification requirements shall be determined by the agricultural agency of the...
	C. Duration and use of certification.
	1. Certification is valid for one year unless revoked as provided in Section R3-4-306(C) or (D); or unless the certification req...
	2. A certificate issued by the Commission cannot be reproduced without permission of the Commission.
	R3-4-305. Special nursery certification; application Repealed


	A. The nurseryman may make written application for ozonium root rot inspection on a form approved by the Commission. The form shall contain the following:
	1. Name of the applicant;
	2. The applicant’s mailing address and telephone number;
	3. The nursery location, identified by name, quantity of land, and location (county, range, township, and section);
	4. A section in which to specify the certification method requested.
	5. Applicant’s signature and date of application.

	B. The nursery may make a written application for special nursery certification inspections, which does not include ozonium root rot inspection, on a form approved by the Commission. The form shall contain the following:
	1. Applicant’s name, nursery name, mailing address, and telephone number;
	2. Location at which inspection is to be made by legal description or physical address;
	3. Quantity of land;
	4. A section in which to specify the state, county, or commonwealth of planned destination and the type of certification requested;
	5. Applicant’s signature and date of signature.
	R3-4-306. Special nursery certification inspection; denial, revocation, and suspension of certification Repealed


	A. The State Entomologist or an inspector of the Commission shall issue the appropriate certification if, after inspection, it is determined that all certification requirements are met.
	B. The State Entomologist or an inspector of the Commission shall deny the issuance of a certification if, after inspection, it is determined that the requirements for certification are not met.
	C. The Commission may revoke a certification for any violation of any of the conditions of that certification.
	D. The Commission may suspend, for a period not to exceed 90 days, any certification for any misuse or misrepresentation of that certification.



	NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING
	TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS
	CHAPTER 10. BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
	[R05-401]

	PREAMBLE
	1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
	R4-10-101 Amend R4-10-105 Amend R4-10-108 Amend R4-10-109 Repeal R4-10-110 Amend R4-10-111 Amend R4-10-201 Amend R4-10-203 Amend R4-10-204 Amend R4-10-205 Amend R4-10-206 Amend R4-10-401 Amend R4-10-402 Amend R4-10-403 Amend R4-10-404 Amend

	2. The statutory authority for the rulemaking, including both the authorizing statute (general) and the statutes the rules are implementing (specific):
	Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 32-504(A)(1)
	Implementing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 32-501, 510, 511, 512, 513, 514, 515, 517, 518, 531, 532, 533, 537, 541, 542, 543, 544, 545, 551, 552, 554, 555, 556, 557, 558, 559, 560, 561, 562, 563, and 564

	3. A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the proposed rule:
	Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 11 A.A.R. 4141, October 21, 2005

	4. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:
	Name: Cheryl Adams, Deputy Director and Rules Coordinator
	Address: 1721 E. Broadway Rd. Tempe, AZ 85282
	Telephone: (480) 784-4539, ext. 227
	Fax: (480) 784-4962
	E-mail: cheryl.adams@cb.state.az.us

	5. An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule:
	A.R.S. § 32-504 requires the Arizona State Board of Cosmetology to adopt rules for the regulation of the cosmetology profession.
	The rule amendments are meant to clarify rules, eliminate unnecessary requirements, and make grammatical corrections. Further, R...

	6. A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and either proposes to rely on or not rely on in its e...
	None

	7. A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:
	Not applicable

	8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
	The Board of Cosmetology, licensed schools, and students will bear any costs associated with the rules. Changes such as pre-scre...
	Other rules eliminate the requirement of signing before a notary public which may constitute a saving.

	9. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the accuracy of the economic, small business, and consumer impact statement:
	Interested persons may contact the rules coordinator listed in item #4 regarding the economic, small business, and consumer impact statement.

	10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the rule, or if no proceeding is scheduled, where, when, and how persons may request an oral proceeding on the proposed rule:
	No public hearing is planned for this rulemaking; however, oral proceedings may be requested by contacting the person listed in ...
	A person with a disability may request a reasonable accommodation, such as a sign language interpreter, by contacting the individual listed in item #4. A request should be made as early as possible to allow time to arrange the accommodation.

	11. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of rules:
	Not applicable

	12. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rules:
	Not applicable

	13. The full text of the rules follows:

	TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS
	CHAPTER 10. BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY
	ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
	Section
	R4-10-101. Definitions
	R4-10-105. Application for License by Reciprocity
	R4-10-108. Licensing Examinations
	R4-10-109. Instructor Examinations Repealed
	R4-10-110. Reactivating an Inactive License
	R4-10-111. Display of Licenses and Signs

	ARTICLE 2. SCHOOLS
	Section
	R4-10-201. Application for a School License; Renewal
	R4-10-203. General School Requirements
	R4-10-204. School Records
	R4-10-205. Aesthetic School Requirements
	R4-10-206. Cosmetology School Requirements

	ARTICLE 4. SALONS
	Section
	R4-10-401. Application for a Salon License
	R4-10-402. Changes Affecting a Salon License
	R4-10-403. Salon Requirements and Minimum Equipment
	R4-10-404. Mobile Services

	ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
	R4-10-101. Definitions
	In this Chapter unless otherwise specified:
	1. “Accredited” means approved by the:
	a. New England Association of Schools and Colleges,
	b. Middle states States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools,
	c. North Central Association of Colleges and Schools,
	d. Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges,
	e. Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, or
	f. Western Association of Schools and Colleges.

