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Arizona Regular Rulemaking Process

START HERE

APA, statute or ballot 
proposition is 

passed. It gives an 
agency authority to 

make rules.

It may give an 
agency an exemption 

to the process or 
portions thereof.

Agency opens a 
docket. 

Agency files a Notice of 
Rulemaking Docket 

Opening; it is published 
in the Register. Often 
an agency will file the 

docket with the 
proposed rulemaking.

Agency decides not to 
act and closes docket.

The agency may let 
the docket lapse by 
not filing a Notice of 

Proposed rulemaking 
within one year.

Agency drafts proposed rule 
and Economic Impact 

Statement (EIS); informal 
public review/comment.

Agency files Notice of 
Proposed Rulemaking. 

Notice is published in 
the Register.

Notice of meetings may 
be published in 

Register or included in 
Preamble of Proposed 

Rulemaking. 

Agency opens 
comment period.

Agency decides not to 
proceed and does not file 
final rule with G.R.R.C. 

within one year after 
proposed rule is 

published. A.R.S. § 41-
1021(A)(4).

Agency decides not to 
proceed and files Notice 

of Termination of 
Rulemaking for 

publication in Register. 
A.R.S. § 41-1021(A)(2).

Agency files Notice 
of Supplemental 

Proposed 
Rulemaking. Notice 

published in 
Register.

Oral proceeding and close of 
record. Comment period must last 
at least 30 days after publication 

of notice. Oral proceeding 
(hearing) is held no sooner than 

30 days after publication of notice 
of hearing

Agency decides not to 
proceed; files Notice of 

Termination of 
Rulemaking. May open 

a new Docket.

Substantial change?

If no change then

Rule must be submitted for review or terminated within 120 days after the close of the record.

A final rulemaking package is submitted to G.R.R.C. or A.G. for review. Contains final 
preamble, rules, and Economic Impact Statement.

G.R.R.C. has 90 days to review and approve or return the rule package, in whole or in part; 
A.G. has 60 days.

After approval by G.R.R.C. or A.G., the rule becomes effective 60 days after filing with the 
Secretary of State (unless otherwise indicated).

Final rule is published in the Register and the quarterly Code Supplement.

Look for the Agency Notice
Review (inspect) notices published

in the Arizona Administrative Register.
Many agencies maintain stakeholder
lists and would be glad to inform you
when they proposed changes to rules.
Check an agency’s website and its
newsletters for news about notices and
meetings.

Feel like a change should be made
to a rule and an agency has not
proposed changes? You can petition an
agency to make, amend, or repeal a
rule. The agency must respond to the
petition. (See A.R.S. § 41-1033)

Attend a public hearing/meeting
Attend a public meeting that is

being conducted by the agency on a
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking.
Public meetings may be listed in the
Preamble of a Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking or they may be published
separately in the Register. Be prepared
to speak, attend the meeting, and make
an oral comment. 

An agency may not have a public
meeting scheduled on the Notice of
Proposed Rulemaking. If not, you may
request that the agency schedule a
proceeding. This request must be put in
writing within 30 days after the
published Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking.

Write the agency
Put your comments in writing to

the agency. In order for the agency to
consider your comments, the agency
must receive them by the close of
record. The comment must be received
within the 30-day comment timeframe
following the Register publication of
the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking.

You can also submit to the
Governor’s Regulatory Review
Council written comments that are
relevant to the Council’s power to
review a given rule (A.R.S. § 41-
1052). The Council reviews the rule at
the end of the rulemaking process and
before the rules are filed with the
Secretary of State.
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Definitions
Arizona Administrative Code (A.A.C.): Official rules codified and published

by the Secretary of State’s Office. Available online at www.azsos.gov.
Arizona Administrative Register (A.A.R.): The official publication that

includes filed documents pertaining to Arizona rulemaking. Available online at
www.azsos.gov.

Administrative Procedure Act (APA): A.R.S. Title 41, Chapter 6, Articles 1
through 10. Available online at www.azleg.gov.

Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.): The statutes are made by the Arizona
State Legislature during a legislative session. They are complied by Legislative
Council, with the official publication codified by Thomson West. Citations to
statutes include Titles which represent broad subject areas. The Title number is
followed by the Section number. For example, A.R.S. § 41-1001 is the
definitions Section of Title 41 of the Arizona Administrative Procedures Act.
The “§” symbol simply means “section.” Available online at www.azleg.gov.

Chapter: A division in the codification of the Code designating a state
agency or, for a large agency, a major program.

Close of Record: The close of the public record for a proposed rulemaking is
the date an agency chooses as the last date it will accept public comments, either
written or oral.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR): The Code of Federal Regulations is a
codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register
by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government.

Docket: A public file for each rulemaking containing materials related to the
proceedings of that rulemaking. The docket file is established and maintained by
an agency from the time it begins to consider making a rule until the rulemaking
is finished. The agency provides public notice of the docket by filing a Notice of
Rulemaking Docket Opening with the Office for publication in the Register.

Economic, Small Business, and Consumer Impact Statement (EIS): The
EIS identifies the impact of the rule on private and public employment, on small
businesses, and on consumers. It includes an analysis of the probable costs and
benefits of the rule. An agency includes a brief summary of the EIS in its
preamble. The EIS is not published in the Register but is available from the
agency promulgating the rule. The EIS is also filed with the rulemaking package.

Governor’s Regulatory Review (G.R.R.C.): Reviews and approves rules to
ensure that they are necessary and to avoid unnecessary duplication and adverse
impact on the public. G.R.R.C. also assesses whether the rules are clear, concise,
understandable, legal, consistent with legislative intent, and whether the benefits
of a rule outweigh the cost.

Incorporated by Reference: An agency may incorporate by reference
standards or other publications. These standards are available from the state
agency with references on where to order the standard or review it online.

Federal Register (FR): The Federal Register is a legal newspaper published
every business day by the National Archives and Records Administration
(NARA). It contains federal agency regulations; proposed rules and notices; and
executive orders, proclamations, and other presidential documents.

Session Laws or “Laws”: When an agency references a law that has not yet
been codified into the Arizona Revised Statutes, use the word “Laws” is followed
by the year the law was passed by the Legislature, followed by the Chapter
number using the abbreviation “Ch.”, and the specific Section number using the
Section symbol (§). For example, Laws 1995, Ch. 6, § 2. Session laws are
available at www.azleg.gov.

United States Code (U.S.C.): The Code is a consolidation and codification
by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. The
Code does not include regulations issued by executive branch agencies, decisions
of the federal courts, treaties, or laws enacted by state or local governments.

Acronyms
A.A.C. – Arizona Administrative Code 

A.A.R. – Arizona Administrative Register

APA – Administrative Procedure Act

A.R.S. – Arizona Revised Statutes

CFR – Code of Federal Regulations

EIS – Economic, Small Business, and 

Consumer Impact Statement 

FR – Federal Register

G.R.R.C. – Governor’s Regulatory Review 

Council

U.S.C. – United States Code

About Preambles
The Preamble is the part of a

rulemaking package that contains
information about the rulemaking and
provides agency justification and
regulatory intent. 

It includes reference to the specific
statutes authorizing the agency to
make the rule, an explanation of the
rule, reasons for proposing the rule,
and the preliminary Economic Impact
Statement. 

