e/

_{__ Notices of Final Exempt Rulemaking Arizona Administrative REGISTER

NOTICES OF FINAL EXEMPT RULEMAKING

This section of the Arizona Administrative Register interpretation of the final exempt rule should be addressed to
contains Notices of Final Exempt Rulemaking. the agency promulgating the rules. Refer to item #5 to
The Office of the Secretary of State is the filing office  contact the person charged with the rulemaking.
and publisher of these rules. Questions about the

NOTICE OF FINAL EXEMPT RULEMAKING

TITLE 9. HEALTH SERVICES

CHAPTER 22. ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST CONTAINMENT SYSTEM (AHCCCS)

ADMINISTRATION
[R16-121]
PREAMBLE
1. Article, Part. or Section Affected (as applicable) Rulemaking Action
R9-22-730 Amend
2. Citations to the agency’s statutory rulemaking authority to _include the authorizing statute (general) and the
implementing statute (specific):
Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 36-2901.08
Implementing statute: A.R.S. § 36-2901.08
Statute authorizing the exemption: Laws 2013, 1st Special Session, Chapter 10
3. The proposed effective date of the rule and the agency’s reason for selecting the effective date:
July 14, 2016 (The invoices for the new rates will be available July 15, 2016).
4. A list of all notices published in the Register as specified in R1-1-409(A) that pertain to the record of the exempt
rulemaking:
None
5. The agency’s contact person who can answer questions about the rulemaking:
Name: James Maguire
Address: AHCCCS Office of Administrative Legal Services
701 E. Jefferson, Mail Drop 6200
Phoenix, AZ 85034
Telephone: (602) 417-4232
Fax: (602) 253-9115
E-mail: AHCCCSRules@azahcccs.gov
Web site: www.azahcccs.gov
6. An agency’s justification and reason why a rule should be made, amended. repealed or renumbered. to include

an explanation about the rulemaking:
A.R.S. § 36-2901.08 authorizes the Administration to establish, administer and collect an assessment on hospital

revenues, discharges or bed days for funding a portion of the nonfederal share of the costs incurred beginning Janu-
ary 1, 2014, associated with eligible persons added to the program by A.R.S. §§ 36-2901.01 and 36-2901.07. It is
the Agency’s objective to assess only so much as is necessary to meet the estimated costs associated with the pro-
jected populations referenced in the statute. As such, it is necessary for the Administration to adjust the assessment
from time to time as the Administration updates its estimate of the number of eligible persons and projected cost
associated with coverage for those persons. The Administration is proposing a new rule to update the figures to be
used as of July 1, 2016 for collecting the assessment from hospitals.

At the assessment rates in the current rule, the Administration estimates that it would collect $250 million over the
course of a state fiscal year. The amendments reflected in this proposed rule adjust the assessment rates such that
the Administration anticipates the collection of $265 million for the State Fiscal Year ending June 30, 2017. This
amount corresponds to an amount slightly less than the non-federal funds estimated to be necessary to cover the
cost of providing care to the 430,000 eligible individuals the Administration estimates will be added to the program
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by A.R.S. §§ 36-2901.01 and 36-2901.07 during the State Fiscal year ending June 30, 2017.

A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and proposes either to rely on or not to
rely on in its evaluation of or justification for the rule, where the public may obtain or review each study. all data
underlying each study. and any analysis of each study and other supporting material:

No studies were conducted relevant to the rule.

A showmg of good cause why the rulemaklng is necessary to promote a statew1de interest if the rulemaking will
di h f auth f litical subdi f thi :

Not applicable

The summary of the economic, small business. and consumer impact, if applicable:
The Administration estimates that $265 million will be necessary to be collected from Arizona hospitals to fund the
cost required by statute for State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2017 ending June 30, 2017. The assessment amount currently in
rule reflects the amount needed in SFY 2016 to cover the assessment, approximately $250 million. The amendment
adjusts the rates upward to reflect the actual need of $265 million for SFY 2017.

The AHCCCS program is jointly funded by the State and the federal government through the Medicaid program.
Depending on the eligibility category of the individual, the federal government provides between two-thirds and
100% of the cost of care for persons described in A.R.S. § 36.2901.08(A). The Administration will use the
amounts collected from the assessment combined with the federal financial participation to fund the cost of health
care coverage for an estimated 430,000 persons described in A.R.S. § 36.2901.08(A) through direct payments to
health care providers and capitation payments to managed care organizations that, in turn, make payments to health
care providers that render care to AHCCCS members. Many of the providers of that medical care are considered
small businesses located in Arizona.

A.R.S. § 36-2901.08 prohibits the assessed hospitals from passing the cost of the assessment on to patients or third
parties who pay for care in the hospital. In the aggregate, the Administration expects to return millions more in
SFY 2017 in incremental payments for hospital services than will be collected through the assessment. Along with
a copy of this final exempt rule making, the Administration has posted to its website information regarding the fis-
cal impact of this amendment to hospitals:
https://azahcccs.gov/PlansProviders/CurrentProviders/State/proposedrules.html

A description of any changes between the proposed rulemaking., including anv supplemental proposed
rulemaking. and the final rulemaking package (if applicable):
No changes were made between the proposed rulemaking and the final exempt rulemaking.