	2. “Administrative completeness review” means the Board’s process for determining that an individual applicant has:
	a. Provided provided all of the information and documents required by Board statute or rule for an application; and
	b. If applicable, taken an examination given by the Board.

	3. “Applicant” means an individual or any of the following seeking licensure by the Board:
	a. If a corporation, any two officers of the corporation;
	b. If a partnership, any two of the partners; or
	c. If a limited liability company, the designated manager corporate contact person, or if no manager contact person is designated, any two members of the limited liability company.

	4. “Application packet” means the forms and documents required by the Board requires an applicant to submit or have submitted on the applicant’s behalf.
	5. “Certification of hours” or “certification of licensure” means a document that states the total number of hours completed at a school or status of license, including:
	a. A written statement of the hours received in a licensed school or a, record of license history, or credits a student received...
	b. A notarized If a student is transferring from one Arizona school to another pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-560, a transfer applicati...

	6. “Clinic floor” means the area where students perform client services for the public for a fee means the area where students practice on the general public for a fee.
	7. “Course” means an organized subject matter in which instruction is offered within a given period of time and for which credit toward graduation or certification is given.
	8. “Credit” means one earned academic unit of study based on completing a high school’s required number of class sessions per ca...
	9. “Days” means calendar days.
	10. “Delinquent” means a license renewal that is not completed and filed with the Board or postmarked on or before the license renewal date required by A.R.S § 32-501 through 32- 564 or this Chapter.
	11. “Double bracing” means using a stable base of support and two points of contact for the hand while performing a procedure.
	1211. “Establishment” means a business that operates functions as a school or a salon in a structure that has a physical street address and functions as a salon or school at least an average of 20 hours a week for the majority of the year. and
	a. If a salon, operates as a salon in, or is dispatched from, a structure that has a physical street address; or
	b. If a school,
	i. Equipment for each classroom is to be the same as that required for each course of instruction in a school;
	ii. Combination school requirements are the same for distant classrooms;
	iii. Private Post Secondary facilities shall not extend the school beyond .5 miles apart as verified by map readings; and
	iv. Public educational facilities shall not extend the school beyond the school designated campus.


	13. “Family member” means:
	a. The applicant’s spouse;
	b. The natural or adopted children, father, mother, grandparents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, first cousins, and second cousins of the applicant; or
	c. The natural or adopted children, father, mother, grandparents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, first cousins, and second cousins of the applicant’s spouse.

	14.12. “Graduation” or “graduated from a school” means the completion of the criteria established by a cosmetology, an aesthetic...
	15.13. “High school equivalency” means:
	a. A high school diploma from a school recognized by the basic education authority or the Department of Education in the jurisdiction in which the school is located,
	b. A total score of 45 points on a high school equivalency general educational development test or its equivalent as required by the Department of Education,
	c. An associate degree or 15 academic credits from a junior college recognized by the basic education authority in the jurisdiction in which the college is located, or
	d. Any degree from a college or university recognized by the basic education authority in the jurisdiction in which the college or university is located.

	16.14. “Hour” means one clock hour.
	17.15. “Instructor training” means the courses required by specified in R4-10-302.
	16. “Lab” means the area in which instruction is provided regarding demonstration, theory, and practice on mannequins or live models without charge.
	17. “Licensed in another state of the United States or foreign country” means that a governmental regulatory agency in the state...
	18. “Manager” means an individual licensed by the Board who is responsible for ensuring a salon’s an establishment’s compliance with A.R.S. §§ 32-501 through 32-575 et seq. and this Chapter.
	19. “Model” means a mannequin for a cosmetology or nail technology examination, or person for an aesthetics examination, or eith...
	20. “Owner” means an individual or entity that has controlling legal or equitable interest and authority who is responsible for ensuring an establishment’s compliance with A.R.S. 32-501 et seq. and this Chapter in an establishment.
	21. “Patron” means any client of an establishment or student of a school.
	22. “Personal knowledge” means actual observation of an individual, other than a family member, who is currently practicing practiced aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail technology in any state or country.
	22.23. “Practice” means engaging in the occupation profession of aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail technology, or instructor.
	23. “Primary category of practice performed in the salon”, as stated in A.R.S. § 32-574(A)(2), means:
	a. The practice, either aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail technology, for which the majority of the salon’s employees or independent contractors hold licenses; or
	b. The practice for which the salon owner holds a license.

	24. “Reciprocity” means the procedure for granting an Arizona license to an applicant who has received the required hours from a...
	25. “Substantive review” means the Board’s process for determining that an applicant for licensure meets the requirements of A.R...
	26. “10th grade equivalency” means:
	a. 10 Ten high school credits, including two in English, from any school recognized by the basic education authority or the Department of Education in the jurisdiction in which the credits were obtained, or proof ;
	b. Proof that the prospective student is 23 years old. Satisfactory proof of the prospective student’s age is shown by a government-issued driver’s license or identification card, a birth certificate, or a passport; or
	c. High school equivalency.

