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Notices of Final Rulemaking

NOTICE OF FINAL RULEMAKING
TITLE 12. NATURAL RESOURCES

CHAPTER 1. RADIATION REGULATORY AGENCY

[R15-05]

PREAMBLE

1. Article, Part, or Section Affected (as applicable) Rulemaking Action
R12-1-1215 Amend
  Table A Amend
R12-1-1302 Amend
R12-1-1306 Amend

2. Citations to the agency’s statutory rulemaking authority to include the authorizing statute (general) and the
implementing statute (specific):

Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 30-654(B)(5) 
Implementing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 30-651, 30-654, 30-657, 30-671(B), 30-672, 30-673, 30-681, 30-687, 30-688, and
30-689.

3. The effective date of the rule:
April 6, 2015

4. Citations to all related notices published in the Register as specified in R1-1-409(A) that pertain to the record of
the proposed rule:

Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 20 A.A.R. 2121, August 8, 2014
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking: 20 A.A.R. 2067, August 8, 2014

5. The agency’s contact person who can answer questions about the rulemaking:
Name: Jerry W. Perkins
Address: Arizona Radiation Regulatory Agency

4814 S. 40th St.
Phoenix, AZ 85040

Telephone: (602) 255-4833
Fax: (602) 437-0705
E-mail: jperkins@azrra.gov
Website: www.azrra.gov

6. An agency’s justification and reason why a rule should be made, amended, repealed or renumbered, to include
an explanation about the rulemaking:

This rulemaking package amends several rules to modify the existing fee structure for non-ionizing devices related
to radio frequency coagulators. These changes are necessary in order to reduce the fees to a level more consistent
with the workload of regulating the radiation safety program for these units.

7. A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and proposes either to rely on or not to rely
on in its evaluation of or justification for the rule, where the public may obtain or review each study, all data
underlying each study, and any analysis of each study and other supporting material:

None 
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8. A showing of good cause why the rulemaking is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rulemaking will
diminish a previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable
9. A summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:

Currently, all registrants pay an annual fee which covers the administrative cost and inspection fees for each facility
registration number. This package reduces the fee table for some radio frequency devices by separating these units
from the current medical fee grouping currently listed under R12-1-1306(F)(8). No new FTE’s were needed for this
rulemaking package so additional notice was not sent to Joint Legislative Budget Committee (JLBC).

10.  A description of any changes between the proposed rulemaking, to include supplemental notices, and the final
rulemaking:

Grammatical, clarifying, and formatting changes were made to the proposed rules following the suggestions of the
Office of the Secretary of State. The Agency submitted a reduced fee structure for the class of radiofrequency
devices found during inspections at existing registrants. The four new classifications had proposed fees of $47,
$120, $295, or $470, however, the Arizona Radiation Regulatory Hearing Board reduced the fees to zero. 

11. An agency’s summary of the public or stakeholder comments made about the rulemaking and the agencies
response to the comments:

With the approval of the Governor’s office to proceed with rulemaking to reduce regulatory fees, as well as com-
ments received by the Agency staff during, the rulemaking process was initiated. No comments were received after
the docket was opened and before the oral proceeding took place. No members of the public appeared at the oral
proceedings. The Agency made a single recommendation during the hearing, to reduce the fee for all four classes to
zero because the units did not add to the cost of inspection at the facility and the original intent of the rulemaking
was to reduce fees for the registrants which was approved by the board. 

12.  All agencies shall list other matters prescribed by statute applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule
or class of rules. Additionally, an agency subject to Council review under A.R.S. §§ 41-1052 and 41-1055 shall
respond to the following questions:

The rulemaking by the Agency was discussed and adopted by the Arizona Radiation Regulatory Hearing Board
unanimously in compliance with A.R.S. § 30-655 which requires review and approval of rules promulgated by the
Agency.

a. Whether the rule requires a permit, whether a general permit is used and if not, the reasons why a general
permit is not used:

The Agency believes that it is exempt from A.R.S. § 41-1037 under subsection (A)(2) as the issuance of an
alternative type of permit is authorized under the statutory requirement of A.R.S. §§ 30-672(A), (B), and (G).

b. Whether a federal law is applicable to the subject of the rule, whether the rule is more stringent than federal
law and if so, citation to the statutory authority to exceed the requirements of federal law:

The rule amendments are compatible with existing federal regulations and are not more stringent in sections
that have a federal equivalent. Currently the regulation of radiation producing equipment is conducted at the
state level; federal regulations in Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations govern the manufacture and clas-
sification of radiation producing electronic devices. The devices are classified as Class II prescription only
medical instruments by the U. S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) but the practice of medicine for these
devices is regulated by various boards such as the Medical board, the Chiropractic board, the Naturopathic
board, and other occupational licensing boards in the state of Arizona, the registration and safety regulations
are the only portion of regulatory control this Agency has on these devices.

c. Whether a person submitted an analysis to the agency that compares the rule’s impact of the competitiveness
of business in this state to the impact on business in other states:

No analysis has been submitted.
13. A list of any incorporated by reference material as specified in A.R.S. § 41-1028 and its location in the rules:

Not applicable
14. Whether the rule was previously made, amended or repealed as an emergency rule. If so, cite the notice

published in the Register as specified in R1-1-409(A). Also, the agency shall state where the text was changed
between the emergency and the final rulemaking packages:

Not applicable
15. The full text of the rules follows:
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TITLE 12. NATURAL RESOURCES

CHAPTER 1. RADIATION REGULATORY AGENCY

ARTICLE 12. ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS
Section
R12-1-1215. License and Registration Divisions
  Table A. Registration and Licensing Time-frames

ARTICLE 13. LICENSE AND REGISTRATION FEES
Section
R12-1-1302. License and Registration Categories
R12-1-1306. Table of Fees

ARTICLE 12. ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS

R12-1-1215. License and Registration Divisions
A. Each registrant or license type is classified into one of three administrative sanction divisions.

