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TITLE 21. CHILD SAFETY
CHAPTER 6. DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SAFETY — FOSTER HOME LICENSING
Authority: A.R.S. § 8-453(A)(5)
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exempt rules. Because the Department solicited comments on its proposed exempt rules, the rules filed with the Office of the Secretary of
State are considered final exempt rules (Supp. 15-4).
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R21-6-417.  The Appeal Process
R21-6-418.  Allegations of Abuse or Neglect; Licensing Com-
plaints
R21-6-419.  Waiver of Non-Safety Licensing Requirements for
Kinship Care
ARTICLE 1. DEFINITIONS
R21-6-101.  Definitions

The definitions contained in A.R.S. § 8-501 and the following defi-
nitions apply when used in this Chapter.

2.

3.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.
15.
16.

17.

Supp. 15-4

“Adult” means any person 18 years of age or older.
“Adverse licensing action” means a decision by OLR to
deny, suspend, or revoke a license.

“Appeal” means the legal right of an applicant to contest

an adverse licensing action.

“Applicant” means an individual or married couple,

unless excepted under R21-6-408, who submit an appli-

cation for a license as a foster home.

“Application” means the documentation and information

required by the OLR to evaluate an applicant for a license

and includes the application form completed via the

Department's electronic database to initiate the licensing

process. The application authorizes the licensing agency

and the OLR to conduct assessments and investigations to
verify qualifications and compliance with licensing
requirements.

“Careful and sensible judgment” means the use of deci-

sions and actions that maintain the health, safety, and

well-being of a foster child.

“Central Registry” means the information maintained by

the Department of substantiated reports of child abuse or

neglect for the purposes of A.R.S. § 8-804.

“Child” means any person less than 18 years of age.

“Child developmental home” means the same as A.R.S. §

36-551(11). The DES Division of Developmental Dis-

abilities (DDD) licenses these types of residences to care

for a child with a developmental disability in a family set-
ting.

“Child Placing Agency” means the same as A.R.S. § 8-

501(A)(1)(iii):

(iii) Any agency maintained by this state, a political
subdivision of this state or a person, firm, corpora-
tion, association or organization to place children
or unmarried mothers in a foster home.

“Child Safety Worker” means the same as A.R.S. § 8-

801.

“Corrective action” means a plan specified by the OLR

for a foster parent to remedy the violation of a licensing

requirement within a specified time-frame.

“Criminal record self-disclosure” means a person’s state-

ment made under penalty of perjury, using the form

approved by the OLR, attesting to whether the person:

a. Has a record of any arrests, convictions, or pending
indictments;

b. Has committed a crime specified in the Arizona
Revised Statutes as a precluding crime for the issu-
ance of a fingerprint clearance card meeting Level
One requirements; or

c. Isaregistered sex offender.

“DCS Report” means the same as “report for investiga-

tion” in A.R.S. § 8-201(30).

“Department” or “DCS” means the Arizona Department

of Child Safety

“DES” means the Arizona Department of Economic

Security.

“Developmentally appropriate” means:
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18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

217.

28.

a. The activities or items that are generally accepted as
suitable for children of the same chronological age
or level of maturity or that are determined to be
developmentally appropriate for a child, based on
the development of cognitive, emotional, physical
and behavioral capacities that are typical for an age
or age group; and

b. Inthe case of a specific child, activities or items that
are suitable for the child based on the developmental
stages attained by the child with respect to the cogni-
tive, emotional, physical, and behavioral capacities
of the child.

“Developmental Disability” means the same as in A.R.S.

§ 36-551.

“Fingerprint clearance card” means the card issued by the

Arizona Department of Public Safety (A.R.S. §§ 41-1758

et. seq.) certifying that the person named on the card does

not have a state or federal criminal history record contain-

ing an offense specified as a precluding crime in A.R.S.

Title 41, Chapter 12.

“Firearm” means any loaded or unloaded handgun, pistol,

revolver, rifle, shotgun, or other weapon that will expel,

is deigned to expel, or may be readily converted to expel

a projectile by the action of an explosive.

“Fitness” means the ability of an applicant or foster par-

ent to:

a. Provide a safe and nurturing environment for a fos-
ter child; and

b. Comply with the foster home licensing require-
ments.

“Foster care” means care and supervision provided to a

child who is in the custody of the state.

“Foster child” means a person less than 18 years of age

who is receiving foster care. “Foster child” is further

defined under A.R.S. § 8-501(4). For the purpose of this

Chapter, “foster child”:

a. Includes a young adult less than 21 years of age who
continues to reside in a foster home under a written
individual case plan agreement for out-of-home
care, or under the Independent Living Program
defined in A.R.S. § 8-521;

b. Includes a child with a Developmental Disability
placed by the Department in a child developmental
home;

c. Does not include a young adult who has returned to
a foster home under the Transitional Independent
Living Program defined in A.R.S. § 8-521.01; and

d. Does not include the birth or adopted child, of an
applicant, foster parent, or other household member.

“Foster home” means a residence where a foster parent

lives and includes a detached home, all structures, and the

entire premises belonging to the home, including apart-
ments, guest homes, garages, sheds, and motorhomes.

“Foster home” is further defined under A.R.S. § 8-501.

“Foster parent” means an individual, or married couple,

who provides foster care with a license from the OLR.

“Foster parent” is further defined under A.R.S. § 8-501.

“Group foster home” means a class of foster home in

which the licensed foster parent is certified to provide

care to more than five but not more than 10 foster chil-
dren at a time. “Group foster home” is further defined

under A.R.S. § 8-501.

“Guardian” means a person who is authorized by law to

have the care and custody of a child.

“Hazard” means a condition or situation that may cause

or result in physical injury or illness to a child.
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37.

38.

39.
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“Health self-disclosure” means an adult household mem-
ber’s declaration, using the form approved by OLR attest-
ing to the person’s physical, medical, and emotional
health. The health-self disclosure:
a. Identifies any past or present:

i.  Major illness;

ii. Communicable disease;

iii. Surgery;
iv. Drug or substance abuse problem or treatment;
and

v.  Other medical, physical, or mental health con-
dition or treatment; and

b. Identifies all medications, treatments, adaptive
equipment, or other accommodations used to reduce
or eliminate any medical, physical, or mental health
conditions.

“Home” means the residence where a foster parent lives.

“Home” may be used interchangeably with “foster

home.”

“Home and Community Based Services” or “HCBS”

means the same as in R6-6-1501. The DES Division of

Developmental Disabilities (DDD), Office of Licensing,

Certification, and Regulation (OLCR) rules on HCBS are

in 6 A.A.C., Chapter 6, Article 15.

“Household” means all children and adults living in a fos-

ter parent’s home.

“Household member” means any individual who lives or

intends to live in the foster home or on the premises, for

30 consecutive days or more, or periodically throughout

the year for a total of 30 non-consecutive days or more.

“Household member”:

a. Includes the applicant, licensee, housemates, ten-
ants; children of the applicant, licensee, housemates,
or tenants; and adults participating in the Transi-
tional Independent Living Program defined in
A.R.S. § 8-521.01; and

b. Does not include a foster child, an adult with a
Developmental Disability, or young adult who
resides in a foster home under a written agreement
with the Department for continued care or under the
Independent Living Program defined in A.R.S. § 8-
521.

“Individual Family Service Plan” or “IFSP” means a

written statement of services and supports to be provided

to a child and the child’s family for children less than the
age of three years who are eligible for the Arizona Early

Intervention Program (AzEIP) to enhance the capacity of

families and care givers to support the child’s develop-

ment and engagement and participation in everyday rou-
tines and activities.

“In-home respite foster parent” means an individual

licensed to provide respite care in a licensed foster home,

which is not that individual’s own home.

“Kinship care” means that the care and supervision of a

foster child in a foster home is provided by a relative or

an individual who has a significant relationship with the
child.

“Lawfully present” means that an individual is a United

States citizen or national or an alien authorized by an

appropriate federal entity or court to be present in the

United States.

“License” means the permission granted by OLR, to

legally operate a foster home and includes an initial,

renewal, and amended license.

“Licensee” means the individual or married couple who

is approved by OLR to be licensed as a foster parent.
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42.

43.

44.

45.

46.

47.

48.

49.

50.

51.

52.
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54.

55.

“Licensing agency” means an entity, which may include a
licensed Placing Agency the Department contracts with
to recruit and train foster parents and monitor a licensed
foster home.
“Licensing decision” means the issuance, denial, suspen-
sion, revocation of, or amendment to a license by OLR in
response to the receipt and review of:
a.  An application for initial or renewal licensure,
b.  An application to amend a license, or
c. A complaint or investigation conducted according to
R21-6-418.
“Licensing record” means the information maintained by
a licensing agency or by the OLR, for the purpose of doc-
umenting the fitness of and compliance with licensing
requirements, laws, and rules of an applicant or foster
parent.
“Licensing requirements” means the rules specified in
this Chapter and Chapter 8 of this Title.
“Life Safety Inspection” means an examination of a fam-
ily foster home by OLR to verify compliance with stan-
dards intended to safeguard a foster child from fire and
other hazardous conditions.
“Lock” means a device operated by a key, combination,
magnet, keycard, or other tool to safeguard medications,
swimming pools, weapons, and highly toxic substances.
“Medically complex foster home” means a class of foster
home in which the licensed foster parent is certified to
provide care to a foster child identified by the Department
as requiring special care for medically complex needs.
“Medical professional” means a doctor of medicine or
osteopathy, physician's assistant, or registered nurse prac-
titioner licensed in A.R.S. Title 32, or a doctor of medi-
cine licensed and authorized to practice in another state or
foreign country. A medical professional from another
state or foreign country must provide verification of valid
and current licensure in that state or country.
“Medication” means both prescription and over-the-
counter remedies.
“Mobile home” means a trailer that is mounted on wheels
or a platform with utility connections exposed under the
trailer.
“Need to know” means the legitimate requirement of a
person or organization to know, access, or possess confi-
dential or personally identifiable information that is criti-
cal to carry out official duties or to provide services to the
child.
“OCWI Investigator” means a DCS Investigator who is
assigned to the Office of Child Welfare Investigations,
and whose primary duties and responsibilities are pre-
scribed in A.R.S. § 8-471.
“Office of Licensing and Regulation” or “OLR”, means
the administration within DCS that is responsible for
reviewing and evaluating applications for licensure;
supervising and monitoring licensees; and completing all
official licensing actions, including issuing, denying,
amending, suspending, and revoking a license.
“Physical punishment” means the deliberate infliction of
pain or discomfort to a person.
“Physical restraint” means the same as A.R.S. § 8-
S01(A)(14)(b)(ii).
“Physician's Statement” means information on the physi-
cal, emotional, and mental health of any adult household
member, providing care for a foster child, using a form
approved by OLR. The statement shall:
a. Be based on an examination by a medical profes-
sional,
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65.

66.
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b.  State whether the household member has a condition
that could interfere with the provision of safe care
and supervision to a foster child, and

c. Include a completed health self-disclosure by the
household member.

“Placement” means the act of finding an appropriate fos-

ter home for a foster child and putting the foster child in

that foster home.

“Placement agreement” means a written arrangement

between a licensee and a Child Placing Agency as speci-

fied under R21-6-323.

“Placement packet” means documents containing key

information needed for a foster parent to understand the

needs of the foster child, including medical records and
school records.

“Pool” means any natural or man-made body of water

located at a foster home or on its premises that:

a.  Could be used for swimming, recreational, therapeu-
tic, or decorative purposes;

b. Is greater than 18 inches in depth; and

¢. Includes swimming pools, spas, hot tubs, fountains,
and fishponds.

“Positive discipline” means a teaching process through
which a child learns to develop and maintain the self-con-
trol, self-reliance, self-esteem, and orderly conduct nec-
essary to assume responsibilities, make daily living
decisions, and live according to generally accepted levels
of social behavior.

“Premises” means:

a. The home; and

b. The property surrounding the home that is owned,
leased, or controlled by the applicant or licensee.

“Protective services registries” means the Central Regis-

try and the Adult Protective Services Registry.

“Public school” means a school, including a charter

school, that is maintained at public expense for the educa-

tion of the children of a community or district and that
constitutes a part of a system of free public education
commonly including primary and secondary education.

“Reasonable and prudent parenting standard” means the

practice of making careful and sensible parental decisions

that maintain the health, safety, and best interests of a fos-
ter child while at the same time encouraging the emo-
tional and developmental growth of the child when
determining whether to allow the child to participate in
extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, and social activities.

“Receiving foster home” means a class of foster home in

which the licensed foster parent is certified to receive a

foster child with limited notice and for a limited period of

time.

“Relative” means an individual who is related by blood,

marriage, or adoption to the foster child. For American

Indian and Alaska Native children, “relative” could also

include a tribally defined extended family relationship.

67. “Respite care” means the provision of temporary care and

68.

Supp. 15-4

supervision of a foster child to relieve a foster parent

from the duty to care for the foster child for a limited

period of time.

“Safeguard” means to take reasonable measures to elimi-

nate the risk of harm to a foster child. Where a specific

method is not otherwise prescribed in this Chapter, safe-

guarding may include:

a.  Locking up a particular substance or item;

b. Putting a substance or item out of reach of a foster
child;
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7.

78.

79.

80.

81.

c. Erecting a barrier that prevents a foster child from
reaching a particular place, item, or substance;
d.  Using protective safety devices; or
e. Providing supervision.
“Service Team” means a group of persons brought
together to ensure the best care for a foster child and at a
minimum, includes a child age 14 years and older, staff
from the Department, and the licensing agency.
“Sibling” means brothers and sisters by birth or adoption,
stepbrothers, stepsisters, half-brothers, and half-sisters.
“Skirting” means the barrier around the base of a mobile
home that is intended to protect utility connections from
damage or unauthorized contact.
“Slip-resistant surface” means flooring that provides fric-
tion to help prevent falls when the surface is wet. A slip-
resistant surface may be achieved by rippling or corrugat-
ing the surface, applying textured strips, installing a
secured carpet, using rubber mats, and other similar mea-
sures.
“Smoking” means burning or vaporizing tobacco prod-
ucts or other substances in a cigarette, cigar, pipe, elec-
tronic cigarette, or by means of equipment to inhale and
exhale the smoke or vapor.
“Specialized service” means a higher level of skill, train-
ing, and experience required for certification as a Group,
Medically Complex, Therapeutic, or Receiving foster
home.
“Stability” means having the necessary resources, sur-
roundings, temperament, and demeanor to maintain a
safe, steady, and consistent home environment for a foster
child.
“Statement of Understanding” means a signed document
completed by an applicant or foster parent confirming the
person has read, understands, and agrees to comply with
all applicable laws, rules, and regulations relating to the
operation of a foster home.
“Substantial compliance with licensing requirements”
means that the nature and number of violations of licens-
ing requirements are not significant and:
a. Do not pose a risk to the life, health, safety, or wel-
fare of a child receiving care;
b. Do not constitute a pattern of noncompliance or a
failure to implement required corrective action; and
c.  Are not the result of misrepresentation, falsification,
or fraud by the applicant or foster parent.
“Therapeutic foster home” means a class of foster home
in which the care is provided by a foster parent who has
received specialized training to provide care and services
within a support system of clinical and consultative ser-
vices to children with behavioral health needs.
“Trigger locked” means a method to render a firearm
temporarily or permanently inoperable by blocking the
firing or discharge mechanism for the firearm with a
locked device.
“Weapon” means a firearm, bow and arrows, or other
device or instrument, which in the manner it is used or
intended to be used is capable of inflicting serious bodily
injury, or causing death.
“UL approved” means a safety certification mark of a
Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory (NRTL), such
as UL (Underwriters Laboratories) or ETL (Electro Tech-
nical Laboratory) on an electronic device.

Historical Note

New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).
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ARTICLE 2. LICENSING AGENCY REQUIREMENTS FOR
FOSTER HOME LICENSING AGENCIES

R21-6-201. Minimum Qualifications for an Applicant

The licensing agency shall ensure the right of any individual or
married couple to apply for a foster home license, regardless of
gender, race, religion, political aftiliation, national origin, disability,
or sexual orientation, if the applicant meets the minimum qualifica-
tions specified under Chapter 6 of this Title.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-202.  Professional Judgment
The licensing agency shall use professional judgment in all recom-
mendations made and inquiries conducted in the course of licen-
sure. “Professional judgment” means an objective and thorough
analysis based on:
1. Commonly accepted industry standards and practices for
the regulation of care for children;
2. Knowledge and experience in accordance with contrac-
tual requirements;
3. Interviews, assessments, observations, references, and
documented sources of verifiable information; and
4. Knowledge of laws, rules, and guidelines for providing
foster care.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-203.  Conflicts of Interest

A. The licensing agency shall adopt a written code of ethics
regarding conflicts of interest.

B. The licensing agency shall assign the following duties for any
conflicts of interest other than those listed in subsection (C) to
an impartial party, such as a neutral employee or another
licensing agency.