	27. “Transfer application”, as used in A.R.S. § 32-560, means an application that documents the transfer of a student from one A...
	R4-10-105. Application for License by Reciprocity


	An applicant for an aesthetics, cosmetology, nail technician technology, or instructor license by reciprocity shall submit the applicable fee required in R4-10-102 and all of the following to the Board:
	1. An application provided by the Board, and signed by the applicant, and notarized that contains:
	a. The applicant’s name, address, telephone number, gender, passport quality photo, social security Social Security number, and birth date;
	b. If previously licensed by the Board, the type of license, license number, license expiration date, and the name used on the license; and
	c. A statement of whether the applicant has ever had an aesthetics, a cosmetology, a nail technician technology, or an instructor license suspended or revoked in any state or foreign country; and .
	d. A statement under oath by the applicant verifying the truthfulness of the information provided by the applicant;

	2. A certification of hours and proof of graduation or licensure in another state of the United States or a foreign country that shows the number of hours received in a school or the initial and final dates of licensure; and .
	3. To demonstrate compliance with the practice requirements in A.R.S. § 32-513 (A)(2) or A.R.S. § 32-532(3), a notarized form, s...
	a. The name of the applicant;
	b. The type of practice engaged in by the applicant;
	c. The initial and final dates of applicant’s practice;
	d. The name, address, and telephone number of the salon where the applicant is or was practicing;
	e. If completed by a licensee with personal knowledge, the initial and final dates of the practice;
	f. If completed by an individual who is a supplier, the initial and final dates the aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail technology products were provided;
	g. If completed by an owner or manager of a salon, the name, current address, and current telephone number of the owner and lice...
	h. A statement under oath, signed by the owner or manager, licensed individual, or supplier, verifying the truthfulness of the information.
	R4-10-108. Licensing Examinations


	A. An examination application A pre-screening review of examination qualifications may be submitted prior to graduation from a s...
	1. 1450 hours of cosmetology training,
	2. 500 hours of aesthetics or nail technician training,
	3. 550 hours of cosmetology instructor training,
	4. 400 hours for aesthetics instructor training, or
	5. 250 hours of nail technician instructor training.

	B. After pre-screening is complete, a student may receive an examination date but will not be examined until certification of gr...
	C. If an examination pre-screening review is not requested, an examination application will not be accepted until the applicant has received the hours required for graduation and has graduated from a school licensed by the Board.
	D. All examinations shall be held in the Board’s examination center at the Board’s office unless another location is designated by the Board in its written notice to the applicant.
	E. The Board shall notify applicants in writing at least 10 days before the examination of the time and place assigned for the examination.
	D.F. Applicants shall verify their provide identification upon entering the examination center with a passport, driver’s license...
	E.G. Examinations shall consist of both written and practical sections and shall include live demonstrations of aesthetics, cosm...
	F.H. Applicants shall comply with all infection control and safety standards required by R4-10-109 R4-10-112 during the examination.
	G.I. Applicants who cannot appear for an examination as scheduled shall notify the Board at least 48 hours before the scheduled ...
	H.J. Applicants shall supply equipment, supplies, tools, or implements instruments, and a mannequin or model as required. Applicants who choose to perform wet sets and comb-outs on a mannequin shall supply the mannequin.
	I.K. Current or former students or student instructors in an aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail technology schools school shall not be used as models in the live demonstration of aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail technology or instructor examinations.
	J.L. Examination materials shall are not be made available to applicants for inspection or copying before, during, or after an examination.
	K.M. Notebooks, notes, tape recorders, and dictionaries Written material or recording media shall are not be allowed in either t...
	L.N. If an applicant has passed the examination but does not apply for an original license within one year after the date of the examination, the examination scores shall be voided.
	M. A written request to review a failed examination shall be made within 30 calendar days of the postmarked date of the examinat...
	N.O. The If application is made by reciprocity, the Board may accept a score on a written or practical examination from another ...
	O.P. The Board shall conduct all examinations in English and applicants shall submit answers in English.
	R4-10-109. Instructor Examinations Repealed

	A. In addition to the requirements set forth in R4-10-104, examinations for instructor licenses in aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail technology shall contain both written and practical sections.
	B. The written aesthetician examination may include questions relating to the Arizona Cosmetology statutes (A.R.S. § 32- 501 et seq.), Arizona Cosmetology rules as they relate to aesthetics (R4-10-101 et seq.) and questions from the following subjects:
	1. Skin treatments;
	2. Facial machines;
	3. Cosmetics;
	4. Product applications to skin;
	5. Depilatories;
	6. Artificial eyelashes;
	7. Lash and brow tinting;
	8. Salon management;
	9. Professional ethics;
	10. Consultation and analysis;
	11. Theory, principles, and methods of teaching;
	12. Dermatology;
	13. Massage;
	14. Infection control;
	15. Bacteriology;
	16. First aid;
	17. Hygiene;
	18. Chemistry;
	19. Histology;
	20. Anatomy;
	21. Physiology;
	22. Aromatherapy;
	23. Chromatology;
	24. Light therapy and electricity, as these subjects are related to salon services and the practice of aesthetics.

	C. The practical aesthetician examination may consist of a presentation of a theory class and a demonstration before at least on...
	1. The theory class presentation may include any of the following subjects:
	a. Skin treatments;
	b. Cosmetics;
	c. Product applications to skin;
	d. Depilatories;
	e. Artificial eyelashes;
	f. Lash and brow tinting;
	g. Salon management;
	h. Professional ethics;
	i. Facial machines;
	j. Consultation and analysis;
	k. Dermatology;
	l. Massage;
	m. Infection control;
	n. Bacteriology;
	o. First aid;
	p. Hygiene;
	q. Chemistry;
	r. Histology;
	s. Anatomy;
	t. Physiology;
	u. Aromatherapy;
	v. Chromatology; and
	w. Light therapy and electricity, as these subjects relate to salon services and the practice of aesthetics.