1. Division I licenses and registrations:
a. No change
b. No change
c. No change
d. No change
e. No change
f. No change
g. No change
h. No change
i. No change
j. No change
k. No change
l. No change
m. No change
n. No change
o. No change
p. No change
q. No change
r. No change
s. No change
t. No change
u. No change

2. Division II licenses and registrations:
a. No change
b. No change
c. No change
d. No change
e. No change
f. No change
g. No change
h. No change
i. No change
j. No change
k. No change
l. No change
m. No change
n. No change
o. No change
p. No change
q. No change
r. No change
s. No change
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t. No change
u. No change

3. Division III licenses and registrations:
a. No change
b. No change
c. No change
d. No change
e. No change
f. No change
g. No change
h. No change
i. No change
j. No change
k. No change
l. No change
m. No change
n. No change 
o. No change
p. No change
q. No change
r. No change
s. No change
t. No change
u. Class A Medical (non-cosmetic) Radiofrequency Facility,
v. Class B Medical (non-cosmetic) Radiofrequency Facility,
w. Class C Medical (non-cosmetic) Radiofrequency Facility,
x. Class D Medical (non-cosmetic) Radiofrequency Facility.

B. No change
C. No change
D. No change

1. No change
2. No change
3. No change
4. No change

Table A. Registration and Licensing Time-frames
REGISTRATION AND LICENSING TIME-FRAMES

License or Registration
category in R12-1-1306

Administrative Completeness 
Review 
Time-frame, in days

Substantive Review 
Time-frame, in days

Overall Time-frame, 
in days

A1 90 30 120
A2 90 30 120
A3 90 30 120
A4 60 30 90
B1 90 30 120
B2 90 30 120
B3 90 30 120
B4 90 30 120
B5 90 30 120
B6 40 20 60
C1 60 30 90
C2 60 30 90
C3 60 30 90
C4 60 30 90
C5 60 30 90
C6 60 30 90
C7 60 30 90
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Footnote: No change

C8 90 30 120
C9 60 30 90
C10 40 20 60
C11 90 30 120
C12 90 30 120
C13 90 30 120
C14 90 30 120
C15 90 30 120
C16 90 30 120
C17 90 30 120
D1 90 30 120
D2 90 30 120
D3 90 30 120
D4 40 20 60
D5 40 20 60
D6 90 30 120
D7 40 20 60
D8 60 30 90
D9 90 30 120
D10 90 30 120
D11 1095 365 1460
D12 730 180 910
D13 365 90 455
D14 90 30 120
D15 40 20 60
D16 20 10 30
D17 40 20 60
D18 90 30 120
D19 365 120 485
E1 40 20 60
E2 40 20 60
E3 40 20 60
E4 40 20 60
E5 90 30 120
E6 90 30 120
F1 40 20 60
F2 40 20 60
F3 40 20 60
F4 40 20 60
F5 20 10 30
F6 40 20 60
F7 40 20 60
F8 40 20 60
F9 40 20 60
F10 40 20 60
F11 40 20 60
F12 40 20 60
F13 40 20 60
F14 40 20 60
F15 40 20 60
F12 16 90 30 120
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ARTICLE 13. LICENSE AND REGISTRATION FEES

R12-1-1302. License and Registration Categories
A. No change

1. No change
2. No change
3. No change
4. No change

B. No change
1. No change
2. No change
3. No change
4. No change
5. No change
6. No change

C. No change
1. No change
2. No change
3. No change
4. No change
5. No change
6. No change
7. No change
8. No change
9. No change
10. No change
11. No change
12. No change
13. No change
14. No change
15. No change
16. No change
17. No change

D. No change
1. No change

a. No change
b. No change

2. No change
3. No change
4. No change
5. No change
6. No change
7. No change
8. No change
9. No change
10. No change
11. No change
12. No change
13. No change
14. No change
15. No change
16. No change
17. No change
18. No change
19. No change

E. No change
1. No change
2. No change
3. No change
4. No change
5. No change
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6. No change
F. Category F registrations are those that register nonionizing radiation producing sources regulated under 12 A.A.C. 1,

Article 14. The Agency shall not combine Category F registrations with any other registration categories that have a dif-
ference in fee per unit.
1. No change 
2. No change
3. No change
4. No change 
5. No change
6. No change
7. No change
8. No change 
9. No change
10. No change
11. No change
12. A class A medical radiofrequency device registration authorizes the operation of one or two radiofrequency dia-

thermy or electrocoagulation units not used in non-ionizing cosmetic procedures.
13. A class B medical radiofrequency device registration authorizes the operation of three to nine radiofrequency dia-

thermy or electrocoagulation units not used in non-ionizing cosmetic procedures.
14. A class C medical radiofrequency device registration authorizes the operation of 10 to 19 radiofrequency diathermy

or electrocoagulation units not used in non-ionizing cosmetic procedures.
15. A class D medical radiofrequency device registration authorizes the operation of 20 or more radiofrequency dia-

thermy or electrocoagulation units not used in non-ionizing cosmetic procedures.
12.16.An “other” nonionizing radiation device authorizes the operation of a nonionizing radiation device or other device

not included in any other category specified in subsection (F).

R12-1-1306. Table of Fees
A. The application and annual fee for each category and type are shown in Table 13-1.

Category Type Annual fee
A1. Broad academic class A . . . . . . . .$5,800 
A2. Broad academic class B . . . . . . . .$5,800
A3. Broad academic class C . . . . . . . .$5,800 
A4. Limited academic. . . . . . . . . . . . .$1,000

B1. Broad medical  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$11,000 
B2. Medical materials class A  . . . . . .$1,900
B3. Medical materials class B  . . . . . .$1,900 
B4. Medical materials class C  . . . . . .$1,900 
B5. Medical teletherapy . . . . . . . . . . .$5,200 
B6. General medical . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$250 

C1. Broad industrial class A . . . . . . . .$11,400 
C2. Broad industrial class B . . . . . . . .$11,400
C3. Broad industrial class C . . . . . . . .$3,200
C4. Limited industrial. . . . . . . . . . . . .$700
C5. Portable gauge . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$1,000 
C6. Fixed gauge class A . . . . . . . . . . .$1,000
C7. Fixed gauge class B . . . . . . . . . . .$1,000
C8. Leak detector . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$1,330
C9. Gas chromatograph  . . . . . . . . . . .$1,000 
C10. General industrial. . . . . . . . . . . . .No Fee 
C11. Industrial radiography class A . . .$5,500 
C12. Industrial radiography class B . . .$5,500 
C13. Open field irradiator. . . . . . . . . . .$3,000
C14. Self-shielded irradiator. . . . . . . . .$1,500
C15. Well logging. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$2,000
C16. Research and development  . . . . .$2,100
C17. Laboratory . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$1,000

