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Notices of Final Rulemaking

NOTICE OF FINAL RULEMAKING

TITLE 9. HEALTH SERVICES

CHAPTER 26. COMMISSION FOR THE DEAF AND THE HARD OF HEARING

[R16-97]

PREAMBLE

1. Articles, Parts, and Sections Affected (as applicable) Rulemaking Action
Article 1 Repeal
R9-26-101 Renumber
R9-26-201 Renumber
R9-26-201 Amend
R9-26-202 Renumber
R9-26-202 Amend
R9-26-203 Renumber
R9-26-203 Amend
R9-26-204 Renumber
R9-26-204 Amend
R9-26-205 Renumber
R9-26-205 Amend
R9-26-206 Renumber
R9-26-207 Renumber
R9-26-207 New Section
R9-26-301 Repeal
R9-26-301 Renumber
R9-26-301 Amend
R9-26-302 Repeal
R9-26-302 Renumber
R9-26-303 Repeal
R9-26-303 Renumber
R9-26-303 Amend
R9-26-304 Renumber
R9-26-304 Amend
R9-26-501 Amend
R9-26-502 Amend
R9-26-503 Amend
R9-26-504 Amend
R9-26-505 Amend
R9-26-506 Amend
R9-26-507 Amend
R9-26-508 Amend
R9-26-509 Amend
R9-26-510 Amend
R9-26-511 Repeal
R9-26-511 New Section
R9-26-512 Amend

NOTICES OF FINAL RULEMAKING

This section of the Arizona Administrative Register
contains Notices of Final Rulemaking. Final rules have
been through the regular rulemaking process as defined in
the Administrative Procedures Act. These rules were
either approved by the Governor’s Regulatory Review
Council or the Attorney General’s Office. Certificates of
Approval are on file with the Office.

The final published notice includes a preamble and 

text of the rules as filed by the agency. Economic Impact
Statements are not published.

The Office of the Secretary of State is the filing office and
publisher of these rules. Questions about the interpretation
of the final rules should be addressed to the agency that
promulgated the rules. Refer to Item #5 to contact the person
charged with the rulemaking. The codified version of these
rules will be published in the Arizona Administrative Code.
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R9-26-515 Renumber
R9-26-515 New Section
R9-26-516 Renumber
R9-26-517 Amend
R9-26-518 Amend

2. Citations to the agency's statutory rulemaking authority to include both the authorizing statute (general) and the
implementing statute (specific):

Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 36-1946(1), (2), and (3)
Implementing statute: A.R.S. §§ 36-1947, 36-1971, 36-1973, 36-1974, 36-1975 and 36-1976

3. The effective date for the rules:
August 15, 2016

a. If the agency selected a date earlier than the 60-day effective date as specified in A.R.S. § 41-1032(A), include
the earlier date and state the reason or reasons the agency selected the earlier effective date as provided in
A.R.S. § 41-1032(A)(1) through (5):

Not applicable

b. If the agency selected a date later than the 60-day effective date as specified in A.R.S. § 41-1032(A), include
the later date and state the reason or reasons the agency selected the later effective date as provided in A.R.S.
§ 41-1032(B):

Not applicable

4. Citation to all related notices published in the Register as specified in R1-1-409(A) that pertain to the record of
the final rulemaking package:

Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 21 A.A.R. 1493, August 7, 2015

Notice of Public Information: 21 A.A.R. 1498, August 7, 2015

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking: 22 A.A.R. 177, February 5, 2016

5. The agency's contact person who can answer questions about the rulemaking:
Name: Carmen Green, Deputy Director
Address: Commission for the Deaf and the Hard of Hearing

100 N. 15th Ave., Suite 104
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-3362
Fax: (602) 542-3380
E-mail: C.green@acdhh.az.gov

6. An agency's justification and reason why a rule should be made, amended, repealed, or renumbered, to include
an explanation about the rulemaking:

The Commission is completing a rulemaking that was interrupted in 2009 by successive rulemaking moratoriums.
The rulemaking also makes changes that result from eight years’ experience using its licensing rules. The Commis-
sion is also addressing issues identified in the Commission’s five-year-review report approved by Council on
November 6, 2012. 

As of June 30, 2005, the National Association of the Deaf stopped giving certification examinations. Certifications
issued by NAD before June 30, 2005, remain valid but it currently is not possible to be certified by NAD. Addition-
ally, as of January 1, 2016, the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf has imposed a moratorium on providing certifi-
cation examinations. Although certifications issued by RID before January 1, 2016, remain valid, it currently is not
possible to be certified by RID. The Commission is adding the Board for Evaluation of Interpreters as an acceptable
certifying entity.

An exemption from Executive Order 2015-01 was provided to the Commission by Ted Vogt, Chief of Operations in
the Governor’s office, in an e-mail dated June 26, 2015. An exemption from Executive Order 2016-03 was pro-
vided to the Commission by Christina Corieri, Policy Advisor for Health and Human Services in the Governor’s
office, in an e-mail dated May 20, 2016.

7. A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and either relied on or did not rely on in its
evaluation of or justification for the rule, where the public may obtain or review each study, all data underlying
each study, and any analysis of each study and other supporting material:

The Commission did not review or rely on any study in its evaluation of or justification for any rule in this rulemak-
ing.

8. A showing of good cause why the rulemaking is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rulemaking will
diminish a previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable
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9. A summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
Most of the changes made in this rulemaking will have minimal economic impact. The Commission believes the
following will have minimal economic impact:

• Using the date of license issuance rather than the licensee’s birthday as the start of the licensee’s license year;

• Adding the BEI as an acceptable certifying entity; 

• Eliminating Class B as a category of legal interpreters. There currently are no Class B legal interpreters; 

• Providing standards for video remote interpreting; and

• Requiring licensees to have while working an identification badge provided by the Commission and to present the
badge on request; and

• Except for provisional licensees, relying on the certifying entity to monitor compliance with continuing education.

The Commission believes the following changes will have some economic impact:

• Requiring Class A legal interpreters who do not have a legal certification from RID to obtain legal certification
from an acceptable certifying entity within five years;

• Increasing the hours of required paid interpreting from 25 to 500 for Class D legal interpreters;

• Increasing the hours of required legal training from 24 to 50 for Class C and D legal interpreters;

• Limiting the number of short-term registrations to two during an interpreter’s lifetime;

• Clarifying that, like a licensee, a short-term registrant is required to be certified;

• Limiting a generalist interpreter to working in a legal setting only when appointed by a judge;

• Increasing the time an interpreter may work under a provisional license from three to five years;
and

• Requiring a provisional licensee to submit evidence of compliance with the CE requirement at the time of annual
license renewal rather than using compliance audits.

10. A description of any changes between the proposed rulemaking, including supplemental notices, and the final
rulemaking:

In addition to the changes described in item 11, none of which is substantial, the Commission made the following
changes:
R9-26-501: Indicated the CDI is a certification issued by BEI as well as RID and added a definition of “Level III,
IV, and V.”

R9-26-503(2)(a): Added BEI Levels III, IV, and V as acceptable certifications.

R9-26-503(2)(b): Added BEI CDI as acceptable certification.

R9-26-504(A)(1)(b): Added BEI Levels IV and V as acceptable certifications.

R9-26-504(A)(1)(c): Added BEI Levels III, IV, and CDI as acceptable certifications.

At the informal meetings held with stakeholders during the process of preparing the proposed rules, the Commis-
sion indicated that because neither NAD nor RID currently offers certification examinations, the Commission was
adding BEI as an acceptable certifying entity and would recognize certifications issued by BEI. This decision was
highly supported by stakeholders who were concerned about their ability to obtain certification. 

When a certifying entity changes its certification examination, it generally changes the names attached to the certi-
fications. In this way, it is possible to determine from the certification held which examination a certificate holder
took. Certifications obtained by taking a previous iteration of an examination remain valid after a new examination
is placed in use. When the Commission added BEI and its certifications to the rules, it inadvertently omitted the
names of the certifications issued under a previous iteration of the BEI examination. This change clarifies that BEI
certifications obtained by taking the previous iteration of the examination are acceptable to the Commission.

Under A.R.S. § 41-1025(B), this change is not substantial because:
All BEI certificate holders understood the proposed rule affected their interest. Because the particular iteration of
examination taken and the name attached to the certificate does not affect the validity of a BEI-issued certification,
all BEI certificate holders understood the Commission was accepting BEI certification for licensure purposes.

The subject matter of the proposed and final rules is the same. Both address that BEI certification is acceptable to
the Commission for licensure purposes.

The effect of the proposed and final rules is the same. BEI certification is acceptable to the Commission for licen-
sure purposes.

Other non-substantive changes include:
R9-26-503(2)(a) through (c): The phrase “or other certification deemed appropriate by the Commission” was added
at the end of each subsection and then deleted from subsection (2)(d);
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R9-26-504(A)(1)(c): The phrase “or other certification deemed appropriate by the Commission” was added at the
end of the subsection because it had been inadvertently omitted; and

R9-26-511(A): The word “only” was moved to follow “VRI.” This eliminates duplication between subsections (A)
and (C) and clarifies that the Commission has authority to authorize licensees to provide VRI only to individuals
located in Arizona.

11. An agency's summary of the public or stakeholder comments made about the rulemaking and the agency
response to comments:

Before publishing the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, the Commission held a series of four informal meetings at
which interested persons were invited to comment on the proposed rules, which were posted on the Commission’s
web site. The meetings were held throughout the state and attended by approximately 100 persons. Many excellent
questions were asked and comments made. As a result, the proposed rules were changed to the form published.

Six individuals attended an oral proceeding held on March 17, 2016. Written comments regarding the proposed
rules were submitted by Raymond Baesler, LaDonna Gabrielson, Jasmine Marin, SueAnne McCreery, Michelle
Mire, Corinna Moore, Darlene Paul, Julie Roles, Deb Stone, and Cindy Volk. The comments and the Commission’s
analysis and response follow:

COMMENT ANALYSIS RESPONSE

R9-26-501: Class A Legal Interpreter—
change the wording to “…a legal inter-
preter who provides interpreting in all pro-
ceedings of an Arizona court of law or any 
other legal environment…?

The suggested language is not accurate. 
Statute specifies the circumstances requir-
ing a legal interpreter. The cross reference 
to statute ensures the definition is accurate.

No change

R9-26-501: The date by which all Class A 
Legal interpreters must have the required 
specialist certification should be changed 
to January 1, 2020, rather than January 1, 
2021, to align with the credentialing dead-
line for interpreters issued by the Arizona 
Supreme Court.

The Class A Legal interpreters to whom 
the new certification requirement applies 
are already credentialed, as required by the 
Arizona Supreme Court. Reducing the 
amount of time to meet the new certifica-
tion requirement would impose an unnec-
essary burden on current Class A Legal 
interpreters.

No change

R9-26-501: Legal training—change the 
wording to “…such as, but not limited 
to…” to clarify the included list is not all 
encompassing.

The phrase “such as” indicates the list is an 
example of accepted trainings but is not all 
encompassing. The phrase “but not limited 
to” is redundant and unnecessary.

No change

R9-26-501: Platform or performance set-
ting—remove “involving a raised surface” 
because not all performance interpreting 
involves a raised surface.

The comment is correct. The definition was amended.

R9-26-501: Class B Provisional inter-
preter—replace “except in medical, mental 
health, platform or performance, or legal 
setting” with “in limited settings. Rewrite 
the second sentence “A Class B provi-
sional interpreter may only provide inter-
preting services … when working as part 
of a team…”

The phrase “in limited settings” is vague 
and not clearly enforceable. In the second 
sentence, the adverb “only” is correctly 
placed. The suggested rewrite changes the 
meaning.

No change

R9-26-501: A provisional B licensee 
should be able to provide interpreting in a 
medical setting including an intake in a 
mental health setting.