The information in the Preamble
differs between rulemaking notices
used and the stage of the rulemaking.
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NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER 11. STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
[R24-07]

PREAMBLE

1. Article, Part, or Section Affected (as applicable Rulemaking Action
R4-11-101 Amend
R4-11-305 Amend
R4-11-406 Amend
R4-11-1203 Amend
R4-11-1301 Amend
R4-11-1302 Amend
R4-11-1303 Amend
R4-11-1304 Amend
R4-11-1305 Amend
R4-11-1306 Amend
R4-11-1307 Amend

2. Citations to the agency’s statutory rulemaking authority to include the authorizing statute (general) and the
implementing statute (specific):

Authorizing statute: A.R.S. § 32-1207 
Implementing statute: A.R.S. §§ 32-1201 et seq.

3. Citations to all related notices published in the Register as specified in R1-1-409(A) that pertain to the record of
the proposed rules:

Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 30 A.A.R. 246, February 2, 2024

4. The agency’s contact person who can answer questions about the rulemaking:
Name: Ryan Edmonson, Executive Director
Address: State Board of Dental Examiners

1740 W. Adams St., Suite 2470
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-4493
Email: ryan.edmonson@dentalboard.az.gov

5. An agency’s justification and reason why a rule should be made, amended, repealed, or renumbered, to include
an explanation about the rulemaking:

The Board needs to amend its rules to address permitting requirements for several types of anesthesia and sedation permits.

6. A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and proposes either to rely on or not rely
on in its evaluation of or justification for the rule, where the public may obtain or review each study, all data
underlying each study, and any analysis of each study and other supporting material.

None

7. A showing of good cause why the rulemaking is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the rulemaking will
diminish a previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state:

Not applicable

This section of the Arizona Administrative Register
contains Notices of Proposed Rulemaking.

A proposed rulemaking is filed by an agency upon
completion and submittal of a Notice of Rulemaking
Docket Opening. Often these two documents are filed at
the same time and published in the same Register issue.

When an agency files a Notice of Proposed Rulemak-
ing under the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), the
notice is published in the Register within three weeks of fil-
ing. See the publication schedule in the back of each issue
of the Register for more information.

Under the APA, an agency must allow at least 30 days
to elapse after the publication of the Notice of Proposed
Rulemaking in the Register before beginning any proceed-
ings for making, amending, or repealing any rule (A.R.S.
§§ 41-1013 and 41-1022).

The Office of the Secretary of State is the filing office
and publisher of these rules. Questions about the interpre-
tation of the proposed rules should be addressed to the
agency that promulgated the rules. Refer to item #4 below
to contact the person charged with the rulemaking and
item #10 for the close of record and information related to
public hearings and oral comments.



262 Vol. 30, Issue 6 | Published by the Arizona Secretary of State | February 9, 2024

Notices of Proposed Rulemaking Arizona Administrative Register

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact:
There is little to no economic, small business, or consumer impact, other than the cost to the Board to prepare the rule package,
because the rulemaking simply clarifies statutory requirements that already exist. There may be some impact to dental profession-
als who must now obtain a pediatric endorsement in order to provide anesthesia and sedation services to patients that are less than
eight years of age. However, the increased regulation is necessary to ensure that dental professionals are qualified to provide such
services to patients who are less than eight years of age in order to better protect the health, safety, and welfare of those patients.
The Board is also removing the requirement to obtain a permit in order to work with a qualified anesthesia provider if the treating
dentist meets certain requirements that protect the health, safety, and welfare of their patients. Thus, the economic impact is mini-
mized.

9. The agency’s contact person who can answer questions about the economic, small business, and consumer
impact statement:

Name: Ryan Edmonson, Executive Director
Address: State Board of Dental Examiners

1740 W. Adams St., Suite 2470
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-4493
Email: ryan.edmonson@dentalboard.az.gov

10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for to make, amend, repeal, or renumber the rule, or if no
proceeding is scheduled, where, when, and how persons may request and oral proceedings on the proposed
rule:

An oral proceeding regarding the proposed rules will be held as follows:
Date: March 26, 2024
Time: 1:00 p.m.
Location: State Board of Dental Examiners

1740 W. Adams St., Suite 2470
Phoenix, AZ 85007

11. All agencies shall list other matters prescribed by statute applicable to the specific agency or to any specific rule
or class of rules. Additionally, an agency subject to Council review under A.R.S. §§ 41-1052 and 41-1055 shall
respond to the following questions:

None
a. Whether the rule requires a permit, whether a general permit is used and if not, the reasons why a general

permit is not used:
The Board issues general permits to licensees who meet the criteria established in statute and rule.

b. Whether a federal law is applicable to the subject of the rule, whether the rule is more stringent than federal
law, and if so, citation to the statutory authority to exceed the requirements of federal law:

Not applicable

c. Whether a person submitted an analysis to the agency that compares the rule’s impact on the competitive-
ness of business in this state to the impact on business in other states:

No analysis was submitted.

12. A list of incorporated by reference material as specified in A.R.S. § 41-1028 and its location in the rules:
None

13. The full text of the rules follows:

TITLE 4. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER 11. BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

ARTICLE 1. DEFINITIONS

Section
R4-11-101. Definitions

ARTICLE 3. EXAMINATIONS, LICENSING QUALIFICATIONS, APPLICATION AND RENEWAL, TIME-FRAMES

Section
R4-11-305. Application Processing Procedures: Issuance, Denial, and Renewal of General Anesthesia and Deep Sedation Permits, 

Parenteral Sedation Permits, Oral Sedation Permits, and Permit to Employ a Physician Anesthesiologist or Certified 
Registered Nurse Anesthetist Section 1301 Permits, Section 1302 Permits, and Section 1303 Permits

ARTICLE 4. FEES

Section
R4-11-406. Anesthesia and Sedation Permit Fees
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ARTICLE 12. CONTINUING DENTAL EDUCATION AND RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS

Section
R4-11-1203. Dentists and Dental Consultants

ARTICLE 13. GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND SEDATION

Section
R4-11-1301. General Anesthesia and Deep Sedation
R4-11-1302. Parenteral Moderate Sedation 
R4-11-1303. Enteral Moderate Oral Sedation 
R4-11-1304. Permit to Employ or Work Working with a QAP Defined as a Physician Anesthesiologist or Certified Registered Nurse 

Anesthetist (CRNA)
R4-11-1305. Reports of Adverse Occurrences Mandatory Reporting
R4-11-1306. Education; Continued Competency Enteral Sedation 
R4-11-1307. Renewal of Permit

ARTICLE 1. DEFINITIONS

R4-11-101. Definitions
The following definitions, and definitions in A.R.S. § 32-1201, apply to this Chapter:

“ACLS” means Advanced Cardiac Life Support.
“AED” means an Automatic External Defibrillator.
“Analgesia” means a state of decreased sensibility to pain produced by using nitrous oxide (N2O) and oxygen (O2) with or with-
out local anesthesia. 
“Business Entity” means a business organization that offers to the public professional services regulated by the Board and is
established under the laws of any state or foreign country, including a sole practitioner, partnership, limited liability partnership,
corporation, and limited liability company, unless specifically exempted by A.R.S. § 32-1213(J).
“Calculus” means a hard mineralized deposit attached to the teeth. 
“Charitable Dental Clinic or Organization” means a non-profit organization meeting the requirements of 26 U.S.C. 501(c)(3)
and providing dental, dental therapy, or dental hygiene services.
“Clinical evaluation” means a dental examination of a patient named in a complaint regarding the patient's dental condition as it
exists at the time the examination is performed. 
“Controlled substance” has the meaning prescribed in A.R.S. § 36-2501(A)(3).
“Credit hour” means one clock hour of participation in a Recognized Continuing Dental Education program.
“Deep sedation” is a Drug-induced depression of consciousness during which a patient cannot be easily aroused but responds
purposefully following repeated or painful stimulation. The ability to independently maintain ventilatory function may be
impaired. The patient may require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be inadequate.
Cardiovascular function is usually maintained.
“Dentist of record” means a dentist who examines, diagnoses, and formulates treatment plans for a patient and may provide
treatment to the patient.
“Direct supervision” means, for purposes of Article 7 only, that a licensed dentist is present in the office and available to provide
immediate treatment or care to a patient and observe a dental assistant’s work.
“Disabled” means a dentist, dental therapist, dental hygienist, or denturist has totally withdrawn from the active practice of den-
tistry, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or denturism due to a permanent medical disability and based on a physician’s order.
“Documentation of attendance” means documents that contain the following information: 

Name of sponsoring entity; 
Course title; 
Number of Credit Hours; 
Name of speaker; and
Date, time, and location of the course.

“Drug” means:
Articles recognized, or for which standards or specifications are prescribed, in the official compendium Official Compen-
dium; 
Articles intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease in the human body; 
Articles other than food intended to affect the structure of any function of the human body; or
Articles intended for use as a component of any articles specified in this definition but does not include devices or compo-
nents, parts, or accessories of devices.

“Emerging scientific technology” means any technology used in the treatment of oral disease that is not currently generally
accepted or taught in a recognized dental, dental therapy, or dental hygiene school and use of the technology poses material
risks.
“Enteral” means any technique of administration in which the Drug is absorbed through the gastrointestinal tract or oral mucosa.
“Epithelial attachment” means the layer of cells that extends apically from the depth of the gingival (gum) sulcus (crevice) along
the tooth, forming an organic attachment. 
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“Ex-parte communication” means a written or oral communication between a decision maker, fact finder, or Board member and
one party to the proceeding, in the absence of other parties. 
“General anesthesia” is a Drug-induced loss of consciousness during which the patient is not arousable, even by painful stimula-
tion. The ability to independently maintain ventilatory function is often impaired. The patient often requires assistance in main-
taining a patent airway, and positive-pressure ventilation may be required because of depressed spontaneous ventilation or Drug-
induced depression of neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular function may be impaired.
“General supervision” means, for purposes of Article 7 only, a licensed dentist is available for consultation, whether or not the
dentist is in the office, regarding procedures or treatment that the dentist authorizes and for which the dentist remains responsi-
ble.
“Homebound patient” means a person who is unable to receive dental care in a dental office as a result of a medically diagnosed
disabling physical or mental condition.
“Irreversible procedure” means a single treatment, or a step in a series of treatments, that causes change in the affected hard or
soft tissues and is permanent or may require reconstructive or corrective procedures to correct the changes.
“Licensee” means a dentist, dental therapist, dental hygienist, dental consultant, retired Retired licensee, or person who holds a
restricted permit Restricted Permit Holder under A.R.S. §§ 32-1237 or 32-1292.
“Local anesthesia” is the elimination of sensations, such as pain, in one part of the body by the injection of an anesthetic Drug.
“Minimal sedation” is a minimally depressed level of consciousness that retains a patient’s ability to independently and continu-
ously maintain an airway and respond appropriately to light tactile stimulation, not limited to reflex withdrawal from a painful
stimulus, or verbal command and that is produced by a pharmacological or non-pharmacological method or a combination
thereof. Although cognitive function and coordination may be modestly impaired, ventilatory and cardiovascular functions are
unaffected. In accord with this particular definition, the Drugs or techniques used should carry a margin of safety wide enough to
render unintended loss of consciousness unlikely.
“Mobile dental permit holder” means a Licensee or denturist who holds a mobile permit under R4-11-1301, R4-11-1302, or R4-
11-1303.
“Mobile permit” means a permit issued by the Board under R4-11-1301(G), R4-11-1302(F), or R4-11-1303(F).
“Moderate sedation” is a Drug-induced depression of consciousness during which a patient responds purposefully to verbal
commands either alone or accompanied by light tactile stimulation, not limited to reflex withdrawal from a painful stimulus. No
interventions are required to maintain a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular function is usu-
ally maintained. In accordance with this definition, the The Drugs or techniques used should carry a margin of safety wide
enough to render unintended loss of consciousness unlikely. Repeated dosing of a Drug before the effects of previous dosing can
be fully recognized may result in a greater alteration of the state of consciousness than intended by the permit holder.
“Nitrous oxide analgesia” means the use of nitrous oxide in combination with oxygen used as an inhalation analgesic. 
“Official compendium” means the latest revision of the United States Pharmacopeia and the National Formulary and any current
supplement.
“Oral sedation” is the enteral administration of a drug or non-drug substance or combination inhalation and enterally adminis-
tered drug or non-drug substance in a dental office or dental clinic to achieve minimal or moderate sedation.
“PALS” means Pediatric Advanced Life Support.
“Parenteral sedation” is a minimally depressed level of consciousness that allows the patient to retain the ability to inde-
pendently and continuously maintain an airway and respond appropriately to physical stimulation or verbal command and is
induced by a pharmacological or non-pharmacological method or a combination of both methods of administration in which the
drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract of a Drug that bypasses the gastrointestinal tract to achieve a desired level of sedation or
General Anesthesia. 
“Pediatric endorsement” is a provision added to a Section 1301 Permit, Section 1302 Permit, or Section 1303 Permit allowing
administration of sedation or General Anesthesia to a pediatric patient who is younger than eight years of age according to R4-
11-1301, R4-11-1302, or R4-11-1303.
“Periodontal pocket” means a pathologic fissure bordered on one side by the tooth and on the opposite side by crevicular epithe-
lium and limited in its depth by the epithelial attachment. 
“Plaque” means a film-like sticky substance composed of mucoidal secretions containing bacteria and toxic products, dead tis-
sue cells, and debris. 

 “Polishing” means a procedure limited to the removal of Plaque and extrinsic stain from exposed natural and restored tooth sur-
faces that utilizes an appropriate rotary instrument with rubber cup or brush and polishing agent. A Licensee or dental assistant
shall not represent that this procedure alone constitutes an oral Prophylaxis.
“Prescription-only device” means:

Any device that is restricted by the federal act, as defined in A.R.S. § 32-1901, to use only under the supervision of a med-
ical practitioner; or 
Any device required by the federal act, as defined in A.R.S. § 32-1901, to bear on its label the legend “Rx Only.” 