D1. Distribution  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$2,600 
D2. Nuclear pharmacy  . . . . . . . . . . . .$4,600 
D3. Nuclear laundry . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$10,300 
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D4. General industrial (with fee)  . . . . $300
D5. General depleted uranium  . . . . . . $200
D6. Veterinary medicine. . . . . . . . . . . $1,000
D7. General veterinary medicine  . . . . $200
D8. Health physics class A . . . . . . . . . $3,200 
D9. Health physics class B . . . . . . . . . $1,000
D10. Secondary uranium recovery . . . . $5,100 
D11. Low-level radioactive waste

disposal site  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .(3)
D12. Waste processor class A. . . . . . . . $4,600
D13. Waste processor class B. . . . . . . . $3,600
D14. Additional storage and use site  . . (1) 
D15. Possession only  . . . . . . . . . . . . . .(2) 
D16. Reciprocal  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (3) 
D17. Reserved 
D18. Unclassified . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Full Cost
D19. NORM commercial disposal site .$600,000 

E1. X-ray machine class A (per
tube) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $75

E2. X-ray machine class B (per tube).$51 
E3. X-ray machine class C (per tube).$42 
E4. Industrial radiation machine 

(per device)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$42 
E5. Accelerator facility. . . . . . . . . . . . $750
E6. Other ionizing radiation machine.Full Cost

F1. Tanning device (per device). . . . . $28
F2. Class A (1 to 10 laser devices). . . $175 
F3. Class B (11 to 49 laser devices) . .$408 
F4. Class C (50 or more laser devices)$699 
F5. Laser light show or laser

demonstration. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$408
F6. Medical laser (per laser device) . .$47
F7. Class II surgical (per device) . . . . $47
F8. Medical RF surgical and cosmetic

(per device)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$47 
F9. Class A industrial (1 to 5 

radiofrequency devices) . . . . . . . . $70
F10. Class B industrial (6 to 20 

radiofrequency devices) . . . . . . . . $210 
F11. Class C industrial more than 20

radiofrequency devices) . . . . . . . . $349
F12. Class A medical (1 or 2 non-cosmetic

radiofrequency devices) (per device)$0
F13. Class B medical (3 to 9 non-cosmetic

radiofrequency devices)....................$0
F14. Class C medical (10 to 19 non-cosmetic

radiofrequency devices)....................$0
F15. Class D medical (20 or more non-cosmetic

radiofrequency devices)....................$0
F1216. Other nonionizing radiation 

device or other device  . . . . . . . . .Full Cost
Notes: (1) No change

(2) No change
(3) No change

B. No change
C. No change
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NOTICE OF FINAL RULEMAKING
TITLE 12. NATURAL RESOURCES

CHAPTER 14. ARIZONA POWER AUTHORITY

[R15-06]

PREAMBLE

1. Article, Part, or Section Affected (as applicable) Rulemaking Action
R12-14-602 Repeal
R12-14-603 New Section
R12-14-604 New Section
R12-14-605 New Section
R12-14-606 New Section
R12-14-607 New Section
R12-14-608 New Section
R12-14-609 New Section
R12-14-610 New Section
R12-14-611 New Section
R12-14-612 New Section
R12-14-613 New Section
R12-14-614 New Section
R12-14-615 New Section
R12-14-616 New Section
R12-14-617 New Section
R12-14-618 New Section
R12-14-619 New Section
R12-14-620 New Section
R12-14-621 New Section
R12-14-622 New Section
R12-14-623 New Section
R12-14-624 New Section
R12-14-625 New Section
R12-14-626 New Section
R12-14-627 New Section
R12-14-628 New Section
R12-14-629 New Section
R12-14-630 New Section
R12-14-631 New Section
R12-14-632 New Section

2. Citations to the agency’s statutory rulemaking authority to include the authorizing statute (general) and the
implementing statute (specific):

Authorizing statute: A.R.S. §§ 30-103(A), 30-105(A), 30-124(D), 41-1003, and 41-1092.01(F)
Implementing statute: A.R.S. §§ 41-1002(C) and 41-1092 through 41-1092.12

3. The effective date of the rule:
April 14, 2015

4. Citations to all related notices published in the Register as specified in R1-1-409(A) that pertain to the record of
the proposed rule:

Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 20 A.A.R. 2396, August 29, 2014
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking: 20 A.A.R. 2605, September 26, 2014

5. The agency’s contact person who can answer questions about the rulemaking:
Name: Douglas V. Fant
Address: Arizona Power Authority

1810 Adams St.
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 368-4265
Fax: (602) 253-7970
E-mail: doug@powerauthority.org
Web site: www.powerauthority.org
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6. An agency’s justification and reason why a rule should be made, amended, repealed or renumbered, to include
an explanation about the rulemaking:

This rulemaking establishes a set of procedural rules to govern hearings requested for appealable agency actions
when the Arizona Power Authority decides to handle an appeal. An agency may directly conduct its own adminis-
trative hearings under A.R.S. § 41-1092.01(F) when the agency head, board, or commission serves as the adminis-
trative law judge. Section 10.4.2 of the Arizona Agency Handbook states that an agency which chooses to conduct
its own hearing must follow the Uniform Administrative Hearing Procedures at A.R.S. §§41-1092 et seq., and
should follow the procedural rules created by the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH), AAC R2-19-101 et
seq. The Authority’s proposed rules are based upon those OAH procedural rules but updated and with relevant state
law references incorporated therein. In addition the Arizona Power Authority certifies that it did not refer to,
review, or rely on any study relevant to the rule in the agency’s evaluation of or justification for the rule.       

7. A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and proposes either to rely on or not to rely
on in its evaluation of or justification for the rule, where the public may obtain or review each study, all data
underlying each study, and any analysis of each study and other supporting material:

None
8. A showing of good cause why the rulemaking is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rulemaking will

diminish a previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:
Not applicable

9. The summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
The Arizona Power Authority is putting in place an administrative appeals process. The Arizona Power Authority
anticipates no economic impact as a result of any of these rules. That is because under the current Arizona Power
Authority rules, a party whose legal rights, duties or privileges are affected by a decision or action of the Arizona
Power Authority may currently appeal that action or decision to the Office of Administrative Hearings and Appeals
(OAH). Once the new rules are in place, the party may still appeal any decision or action of the Commission. How-
ever the appeals will now be directed to the Arizona Power Authority rather than to OAH. In addition the new Ari-
zona Power Authority rules essentially mimic the current rules of OAH. For that reason the Arizona Power
Authority anticipates that there will be little difference in substance or in costs between the former OAH and new
Arizona Power Authority appeals processes. 