Medical and mental health settings require 
specialized interpreting skills. It is neces-
sary for an interpreter to obtain the neces-
sary skills, verified through certification, 
before working in a medical or mental 
health setting. This requirement was added 
based on feedback from the community 
and the desire to protect the public from 
unqualified interpreters working in situa-
tions with potentially serious conse-
quences.

No change

R9-26-503: Is it accurate that the Commis-
sion will now accept BEI certification for a 
Generalist Interpreter License?

Yes. The Commission will also accept cer-
tain BEI certifications for licensure as a 
legal interpreter.

No change

R9-26-504(A)(1)(a): Is it accurate that 
Legal Class A requires a SC:L or BEI 
Legal certification?

The subsection indicates that another legal 
specialist certification deemed appropriate 
by the Commission is acceptable. At the 
moment, no other legal specialist certifica-
tion is deemed appropriate but the Com-
mission is open to learning of one.

No change
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R9-26-504(A)(1)(b): Do not remove the 
Legal B category. Instead, clarify its pur-
pose.

The original purpose of the Legal B cate-
gory was to allow an interpreter working 
towards a specialization in legal interpret-
ing to work in “quasi-legal” settings. How-
ever, the Commission does not have 
statutory authority to define any setting as 
“legal” or “quasi-legal” that is not listed in 
A.R.S. § 12-242. Because of this, it was 
apparent that the Legal B category had no 
purpose that was not being met by the 
Legal C category.

No change

R9-26-504(A)(1)(b): Is it accurate that 
Legal Class C can only work when teamed 
with a Legal Class A?

This is accurate when the Legal Class C 
interpreter is working in a legal setting. A 
Legal Class C interpreter may work inde-
pendently in a setting that does not require 
legal specialist certification.

No change

Does the Commission intend to include the 
Medical Certificate offered by BEI?

 BEI does not yet offer a medical certifica-
tion. Additionally, a medical certification 
is a specialty certification so anyone who 
obtains it will already have another certifi-
cation and be qualified for licensure by the 
Commission. As written, the Commis-
sion’s rule provides flexibility so when 
BEI offers medical certification, the Com-
mission could accept it even though statute 
does not specify the Commission is to pro-
vide a medical specialty license.

No change

Because the BEI written test includes no 
ethics portion, does the Commission intend 
to require an ethics workshop for appli-
cants who have passed only the BEI writ-
ten test?

No. The Commission requires an inter-
preter to have 40 to 80 hours of interpreter 
education and training before applying for 
a provisional license. The Commission 
believes the existing requirement is suffi-
cient.

No change

BEI requires only an associate’s degree or 
equivalent hours to take the written test. 
The Commission needs to require proof of 
a bachelor’s degree for licensure.

The Commission believes requiring a 
Bachelor’s degree for licensure would sub-
stantially and unnecessarily limit the pool 
of qualified interpreters who are certified 
and have been working in the field for 
many years. Additionally, the Commis-
sion knows of no empirical evidence that 
validates the need for a Bachelor’s degree 
to interpret effectively.

No change

The BEI examination tests skill in translit-
erating. People need to be aware of and 
prepare for this portion of the examination.

A comprehensive study guide created by 
the developers of the BEI examination is 
available online. Interpreters will be able 
to access information regarding the exam-
ination and training opportunities to pre-
pare for the examination.

No change

R9-26-505(A)(1): Add programs and train-
ing approved by NAD and BEI. If we 
accept their certifications, we should also 
accept the trainings they offer.

The Commission agrees. The phrase “NAD, or BEI” was added at 
the end of the subsection.

R9-26-505(B)(1)(c): Require mentors to 
provide written feedback to the Provisional 
B interpreter.

The Commission does not want to micro-
manage the mentoring relationship. A 
mentor/mentee may choose to discuss the 
work immediately after the fact or commu-
nicate about it later. If they discuss the 
work, it is the mentee’s responsibility to 
create a record of the feedback.

No change

R9-26-505(B)(2)(a) and (B)(3)(a) through 
(c): Combine these subsections.

R9-26-505(B)(2) refers to requirements for 
team interpreting. R9-26-505(B)(3) refers 
to requirements for mentoring. These are 
two very different issues. Combining the 
subsections would cause confusion.

No change

R9-26-506: Two short-term registrations in 
a lifetime really locks us in. A different 
term such as two short-term registrations 
every five years would be better.

The Commission believes interpreters who 
work regularly in Arizona should apply for 
and maintain a license.

No change
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R9-26-506(A) and (B): Switch the order of 
these subsections so it is clear certification 
is required before applying for a short-term 
registration.

The order of the subsections is the same as 
used in all other Sections dealing with 
applications.

No change

R9-26-506(A)(4) and (A)(5): Combine 
these subsections into one.

Current rule-writing standards require that 
a list of more than three items be set out in 
different subsections. By itself, subsection 
(A)(5) contains three items. Therefore, it 
cannot be combined with another subsec-
tion.

No change

R9-26-506(E): Clarify the time frame for 
issuing two short-term registrations

The implied time frame is the interpreter’s 
lifetime. Clarification was added.

The phrase “in the interpreter’s lifetime” 
was added at the end of the subsection.

R9-26-506(E): Allow out-of-state inter-
preters to obtain an unlimited number of 
20-day registrations. Apply the limit of 
two short-term registrations only to in-state 
interpreters.

The limitation was based on comments at 
public meetings by interpreters and mem-
bers of the deaf community who were con-
cerned the short-term registration was 
being used by interpreters wanting to avoid 
or not qualified for licensure. The Com-
mission is concerned about all interpreters, 
regardless of location, who repeatedly pro-
vide interpreting services in Arizona with-
out being licensed.

No change

R9-26-507(A)(1)(g): To protect stakehold-
ers, the Commission should request infor-
mation regarding disciplinary action within 
the last five years rather than the last year.

Applicants are asked about their entire his-
tory at the time of initial license applica-
tion so the Commission has information 
greater than the last five years on record. 
At the time of annual renewal, a licensee 
submits information regarding the previ-
ous year only because that is the only 
information the Commission will not 
already have on file.

No change

R9-26-507(A)(1)(h): To protect stakehold-
ers, the Commission should request infor-
mation regarding license denial within the 
last five years rather than the last year.

See response re R9-26-507(A)(1)(g). No change

R9-26-507(A)(1)(i): To protect stakehold-
ers, the Commission should request infor-
mation regarding felony offenses within 
the last five years rather than the last year.

See response re R9-26-507(A)(1)(g). No change

R9-26-507(A)(1)(j): To protect stakehold-
ers, the Commission should request infor-
mation regarding being adjudicated insane 
or incompetent within the last five years 
rather than the last year.

See response re R9-26-507(A)(1)(g). No change

R9-26-507(A)(1)(j): An interpreter who 
has ever been adjudicated insane or incom-
petent should not be granted a license due 
to ethical concerns.

The ethical concern at issue in this com-
ment is violation of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. The issue regarding any 
applicant is whether the applicant is able to 
provide interpreting competently and 
safely.

No change

R9-26-507(B)(3)(f)(i): By combining R9-
26-505(B)(2)(a) and (B)(3)(a) through (c), 
the Commission would be required to list 
only one letter under R2-26-(B)(3)(f)(i).

The Commission already explained why 
this combination cannot be done.

No change

R9-26-507(B)(3)(f)(ii): Change the 
requirement to upgrade from a Provisional 
C to a Provisional B from 500 hours to 
1,500 hours to protect the public by ensur-
ing the interpreter has sufficient experi-
ence.

First, a Provisional C interpreter is eligible 
to upgrade to Provisional B only at the 
time of license renewal, which means the 
Provisional C has been licensed at least 
one year. Second, the Provisional C is 
required to gain the 500 hours of experi-
ence while teamed with a certified licensed 
interpreter. The Commission believes this 
is sufficient to protect the public. Further-
more, increasing the amount of experience 
required would create an insurmountable 
barrier for many interpreters, especially 
those working in rural areas who have lim-
ited opportunity to team with a certified 
licensed interpreter.

No change
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12. All agencies shall list any other matters prescribed by statute applicable to the specific agency or to any specific
rule or class of rules. Additionally, an agency subject to Council review under A.R.S. §§ 41-1052 and 41-1055
shall respond to the following questions:

None
a. Whether the rule requires a permit, whether a general permit is used and if not, the reasons why a general

permit is not used:
The licenses described in R9-26-503 through R9-26-507 are general permits consistent with A.R.S. § 41-1037
because they are issued to qualified individuals or entities to conduct activities that are substantially similar in
nature.

b. Whether a federal law is applicable to the subject of the rule, whether the rule is more stringent than federal
law and if so, citation to the statutory authority to exceed the requirements of federal law:

The Americans with Disabilities Act applies to individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing. However, no fed-
eral law is directly applicable to the subject of any rule in this rulemaking.

c. Whether a person submitted an analysis to the agency that compares the rule's impact of the competitiveness
of business in this state to the impact on business in other states:

R9-26-507(B)(5): Does this new provision 
mean that an individual whose provisional 
license lapsed because the individual did 
not pass the NIC can apply for a provi-
sional license if the individual did not hold 
the lapsed provisional license for five 
years?

Yes. An interpreter may hold a provisional 
license for five years. The five years may 
or may not be consecutive.

No change

R9-26-507(B)(5): Allow an interpreter to 
hold a provisional license for any length of 
time as long as the interpreter remains eli-
gible by the examination authority to take a 
certification examination.

This suggestion has been extensively dis-
cussed at public meetings and is over-
whelmingly opposed by both interpreters 
and members of the deaf community. 
Allowing an individual to work under a 
provisional license for an unlimited 
amount of time is inconsistent with the leg-
islative intent for requiring licensure, 
which is to protect the public by upholding 
higher standards for interpreters. Under 
this rulemaking, the amount of time for 
working under a provisional license is 
increased from three to five years. The 
Commission believes this is a generous 
amount of time in which to expect a 
licensee to obtain certification for a gen-
eral license.

No change

R9-26-510(A)(1) through (3): The wording 
is vague; there is no mention of legal train-
ing required for certification; and there is 
no mention of the certification cycle.

The Commission disagrees. The subsec-
tions say an interpreter is required to 
obtain the continuing education required to 
maintain the interpreter’s certification. 
Certifications required for a Class A legal 
license include legal training as part of the 
continuing education required to maintain 
certification. Each certification may have a 
different certification cycle—the Commis-
sion does not issue the certifications and 
has no authority over the CE required by or 
certification cycles used by the certifying 
entities.

No change

R9-26-510(A)(2): The amount of CE 
required depends on the legal interpreter’s 
certification. What about the Legal Class A 
interpreters who do not yet have a legal 
certificate? What amount of CE is 
required?

A currently licensed Legal A interpreter is 
required to obtain the CE required to main-
tain the certification held.

No change

R9-26-510(A)(4): Require provisional 
licensees to submit proof of CE annually.

That’s exactly what the subsection 
requires.

No change

R9-26-510(A)(4): Require provisional 
licensees to obtain 15 hours of CE annually 
instead of 12.

It is in the interest of a provisional licensee 
to study and gain experience so the 
licensee can become certified and obtain a 
General license. However, the Commis-
sion believes it is not necessary to impose 
this study in these rules. The required 12 
hours of CE protects the public.

No change
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No analysis was submitted.

13. A list of any incorporated by reference material as specified in A.R.S. § 41-1028 and its location in the rule:
None

14. Whether the rule was previously made, amended, or repealed as an emergency rule. If so, cite the notice
published in the Register as specified in R1-1-409(A). Also, the agency shall state where the text was changed
between the emergency and the final rulemaking packages:

No rule in the rulemaking was previously made, amended, or repealed as an emergency rule.

15. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 9. HEALTH SERVICES

CHAPTER 26. COMMISSION FOR THE DEAF AND THE HARD OF HEARING

ARTICLE 1. GENERAL REPEALED

Section
R9-26-101. Definitions Renumbered

ARTICLE 2. TELECOMMUNICATIONS EQUIPMENT DISTRIBUTION PROGRAM

Section
R9-26-101.R9-26-201.Definitions
R9-26-201.R9-26-202.Eligibility
R9-26-202.R9-26-203.Application Process
R9-26-203.R9-26-204.Persons Authorized to Certify Need for Telecommunications Equipment
R9-26-204.R9-26-205.Vouchers
R9-26-205.R9-26-206.Redeeming a Voucher
R9-26-206.R9-26-207.RepealedConfidentiality

ARTICLE 3. ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES

Section
R9-26-301. Hearings Repealed
R9-26-512.R9-26-301.Making a Complaint
R9-26-302. Informal Settlement Conference Repealed
R9-26-515.R9-26-302.Hearing Procedures
R9-26-303. Rehearing or Review of Decision Repealed
R9-26-516.R9-26-303.Rehearing or Review of Commission Decision
R9-26-517.R9-26-304.Renumbered Disciplinary Action

ARTICLE 5. INTERPRETER LICENSURE AND REGULATION

Section
R9-26-501. Definitions
R9-26-502. License Application
R9-26-503. Application for Generalist Interpreter License
R9-26-504. Application for Legal Interpreter License
R9-26-505. Application for Provisional Interpreter License
R9-26-506. Short-term Registration of an Interpreter
R9-26-507. License Renewal
R9-26-508. Fees and Charges
R9-26-509. Procedures for Processing Applications; Time-frames Time Frames
R9-26-510. Continuing Education Requirement; Waiver; Extension of Time to Complete
R9-26-511. Audit of Compliance with Continuing Education Requirement Video Remote Interpreting
R9-26-512. Making a Complaint
R9-26-515. Hearing Procedures Identification Badge Required
R9-26-516. Rehearing or Review of Commission Decision Renumbered
R9-26-517. Disciplinary Action Renumbered
R9-26-518. Change of Name or Address Required Notices to the Commission
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ARTICLE 1. GENERAL REPEALED

R9-26-101. Definitions Renumbered

ARTICLE 2. TELECOMMUNICATIONS EQUIPMENT DISTRIBUTION PROGRAM

R9-26-101.R9-26-201.Definitions 
In addition to the definitions listed in A.R.S. § 36-1941, the following terms apply to this Chapter Article and to A.R.S. § 36-
1947:

“Applicant” means a person who applies to the Commission for telecommunications equipment.
“Audiologist” means a person who is licensed under A.R.S. § 36-1940 by the Arizona Department of Health Ser-
vices.
“Commission” means the Arizona Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.
“Deafblind” means a person who is either deaf or hard of hearing and:

Has a central visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye with corrective lenses, or
Has a field defect where the peripheral diameter of the visual field subtends an angular distance no greater than
20 degrees, or
Has a progressive visual loss with a prognosis of one or both of the conditions stated in the two preceding sub-
sections.

“Director” means the Executive Director of the Arizona Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.
“Hearing aid dispenser” has the same meaning as in A.R.S. § 36-1901(8).
“Hearing or speech-related disability” means a disability that prevents a person from hearing or articulating speech
audibly or clearly, including deafness.
“Program” means the Telecommunications Equipment Distribution Program.
“Recipient” means a person who receives telecommunications equipment through the Program.
“Relay operator” means a person hired by a telecommunication relay center to transmit a conversation between a
person who is hearing or speech-related disabled and another person who uses a standard telephone.
“Severely hearing or speech impaired” under A.R.S. § 36-1947(A) means a hearing or speech-related disability.
“Supplier” means a person that sells telecommunications equipment.
“Telecommunications equipment” means equipment that allows a person with a hearing or speech-related disability
to access the telephone network.
“Telecommunication relay center” means a facility authorized by the Commission to provide telecommunication
services through a third party to a person with a hearing or speech-related disability, and to any other person who
uses a standard telephone.
“Vendor” means a person who sells telecommunications equipment.
“Vocational rehabilitation counselor” means a Department of Economic Security employee who has a Master’s
degree in rehabilitation counseling from a university accredited by the National Council on Rehabilitation Educa-
tion and who is certified by the Commission on Rehabilitation Counseling.
“Voucher” means the Commission’s authorization of payment for telecommunications equipment.

R9-26-201.R9-26-202.Eligibility
To be eligible for telecommunications equipment through the Program, a person shall:

1. No change
2. Be a citizen of the U.S. or an alien whose presence in the U.S. is authorized under federal law;
2.3. No change
3.4. Have access to a telephone line in the person’s place of residence;
4.5. Not have used a voucher to purchase telecommunications equipment within five years before the date of application

under R9-26-202(A)(1) R9-26-203 unless the individual’s disability status has changed during that time; and,
5.6. No change

R9-26-202.R9-26-203.Application Process
To apply for telecommunications equipment under the Program, an eligible person shall:

1. No change
2. Complete and return the application to the Commission with:

a. certification Certification from an authorized person described under A.A.C. R9-26-203 R9-26-204 that the
applicant has a hearing or speech-related disability and needs the telecommunication equipment requested on
the application; and

b. As required under A.R.S. § 41-1080(A), the specified documentation of citizenship or alien status indicating
the applicant’s presence in the U.S. is authorized under federal law.

R9-26-203.R9-26-204.Persons Authorized to Certify Need for Telecommunications Equipment
A. No change

1. No change
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2. No change
3. A physician licensed in accordance with A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 13 or 17;
4. No change 
5. No change
6. No change
7. No change
8. No change

B. No change
1. No change
2. No change
3. No change

R9-26-204.R9-24-205.Vouchers
A. The Commission shall issue to an eligible applicant an individually numbered voucher for a specified dollar amount for

the applicant to purchase telecommunications equipment for which the applicant has a certified need. The applicant
shall use the voucher shall be used only towards the to purchase of the telecommunications equipment specified on the
voucher.

B. No change
C. No change
D. No change

1. No change
2. If the original voucher is recovered, the applicant shall return the original voucher shall be returned to the Commis-

sion within 30 days of its recovery date after the voucher is recovered.

R9-26-205.R9-26-206.Redeeming a Voucher
A. To redeem a voucher for telecommunications equipment under this the Program, a vendor supplier shall submit to the

Commission the voucher with a copy of a receipt, which is signed by the vendor supplier and the recipient of the tele-
communications equipment and which specifies the telecommunications equipment sold and its purchase price.

B. No change
C. The Commission shall reimburse to the vendor supplier the portion of the purchase price of the telecommunications

equipment that does not exceed the amount printed on the voucher.
D. The Commission shall not reimburse to the vendor supplier an amount in excess of the amount printed on the voucher.
E. If the amount printed on the voucher exceeds the purchase price of the telecommunications equipment, the vendor sup-

plier shall not refund the difference between the two amounts to the recipient of the telecommunications equipment in
any form including money, equipment, or other goods and services.

R9-26-206.R9-26-207.RepealedConfidentiality
A. The Commission shall use the information provided by the Program’s applicants or recipients in the course of the

administration of the Program solely to administer the Program.
B. The Commission shall not disclose the name of an applicant for or recipient of telecommunications equipment without a

written request for disclosure. Even with a written request for disclosure, the Commission shall not disclose personal
identifying or protected health information regarding an applicant or recipient.

ARTICLE 3. ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES

R9-26-301. Hearings Repealed
A. Within 30 days of a notice of denial from the Director, the applicant or recipient may file a notice of appeal under A.R.S.

§ 41-1092.03 with the Commission. The notice shall identify the party, the party’s address, the agency, the action being
appealed, and shall contain a concise statement of the reasons for the hearing. 

B. The hearing shall be conducted by the Office of Administrative Hearings as prescribed in A.R.S. Title 41, Chapter 6,
Article 10.

R9-26-512.R9-26-301.Making a Complaint
A. No change

1. No change
2. No change
3. No change

B. No change
1. No change
2. No change
3. Specify in the complaint the name of the individual complained against, date and location of the alleged offense,

and the action complained about, and the statute or rule alleged to have been violated.
C. No change

R9-26-302. Informal Settlement Conference Repealed
A. An applicant or recipient whose request for an original or replacement device is denied and who has filed an appeal

under A.R.S. § 41-1092.03, may request in writing that the Director hold an informal settlement conference.
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B. The informal settlement conference shall be held within 15 days after receiving the request and shall follow the proce-
dures under A.R.S. § 41-1092.06.

R9-26-515.R9-26-302.Hearing Procedures
The Commission shall conduct all hearings in accordance with A.R.S. Title 41, Chapter 6, Article 10 and the rules estab-
lished by the Office of Administrative Hearings.

R9-26-303. Rehearing or Review of Decision Repealed
A. Any party to a case who is aggrieved by a decision rendered in the case may, within 30 days after the date of the Com-

mission’s decision, file with the Director a written request for a rehearing or review of the decision. The request shall
specify the particular grounds for the rehearing or review. The requesting party shall serve copies upon all other parties.
A request for rehearing or review under this Section may be amended at any time before it is ruled upon by the Director.

B. The opposing party may file a response to the request for a rehearing or review within 15 days after the written request
is received.

C. A rehearing or review of the decision may be granted for any of the following causes which materially affect the
requesting party’s rights:
1. Irregularity in the proceedings or any abuse of discretion that deprives the requesting party of a fair hearing;
2. Misconduct of the hearing officer or the prevailing party;
3. Accident or surprise that could not have been prevented by ordinary prudence;
4. Newly discovered material evidence that could not, with reasonable diligence, have been discovered and produced

at the original hearing;
5. Excessive or insufficient penalties;
6. Error in the admission or rejection of evidence or other errors of law occurring during the proceedings;
7. That the decision is the result of passion or prejudice; or
8. That the decision is not supported by the evidence or is contrary to law.

D. Upon examination of a request for rehearing or review and any response, the Director may affirm or modify the deci-
sion.

E. Within 15 days after a decision is rendered, the Director may, on the Director’s own initiative, order a rehearing or
review of a decision for any reason for which a rehearing on motion of a party might have been granted. The order
granting the rehearing shall specify the grounds for the review of the decision.

R9-26-516.R9-26-303. Rehearing or Review of Commission Decision
A. The Commission shall provide for a rehearing and review of its decisions under A.R.S. Title 41, Chapter 6, Article 10

and the rules established by the Office of Administrative Hearings.
B. A party may amend a motion for rehearing or review at any time before the Commission rules on the motion.
C. The Commission may grant a rehearing or review for any of the following reasons materially affecting a party’s rights:

1. Irregularity in the proceedings or an order or abuse of discretion that deprived the moving party of a fair hearing;
2. Misconduct by the Commission, its staff, an administrative law judge, or the prevailing party;
3. Accident or surprise that could not have been prevented by ordinary prudence;
4. Newly discovered material evidence that could not, with reasonable diligence, have been discovered and produced

at the hearing;
5. Excessive penalty;
6. Error in the admission or rejection of evidence or other errors of law occurring at the hearing or during the progress

of the proceedings;
7. The Commission’s decision is the result of passion or prejudice; or
8. The findings of fact or decision is not justified by the evidence or is contrary to law.

D. The Commission may affirm or modify a decision or grant a rehearing to all or any of the parties on all or part of the
issues for any of the reasons in subsection (C). The Commission shall specify the particular grounds for any order mod-
ifying a decision or granting a rehearing.

E. When a motion for rehearing or review is based upon on affidavits, they the affidavits shall be served with the motion.
An opposing party may, within 15 days after service, serve opposing affidavits.

F. No later than 10 15 days after the date of a decision, after giving parties notice and an opportunity to be heard, the Com-
mission may grant a rehearing or review on its own initiative for any reason for which it might have granted relief on
motion of a party. The Commission may grant a motion for rehearing or review, timely served, for a reason not stated in
the motion.

G. If a rehearing is granted, the Commission shall hold the rehearing within 60 days after the date on the order granting the
rehearing.

H. The Commission may extend all time limits listed in this Section upon a showing of good cause. A party demonstrates
good cause by showing that an extension of time will:
1. Further administrative convenience, expedition, or economy; or
2. Avoid undue prejudice to any party.