1. The home study and assessment responsibilities as
described under R21-6-206; and
2. Licensing complaints as described under R21-6-221.

C. The licensing agency shall not accept as an applicant a person
who is:

1. An employee of the licensing agency, a service provider,
a contractor, or a major donor; or

2. Related by blood or marriage to an employee of the
licensing agency. For the purpose of this subsection, rela-
tives include the biological, adoptive, or step:

Child,

Grandchild,

Parent,

Parent of spouse,

Grandparent,

Grandparent of spouse,

Sibling,

Sibling of spouse,

Aunt, or

. Uncle.

D. A licensing agency that has a conflict of interest at the time
this Article is published in the Arizona Administrative Register
shall have 90 days to transfer cases to an alternative licensing
agency that does not have a conflict of interest under subsec-
tion (C).

TrEE e A o

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).
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R21-6-204.  Rights of the Applicant and Foster Parent

A. In addition to the inspection and due process rights specified
under A.R.S. § 41-1009, the licensing agency shall ensure that
each applicant and foster parent is informed of and afforded
the rights specified under this Section. OLR may request that
the licensing agency submit the notice used by the licensing
agency to OLR.

B. The licensing agency shall ensure that a foster parent or appli-
cant is permitted to access their licensing record as follows:

1. Upon written request, a foster parent or applicant shall
have the right to access their complete licensing record,
except as provided in subsection (C); and

2. A foster parent or applicant shall have the right to provide
a written response to findings and comments in the home
study, investigative reports, and any correspondence, with
the exception of the items listed in subsection (C).

C. The licensing agency shall not release the following informa-
tion to a foster parent or applicant:

1. Information supplied by confidential references during
the licensing process;

2. Information protected from secondary dissemination
under state or federal law, including investigations and
DCS Reports of alleged child abuse or neglect; and

3. The names of persons and organizations identified as
sources in a licensing complaint or DCS investigation or
DCS Report of alleged child abuse or neglect.

D. A licensing agency shall make a diligent effort to work with an
applicant or foster parent. If however, the parties determine
they cannot continue to work together, the licensing agency
shall assist the foster parent or applicant to find another licens-
ing agency and transfer their licensing record to the new
agency under R21-6-215(C).

1. Ifiit is the licensing agency that determines that it cannot
work with a foster parent or applicant, the licensing
agency shall notify the foster parent or applicant in writ-
ing specifically listing the reasons the licensing agency
cannot work with the foster parent or applicant and assist
the foster parent or applicant to find another licensing
agency and transfer their licensing record to the new
agency under this subsection (D); or

2. If the foster parent or applicant does not meet the mini-
mum qualifications for licensure under R21-6-401, the
licensing agency shall notify the foster parent or applicant
in writing specifically listing the reasons, the applicant or
foster parent fail to meet the minimum qualifications.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-205. Licensing Agency Responsibility; Application for

an Initial Foster Home License

A. When an applicant meets the minimum qualifications speci-
fied under R21-6-401, the licensing agency shall provide the
assistance needed to submit the application for initial licensure
via the Department's electronic database.

B. The licensing agency shall ensure that the application for an
initial license contains, at minimum, information specified
under R21-6-403.

C. The licensing agency shall provide OLR with signed verifica-
tion that the applicant has provided proof of income and
resources and:

1. Criminal record self-disclosure for each adult household
member;

2. Valid Level One fingerprint clearance cards for each adult
household member, as necessary; specified in A.R.S. § 8-
509;

Supp. 15-4



Title 21, Ch. 6

Arizona Administrative Code

Supp. 15-4

Department of Child Safety — Foster Home Licensing

3. Health self-disclosure completed by each adult household
member;

4. Physician’s statement for the foster parent, applicant, and
any other adult household member who will provide care
or supervision to the foster child;

5. Proof or current training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation
(CPR) and first aid;

6. Current immunization record available for each child
household member. In accordance with A.R.S. § 8-
509(1), the lack of updated or available immunization
records will not prohibit licensure, but may be grounds
for restricting the license to prevent the placement of
infants, young children, and medically complex children;

7. Valid Arizona driver's license for each household member
who transports a foster child, or a transportation plan in
place in the absence of a valid Arizona driver's license.

8. Current registration and insurance card for each vehicle
that belongs to a household member and may be used to
transport a foster child; and

9.  The Statement of Understanding, as defined under R21-6-
101(76).

The licensing agency shall ensure that the application for an

initial license includes the home study and assessment speci-

fied under R21-6-206 and the agency signature page.

The licensing agency shall submit the information required in

this Section to the licensing authority no later than 30 days

from receipt of all information required by this Section.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-206. Licensing Agency Foster Home Study and Assess-
ment
A. The licensing agency shall enter the home study via the

Department's electronic database.

To assess the applicant and write the initial home study, the

licensing agency shall:

Conduct interviews with each household member, includ-

ing each child household member, if appropriate to the

child’s age and developmental level, on at least:

a.  Two occasions in the applicant’s home;

b. One occasion with each applicant, individually; and

c.  One occasion with applicants, jointly, if:

i.  Applicants are married; or
ii.  Another adult household member is applying
for a license or is currently licensed;

2. Complete reference checks as follows:

a.  Obtain written statements via postal mail, electronic
mail, or on the form supplied by OLR, from at least
five reference sources identified by the applicant;

b. Ensure that no more than two references are from
relatives; and

c. Make personal contact, either in a face-to-face meet-
ing or via telephone, with at least one of the refer-
ence sources identified by the applicant;

3. Provide the applicant with the required forms and infor-
mation to apply for a Level One fingerprint clearance
card;

4. Request Central Registry record checks for each adult
household member for Arizona and from each state these
individuals resided in during the previous five years;

5. Ensure completion of all required training by the appli-
cant;

6. Ensure the applicant has the proper equipment required
by this Chapter, such as age-appropriate beds, for each
foster child at the time of placement;

Page 6

7. Visit the applicant’s home and provide information to
help the applicant prepare for the Life Safety Inspection
to be conducted by OLR throughout the home and prem-
ises.

8. Request a Life Safety Inspection for the applicant’s home
and verify any corrections made, if applicable; and

9. Work with each household member to assemble informa-
tion for self-assessments, using the forms approved by
OLR.

The home study shall include a summary of self-assessments,

interviews, and observations evaluating the applicant’s fitness

for licensure, including:

1.  Motivation and expectations for becoming a foster par-
ent;

2. Commitment to the care and supervision of a foster child;

3. Parenting skills and ability to use a reasonable and pru-
dent parenting standard characterized by a careful and
sensible parental decisions that maintain the health,
safety, and best interests of a foster child while at the
same time encouraging the emotional and developmental
growth of the child;

4. Daily routine and time available to devote to the care of a
foster child;

5. Support network, including friends, neighbors, relatives,
and the community;

6. Personal or family problems and the applicant’s success
in undergoing rehabilitation and overcoming or coping
with these problems, including abuse, neglect, or vio-
lence that was:

a. Committed by the applicant;
b. Committed against the applicant; or
c.  Witnessed by the applicant;

7. History of substance use or abuse and the applicant’s suc-
cess in overcoming or coping with these challenges;

8. Medical, physical, and mental health problems and the
applicant’s success in overcoming or coping with these
problems;

9. Ability to deal with anger, stress, and separation;

10. Personal stability, marital stability, and the stability of the
household, as applicable;

11. Stability of residency in Arizona;

12. Significant life events, including but not limited to job
separation, divorce, child custody, bankruptcy, or the
death of a family member;

13. History of complying with court-ordered child support, if
applicable;

14. Attitude toward discipline, discipline of the applicant’s
children, and willingness to commit to the Department's
discipline policy; and

15. Willingness to share parenting for a foster child with that
child’s birth family.

In addition, the home study shall address:

1.  Household members’ ability to meet requirements, as
described under R21-6-302;

2. The ability of household members to provide a safe and
positive home environment for a foster child;

3. The strengths and needs of the applicant; and

4. The applicant’s compliance with licensing requirements
as defined in Chapter 6 of this Title.

The home study shall contain a recommendation to issue or
deny a license, based on the information available to the
licensing agency. A licensing agency shall provide justifica-
tion for a recommendation to deny a license using specific
examples that demonstrate that, in the licensing agency’s pro-
fessional judgment, the applicant does not meet licensing
requirements.
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F. The licensing agency may, at its discretion, provide additional
recommendations in the home study to:
1. Limit the terms or conditions of a license; and
2. Certify the applicant to provide specialized services, as
described under R21-6-331.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-207. Request for Additional Information During
Licensing Review

Prior to making a licensing decision, OLR may, as necessary and
appropriate, require the licensing agency to assist to:

Provide additional documentation to verify compliance

with licensing requirements, such as marriage licenses,

divorce decrees, child support orders/payments, pay
stubs, and bankruptcy documents;
2. Provide additional information if:

a. The medical, physical, or mental health needs of a
household member could interfere with the care and
supervision of a foster child;

b.  Adults residing outside the household will have fre-
quent or close contact with a foster child; or

c. A household member has been charged with or con-
victed of a crime, even if the specific crime does not
preclude the issuance of a Level One fingerprint
clearance card;

3. Gather additional information needed to determine the
applicant’s fitness. This may include:

a. Interviewing the applicant,

b. Contacting references,

¢.  Verifying information provided in the application or
by the licensing agency, and

d. Inspecting the applicant’s home.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-208. Statement of Understanding

The licensing agency shall review the Statement of Understanding
with the foster parent at initial licensing, when a child is placed in
the foster parent’s care, and at each license renewal thereafter.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-209.  Verification of Equipment at Time of Placement
The licensing agency shall verify that all equipment including age
appropriate beds, car seats and restraints required by this Chapter
are appropriately installed and in place at the time of placement of a
foster child.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-210. Approval for Additional
Another Child Placing Agency

The licensing agency shall notify and obtain approval from DCS
before a foster parent accepts a child from a Child Placing Agency
other than DCS.

Placements from

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).
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R21-6-211.  Life Safety Inspection

A. The licensing agency shall inform the applicant or foster par-
ent of the Life Safety Inspection rules specified in Chapter 8 of
this Title before requesting an inspection by OLR.

B. At least 30 days before an inspection is due, the licensing
agency shall request a Life Safety Inspection by OLR. The
request shall provide correct information on:

1. The name, address, telephone number, and e-mail of the
applicant or foster parent;

2. The major cross streets or directions for locating the
home; and

3. Contact information for the licensing agency.

C. The licensing agency shall:

1. Conduct a preliminary inspection of the applicant’s or
foster parent's home to assess compliance with Life
Safety Inspection rules;

2. Conduct an annual inspection, using the format approved
by OLR, to reinforce the importance of the Life Safety
Inspection requirements and to verify ongoing compli-
ance; and

3. Verify corrections made by the applicant or foster parent
in response to violations, as applicable.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-212. Training Reporting Update

A. The licensing agency shall update the Department's electronic
database within seven days of the licensee completing the
training required by A.R.S. § 8-509.

B. OLR may take an adverse licensing action against the licensee,
or the Department may take a contract action against the
licensing agency, or both, if the licensing agency does not sub-
mit the information as required by this Section.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-213.  Application for Renewal License

A. The licensing agency shall assist a foster parent, as needed, in
applying for a renewal license via the Department's electronic
database.

B. At least 30 days before the expiration of the license, the licens-
ing agency shall submit the completed application for a
renewal license via the Department's electronic database.

C. The application for a renewal license shall update the informa-
tion in the Department's electronic database and the previous
home study, including:

1. Training completed by the licensee;

2. Monitoring visits and safety inspections conducted by the
licensing agency;

3. Corrective action plans implemented since the previous
home study and the status of violations that resulted in the
need for corrective action, if applicable;

4. Corrections made by the foster parent in response to vio-
lations cited in the Life Safety Inspection conducted by
the OLR if applicable;

5. Complaints and investigations, as described under R21-6-
221 and R21-6-418, completed since the previous home
study or that are pending completion, if applicable;

6. Central Registry record checks requested by the licensing
agency for each adult household member;

7. Confirmation of a current, valid Level One fingerprint
clearance card for each adult household member;

8. A summary of significant events and changes occurring
since the previous home study, including:

Supp. 15-4
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a.  The foster parent's income, resources, expenses, and
debts;

b. The health of a household member;

Household composition; and

The dynamics of the foster parent's family and sup-

port network, including changes in roles, interac-

tions, attitudes, and relationships;

9. The foster parent's compliance with licensing require-
ments, as defined in Article 3.

The updated home study shall contain a recommendation to

issue, amend, or deny a license, based on the information

available to the licensing agency. A licensing agency shall jus-

tify a recommendation to deny a license using specific exam-

ples that demonstrate that, in the licensing agency’s

professional judgment, the applicant does not meet the licens-

ing requirements.

The licensing agency may, at its discretion, provide additional

recommendations in the home study to limit the terms or con-

ditions of a license, based on the licensing agency’s profes-

sional judgment.

The licensing agency shall provide OLR with:

1. Criminal record self-disclosure for each adult household
member;

2. Physician's statement for the foster parent, completed
every two years; and

3. The Statement of Understanding, as defined under R21-6-
101(76).

a0

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Application for License Reinstatement
“Reinstatement” refers to an action by OLR to reactivate a
license that has been expired or closed for less than one year.
The licensing agency shall submit an application for reinstate-
ment using the same process as an application for renewal
licensure. As required for a renewal, the application for rein-
statement shall include a new home study.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

The Licensing Record

The licensing agency shall compile and maintain a licensing

record for each applicant or foster parent in accordance with

the requirements of OLR.

The licensing record shall contain:

1. All documentation or evidence gathered during the
licensing process and throughout the term of the license,
including:

a. Documentation gathered to complete the application
for licensure and the home study;

b. Evidence of compliance with licensing requirements
specified in this Chapter;

c. Dates and details for home visits, contacts, and com-
munication with the applicant or foster parent
regarding licensing requirements or the licensing
process; and

d.  Evidence that inspection and due process rights were
explained to the applicant or foster parent in accor-
dance with A.R.S. § 41-1009;

2. The home study completed by the licensing agency, as
described under R21-6-206, and submitted to the licens-
ing authority via the Department's electronic database;
and

R21-6-216.
A.

R21-6-217.
A.
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3. Requests for or reports demonstrating the completion of
Life Safety Inspections for the applicant’s home and
premises.

Upon written request by the applicant or foster parent, the
licensing agency shall forward the complete and original
licensing record to another licensing agency for the purpose of
facilitating transfer to the receiving licensing agency:
1. Within 30 days of receiving the request, and
2. Atno cost to the applicant or licensee.
Upon written request and payment of reasonable duplication
and postage fees by the applicant or foster parent, the licensing
agency shall forward a copy of the licensing record to an
agency or organization for the purpose of assisting a foster
parent who is being considered for a private or out-of-state
adoptive placement, or a similar purpose.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Amending the License

The licensing agency shall inquire at each contact with the fos-

ter parent if there are any circumstances requiring an amend-

ment to the license.

The licensing agency shall request an amendment to modify a

license via the Department's electronic database, as specified

under R21-6-410.

The licensing agency shall provide the following information

to the licensing authority to amend a license:

1. A description of the requested change or changes;

2. Justification for the change or changes, as appropriate;

3. A recommendation by the licensing agency based on the
licensing record to issue or deny an amendment to the
license; and

4. A recommendation by the licensing agency based on the
licensing record to limit the terms or conditions of the
license, if applicable.

To change the physical address due to the relocation of the

licensee, the licensing agency shall:

1. Conduct a preliminary Life Safety Inspection using the
form provided by OLR within seven days of the reloca-
tion of the licensee; and

2. Within seven days of the preliminary inspection, submit a
request to OLR for a Life Safety Inspection.

To add the name of a spouse due to marriage, the licensing

agency shall conduct interviews and assessments to evaluate

the spouse’s fitness in accordance with licensing requirements.