10. A description of any changes between the proposed rulemaking, to include supplemental notices, and the final
rulemaking:

There are the following changes between the proposed and final rules:
a. In general, the Authority has substituted Commission for administrative law judge, Authority for office or Office 
of Administrative Hearings, and Commission or Authority for “agency” depending on the context.
b. In R12-14-604, the proposed definitions of the terms “Agency” and “Matter” have been removed. In addition a 
definition of the term “Person” has been added and that definition references statutory provisions A.R.S. § 41-
1001(15).
c. In R12-14-605(A) the Authority deleted “the Commission’s authority and obligation pursuant to” to make the 
reference more concise.  
d. In R12-14-606(B), the Authority clarified its method for giving official notice of an Appealable Agency Action 
in an effort to be more consistent with A.R.S. § 41-1092.04; removed the phrase “final administrative decision”; 
and changed the 3-day time period to a 5-day time period.
e. In R12-14-607(A) the Commission removed “[t]he Party shall notify the Commission of the appeal or request 
for a hearing” as repetitive. 
f. In R12-14-610 Intervention; Amicus Curiae, subsection B has been revised to conform more closely with Ari-
zona Rule of Civil Procedure 24(a)(2) Intervention of right. 
g. In R12-14-613(B) the Authority added a reference to R12-14-615.
h. In R12-14-615(G) the Authority clarified how to make service upon parties.
i. In R12-14-625 the Authority clarified the process if a party fails to appear for a hearing.
j. In R12-14-629(B) the Authority replaced the phrase “takes final action” with “final administrative decision. 
k. In R12-14-632(A) the Authority revised the language to be more consistent with the September 8, 2014 changes 
made to the OAH rules because of Laws 2012, Ch. 322 to A.R.S. Title 12, Chapter 7, Article 6, Judicial Review of 
Administrative Decisions.

11. A summary of the comments made regarding the rules and the agency response to them:
The Arizona Power Authority received no written comments regarding the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking. The
Arizona Power Authority at its October 29, 2014 proceeding did receive two oral comments in support of the
rulemaking from Mr. Robert Lynch of the Irrigation and Electrical Districts of Arizona, and Mr. Jay Moyes of
Moyes, Sellers, and Hendricks. The Arizona Power Authority thanks Messrs. Lynch and Moyes for commenting in
support of the proposed rules.
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12. List other matters prescribed by statute applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class of rules.
Additionally an agency subject to Council review under A.R.S. §§ 41-1052 and 41-1055 shall respond to the
following questions: 

None
a. Whether the rule requires a permit, whether a general permit is used and if not, the reasons why a general

permit is not used: 
Not applicable

b. Whether a federal law is applicable to the subject of the rule, whether the rule is more stringent than federal
law and if so, citation to the statutory authority to exceed the requirements of federal law:

Not applicable
c. Whether a person submitted an analysis to the agency that compares the rule’s impact on the competitive-

ness of business in this state to the impact on business in other states:
None

13. A list of any incorporated by reference material as specified in A.R.S. §41-1028 and its location in the rule:
None

14. Whether the rule was previously made, amended or repealed as an emergency rule.
No

15. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 12. NATURAL RESOURCES

CHAPTER 14. ARIZONA POWER AUTHORITY

ARTICLE 6. CONFERENCES; APPEAL OF AGENCY ACTION
Section
R12-14-602. Appeal of Agency Action Repeal
R12-14-603. Repealed General
R12-14-604. Repealed Definitions
R12-14-605. Repealed Applicability; Authority
R12-14-606. Repealed Notice of Appealable Agency Action
R12-14-607. Renumbered Request for Hearing; Setting the Hearing
R12-14-608 Repealed Summary Dismissal
R12-14-609. Repealed Waiver Rights
R12-14-610. Repealed Intervention; Amicus Curiae
R12-14-611. Repealed Informal Settlement Conference
R12-14-612. Repealed Ex Parte Communications
R12-14-613 Repealed Motions
R12-14-614. Computing Time
R12-14-615. Filing and Service of Documents
R12-14-616. Consolidation or Severance of Appeals
R12-14-617. Continuing or Expediting a Hearing; Reconvening a Hearing
R12-14-618. Vacating a Hearing
R12-14-619. Prehearing Conference
R12-14-620. Subpoenas
R12-14-621. Telephonic Testimony
R12-14-622. Rights and Responsibilities of Parties
R12-14-623. Hearings; Depositions
R12-14-624. Conduct of Hearing
R12-14-625. Failure of Party to Appear for Hearing
R12-14-626. Witnesses; Exclusion from Hearing
R12-14-627. Proof
R12-14-628. Disruptions
R12-14-629. Hearing Record
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ARTICLE 6. CONFERENCES; APPEAL OF AGENCY ACTION

R12-14-602. Appeal of Agency Action Repeal
Any decision or action by the Commission that determines the legal rights, duties, or privileges of an Entity with regard to 
any matter under the jurisdiction of the Commission is an “appealable agency action” as defined in, or limited by A.R.S. 
§41-1092.
R12-14-603. Repealed General 
A. This article applies to any Appealable Agency Action arising from a decision or action of the Commission.
B. The Commission shall conduct any administrative hearing, pursuant to the requirements of this article, acting as the 

Administrative Law Judge pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1092.01.
C. Because state statutes provide many of the procedural requirements for the conduct of administrative hearings, these 

rules will cross reference such statutes where appropriate. Copies of the statutes and these rules may be obtained from 
the Arizona Power Authority at its office at 1810 W. Adams Street, Phoenix, Arizona, during normal business hours.

R12-14-604. Repealed Definitions 
For purposes of this article, the following definitions apply unless otherwise stated:

1. As used in this article, the terms “Commission” and “Administrative Law Judge” have the same meaning as in the 
relevant statutes and are used interchangeably. 

2. “Appealable Agency Action” means any decision or action by the Commission determining matters related to the 
allocation of and contracting for power resources and associated services marketed by the Commission. 