H. If the Commission makes a specific finding that a particular decision needs to be effective immediately to preserve the
public peace, health, or safety and that a review or rehearing of the decision is impracticable, unnecessary, or contrary to
the public interest, the Commission shall issue the decision as a final decision without an opportunity for rehearing or
review.
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R9-26-517.R9-26-304.Disciplinary Action 
After a an opportunity for hearing that results in a and a Commission determination that a licensee violated A.R.S. Title 36,
Chapter 17.1, or this Chapter, the Commission shall consider the following factors to determine the degree of discipline to
impose under A.R.S. § 36-1976(A):

1. Prior conduct resulting in discipline;
2. Dishonest or self-serving motive;
3. Amount of experience as an interpreter;
4. Bad faith obstruction of the disciplinary proceeding by intentionally failing to comply with rules or orders of the

Commission;
5. Submission of false evidence, false statements, or other deceptive practices during the investigative or disciplinary

process;
6. Refusal to acknowledge wrongful nature of conduct; 
7. Degree of harm resulting from the conduct; and
8. Whether harm resulting from the conduct was cured.

ARTICLE 5. INTERPRETER LICENSURE AND REGULATION

R9-26-501. Definitions
In addition to the definitions in A.R.S. §§ 12-242 and 36-1941, in this Article, the following definitions apply unless other-
wise specified:

“ACCI” means American Consortium of Certified Interpreters, an organization that certifies interpreters at one of
three levels: ACCI Generalist, ACCI Advanced, or ACCI Master.
“Accredited” means approved by a regional or national accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of
Education. the:

New England Association of Schools and Colleges,
Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools,
North Central Association of Colleges and Schools,
Northwest Association of Schools and Colleges,
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, or
Western Association of Schools and Colleges.

“Applicant” means an individual seeking an original or renewal license from the Commission.
“Application” means the documents, forms, and additional information required by the Commission to be submit-
ted by or on behalf of an applicant.
“BEI” means Board for Evaluation of Interpreters.
“CDI” means certified deaf interpreter, a certification issued by RID or BEI.
“CI” means certificate of interpretation, a certification issued by RID.
“CIC” means Court Interpreter Certification, a legal specialist certification issued by BEI.
“CLIP-R” means conditional legal interpreting permit--relay, a certification issued by RID to a deaf or hard-of-
hearing interpreter or transliterator who works in a legal setting.
“Continuing education” means a workshop, seminar, lecture, conference, class, or other educational activity rele-
vant to the practice of interpreting.
“CSC” means comprehensive skills certificate, a certification issued by RID.
“CT” means certificate of transliteration, a certification issued by RID.
“Direct supervision” means an individual licensed under R9-26-503 or R9-26-504 is physically present when an
individual licensed under R9-26-505 provides interpreting services.
“Deaf interpreter” means an individual who is deaf or hard of hearing and provides interpreting for deaf individuals
with special language needs.
“EIPA” means educational interpreter performance assessment, a diagnostic tool that measures proficiency in inter-
preting for children or young adults in an educational setting.
“Generalist interpreter” means an individual who provides interpreting in any community setting, except a legal
setting, for which the individual is qualified by education, examination, and work history. A generalist interpreter
provides interpreting in a legal setting only if appointed by a judge under A.R.S. § 12-242.
“IAC” means interpreter advisory committee.
“IC” means interpretation certificate, a certification issued by RID.
“Intermediary Level III or V” means a certification issued by BEI for interpreters who are deaf or hard of hearing.
“Interpreter” means an individual who provides interpreting between American Sign Language and English.
“Legal interpreter” means an individual who is qualified by education, examination, and work history to provide
interpreting in a legal setting.
“Class A legal interpreter” means a legal interpreter who provides interpreting in court, a police environment, or
administrative adjudicatory proceedings or any other legal setting, as prescribed under A.R.S. § 12-242, and meets
the certification requirement under R9-26-504(A)(1)(a). An individual who is licensed by the Commission as a
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Class A legal interpreter on the date this Section takes effect, shall meet the certification requirement under R9-26-
504(A)(1)(a) no later than January 1, 2021.
“Class B legal interpreter” means a legal interpreter who provides interpreting in administrative adjudicatory pro-
ceedings only. 
“Class C legal interpreter” means a legal interpreter who provides interpreting in a legal setting, as prescribed under
A.R.S. § 12-242, when teamed with a Class A or Class B legal interpreter and meets the certification requirement
under R9-26-504(A)(1)(b).
“Class D legal interpreter” means a legal interpreter who meets the certification requirement under R9-26-
504(A)(1)(c) and is also either a deaf or hard-of-hearing interpreter or an oral transliterator.
“Legal training” means a structured program presented by the Commission, a court, Bar Association, law-enforce-
ment association, RID, accredited institution, or comparable organization, providing information relevant to legal
interpreting such as the following: 

The requirements of A.R.S. § 12-242,
The structure of the judiciary system of this state,
The judiciary process of this state,
Administrative adjudicatory procedures,
Law enforcement procedures related to interpreting, or
Commonly used legal terms.

“Level III, IV, or V” means a certification issued by BEI.
“Licensee” means an interpreter who holds a current license issued under A.R.S. § 36-1974 and this Article. 
“License year” means the days between the date of license issuance and the date of license expiration.
“Mentor” means an individual licensed under R9-26-503 or R9-26-504 who agrees to assist a provisional licensee
to develop as an interpreter by occasionally observing the provisional licensee providing interpreting services and
providing feedback.
“MCSC” means master comprehensive skills certificate, a certification issued by RID.
“NAD” means the National Association of the Deaf, which issues three levels of certification: NAD III (generalist),
NAD IV (advanced), and NAD V (master).
“NAD III (generalist),” means a certification issued by NAD.
“NAD IV (advanced),” means a certification issued by NAD.
“NAD V (master),” means a certification issued by NAD.
“NIC” means National Interpreter Certification, a certification issued by NAD-RID at one of three levels, NIC Cer-
tified, NIC Advanced, or NIC Master.
“NIC Advanced” means a certification issued by NAD-RID.
“NIC Certified” means a certification issued by NAD-RID.
“NIC Master” means a certification issued by NAD-RID.
“OC:B” means oral certificate: basic, a certification issued by BEI.
“OC:C” means oral certificate: comprehensive, a certification issued by BEI.
“OIC” means oral interpreting certificate, a certification issued by RID in one of three categories: comprehensive,
spoken to visible, or visible to spoken.
“Oral transliteration” means to facilitate communication between an individual who is deaf or hard of hearing and
an individual who hears by using inaudible speech and natural gestures to convey a message to the deaf or hard-of-
hearing individual and understanding and verbalizing the message and intent of the speech and mouth movements
of the individual who is deaf or hard of hearing.
“OTC” means oral transliteration certificate, a certification issued by RID. 
“Platform or performance setting” means an environment involving an appearance by a designated speaker or per-
formers, typically on a raised surface.
“Provisional interpreter” means an individual who is qualified by education, examination, and work history to pro-
vide interpreting while pursuing RID, NAD, or BEI certification.
“Class A provisional interpreter” means a provisional interpreter who provides oral transliteration and does not
have an OTC is working towards certification by RID, NAD, or BEI. A Class A provisional interpreter shall not
provide interpreting services in a legal setting.
“Class B provisional interpreter” means a provisional interpreter who was paid for interpreting services before the
effective date of this Article and is qualified to provide interpreting services when working with a mentor or when
teamed with an individual without a team interpreter licensed under R9-26-503(2)(a) or R9-26-504(A)(1)(a) and
(b), except in a medical, mental health, platform or performance, or legal setting. A Class B provisional interpreter
may provide interpreting services in a medical, mental health, or platform or performance setting only when work-
ing as part of a team that includes at least one individual licensed under R9-26-503(2)(a) or R9-26-504(A)(1)(a) or
(b). A Class B provisional interpreter shall not provide interpreting services in a legal setting.
“Class C provisional interpreter” means a provisional interpreter who is qualified to provide interpreting services
only under direct supervision when working as part of a team that includes at least one individual licensed under
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R9-26-503(2)(a) or R9-26-504(A)(1)(a) or (b). A Class C provisional interpreter shall not provide interpreting ser-
vices in a legal setting.
“Class D provisional interpreter” means a provisional interpreter who is deaf or hard of hearing and does not have a
CDI is qualified to provide interpreting services only when working as part of a team that includes at least one indi-
vidual licensed under R9-26-503(2)(a) or (b) or R9-26-504(A)(1)(a) through (c). A Class D provisional interpreter
shall not provide interpreting services in a legal setting.
“Qualified interpreter” means an individual licensed under this Chapter who is able to interpret effectively, accu-
rately, and impartially both receptively and expressively, using any necessary specialized vocabulary required by
the interpreting situation.
“RID” means Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf.
“RSC” means reverse skills certificate, a certification issued by RID.
“SC:L” means specialist certificate: legal, a certification issued by RID.
“SC:PA” means specialist certificate: performing arts, a certification issued by RID.
“TC” means transliteration certificate, a certification issued by RID.
“Team” means two or more licensed interpreters, at least one of whom is licensed under R9-26-503(2)(a) or R9-26-
504(A)(1)(a) or (b), providing interpreting for an individual or group of individuals during a single interpreting ses-
sion.
“Trilingual Advanced or Master” means a specialist certification issued by BEI for interpreters of Spanish, English,
and American Sign Language.
“Unprofessional conduct,” as used in A.R.S. § 36-1976, means:
violation Violation of the NAD-RID Code of Professional Conduct, 2005, which is incorporated by reference and
available from the Commission and RID, 333 Commerce Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, or www.rid.org. The mate-
rial incorporated includes no later edition or amendment. ; or
Failure to comply with a provision of A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 17.1, Article 2 or this Chapter.
“VRI” means video remote interpreting, a service that uses video telecommunication devices to provide interpret-
ing between or among individuals who are at one or more locations separate from the interpreter.

R9-26-502. License Application
A. No change

1. No change
2. No change
3. No change
4. No change
5. No change
6. No change
7. No change
8. The start and end dates of the applicant’s current certification cycle with RID, NAD, or BEI, as applicable;
8.9. No change
9.10.Name of any state or foreign country in which the applicant is or has been currently licensed or certified to practice

as an interpreter, the license or certificate number, date issued, date expired of expiration, and a statement whether
the license or certificate is or has ever been was the subject of discipline and if the answer is yes, a complete expla-
nation of the discipline including date, nature of complaint, and discipline imposed;

10.11.No change
11.12.No change
12.13.No change
13.14. A statement of whether the applicant wishes to have the applicant’s professional credentials and contact informa-

tion listed on the Commission’s web site and in Commission materials; and A statement of whether the applicant's
NAD, RID, or BEI certification lapsed and if so, a complete explanation including date of and reason for the lapse;

15. A statement of whether the applicant's interpreter license from Arizona or another jurisdiction lapsed and if so, a
complete explanation including date of and reason for the lapse;

16. A statement of whether the applicant's interpreter license from Arizona or another jurisdiction was subject to a
complaint and if so, a complete explanation including date, allegation, and discipline imposed, if any;

17. A statement of whether the applicant's NAD, RID, or BEI certification was subject to a complaint and if so, a com-
plete explanation including date, allegation, and discipline imposed, if any; and

14.18. A statement signed by the applicant verifying the truthfulness of the information provided and affirming that the
applicant will comply with the NAD-RID Code of Professional Conduct.;

B. No change
1. Documentation of name change if the applicant is applying under a name different from the name on any of the

documents required under this Article;
2. No change

a. High school diploma or GED or a transcript, official or unofficial, showing the degree awarded and date, ; or 
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b. Diploma from an accredited college or university or a transcript, official or unofficial, showing the degree
awarded and date;

3. If the answer to subsection any item in subsections (A)(9), (A)(10), (A)(11), or (A)(12) through (A)(15) is yes, a
copy of any relevant order; and

4. As required under A.R.S. § 41-1080(A), the specified documentation of citizenship or alien status indicating the
applicant’s presence in the U.S. is authorized under federal law;

5. Two identical passport-size photographs of the applicant that:
a. Are in color, and
b. Are taken no more than six months before the date of application; and

4.6. No change

R9-26-503. Application for Generalist Interpreter License
To apply for a generalist interpreter license, an applicant shall:

1. No change
2. Submit a photocopy of the front of the applicant’s current RID membership card documentation showing that the

applicant holds one or more of the following certifications:
a. Hearing interpreters: NAD III, IV, or V; RID CI, CSC, CT, IC, MCSC, RSC, SC:L, SC:PA, or TC; NIC Certi-

fied, Advanced, or Master; or BEI Levels III, IV, or V, Basic, Advanced, Master, Trilingual Advanced, Trilin-
gual Master, CIC, or other certification deemed appropriate by the Commission;

b. Deaf interpreters: RID CDI, CI, CLIP-R, CSC, CT, IC, MCSC, OIC, OTC, RSC, or SC:L, SC:PA, or TC; BEI
Intermediary Level III or V, CDI, or other certification deemed appropriate by the Commission; or

c. NIC Certified, Advanced, or Master. Oral interpreters: RID OIC or OTC, BEI OC:B or OC:C, or other certifi-
cation deemed appropriate by the Commission.