A new spouse shall meet all foster parent licensing require-

ments in this Chapter, including obtaining a Level One finger-

print clearance card, passing a protective service registries
check, and all required pre-service training as prescribed in

R21-6-303.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Evaluating Changes in Household Composition
If there is a change in the household composition, the licensing
agency shall evaluate the impact of the change on the dynam-
ics within the home and on the provision of care or supervision
to a foster child.
When a household member is added during the term of the
license, the licensing agency shall:
1. Obtain from each new adult household member:

a. Information and consents needed to conduct back-
ground checks with the Central Registry in Arizona
and, if applicable, with the registries in other states
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the household member has lived in during the previ-
ous five years;

b. A criminal record self-disclosure;

c.  Verification that the household member possesses a
valid fingerprint clearance card that meets Level
One requirements;

d. A completed health self-disclosure; and

e. A Physician’s Statement if providing care for a fos-
ter child;

2. Request a current immunization record for a new child
household member;

3. Conduct interviews, gather required documents, and
make observations to evaluate the new household mem-
ber, including:

a. The length of time the foster parent has known the
new household member;

b. The background of the new household member,
including any criminal history and allegations of
child abuse or neglect;

c. Financial arrangements, if any, between the foster
parent and the new household member;

d.  The role of the new household member in the care
and supervision of a foster child:

e. Changes in sleeping arrangements;

f.  Whether the new household member presents a risk
to the health, safety, or well-being of a foster child;
and

g.  Whether licensing requirements continue to be met
with the addition of the new household member;

4. Enter information required by this rule via the Depart-
ment's electronic database within 15 calendar days of
receiving notification from a foster parent regarding a
new household member;

5. Use professional judgment in making a recommendation
to OLR on the need for an adverse licensing action in
response to the new household member;

6. The licensing agency shall inform the foster parent that a
household member’s failure to meet requirements speci-
fied in Chapter 6, may constitute grounds for an adverse
licensing action.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Routine Monitoring and Verification of Ongoing

Compliance

A.

December 31, 2015

At least once every three months, the licensing agency shall
conduct assessments, monitoring, on-site visits, and make cop-
ies of required documents, as needed, to verify information
and maintain a record of ongoing compliance by the foster par-
ent. Inspection and monitoring activities of the licensing
agency shall include, as applicable:

1. A review of records and reports maintained by the foster
parent on the care, services, and treatment provided to the
foster child;

2. Interviews with household members;

3. Interviews with foster children; and

4.  Aninspection of the home, premises, and vehicles used to
transport foster children.

At least one monitoring visit per year shall be unannounced.

At the time of each monitoring or inspection, the licensing

agency shall provide the applicant or foster parent with:

1. A written summary of the monitoring or inspection;

2. Planned follow-up and required corrective actions, as
applicable; and

R21-6-219.
A.

R21-6-220.
A.

B.

R21-6-221.

3. A written summary of the applicant’s or foster parent's
rights, in accordance with A.R.S. § 41-1009.

The licensing agency shall keep a copy of the written summa-

ries specified in subsection (C) and make the summaries avail-

able to OLR upon request.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Corrective Action Plans

The licensing agency shall cooperate with OLR and monitor

compliance with a corrective action plan to remedy the viola-

tion of a licensing requirement.

The corrective action plan shall:

1. Be written by OLR in consultation with the licensing
agency,

2. Specify the rule violated by the licensee,

3. Specify the steps a foster parent must take to remedy a
violation, and

4. Specify a date for completion of the required corrective
action.

The licensing agency or OLR may, based on their professional

judgment, conduct unannounced monitoring visits to verify

the implementation or completion of corrective action.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Notification Requirements; Unusual Incident

The licensing agency shall notify OLR and the Child Placing

Agency of any issues arising under R21-6-326.

Within 48 hours of the occurrence of an incident specified in

R21-6-326, the licensing agency shall provide in writing to

OLR and the Child Placing Agency:

1. A description of the incident, including the place, date,
and time of occurrence;

2. The names and contact information for any persons
involved in the incident;

3. The measures taken by the foster parent to address, cor-
rect, or resolve the incident; and

4. The action taken by the licensing agency in response to
the incident, if applicable.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Allegations of Child Abuse or Neglect; Licensing

Complaints

A.
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The licensing agency shall notify OLR in writing of each

licensing complaint and each investigation initiated by the

Department or law enforcement within 24 hours of the licens-

ing agency becoming aware of the complaint or investigation,

unless original notification came from OLR. This notification

shall include the:

1. Date and place of the incident;

2. Nature of the complaint or allegation; and

3. Names of all persons involved in the allegation.

The licensing agency shall conduct an inquiry into each licens-

ing complaint or concern. Within 45 days of being notified of a

licensing complaint or concern, the licensing agency shall sub-

mit a written report of the licensing inquiry to OLR and to the

licensee, in accordance with due process rights and subject to

R21-6-418, unless OLR grants an extension in writing. The

report of the licensing inquiry shall include:

1. The scope of the inquiry, including a list of persons inter-
viewed and a list of the documentation reviewed;

Supp. 15-4
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2. The validity of allegations and other findings related to
licensing violations; and

3. Recommendations by the licensing agency regarding fol-
low-up action.

C. The licensing agency shall not interfere with, and shall assist,
as requested, law enforcement or the Department's Child
Safety Workers, and OCWI Investigators in conducting inves-
tigations of child abuse or neglect.

D. OLR may, if necessary and appropriate, conduct an inquiry or
investigation independent of or in conjunction with the licens-
ing agency, law enforcement, or the Department's Child Safety
Workers or OCWI Investigators.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-222. Waiver of Non-Safety Licensing Requirements

for Kinship Care

A. When submitting an application for an initial, renewal, or
amended license, the licensing agency may recommend the
waiver of a non-safety licensing requirement for an applicant
or foster parent who will be providing only kinship care, as
defined under R21-6-101(36) if compliance with the non-
safety requirement would be a hardship on the applicant or
foster parent. The recommendation for a waiver shall include:
1. The specific rule to be considered for waiver by the OLR;
2. The reason compliance would be a hardship;

3. Any proposed alternative compliance with the rule
requirement, including pictures or diagrams that depict
any physical requirement to be waived; and

4. Justification that waiving the licensing requirement will
not compromise the safety of a foster child.

B. The licensing agency shall submit the waiver request only on
forms supplied by OLR.

C. OLR shall consider the waiver of a non-safety licensing
requirement on a case-by-case basis.

D. An applicant or foster parent shall base a waiver request on a
licensing requirement and the needs of the foster child. OLR
shall not grant a waiver request because it would be inconve-
nient for the foster parent or applicant to comply with a licens-
ing requirement.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

ARTICLE 3. LICENSING REQUIREMENTS FOR FOSTER
PARENTS

R21-6-301. General Requirements for Foster Parents
A. A foster parent shall:
1. Be 21 years of age or older;
2. Reside in Arizona and be lawfully present in the United

States;

a. Each applicant shall present one of the documents
specified under A.R.S. § 41-1080(A) and, as appli-
cable, (E), to the licensing agency to demonstrate
that the applicant is lawfully present in the United
States; and

b. If an alien applicant has only temporary authoriza-
tion to be present in the United States, the applicant
shall provide documentation indicating that the
authorization is valid for a minimum of one year or
that the applicant has already taken steps to obtain
authorization to remain for at least one year.

3. Live in a home in which all adult household members
pass a background check based on:

Supp. 15-4 Page 10

a. A Central Registry check in Arizona and in the reg-
istries in other states the applicant has lived in
during the previous five years,

b. A completed and notarized criminal record self-dis-
closure, and

c. A valid Level One fingerprint clearance card from
the Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS).

Be of reputable and honest character. A licensing agency

shall verify compliance by evaluating information pro-

vided by the applicant and information obtained through
background checks, references, interviews, and records
of the Department;

Live in a home in which all household members are free

of medical, physical, or mental health conditions that

would interfere with the safe care and supervision for a

foster child.

a. The applicant shall demonstrate compliance by pro-
viding his or her licensing agency with:

i. A health self-disclosure completed by all adult
household members before initial licensure,
and at each renewal thereafter;

ii. A physician’s statement for the applicant com-
pleted no more than 12 months before the
license application is submitted via the Depart-
ment’s electronic database and at least every
two years thereafter; and

iii. A physician’s statement for each household
member who will be providing care and super-
vision for a foster child. The physician shall
complete the statement no more than 12 months
before the license application is submitted via
the Department’s electronic database and every
two years thereafter in accordance with R21-6-
302.

b. If a health self-disclosure or physician’s statement
for a household member identifies a history of medi-
cal, physical, or mental health conditions, the appli-
cant shall have the opportunity to explain
treatments, adaptive equipment, or other accommo-
dations used to reduce or eliminate any risk associ-
ated with the condition that could interfere with the
applicant’s ability to provide safe care and supervi-
sion for a foster child;

Demonstrate careful and sensible judgment, exercise a

reasonable and prudent parenting standard under R21-6-

307, and have the stability, maturity, nurturing skills,

knowledge, and ability to provide safe care to a foster

child. The licensing agency and OLR shall consider rele-
vant factors in this assessment, including:

a. Length of time the applicant has lived in the current
residence, and recent patterns involving relocation;

b. Length of time household members have lived
together and their ability to accommodate each
other;

c. Applicant’s ability to cope effectively with change,
stress, and anger;

d. Applicant’s experience providing care and supervi-
sion for children or vulnerable adults;

e. Applicant’s knowledge of or experience with human
and child development;

f.  Applicant’s method of discipline with the applicant’s
own children and the applicant’s willingness to use
positive discipline; and

g. Applicant’s willingness and ability to comply with
licensing requirements;
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7. Have income or resources to afford current expenses
without regard to future reimbursement. The calculation
of current expenses does not include the expense of car-
ing for a foster child already living with the applicant.

a.  The applicant shall demonstrate compliance by com-
pleting the financial information on the application
for licensure and by providing the licensing agency
with bank statements, pay stubs, income tax forms,
and other financial records that demonstrate income
and resources that meet or exceed expenses.

b. The licensing agency and OLR shall consider
resources including:

i. A reliable source of financial assistance or pay-
ment, including social security, Nutrition Assis-
tance (formerly known as food stamps), Cash
Assistance, adoption subsidy, and Women,
Infants and Children; and

ii. Reimbursement for medically complex and
therapeutic homes, as certified under R21-6-
331;

8. Have the support and agreement of all adult household
members on the decision to be a foster parent;

9. Provide a safe home with sufficient space and privacy for
a foster child, as described under R21-6-311 and R21-6-
313;

10. Work cooperatively with a licensing agency and OLR;

and

11. Comply with all licensing requirements specified in this
Chapter.

B. OLR shall determine whether an applicant meets the licensing
requirements for a foster parent based on information provided
by the applicant and the licensing agency, including the appli-
cation, home study, prior licensing history, and the profes-
sional judgment of the licensing agency.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-302. Requirements for Household Members

A. The applicant shall ensure that each adult household member
participates in interviews necessary to evaluate the:

1. Role of the household member in the care and supervi-
sion of a foster child, and

2. Household member’s support of and agreement with the
applicant’s decision to be licensed.

B. The applicant shall ensure that each adult household member
provides the licensing agency with:

1. Information and consents needed to conduct background
checks with the protective service registries in Arizona,
and, if applicable, with the registries in other states the
household member has lived in during the previous five
years;

2. A completed health self-disclosure;

3. A physician’s statement under R21-6-301(A)(5)(iii) if the
household member will be providing care and supervi-
sion for a foster child;

4. A criminal record self-disclosure; and

5. Verification that the household member has a valid Level
One fingerprint clearance card.

C. The applicant shall provide available immunization records
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that have been updated, as necessary, for each child household
member. In accordance with A.R.S. § 8-509(1), the lack of
updated or available immunization records shall not prohibit
licensure, but may be grounds for restricting the license to pre-
vent the placement of infants, young children, and medically
complex individuals.

D.

R21-6-303.
A.
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If a person, other than a foster child, moves into the household

during the term of the license, the licensee shall:

1. Notify the licensing agency of additions to the household
in accordance with R21-6-411;

2.  Ensure that each new household member complies with
the requirements specified in subsections (A), (B), and
(C); and

3. Notify the licensing agency and obtain OLR approval of
proposed changes in the sleeping arrangements for each
household member and for each foster child.

The applicant’s awareness that a household member failed to

disclose full and accurate information may constitute grounds

for an adverse licensing action if the applicant does not
attempt to inform the licensing agency of the incomplete or
inaccurate information.

Failure by a household member to pass a protective services

registries background check, to obtain a fingerprint clearance

card, or to cooperate with the licensing process may result in
an adverse licensing action.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Training Requirements

Before OLR issues an initial license, the applicant shall com-

plete and submit evidence of completion of:

1.  The minimum number of hours of training required by
AR.S. § 8-509;

2. The training curriculum approved by the Department,
which includes training in how to exercise the reasonable
and prudent parenting standard;

3. CPR training, which requires the demonstration of CPR
skills, and is taught by an instructor certified by a nation-
ally recognized association such as the American Red
Cross, the American Heart Association, or the National
Safety Council; and

4. First aid training, taught by:

a. An instructor certified to teach first aid that con-
forms to the requirements of a nationally recognized
association such as the American Red Cross or the
National Safety Council; or

b. A doctor of medicine, physician assistant, registered
nurse, paramedic, or emergency medical technician
who has a current license or certification to practice.

After, initial licensure as required by A.R.S. § 8-509 the foster

parent shall:

1. In addition to CPR certification and first aid training
complete a minimum of six hours of training on topics
relevant to the health, growth, development, or welfare of
a child, or as recommended by OLR, the licensing
agency, or the Child Placing Agency;

2. Present evidence of current CPR certification that meets
the standards specified in subsection (A)(3); and

3. Present evidence of current first aid training that meets
the standards specified in subsection (A)(4).

The applicant or foster parent shall complete additional train-

ing required by the Department, licensing agency, or Child

Placing Agency based on the specific needs of the foster par-

ent or of a foster child.

OLR may waive the requirements for CPR and first aid train-

ing if the foster parent has current certification or licensure as

a doctor of medicine, physician assistant, registered nurse,

paramedic, or emergency medical technician.

OLR may waive the requirement for CPR training if an appli-

cant or foster parent has a physical limitation preventing them

from performing CPR, unless the applicant or foster parent

Supp. 15-4
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demonstrates that he or she can perform CPR with tools or
devices designed for that purpose. A signed physician’s state-
ment shall document the limitation. OLR may, at its discretion,
restrict the license of such a foster parent to a specific foster
child or population.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Life Safety Inspection

A foster parent is responsible for ensuring compliance with the

Life Safety Inspection rules specified in Chapter 8 of this Title.

An applicant and foster parent shall cooperate with OLR and

the licensing agency when performing the Life Safety Inspec-

tion.

OLR shall:

1.  Conduct a full inspection to verify compliance with Life
Safety Inspection rules:

a. Before an initial license is issued,

b. Before an amended license is issued for a new loca-
tion, and

c. At least every two years;

2. Conduct an inspection to verify compliance with specific
Life Safety Inspection rules following notification of sig-
nificant structural modifications to a home or the addition
of a pool, as defined by R21-6-101(59); and

3. Permit and encourage the applicant or licensee to make
necessary corrections at the time of an inspection. For
corrections that cannot be made immediately, the inspec-
tor shall explain how OLR or the licensing agency will
verify corrections at a later date.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Nurturing Responsibilities

A foster parent shall nurture a foster child by:

Supp. 15-4

1. Providing the child with opportunities to develop emo-
tionally, socially, culturally, physically, and educationally,
as appropriate to the child’s skill and developmental
level;

2. Helping the child develop a positive identity by respect-
ing the child’s race, ethnicity, religion, gender, culture,
and sexual orientation;

3. Providing the child with opportunities to make choices
and to express preferences appropriate to the child’s age
and developmental level;

4. Providing the child with a variety of safe and develop-

mentally appropriate play equipment, toys, and recre-

ational supplies;

Practicing positive discipline;

Assisting the child with day-to-day concerns;

7. Providing the child with assistance, comfort, and emo-
tional support to ease the distress associated with coming
into care and with related transitions;

8. Assisting in maintaining the child’s connection to their
family, friends, community, and culture; and

9. Providing opportunities for the child to contact family
members by means of face-to-face contact, mail, tele-
phone, or other modes of communication, unless other-
wise directed by the Child Placing Agency.