“Prescription-only Drug” does not include a Controlled Substance but does include:

Any Drug that, because of its toxicity or other potentiality for harmful effect, the method of its use, or the collateral mea-
sures necessary to its use, is not generally recognized among experts, qualified by scientific training and experience to eval-
uate its safety and efficacy, as safe for use except by or under the supervision of a medical practitioner;
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Any Drug that is limited by an approved new Drug application under the federal act or A.R.S. § 32-1962 to use under the
supervision of a medical practitioner;
Every potentially harmful Drug, the labeling of which does not bear or contain full and adequate directions for use by the
consumer; or
Any Drug required by the federal act to bear on its label the legend “RX Only.”

“President’s designee” means the Board’s executive director, an investigator, or a Board member acting on behalf of the Board
president. 
“Preventative and therapeutic agents” means substances that affect the hard or soft oral tissues to aid in preventing or treating
oral disease. 
“Prophylaxis” means a Scaling and Polishing procedure performed on patients with healthy tissues to remove coronal Plaque,
Calculus, and stains.
“QAP” means a qualified anesthesia provider.
“Recognized continuing dental education” means a program whose content directly relates to the art and science of oral health
and treatment, provided by a recognized dental school, recognized dental therapy school, recognized dental hygiene school, or
recognized denturist school, or sponsored by a national or state dental, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or denturist association,
American Dental Association, Continuing Education Recognition Program or Academy of General Dentistry, Program Approval
for Continuing Education approved provider, dental, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or denturist Study Club, governmental
agency, commercial dental supplier, non-profit organization, accredited hospital, or programs or courses approved by other state,
district, or territorial dental licensing boards.
“Restricted permit holder” means a dentist who meets the requirements of A.R.S. § 32-1237 or a dental hygienist who meets the
requirements of A.R.S. § 32-1292 and is issued a restricted permit by the Board.
“Retired” means a dentist, dental therapist, dental hygienist, or denturist is at least 65 years old and has totally withdrawn from
the active practice of dentistry, dental therapy, dental hygiene, or denturism.
“Root planing” means a definitive treatment procedure designed to remove cementum or surface dentin that is rough, impreg-
nated with calculus, or contaminated with toxins or microorganisms. 
“Scaling” means use of instruments on the crown and root surfaces of the teeth to remove Plaque, Calculus, and stains from
these surfaces.
“Section 1301 permit” means a permit to administer General Anesthesia and Deep Sedation, employ or work with an QAP a
physician anesthesiologist, or employ or work with a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist under Article 13.
“Section 1302 permit” means a permit to administer Parenteral Moderate Sedation, employ or work with a QAP a physician
anesthesiologist, or employ or work with a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist under Article 13.
“Section 1303 permit” means a permit to administer Oral Enteral Moderate Sedation, or employ or work with a QAP a physician
anesthesiologist, or employ or work with a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist under Article 13.
“Section 1304 permit” means a permit to employ or work with a physician anesthesiologist, or employ or work with a Certified
Registered Nurse Anesthetist under Article 13.
“Study club” means a group of at least five Arizona licensed dentists, dental therapists, dental hygienists, or denturists who pro-
vide written course materials or a written outline for a continuing education presentation that meets the requirements of Article
12.
“Treatment records” means all documentation related directly or indirectly to the dental treatment of a patient.

ARTICLE 3. EXAMINATIONS, LICENSING QUALIFICATIONS, APPLICATION AND RENEWAL, TIME-FRAMES

R4-11-305. Application Processing Procedures: Issuance, Denial, and Renewal of General Anesthesia and Deep Sedation Per-
mits, Parenteral Sedation Permits, Oral Sedation Permits, and Permit to Employ a Physician Anesthesiologist or Certified Regis-
tered Nurse Anesthetist Section 1301 Permits, Section 1302 Permits, and Section 1303 Permits

A. The Board office shall complete an administrative completeness review within 24 days from the date of the receipt of an applica-
tion

1. Within 30 14 calendar days of receiving an initial or renewal application for a General Anesthesia and Deep Sedation permit,
parenteral sedation permit, Oral Sedation permit or permit to employ a physician anesthesiologist or Certified Registered Nurse
Anesthetist Section 1301 Permit, Section 1302 Permit, or Section 1303 Permit, the Board office shall notify the applicant, in
writing, whether the application package is complete or incomplete.

2. If the application package is incomplete, the Board office shall provide the applicant with a written notice that includes a com-
prehensive list of the missing information. The 24-day time-frame for the Board office to finish the administrative completeness
review is suspended from the date the notice of incompleteness is served until the applicant provides the Board office with all
missing information.

3. If the Board office does not provide the applicant with notice regarding administrative completeness, the application package
shall be deemed complete 24 days after receipt by the Board office.

B. An applicant with an incomplete application package shall submit all missing information within 60 calendar days of service of the
notice of incompleteness.

C. Upon receipt of all missing information, the Board office shall notify the applicant, in writing, within 10 calendar days, that the appli-
cation package is complete. If an applicant fails to submit a complete application package within the time allowed in subsection (B),
the Board office shall close the applicant's file. An applicant whose file is closed and who later wishes to obtain a permit shall apply
again as required in A.A.C. Title 4, Chapter 11, Article 13.
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D. The Board shall not approve or deny an application until the applicant has fully complied with the requirements of this Section and
A.A.C. Title 4, Chapter 11, Article 13.

E. The Board shall complete a substantive review of the applicant's qualifications in no more than 120 calendar days from the date on
which the administrative completeness review of an application package is complete.
1. If the Board finds an applicant to be eligible for a permit and grants the permit, the Board office shall notify the applicant in writ-

ing.
2. If the Board finds an applicant to be ineligible for a permit, the Board office shall issue a written notice of denial to the applicant

that includes:
a. Each reason for the denial, with citations to the statutes or rules on which the denial is based;
b. The applicant's right to request a hearing on the denial, including the number of days the applicant has to file the request;
c. The applicant's right to request an informal settlement conference under A.R.S. § 41-1092.06; and
d. The name and telephone number of an agency contact person who can answer questions regarding the application process.

3. If the Board finds deficiencies during the substantive review of an application package, the Board office shall issue a compre-
hensive written request to the applicant for additional documentation.

4. The 120-day time-frame for a substantive review of an applicant's qualifications is suspended from the date of a written request
for additional documentation until the date that all documentation is received.

5. If the applicant and the Board office mutually agree in writing, the 120-day substantive review time-frame may be extended
once for no more than 36 days. 

F. The following time-frames apply for an initial or renewal application governed by this Section:
1. Administrative completeness review time-frame: 24 calendar days.
2. Substantive review time-frame: 120 calendar days.
3. Overall time-frame: 144 calendar days.

ARTICLE 4. FEES

R4-11-406. Anesthesia and Sedation Permit Fees
A. As expressly authorized under A.R.S. § 32-1207, the Board establishes and shall collect the following permit and renewal fees:

1. $300 for a Section 1301 permit Permit, fee: $300 plus $25 for each additional location for the same permit, not including a
Mobile Permit; or

2. $180 for a Section 1302 Permit or a Section 1303 Permit, plus $25 for each additional location for the same permit, not including
a Mobile Permit; or

2.3. Section 1302 permit fee: $300 for a Mobile Permit for a Section 1301 Permit; or plus $25 for each additional location;
3. Section 1303 permit fee: $300 plus $25 for each additional location; and
4. Section 1304 permit fee: $300 plus $25 for each additional location.
4. $180 for a Mobile Permit for a Section 1302 Permit or a Section 1303 Permit.