R9-26-504. Application for Legal Interpreter License
A. To apply for a legal interpreter license, an applicant shall comply with R9-26-502 and submit documentation of the fol-

lowing:
1. Certification by RID, or NAD, or BEI.

a. For a Class A legal interpreter license, RID SC:L, NIC Advanced or Master, NAD IV or V, CI and CT, or CSC
BEI CIC, or other legal specialist certification deemed appropriate by the Commission is required;

b. For a Class B legal interpreter license, NIC Certified, Advanced, or Master, NAD III, IV, or V, CI, CT, or CSC
is required;

c. For a Class C legal interpreter license, NIC Certified, Advanced, or Master, NAD III, IV, or V, CI, CT, or CSC,
or BEI Levels IV or V, Advanced, Master, Trilingual Advanced or Master, or other certification deemed appro-
priate by the Commission is required; and

d.c. For a Class D legal interpreter license, RID CDI, CLIP-R, OIC, or OTC or BEI OC:B, OC:C, Intermediary
Levels III or V, or CDI, or other certification deemed appropriate by the Commission is required;

2. Hours of paid interpreting after initial certification by RID, or NAD, or BEI. 
a. For a Class A, Class B, or Class C legal interpreter license, 10,000 hours are required; and
b. For a Class D legal interpreter license, 25 500 hours are required; 

3. Hours of legal training. Twenty-four hours in For a Class C or Class D legal interpreter, 50 hours obtained during
the five years before the date of application are required.

B. No change
1. RID, or NAD, or BEI certification.

a. A photocopy of the front of the current membership card documentation provided by RID, or NAD, or BEI. If
an applicant's documentation expires during the application process, the Commission shall not complete the
licensure process until the applicant submits current documentation of certification; and 

b. A photocopy of the certificate provided by RID, or NAD, or BEI or a copy of the letter received from RID, or
NAD, or BEI at the time of initial certification;

2. No change
a. An applicant shall submit an affidavit affirming that the applicant provided the number of hours of paid inter-

preting required under subsection (A)(2) after initial certification by RID, or NAD, or BEI; and
b. No change

3. Hours of legal training. A photocopy of a certificate of attendance documentation from the organization providing
the legal training that includes the information required under R9-26-510(C) (B).

R9-26-505. Application for Provisional Interpreter License
A. No change

1. Education. The following hours of participation in an interpreter-preparation training program offered by an accred-
ited college or university or approved by RID, NAD, or BEI:
a. No change
b. No change

2. Examination. Pass the written portion of the NIC or RID, NAD, or BEI examination; and
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3. No change
a. No change
b. No change

i. 150 hours for which the applicant received pay before May 1 2007;
ii.i. A score of at least 4.0 on the EIPA performance test; or 
iii.ii.ACCI certification; or
iii. A state-issued certification or certificate of competency in good standing;

c. No change
d. No change

B. In addition to the documentation required under subsection (A):,
1. An applicant for a provisional interpreter license shall ensure that letters of recommendation are submitted directly

to the Commission by two individuals who are familiar with the applicant’s skill as an interpreter. An individual
who submits a letter of recommendation shall use a form that is available from the Commission and provide the fol-
lowing information:
a. Name of the applicant for a provisional interpreter license;
b. The following information about the individual completing the letter of recommendation form:

i. Name;
ii. Telephone number;
iii. Interpreter license number, if any;
iv. How long the individual has known the applicant;
v. The capacity in which the individual knows the applicant; and
vi. Why the individual believes the individual is qualified to assess the applicant’s skill as an interpreter; 

c. An assessment of the applicant’s receptive, expressive, and voicing skills; and
d. The individual’s dated signature.

2. An an applicant for a Class B provisional license shall:
a.1. Have a letter submitted directly to the Commission by an individual licensed under R9-26-503 or R9-26-504 indi-

cating that the individual agrees to:
i.a. Act as a mentor to the applicant if the applicant is granted a provisional license;
ii.b. Observe the provisional licensee providing interpreting services at least once each month;
iii.c.Provide feedback to the provisional licensee following each observation; and
iv.d.Provide 30-days 30 days’ notice to the provisional licensee and the Commission before terminating the mento-

ring relationship; and
b.2. Submit a letter to the Commission indicating that if the applicant is issued a provisional license, the applicant

agrees to:
i.a. Make and maintain a record of each time the mentor observes the applicant and a summary of the feedback

provided; and
ii.b. Make the record maintained under subsection (B)(2)(b)(i) (B)(2)(a) available to the Commission upon request

annually at license renewal; or and
c. Provide 30 days’ notice to the Commission and the mentor before terminating the mentoring relationship; or

c.3. Submit a letter to the Commission indicating that if the applicant is issued a provisional license, the applicant
agrees to:
i.a. Team with an individual licensed under R9-26-503(2)(a) or R9-26-504(A)(1)(a) or (b) for an average of at least

eight hours each month;
ii.b. Maintain a journal that records the dates on which and the name of the licensee with whom teaming was done

and a summary of any feedback provided; and
iii.c.Make the journal maintained under subsection (B)(2)(c)(ii) (B)(3)(b) available to the Commission annually

upon request license renewal.
C. No change

1. Education. A photocopy of certificates of completion documents showing that the applicant completed the hours of
interpreter preparation training required under subsection (A)(1);

2. Examination. A photocopy of the letter provided by NIC or RID, NAD, or BEI indicating that the applicant passed
the written portion of either the NIC or RID, NAD, or BEI examination;

3. No change
a. No change

i. No change
ii. No change
iii. The hours of interpreting provided by the applicant; and or

b. One or more paystubs, each of which indicates:
i. The name of the applicant,
ii. The job title of the applicant,
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iii. The dates on which interpreting was provided by the applicant, and
iv. The hours of interpreting provided by the applicant, and

b.c. No change
i. No change
ii. A photocopy of the applicant’s ACCI certificate. , or
iii. A photocopy of the applicant’s state-issued certification or certificate of competency in good standing.

R9-26-506. Short-term Registration of an Interpreter
A. To register with the Commission to provide interpreting in Arizona in a non-legal situation for fewer than 20 days in a

year, an interpreter shall submit the following information in writing to the Commission:
1. Interpreter’s name;
2. Interpreter’s business residential and e-mail addresses;
3. Interpreter’s business and mobile telephone numbers number;
4. Dates on which interpreting will be provided; and
5. Name, address, and contact information of the person or event for which interpreting services will be provided; and
5.6. Date of most recent short-term registration with the Commission, if any.

B. In addition to complying with subsection (A), the interpreter shall submit a copy of the interpreter’s current documenta-
tion from RID, NAD, or BEI membership card or license from a government licensing authority showing the inter-
preter’s certification is in good standing or a copy of the interpreter’s license from another state’s interpreter licensing
authority. 

C. An interpreter who makes application under subsections (A) and (B) for a short-term registration shall not provide inter-
preting services in Arizona until the Commission provides notice the registration has been granted.

D. Within five days after providing interpreting services under a short-term registration, the interpreter shall submit a
report to the Commission that provides the dates on and persons or events for which interpreting services were provided.

E. The Commission shall not issue more than two short-term registrations to an interpreter during the interpreter’s lifetime.

R9-26-507. License Renewal
A. No change

1. A generalist or legal interpreter license expires on the licensee’s birthday beginning with the licensee’s second
birthday following initial licensure one year after the license is issued. To continue to practice as a generalist or
legal interpreter, the licensee shall, no more than 60 days before the licensee’s birthday expiration date, submit to
the Commission a license renewal application form that provides the following information about the licensee:
a. No change
b. No change
c. Arizona interpreter license number;
d.c. Home or business address;
e.d. E-mail address;
f.e. Home, business, or mobile telephone number;
g. If applicable, the name of the licensee’s employer and the employer’s address and telephone number;
f. The start and end dates of the applicant’s current certification cycle with RID, NAD, or BEI, as applicable;
h.g. Name of any state or country in which the licensee is or has been currently licensed or certified to practice as

an interpreter, the license or certificate number, date issued and date of expiration, and a statement whether the
license or certificate is or has been the subject of discipline since the date of last application during the previ-
ous year and if the answer is yes, a complete explanation of the discipline including date, nature of complaint,
and discipline imposed;

i.h. A statement of whether the licensee has been denied a license or certificate to practice as an interpreter by a
government licensing authority since the date of last application during the previous year and if the answer is
yes, a complete explanation of the denial including date, name of the government interpreter licensing author-
ity, and reason for denial;

j.i. A statement of whether the licensee has been convicted of a felony or of an offense involving moral turpitude
in this or any other jurisdiction since the date of last application during the previous year and if the answer is
yes, a complete explanation of the charge and place and date of conviction;

k.j. A statement of whether the licensee has been adjudicated insane or incompetent since the date of last applica-
tion during the previous year and if the answer is yes, a complete explanation including date and place of adju-
dication;

l. A statement of whether the licensee wishes to have the licensee’s professional credentials and contact informa-
tion listed on the Commission’s web site and in Commission materials; and 

m. A statement signed by the licensee attesting to the truthfulness of the information provided and affirming that
the licensee will comply with the NAD-RID Code of Professional Conduct.

k. A statement of whether the applicant's NAD, RID, or BEI certification lapsed during the previous year and if
so, a complete explanation including date of and reason for the lapse;

l. A statement of whether the applicant's interpreter license from Arizona or another jurisdiction lapsed during
the previous year and if so, a complete explanation including date of and reason for the lapse;
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m. A statement of whether the applicant's interpreter license from Arizona or another jurisdiction was subject to a
complaint during the previous year and if so, a complete explanation including date, allegation, and discipline
imposed, if any; 

n. A statement of whether the applicant's NAD, RID, or BEI certification was subject to a complaint during the
previous year and if so, a complete explanation including date, allegation, and discipline imposed, if any, and if
discipline was imposed, a statement of whether the notice required under R9-26-518 was submitted to the
Commission; 

o. A statement of whether the applicant completed any continuing education during the previous year and if so,
the number of hours completed; and

p. A statement signed by the licensee verifying the truthfulness of the information provided and affirming that the
licensee will comply with the NAD-RID Code of Professional Conduct.