A D

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-306.
A. A foster parent shall commit the time necessary to provide

R21-6-307.
A. A foster parent shall use a reasonable and prudent parenting
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Supervisory Responsibilities

cach foster child with care and supervision in accordance with
licensing requirements and based on the child’s age, develop-
mental level, and maturity.
A foster parent shall implement the alternative supervision
plan, as prescribed by R21-6-331, or R21-6-332 as applicable,
if the foster parent must leave any of the following foster chil-
dren in the care of another person:
1. Medically complex child,
2. Child receiving therapeutic foster care, or
3. Child diagnosed with a developmental disability.
For routine child care of a foster child or unless prescribed in
subsection (B), a foster parent shall have arrangements
approved by the Child Placing Agency and the licensing
agency. For the purpose of this subsection, “routine care”
refers to care that is recurrent and predictable, including pre-
school, after school care, or care that allows the foster parent
to attend recurring activities.

Except as prescribed in subsections (B) and (C), a foster parent

may independently select an adult to provide short-term care

or supervision that is not routine. For the purpose of this Sec-

tion, “short-term” means a time period that does not exceed 24

hours in a nonemergency and does not exceed 72 hours in an

emergency.

1. A foster parent shall use careful and sensible judgment in
selecting an adult to provide short-term care or supervi-
sion for a foster child and shall ensure that the adult has
the ability to meet the specific needs of a foster child.

2. Before leaving a foster child with an adult to provide
short-term care or supervision, a foster parent shall pro-
vide the adult with:

a. Information about the child’s behavioral health,
medical, or physical condition that is necessary for
the adult to provide care;

b. Medication prescribed to be administered to the
child, and any relevant instructions for the adminis-
tration of the medication; and

c. Emergency information for contacting the child’s
physician, the Child Placing Agency, the licensing
agency, and the foster parent.

3. The foster parent shall notify the licensing agency and
obtain approval from the Child Placing Agency before
the short-term care exceeds:

a. Twenty-four hours in a nonemergency situation.
Examples of a nonemergency situation include
going out to dinner, running errands, grocery shop-
ping, and participation in a special training activity.

b. Seventy-two hours in an emergency situation.
Examples of an emergency situation include a death
in the family, serious illness of a family member, and
foster parent illness.

E. A foster parent shall use careful and sensible judgment:

1. To protect each foster child from harm and teach the fos-
ter child to manage risks as permitted by the child’s age,
developmental level, and maturity; and

2. In determining when additional help or support is needed
to ensure the health, well-being, and educational needs of
a foster child.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Reasonable and Prudent Parenting Standard

standard to promote normalcy for children in his or her care by
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encouraging participation in age or developmentally appropri-
ate activities to the greatest extent possible.

B. Such activities may include giving permission for a foster
child to:

1. Spend time alone or with friends;

2. Participate in clubs or extracurricular activities, or on
teams: and

3. Attend birthday parties with friends or sleep-overs.

C. A foster parent’s exercise of the reasonable and prudent par-
enting standard, shall not conflict with any appropriate court
order or case plan.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-308. Positive Discipline

A. A foster parent shall:

1. Provide positive discipline that is appropriate to the age,
life experience, and developmental level of a foster child,

2. Establish well-defined and clearly communicated rules
that set the limits of behavior;

3. Develop and implement reasonable, developmentally
appropriate, and consistent rewards and consequences;

4. Use disciplinary methods that help a foster child build
self-control, self-reliance, and self-esteem;

5. Inform the Child Placing Agency and the licensing
agency of behaviors displayed by the foster child that
endanger the health, safety, or well-being of the child or
others; and

6. Abide by Department policy and rule related to positive
discipline and prohibited practices under subsection (B).

B. A foster parent shall not use or threaten to use, or engage in

December 31, 2015

and shall not permit any other person to use or engage in, the

following or similar punishment or maltreatment of a foster

child:

1. Any form of physical punishment, including hitting,
spanking, biting, pinching, shaking, slapping, smacking,
punching, or kicking;

2. Deprivation of essential nutrition, clothing, bedding,
shelter, medical care, or sleep;

3. Force-feeding, except as prescribed by a licensed medical
professional;

4. Locked confinement in a room or small area;

5. A consequence that requires a foster child to remain silent
or motionless or to be isolated for a time period that is not
developmentally appropriate;

6. Mechanical restraint. A mechanical restraint is an article,
device, or garment that:

a. Restricts a foster child’s mobility, freedom of move-
ment, or the movement of a portion of a child's
body;

b.  Cannot be removed by the foster child; but

c.  Does not include an orthopedic, surgical, or medical
device that allows a foster child to heal from a medi-
cal condition or to participate in a treatment pro-
gram.

7. Humiliation, verbal abuse, or profane language targeting
a foster child;

8. Derogatory remarks about the foster child, the child’s
identity, or about a person who is significant to the child,

9.  Threats to remove the foster child from the home;

10. Cruel, severe, depraved, humiliating, or frightening
actions or statements;

11. Noxious stimuli as a consequence, including putting
soap, vinegar, or hot sauce into a foster child’s mouth;

R21-6-309.
A.
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12. Denial of a foster child visitation or communication with
the child’s birth family members or with a significant per-
son when such denial is not approved by the Child Safety
Worker, the Child Safety Worker’s supervisor, or ordered
by the Court; or

13. Over-the-counter or prescription medication for the pur-
pose of restraining or sedating a foster child without a
physician’s order.

A foster parent shall notify the Child Placing Agency and the

licensing agency within 24 hours of a physician ordering a

medication for the purpose of behavior management.

The use of physical restraint of a foster child is prohibited

except to protect a foster child, foster parent, or another person

from imminent physical harm resulting from a foster child’s
sudden, out-of-control behavior.

1. Only a foster parent specifically trained in crisis interven-
tion may use physical restraint on a foster child.

2. No person shall use physical restraint for the purposes of
discipline or convenience.

3. A trained foster parent shall administer physical restraint
in the least restrictive manner possible to protect the child
or others and cease when the child becomes calm.

4. A foster parent shall notify the Child Placing Agency and
the licensing agency within 24 hours of the use of physi-
cal restraint as required by R21-6-326.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Capacity Requirements

The maximum capacity of a license shall not exceed five foster

children, and may be restricted to fewer than five, if the foster

home provides special services under R21-6-331 or an

increase is not justified under subsection (F).

The total number of children in a foster home at one time,

including the children of the foster parent and the children of a

household member, shall not exceed eight.

Subject to subsection (F), OLR may permit an applicant or

licensee to exceed the maximum number of children in the

home:

1. To keep a sibling group together, if approved in writing
by the DCS Director’s office or designee;

2. If the total number of foster children exceed five and the
additional requirements specified in R21-6-331 are met
for a Group Foster Home; or

3. If the children living in the applicant or licensee’s home
would exceed eight, including any foster children, and the
applicant or licensee meets the requirements of subsec-
tion (F);

4. To keep a foster child in the home as of the effective date
of this Section.

The total number of children in the foster home at one time,

including the children of the foster parent and any household

member, any child placed for respite care, child care services,
or babysitting shall not exceed:

1. Four who are five years of age or younger in the care of
one adult; and

2. Two who are less than one year of age in the care of one
adult.

OLR may permit the licensee to exceed the age limits of chil-

dren in the foster home, as specified in subsection (D), to

accommodate multiple birth siblings.

Recommendations of the licensing agency and decisions of

OLR to establish or increase the capacity of a foster home or to

exceed the limits as indicated in subsections (B) and (C), shall

be justified by:

Supp. 15-4
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1. Adequate sleeping arrangements (as specified by R21-6-
310 and R21-6-311),

2. The support network available to the foster parent, and

3. The licensee’s willingness and ability to provide care for
each additional foster child.

G. A foster parent is limited to the capacity, age, gender, and

R21-6-310.
A.

R21-6-311.
A.

Supp. 15-4

other conditions or restrictions specified on the license when
providing care, including respite care.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Sleeping Arrangements

The sleeping arrangement for each foster child shall be safe

and appropriate, based on the child’s age, gender, special

needs, behavior, and history of abuse or neglect.

A foster parent shall ensure compliance with the following

sleeping arrangements:

1. A foster child shall not share a bedroom with an adult,
with the following exceptions:

a. A foster child less than the age of three years may
share a bedroom with a foster parent.

b. A foster child age three years and older may share a
bedroom with a foster parent when:

1. The child temporarily needs the attention of the
foster parent during sleeping hours, or

ii.  The sleeping arrangement and the reason for it
are approved by the Child Placing Agency.

c. A foster child who has regularly shared a bedroom
with another child who has turned 18 years of age
may continue to share the bedroom unless the Child
Placing Agency determines that the arrangement is
contrary to the best interests of the foster child.

2. Any child in the home, aged six years and older, shall not
share a bedroom with a foster child of the opposite gen-
der, except as permitted by subsection (C).

A foster child, aged six years and older, may share a bedroom

with a sibling of the opposite gender:

1. When the Child Placing Agency grants written approval
for the purpose of facilitating a smooth transition for a
child into the foster home;

a.  The Child Placing Agency shall limit such approval
to the first 60 days of placement; unless

b. The Child Placing Agency makes a written finding
after 60 days and annually thereafter that is consis-
tent with the case plan of all siblings sharing the
bedroom and it is in the best interest of all of the sib-
lings to continue to share the bedroom;

2. When there are no safety issues, such as that listed in sub-
section (C)(3)(a) and

3. The Child Placing Agency shall not grant approval:

a. Ifeither child has a history of sexual abuse, or

b.  Solely for the convenience of the foster parent,

A foster child who is a minor parent may share a bedroom with

his or her child.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Bedrooms, Beds, and Bedding

The placement of a foster child shall not displace another fos-
ter child or a household member from a bedroom to a space
unrelated to sleeping.

A foster parent shall provide a foster child with a bedroom that
accommodates the privacy and safety needs of the child and
that is a finished room demonstrated by:
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Appropriate heating and cooling, and
A window or door that opens directly to the outdoors and
is accessible for emergency evacuation.
A foster parent shall not use a space used as a closet, passage-
way, or primarily for purposes unrelated to sleeping as a bed-
room for a foster child.
The bedroom for a foster child shall be large enough to accom-
modate a bed, furniture to store and display personal belong-
ings, and space for the child to dress and move about.
A foster parent shall provide each foster child with a bed that
is safe and appropriate based on the child’s age and special
needs. For the purpose of this Section, “bed” does not include
sleeper sofas, rollaway beds, couches, cots, portable crib such
as Pack ‘n Play, sleeping bags, or mats, unless approved by
OLR on a temporary basis not to exceed six days.
1. A foster parent shall ensure that:
a.  Each foster child is provided with a separate bed or
crib, as appropriate;
b. A foster child less than the age of three years does
not sleep on a waterbed; and
c. A foster child does not sleep on the top tier of a bunk
bed or similar style bed in which the top of the mat-
tress is elevated four or more feet above the floor, if
the child:

i.  Isless than the age of six years,

ii. Has a disability that limits mobility, or

iii. Has a seizure disorder.

2. A foster parent may:
a. Provide a foster child with a used mattress if the
mattress is sanitary; and
b. Allow a foster child not identified by subsection

(E)(1)(c) to sleep in a bunk bed or similar style bed

in which the top of the mattress is elevated four or

more feet above the floor, if:

i.  The top bunk is securely fastened to the side
frames;

ii.  The top bunk has guard-rails that extend at least
five inches above the mattress surface to pre-
vent a child from rolling off;

iii. The top bunk has cross ties or other secure
structures under the mattress foundation to pre-
vent the mattress from falling through the
frame;

iv. The distance between the two beds or between
the top bunk and the ceiling is sufficient to
allow the child to sit upright while in bed; and

v.  The bunk bed does not exceed two tiers.

A foster parent providing respite care for a foster child may

use a sleeper sofa, rollaway bed, couch, cot, portable crib such

as a Pack ‘n Play, sleeping bag, or mat as an acceptable sleep-

ing accommodation provided that:

1. The respite care does not exceed 14 consecutive days,
and

2. The accommodation does not compromise the health or
safety of the child.

Except as provided in subsection (H), bedding for a foster

child shall be clean and shall include:

1. A pillow;

2. Bottom or fitted sheet;

3. A top sheet, blanket, or cover, as appropriate; and

4. A waterproof mattress cover, as needed.

1. Floor-to-ceiling walls,

2. A door with a working doorknob or latch,
3. Lighting,

4.  Ventilation,

5.

6.
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H. Bedding for infants shall be clean and shall not include pil-
lows, blankets, bumper pads, or other soft items or surfaces.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-312. Meals and Nutritional Needs
A foster parent shall:
1. Encourage a foster child to participate in meals as a mem-
ber of the family;
2. Provide a foster child with a well-balanced and nutrition-
ally adequate diet; and
3. Provide for the special dietary needs of a foster child, as
determined by a medical or nutritional authority or as is
customary in the child’s religion or culture.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-313. Hygiene and Daily Needs
The foster parent shall provide a foster child with:

1. Clean clothing and shoes that are in good repair and
appropriate to the child’s age, size, developmental level,
gender, gender identity, the weather conditions, and the
occasion;

2. The supplies, instruction, and assistance needed to care
for the child’s hygiene, including tooth brushing, bathing,
hair care, using the toilet, hand washing, diapering, men-
strual care, and shaving, as appropriate; and

3. Privacy while dressing, bathing, and during the care of
other personal needs, as developmentally appropriate.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-314. Health and Medical Care

The foster parent shall protect and care for the health and well-

being of a foster child and:

1. Provide necessary first aid and care to treat common
childhood ailments and injuries;

2. Obtain 10 well-child visits for each child aged from birth
to two years as described in subsections (a)-(h) below. A
well child visit includes both a medical and vision exam-
ination as appropriate to the child’s age. A foster parent
shall obtain a well-child visit when a foster child is the
following ages:

Three to five days:

One month;

Two months;

Four months;

Six months;

Nine months;

Twelve months; and

. Fifteen Months;

3. Obtain an annual well-child visit for each child older than
two years of age.

4. Obtain routine dental examinations for each foster child
older than one year of age at least once every six months
and more frequently as needed for other services, such as
filling cavities and orthodontics;

5. Review the child's medical, vision, and dental records if
available; and if the foster child has not had a medical,
vision, or dental exam within the past year, the foster par-
ent shall schedule the child for an exam within two weeks
after the foster child is placed with the foster parent;

SR Moo o
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6. Obtain necessary care and treatment for medical, vision,
dental, behavioral health, and other services identified in
the placement agreement specified under R21-6-314;

7.  Obtain immunizations based on the current recommended
immunization schedule published by the Centers for Dis-
case Control and Prevention, unless specified otherwise
in the care plan for the foster child;

8. Administer prescription medication only as prescribed
and ensure no lapse occurs in the administration of the
prescription medication to the foster child;

9. Carry out the written and verbal instructions from quali-
fied professionals regarding the medical, vision, dental,
and therapeutic needs of the foster child and notify the
Child Placing Agency when written and verbal instruc-
tions from multiple medical professionals conflict; and

10. Ensure that a foster child, 12 months of age and younger,
is placed to sleep on the foster child’s back to reduce the
risk of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), unless
otherwise authorized in writing by the child’s physician.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-315. Smoking Restrictions

To reduce the risk of secondhand smoke, the foster parent shall
ensure that smoking any substance, including tobacco, e-cigarettes,
and prescribed marijuana through any delivery system, is prohib-
ited and does not occur at any time in the foster home, or at any
time when a foster child is present in a vehicle used to transport a
foster child.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-316. Transportation Responsibilities

A. A foster parent shall provide or arrange appropriate local
transportation to meet the routine educational, medical, recre-
ational, social, religious, and therapeutic needs of a foster
child.

B. When a foster child is transported by or at the direction of a
foster parent, the foster parent shall ensure that the vehicle, at a
minimum:

1. Is maintained in safe operating condition;

2. Is properly licensed, registered, and has liability insur-
ance; and

3. Has passenger safety restraints available and:

a.  Each foster child less than the age of five years or
weighing less than 40 pounds is properly secured in
a child car seat and child restraint system that is
appropriate to the height, weight, and physical con-
dition of the child,

b. Each foster child five to eight years of age who
weighs more than 40 pounds, but is less than four
feet nine inches in height is properly secured in a
child restraint system that is appropriate to the
height, weight, and physical condition of the child;

c.  Each foster child not covered by subsections (a) and
(b) is properly secured with a seat belt;

d.  Each foster child with a disability that prevents the
child from maintaining head and torso control while
sitting is secured in a car bed, harness, or other
device designed to protect the child during transpor-
tation; and

e. If a foster child is transported in a wheelchair, the
child is properly secured with a floor-mounted seat

Supp. 15-4
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belt, and the wheelchair is properly immobilized
using lock-down devices.