3. “Arizona Power Authority” or “Authority” means the agency established pursuant to title 30, chapter 1, article 1, 
Arizona Revised Statutes.

4. “Commission” means the Arizona Power Authority Commission as established and organized pursuant to title 30, 
chapter 1, article 1, Arizona Revised Statutes.

5. “Party” has the meaning described in A.R.S. § 41-1001(14).
6. “Person” has the meaning described in A.R.S. § 41-1001(15).

R12-14-605. Repealed Applicability; Authority
A. These rules apply to any Appealable Agency Action heard by the Commission. Unless otherwise required by law or 

waived pursuant to subsection (B), all hearings shall be scheduled at the convenience of the Commission and shall be 
held at the Arizona Power Authority's business office in Phoenix, Arizona. The rules in this article were drafted, pro-
posed, and adopted pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1003 and A.R.S. § 41-1092.01(F).

B. The Commission may waive the application of any of these rules to further administrative convenience, expedition, and
economy:

1. With the consent of the parties to the appeal, or
2. If the waiver does not conflict with law, and does not cause undue prejudice to any party.

C. If a procedure is not provided by statute or these rules, the Commission may issue an order using the Arizona Rules of 
Civil Procedure or related local court rules for guidance.

R12-14-606. Repealed Notice of Appealable Agency Action
A. The Authority shall serve notice of an Appealable Agency Action pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1092.04. Pursuant to A.R.S. 

§ 41-1092.03, the notice shall:
1. Identify the statute or rule on which the action is based.
2. Include a description of any party's right to file a notice of appeal or to request a hearing on the Appealable 

Agency Action.
3. Include a description of any party's right to request an informal settlement conference pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-

1092.06.
B. Each Appealable Agency Action shall be posted to the Arizona Power Authority website within 48 hours after the 

action is taken. The posting shall constitute official notice of the action. The Authority additionally may elect to provide 
any party, and such other interested persons as have officially requested to be included, electronic notice of the posting 
which may be accompanied by the referenced document. Otherwise, each person or entity which has participated in the 
process leading to the Appealable Agency Action shall be provided with written notice thereof, with notice at the Per-
son’s last address of record within five days of the notice being published on the Arizona Power Authority website.

R12-14-607. Renumbered Request for Hearing; Setting the Hearing
A. A party may initiate an appeal by filing a notice of appeal or request for a hearing with the Arizona Power Authority 

within 30 days after receiving the notice prescribed in R12-14-606(A). The notice of appeal or request for a hearing may 
be filed by a party whose legal rights, duties or privileges were determined by the Appealable Agency Action. A notice 
of appeal or request for a hearing also may be filed by a party who will be adversely affected by the Appealable Agency 
Action and who exercised any right provided by law to comment on the action being appealed or contested, provided 
that the grounds for the notice of appeal or request for a hearing are limited to issues raised in that party's comments. 
The notice of appeal or request for a hearing shall identify the party, the party's address, and the action being appealed 
and shall contain a concise statement of the reasons for the appeal or request for a hearing. If requested, the Authority 
shall schedule an appeal hearing pursuant to this section.

B. If good cause is shown, the Commission may accept an appeal or request for a hearing that is not filed in a timely man-
ner.
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C. A party filing a notice of appeal or requesting the Commission schedule an administrative hearing shall provide the fol-
lowing information:

1. Caption of the Appealable Agency Action, including the name and address of each party;
2. The date the party appealed the agency action;
3. A concise statement of the reasons for the appeal;
4. Any request to expedite or consolidate the appeal; and
5. If a hearing is requested:

a. the estimated time for the hearing;
b. the proposed hearing dates; and
c. any agreement of the Parties to waive applicable time limits to set the hearing.

D. The date scheduled for the hearing may be advanced or delayed on the agreement of the parties or on a showing of 
good cause, pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1092.05.

E. Within 10 days of the Commission’s receipt of a request for hearing, the Commission shall provide notice of the date, 
time, and location of the hearing in the same manner as provided in R12-14-606(B).

R12-14-608. Repealed Summary Dismissal
An appeal to the Commission may be subject to summary dismissal by the Commission for any of the following causes:

1. If a statement of the reasons for the appeal is not included in the notice of appeal and is not filed within the time 
required;

2. If the notice of appeal or request for hearing is not filed within the time required.
R12-14-609. Repealed Waiver of Rights
Except to the extent precluded by another provision of law, a Person may waive any right conferred on that person by this 
article.
R12-14-610. Repealed Intervention; Amicus Curiae
A. A person who wishes to intervene in an appeal must file a motion to intervene. Except for good cause shown, a person 

must file the motion within 10 days after the Commission issues its notice pursuant to R12-14-607(E).
B. A motion to intervene must set forth the basis for the proposed intervention, including whether the person had a right to 

appeal the Appealable Agency Action or claims an interest in the subject of the action and the person is so situated that 
disposition of the action may as a practical matter impair or impede the person’s ability to protect that interest, unless 
the Person’s interest is adequately represented by existing parties.

C. The Commission may:
1. Grant the motion to intervene;
2. Deny the motion to intervene for good cause, e.g., where granting it would disadvantage the rights of the existing 

parties or unduly delay adjudication of the appeal; or
3. Grant the motion to intervene but limit the person's participation in the appeal.

D. A person may file a motion to file a brief as amicus curiae.
1. The motion must state the person's interest in the appeal and how its brief will be relevant to the Appealable 

Agency Action.
2. The motion must contain a certification that the movant or movant’s counsel has read any relevant filed briefs of 

the parties and that the movant’s arguments are not duplicative of those presented by the parties.
3. The Commission may grant or deny the motion in its discretion. The Commission may also allow a Person to file a 

brief as amicus curiae if it denies the Person's motion to intervene.
E. A person granted full or limited intervener status is a party to the appeal, while an amicus curiae is not. A person 

granted amicus curiae status shall serve its brief on the parties to the appeal.
R12-14-611. Repealed Informal Settlement Conference
A. If requested by any party to an appeal of an Appealable Agency Action, the Commission shall hold an informal settle-

ment conference within 15 days after receiving the request. A request for an informal settlement conference shall be in 
writing and shall be filed with the Commission no later than twenty days before the hearing. If an informal settlement 
conference is requested, the party shall notify the Commission of the request and the outcome of the conference. The 
request for an informal settlement conference does not toll the sixty day period in which the administrative hearing is to 
be held pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1092.05.