	2. The demonstration may include any of the following subjects:
	a. Massage;
	b. Skin treatments;
	c. Facial machines;
	d. Product applications to skin;
	e. Depilatories;
	f. Artificial eyelash application;
	g. Lash and brow tinting;
	h. Consultation and analysis; and
	i. High frequency application.


	D. The written cosmetologist examination may include questions relating to the Arizona Cosmetology statutes (A.R.S. § 32- 501 et seq.), Arizona Cosmetology rules relating to cosmetology (R4-10-101 et seq.) and questions from the following subjects:
	1. Chemical hair restructuring;
	2. Hair coloring,
	3. Nail technology;
	4. Aesthetics and makeup;
	5. Scalp and hair treatments;
	6. Salon management;
	7. Professional ethics;
	8. Shampooing and rinsing;
	9. Hair shaping;
	10. Hairstyling;
	11. Depilatories;
	12. Consultation and analysis;
	13. Theory, principles, and methods of teaching;
	14. Massage;
	15. Infection control;
	16. Bacteriology;
	17. First aid;
	18. Hygiene;
	19. Chemistry;
	20. Dermatology;
	21. Trichology;
	22. Onychology;
	23. Histology;
	24. Anatomy;
	25. Physiology; and
	26. Electricity as these subjects are related to salon services and the practice of cosmetology.

	E. The practical cosmetologist examination may consist of a presentation of a theory class and a demonstration before least one ...
	1. The theory class presentation may include any of the following subjects:
	a. Chemical hair restructuring,
	b. Hair coloring,
	c. Nail technology,
	d. Aesthetics and makeup,
	e. Scalp and hair treatments,
	f. Salon management,
	g. Professional ethics,
	h. Shampooing and rinsing,
	i. Hair shaping,
	j. Hairstyling,
	k. Depilatories,
	l. Consultation and analysis,
	m. Massage,
	n. Infection control,
	o. Trichology,
	p. Bacteriology,
	q. First aid,
	r. Hygiene,
	s. Chemistry,
	t. Dermatology,
	u. Onychology,
	v. Histology,
	w. Anatomy,
	x. Physiology, and
	y. Electricity; and
	z. Salon management as they relate to salon services and the practice of cosmetology.

	2. The demonstration may include any of the following subjects:
	a. Chemical hair restructuring,
	b. Hair coloring,
	c. Nail technology,
	d. Aesthetics and makeup,
	e. Scalp and hair treatments,
	f. Shampooing and rinsing,
	g. Hair shaping,
	h. Hairstyling,
	i. Depilatories,
	j. Massage, and
	k. High frequency application.


	F. The written nail technician examination may include questions relating to the Arizona Cosmetology statutes (A.R.S. § 32- 501 et seq.), Arizona Cosmetology rules relating to nail technology (R4-10-101 et seq.) and questions from the following subjects:
	1. Manicuring;
	2. Pedicuring;
	3. Salon management;
	4. Professional ethics;
	5. Artificial nail application;
	6. Nail wraps;
	7. Theory, principles, and methods of teaching massage;
	8. Infection control;
	9. Bacteriology;
	10. First aid;
	11. Hygiene;
	12. Chemistry;
	13. Dermatology;
	14. Onychology;
	15. Histology;
	16. Anatomy; and
	17. Physiology as these subjects are related to salon services and the practice of nail technology.

	G. The practical nail technician examination may consist of a presentation of a theory class and a demonstration before at least...
	1. The theory class presentation may include any of the following subjects:
	a. Manicuring,
	b. Pedicuring,
	c. Salon management,
	d. Professional ethics,
	e. Consultation and analysis,
	f. Artificial nail applications, and
	g. Nail wraps,
	h. Massage,
	i. Infection control,
	j. Bacteriology,
	k. First aid,
	l. Hygiene,
	m. Chemistry,
	n. Dermatology,
	o. Onychology,
	p. Histology,
	q. Anatomy, and
	r. Physiology as these subjects relate to salon services and the practice of nail technology.

	2. The demonstration may include any of the following subjects:
	a. Manicuring,
	b. Pedicuring,
	c. Artificial nail applications, and


	H. Each theory class presentation and each demonstration shall last approximately 30 minutes.
	I. At the start of each instructor examination, the applicant shall identify, to the examination administrator, textbooks, visua...
	R4-10-110. Reactivating an Inactive License

	A. A cosmetology, nail technology, aesthetician aesthetics, or instructor license that has been inactive for less than one year will be reactivated by paying the delinquent renewal penalty.
	B. A cosmetology, nail technology, aesthetics, or instructor license that has been inactive for more than one year, but less tha...
	1. Attending completing an Infection Control class and a Law Review class, offered by the Board, to be paid for by the licensee; .
	2. Passing the written and practical portions of the state license examination; or
	3. Submitting documentation to the Board that the licensee has satisfied the educational requirements stated in subsection (D) below.

	B.C. A cosmetology, nail technology, aesthetics, or instructor license that has been inactive for more than two five years, but ...
	1. Passing the written and practical portions of the state license examination, or Provide a certification of licensure;
	2. Submitting documentation to the Board that the licensee has satisfied the educational requirements stated in subsection (D) below. Complete the infection protection class and law review class given by the Board;
	3. Take and pass the Board examination pertaining to the type of license formerly held; and
	4. Pay the delinquent renewal penalty.