C. A foster parent shall not leave a foster child unattended during
transportation if the child:

a. Isless than seven years of age;

b. Has a developmental disability; and

c. Is more than seven years of age and that the child is
physically and emotionally incapable of traveling
alone;

D. The Child Placing Agency shall ensure that the foster parent
has all of the equipment in place and properly installed to meet
the requirements of subsection (B) prior to placement.

E. A foster parent shall ensure the following safety requirements
for drivers selected by the foster parent to transport a foster
child:

1.  The driver has a valid driver license; and
2. The driver practices safe, defensive driving and obeys all
traffic laws.

F. A child shall not be transported in a truck bed, cargo area,
camper, or in a trailer attached to a motor vehicle.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-317. Education and Development
The foster parent shall:

1. Communicate developmental and educational progress
and challenges to the Child Safety Worker or Child Plac-
ing Agency, including any noted developmental delays;

2. Send a school-age foster child to public school unless
alternative educational arrangements, such as private or
home schooling, have been approved in the child's case
plan, by the Child Safety Worker’s supervisor, or the
Child Placing Agency supervisor;

3. Work with the Child Safety Worker or Child Placing
Agency to determine educational needs beyond those
provided in the school setting and make reasonable
efforts to obtain these educational services that are avail-
able from the school, district, or other providers for edu-
cation services;

4. Encourage the foster child’s academic progress by mak-
ing reasonable efforts to ensure the completion of home-
work and participating in parent-teacher conferences, the
Individualized Education Program (IEP), and Individual-
ized Family Service Plan (IFSP) Meetings, as appropri-
ate; and

5. Make reasonable effort to:

a.  Ensure school attendance; and
b.  Schedule appointments, visitations, and other activi-
ties during hours that do not interfere with school.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-318.  Religious and Cultural Practices
A. The foster parent shall:

1. Protect and support a foster child’s right to participate in
the child’s religious and cultural practices,

2. Coordinate with the licensing agency or Child Placing
Agency, to provide opportunities for a foster child’s par-
ticipation in the child’s religious and cultural activities,
and

3. Not compel a foster child to participate in the foster par-
ent’s religious or cultural activities if it is contrary to the
child's cultural or religious practices or the wishes of the
child’s birth parent.

Supp. 15-4
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B. Ifthere is a conflict between the religious or cultural practices
of a foster parent and a foster child, the foster parent shall
notify the licensing agency, which shall notify the Child Plac-
ing Agency, so that alternative arrangements may be made.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-319. Recreation
The foster parent shall:

1. Encourage a foster child to participate in appropriate
indoor and outdoor recreation;

2. Provide adequate supervision, protection, and guidance
during the use of recreational equipment, including
swimming pools;

3. Ensure that the use of recreational equipment is in accor-
dance with manufacturers’ guidelines; and

4. Promote the foster child’s use of appropriate safety gear
for recreational activities.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-320.  Out-of-State Travel

Before taking a foster child out of Arizona for more than seven con-
secutive days, a foster parent shall notify the licensing agency and
Child Safety Worker of the destination and dates of travel.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-321.  Rights of a Foster Child
A. A foster parent shall ensure that the rights of a foster child as
listed in A.R.S. § 8-529 are protected and upheld. In addition,

a foster child has the right to:

1. Livein a safe, clean, and humane environment;

2. Be free to express their gender identity and sexual orien-
tation;

3. Be free from physical, sexual, emotional, or other abuse;

4. Be treated with dignity and respect by foster parents and
household members;

5. Protection from exploitation and to learn the skills needed
to protect him or herself from exploitation;

6. Protection for and access to his or her adaptive aids, if
applicable;

7. Retain personal belongings when moving from the foster
home, including usable clothing, furniture, electronic
equipment, bicycles, toys, and other items purchased spe-
cifically for or given to the child;

8. Access his or her personal spending money, unless access
is limited by the Child Placing Agency as part of a docu-
mented plan approved by the Child Placing Agency such
as a plan to protect the child from exploitation or a pattern
of misuse;

9. Be taught how to manage personal spending money;

10. Assume responsibility for some household duties in
accordance with the child’s age, health, and ability;
assigned responsibilities and tasks shall not deprive the
child of school, sleep, reasonable play time, or study peri-
ods;

11. Participate in activities as a member of the family, includ-
ing meals, outings, and celebrations;

12. Participate in extracurricular, enrichment, social, and
community activities, including sports, school activities,
cultural programs, and religious groups based on a rea-
sonable and prudent parenting standard. This participa-
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tion may be restricted by reasonable curfew, cost
considerations, a court order, or as agreed upon by the
foster parent and the Child Placing Agency;

13. Be encouraged to have contact with and visit family
members, consistent with the case plan, unless prohibited
by court order;

14. Have visitors, within reasonable boundaries established
by the foster parent, and unless prohibited by court order;

15. Confidential communication with his or her Child Safety
Worker or Child Placing Agency, advocates, attorney,
guardian ad litem, and guardian; and

16. Express dissatisfaction with or file a complaint against a
foster parent or the Child Placing Agency without retalia-
tion.

A foster child over the age of puberty, or as early as can be rea-

sonably expressed by the child, shall have the right to specify

the gender of the person to assist the child with personal care,
if needed and appropriate.

A foster child with a disability has the right to participate in

typical daily activities with the least amount of physical assis-

tance necessary to accomplish the task and to live in a home
adapted to protect the child and to assist the child in experienc-
ing developmentally appropriate independence.

If a foster parent is not able to protect or uphold one or more of

the above rights, the foster parent shall immediately notify the

Child Placing Agency and the licensing agency so that alterna-

tive arrangements or assistance may be made to protect the

rights of the child.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Confidential Information

A foster parent shall protect and maintain the confidentiality of

a foster child, by protecting and safeguarding all personally

identifiable information about a foster child and his or her

family.

Information related to the reason for a foster child’s placement

or related to a foster child’s family is considered confidential

information, under A.R.S. § 8-807 and A.R.S. § 8-502.

A foster parent may only share a child's confidential informa-

tion strictly on a need-to-know basis:

1. With health care providers, schools, child care providers,
and legal representatives, as appropriate; or

2. As authorized by the Child Placing Agency or guardian.

A foster parent shall not share information or photos that iden-

tify a child as a foster child on the internet, including social

media.

A foster parent shall not share a foster child’s information or

photos that identify the child as a foster child, unless there is a

need to know, with other individuals or organizations, includ-

ing friends, co-workers, relatives, and neighbors.

A foster parent shall safeguard and maintain a foster child’s

records in a manner that prevents loss, tampering, or unautho-

rized access or use.

Failure to keep confidential a foster child's records or informa-

tion may result in an adverse licensing action.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Information and Records to Be Provided to the

Foster Parent

A.

December 31, 2015

The Child Placing Agency shall provide a foster parent with
the following documents and information, to the extent that

R21-6-324.
A.
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this information is available for each foster child within 30

days:

1. The insurance card or insurance identification number
and written consent authorizing the foster parent to access
medical records and obtain routine, nonsurgical, and
emergency medical care for the child;

2. A summary of the child’s medical history and the name of
the child’s last known physician;

3. A summary of the child’s education history and the name
of the school most recently attended by the child;

4. A summary of the child’s social history;

5. Restrictions or limitations to the sharing of confidential
and personally identifiable information about the child;

6. Information about the child’s behavioral health, medical,
or physical condition that is necessary or beneficial to
provide quality care;

7. Medication that is prescribed to be administered to the
child, and any relevant instructions for the administration
of the medication;

8. The religious and cultural beliefs and preferences of the
child and of the child’s birth family;

9. Emergency contact information for the child, including a
means to contact the Child Placing Agency;

10. Placement packets from prior placements, if applicable;

11. A copy of the child’s case plan; and

12 A placement agreement that specifies the following:

a. Requirements and restrictions related to the child’s
diet, personal care, and activities;

b. Requirements and restrictions related to the supervi-
sion of the child;

c. Requirements and restrictions for interaction with
the child’s family and other persons;

d.  The person responsible for obtaining and transport-
ing the child to needed services. These services
include medical care, vision care, dental care, coun-
seling, and other services or treatment;

e. A plan for the purchase, installation, and mainte-
nance of environmental modifications to accommo-
date the disabilities of a child, if applicable; and

f. A plan for the completion of training needed by the
foster parent to care for the special needs of the
child, if applicable.

A foster parent shall sign and abide by the placement agree-

ment, described in subsection (A)(12).

A foster parent shall maintain and store the foster child's

records from DCS in a secure place.

The foster parent shall not use the information obtained to ini-

tiate discussions of the child's history or experience of abuse

or neglect with the child.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Records Maintained by the Foster Parent

A foster parent shall maintain a record throughout the care of

the foster child of:

1. Each foster child’s contact with family members and
other significant persons; and

2. Educational, medical, vision, dental, or therapeutic care
provided to the foster child while living in the home.

At the discretion of the Department or the licensing agency, a

foster parent shall, when requested, provide proof of how the

funds designated for a foster child were expended.

A foster parent shall safeguard a foster child’s records to pre-

vent loss, tampering, and unauthorized access.

Supp. 15-4
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D. A foster parent shall collect and maintain information and
materials significant to a foster child’s personal history. The
collection is sometimes referred to as a “life book™:

1. Typically includes photos, letters, report cards, school
projects, artwork, and souvenirs; and

2. Is the property of the child and will go with the child if he
or she moves from the foster home.

E. Within seven days of the end of a foster child’s placement in a
home, the foster parent shall provide the Child Placing Agency
with:

1. The records described in subsection (A); and
2. A written description of the child’s daily routine, personal
preferences, and habits.
Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-325.  Participation in the Service Team

A. The purpose of the service team is to ensure collaboration on
the development and review of a foster child’s case plan. A
foster parent is a member of the service team for each foster
child in his or her care. The service team also includes:

1. The foster child, as appropriate to the child’s age and
developmental level;

2. The foster child’s family, including persons who have a
significant relationship with the family or the child;

3. A representative of the Child Placing Agency;

4. A representative of the licensing agency;

5. Court-appointed advocates; and

6. Persons providing services to the foster child, including
attorneys, physicians, therapists, teachers, tribal represen-
tatives, and law enforcement personnel.

B. A foster parent shall participate as a member of the service
team by:

1. Attending team meetings when:
a.  The foster parent receives reasonable advance notice
of the date, time, and location of the meeting; and
b. The meetings are held at a time and place that is
accessible to the foster parent and compatible with
the foster parent’s work and child care schedules.
2. Participating in team meetings through alternative means,
which may include:
a.  Conference calls, and
b. Providing advance comments to the Child Placing
Agency or to other team members who will attend
the meeting.
3.  Reporting to the team on the child’s progress and con-
cerns.
4.  Assisting in the review and development of the case plan.
5. Assisting the child in attending and participating in meet-
ings, as appropriate to the child’s schedule, age, and
developmental level.
C. A foster parent shall implement the case plan by:
1. Performing the tasks assigned to the foster parent in the
case plan;
2. Helping a foster child to attain the goals identified in the
case plan; and
3. Helping a foster child to obtain services specified in the
case plan.
Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).
R21-6-326. Notification Requirements; Unusual Incident
A. A foster parent shall immediately notify the Child Placing

Supp. 15-4

Agency and licensing agency of the following incidents. For

R21-6-327.
Changes
A. A foster parent shall notify the licensing agency of any
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the purpose of this section, “immediately” means as soon as

possible, following the notification of emergency services

911).

1. Death of a foster child;

2. Unexplained absence of a foster child;

3. Unauthorized removal or attempted removal of a foster
child from the care and supervision of the foster parent;

4. A serious illness, injury, or mental health crisis of a foster
child requiring hospitalization or emergency room treat-
ment;

5. An allegation or the discovery of a sign of abuse or
neglect of a foster child;

6. Arrest of a foster child or the involvement of a foster
child with law enforcement that does not lead to arrest;

7.  Fire or other situation requiring overnight evacuation of
the home;

8. Incidents that involve or are likely to involve the media;
or

9.  Any other unusual incident that seriously jeopardizes the
health, safety, or well-being of a foster child.

A foster parent or the licensing agency shall document the

incident on a form provided by the Department.

A foster parent shall notify the Child Placing Agency and the

licensing agency within 24 hours of the following incidents:

1. Injury, illness, change of medication, or medication error
that requires a foster child to be seen by a doctor of medi-
cine, physician assistant, or registered nurse practitioner;

2. Theft of money or property belonging to a foster child;

Significant damage to the property of a foster child;

4. Injury to others or significant damage to the property of
others caused by a foster child;

5.  The use of physical restraint to control a foster child’s
sudden, out-of-control behavior;

6.  Arrest of a household member or involvement of a house-
hold member with law enforcement that does not lead to
an arrest;

7. Changes in the household that affect the foster parent’s
ability to meet the needs of the foster child;

8.  Life-threatening illness, injury, or the death of a house-
hold member; or

9. Incidents involving a DCS Report or investigation.

Within 24 hours of the occurrence of an incident specified in

subsection (A) or (C), a foster parent shall provide the licens-

ing agency in writing with:

1. A description of the incident, including the date and time
of occurrence;

2.  The names and contact information for any persons
involved in the incident;

3. The names and contact information for any person who
witnessed the incident; and

4. The measures taken by the foster parent to address, cor-
rect, or resolve the incident.

W

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Notification Requirements; Home or Household

changes in the family or household composition, as soon as the

foster parent is aware of the change including:

1. Marriage of a foster parent;

2. Divorce or separation of a foster parent;

3. Death of a foster parent or of a household member;

4. Addition or departure of a household member from the
home, including the birth or adoption of a child;
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5. Any changes in the living arrangements or circumstances
of the unlicensed spouse when a foster parent is married
but licensed individually under R21-6-408(B); or

6. The addition of a visitor or household member to the fos-
ter home for:

a. 30 or more consecutive days, or
b. 30 or more cumulative days in a year.

A foster parent shall notify the licensing agency of substantial

changes to the home, foster home, or premises, including:

1.  Moving or relocation to another home;

2. The addition of a pool, as defined in Article 1 of this
Chapter; or

3. Significant structural modifications to the home. For the
purpose of this section, “structural modification”
includes:

a. Adding or removing walls, windows, or doors; or
b. Converting a garage, attic, basement, or other simi-
lar space into a bedroom.

If a foster parent has advance knowledge of an event or change

listed in subsection (A) or (B), the foster parent shall give the

licensing agency reasonable advance notice of the anticipated
event or change. “Reasonable advance notice” means notice
that permits sufficient time for:

1. The licensing agency to request a Life Safety Inspection,
in accordance with R21-6-211;

2. OLR to issue an amended license, as prescribed in R21-6-
410; and

3. The foster parent to continue providing care and supervi-
sion in the licensed foster home without disruption of the
placement.

The foster parent shall notify and obtain approval from DCS

and the licensing agency before receiving a child from a Child

Placing Agency, other than DCS.

Failure to notify the licensing agency of an event or change

may result in an adverse licensing action.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Emergency and Disaster Plan

ten emergency and disaster plan that includes:

1. Contact information for each foster child, including the
name and telephone number of the primary care physi-
cian and the Child Placing Agency;

2. An evacuation plan for the home, as required by Chapter
8 of this Title; and

3. A plan for relocation from the home in the event of dis-
placement due to flood, fire, the breakdown of essential
appliances, or other disasters.

A foster parent shall provide a copy of the relocation plan to

the Child Placing Agency for each foster child and to the

licensing agency.

As appropriate to the foster child’s age and developmental

level, a foster parent shall review and practice the evacuation

plan with the child:

1. Within 72 hours of the child’s placement in the home,

2. Within 72 hours of the foster parent’s relocation to
another home, and

3. Atleast once each year following the child’s placement in
a foster home.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-329.
A.

Special Provisions for Respite Care
A foster parent who provides respite care shall comply with all
foster home requirements.

B. A foster parent who provides respite care may simultaneously
provide respite care, family foster care, and receiving care so
long as the total number of children in the foster home at any
one time does not exceed the ratios prescribed in R21-6-309
and the terms of the foster home license.