B. If an informal settlement conference is held, a person designated by the Commission shall represent the Commission at 
the conference. The Commission representative shall notify the appellant in writing that statements, either written or 
oral, made by the appellant at the conference, including a written document, created or expressed solely for the purpose 
of settlement negotiations are inadmissible in any subsequent administrative hearing. By participating in the settlement 
conference, the party or parties waive their right to object to the participation of the Commission representative in the 
final administrative decision.

R12-14-612. Repealed Ex Parte Communications
A party shall not communicate, either directly or indirectly, with the Commission or individual Commissioners about any 
substantive issue in a pending appeal unless:

1. All parties are present;
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2. It is during a scheduled proceeding, provided that a party that fails to appear after proper notice waives its right to 
object to the subjects discussed or any rebuttal of these subjects or

3. It is in writing, including facsimile or other electronic means, with copies to all Parties.
R12-14-613. Repealed Motions
A. Purpose. A party requesting a ruling from the Commission shall file a motion. Motions may be made for rulings such 

as:
1. Consolidation or severance of issues pursuant to R12-14-616;
2. Continuing or expediting a hearing pursuant to R12-14-617;
3. Vacating a hearing pursuant to R12-14-618;
4. Prehearing conference pursuant to R12-14-619;
5. Quashing a subpoena pursuant to R12-14-620; 
6. Telephonic testimony pursuant to R12-14-621; and
7. Reconsideration of a previous order pursuant to R12-14-630 and R12-14-631.

B. Form. Unless made during a prehearing conference or hearing, motions shall be made in writing and shall conform to 
R12-14-615. All motions, whether written or oral, shall state the factual and legal grounds supporting the motion, and 
the requested action.

C. Time Limits. Absent good cause, or unless otherwise provided by law or these rules, written motions shall be filed with 
the Commission at least 10 days before any scheduled hearing. A party demonstrates good cause by showing that the 
grounds for the motion could not have been known in time, using reasonable diligence and:
1. A ruling on the motion will further administrative convenience, expedition or economy; or
2. A ruling on the motion will avoid undue prejudice to any party.

D. Response to Motion. A party may file a written response stating any objection to the motion within 5 days of service, 
or as directed by the Commission.

E. Oral Argument. A party may request oral argument when filing a motion or response. The Commission may grant oral 
argument if it is necessary to develop a complete record.

F. Rulings. Rulings on motions, other than those made during a prehearing conference or the hearing, shall be in writing 
and served on all parties.

R12-14-614. Computing Time
In computing any time period, the Commission shall exclude the day from which the designated time period begins to run. 
The Commission shall include the last day of the period unless it falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. When the time 
period is 10 days or less, the Commission shall exclude Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays.
R12-14-615. Filing and Service of Documents
A. Docket. The Authority shall open a docket for each Appealable Agency Action upon receipt of a notice of appeal or 

request for hearing. All documents filed in an Appealable Agency Action with the Authority other than by electronic 
means shall be date stamped on the day received by the Authority and entered in the docket.

B. Definition. “Documents” include papers such as notices of appeal, requests for hearing, motions, responses, notices, 
and briefs.

C. Form. A party shall state on the document the name and address of each party served and how service was made pursu-
ant to subsection (E). A document shall contain the Authority’s caption and docket number.

D. Signature. A document filed with the Authority shall be signed by the party or the party’s attorney. A signature consti-
tutes a certification that the signer has read the document and has a good faith basis for submission of the document, 
and that it is not filed for the purpose of delay or harassment. Signatures can be either hand-written or electronic.

E. Filing and service. A copy of a document filed with the Authority shall be served on all parties. Filing with the Author-
ity and service shall be completed by personal delivery; first-class, certified or express mail; or facsimile or other elec-
tronic means.

F. Date of filing and service. A document is filed with the Authority on the date it is received by the Authority, as estab-
lished by the Authority’s date stamp on the face of the document, the facsimile date or the electronic receipt date. A 
copy of a document is served on a party as follows:
1. On the date it is personally served;
2. Five days after it is mailed by express or 1st class mail;
3. On the date of the return receipt if it is mailed by certified mail; or
4. On the date indicated on the facsimile transmission or the electronic receipt date.

G. Unless otherwise provided in this article, every notice or decision under this article shall be served by personal delivery 
or certified mail, return receipt requested, or by any other method reasonably calculated to effect actual notice on the 
Commission and every other party to the action to the party's last address of record with the Authority. Each party shall 
inform the Authority of any change of address within five days of the change. Such service may include delivering the 
document by electronic means, such as email or facsimile, unless a party has specifically requested not to receive notice 
or service through electronic means, such as email or facsimile.

R12-14-616. Consolidation or Severance of Appeals
A. Standards for consolidation. The Commission may order consolidation of pending appeals, if:

1. There are substantially similar factual or legal issues, or
2. All parties are the same, or
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3. If there are different parties, all parties consent to the consolidation.
B. Order. The Commission shall send a written ruling granting or denying consolidation to all parties, identifying the 

cases, the reasons for the decision, and notification of any consolidated prehearing conference or consolidated hearing. 
The Commission shall designate the controlling docket number and caption to be used on all future documents.

C. Severance. The Commission may sever consolidated Appealable Agency Actions to further administrative conve-
nience, expedition, and economy, or to avoid undue prejudice. Severance may be ordered upon the Commission’s own 
review, or a party’s motion.

R12-14-617. Continuing or Expediting a Hearing; Reconvening a Hearing
A. Continuing or expediting a hearing. When ruling on a motion to continue or expedite, the Commission shall consider 

such factors as:
1. The time remaining between the filing of the motion and the hearing date;
2. The position of other parties;
3. The reasons for expediting the hearing or for the unavailability of the party, representative, or counsel on the date 

of the scheduled hearing;
4. Whether testimony of an unavailable witness is authorized by law, and, if so, whether it can be taken telephoni-

cally or by deposition; and
5. The status of settlement negotiations.

B. Reconvening a hearing. The Commission may recess a hearing and reconvene at a future date by a verbal ruling during 
the initially noticed hearing or thereafter during any continuation of the hearing.

