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NOTICES OF EXEMPT RULEMAKING

The Administrative Procedure Act requires the Register publication of the rules adopted by the state’s agencies under an exemption
from all or part of the Administrative Procedure Act. Some of these rules are exempted by A.R.S. §§ 41-1005 or 41-1057; other rules
are exempted by other statutes; rules of the Corporation Commission are exempt from Attorney General review pursuant to a court
decision as determined by the Corporation Commission.

NOTICE OF EXEMPT RULEMAKING

TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 1. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

ADMINISTRATION
Editor’s Note: The following Notice of Exempt Rulemaking is exempt from Laws 2010, Ch. 287, § 18. (See the text of § 18 on
page 303.)
[R11-09]
PREAMBLE
1. Sections Affected Rulemaking Action
R17-1-205 Amend
2. The statutory authority for the rulemaking. including both the authorizing statutes (general) and the statutes the
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rules are implementing (specific):
Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 28-366

Implementing statute: A.R.S. § 28-4802

Statute or session law authorizing the exemption: Laws 2010, 7th Special Session, Ch. 12, §§ 9 and 43
The effective date of the rule:

March 1, 2011

A list of all previous notices appearing in the Register addressing the exempt rule:
Notice of Public Information: 16 A.A.R. 2424, December 17, 2010

The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding the rulemaking:
Name: John Lindley, Administrative Rules Analyst

Address: Administrative Rules Unit
Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division
1801 W. Jefferson St., Mail Drop 517M
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 712-8804
Fax: (602) 712-3373
E-mail: jlindley@azdot.gov

Please visit the ADOT web site to track progress of this rule and any other agency rulemaking matters at
www.azdot.gov/mvd/mvdrules/index.asp.

An explanation of the rule, including the agency’s reasons for initiating the rule. including the statutory citation to

the exemption from regular rulemaking procedures:
Laws 2010, 7th Special Session, Ch. 12, § 9, grants the Director of the Arizona Department of Transportation
(ADOT) authority to prescribe by rule a fee for the abandonment of a vehicle. The fee prescribed by the Director is
determined by the location of abandonment as described under A.R.S. § 28-4802. As stated in Laws 2010, 7th Special
Session, Ch. 12, § 43, the legislative intent is that the additional revenue generated by the abandoned vehicle fee
authorized under A.R.S. § 28-4802 not exceed $12,061,200 in fiscal year 2010-2011. Laws 2010, 7th Special Ses-
sion, Ch. 12, § 43 additionally authorizes exemption from the rulemaking requirements of Arizona Revised Statutes
Title 41, Chapter 6, for the purpose of establishing fees for abandoned vehicles under A.R.S. § 28-4802 for a period
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of 18 months beginning June 30, 2010, and mandates that 90% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802(A) and
60% of the fees collected under A.R.S. § 28-4802(B) be deposited into the state highway fund.

A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and proposes either to rely on or not to rely

on in its evaluation of or justification for the rule, where the public may obtain or review each study. all data

underlying each study. and any analysis of each study and other supporting material:
Not applicable

A showing of good cause why the rule is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rule will diminish a previ-

ous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:
Not applicable

The summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
Laws 2010, 7th Special Session, Ch. 12, § 43 authorizes exemption from the rulemaking requirements of Arizona
Revised Statutes Title 41, Chapter 6, for the purpose of establishing fees for abandoned vehicles under A.R.S. § 28-
4802 for a period of 18 months beginning June 30, 2010. As a result, this rulemaking is exempt from the requirements
of the Administrative Procedure Act and no economic, small business, and consumer impact statement is required.
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The Department adjusted from $500 to $600 the fee originally proposed in its Notice of Public Information at 16
A.A.R. 2424, December 17, 2010, for abandoning a vehicle on national forest, state park, bureau of land manage-
ment, or state trust land located outside the boundaries of an incorporated city or town as described under A.R.S. §
28-4802(B). The rule was intended to prescribe a consistent fee amount to be collected by the Department for an
abandoned vehicle without regard to its location of abandonment. However, the Department has since determined
that the fee prescribed under this rule for a vehicle abandoned as described under A.R.S. § 28-4802(B) remains sub-
ject to the $100 towing company reimbursement provided under A.R.S. § 28-4805. Therefore, to achieve true consis-
tency in the amounts collected by the Department for the state highway fund, and to remain consistent with legislative
intent, the Department adjusted to $600 the fee to be collected for the abandonment of a vehicle on national forest,
state park, bureau of land management, or state trust land located outside the boundaries of an incorporated city or
town.

11. A summary of the comments made regarding the rule and the agency response to them:
The Department provided public notice and the opportunity for public comment on this exempt rulemaking and has
received no comments.

12. Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of
rules:

None

13. Incorporations by reference and their location in the rule:
None

14. Was this rule previously made as an emergency rule? If so. please indicate the Register citation:
No

15. The full text of the rule follows:

TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 1. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

ADMINISTRATION
ARTICLE 2. FEES
Section
R17-1-205. Abandoned Vehicle RepertProcessingFee Fees
ARTICLE 2. FEES

R17-1-205.  Abandoned Vehicle Repert-ProeessingFee Fees

A. The Department establishes the following fees under A.R.S. § 28-4802 for the transfer of ownership or disposal of an
abandoned vehicle:
1. The fee is $500 if the vehicle was abandoned as described under A.R.S. § 28-4802(A), and
2. The fee is $600 if the vehicle was abandoned as described under A.R.S. § 28-4802(B).

A=B. Fer—pﬂfpeses—ef—A—FFS—§—28-489%€B){49—the—Dmsmﬂ The Department establishes the following fees under A.R.S. § 28-

4802 for processing an abandoned vehicle report:
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1. When The fee is $8 if the report is submitted electronically, via the Bivisiens’s Department’s authorized third-party

electronic service provider;the-fee-is-eight-deHars:; and
2. When The fee is $10 if the report is submitted for processing by any other means;-the-fee-is-ten-deHars.
B-C. The fee for processing the abandoned vehicle report is non-refundable unless provided for under A.R.S. § 28-373.
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