C. A foster parent who provides respite care shall request and
receive information and instruction from the regular foster
home licensee on at least the following:

1. Information and instruction about the specific personal
care of a child in respite care;

2. Information and instruction about the provision of medi-
cations required by a child in respite care;

3. Behavior management policies and practices and specific
instructions for a child in respite care; and

4. Emergency contacts and telephone numbers for a child in
respite care.

D. A foster parent who provides respite shall comply with the
requirements of R21-6-316. The respite provider shall have
properly installed and adequate safety restraints and child car
seats appropriate to the foster child’s age for each child in
respite care being transported. A foster parent may provide the
equipment required by this subsection to the respite provider.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-330.  Special Provisions for an In-home Respite Foster

Parent

A. A person applying for licensure solely as an in-home respite
foster parent shall comply with all requirements in this Chap-
ter except as otherwise provided in this Section.

B. An applicant for an in-home respite foster parent is not
required to provide the following:

1. Immunization records for each child in the applicant’s
household as required by R21-6-403;

2. Documentation of sufficient income as required by R21-
6-403;

3. A statement explaining the child care arrangements the
applicant would make for a foster child, or the applicant’s
own children, during the applicant’s working hours;

4. A statement explaining how activities related to a busi-
ness activity will not interfere with the care of a foster
child;

5. A description of the applicant’s home and neighborhood;

6. Fingerprinting or a criminal history check for household
members, other than the applicant for in-home respite
care, as required by R21-6-302; and

7. Contact information for the foster child’s Child Safety
Worker.

C. The following rules do not apply to a person seeking licensure
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solely as an in-home respite foster parent:

1. R21-6-304. Life Safety Inspections;

2. R21-6-311. Bedrooms, Beds and Bedding;

3. Life Safety Inspection requirements in Chapter 8 of this
Title;

4. R21-6-314. Health and Medical Care; subsections (2)-
(5);

5. R21-6-323. Information and Records to be Provided to
the Foster Parent, specifically the Placement Agreement
requirements;

6. R21-6-324. Records Maintained by the Foster Parent,
except to document any behavioral health incidents, med-
ical care, provision of medication, and any other event or

Supp. 15-4
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service required by the case plan or which may be
requested by the regular foster parent while the in-home
respite foster parent has responsibility for the foster child
in care;

7. R21-6-325. Participation in the Service Team, unless
requested to do so;

8. R21-6-326. Notification Requirements; Unusual Incident,
subsection (C)(7), unless the change or event directly
affects the licensee’s ability to provide respite care and
comply with these rules; and

9. R21-6-327. Notification Requirements: Home or House-
hold Changes, unless the change or event directly affects
the licensee’s ability to provide respite care and comply
with these rules.

An in-home respite foster parent shall request and receive

information and instruction from the foster parent on at least

the following:

1. Information and instruction about the specific personal
care of a foster child in respite care;

2. Information and instruction about the provision of medi-
cations required by a foster child in respite care;

3. Behavior management policies and practices and specific
instructions for a foster child in respite care; and

4. Emergency contacts and telephone numbers for a foster
child in respite care;

5. Household policies and practices for emergency situa-
tions; and

6. Routine household management practices that will pro-
vide for continuity in operation of the foster home for the
comfort and support of a foster child in care.

An in-home respite foster parent shall not permit any unli-

censed person to accompany or assist the in-home respite fos-

ter parent while providing respite care.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-331. Requirements for Certification to Provide Spe-
cialized Services

A.
B.

Supp. 15-4

A license for a foster parent is a regular license.

If the foster parent has met the additional requirements for cer-

tification to provide specialized services, OLR shall document

the area of certification on the regular license. If more than one
person is identified on the license, both shall meet the addi-
tional requirements for certification to provide a specialized
service; except the foster parent who is not the primary care

giver is exempt from compliance with subsections (E)(1)(a),

(E)(2)(a) and (b), (E)(3)(b) and (c), and (E)(4).

The foster parent shall comply with the requirements specified

in this Section to renew the certification.

The certification to provide a specialized service:

1. Does not change the renewal date of the regular license;
and

2. Shall expire at the next renewal date of the regular
license.

The classes of foster homes that provide specialized services

and the certification requirements are:

1. Receiving Foster Home. This is a home in which the
licensed foster parent receives a foster child with limited
notice and provides care for a limited period of time. The
foster parent for a receiving foster home shall:

a. Have three months' successful experience in child
welfare, foster care, health care, education, or a
related profession as approved by OLR. “Success-
ful experience” means that the foster parent has been
responsible for the health, safety, and well-being of a

Page 20

child for a minimum of 20 hours per week without
any negative actions, such as termination for cause;
b. Assist the Child-Placing Agency in assessing the
needs of each foster child placed on an emergency
basis;
c.  Assist the Child-Placing Agency in transitioning the
foster child to another care setting.
d.  Shall be prepared to accept a foster child, according
to the capacity and terms of the foster home license,
24 hours per day, seven days per week; and
e. May be approved to simultaneously provide receiv-
ing care, family foster care, and respite care so long
as the total number of children in the foster home at
any time does not exceed the number approved in
the regular foster home license, or any of the other
limitations of the regular foster home license.
Medically Complex Foster Home. This is a foster home
that is licensed with a maximum capacity of three foster
children, and each foster parent has completed special-
ized training to provide care to foster children identified
by the Department as having medically complex needs.
Children with medically complex needs include those
who have or are at risk for chronic physical or develop-
mental conditions and who require health-related services
beyond that required by children in general. The foster
parent for a Medically Complex Foster Home shall:
a. Have one of the following minimum experience or

education:
i.  One year’s experience as a licensed foster par-
ent; or

ii. Licensed or certified as a healthcare profes-
sional, such as a doctor, nurse, or certified nurs-
ing assistant; or

iii  Three months’ successful experience in child
welfare, foster care, health care, education, or a
related profession as approved by OLR. “Suc-
cessful experience” means that the foster parent
has been responsible for the health, safety, and
well-being of a child or adult with medically
complex needs for a minimum of 20 hours per
week without any negative actions, such as ter-
mination for cause; or

iv. A bachelor’s or graduate degree in healthcare,
such as medicine or nursing.

b. Not have employment or commitments that interfere
with the foster parent’s ability to meet the foster
child’s medical needs and schedule;

c. Use adaptive equipment and encourage the foster
child to use adaptive equipment to facilitate the
child’s participation in daily living activities;

d.  Provide the foster child with opportunities to partici-
pate in community activities on a regular basis
unless there is a compelling medical reason not to do
S0;

e. Develop and follow an alternate supervision plan,
approved by the Department, Child Placing Agency,
and the licensing agency, if the foster parent is not
available to provide primary care and supervision to
foster children with medically complex needs. The
alternate supervision plan shall include:

i.  The name of each adult, age 18 years and older,
who can provide supervision if the foster parent
is not present;

ii. Information about the foster child’s medical,
physical, or behavioral health condition that is
necessary to provide care;
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iii. Medication that is prescribed to be adminis-
tered to the foster child while the foster parent
is not present and any relevant instructions for
the administration of that medication;

iv. Specialized training necessary to provide care
and supervision; and

v. Emergency contact information for the foster
child, including a means to contact the foster
parent, the licensing agency, and the Child
Placing Agency.

f.  In addition to the training specified under R21-6-
303, complete a minimum of 18 hours of training
approved by the Department, prior to certification
that includes:

i.  An overview of the assessment categories for
children defined as having medically complex
needs by the Department;

ii. Medical and health care issues, procedures, and
techniques;

iii. The purpose and safe use of medications;

iv. Overview of medication interactions and poten-
tial medication reactions; and

v.  Positive behavior development;

g. Complete training to care for the special needs of a
foster child, as indicated in the placement agree-
ment; and

h. In addition to the training specified under R21-6-
303, complete a minimum of 12 hours of specialized
training prior to license renewal related to the medi-
cally complex needs of children and other approved
topics by the Department that include:

i.  Medical and health care issues, procedures, and
techniques;

ii. The purpose and safe use of medications;

iii. Overview of medication interactions and poten-
tial medication reactions;

iv. Positive behavior development; and

v.  Specialized training related to the medically
complex needs of children.

Therapeutic Foster Home. This is a foster home that is

licensed with a maximum capacity of three foster chil-

dren, and each foster parent has received specialized
training to provide care and services within a support sys-
tem of clinical and consultative services to foster children
with special behavioral health needs, as identified by the

Department. In addition to meeting the requirements for a

regular license, the foster parent for a Therapeutic Foster

Home shall:

a. Beatleast 21 years of age, and

b. Have at least one of the following minimum experi-
ence or education:

i.  One year’s experience as a licensed foster par-
ent;

ii. Three months’ successful experience in child
welfare, foster care, behavioral health, educa-
tion, or a related profession as approved by
OLR. “Successful experience” means that the
foster parent has been responsible for the
health, safety, and well-being of a child or adult
with behavioral health needs for a minimum of
20 hours per week without any negative
actions, such as termination for cause; or

iii. A bachelor’s or graduate degree in health care,
social work, psychology, or a related behavioral
health field.
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c.  Not have employment or commitments that interfere
with the foster parent’s ability to meet the foster
child’s special behavioral health needs, including
supporting the foster child and as applicable, partici-
pating in in-home and community based services;

d.  Provide the foster child with opportunities to partici-
pate in developmentally appropriate community
based activities on a regular basis;

e. Develop and follow an alternate supervision plan,
approved by the Child Placing Agency and the
licensing agency, if the foster parent is not available
to provide primary care and supervision for a foster
child with treatment needs. The alternate supervi-
sion plan shall include:

i.  The name of each adult, age 21 years and older,
who can provide supervision if the foster parent
is not present;

ii. Information about the foster child’s behavioral,
health, medical, or physical condition that is
necessary to provide care;

iii. Medication that is prescribed to be adminis-
tered to the foster child while the foster parent
is not present and any relevant instructions for
the administration of that medication;

iv. Specialized training taken by individuals in
subsection (i) that is necessary to provide care
and supervision of the foster child; and

v. Emergency contact information for the foster
child, including a means to contact the foster
parent, the licensing agency, and Child Placing
Agency.

f. In addition to the training specified under R21-6-
303, complete a minimum of 18 hours of training
prior to certification, approved by the Department
that includes:

i.  Positive behavior development and de-escala-
tion techniques,

ii.  The purpose and safe use of medications, and

iii. Overview of medication interactions and poten-
tial medication reactions.

g. Complete training to care for the special needs of a
foster child, as indicated in the placement agree-
ment;

h. In addition to the training specified under R21-6-
303, complete a minimum of 24 hours of training
prior to license renewal. The Department shall
approve the training curriculum and coordinate the
training curriculum through a licensing agency. The
tralmng shall include:

i.  Positive behavior development and de-escala-
tion techniques,

ii.  The purpose and safe use of medications, and

iii. Overview of medication interactions and poten-
tial medication reactions.

Group Foster Home. This is a home in which all licensed

foster parents are certified to provide care for six to 10

foster children for the purpose of accommodating a spe-

cific sibling group, or as otherwise provided in A.R.S. §

8-514, for over capacity placements. In addition to meet-

ing the requirements for a regular license, the foster par-

ent for a Group Foster Home shall:

a. Have the following minimum experience or educa-
tion:

i.  History of care or contact with the specific chil-
dren to be placed in the Group Foster Home; or

Supp. 15-4



Title 21, Ch. 6

Arizona Administrative Code

Department of Child Safety — Foster Home Licensing

ii  One year’s experience as a licensed foster par-
ent; or
iii  Three months’ successful experience in child
welfare, foster care, education, or a related pro-
fession as approved by OLR. “Successful expe-
rience” means that the foster parent has been
responsible for the health, safety, and well-
being of a child for a minimum of 20 hours per
week without any negative actions, such as ter-
mination for cause.
b.  Uphold the age limitations of children prescribed by
R21-6-309;
Conduct a fire drill at least once every three months;
Have at least two full bathrooms in the home; and
e. If recommended by OLR, or the Child Placing
Agency, complete advanced training on positive
behavior development, de-escalation techniques, or
other topics related to the specific care needs of the
foster children.

ao

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21

R21-6-401.
A.

3. Medication that is prescribed to be administered to the
foster child while the foster parent is not present and any
relevant instructions for the administration of that medi-
cation;

4 Specialized training taken by individuals in subsection
(1) necessary to provide care and supervision to the foster
child; and

5. Emergency contact information for the foster child,
including a means to contact the foster parent, the licens-
ing agency, and the Child Placing Agency.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

ARTICLE 4. THE LICENSING PROCESS FOR FOSTER
PARENTS

Minimum Qualifications to Apply for a License
Any individual or married couple meeting the following mini-
mum qualifications shall be eligible to apply for licensure as a
foster parent regardless of gender, race, religion, political affil-
iation, national origin, disability, or sexual orientation.

A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4). B. All applicants shall submit a complete application and accom-
R21-6-332.  Placement of a Child With a Developmental Dis- panyng documentgtlon fora foster.home license. . .
ability in a Foster Home C. To apply for a family foster home license, the apphca_nt shall:
A. OLR shall refer the foster parent to the DES Division of L. 4Blf:9at least 21 years of age, except as provided in R21-6-

Developmental Disabilities (DDD), Office of Licensing, Certi- L . . .

fication and Regulation (OLCR) for licensing as a child devel- 2. FS{teaStleie in Arizona and be lawfully present in the United

opmental home, if the Department has placed a child with a ' . . . .
R 3. Not have a record of withdrawing from the licensing

Developmental Disability in a foster home and the foster home S . .

has: app!lcatlon process or glosmg_a 11c§nsq bef_ore the com-

1.  No more than three placements, including the child with a plethn of an investigation or licensing inquiry, except as
Developmental Disability, or ’ permitted under R21-6-414(I); and

’ 4. Declare under oath that he or she:

2. More than three placements but the placements are only a. Has not committed a crime specified in Arizona
the child with the Developmental Disability and that ' . ludi pect for the i
child’s siblings, Rev1sefd Statut;:s as e}_ prec u.mglcrlme or the issu-

B. If the foster home is licensed by DES OLCR as a child devel- b ?:;Z to a ?eLies\;Zrec()inseexH(l)%t?erg(riler;t clearance card; and
opmental home, OLR shall place the regular foster home ’ & ’

license on inactive status. The foster parent may reactivate the Historical Note

regular foster home license by complying with R21-6-413. New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21

C. If the foster home is not licensed by the DES OLCR as a child A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).
developmental home, or the foster home has more than three, R21-6-402. Rights of the Applicant and the Foster Parent

but no more than five placements, including the child with a . . h . .

Developmental Disability. the home may remain a reeular fos- A. In addition to the inspection and due process rights specified

ter hompe with the follow}i]r’lg requiremeni]S' & under A.R.S. § 41-1009, and A.R.S. § 8-530, the foster parent

1. If the child with a Developmental Disability is eligible shall have the right to: fered bv O ;
under A.R.S. § 36-559, OLR shall refer the foster parent L. Partlclp ate In an orientation offered by .LR or a licens-
to DES OLCR as an option to become HCBS certified; 1ng agency. WhICh prov1de§ the.followmg information:
and ’ a. An overview of the licensing process,

2. The foster parent shall follow written and verbal instruc- b. ﬁl C?pl}é SOf’ or instructions for, accessing the licens-
tions and orders from qualified professionals regarding c Reg l?irerilents and information specific to the avail-
the medical, dental, habilitative, and therapeutic needs of ’ abl(fl: licensing agencies, and P
the child with a Developmental Disability. 4 Themies fm § oo of the Denartment.

D. Ifthe foster parent is not available to provide primary care and P phy p
P . . SO 2. Choose or transfer to a licensing agency approved by the
supervision for a foster child with a Developmental Disability, Department, at no cost to the applicant or foster parent:

the foster parent shall develop and follow an alternate supervi- P . app ster p

. . . . 3. Be treated with courtesy, dignity, and fairness by the

sion plan, approved by the licensing agency and the Child licensine agency and the Department:

Placing Agency in consultation with DES if the child with the g agency and the epa g/ .