R12-14-618. Vacating a Hearing 
The Commission may vacate a calendared hearing if:

1. The parties agree to vacate the hearing;
2. The Commission dismisses the matter;
3. The party withdraws the appeal; 
4. The party fails to comply with any order of the Commission; or
5. Facts demonstrate to the Commission that it is appropriate to vacate the hearing for the purpose of informal dispo-

sition, or if the action will further administrative convenience, expedition and economy and does not conflict with 
law or cause undue prejudice to any party.

R12-14-619. Prehearing Conference
A. Procedure. The Commission may hold a prehearing conference. The conference may be held telephonically. The Com-

mission may issue a prehearing order outlining the issues to be discussed. As outlined by A.R.S. § 41-1092.05, prehear-
ing conferences may be held for any of the following reasons:
1. Clarify or limit procedural, legal or factual issues;
2. Consider amendments to any pleadings;
3. Identify and exchange lists of witnesses and exhibits intended to be introduced at the hearing;
4. Obtain stipulations or rulings regarding testimony, exhibits, facts or law;
5. Schedule deadlines, hearing dates and locations if not previously set;
6. Allow the Parties opportunity to discuss settlement; or
7. Any other similar reason determined by the Commission to further administrative convenience, expedition, and 

economy, or to avoid undue prejudice.
B. Record. The Commission may record any agreements reached during a prehearing conference by electronic or mechan-

ical means, or memorialize them in an order.
R12-14-620. Subpoenas
A. Form. As provided by A.R.S. § 41-1092.07 and A.R.S. § 41-1092.10, any party may request a subpoena in writing 

from the Commission and shall include in the request:
1. The caption of the Appealable Agency Action;
2. A list or description of any documents sought;
3. The full name and home or business address of the custodian of the documents sought or all persons to be subpoe-

naed;
4. The date, time, and place to appear or to produce documents pursuant to the subpoena; and
5. The name, address, and telephone number of the party, or the party’s attorney, requesting the subpoena.

B. The Commission may require a brief statement of the relevance of testimony or documents.
C. Service of subpoena. Any person who is not a party and is at least 18 years of age may serve a subpoena. The person 

shall serve the subpoena by delivering a copy to the person to be served. The person serving the subpoena shall provide 
proof of service by filing with the Arizona Power Authority a certified statement of the date and manner of service and 
the name of the person served.

D. Objection to subpoena. A party, or the person served with a subpoena who objects to the subpoena, or any portion of it, 
may file an objection with the Commission. The objection shall be filed within 5 days after service of the subpoena, or 
at the outset of the hearing if the subpoena is served fewer than 5 days before the hearing.

E. Quashing, modifying subpoenas. The Commission shall quash or modify the subpoena if:
1. It is unreasonable or oppressive, or
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2. The desired testimony or evidence may be obtained by an alternative method, or
3. The existing administrative record contains the information and evidence that would otherwise be proffered pursu-

ant to the subpoena.
R12-14-621. Telephonic Testimony
The Commission may grant a motion for telephonic testimony if:

1. Personal attendance by a party or witness at the hearing will present an undue hardship for the party or witness;
2. Telephonic testimony will not cause undue prejudice to any party; and
3. The proponent of the telephonic testimony pays for any cost of obtaining the testimony telephonically.

R12-14-622. Rights and Responsibilities of Parties
A. Generally. A party may present testimony and documentary evidence and argue with respect to the issues and may 

examine and cross-examine witnesses.
B. Preparation. A party shall have all witnesses, documents and exhibits available on the date of the hearing.
C. Exhibits. A party shall provide a copy of each exhibit to all other parties at the time the exhibit is offered to the Com-

mission, unless it was previously provided through discovery.
D. Responding to Orders. A party shall comply with an order issued by the Commission concerning the conduct of a hear-

ing. Unless objection is made orally during a pre-hearing conference or hearing, a party shall file a motion requesting 
the Commission to reconsider the order.

R12-14-623. Hearings; Depositions
A. Pursuant to A.R.S. § 30-107, all members of the Commission shall attend all hearings, unless excused from attendance 

for a justifiable excuse which shall be made part of the record. Three members shall constitute a quorum for conducting 
a hearing.

B. The Parties to an Appealable Agency Action have the right to be represented by counsel, or to proceed without coun-
sel, to submit evidence and to cross-examine witnesses.

C. The Commission may issue subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of documents. The 
subpoenas shall be served pursuant to R12-14-620(C) and, on application to the superior court, enforced in the manner 
provided by law for the service and enforcement of subpoenas in civil proceedings. The Commission may administer 
oaths and affirmations to witnesses.

D. All parties shall have the opportunity to respond and present evidence and argument on all relevant issues. All relevant 
evidence is admissible, but the Commission may exclude evidence if its probative value is outweighed by the danger of 
unfair prejudice, by confusion of the issues or by considerations of undue delay, waste of time or needless presentation 
of cumulative evidence. The Commission shall exercise reasonable control over the manner and order of cross-examin-
ing witnesses and presenting evidence to make the cross-examination and presentation effective for ascertaining the 
truth, avoiding needless consumption of time and protecting witnesses from harassment or undue embarrassment.

E. All hearings shall be recorded. The Commission shall secure either a court reporter or an electronic means of producing 
or preserving a clear and accurate record of the proceeding at the Authority’s expense. Any party that requests a tran-
script of the proceeding shall pay the costs of the transcript to the court reporter or other transcriber.

F. Unless otherwise provided by law, the following apply:
1. A hearing may be conducted in an informal manner and without adherence to the rules of evidence required in 

judicial proceedings. Neither the manner of conducting the hearing nor the failure to adhere to the rules of evidence 
required in judicial proceedings is grounds for reversing any administrative decision or order if the evidence sup-
porting the decision or order is substantial, reliable and probative.

2. Copies of documentary evidence may be received in the discretion of the Commission. On request, Parties shall be 
given an opportunity to compare the copy with the original.

3. Notice may be taken of judicially cognizable facts. In addition, notice may be taken of generally recognized tech-
nical or scientific facts within the Commission’s specialized knowledge. Parties shall be notified either before or 
during the hearing or by reference in preliminary reports or otherwise of the material noticed including any staff 
memoranda or data and they shall be afforded an opportunity to contest the material so noticed. The Commis-
sion’s experience, technical competence and specialized knowledge may be used in the evaluation of the evidence.