	C.D. If a cosmetology, nail technology, aesthetics, or instructor license has been inactive for more than 10 ten years, the licensee shall complete all original licensing requirements.
	D. To satisfy the educational requirements in A.R.S. § 32-518(D)(2) to reactivate a license, the licensee shall pay the delinque...
	1. Aestheticians shall receive 120 hours of training.
	2. Cosmetologists shall receive 250 hours of training.
	3. Nail Technicians shall receive 80 120 hours of training.

	E. To satisfy the educational requirements in A.R.S. § 32-518(D)(2) to reactivate an instructor’s license, the licensee shall pa...
	1. Received 200 hours of instructor’s training, including methods of teaching, while the instructor’s license was inactive, in a licensed aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail technology school; or
	2. Passed the written and practical portions of the state license examination; .

	F. The first 120 hours of aesthetics instructor training may be applied to reactivate an aesthetician license.
	G. The first 250 hours of cosmetology instructor training may be applied to reactivate a cosmetology license.
	H. The first 80 hours of nail technology instructor training may be applied to reactivate a nail technician license.
	R4-10-111. Display of Licenses and Signs

	A. The name on an establishment’s exterior sign, advertising, or and publication shall be the same as the name on the establishm...
	B. Schools shall prominently post a class schedule that lists the names of instructors and classes. The establishment school and instructor licenses shall be displayed near the establishment school entrance where visible to the public.
	C. Salons shall prominently post the salon license and the individual licenses of all licensees performing services in the salon.
	D. A licensee who is performing mobile services shall prominently display a duplicate personal of the and establishment license ...
	D.E. A copy of R4-10-109 R4-10-112 shall be prominently posted in both the establishment and the mobile service area.
	F. A Salons salon shall prominently post a notice of salon services that are not regulated by the Board and are performed by people who are not licensed by the Board.


	ARTICLE 2. SCHOOLS
	R4-10-201. Application for a School License; Renewal
	A. An applicant for a school license shall submit the documents required in A.R.S. § 32-551 and:
	1. Submit an An application on a form provided by the Board, signed by the applicant, and notarized that contains:
	a. The applicant’s name, address, social security number, federal tax identification number, and telephone number;
	b. If a partnership, each partner’s name and address and an identification of whether a limited or general partner;
	c. If a corporation, the state of incorporation and the name, title, and address of each officer at least two officers of the corporation;
	d. The name under which the school will be operated;
	e. The name and address and Board issued license number of the Board licensed instructor who is in charge of the school;
	f. If an existing school, the date the applicant will be assuming ownership; and
	g. If a new school, the date of scheduled opening of the school;

	2. If a corporation, submit the articles of incorporation;
	3. Submit an 8 1/2" by 11" floor plan of the school A signed statement that the establishment has equipment required by statute and rule for the school;
	4. Submit an An uncompleted unexecuted contract form required by A.R.S. § 32-558;
	5. Submit a A schedule that includes the hours of each day and each day of a calendar week during which the school will be open for instruction;
	6. Submit a A proposed schedule of classes to be taught at the school;
	7. The name, address, and phone number of the bonding company and a copy of the bond;
	8. A copy of all school policies and procedures;
	9. Submit a A school catalog containing the information required by A.R.S. § 32-559 and
	a. The number of days required for course enrollment necessary to complete the hours required for the course;
	b. The days and hours of operation, vacation periods, and holidays;
	c. A listing of policies regarding leaves of absence and vacation approval;

	8.10. Demonstrate compliance with A.R.S. § 32-551 through § 32-575 and these rules through a school inspection conducted by the Board; and
	9.11. Submit a The fee required in R4-10-102.

	B. In addition to the requirements in R4-10-107, a licensee shall submit the following when renewing a license:
	1. An updated floor plan not exceeding 8 1/2" by 11" for all structural improvements;
	2. The most recent school catalog showing:
	a. Any modifications, additions, or deletions;
	b. An index reflecting where the information required by A.R.S. § 32-559 is located in the catalog; and
	c. The names name of each accrediting or approving organization.

	3.2. A subject description of each new course and its schedule if applicable;
	4.3. A new operating schedule if change occurred;
	5.4. The name and address of any new statutory agent;
	6. If the school changes its name, a request for approval of the name and the fee required in R4-10-102; and
	7.5. The name and license number of the current manager licensed instructor in charge of the school;
	6. The name, address, and phone number of the bonding company; the bond number; expiration date of the bond; and a copy of the bond.

	C. If the owner enters into a management contract, the terms and conditions of that contract must be submitted upon signature;
	D. If change occurs to the catalogue, policies, procedures, bond, subject description or any new course, new operating schedule, new statutory agent, or student contract during the year, changes shall be submitted within five days of change.
	R4-10-203. General School Requirements

	A. Aesthetic Aesthetics, cosmetology, and nail technology schools shall comply with R4-10-109 R4-10-112 and have the following minimum facilities, equipment, supplies, and materials:
	1. One area of instruction for every 20 students;
	2. A licensed instructor as manager or director;
	3. A desk, table, and chair, or other instructional fixtures and facilities for each student during theory instruction;
	4. Filing cabinets to hold all school and student records;
	5. An instruction Board in each room used for instruction;
	6. At least 2 two cubic feet of individual locked area with a different locking device for each enrolled student and each instructor to store personal objects and training kits;
	7. A sink area for each 50 students in attendance for the preparation, mixing, and dispensing of supplies and chemicals, and for the disinfection of small tools or implements instruments;
	8. At least one rest room meeting the requirements of R4-10-109 R4-10-112.
	9. Separate receptacles for garbage and soiled linens; and
	10. One container for wet disinfectant when for each student performing aesthetics and nail technology as specified by R4-10-109.