11. The time, place. An agency’s summary of the public or stakeholder comments made about the rulemaking and the

12.

agency response to the comments, if applicable:
No comments from the public were received regarding the proposed rulemaking.

Any other matters prescribed by statute that are applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule or class
of rules. When applicable. matters shall include, but are not limited to:
No other matters have been prescribed.

a. Whether the rule requires a permit, whether a general permit is used and if not, the reasons why a general

permit is not used:
Not applicable

b. Whether a federal law is applicable to the subject of the rule, whether the rule is more stringent than federal
law and if so, citation to the statutory authority to exceed the requirements of federal law:

Not applicable

Whether a person submitted an analysis to the agency that compares the rule’s impact of the competitiveness
of business in this state to the impact on business in other states:
No analysis was submitted.

I

A list of any incorporated by reference material and its location in the rules:
None

14. Whether the rule was previously made. amended. repealed or renumbered as an emergency rule. If so. the

15.

agency shall state where the text changed between the emergency rule and the exempt rulemaking packages:
Not applicable

The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 9. HEALTH SERVICES

CHAPTER 22. ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST CONTAINMENT SYSTEM (AHCCCS)
ADMINISTRATION

ARTICLE 7. STANDARDS FOR PAYMENTS
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Section
R9-22-730. Hospital Assessment

ARTICLE 7. STANDARDS FOR PAYMENTS

R9-22-730.  Hospital Assessment

A. For purposes of this Section, the following terms are defined as provided below unless the context specifically requires
another meaning:

1. “2011 Medicare Cost Report” means:

a. The Medicare Cost Report for the hospital fiscal year ending in calendar year 2011 as reported in the CMS
Healthcare Provider Cost Reporting Information System (HCRIS) release dated December 31, 2012; or

b. For hospitals not included in that CMS HCRIS report, the “as filed” Medicare Cost Report for the hospital fis-
cal year ending in calendar year 2011 submitted by the hospital to the Administration.

2. “2011 Uniform Accounting Report” means the Uniform Accounting Report submitted to the Arizona Department
of Health Services as of December 19, 2012.

3. “2012 Uniform Accounting Report” means the Uniform Accounting Report submitted to the Arizona Department
of Health Services as of August 2, 2013.

4. “Quarter” means the three month period beginning January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1 of each year.

B. Beginning January 1, 2014, for each Arizona licensed hospital not excluded under subsection (I) shall be subject to an
assessment payable on a quarterly basis. The assessment shall be levied against the legal owner of each hospital as of
the first day of the quarter, and except as otherwise required by subsections (D), (E) and (F). For the period beginning

July 1, 2016, the assessment shall be calculated by multiplying the number of discharges reported on the
hospltal 52011 Medicare Cost Report, excluding discharges reported on the Medicare Cost Report as “Other Long Term

Care Discharges” by the following rates based on the hospital’s peer group:

1. $416:00 $440.00 per discharge for hospitals located in a county with a population less than 500,000 that are desig-
nated as type: hospital, subtype: short-term.

2. $4146-060 $440.00 per discharge for hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: critical access hospital.

3. $164-00 $110.00 per discharge for hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: long term.

4. $1+064-60 $110.00 per discharge for hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: psychiatric, that reported 2,500
or more discharges on the 2011 Medicare Cost Report.

5. $33275 $352.00 per discharge for hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: short-term with 20% of total
licensed beds licensed as pediatric, pediatric intensive care and neonatal intensive care as reported in the hospital’s
2012 Uniform Accounting Report.

6. $374-50 $396.00 per discharge for hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: short-term with at least 10% but
less than 20% of total licensed beds licensed as pediatric, pediatric intensive care and neonatal intensive care as
reported in the hospital’s 2012 Uniform Accounting Report.

7. $416:00 $440.00 per discharge for hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: short-term not included in
another peer group.

C. Peer groups for the four quarters beginning July 1 of each year are established based on hospital license type and sub-
type designated in the Provider & Facility Database for Arizona Medical Facilities posted by the Arizona Department of
Health Services Division of Licensing Services on its website Aprit2;2645 April 1. 2016.

D. Notwithstanding subsection (B), psychiatric discharges from a hospital that reported having a psychiatric sub-provider
in the hospital’s 2011 Medicare Cost Report, are assessed a rate of $164-00 $110.00 for each discharge from the psychi-
atric sub-provider as reported in the 2011 Medicare Cost Report. All discharges other than those reported as discharges
from the psychiatric sub-provider are assessed at the rate required by subsection (B).

E. Notwithstanding subsection (B), rehabilitative discharges from a hospital that reported having a rehabilitative sub-pro-
vider in the hospital’s 2011 Medicare Cost Report, are assessed a rate of $0 for each discharge from the rehabilitative
sub-provider as reported in the 2011 Medicare Cost Report. All discharges other than those reported as discharges from
the rehabilitative sub-provider are assessed at the rate required by subsection (B).