4. On application of a party and for use as evidence, the Commission may permit a deposition to be taken, in the 
manner and on the terms designated by the Commission, of a witness who cannot be subpoenaed or who is unable 
to attend the hearing. Subpoenas for the production of documents may be ordered by the Commission if the party 
seeking the discovery demonstrates that the party has reasonable need of the materials being sought. All provisions 
of law compelling a person under subpoena to testify are applicable. Fees for attendance as a witness shall be the 
same as for a witness in court, unless otherwise provided by law or Arizona Power Authority rule. Notwithstand-
ing A.R.S. § 12-2212, subpoenas, depositions or other discovery shall not be permitted except as provided by this 
subsection or subsection (C).

5. Informal disposition may be made by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order or default.
6. Findings of fact shall be based exclusively on the evidence and on matters officially noticed. 
7. A final administrative decision shall include findings of fact and conclusions of law, separately stated. Findings of 

fact, if set forth in statutory language, shall be accompanied by a concise and explicit statement of the underlying 
facts supporting the findings.
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R12-14-624. Conduct of Hearing
A. Public access. Unless otherwise provided by law, all hearings are open to the public.
B. Opening. The Commission shall begin the hearing by reading the caption, stating the nature and scope of the hearing, 

and identifying the parties, counsel, and witnesses for the record.
C. Stipulations. The Commission shall enter into the record any stipulation, settlement agreement, or consent order 

entered into by any of the parties before or during the hearing.
D. Opening statements. The party initiating the appeal may make an opening statement at the beginning of a hearing. All 

other parties may make statements in a sequence determined by the Commission.
E. Order of presentation. After opening statements, the party initiating the appeal shall begin the presentation of evi-

dence, unless the parties agree otherwise or the Commission determines that requiring another party to proceed first 
would be more expeditious or appropriate, and would not prejudice any other party.

F. Examination. A party shall conduct direct and cross examination of witnesses in the order and manner determined by 
the Commission to expedite and ensure a fair hearing. The Commission shall make rulings necessary to prevent argu-
mentative, repetitive, or irrelevant presentation of evidence, including testimony, and to expedite the examination to the 
extent consistent with the disclosure of all relevant testimony and information. 

G. Closing argument. When all evidence has been received, parties shall have the opportunity to present closing oral argu-
ment, in a sequence determined by the Commission. The Commission may permit or require closing oral argument to 
be supplemented by written memoranda. The Commission may permit or require written memoranda to be submitted 
simultaneously or sequentially, within time periods the Commission may prescribe.

H. Conclusion of hearing. Unless otherwise provided by the Commission, the hearing is concluded upon the submission 
of all evidence, the making of final argument, or the submission of all post hearing memoranda, whichever occurs last.

R12-14-625. Failure of Party to Appear for Hearing
If a party fails to appear at a hearing, the Commission may proceed with the presentation of the evidence of the appearing 
party, vacate the hearing and return the matter to the Authority for any further action, or dismiss the appeal and conclude that 
there is a final action on the existing administrative record.
R12-14-626. Witnesses: Exclusion from Hearing
All witnesses at the hearing shall testify under oath or affirmation. At the request of a party, or at the discretion of the Com-
mission, the Commission may exclude witnesses who are not parties from the hearing room so that they cannot hear the tes-
timony of other witnesses.
R12-14-627. Proof
A. Standard of proof. Unless otherwise provided by law, the standard of proof is a preponderance of the evidence.
B. Burden of proof. Unless otherwise provided by law:

1. The party asserting a claim, right, or entitlement has the burden of proof;
2. A party asserting an affirmative defense has the burden of establishing the affirmative defense; and

 3. The proponent of a motion shall establish the grounds to support the motion.
R12-14-628. Disruptions
A person shall not interfere with access to or from the hearing room, or interfere, or threaten interference with the hearing. If 
a person interferes, threatens interference, or disrupts the hearing, the Commission may order the disruptive person to leave 
or be removed.
R12-14-629. Hearing Record
A. Maintenance. The Commission shall maintain the official record of appeal and hearing.
B. Transfer of record. Before the Commission makes a final administrative decision, the party may request that the record 

be available for its review or duplication. Any party requesting a copy of the record or any portion of the record shall 
make a request to the Commission and shall pay the reasonable costs of duplication.

C. Release of exhibits. Exhibits shall be released:
1. Upon the order of a court of competent jurisdiction; or
2. Upon motion of the party who submitted the exhibits if the time for judicial appeal has expired and no appeal is 

pending.
R12-14-630. Final Administrative Decisions; Review
A. For purposes of this article, the decision of the Commission on appeal is the final administrative decision. 
B. A party may appeal a final administrative decision pursuant to title 12, chapter 7, article 6, except that if a party has not 

requested a hearing upon receipt of a notice of Appealable Agency Action pursuant to section 41-1092.03, the Appeal-
able Agency Action is not subject to judicial review.

R12-14-631. Rehearing or Review
A. A party may file a motion for rehearing within 30 days after service of the final administrative decision pursuant to 

A.R.S. § 41- 1092.09.
B. Any other party may file a response to the motion for rehearing within 15 days after the date the motion for rehearing is 

filed. 
C. After a hearing has been held and a final administrative decision has been entered pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1092.08, a 

party is not required to file a motion for rehearing or review of the decision in order to exhaust the party's administra-
tive remedies.

D. Service is complete on personal service or five days after the date that the final administrative decision is mailed to the 



Notices of Final Rulemaking

306 February 27, 2015 | Published by the Arizona Secretary of State | Vol. 21, Issue 9

party's last known address.
E. Except as provided in this subsection, the Commission shall rule on the motion within 15 days after the response to the 

motion is filed or, if a response is not filed, within five days of the expiration of the response period.
R12-14-632. Notice of Judicial Appeal; Transmitting the Transcript
A. Notification to the Arizona Power Authority. Within 10 days of filing a notice of appeal for judicial review of a final 

administrative decision, the party shall file a copy of the notice of appeal with the Arizona Power Authority. The 
Authority shall then transmit the record to the Superior Court.

B. Transcript. A party requesting a transcript shall arrange for transcription at the party’s expense. The Authority shall 
make a copy of its audio taped record available to the transcriber. The party arranging for transcription shall deliver the 
transcript, certified by the transcriber under oath to be a true and accurate transcription of the audio taped record, to the 
Authority, together with one unbound copy.