B. Upon successful completion of an initial onsite evaluation and upon receipt of the required permit fee, the Board shall issue a separate
Section 1301,1302,1303, or 1304 permit to a dentist for each location requested by the dentist. A permit expires on December 31 of
every fifth year.

C. Permit renewal fees:
1. Section 1301 permit renewal fee: $300 plus $25 for each additional location;
2. Section 1302 permit renewal fee: $300 plus $25 for each additional location;
3. Section 1303 permit renewal fee: $300 plus $25 for each additional location; and
4. Section 1304 permit renewal fee: $300 $300 $100 plus $25 for each additional location.

ARTICLE 12. CONTINUING DENTAL EDUCATION AND RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS

R4-11-1203. Dentists and Dental Consultants
Dentists and dental consultants shall complete 63 72 hours of Recognized Continuing Dental Education in each renewal period as follows:

1. At least 36 42 Credit Hours in any of the following areas: Dental and medical health, preventive services, dental diagnosis and
treatment planning, dental recordkeeping, dental clinical procedures, managing medical emergencies, pain management, dental
public health, and courses in corrective and restorative oral health and basic dental sciences, which may include current research,
new concepts in dentistry, chemical dependency, tobacco cessation and behavioral and biological sciences that are oriented to
dentistry. A Licensee who holds a Section 1301 Permit, Section 1302 Permit, or Section 1303 Permit permit to administer Gen-
eral Anesthesia, Deep Sedation, Parenteral Sedation, or Oral Sedation who is required to obtain continuing education pursuant to
Article 13 may apply those Credit Hours to the requirements of this Section;

2. No more than 15 18 Credit Hours in the following areas: Dental practice organization and management, patient management
skills, and methods of health care delivery;

3. At least three Credit Hours in opioid education chemical dependency, which may include tobacco cessation;
4. At least three Credit Hours in infectious diseases or infectious disease control;
5. At least three Credit Hours in Basic Life Support Health Care Provider Level endorsed by the American Heart Association car-

diopulmonary resuscitation healthcare provider level, advanced cardiac life support or pediatric advanced life support. Course-
work may be completed online if the course requires a physical demonstration of skills; and

6. At least three Credit Hours in ethics or Arizona dental jurisprudence.

ARTICLE 13. GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND SEDATION

R4-11-1301. General Anesthesia and Deep Sedation
A. Before administering General Anesthesia, or Deep Sedation by any means, in a dental office or dental clinic, a dentist shall possess a

Section 1301 Permit issued by the Board. The dentist may renew a Section 1301 Permit every five years by complying with R4-11-
1307.
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B. To obtain or renew a Section 1301 Permit, a dentist shall:
1. Submit a completed application on a form provided by the Board office that, in addition to the requirements of subsections

(B)(2) and (3), and R4-11-1307, includes: 
a. General information about the applicant such as:

i. Name;
ii. Home and office addresses and telephone numbers;
iii. Limitations of practice;
iv. Hospital affiliations;
v. Denial, curtailment, revocation, or suspension of hospital privileges;
vi. Denial of membership in, denial of renewal of membership in, or disciplinary action by a dental organization; and
vii. Denial of licensure by, denial of renewal of licensure by, or disciplinary action by a dental regulatory body; and

b. The dentist’s dated and signed affidavit stating that the information provided is true, and that the dentist has read and com-
plied with the Board’s statutes and rules;

2. On forms provided by the Board, provide a dated and signed affidavit attesting that any dental office or dental clinic where the
dentist will administer General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation:
a. Contains the following properly operating equipment and supplies during the provision of General Anesthesia and Deep

Sedation:
i. The following emergency Emergency Drugs;:

(1) Vasopressor;
(2) Corticosteroid;
(3) Bronchodilator;
(4) Opioid antagonist;
(5) Benzodiazapine antagonist;
(6) Antihistaminic;
(7) Anticholinergic;
(8) Anticonvulsant;
(9) Epinephrine;
(10) Antiarrythmic;
(11) Coronary artery vasodilator; and
(12) Antihypertensive;

ii. Electrocardiograph monitor;
iii. Pulse oximeter;
iv. Cardiac defibrillator or automated external defibrillator AED;
v. Positive pressure oxygen and supplemental oxygen;
vi. Suction equipment, including endotracheal, tonsillar, or pharyngeal and emergency backup medical suction device;
vii. Laryngoscope, multiple blades, backup batteries, and backup bulbs;
viii. Endotracheal tubes and appropriate connectors;
ix. Magill forceps;
x. Oropharyngeal and nasopharyngeal airways;
xi. Auxiliary lighting;
xii. Stethoscope; and
xiii. Blood pressure monitoring device; and
xiv. End tidal capnography; and 

b. Maintains a staff of supervised personnel capable of handling procedures, complications, and emergency incidents. All per-
sonnel involved in administering and monitoring General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation shall hold a current course comple-
tion confirmation in Basic Life Support Health Care Provider Level endorsed by the American Heart Association
cardiopulmonary resuscitation healthcare provider level;

3. Hold a valid license to practice dentistry in this state;
4. Maintain a current permit to prescribe and administer Controlled Substances in this state issued by the United States Drug

Enforcement Administration; and
5. Provide confirmation of completing ACLS certification from the American Heart Association or another agency that follows the

same procedures, standards, and techniques for training as the American Heart Association coursework within the two years
prior to submitting the permit application in one or more of the following:
a. Advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) from the American Heart Association or another agency that follows the same pro-

cedures, standards, and techniques for training as the American Heart Association;
b. Pediatric advanced life support (PALS) in a practice treating pediatric patients; or
c. A recognized continuing education course in advanced airway management.

6. In order to renew a Section 1301 Permit, provide confirmation of completing continuing education for high fidelity human sim-
ulation involving crises management within five years prior to submitting the renewal permit application.

C. Before a Section 1301 Permit holder administers General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation, by any means, in a dental office or dental
clinic, to a patient who is less than eight years of age, the dentist shall possess a Pediatric Endorsement issued by the Board. A dentist
who has obtained a Section 1301 Permit with a Pediatric Endorsement pursuant to this section may administer General Anesthesia
and lower levels of sedation to a patient who is less than eight years of age. The dentist may renew the Pediatric Endorsement every
three years by complying with subsection (D).

D. To obtain or renew a Pediatric Endorsement for a Section 1301 Permit, a Dentist shall:
1. Maintain PALS certification; and
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2. Either:
a. Have completed a CODA-accredited residency program that has a standard for pediatric anesthesia training within the two

years immediately preceding the dentist’s application for a Pediatric Endorsement, or
b. If the dentist completed a residency more than three years prior to the dentist’s application, submit an affidavit to the Board

indicating the dentist has provided intravenous Moderate Sedation, Deep Sedation, or General Anesthesia for 30 pediatric
patients within three years immediately preceding the dentist’s application. Cases completed with a dental practitioner who
maintains a Section 1301 Permit with a Pediatric Endorsement can count towards the 30 cases; and complete 20 Credit
Hours of Recognized Continuing Dental Education training over the past three years in areas of pediatric airway anatomy,
physical evaluation, medical conditions, pharmacology, sedation, General Anesthesia, and medical emergencies.