	B. The school shall furnish the appropriate amount of equipment, tools, implements instruments, materials, and supplies needed t...
	C. The school shall have a library for student use which contains at least the following materials relating to the course or courses offered by the school:
	1. Standard dictionary;
	2. Medical dictionary;
	3. Anatomy chart on bones, muscles, nerves, hands, arms, nails, veins, arteries, circulatory system, hair, and skin;
	4. Three current periodicals on the art and science of cosmetology;
	5. Current cosmetology instruction manuals or textbooks;
	6. Current Arizona Cosmetology laws and rules governing the practice of aesthetics, cosmetology, and nail technology; and
	7. A cosmetology dictionary.

	D. Each school shall maintain a complete file on all current curriculum requirements.
	E. Schools may award reduced tuition, scholarships, and grants to students. Schools shall not pay salaries to enrolled students other than student instructors.
	F. Licensed schools may offer postgraduate or advanced continuing education cosmetology courses, including theory and lab, to st...
	1. Credit hours toward graduation or licensure shall not be granted or reported to the Board;
	2. Currently enrolled students shall not perform services upon a person without an instructor present;
	3. A student file is not required for licensed individuals; and
	4. Licensees must have licensee’s current Board-issued license number onsite.

	G. Individuals licensed pursuant to A.R.S. § 32-501 et seq. by this Board may re-enroll in a licensed school for a refresher course as a current student. Credit hours for training received during regular school hours shall be submitted to the Board.
	H. Schools shall establish a periodic grading schedule and keep student transcripts current.
	I. Schools shall provide a notice to students at least 60 days prior to the end of the enrollment period set forth in the school...
	J. Schools shall schedule a minimum of four hours of theory classes each week for each full-time student and a minimum of two hours of theory classes each week for each part-time student.
	J.K. Safety and infection control measures relating to each subject shall be taught in conjunction with that subject.
	K.L. Schools shall not solicit students for enrollment on the site of other schools.
	L.M. While in school, instructors shall wear a tag indicating their the instructor’s name and courses they teach.
	M.N. Schools shall ensure compliance with the following:
	1. Students shall attend school no more than 56 hours in any one week.
	2. Students shall operate only safe equipment in good repair.
	3. Students of aesthetics, cosmetology, and nail technology shall perform services within the course in which they are enrolled,...
	4. Students shall not be prevented or discouraged from making a complaint to the Board.
	5. Students may receive a maximum of 16 hours credit for field trips if the trip has been approved by the Board. One licensed instructor shall accompany no more than 20 students.
	6. Students shall not be dismissed from a scheduled theory instruction or written or practical examination to perform clinical services to the public; and
	7.6. While in school, each student shall wear a tag indicating their the student’s name and the course in which they are the student is enrolled.
	R4-10-204. School Records


	A. Student records shall be kept at the school where the student is enrolled and are subject to inspection by the Board at all times.
	B. When a student transfers from one school to another, the school from which the student is transferring shall keep a copy of t...
	C. Each school shall keep:
	1. A complete and accurate record of the time devoted by each student to the enrolled course of study;
	2. Records A complete and accurate record which shows the basis for certification of the student hours. Schools shall certify on...
	3. An A complete and accurate individual student file for each student enrolled containing:
	a. Contract and enrollment agreement;
	b. Financial aid transcript;
	c. Proof of 10th grade or high school equivalency for a student enrolled in an aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail technology cours...
	d. Identification numbers number;
	e. Proof of one year of licensed work experience for a student instructor in aesthetics, cosmetology, or nail technology;
	f. A signed statement signed by school administration and the student indicating receipt a listing of contracted supplies contai...
	i. The price of items contained in the kit;
	ii. When the items shall be distributed;
	iii. The manufacturer of the products;
	iv. The retail value of the kit; and
	v. A statement that if substitutions occur after the contract is signed, the substitutions shall be of comparable value; and

	g. A record of completed hours including proof of hours earned in another state or country; and

	4. Current Complete and accurate academic transcripts and attendance and hour records or time cards for Board inspection.

	D. A complete and accurate monthly report submitted to the Board shall be postmarked electronically delivered no later than the 10th day of each month. The monthly report shall include:
	1. The For each student enrolled since the prior monthly report only:
	a. name, Name;
	b. student Student identification number,;
	c. enrollment Enrollment date,;
	d. address, Address;
	e. telephone Telephone number, ;
	f. Type of educational documentation to meet the requirements of R4-10-104;
	g. Proof of hours received in another Arizona licensed school, state, or country certified by the school, if applicable;
	h. Proof of crossover hours necessary to qualify for R4-10-306, if applicable; and
	i. birth Birth date of each student enrolled in the school since the prior monthly report; .

	2. The enrollment category of each student, as nail technology, cosmetology, aesthetics, or student instructor;
	3. The type of education documentation received by the school to prove that each student is qualified to enroll in cosmetology school;
	4. The name, license number, and work schedule of the instructor in charge of the school, and name of the custodian of records;
	5.4. The name, license number, and dates of employment work schedule of each instructor employed by the school;
	6.5. The signature of the instructor who prepares and certifies the report as being true and correct;
	7.6. The name of student instructors, the scheduled attendance, and current aesthetician, cosmetologist, or nail technician Board-issued license number from any state or country;
	8.7. For each demonstration given, the name of the demonstrator, the name of the observing instructor, the name of the process o...
	9. Documentation at the time of the 1st reporting period after enrollment certifying a student’s credit hours from a prior enrollment in any school, or crossover hours as specified by R4-10-306;
	10.8. Total hours received by each student during the month of the report. Hours received by each student for the prior month, the current month, and total cumulative hours. This total shall not be amended without satisfactory proof of error;
	11.9. Signature of each student verifying approval of the certified hours;
	12.10. Certification of those students who have met the graduation requirements of the school, including the day, month, and year of graduation; and
	13.11. The notation “transferred”, , “ withdrawn”, , “ or “leave of absence” for students who discontinue training, and the day,...