2. No change
a. A photocopy of the front of the licensee’s current RID membership card documentation showing the appli-

cant’s NAD, RID, or BEI certification is in good standing. If the licensee's documentation expires during the
renewal process, the Commission shall not complete the license renewal process until the licensee submits a
photocopy of current documentation;

b. If the answer to the any item in subsection (A)(1)(i), (A)(1)(j), or (A)(1)(k) subsections (A)(1)(g) through
(A)(1)(m) is yes, a copy of any relevant order; and

c. An affirmation of compliance with the continuing education requirement in R9-26-510 or, if subject to an audit
under R9-26-511, documentation that demonstrates compliance with the continuing education requirement;
and

d. No change
3. If a generalist or legal licensee fails to comply with subsections (A)(1) and (A)(2) on or before the licensee’s birth-

day license expiration date, the license expires and the former licensee shall cease providing interpreting for which
a license is required under A.R.S. § 36-1971. The former licensee may renew the expired license by complying with
subsections (A)(1) and (A)(2), affirming that the former licensee did not provide interpreting for which a license is
required under A.R.S. § 36-1971 after the license expired, and paying the penalty prescribed under R9-26-508 no
later than 30 days after the license expired. If a former licensee fails to renew an expired license within the 30 days
provided in this subsection, the former licensee shall stop providing interpreting for which a license is required
under A.R.S. § 36-1971.

4. No change
B. No change

1. A provisional interpreter license expires on the licensee’s birthday beginning with the second birthday following
initial licensure and may be renewed once by complying with subsections (B)(2) and (B)(3) one year after the date
of issuance.

2. To continue to practice as a provisional interpreter, the licensee shall, no more than 60 days before the licensee’s
birthday expiration date, submit to the Commission a license renewal application form that provides the informa-
tion specified under subsection (A)(1).

3. No change
a. If the answer to the any item in subsection (A)(1)(i), (A)(1)(j), or (A)(1)(k) subsections (A)(1)(h) through

(A)(1)(m) is yes, a copy of any relevant order;
b. An affirmation of compliance with the continuing education requirement in R9-26-510 or, if subject to an audit

under R9-26-511, documentation Documentation required under R9-26-510(C) that demonstrates compliance
with the continuing education requirement in R9-26-510; and

c. No change 
d. If a Class B provisional licensee wishes to renew the Class B provisional license, letters that meet the standards

at R9-26-505(B)(2)(a) R9-26-505(B)(1) and R9-26-505(B)(2)(b) (2) or a letter that meets the standards at R9-
26-505(B)(2)(c) R9-26-505(B)(3); and

e. If a Class C provisional licensee wishes to renew the Class C provisional license, an affirmation that the
licensee has provided and will continue to provide interpreting services only under direct supervision when
working as part of a team that includes at least one individual licensed under R9-26-503(2)(a) or R9-26-
504(A)(1)(a) or (b); or

f. If a Class C provisional licensee wishes to move to a Class B provisional license:
i. Letters that meet the standards at R9-26-505(B)(1) and (2) or a letter that meets the standards at R9-26-

505(B)(3), and
ii. Evidence required under R9-26-505(C)(3)(a) or (b) showing at least 500 hours of work experience earned

while working as part of a team that includes at least one individual licensed under R9-26-503(2)(a) or R9-
26-504(A)(1)(a) or (b), or

iii. A score of at least 4.0 on the EIPA performance test.
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4. If a provisional licensee fails to comply with subsections (B)(2) and (B)(3) on or before the licensee’s birthday
license expiration date, the license expires and the former licensee shall cease providing interpreting for which a
license is required under A.R.S. § 36-1971. Unless the expired provisional license has previously been renewed
under subsections (B)(2) and (B)(3), the former licensee may renew the expired license by complying with subsec-
tions (B)(2) and (B)(3), affirming that the former licensee did not provide interpreting for which a license is
required under A.R.S. § 36-1971 after the license expired, and paying the penalty prescribed under R9-26-508 no
later than 30 days after the license expired. If a former licensee fails to renew an expired license within the 30 days
provided in this subsection, the former licensee shall stop providing interpreting for which a license is required
under A.R.S. § 36-1971.

5. If an expired provisional license is not renewed under subsection (B)(4), the former licensee may obtain a license
only by applying under R9-26-503 or R9-26-504. The Commission shall not issue a provisional interpreter license
to an interpreter for more than five years over the interpreter’s lifetime.

6. A provisional interpreter license may be renewed a second time only if, in addition to complying with subsections
(B)(2) and (B)(3), the licensee submits evidence to the Commission that the licensee attempted to pass the perfor-
mance portion of a RID certification examination and intends to take the performance portion of a RID certification
examination again within the next year.

7. The Commission shall not renew a provisional license more than two times. The Commission shall not issue more
than one provisional license to an individual.

C. If the documentation previously submitted under R9-26-502(B)(4) was a limited form of work authorization issued by
the federal government, an applicant for license renewal shall submit evidence that the work authorization has not
expired.

D. The Commission shall require a licensee to submit the information required under R9-26-502(B)(5) every five years so
an updated photograph is used in the identification badge required under R9-26-515.

R9-26-508. Fees and Charges
A. Under the authority provided by A.R.S. §§ 36-1973(A) and 36-1974(C), the Commission establishes and shall collect

the following fees, which are not refundable unless A.R.S. § 41-1077 applies:
1. No change
2. No change
3. No change
4. Provisional license renewal application fee, $25; and
5. Penalty for late license renewal, $100; and
6. Duplicate license, $25.

B. Before the Commission issues an initial license to an applicant, the Commission shall collect from the applicant a pro-
rated license renewal application fee, which will make the initial license valid until the applicant’s second birthday fol-
lowing issuance of the initial license. The Commission shall pro-rate the license renewal application fee as follows: The
Commission shall charge $25 to:
1. Replace an identification badge,
2. Issue a duplicate license. 
1. Generalist or legal license renewal application fee: $5 for each month between issuance of the initial license and the

applicant’s first birthday following issuance of the initial license to a maximum of $50; and
2. Provisional license renewal application fee: $2.50 for each month between issuance of the initial license and the

applicant’s first birthday following issuance of the initial license to a maximum of $25.

R9-26-509. Procedures for Processing Applications; Time-frames Time Frames
A. For the purpose of A.R.S. § 41-1073, the Commission establishes the following licensing time-frames time frames:

1. Administrative completeness review time-frame time frame: 30 days;
2. Substantive review time-frame time frame: 60 days; and
3. Overall time-frame time frame: 90 days.

B. The administrative completeness review time-frame time frame listed in subsection (A)(1) begins on the date that the
Commission receives a license application or license renewal application. During the administrative completeness
review time-frame time frame, the Commission shall notify the applicant that the application is either complete or
incomplete. If the application is incomplete, the Commission shall specify in the notice what information is missing.

C. An applicant with an incomplete application shall supply the missing information within 30 days from the date of the
notice. Both the administrative completeness review and overall time-frames time frames are suspended from the date
of the Commission’s notice until the date that the Commission’s office receives all missing information. 

D. Upon receipt of all missing information, the Commission shall notify the applicant that the application is complete. The
Commission shall not send a separate notice of completeness if the Commission grants or denies a license within the
administrative completeness review time-frame time frame in subsection (A)(1).

E. The substantive review time-frame time frame listed in subsection (A)(2) begins on the date of the Commission’s notice
of administrative completeness or on expiration of the time listed in subsection (A)(1).

F. If the Commission determines during the substantive review time-frame time frame that additional information is
needed, the Commission shall send the applicant a comprehensive written request for the additional information. The
applicant shall supply the additional information within 60 days from the date of the request. Both the substantive
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review and overall time-frames time frames are suspended from the date on the Commission’s request until the date that
the Commission office receives the additional information.

G. If an applicant needs additional time in which to respond under subsection (C) or (F), the applicant shall submit a writ-
ten notice of extension to the Commission before expiration of the time to respond that includes the date by which the
applicant will submit the information. The applicant shall establish an extension date that is no more than 120 days from
the date established under subsection (C) or (F). 

H. If an applicant fails to submit information within the time provided under subsection (C) or (F) or as extended under
subsection (G), the Commission shall close the applicant’s file. An applicant whose file is closed and who later wishes
to be licensed, shall apply anew.

I. Within the time listed in subsection (A)(3), the Commission shall:
1. Grant a license to an applicant who meets the requirements in A.R.S. § 36-1973 and this Article, or
2. Deny a license to an applicant who does not meet the requirements in A.R.S. § 36-1973 or this Article.

J. If the Commission denies a license, the Commission shall send the applicant a written notice explaining:
1. The reason for the denial with citations to supporting statutes or rules,
2. The applicant’s right to appeal the denial and have a hearing,
3. The time for appealing the denial, and
4. The applicant’s right to request an informal settlement conference.

R9-26-510. Continuing Education Requirement; Waiver; Extension of Time to Complete
A. Continuing education is required as a condition of licensure renewal. During each license year, a licensee shall complete

the following hours of continuing education:
1. General A generalist interpreter, eight hours; shall complete continuing education required by NAD, RID, or BEI to

maintain certification by NAD, RID, or BEI. If the certification of a generalist interpreter is suspended or revoked
by NAD, RID, or BEI because the generalist interpreter failed to complete the required continuing education, the
Commission shall initiate proceedings under Article 3 against the generalist interpreter’s license.

2. A Class A legal interpreter shall complete continuing education required by NAD, RID, or BEI to maintain legal
certification by NAD, RID, or BEI. If the certification of a Class A legal interpreter is suspended or revoked by
NAD, RID, or BEI because the Class A legal interpreter failed to complete the required continuing education, the
Commission shall initiate proceedings under Article 3 against the legal interpreter’s license. 

3. A Class C or D legal interpreter shall complete continuing education required by NAD, RID, or BEI to maintain
certification by NAD, RID, or BEI including at least 20 hours of legal training. If the certification of a Class C or D
legal interpreter is suspended or revoked by NAD, RID, or BEI because the Class C or D legal interpreter failed to
complete the required continuing education or if the Class C or D legal interpreter fails to complete the required
hours of legal training, the Commission shall initiate proceedings under Article 3 against the legal interpreter’s
license. 

2.4. Legal When renewing a license under R9-26-507(B), a provisional interpreter, Class A, or B, six hours, of which
two hours are legal training shall submit the evidence required under subsection (B) showing completion of 12
hours of continuing education;. The Commission shall accept continuing education:
a. Designed to enhance the provisional licensee’s skill and ability to provide quality interpreting to the deaf and

hard-of-hearing community;
b. Approved by RID, NAD, or BEI, as applicable, for certification maintenance;
c. Provided by an accredited institution of higher education; or
d. Provided by an entity involved with the deaf and hard-of-hearing community.

3. Legal interpreter, Class C, six hours, of which three hours are legal training;
4. Legal interpreter, Class D, six hours, of which two hours are legal training; and
5. Provisional interpreter, 12 hours.

B. Between the time of initial licensure and a licensee’s first birthday following initial licensure, the licensee shall com-
plete a pro-rated amount of the continuing education required under subsection (A). 

C.B. A provisional licensee shall obtain from the provider of a continuing education attended by the licensee a certificate of
attendance documentation that includes:
1. Licensee’s name and license number,
2. No change 
3. No change
4. No change
5. No change

D. A licensee shall maintain the certificates of attendance described in subsection (C) for three years.
E. A licensee shall submit a copy of the certificates of attendance obtained during a license year if subject to an audit by the

Commission under R9-26-511.
C. Waiver of continuing education requirement.

1. To obtain a waiver of the continuing education requirement, a provisional licensee shall submit to the Commission
a written request that includes the following:
a. The period for which the waiver is requested,
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b. Continuing education completed during the current license year and the documentation required under subsec-
tion (B), and

c. Reason a waiver is needed and supporting documentation:
i. For military service. A copy of current orders or a letter on official letterhead from the licensee’s com-

manding officer;
ii. For absence from the United States. A copy of pages from the licensee’s passport showing exit and reentry

dates;
iii. For disability. A letter from the licensee’s treating physician stating the nature of the disability; and
iv. For circumstances beyond the licensee’s control. A letter from the licensee stating the nature of the cir-

cumstances and documentation that provides evidence of the circumstances.
2. The Commission shall grant a request for waiver of the continuing education requirement that:

a. Is based on a reason listed in subsection (C)(1)(c),
b. Is supported by the required documentation,
c. Is submitted no sooner than 60 days before and no later than the license expiration date, and
d. Will promote the safe and professional practice of interpreting in this state.