C.E.  In addition to meeting the requirements of subsection (B), initial Initial applicants shall meet one or more of the following conditions
by submitting to the Board verification of meeting the condition directly from the issuing institution:
1. Complete, within the three years before submitting the permit application, a full credit load, as defined by the training program,

during one calendar year of training, in anesthesiology or related academic subjects, beyond the undergraduate dental school
level in a training program described in R4-11-1306(A), offered by a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission on Accredita-
tion of Hospitals Organization, or sponsored by a university accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on
Dental Accreditation; Submit proof to the Board directly from the issuing institution of successful completion of an accredited
U.S. or Canadian residency in oral and maxillofacial surgery; or

2. Be, within the three years before submitting the permit application, a Diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofa-
cial Surgeons or eligible for examination by the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial surgeons, a Fellow of the American
Association of Oral and Maxillofacial surgeons, a Fellow of the American Dental Society of Anesthesiology, a Diplomate of the
National Dental Board of Anesthesiology, or a Diplomate of the American Dental Board of Anesthesiology; or Submit proof to
the Board directly from the issuing institution of successful completion of an accredited U.S. or Canadian residency in dental
anesthesiology. For graduates of a dental anesthesiology residency program prior to CODA or Canadian provincial accredita-
tion, the program must have met the educational and duration requirements of the American Dental Association Guidelines for
Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Anxiety and Pain in Dentistry at the Advanced Education Level (Part II), in effect at the
time of residency completion.

3. For an applicant who completed the requirements of subsections (C)(1) or (C)(2) more than three years before submitting the
permit application, provide the following documentation:
a. On a form provided by the Board, a written affidavit affirming that the applicant has administered general anesthesia or

deep sedation to a minimum of 25 patients within the year before submitting the permit application or 75 patients within the
last five years before submitting the permit application; 

b. A copy of the general anesthesia or deep sedation permit in effect in another state or certification of military training in gen-
eral anesthesia or deep sedation from the applicant’s commanding officer; and

c. On a form provided by the Board, a written affidavit affirming the completion of 30 clock hours of continuing education
taken within the last five years as outlined in R4-11-1306(B)(1)(a) through (f).

D.F. After submitting the application and written evidence of compliance with requirements in subsection subsections (B) and, if applica-
ble, subsection (C) (E) to the Board, the applicant shall schedule an onsite evaluation by the Board during which the applicant shall
administer General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation. After the applicant completes the application requirements and successfully com-
pletes the onsite evaluation, a Section 1301 Permit shall be issued to the applicant.
1. The onsite evaluation team shall consist of:

a. Two dentists who are Board members, or Board designees for initial applications; or
b. One dentist who is a Board member or Board designee for renewal applications.

2. The onsite team shall evaluate the following: 
a. The availability of equipment and personnel as specified in subsection (B)(2); 
b. Proper administration of General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation to a patient by the applicant in the presence of the evaluation

team; 
c. Successful responses by the applicant to oral examination questions from the evaluation team about patient management,

medical emergencies, and emergency medications;
d. Proper documentation of Controlled Substances, that includes a perpetual inventory log showing the receipt, administra-

tion, dispensing, and destruction of Controlled Substances; and
e. Proper recordkeeping as specified in subsection (E) (H) by reviewing the records generated for the patient specified in sub-

section (D)(2)(b) (F)(2)(b); and
f. For renewal applicants, records supporting continued competency as specified in R4-11-1306 subsection (U).

3. The evaluation team shall recommend one of the following:
a. Pass. Successful completion of the onsite evaluation;
b. Conditional Approval for failing to have appropriate equipment, proper documentation of Controlled Substances, or proper

recordkeeping. The applicant must submit proof of correcting the deficiencies before a permit is issued;
c. Category 1 Evaluation Failure. The applicant must review the appropriate subject matter and schedule a subsequent evalua-

tion by two Board Members or Board designees not less than 30 days from the failed evaluation. An example is failure to
recognize and manage one emergency;

d. Category 2 Evaluation Failure. The applicant must complete Board approved continuing education Recognized Continuing
Dental Education in subject matter within the scope of the onsite evaluation as identified by the evaluators and schedule a
subsequent evaluation by two Board Members or Board designees not less than 60 days from the failed evaluation. An
example is failure to recognize and manage more than one emergency; or

e. Category 3 Evaluation Failure. The applicant must complete Board approved remedial continuing education Recognized
Continuing Dental Education with the subject matter outlined in R4-11-1306 this Article as identified by the evaluators and
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reapply not less than 90 days from the failed evaluation. An example is failure to recognize and manage an anesthetic
urgency.

4. The onsite evaluation of an additional dental office or dental clinic in which General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation is adminis-
tered by an existing Section 1301 permit holder may be waived by the Board staff upon receipt in the Board office of an affidavit
verifying compliance with subsection (D)(2)(a) An applicant who meets the requirement of subsection (E)(2), does not need to
complete an onsite evaluation according to this section.

5.G.  A Section 1301 mobile permit may be issued if a Section 1301 permit holder travels to dental offices or dental clinics to provide
anesthesia or deep sedation. The To obtain a Mobile Permit for a Section 1301 Permit, the applicant must shall submit a completed
affidavit verifying:

a. That the equipment and supplies for the provision of anesthesia or Deep Sedation as required in subsection (B)(2)(a) either
travel with the Section 1301 Permit holder or are in place and in appropriate condition at the dental office or dental clinic
where anesthesia or Deep Sedation is provided, and

b. Compliance with subsection (B)(2)(b).
E.H. A Section 1301 Permit holder shall keep an anesthesia or Deep Sedation record for each General Anesthesia and Deep Sedation pro-

cedure that includes the following entries:
1. Pre-operative,Intra-operative and post-operative electrocardiograph documentation;
2. Pre-operative, intra-operative, Intra-operative and post-operative pulse oximeter documentation;
3. Pre-operative, intra-operative, Intra-operative and post-operative blood pressure and vital sign documentation;
4. Documentation of intra-operative and post-operative monitoring of ventilatory status utilizing capnography or precordial stetho-

scope;
4.5. A list of all medications given, with dosage and time intervals, and route and site of administration; 
5.6. Type of catheter or portal with gauge;
6.7. Indicate nothing by mouth or time of last intake of food or water;
7.8. Consent form; and
8.9. Time of discharge and status, including name of escort.

F.I. The Section 1301 Permit holder shall only use intraosseous access exclusively for emergency situations. The Section 1301 permit
holder, for intravenous access, shall use a new infusion set, including a new infusion line and new bag of fluid, for each patient.

G.J. The Section 1301 Permit holder shall utilize supplemental oxygen for patients receiving General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation for the
duration of the procedure as necessary.

H.K. The Section 1301 Permit holder shall continuously supervise the patient from the initiation of anesthesia or Deep Sedation until ter-
mination of the anesthesia or Deep Sedation procedure and oxygenation, ventilation, and circulation are stable. 