	E. A person who has registered for the Board examination and has completed the required hours for graduation, but stays in school until the date of the examination, shall be credited for the additional hours earned after graduation.
	R4-10-205. Aesthetic School Requirements

	A. Schools which provide aesthetics 600-hour training for students, 500-hour training for instructors, or both, shall provide the following minimum facilities, equipment, supplies, and materials in addition to that required by R4-10-203 and R4- 10-204:
	1. A work station for each student in attendance to perform aesthetics services to the public, each having;
	a. A facial chair or table;
	b. A table top which is 32" by 16" 12" x 18" or larger;
	c. A mirror that is at least 4" by 4" when performing services on a client;
	d. A dry, disinfected, covered container to store disinfected tools and implements instruments as specified by R4- 10-109, and
	e.d. A labeled receptacle for contaminated tools or implements instruments.

	2. One steamer, vaporizer, or pulverizer machine for every 12 students in attendance four students in attendance during lab and two students in attendance during clinic;
	3. One galvanic current machine One microdermabrasion machine to be used at a non-invasive level;
	4. One suction or vacuum machine with a comedone extractor and a sebum extractor for every 12 students in attendance;
	5. One high frequency Tesla or violet ray unit and a facial electrode for every 12 students in attendance;
	6. One magnifying lamp of at least a 5 diopter for every 12 two students in attendance during lab and every four students in attendance during clinic students in attendance;
	7. One therapeutic lamp for every 12 students in attendance;
	8.5. Cleansing cream Cleansers;
	9.6. Massage cream medium;
	10.7. Astringent, toner, and mist Toner;
	11.8. Mask or pack Exfolients and masks; and
	12.9. Chemical and physical depilatories; Depilatories.
	13. Artificial eyelashes; and
	14. Cosmetics

	B. Each student school shall have provide a student training kit for each enrolled, aesthetics student enrolled containing, at a minimum, the following:
	1. One standard textbook for professional aestheticians; and Arizona cosmetology laws and rules;
	2. One set of four facial brushes without defects copy of Arizona cosmetology laws and rules;
	3. One professional tweezer;
	4. One disinfected, covered container to store disinfected tools and implements instruments as specified by R4-10-109 R4-10-112; and
	5.4. A container for contaminated tools or implements instruments.
	R4-10-206. Cosmetology School Requirements


	A. Schools which provide cosmetology 1600-hour training for students, 650-hour training for instructors, or both, shall provide ...
	1. A work station for each student in attendance performing cosmetology services to the public for a fee, each having:
	a. A mirror that is at least 18" by 30" when performing services on a client;
	b. A table top or counter;
	c. A client chair;
	d. A disinfected, covered receptacle to store disinfected tools and implements instruments, as specified by R4-10- 109; and
	e. A container for contaminated tools or implements instruments;

	2. One shampoo basin for each 10 students in attendance during practical lab or clinic instruction;
	3. One hand-held hair dryer for each student in attendance during practical lab or clinic instruction;
	4. One hooded dryer for each seven 20 students in attendance during practical lab or clinic instruction;
	5. One high-frequency Tesla or violet-ray unit, including a facial and scalp electrode, for each 20 students in attendance during practical instruction;
	6. One Two electric clipper clippers in the school for each five students in attendance during practical instruction;
	7. Chemical and physical depilatories Depilatories;
	8. Chemical hair straighteners including: ;
	a. Thioglycolate, and
	b. Sodium hydroxide.

	9. One nail technology table with a 32" x 16" 12" x 18" or larger top for each 10 students in attendance during practical instruction;
	10. A facial work station for each 10 aesthetic student students in attendance during and receiving practical lab or clinic aesthetics instruction;
	11. An A receptacle, large enough to completely immerse both two feet, for each 20 10 cosmetology students in attendance during lab or clinic nail technology practical instruction;
	12. One ultraviolet light in each school;
	13. One electric or battery-operated Two nail drill drills for filing and buffing in the school; and
	14.13. Nail products for acrylics, gels, tips, wraps, and polishing.

	B. Each enrolled A school shall provide each student shall have a nonreturnable student training kit containing, at a minimum, the following:
	1. One instruction manual or textbook of cosmetology, and Arizona Cosmetology laws and rules standard textbook for professional cosmetologists;
	2. One mannequin with sufficient hair on which to practice cosmetology One copy of Arizona cosmetology laws and rules;
	3. Combs and brushes without defects;
	4. One electric curling iron with a Marcel-type handle;
	5. One razor;
	6. One cutting shear; and
	7. One disinfected, covered container to store disinfected tools and implements instruments as specified by R4-10-109; and
	4. A container for contaminated tools or instruments.