D. Extension of time to complete continuing education requirement. 
1. To obtain an extension of time to complete the continuing education requirement, a provisional licensee shall sub-

mit to the Commission a written request that includes the following:
a. Ending date of the requested extension,
b. Continuing education completed during the current license year and the documentation required under subsec-

tion (B),
c. Proof of registration for additional continuing education that is sufficient to enable the provisional licensee to

complete all continuing education required for license renewal before the end of the requested extension, and
d. Licensee’s attestation that the continuing education obtained under the extension will be reported only to fulfill

the current license renewal requirement and will not be reported on a subsequent license renewal application.
2. The Commission shall grant a request for an extension that:

a. Specifies an ending date no more than three months from the current license expiration date,
b. Includes the required documentation and attestation,
c. Is submitted no sooner than 60 days before and no later than the license expiration date, and
d. Will promote the safe and professional practice of interpreting in this state.

E. Except as provided in subsection (D), a provisional licensee shall report only hours of continuing education obtained
during the license year immediately preceding license renewal. A licensee shall not carry over hours in excess of those
required under subsection (A)(4) to a subsequent license year.

R9-26-511. Audit of Compliance with Continuing Education Requirement Video Remote Interpreting
At the time of license renewal, the Commission shall provide notice of an audit of continuing education records to a random
sample of licensees. A licensee subject to a continuing education an audit shall submit documentation that demonstrates
compliance with the continuing education requirement at the same time the licensee submits the license renewal application
form required under R9-26-507.
A. An interpreter who is licensed under A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 17.1 and this Article is authorized to provide VRI only for

individuals who are located in Arizona.
B. An interpreter who is licensed under A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 17.1 and this Article and provides VRI shall comply fully

with the requirements of this Article.
C. An interpreter who is located outside of Arizona shall not provide VRI for an individual located in Arizona before being

licensed under A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 17.1 and this Article.

R9-26-512. Making a Complaint Renumbered

R9-26-515. Hearing Procedures Identification Badge Required
A. To protect the public, a licensee shall have and present on request, an identification badge issued by the Commission

whenever the licensee provides interpreting services.
B. A licensee who loses or damages the identification badge required under subsection (A) may obtain a replacement iden-

tification badge by submitting a request to the Commission and paying the charge specified under R9-26-508.

R9-26-516. Rehearing or Review of Commission Decision Renumbered

R9-26-517. Disciplinary Action Renumbered

R9-26-518. Change of Name or Address Required Notices to the Commission
A. If a licensee’s certification by RID, NAD, BEI, or other acceptable certifying entity is suspended, revoked, or subject to

other disciplinary action by RID, NAD, BEI, or the other acceptable certifying entity, the licensee shall provide immedi-
ate written notice of the disciplinary action to the Commission. Failure to provide the notice required under this subsec-
tion is unprofessional conduct.

B. If a licensee’s state-issued certification submitted as qualification for a Class B provisional license is suspended,
revoked, or subject to other disciplinary action by the state that issued the certification, the licensee shall provide imme-
diate written notice of the disciplinary action to the Commission. Failure to provide the notice required under this sub-
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section is unprofessional conduct.
C. The Commission shall communicate with a licensee or applicant using the name and address provided to the Commis-

sion by the licensee or applicant. To ensure timely receipt of communication from the Commission, a licensee or appli-
cant shall notify the Commission of any change in the licensee’s or applicant’s name or address.

NOTICE OF FINAL RULEMAKING

TITLE 18. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

CHAPTER 9. DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
WATER POLLUTION CONTROL

[R16-96]

PREAMBLE

1. Article, Part of Sections Affected (as applicable) Rulemaking Action
R18-9-704 Amend

2. Citations to the agency's statutory rulemaking authority to include the authorizing statute (general) and the
implementing statute (specific):

Authorizing statutes: A.R.S. § 49-203.
Implementing statute: A.R.S. § 49-203(A)(6).

3. The effective date of the rule:
August 12, 2016

4. Citations to all related notices published in the Register as specified in R1-1-409(A) that pertain to the record of
the proposed rule:

Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 21 A.A.R. 3086, December 4, 2015

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking: 21 A.A.R. 3017, December 4, 2015

5. The agency's contact person who can answer question about the rulemaking:
Name: Wendy LeStarge
Address: Department of Environmental Quality

Water Quality Division
1110 W. Washington St.
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 771-4836 (Toll-free number in Arizona: (800) 234-5677)
Fax: (602) 771-4834
E-mail: lestarge.wendy@azdeq.gov

6. An agency’s justification and reason why a rule should be made, amended, repealed or renumbered, to include
an explanation about the rulemaking:

The Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) proposes to amend R18-9-704 in order to allow inci-
dental runoff of reclaimed water to waters of the U.S. under certain conditions. The Governor’s office approved an
exception from E.O. 2015-01 on November 3, 2015.

Reclaimed water is highly treated wastewater from a wastewater treatment plant. A.R.S. § 49-201(32). Reclaimed
water has uses for various beneficial purposes as allowed in the rule, such as for irrigation. Using reclaimed water
offsets and conserves potable water for human consumption and domestic purposes. The proposed rule amendment
would:

• Allow some runoff of reclaimed water from a site where it is being applied. 

• Require that the runoff be authorized under a separate Arizona Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (AZP-
DES) permit or National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit. An AZPDES general permit is
readily available for many types of reclaimed water discharges and ensures that there is no violation of the Clean
Water Act.

• Continue restrictions in the existing reclaimed water rules to ensure that only Class A reclaimed water would be
used when there is a relatively high possibility of human exposure to reclaimed water.

ADEQ proposes to limit the scope of this rulemaking to amending only R18-9-704(G). ADEQ is aware of at least
one municipality that must use more expensive potable water for snowmaking for an event because it is not able to
control all the runoff if available reclaimed water were used. Making this minor improvement as soon as possible
will allow the permitted use of reclaimed water for snowmaking the next winter season by this municipality and by



July 1, 2016 | Published by the Arizona Secretary of State | Vol. 22, Issue 27 1697

Notices of Final Rulemaking

any other parties planning similar events.

ADEQ is aware that the reclaimed water rules are in need of improvement and is beginning to work with stakehold-
ers to consider other changes to the reclaimed water rules. ADEQ published two Notices of Docket Openings for
Reclaimed Water Quality Standards (18 A.A.C. 11, Article 3) and Reclaimed Water Conveyances and Direct Reuse
of Reclaimed Water (18 A.A.C. 9, Articles 6 and 7) on January 1, 2016. Other rule changes could include:

• Updating the list of allowable direct reuse activities, such as for emergency fire fighting.

• Developing additional general permits and streamlining the individual permit process. 

• Allowing for amending a general permit without obtaining a new general permit.

• Making monitoring requirements consistent for wastewater and reclaimed water so that both are protective of
human health and neither is unduly burdensome or duplicative.

7. A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and proposes either to rely on or not to rely
on in its evaluation of or justification for the rule, where the public may obtain or review each study, all data
underlying each study, and any analysis of each study and other supporting material:

None

8. A showing of good cause why the rulemaking is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rulemaking will
diminish a previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable

9. A summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
A. Brief summary of the information included in the economic, small business and consumer impact statement:

The proposed changes should benefit reclaimed water permittees. Reclaimed water permittees will have the choice
to use reclaimed water under certain conditions, without the need for control measures to prevent runoff. Using
reclaimed water allows a permittee to offset demands on the potable water supply. Reclaimed water permittees will
have some additional costs of an AZPDES permit fee and complying with any control measures or treatment
required in the AZPDES permit. The reclaimed water permittee will be able to consider whether additional
reclaimed water usage outweighs the AZPDES permitting costs.

B. Name and address of agency employees who may be contacted to submit or request additional data on the infor-
mation included in the economic, small business and consumer impact statement:

Name: Wendy LeStarge
Address: Department of Environmental Quality

Water Quality Division
1110 W. Washington St.
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 771-4836 (Toll-free number in Arizona: (800) 234-5677)
Fax: (602) 771-4834
E-mail: lestarge.wendy@azdeq.gov

C. Identification of persons who will be directly affected by, bear the costs of or directly benefit from the rulemak-
ing:

Reclaimed water permittees will be directly affected by the rulemaking. Reclaimed water quality standards and
allowable uses are established in 18 A.A.C. 11, Article 3. Article 3 establishes five classes of reclaimed water based
on protection of public health and groundwater quality (A+, A, B+, B, and C). Class A+ reclaimed water has under-
gone the most treatment of a minimum of secondary treatment, nitrogen removal treatment, and high level disinfec-
tion. Class B reclaimed water has undergone the minimum treatment of secondary treatment, and some disinfection.
Allowable end uses correspond with the water quality class designations. End uses include crop irrigation, residen-
tial and school ground landscape irrigation, toilet and urinal flushing, and recreational impoundments. Using
reclaimed water allows a permittee to offset demands on the potable water supply. Class C reclaimed water has
undergone secondary treatment in a series of wastewater stabilization ponds, with or without disinfection. The
types of direct reuse allowed for Class C reclaimed water are limited, such as for sod irrigation and silviculture. 

Currently there are eleven reclaimed water individual permits, 396 Type 2 reclaimed water general permits, and 58
Type 3 reclaimed water general permits. Reclaimed water permittees will have the choice to use reclaimed water
under certain conditions of runoff, if the runoff can be permitted under an AZPDES permit. Reclaimed water per-
mittees will have some additional costs of an AZPDES permit fee and complying with any control measures or
treatment required in the AZPDES permit. The reclaimed water permittee will be able to consider whether addi-
tional reclaimed water usage outweighs the AZPDES permitting costs.

D. Cost-benefit analysis of probable costs and benefits to ADEQ and other agencies:
ADEQ is the main agency impacted by the proposed changes. ADEQ already issues reclaimed water permits and
AZPDES permits so it anticipates that the rulemaking will have only a minor impact.
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E. Cost-benefit analysis of probable costs and benefits to political subdivisions:
Political subdivisions and government entities that are reclaimed water permittees could be impacted. There are
approximately 101 reclaimed water permittees that are public entities, such as cities and towns, counties, improve-
ment districts, and schools. Costs and benefits should be similar as to businesses, and are discussed below.

F. Cost-benefit analysis of probable costs and benefits to businesses:
Businesses that are reclaimed water permittees could be impacted. There are about 364 privately owned reclaimed
water permittees, including homeowner associations, golf courses, and home developers.

Reclaimed water permittees will have the choice to use reclaimed water under certain conditions of runoff, if the
runoff can be permitted under an AZPDES permit. Permittees will no longer have to set up unnecessary controls to
prevent all runoff. Using reclaimed water allows a permittee to offset demands on the potable water supply. This
proposed rule gives reclaimed water permittees additional options for applying reclaimed water to sites where it
could not apply before because there would be some runoff. 

Permittees that choose to apply reclaimed water and have runoff will have to obtain an AZPDES permit and will
incur some additional costs of an AZPDES permit fee and complying with any control measures or treatment
required in the AZPDES permit. Under A.R.S. § 49-255.01, any discharge to waters of the U.S. requires coverage
under an AZPDES permit, unless excluded from permit requirements under statute or rule. Discharges made to
waters of the U.S. via Municipal Separate Stormwater Sewer Systems (MS4s) or other conveyances also require
coverage. AZPDES permits impose some limitations on pollutants that are discharged and are issued for no more
than five years.