Developmental Disability is cligible under A.R.S. § 36-559 4. Be free from discrimination in the licensing process on

The al tgrnate supervisionyplan shgall include: B ) the basis of political affiliation, marital status, or sexual

1. The name of each adult, age 18 years and older, who can or1en.tat19n; . .. .
provide supervision if the foster parent is not present; 5. Receive information and training pertinent to the respon-

2. Information about the foster child’s medical, physical, Eblhges oéa‘fosterdpare}? G | assi ided by th
behavioral health condition, or other factors that put the 6. recerve advice an technica a§s13tance proviced by the
child’s health, safety, or well-being at risk that is neces- hcensn}g agency or QLR to assist the apphcant or foster
sary o provi d’e care. ’ parent in understanding the licensing requirements;
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7. Direct the licensing agency to enter the applicant’s com-
plete and accurate information for licensure via the
Department's electronic database;

8. Appeal an adverse licensing action as described under
R21-6-417,

9. Elevate concerns about the licensing process in writing to
the program administrator for OLR.

10. Be free from retaliation by a licensing agency and the
Department in the event of a disagreement, an appeal, or
an elevation of concerns by the foster parent or applicant;

11. Be informed of and provided the opportunity to be heard
in any adverse licensing action conducted by OLR that
impacts the foster parent’s or applicant’s license;

12. Reasonably refuse placement or request removal of a
child without reprisal from the licensing or Child Placing
Agency; and

13. The confidential treatment of private information
revealed in the licensing process in accordance with
AR.S. § 8-502 and A.R.S. § 8-530.

Upon written request and payment of reasonable duplication
and postage fees by a foster parent, the licensing agency shall
forward a copy of the contents of the licensing records to an
agency or organization for the purpose of assisting a foster
parent who is being considered for a private or out-of-state
adoptive placement, or any similar purpose.

Upon written request, OLR and a licensing agency shall per-

mit a foster parent or applicant to access their licensing record,

except as provided in subsection (E).

A foster parent shall be permitted to provide a written response

to the Child Placing Agency and OLR on findings and com-

ments in the home study, investigative reports, and any corre-
spondence, with the exception of the items listed in subsection

(E).

A foster parent or applicant shall not have access to the follow-

ing:

1. Information supplied by confidential references during
the licensing process;

2. Information protected from secondary dissemination
under state or federal law, including DCS Reports and
investigations and related records; or

3. The names of or identifying information for persons and
organizations listed as sources in a licensing investigation
or DCS Report or inquiry.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Application for an Initial License

An individual or married couple shall complete the application

for an initial license accurately and in full via the Department's

electronic database. The applicant may direct the licensing
agency to enter the application.

The application for an initial license shall include:

1. The full legal name of each household member;

2. All other names and aliases, including birth names and
names used in previous marriages, of each household
member;

3. The current marital status of the applicant;

4. The date of birth of each household member, except other
foster children, including evidence that the applicant is at
least 21 years of age;

5. The Social Security Number of each adult household
member, for the purpose of conducting a background
check;
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6.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.
16.
17.
18.

19.

20.
21.

22.

23.

The relationship between the applicant and all other
household members, including a parent, sibling, house-
mate, or tenant;

The telephone number and e-mail address of the appli-

cant;

The mailing address of the applicant and the physical

address of the applicant’s home;

A statement that the applicant resides in Arizona;

The document specified under A.R.S. § 41-1080(A) and,

as applicable (E), to demonstrate that the applicant is law-

fully present in the United States;

The name of the school district in which the applicant’s

home is located;

Each address held by each adult household member

during the previous 10 years;

The name, date of birth, current address, and telephone

number of each child of the applicant who lives outside

the applicant’s home, if known, and a statement as to
whether the child is reasonably expected to have contact
with a child in foster placement;

The applicant’s employment history, including the names

of employers, dates of employment, and positions held

during the previous 10 years;

A summary of the applicant’s education;

A description of the applicant’s experience in caring for

children or adults;

The applicant’s household budget, showing income,

resources, assets, debts, and obligations;

Plans for the sleeping arrangements for each household

member and for each potential foster child;

Plans for transportation of each potential foster child

including:

a. Evidence of a valid driver license for each house-
hold member who will provide transportation;

b. Evidence that each vehicle to be used for transporta-
tion is registered and insured to operate in Arizona;
and

c. Evidence that the applicant has or shall obtain prior
to placement, the correct number and type of child
car seats for the conditions of the license.

A description of any pool on the foster home premises;

A description of the applicant’s prior efforts to be certi-

fied or licensed for adoption, foster care, assisted living,

child-care, and any other service for children or vulnera-
ble adults, including:

a. Applications that were withdrawn or denied; and

b.  Applications that resulted in a license or certification
that was suspended or revoked.

A list of the names, mailing and e-mail addresses, and

telephone numbers of five references, to attest that the

applicant is of good character and has the qualifications
to care for a foster child:

a. Atleast one of the references, but not more than two,
shall be related to the applicant;

b. At least three of the references shall be unrelated to
the applicant;

c. If the applicant is married, then at least two of the
references shall be familiar with the applicant as a
couple; and

d. If another adult household member is applying for a
license or is currently licensed, then at least two of
the references shall be familiar with both the appli-
cant or foster parent and other household member.

A disclosure of civil and court proceedings in which the

applicant has been a party, including:

a.  Criminal proceedings;
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b. Lawsuits;
c. Dependency actions, including:
i.  Removal of a dependent,
ii.  Voluntary relinquishment,
iii. Suspension of custody, or
iv. Termination of parental rights;
d.  Charges of child abuse or neglect;
e. Child support enforcement proceedings within the
last five years;
f.  Bankruptcy within the last five years;
g. Divorce, separation, or any other civil proceedings;
and
h.  Adoption;
24. A criminal record self-disclosure completed by each adult
household member;
25. Evidence that each adult household member, has obtained
a Level One fingerprint clearance card;
26. A disclosure by the applicant of any allegation against the
applicant of abuse or neglect of any child or vulnerable
adult;

8. Specialized services the foster parent is certified to pro-
vide, as applicable, under Article 3 of this Chapter
include the following:

a. Receiving Foster Care,

b. Medically Complex Foster Care,

c. Therapeutic Foster Care, and

d.  Group Foster Care.

9. All restrictions applicable to the license, including
restriction to:

a. A specific foster child.

i.  OLR shall not identify the name of a foster
child on the license.

ii. OLR shall only specify the name of a foster
child in confidential correspondence.

b. Respite care only.

c. Prevent the placement of infants, young children,
and medically complex individuals, to protect their
health due to a lack of a household member's immu-
nization; and

10. The name of the licensing agency.

27. Any history of abuse or neglect involving the applicant; C. A license shall be valid for the period of time specified on the
28. Authorization for a Central Registry record check: license and shall expire on the specified date unless the foster
a.  For each adult household member, and parent licensee files an application for renewal before the expi-
b.  With each state in which any adult household mem- ration date. In addition, a license shall terminate if:
ber resided in during the previous five years. 1. The foster parent voluntarily closes the license, under
29. A health self-disclosure completed by each adult house- R21-6-414(1);
hold member; 2. OLR revokes the license as described under R21-6-414;
30. A physician's statement as defined in R21-6-101(54), 3. The foster parent moves to a different residence without
related to the physical and behavioral health completed first notifying the licensing agency or OLR; or
for the applicant and for each adult household member 4.  The foster parent moves out of Arizona.
who will be providing care and supervision; T
31. An up-to-date immunization record, if available, for each . Historical Note .
. . . . New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
child household member. The lack of available immuni- AAR. 3479, cffective Jan 24,2016 (S 15-4)
zation records shall not prohibit licensure, but may be e - ciective Januaty =2, upp- )
grounds for restricting the license to prevent the place- R21-6-405. Home Study and Assessment
ment of infants, young children, and medically complex A. The applicant and adult household members shall complete
individuals; and self-assessments, using the forms approved by OLR, and share
32. A Statement of Understanding signed by the applicant the results of the self-assessments with the licensing agency.
and attesting to the truth of the information provided The licensing agency shall, in the home study, summarize and
during the application process. consider information provided in the self-assessments.
The applicant in cooperation with a licensing agency shall sub- B. All household members, including each child household mem-
mit the information required under R21-6-205 and this Section ber, if appropriate to the child’s age and developmental level,
and the home study and assessment as directed under R21-6- shall participate in interviews conducted by the licensing
206 and R21-6-405. agency, as directed by R21-6-206.
Historical Note C. The app'licant's}‘lall participate ?n and successfully complete
. . pre-service training as specified in R21-6-303.
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21 X . o . .
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4). D. The app.hcan.t shall provide additional information as nepded
for the licensing agency to evaluate the fitness of the applicant
Types of Licenses and to conduct the home study.
A. OLR grants ‘the follow1ng types of licenses: Historical Note
1. Aninitial license, . .
2. A renewal license, and New Section made.by final exempt rulemaking at 21
3. An amended license to reflect changes made to informa- A-AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).
tion on the initial or renewal license. R21-6-406.  The Licensing Decision
The license for a foster parent shall specify the following: A. OLR shall evaluate the applicant's compliance with licensing
1. The type of license (initial, renewal, or amended); requirements before making a licensing decision.
2. The name of the foster parent; B. Prior to making a licensing decision, OLR may, as necessary
3. The physical address of the home; and appropriate:
4. The date the license is issued; 1. Require the applicant or licensing agency to provide addi-
5. The maximum number of foster children that may be tional documentation to verify compliance with licensing
placed in the home; requirements, such as marriage licenses, divorce decrees,
6. The age range of foster children that may be placed in the legal separation agreements, child support orders or pay-
home; ments, pay stubs, and bankruptcy documents;
7. The gender of foster children that may be placed in the 2. Require the applicant or licensing agency to provide addi-
home; tional information if:
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a. The medical, physical, or mental health needs of a
household member could interfere with the care and
supervision of a foster child;

b.  Adults residing outside the household will have fre-
quent or close contact with a foster child; or

c. A household member has been charged with or con-
victed of a crime, even if the specific crime does not
preclude the issuance of a Level One fingerprint
clearance card;

3. Gather additional information needed to determine the
applicant’s fitness. This may include:

a. Interviewing the applicant,

b. Contacting references,

c.  Verifying information provided in the application or
by the licensing agency, and

d. Inspecting the applicant’s home.

When making a licensing decision, OLR shall consider factors

that have a bearing on the applicant’s or foster parent’s fitness.

These factors include:

1. The applicant’s current and historical compliance with
licensing requirements. In assessing complaints and vio-
lations with statutes and licensing requirements, OLR
shall consider:

The type of complaint or violation,

The severity of each violation,

The number of complaints or violations,

A pattern of complaints or violations, and

The applicant or foster parent’s response to a correc-

tive action plan.

2. The applicant’s history of parenting or caring for children
or vulnerable adults;

3. Allegations of abuse or neglect of a child or vulnerable
adult made to DCS or the DES adult protective services
against any of the following individuals residing in the
home: the applicant, a household member, a foster child,
an adult with a Developmental Disability, or a young
adult residing in the foster home under a written individ-
ual case plan agreement for out-of-home care. To deter-
mine whether the allegation of abuse or neglect affects
the applicant’s fitness, OLR shall consider all relevant
factors, including:

a.  Whether the allegation was substantiated,

b.  The number and nature of all allegations,

c.  The length of time that has elapsed since each alle-
gation,

d.  The circumstances surrounding each allegation,

e. The extent of the person’s rehabilitation, and

f.  The nature and extent of each household member’s
involvement in the allegation.

4. The stability of residency in Arizona;

The stability of marital and household relationships;

6. The applicant’s or foster parent’s financial stability and
ability to meet obligations;

7. Medical, physical, or mental health concerns that impact
the applicant’s or foster parent’s ability to provide safe
care and supervision to a child. OLR shall consider
accommodations presented by the applicant, as permitted
under R21-6-301 to reduce or eliminate any medical,
physical, or mental health conditions;

8. Significant life disturbances, including the death of a
family member, divorce, bankruptcy, and job separation;

9. Patterns of criminal charges or allegations; and

10. Other 31gn1ﬁcant factors in the applicant’s life.

OLR may waive non-safety licensing requirements on a case-

by-case basis for an applicant who will only provide kinship

care.

opoos

4

E.

R21-6-407.

The licensing decision shall occur within the time-frames
specified under R21-6-407.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Licensing Time-frames

A. OLR shall review an application and render a licensing deci-

B.
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sion within required time-frames.

Within 30 days of receiving an application, OLR shall conduct

an administrative completeness review to determine whether

all required documentation and information has been submit-
ted. Within the 30-day administrative review time-frame:

1. If the application is complete, OLR shall immediately
move the application forward for a substantive review; or

2. If'the application is incomplete, OLR shall issue a Notice
of Incomplete Application to the applicant and the licens-
ing agency containing a list of items and information
needed to complete the application.

a. The applicant shall have 30 days to supply the miss-
ing items or information to OLR via the licensing
agency.

b. The time-frame for the administrative completeness
review shall be suspended from the date OLR issues
the Notice of Incomplete Application to the date that
OLR receives the missing item or information.

c. If the applicant does not supply the requested items
or information within 30 days of receiving the
Notice of Incomplete Application, OLR may close
the file. Once closed, the applicant may reapply for
licensure, except as prohibited by R21-6-414.

d. If the applicant supplies the required items and
information via the licensing agency to OLR within
30 days, OLR shall conduct a substantive review of
the application.

Within the 30 days following the administrative completeness

review of an application, and if the application is complete,

OLR shall complete a substantive review to evaluate the appli-

cant’s fitness for licensure. Within the 30- day substantive

review time-frame, OLR:

1. May request that the applicant or licensing agency pro-
vide additional information if needed to evaluate the suit-
ability of the applicant for licensure.

a. The applicant and the licensing agency shall have an
additional 21 days to provide the information to
OLR.

b. The time-frame for the substantive review shall be
suspended from the date OLR requests additional
information to the date OLR receives the informa-
tion.

2. Shall make the licensing decision, as described under
R21-6-406, and take a licensing action, as described
under R21-6-414.

Within an overall time-frame of 60 days upon receipt of a

complete application, OLR shall:

1. Complete an administrative review of an application,

2.  Complete a substantive review of an applicant’s fitness,
and

3. Notify the applicant and the licensing agency of the deci-
sion to grant or deny a license.

The same time-frames used for initial licensure shall also

apply to renewing and amending a license:

1. OLR shall complete the administrative completeness
review within a maximum of 30 days from receipt of the
application.
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2. OLR shall complete the substantive review of a complete
application within a maximum of 30 days following the
administrative completeness review.