	ARTICLE 4. SALONS
	R4-10-401. Application for a Salon License
	An applicant for a salon license shall submit:
	1. An application on a form provided by the Board, signed by the applicant, and notarized that contains:
	a. The applicant’s name, address, social security number tax ID number, signature, and telephone number;
	b. If applicant is a partnership, each partner’s name, address, and an identification of whether a limited or general partner;
	c. If a corporation, the state of incorporation and the name, title, and address of each officer of the corporation and statutory agent;
	d. The name of the salon as registered with the Secretary of State;
	e. The name and license number of the manager licensed by the Board;
	f.e. If a location change, the previous address;
	g.f. A history of the salon including:
	i. If location was previously licensed by the Board, the last name of the salon or school previous establishment;
	ii. The name of each business operating at the salon address; and
	iii. A statement of whether the applicant, any partner of the applicant, or any corporate officer has ever owned a salon in any state or foreign country; had a license in any state or foreign country suspended or revoked.
	iv. A statement of whether the applicant, any partner of the applicant, or any corporate officer has ever had a salon license suspended or revoked in any state or foreign country; and
	v. A statement of whether the salon provides mobile services as stated in R4-10-403.


	2. If a corporation, the articles of incorporation;
	3. If a partnership, a copy of the partnership agreement;
	4. An 8 1/2” by 11" floor plan of the salon. The floor plan shall designate the location of each A signed statement that the establishment is in compliance with all Board laws and rules and has the following in the salon:
	a. Wet disinfectant as specified by R4-10-109;
	b. Dry, closed, disinfected container to store disinfected tools and implements instruments as specified by R4-10- 109;
	c. Sink or shampoo bowl with hot and cold running water that is not also used as a dispensary or restroom sink as required by R4-10-403;
	d. Station;
	e. Restroom; and
	f. Electrical outlet; and
	g. Activity Notice posted for activities performed in the salon by individuals who are not licensed by the Board, which are related to cosmetology, but not regulated by A.R.S. § 32-501 through § 32-575 but not regulated by the Board; and

	5. The fee required in R4-10-102.
	R4-10-402. Changes Affecting a Salon License

	A. A licensee changing a salon’s location shall submit the fee required in R4-10-102 and an application packet as prescribed in R4-10-401.
	B. A licensee shall notify the Board in writing at least 30 days before making a change in the ownership of a salon. A new owner shall obtain a license from the Board before beginning operation of a salon.
	C. When the controlling ownership in a corporation is transferred or a corporation is reorganized, the new owner shall submit the fee required in R4-10-102, an application packet as prescribed in R4-10-401, and the following:
	1. Former owner’s name;
	2. Date of transfer; and
	3. A statement of whether the former owner relinquishes the license, salon name, and salon location.

	D. A licensee shall notify the Board in writing at least 30 days before the date of a change in a salon’s name and submit the fee required in R4-10-401.
	E. A licensee that is a corporation or a limited liability company shall notify the Board in writing at least 3 days before a change in any corporate officer or statutory agent.

	A new salon license shall be applied for as provided when:
	1. A salon address is changed;
	2. The name of a salon is changed;
	3. The controlling ownership in a corporation is transferred or a corporation is reorganized; or
	4. A corporation, limited liability company, or partnership has a change in any corporate officer, statutory agent, or partner.
	B. The salon owner and manager shall ensure that a Board issued license indicating proper ownership is posted in the salon before beginning client services.
	R4-10-403. Salon Requirements and Minimum Equipment

	A. A salon shall perform services to the public according to the type of license issued as defined by A.R.S. § 32-501.
	B. Salons shall have enough equipment, materials, supplies, tools, and implements instruments to ensure infection control and safety for the public and employees.
	C. Each salon shall have:
	1. A work station for each employee or person using space within the salon; and
	2. Electrical outlets;
	3. If the salon is a cosmetology salon, a minimum of one shampoo bowl and one hair dryer that may be a blow dryer, and, if the salon is an aesthetics or nail technology salon, a minimum of one sink in addition to the rest room or dispensary sink; and
	5. Clean linens kept in a closed container.

	D. Aestheticians, cosmetologists, and nail technicians shall have disinfected tools and implements for each client .
	E. Cosmetologists shall have:
	1. 18 combs;
	2. 12 vent or styling brushes;
	3. Two client protection robes or capes;
	4. One comb-out cape; and
	e. If neck brushes are used, each licensee shall have at least three;

	F. Nail technicians shall have enough equipment, materials, supplies, tools, and implements instruments to ensure infection control at all times and disinfection between clients.
	R4-10-404. Mobile Services

	A. A mobile service shall operate which operates as an extension of a permanent licensed salon and under shall advertise using t...
	B.1. A licensee A salon providing mobile cosmetology, nail technology, or aesthetic aesthetics services shall apply for duplicat...
	C.2. Appointments shall be made through the licensed salon where a book shall be kept of all appointments and locations where services are performed.;
	D.3. A mobile service is subject to inspection by the Board at any time.;
	E.4. A retrofitted mobile unit used to conduct mobile services as an extension of a salon shall have the same equipment as speci...
	F.5. Mobile services which are conducted in other than a retrofitted mobile unit shall have equipment for mobile service which is disinfected before use and stored as specified in R4-10-109 R4-10-112.

	B. A retrofitted motor vehicle used exclusively as a mobile facility that is dispatched from a business address shall comply with all salon requirements and:
	1. Comply with infection control and equipment requirements;
	2. Appointments shall be made through the licensed retrofitted motor vehicle and a complete and current listing of appointment l...
	3. The retrofitted motor vehicle owner and manager are responsible for compliance with the Board’s statutes and rules.