L. The Section 1301 Permit holder, shall establish written guidelines for discharging a patient.
M. The Section 1301 Permit holder shall not commence with the administration of a subsequent anesthetic case until the patient is in

monitored recovery or meets the guidelines for discharge.
I.N. A Section 1301 Permit holder may employ or work with a QAP the following health care professionals to provide anesthesia or seda-

tion services and shall ensure that the health care professional QAP continuously supervises the patient from the administration of
anesthesia or sedation until termination of the anesthesia or sedation procedure and oxygenation, ventilation, and circulation are sta-
ble:
1. An allopathic or osteopathic physician currently licensed in Arizona by the Arizona Medical Board or the Arizona Board of

Osteopathic Examiners who has successfully completed a residency program in anesthesiology approved by the American
Council on Graduate Medical Education or the American Osteopathic Association or who is certified by either the American
Board of Anesthesiology or the American Osteopathic Board of Anesthesiology and is credentialed with anesthesia privileges
through an Arizona licensed medical facility, or

2. A Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist currently licensed in Arizona who provides services under the Nurse Practice Act in
A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 15.

J.O. A Section 1301 Permit holder may also administer parenteral Parenteral Moderate Sedation or lower levels of sedation without
obtaining a Section 1302 Permit or a Section 1303 Permit.

P. The Section 1301 Permit holder who administers General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation shall ensure there is an additional person pres-
ent with the patient during the procedure who has:
1. A current certification in PALS if the patient is less than eight years of age; or
2. A current certification in ACLS or completed four clock hours of a Recognized Continuing Dental Education course in advanced

airway management or General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation within two years prior to the procedure.
Q. If the Section 1301 Permit holder who administers General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation to a patient is the operating dentist, the Sec-

tion 1301 Permit holder shall ensure the additional person present for the procedure according to subsection (P) has the primary
responsibility of monitoring the patient during the procedure.

R. A Section 1301 Permit holder who has obtained a Pediatric Endorsement according to subsection (D), and who administers General
Anesthesia or Deep Sedation to a patient who is less than eight years of age shall ensure:
1. The following persons are present, in addition to the Section 1301 Permit holder, with the patient during the procedure:

a. A person who has a current certification in PALS; and
b. A person having a current certification in Basic Life Support Health Care Provider Level endorsed by the American Heart

Association or ACLS; and
2. The additional person present during the procedure under subsection (R)(1)(a) monitors the patient after the patient’s oxygen-

ation, ventilation, and circulation are stable until the patient meets criteria for discharge using a recognized pediatric discharge
scoring system.

S. Except as permitted according to subsection (C), a Section 1301 Permit holder cannot provide any anesthesia or sedation services
under this section to a patient that is less than eight years of age.
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T. A Section 1301 Permit holder shall not perform a procedure in a dental office or dental clinic, with the administration of General
Anesthesia or Deep Sedation that the Section 1301 Permit holder anticipates to be longer than five hours.

U. In addition to meeting the requirements in subsection (B), in order to renew a Section 1301 Permit, the permit holder shall:
1. Participate in 30 clock hours of continuing education every five years in one or more of the following areas:

a. General Anesthesia,
b. Parenteral sedation,
c. Physical evaluation,
d. Medical emergencies,
e. Monitoring and use of monitoring equipment, or
f. Pharmacology of Drugs and non-Drug substances used in General Anesthesia or Parenteral sedation; and

2. Complete at least 10 General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation cases per calendar year; and
3. Apply a maximum of six hours of ACLS coursework toward the continuing education requirements for subsection (U)(1).

R4-11-1302. Parenteral Moderate Sedation
A. Before administering parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation in a dental office or dental clinic, a dentist shall possess a Sec-

tion 1302 Permit issued by the Board. The dentist may renew a Section 1302 Permit every five three years by complying with R4-11-
1307.
1. A Section 1301 Permit holder may also administer parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation.
2. A Section 1302 Permit holder shall not administer or employ any agents which have a narrow margin for maintaining conscious-

ness including, but not limited to, ultra-short acting barbiturates, propofol, parenteral Parenteral ketamine, or similarly acting
Drugs, agents, or techniques, or any combination thereof that would likely render a patient deeply sedated, generally anesthe-
tized or otherwise not meeting the conditions of Moderate Sedation.

B. To obtain or renew a Section 1302 Permit, the dentist shall:
1. Submit a completed application on a form provided by the Board office that, in addition to the requirements of subsections

(B)(2) and (3) and R4-11-1307, includes:
a. General information about the applicant such as:

i. Name;
ii. Home and office addresses and telephone numbers;
iii. Limitations of practice;
iv. Hospital affiliations;
v. Denial, curtailment, revocation, or suspension of hospital privileges;
vi. Denial of membership in, denial of renewal of membership in, or disciplinary action by a dental organization; and
vii. Denial of licensure by, denial of renewal of licensure by, or disciplinary action by a dental regulatory body; and

b. The dentist’s dated and signed affidavit stating that the information provided is true, and that the dentist has read and com-
plied with the Board’s statutes and rules; 

2. On forms provided by the Board, provide a dated and signed affidavit attesting that any dental office or dental clinic where the
dentist will administer parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation by intravenous or intramuscular route: 
a. Contains the following properly operating equipment and supplies during the provision of parenteral Parenteral Moderate

sedation Sedation by the permit holder or QAP General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation by a physician anesthesiologist or
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist:
i. The following emergency Emergency Drugs;:

(1) Vasopressor;
(2) Corticosteroid;
(3) Bronchodilator;
(4) Opioid antagonist;
(5) Benzodiazepine antagonist;
(6) Antihistaminic;
(7) Anticholinergic;
(8) Anticonvulsant;
(9) Epinephrine;
(10) Antiarrythmic;
(11) Coronary artery vasodilator; and
(12) Antihypertensive;

ii. Positive pressure oxygen and supplemental oxygen;
iii. Stethoscope;
iv. Suction equipment, including tonsillar or pharyngeal and emergency backup medical suction device;
v. Oropharyngeal and nasopharyngeal airways;
vi. Pulse oximeter;
vii. Auxiliary lighting;
viii. Blood pressure monitoring device; and
ix. Cardiac defibrillator or automated external defibrillator AED; and
x. A pretrachial stethoscope, precordial stethoscope, or end tidal capnography; and 

b. Maintains a staff of supervised personnel capable of handling procedures, complications, and emergency incidents, includ-
ing at least one staff member who:
i. Holds a current course completion confirmation in Basic Life Support Health Care Provider Level endorsed by the

American Heart Association cardiopulmonary resuscitation healthcare provider level;
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ii. Is present during the parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation procedure to monitor appropriate physiologic
parameters and to assist in any supportive or resuscitation measures; and

iii. After the procedure, monitors the patient until discharge;
3. Hold a valid license to practice dentistry in this state; 
4. Maintain a current permit to prescribe and administer Controlled Substances in this state issued by the United States Drug

Enforcement Administration; 
5. Provide confirmation of completing coursework within the two years prior to submitting the permit application in one or more of

the following:
a. Advanced cardiac life support ACLS from the American Heart Association or another agency that follows the same proce-

dures, standards, and techniques for training as the American Heart Association; or
b. Pediatric advanced life support (PALS) in a practice treating pediatric patients; or
c.b. A recognized continuing education Recognized Continuing Dental Education course in advanced airway management or

Moderate Sedation.
6. In order to renew a Section 1302 Permit, provide confirmation of completing Recognized Continuing Dental Education for

human simulation involving crises management within six years prior to submitting the renewal permit application.
C. A dentist shall not administer Parenteral Moderate Sedation to a patient who is less than eight years of age. A dentist who has

obtained a Section 1302 Permit with a Pediatric Endorsement pursuant to this section may administer Enteral Moderate Sedation and
lower levels of sedation to a patient who is less than eight years of age. The dentist may renew the Pediatric Endorsement every three
years by complying with subsection (D).