3. OLR shall review the application and notify the applicant
and licensing agency of the licensing decision within a

maximum of 60 days, not including suspended time-
frames, from receipt of the application.

pleteness

Process Responsible Party Time-frame for Completion

Completion of training and assembly of | Applicant and licensing agency Not regulated: typically two—four
the application months

Administrative completeness review OLR Maximum of 30 days

Respond to the notification of incom- | Applicant and licensing agency Maximum of 30 days

(time-frame is suspended)

Substantive review

OLR

Maximum of 30 days

Respond to request for additional infor-
mation to evaluate fitness

Applicant and licensing agency

Maximum of 21 days
(time-frame is suspended)

Overall time-frame for a licensing deci-
sion

OLR

Maximum of 60 days

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

assisted living, or an adult developmental home without the
written approval of OLR. This restriction does not apply to the
certification of a licensed foster home to provide specialized
services under the classification of licenses described under

R21-6-408. Licensing Limitations R21-6-331
A. OLR may license unmarried applicants who reside together . .
oo . . . : G. An applicant shall not be an employee or relative of an
individually and shall link the unmarried applicants in the . . . . .
Department's electronic database. employee for the licensing agency that is assisting the appli-
B. OLR shall license married applicants jointly, unless a married cant \’mt.h hcensuref. . lified i d
applicant applies to be licensed individually because: H. OLR’s 1ssu§nce; ora hcen;e tcl)l.zli qualified applicant does not
The applicant’s spouse is permanently, physically dis- guarantee the placement ofa ¢ ild. .
abled to such an extent that the spouse is unable 1o Pro- I. A foster parent is limited to the capacity, age, gender, and
vide care for a child. as verillee d by a oh sicign’s other conditions or restrictions specified on the license when
taterment: ? y a phy providing care, including respite care.
5 §Fheea N liz:ant’s spouse is absent from the houschold and J.  The foster parent shall notify and obtain approval from DCS
’ expeclt)epd to be aﬁ)sent from the houschold for nine or and the licensing agency before receiving a child from a Child
more of the following 12 months due to military service; Placing Agency, other than DCS.
or Historical Note
3. The applicant and his or her spouse have been separated New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
for at least one year, and the spouses have not lived A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).
togethe.:r. If the spouses have not .hved together for: R21-6-409. Training Reporting Update
a.  Five or more years the applicant shall: : . .
i, Sign a statement that the marriage is over and A. The foster parent shall cooperate w1th the 11cens_1ng agency to
the applicant has no intent to live or reconcile provide proof of completion of the training required by A.R.S.
with their spouse; § 8-509. . . . .
ii. If the applicant knows the location of the B. OLR may take an a_dverse licensing action against _the foster
’ spouse. obiain a statement from the spouse that parent if he or she fails to complete the required training and to
tl?e ma{rriage is over and the spouge has no submit the information in subsection (A) as required by A.R.S.
intent to live or reconcile with the applicant; §8-509.
iii. Submit evidence that the spouse is living else- Historical Note
where, if available; and New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
iv. Submit any other evidence that the spouse is A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).
not going to return to .the h’ousehold; or R21-6-410. Amending the License
b. One to five years, the applicant’s spouse shall: . . . .
i, Obtain a Level One fingerprint clearance card A. The fpster parent shall p(_)nfy the licensing agency _1f there are
) and ’ any circumstances requiring an amendment to the license.
ii. Pass a protective services registries check B. The foster parent shall work with the licensing agency to
C. IfOLR licenses a married applicant individually under subsec- request an amendment to modify the following information on
. . \ . the license:
tions (B)(2) or (3) and the applicant's spouse returns, the appli- 1. License type:
Tant ;l;ggfy OLR immediately under R21-6-411; and 2. Increase or decrease in capacity, age range, and gender of
2. Submit a new application as a married couple under R21- 3 gl}f E?g;rafi}grlgsr:régﬁg E:) zze‘t.)e placed in the home;
6-403 and meet all licensing requirements. ’ Y . ’
. . . . : . 4. Remodel of the home;
D. Alicense is only valid for the licensee specified on the license. 5 Leeal name of the foster parent:
E. A license is only valid for the address specified on the license. 6. Chffin ¢ in marital s tatuS'p ’
F. A foster parent shall not simultaneously hold more than one 7' Ad ditgion of a householé member: includine the birth of
license or a license and certification to provide human care ’ an adopted child: ’ g
services in the foster home, including foster care, child care, opted child;
Supp. 15-4 Page 26 December 31, 2015
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8. Name of a spouse, due to the death of a spouse or due to a
change in marital status;
9. Death of a licensed foster parent;

10 Name of the licensing agency specified on the license; A
11. Modification of the license expiration date; or
12.  Any condition or certification specified on the license.

C. The foster parent shall work with the licensing agency to
request an amendment to the license via the Department's elec-
tronic database. The following information shall be included B
in the request to amend a license: )
1. A description of the change or changes being requested,
2. Justification for the change or changes, as appropriate;
3. Other relevant information to assist in the issuance of a

license amendment;

4. Results of a new Life Safety Inspection, if required; C

5. A recommendation by the licensing agency to issue or
deny an amended license; and

6. A recommendation by the licensing agency to limit the
terms or conditions of a license, if applicable.

D. To request an amendment to the license to change the physical
address due to the relocation of the foster parent, the foster
parent shall:

1. Provide new contact information including:

a.  Phone number,
b. Address, and
c. E-mail,

2. Provide evidence that the change in residence does not
negatively impact their ability to meet financial obliga-
tions;

3. Provide plans for the sleeping arrangements for each
household member and foster child; and

4. Ensure that the home meets the standards for a Life
Safety Inspection, in accordance with Chapter 8 of this
Title.

E. To request an amendment to the license to add the name of a
spouse due to marriage, the foster parent and spouse shall
jointly:

1.  Complete an application for licensure;

2. Submit proof of legal marriage;

3. Participate in the home study and assessment; and

4. Cooperate with the licensing agency’s evaluation of the
spouse’s fitness as defined in R21-6-101(20).

F. OLR may initiate the action to amend a license to protect the
health, safety, or well-being of a foster child.

G.  An amendment shall not change the expiration or issuance
dates on a license, unless the amendment is approved to mod-
ify the license expiration date.

H. Information provided for a renewal does not replace the pro-
cess required to amend the license.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-411.  Addition of Household Members
If there is a change in household members during the term of the
license, the foster parent shall:
1. Notify the licensing agency of the change to the house-
hold in accordance with R21-6-327 and R21-6-411;
2. Ensure that each new household member complies with
the applicable requirements of this Chapter; and
3. Notify the licensing agency and obtain OLR and Child

Placing Agency approval of proposed changes in the A
sleeping arrangements for each household member and
for each foster child. B
Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
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R21-6-412.  Application for a Renewal License

A license shall:

1. Be valid for the period of time specified on the license,
and

2. Expire at midnight of the expiration date if the applicant
does not apply for a renewal license in accordance with
this Article.

To initiate the renewal of the license, the foster parent shall

confirm:

1. With the licensing agency that he or she wishes to renew
the license, and

2. The accuracy of or update the information via the Depart-
ment's electronic database.

The foster parent shall cooperate with the licensing agency by:

1. Participating in and facilitating interviews necessary for
the licensing agency to update the home study;

2. Assembling the documents needed to demonstrate ongo-
ing compliance with licensing requirements;

3. Completing training, as described in R21-6-303 and R21-
6-331 if applicable.

4. Cooperating with the completion of a Life Safety Inspec-
tion of the home as described under R21-6-304:

a. By the licensing agency every year, and
b. By OLR at least once every two years.

5. Providing a current health self-disclosure for each adult
household member every year;

6. Obtaining a physician’s statement for the foster parent at
least once every two years and providing a physician’s
statement for other adult household members if deter-
mined to be necessary by OLR in accordance with R21-6-
302;

7. Maintaining a current and valid fingerprint clearance card
meeting Level One requirements for each adult house-
hold member; and

8.  Signing the Statement of Understanding.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-413.  Application for License Reinstatement
A.

OLR shall evaluate an applicant for reinstatement the same as
an applicant for a renewal license under R21-6-412.
Reinstatement is available to applicants previously licensed by
OLR, including those foster parents whose license is on inac-
tive status because the foster home has been licensed by DES
as a child developmental foster home if:

1. The previous application for licensure was submitted via
the Department's electronic database;

2. The previous license has been expired for less than one
year, or if a child developmental home, there has been a
gap in licensure between the foster home license and the
child developmental foster home license of less than one
year: and

3. OLR completes a new Life Safety Inspection.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-414. Licensing Actions

Within the time-frame specified in R21-6-407, OLR shall
notify the applicant and the licensing agency of the licensing
decision.

OLR shall issue a license if OLR determines that an applicant
or foster parent is in:

1. Full compliance with all licensing requirements;

Supp. 15-4
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2. Substantial compliance with licensing requirements and G. In the event of an adverse licensing action, and until there is
an approved corrective action plan is in place for viola- final resolution of the matter:
tions, as specified under R21-6-416; or 1. The foster parent shall not:
3. Substantial compliance based on information currently a. Receive new placements;
available if an investigation is pending. b.  Accept additional foster children;
OLR may deny, suspend, or revoke a license if an applicant or c. Provide short-term care as described under R21-6-
foster parent: 306 or respite care;
1. Refuses or fails to provide the licensing agency or OLR 2. A Child Placing Agency shall not place additional foster
with information needed to evaluate compliance with children with the foster parents; and
licensing requirements; 3. The Child Placing Agency may remove a current foster
2.  Misrepresents or falsifies information needed by the child from the home if, in the judgment of the Child Plac-
licensing agency or OLR to evaluate compliance with ing Agency, there is reasonable belief of a risk to the
licensing requirements; health, safety, or well-being of the child.
3. Misrepresents or falsifies information presented by a H. In the event of a license revocation, the adverse action shall be
household member during the licensing process; effective:
4. Is aware of a misrepresentation or falsification of the 1. On the 26th day after the foster parent’s receipt of the
information presented by the household member during revocation notice; or
the licensing process; 2. On the date that an administrative hearing officer or
5. Refuses or fails to substantially comply with licensing appeals board issues a written decision affirming the
requirements, Arizona or federal laws, or local codes or revocation, if the foster parent appeals the revocation.
ordinances; I.  An applicant or foster parent may voluntarily withdraw the
6. Refuses or fails to carry out a required corrective action application for licensure or close the license at any time by
plan to correct a violation; submitting written notice to the licensing agency and OLR,
7. Has been denied a certificate or license to provide care to using the form approved by OLR.
a foster child or vulnerable adult, unless the denial was 1. If the foster parent voluntarily withdraws an application
based on failure to complete the process according to a or closes a license while in good standing, the applicant
required time-frame; or foster parent may re-apply for a license.
8. Has had a certificate or license to provide care to a foster 2. A license is not in good standing, and the licensing
child or vulnerable adult denied, suspended, or revoked, authority shall deny a re-application, if the foster parent
9. Has a household member that refuses to cooperate with withdrew or closed a license:
the licensing process; a. Before the completion of a corrective action, or with
10. Lives in a home in which a fingerprint clearance card the knowledge that a corrective action plan was
meeting Level One requirements for a foster parent and pending if the closure was to avoid compliance with
an adult household member has been suspended, denied, the corrective action plan;
or revoked; b. Before the completion of an investigation or inquiry;
11. Lives in a home in which an allegation of child abuse or or
neglect has been substantiated against a household mem- c.  When a DCS investigation of child abuse or neglect
ber; or is pending.
12. The foster parent moves to a different residence without Historical N
first notifying the licensing agency. . istorical Note .
OLR may initiate an adverse licensing action if OLR con- New Section made‘by final exempt rulemaking at 21
cludes that: A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).
1. A violation of licensing requirements is not correctable; R21-6-415. Routine Monitoring and Verification of Ongoing
2. A violation of licensing requirements poses a risk to the Compliance
health, safety, or well-being of a child; A. Throughout the term of a license, the foster parent shall ensure
3. A foster parent has a history or pattern of similar viola- ongoing compliance with licensing requirements.
tions with licensing requirements; or B. The foster parent shall cooperate with monitoring require-
4. A violation is ongoing and continuing. ments by making the home available for inspections and by
If OLR takes an adverse licensing action, OLR shall send a participating in interviews. Inspection and monitoring activi-
dated notice of the action to: ties by the licensing agency or OLR may include, as necessary
1. The applicant or foster parent by certified mail, and appropriate:
2. The licensing agency, and 1. A review of records and reports maintained by the foster
3. The Child Placing Agency for each child placed with the parent on the care, services, and treatment provided;
foster parent or applicant at the time of the action. 2. Interviews with the foster parent and household members
The notification for an adverse licensing action shall specify: including children in the home age five years and older;
1. The effective date of the adverse action; 3. Interviews with foster children; and
2. The facts upon which the adverse action is based; 4. An inspection of the home, foster home, and vehicles
3. The law or rule violation that is the basis of the adverse used to transport foster children.
action; and C. At the time of each monitoring or inspection, the licensing
4. The time-frame and process for the applicant or foster agency shall provide the applicant or foster parent with:
parent to appeal the adverse action, including: 1. A written summary of the monitoring or inspection activ-
a. The form approved by DCS to appeal the adverse ities conducted;
action, and 2. Planned follow-up and required corrective actions, as
b. The procedure for the applicant or foster parent to applicable; and
request an appeal of the adverse action. 3. A written summary of the applicant’s or foster parent’s
rights, in accordance with A.R.S. § 41-1009.
Page 28 December 31, 2015
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The licensing agency shall keep a copy of the written summa-
ries specified in subsection (C) and make the summaries avail-
able to OLR upon request.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

Corrective Action Plan

OLR may initiate and place a foster parent on a corrective

action plan to remedy the violation of a licensing requirement.

A foster parent shall comply with the corrective action plan.

In determining whether to require corrective action, OLR shall

consider the following criteria:

1.  The nature of the violation;

2. Whether the violation can be corrected,

3. Whether the foster parent understands the violation and
shows a willingness and ability to participate in correc-
tive action;

4. The length of time required to implement corrective
action;

5. Whether the same or similar violations have occurred on
prior occasions;

6.  Whether the foster parent has had prior corrective action
plans, and, if so, the foster parent’s success in achieving
the goals of the plan;

7.  The foster parent’s history as a foster parent or care giver;
and

8. Other similar or comparable factors demonstrating the
foster parent’s ability and willingness to follow through
with a corrective action plan and avoid future violations.

The corrective action plan shall:

1. Be written by OLR and may be in cooperation with the
licensing agency,

2. Specify the facts that constitute the violation,

3. Specify the law or rule violated by the foster parent,

4. Specify the steps a foster parent must take to remedy the
violation, and

5. Specify a date for completion of the required corrective
action.

The licensing agency or OLR may, as necessary and appropri-

ate, conduct an unannounced monitoring visit to verify the

implementation or completion of a corrective action.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

The Appeal Process

An applicant or foster parent shall have the right to appeal an

adverse licensing action following the process specified under

21 A.A.C. Chapter 1, Article 3.

To appeal, per A.R.S. § 8-506, an applicant or foster parent

shall submit a written notice of appeal to OLR within 25 days

from the mailing date on the adverse licensing action notice.

The notice of appeal shall specify the action being appealed,

and a statement of why the adverse licensing action is wrong.

If a child has been removed from the home because of a

health, welfare, or safety issue, the child shall remain out of

the home while the appeal is pending.

The following are not appealable:

1. Restrictions or limits specified by OLR on the license,
including the capacity, age group, or gender of children
that may be placed in the home;

2. The assignment of a required corrective action, as speci-
fied under R21-6-416, to bring the applicant or foster par-
ent into compliance with licensing requirements.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-418.  Allegations of Abuse or Neglect; Licensing Com-
plaints
A. The applicant or foster parent shall immediately report allega-

tions of abuse or neglect of a child, or a licensing complaint to
the Department’s Centralized Intake Hotline and to the licens-
ing agency.

B. The applicant or foster parent shall cooperate with:

1. Aninvestigation conducted by DCS, and

2. A licensing investigation conducted by a licensing
agency or OLR.

C. The Child Placing Agency shall not place additional children
in the foster home throughout the DCS or licensing investiga-
tion until the matter is resolved.

D. OLR shall determine the action, if any, that it will take against
the foster parent.

1. OLR shall implement an adverse licensing action as
described under R21-6-414 if the DCS or licensing inves-
tigation:

a. Substantiates an allegation of abuse or neglect; or

b. Confirms the violation of a licensing requirement
and there is reasonable cause to believe the viola-
tion:
i.  Is continuing;
ii. May recur; or
iii. Poses a risk to the health, safety, or well-being

of a child.

2. If the licensing investigation validates that there was a
violation of a licensing requirement but that the foster
parent has corrected the violation, OLR:

a.  Shall record the incident and resolution in the licens-
ing record,

b. May specify additional required corrective action,
and

c.  Shall notify the licensing and Child Placing Agency
of the violation and corrective action.

E. A complainant’s identity is confidential unless OLR takes a
licensing action based on the testimony of the complainant.

Historical Note
New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21
A.A.R. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).

R21-6-419. Waiver of Non-Safety Licensing Requirements

for Kinship Care

A. OLR may waive specific non-safety rule requirements for an
applicant or foster parent providing only kinship care, as
defined under R21-6-101(36), on a case by case basis, if the
applicant or foster parent demonstrates that compliance would
be a hardship. The applicant or foster parent may work with
his or her licensing agency to comply with this Section.

B. The request for a waiver shall include:

1. The specific rule to be considered for waiver by OLR;

2. The reason compliance would be a hardship;

3. Any proposed alternative compliance with the rule
requirement, including pictures or diagrams that depict
any physical requirement to be waived; and

4. Justification that waiving the licensing requirement will
not compromise the safety of a foster child.

C. The applicant or foster parent or licensing agency shall submit
a waiver request only on forms supplied by OLR.

D. OLR shall consider the waiver of a non-safety licensing
requirement on a case-by-case basis.

E. An applicant or foster parent shall base a waiver request on a

Page 29

licensing requirement and the needs of the foster child. OLR
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shall not grant a waiver request because it would be inconve- rooms, or may not meet the financial requirements of R21-6-
nient for the foster parent or applicant to comply with a licens- 301.
Ing requirement. . L . Historical Note

F. Non-safety issues may include granting licensure to applicants New Section made by final exempt rulemaking at 21

who are 18 to 20 years of age, have fewer than two full bath- A.AR. 3479, effective January 24, 2016 (Supp. 15-4).
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