ADEQ is not requiring a specific AZPDES permit (or NPDES permit if issued by EPA), in order to allow the cir-
cumstances of the discharge to determine the appropriate permit (such as volume of discharge, location of dis-
charge, or class of the reclaimed water). ADEQ believes the most likely permit to be used is the De Minimis
General Permit (DMGP). The DMGP allows certain short-term and/or low volume discharges that meet the appli-
cable surface water quality standards, are generally of limited flow and/or frequency, and do not last continuously
for longer than 30 days unless approved in advance by ADEQ. Initial fees range from $250 for a one-time single
source discharge to $500 for a new areawide, projectwide, or facilitywide discharge. There is an additional fee of
$1,000 if a Best Management Practices Plan review is required. An annual fee of the same amount as the initial fee
is assessed for discharge authorizations that remain active longer than one year. For established areawide, pro-
jectwide, or facilitywide permittees, there is no fee for adding eligible discharges to the authorization.

The DMGP sets some limitations such as for the amount of chlorine and E. coli that can be in the discharge water.
Some classes of reclaimed water could potentially exceed the limits, so sampling may be required. A reclaimed
water permittee will be able to consider if the potential costs of permit fees, additional treatment, or sampling out-
weigh the benefit of additional usage. For permittees that chose not to exercise the option, the rulemaking will not
impose any additional cost. 

G. Probable impact on public and private employment:
ADEQ does not anticipate that private or public employment will be directly affected by these rules.

H. Probable impact on small businesses:
ADEQ would use the small business definition in A.R.S. § 41-1001(21) of “a concern, including its affiliates,
which is independently owned and operated, which is not dominant in its field and which employs fewer than one
hundred full-time employees or which had gross annual receipts of less than four million dollars in its last fiscal
year.” Based on this definition, ADEQ estimates that more than half of the 364 privately-owned reclaimed water
permittees are a small business.

1) The administrative and other costs required for compliance with the proposed rulemaking.
This rulemaking removes a prohibition and allows some additional uses for a reclaimed water permittee. For per-
mittees that choose to exercise the option and have some runoff of reclaimed water, they are required under A.R.S.
§ 49-255.01 to have permit coverage. AZPDES permit coverage imposes some costs, for which a reclaimed water
permittee can decide if the benefits outweigh the costs.

2) A description of the methods prescribed in section 41-1035 that the agency may use to reduce the impact
on small businesses, with reasons for the agency's decision to use or not to use each method.
(i) Establish less costly schedules or less stringent deadlines for compliance, or consolidate or simplify the rule’s

compliance or reporting requirements in the proposed rulemaking.
ADEQ is removing an outright prohibition and allowing discharge from runoff of reclaimed water if it is autho-
rized by an AZPDES permit. Coverage under a NPDES or AZPDES permit is required under A.R.S. § 49-
255.01 and the federal Clean Water Act for any discharge to waters of the U.S.
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(ii) Establish less costly compliance requirements, including establishing performance standards to replace design
or operational standards in the proposed rulemaking.
ADEQ's laws, rules, and permits must comply with federal Clean Water Act requirements.

(iii) Exempt small businesses from any or all requirements of the proposed rulemaking.
Coverage under a NPDES or AZPDES permit is required under A.R.S. § 49-255.01 and the federal Clean
Water Act for any discharge to waters of the U.S.

3) The probable cost and benefit to private persons and consumers who are directly affected by the proposed
rulemaking.
ADEQ does not anticipate that the rulemaking will directly impact private persons or consumers. 

I. Probable effect on state revenues:
There could be a slight increase on state revenues due to increased AZPDES permit fees.

J. Description of less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the proposed rulemaking: 
ADEQ is implementing a less intrusive method by removing an existing prohibition and allowing permittees the
option to have runoff of reclaimed water that is permitted under an AZPDES permit. 

K. Explanation of the limitations of the data available for this economic small business and consumer impact state-
ment:

ADEQ generally does not track in a database certain information on permittees, such as whether publicly or pri-
vately owned and the type of reuse activity. Some of the information came from an informal review of past applica-
tions and permits.

10. A description of any changes between the proposed rulemaking, to include supplemental notices, and the final
rulemaking:

In response to comments, ADEQ changed the language “a separate” to “an individual or general” NPDES or AZP-
DES permit.

11. An agency’s summary of the public or stakeholder comments made about the rulemaking and the agency
response to the comments:

ADEQ received two related comments from Steve Camp, representing the City of Flagstaff:

COMMENT: The language in the rule does not specify if a general or individual AZPDES permit is required. 

RESPONSE: ADEQ meant that the discharge could be authorized by either an individual or general NPDES or
AZPDES. ADEQ agrees with the commentor and changed the language proposed.

COMMENT: This is not specific as to which AZPDES general permit is required. ADEQ has several different gen-
eral AZPDES permits available. The City of Flagstaff currently has coverage under the AZPDES De Minimis gen-
eral permit (AZG2010-001) and the AZPDES MS4 stormwater general permit (AZG2002-002). Does ADEQ
intend for the general AZPDES De Minimis permit to meet the APDES permitting requirements or will the City of
Flagstaff require a separate AZPDES permit? If the De Minimis permit will meet the permitting requirements, will
the City of Flagstaff be required to apply for the Specific Approval, specific to the Dew Downtown event, as speci-
fied in Part I.B.7?

RESPONSE: ADEQ intends that the rule language apply broadly to various situations. Some of those may be
appropriate for coverage under the De Minimis General Permit (DMGP) or another AZPDES general permit, and
some may require individual AZPDES permits. As now drafted, the 2016 DMGP would allow coverage of
reclaimed water discharges such as runoff of Class A reclaimed water from the Dew Downtown event, subject to
Specific Approval from ADEQ (DMGP Part I.B.7.). Once the 2016 DMGP is issued, the City of Flagstaff could
apply for this coverage as an addition to its existing Areawide DMGP authorization. The MS4 stormwater general
permit would not be applicable to discharges of reclaimed water.

12. All agencies shall list other matters prescribed by statute applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule
or class of rules. Additionally, an agency subject to Council review under A.R.S. §§ 41-1052 and 41-1055 shall
respond to the following questions:
a. Whether the rule requires a permit, whether a general permit is used and if not, the reasons why a general

permit is not used:
For a reclaimed water permittee that chooses to exercise the option, the reclaimed water runoff must be permit-
ted. The rule does not specify whether a permittee must apply for an individual or general AZPDES permit, in
order to allow the circumstances of the discharge to determine the appropriate permit (such as volume of dis-
charge, location of discharge, or class of the reclaimed water). An AZPDES general permit is readily available
for many types of reclaimed water discharges and ensures that there is no violation of the Clean Water Act.

b. Whether a federal law is applicable to the subject of the rule, whether the rule is more stringent than federal
law and if so, citation to the statutory authority to exceed the requirements of federal law:

There is no federal law applicable to direct reuse of reclaimed water. Coverage under a NPDES or AZPDES
permit is required under A.R.S. § 49-255.01 and the federal Clean Water Act for any discharge to waters of the
U.S. This rule and A.R.S. § 49-255.01 are not more stringent than the federal Clean Water Act.
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c. Whether a person submitted an analysis to the agency that compares the rule’s impact of the competitiveness
of business in this state to the impact on business in other states:

No person has submitted an analysis to the agency that compares the rule’s impact on the competitiveness of
business in this state to the impact on business in other states.

13. List of any incorporated by reference material as specified in A.R.S. § 41-1028 and its location in the rules:
None

14. Whether the rule was previously made, amended or repealed as an emergency rule, If so, cite the notice
published in the Register as specified in R1-1-409(A). Also, the agency shall state where the text was changed
between the emergency and the final rulemaking packages:

Not applicable

15. The full text of the rule follows:

TITLE 18. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

CHAPTER 9. DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
WATER POLLUTION CONTROL

ARTICLE 7. DIRECT REUSE OF RECLAIMED WATER

Section
R18-9-704. General Requirements

ARTICLE 7. DIRECT REUSE OF RECLAIMED WATER

R18-9-704. General Requirements
A. Sewage treatment facility. Except for permits continued under R18-9-703(A), a sewage treatment facility owner or

operator shall provide reclaimed water for direct reuse only under an individual Aquifer Protection Permit amended
under R18-9-703(C)(2).

B. Additional treatment. If an owner or operator of a facility accepts reclaimed water and provides additional treatment for
a higher quality direct reuse, the facility is considered a sewage treatment facility and shall operate under the require-
ments of an individual Aquifer Protection Permit amended under R18-9-703(C)(2).

C. Reclaimed water blending facility. An owner or operator of a reclaimed water blending facility shall not conduct blend-
ing operations without obtaining a Reclaimed Water Individual Permit or Reclaimed Water General Permit.

D. Reclaimed water agent. A person shall not operate as a reclaimed water agent without obtaining a Reclaimed Water
Individual Permit or a Reclaimed Water General Permit.

E. End user. A person shall not directly reuse reclaimed water unless permitted under this Article.
F. Irrigating with reclaimed water. A permittee irrigating with reclaimed water shall:

1. Use application methods that reasonably preclude human contact with reclaimed water;
2. Prevent reclaimed water from standing on open access areas during normal periods of use;
3. Prevent reclaimed water from coming into contact with drinking fountains, water coolers, or eating areas; and
4. Secure hose bibbs discharging reclaimed water to prevent use by the public.

G. Prohibited activities.
1. Irrigating with untreated sewage;
2. Providing or using reclaimed water for any of the following activities:

a. Direct reuse for human consumption;
b. Direct reuse for swimming, wind surfing, water skiing, or other full-immersion water activity with a potential

of ingestion; or
c. Direct reuse for evaporative cooling or misting.

3. Misapplying reclaimed water for any of the following reasons:
a. Application of a stated class of reclaimed water that is of lesser quality than allowed by this Article for the type

of direct reuse application;
b. Application of reclaimed water to any area other than a direct reuse site; or
c. Allowing runoff of reclaimed water or reclaimed water mixed with stormwater from a direct reuse site, except

for: 
i. agricultural return flow that is directed onto an adjacent field or returned to an open water conveyance. ;or
ii. a discharge authorized by an individual or general NPDES or AZPDES permit.

H. A permittee shall place and maintain signage at locations specified in Table 1 so the public is informed that reclaimed
water is in use and that no one should drink from the system.
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Table 1. Signage Requirements for Direct Reuse Sites

Note: All impoundments with open access including lakes, ponds, ornamental fountains, waterfalls, and other water features shall be
posted with signs regardless of the class of reclaimed water.

Reclaimed 
Water 
Class

Hose 
Bibbs

Residential
Irrigation

Schoolground 
Irrigation

Other Open 
Access Irriga-

tion

Restricted Access 
Irrigation

Mobile Reclaimed 
Water Dispersal

A+ Each 
bibb

Front yard, or all 
entrances to a subdi-
vision if the signage 
is supplemented by 
written yearly notifi-
cation to individual 
homeowners by the 
homeowner’s associ-
ation.

On premises visi-
ble to staff and 
students

None None Back of truck or on 
tank

A Each 
bibb

Front yard, or all 
entrances to a subdi-
vision if the signage 
is supplemented by 
written yearly notifi-
cation to individual 
homeowners by the 
homeowner’s associ-
ation.

On premises visi-
ble to staff and 
students

None None Back of truck or on 
tank

B+ Each 
bibb

Direct Reuse Not 
Allowed

Direct Reuse Not 
Allowed

Direct Reuse 
Not Allowed

1. Ingress points 
2. On premises or at 
reasonably spaced 
intervals not more 
than 1/4 mile, as 
applicable to the use
3. Notice on golf 
score cards, if appli-
cable

Back of truck or on 
tank

B Each 
bibb

Direct Reuse Not 
Allowed

Direct Reuse Not 
Allowed

Direct Reuse 
Not Allowed

1. Ingress points 
2. On premises or at 
reasonably spaced 
intervals not more 
than 1/4 mile, as 
applicable to the use
3. Notice on golf 
score cards, if appli-
cable

Back of truck or on 
tank

C Each 
bibb

Direct Reuse Not 
Allowed

Direct Reuse Not 
Allowed

Direct Reuse 
Not Allowed

1. Ingress points
2. On premises or at 
reasonably spaced 
intervals not more 
than 1/4 mile, as 
applicable to the use

Back of truck or on 
tank