F. Notwithstanding subsection (B), for any hospital that reported more than 28;990 28.800 discharges on the hospital’s
2011 Medicare Cost Report, discharges in excess of 28;900 28.800 are assessed a rate of $44-56 $44.00 for each dis-
charge in excess of 28;900 28.800. The initial 28,800 discharges are assessed at the rate required by subsection (B).

G. Assessment notice. On or before the 15th day of the first month of the quarter or upon CMS approval, whichever is later,
the Administration shall send to each hospital a notification that the assessment invoice is available to be viewed on a
secure website. The invoice shall include the hospital’s peer group assignment and the assessment due for the quarter.

H. Assessment due date. The assessment must be received by the Administration no later than:

1. The 15th day of the second month of the quarter or

2. In the event CMS approves the assessment after the 15th day of the first month of the quarter, 30 days after notifi-
cation by the Administration that the assessment invoice is available.

I. Excluded hospitals. The following hospitals are excluded from the assessment based on the hospital’s 2011 Medicare
Cost Report and Provider & Facility Database for Arizona Medical Facilities posted by the Arizona Department of
Health Services Division of Licensing Services on its website for Apr2;2645 April 1. 2016:

1. Hospitals owned and operated by the state, the United States, or an Indian tribe.

2. Hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: short-term that have a license number beginning “SH”.
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3. Hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: psychiatric that reported fewer than 2,500 discharges on the 2011

Medicare Cost Report.

Hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype; rehabilitation.

Hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: children’s.

Hospitals designated as type: med-hospital, subtype: special hospitals.

Hospitals designated as type: hospital, subtype: short-term located in a city with a population greater than one mil-

lion, which on average have at least 15 percent of inpatient days for patients who reside outside of Arizona, and at

least 50 percent of discharges as reported on the 2011 Medicare Cost Report are reimbursed by Medicare.

J.  New hospitals. For hospitals that did not file a 2011 Medicare Cost Report because of the date the hospital began opera-
tions:

1. If the hospital was open on the April 1 preceding the July assessment start date, the hospital assessment will begin
on July 1 following the date the hospital began operating.

2. If the hospital began operating between April 2 and June 30, the assessment will begin on July 1 of the following
calendar year.

3. A hospital is not considered a new hospital based on a change in ownership.

4. Until the first full year of data is available, the assessment will be based on the annualized number of discharges
from the date hospital operations began through April 30 preceding the July assessment start date. The hospital
shall submit the discharge data and all other data requested by the Administration necessary to determine the appro-
priate assessment to the Administration no later than May 15 preceding the assessment start date for the new hospi-
tals. Thereafter, the assessment will be based on the discharges reported in the hospital’s first Medicare Cost
Report and Uniform Accounting Report which includes 12 months worth of data; however, when a new hospital
shares a Medicare Identification Number with an existing hospital, the assessment amount will be based on self
reported data from the new hospital instead of the Medicare Cost Report. The data shall include the number of dis-
charges and all other data requested by the Administration necessary to determine the appropriate assessment.

5. For hospitals providing self-reported data:

a. Psychiatric discharges will be annualized to determine if subsections (B)(4) or (I)(3) apply to the assessment
amount.
b. Discharges will be annualized to determine if subsection (F) applies to the assessment amount.

K. Changes of ownership. The parties to a change of ownership shall promptly provide written notice to the Administration
of a change of ownership and any agreement regarding the payment of the assessment. The assessed amount will con-
tinue at the same amount applied to the prior owner. Assessments are the responsibility of the owner of record as of the
first day of the quarter; however, this rule is not intended to prohibit the parties to a change of ownership from entering
into an agreement for a new owner to assume the assessment responsibility of the owner of record as of the first day of
the prior quarter.

L. Hospital closures. Hospitals that close shall pay a proportion of the quarterly assessment equal to that portion of the
quarter during which the hospital operated.

M. Required information. For any hospital that has not filed a 2011 Medicare Cost report, or if the 2011 Medicare Cost
report does not include the reliable information sufficient for the Administration to calculate the assessment, the Admin-
istration shall use data reported on the 2011 Uniform Accounting Report filed by the hospital in place of the 2011 Medi-
care Cost report to calculate the assessment. If the 2011 Uniform Accounting Report filed by the hospital does not
include reliable information sufficient for the Administration to calculate the assessment amounts, the hospital shall pro-
vide the Administration with data specified by the Administration necessary in place of the 2011 Medicare Cost report
to calculate the assessment.

N. The Administration will review and update as necessary rates and peer groups periodically to ensure the assessment is
sufficient to fund the state match obligation to cover the cost of the populations as specified in 36-2901.08.

0. Enforcement. If a hospital does not comply with this section, the director may suspend or revoke the hospital’s provider
agreement. If the hospital does not comply within 180 days after the hospital’s provider agreement is suspended or
revoked, the director shall notify the director of the Department of Health Services who shall suspend or revoke the hos-
pital’s license.
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