D. To obtain or renew a Pediatric Endorsement for a Section 1302 Permit, a Dentist shall:
1. Maintain PALS certification; and
2. Have completed a CODA-accredited residency program that has a standard for pediatric anesthesia training within the two years

immediately preceding the dentist’s application for a Pediatric Endorsement; or
3. The dentist shall submit an affidavit to the Board indicating the dentist has provided Enteral Moderate Sedation for 15 pediatric

patients within three years immediately preceding the dentist’s application. Cases for Enteral Moderate Sedation, completed
with a dental practitioner who maintains a Section 1301 Permit with a Pediatric Endorsement can count towards the 15 cases;
and complete 20 Credit Hours of Recognized Continuing Dental Education training over the past three years in areas of pediatric
airway anatomy, physical evaluation, medical conditions, pharmacology, sedation, General Anesthesia, and medical emergen-
cies.

C.E.  Initial applicants shall meet one of the following conditions by submitting to the Board verification of meeting the condition directly
from the issuing institution:
1. Successfully complete Board-recognized undergraduate, graduate, or postgraduate education within the three years before sub-

mitting the permit application, that includes the following:
a. Sixty didactic hours of basic parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation to include:

i. Physical evaluation;
ii. Management of medical emergencies;
iii. The importance of and techniques for maintaining proper documentation; and
iv. Monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment; and 

b. Hands-on personal administration of parenteral sedative medications for Parenteral Moderate Sedation to at least 20
patients in a manner consistent with this Section; or

2. An applicant who completed training in parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation more than three years before submit-
ting the permit application shall provide the following documentation:
a. On a form provided by the Board, a written affidavit affirming that the applicant has administered parenteral Parenteral

Moderate sedation Sedation to a minimum of 25 patients within the year or 75 patients within the last five years before sub-
mitting the permit application;

b. A copy of the parenteral Parenteral sedation permit in effect in another state or certification of military training in parenteral
Parenteral sedation from the applicant's commanding officer; and

c. On a form provided by the Board, a written affidavit affirming the completion of 30 clock hours of continuing education
Recognized Continuing Dental Education taken within the last five years as outlined in R4-11-1306(B)(1)(b) through (f)
this Article.

D.F. After submitting the application and written evidence of compliance with requirements outlined in subsection (B) and, if applicable,
subsection (C) (E) to the Board, the applicant shall schedule an onsite evaluation by the Board during which the applicant shall
administer parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation. After the applicant completes the application requirements and success-
fully completes the onsite evaluation, the Board shall issue a Section 1302 Permit to the applicant.
1. The onsite evaluation team shall consist of:

a. Two dentists who are Board members, or Board designees for initial applications, or
b. One dentist who is a Board member or Board designee for renewal applications.

2. The onsite team shall evaluate the following: 
a. The availability of equipment and personnel as specified in subsection (B)(2); 
b. Proper administration of parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation to a patient by the applicant in the presence of

the evaluation team; 
c. Successful responses by the applicant to oral examination questions from the evaluation team about patient management,

medical emergencies, and emergency medications;
d. Proper documentation of Controlled Substances, that includes a perpetual inventory log showing the receipt, administra-

tion, dispensing, and destruction of all Controlled Substances; 
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e. Proper recordkeeping as specified in subsection (E) (I) by reviewing the records generated for the patient receiving paren-
teral Parenteral sedation as specified in subsection (D)(2)(b)(F)(2)(b); and

f. For renewal applicants, records supporting continued competency as specified in subsection (K)R4-11-1306.
3. The evaluation team shall recommend one of the following:

a. Pass. Successful completion of the onsite evaluation;
b. Conditional Approval for failing to have appropriate equipment, proper documentation of Controlled Substances, or proper

recordkeeping. The applicant must submit proof of correcting the deficiencies before a permit is issued;
c. Category 1 Evaluation Failure. The applicant must review the appropriate subject matter and schedule a subsequent evalua-

tion by two Board Members or Board designees not less than 30 days from the failed evaluation. An example is failure to
recognize and manage one emergency;

d. Category 2 Evaluation Failure. The applicant must complete Board approved continuing education Recognized Continuing
Dental Education in subject matter within the scope of the onsite evaluation as identified by the evaluators and schedule a
subsequent evaluation by two Board Members or Board designees not less than 60 days from the failed evaluation. An
example is failure to recognize and manage more than one emergency; or

e. Category 3 Evaluation Failure. The applicant must complete Board approved continuing education Recognized Continuing
Dental Education with the subject matter outlined in R4-11-1306 as identified by the evaluators and reapply not less than 90
days from the failed evaluation. An example is failure to recognize and manage an anesthetic urgency.

4. The onsite evaluation of an additional dental office or dental clinic in which parenteral sedation is administered by an existing
Section 1302 Permit holder may be waived by the Board staff upon receipt in the Board office of an affidavit verifying compli-
ance with subsection (D)(2)(a).

5.4. To obtain a Mobile Permit for a Section 1302 Permit, A Section 1302 mobile permit may be issued if a Section 1302 Permit
holder travels to dental offices or dental clinics to provide parenteral sedation. The the applicant must shall submit a completed
affidavit verifying:
a. That the equipment and supplies for the provision of parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation as required in R4-

11-1302(B)(2)(a) either travel with the Section 1302 Permit holder or are in place and in appropriate working condition at
the dental office or dental clinic where parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation is provided, and

b. Compliance with R4-11-1302(B)(2)(b).
G. A Section 1302 Permit holder shall complete an onsite evaluation that complies with subsection (F) in order to renew a Section 1302

Permit every six years.
H. A Section 1302 Permit holder does not need to comply with subsection (F)(2)(b) to renew a Section 1302 Permit.
E.I. A Section 1302 Permit holder shall keep a parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation record for each parenteral Parenteral

Moderate sedation Sedation procedure that: includes
1. Includes the following entries:
a.1. Pre-operative, intra-operative, Intra-operative and post-operative pulse oximeter documentation;
b.2. Pre-operative, intra-operative, Intra-operative and post-operative blood pressure and vital sign documentation;
3. Documentation of intra-operative and post-operative monitoring of ventilatory status utilizing capnography or precordial stetho-

scope.
c.4. A list of all medications given, with dosage and time intervals and route and site of administration;
d.5. Type of catheter or portal with gauge;
e.6. Indicate nothing by mouth or time of last intake of food or water;
f.7. Consent form; and
g.8. Time of discharge and status, including name of escort; and
2. May include pre-operative and post-operative electrocardiograph report.

J. The Section 1302 Permit holder shall only use intraosseous access exclusively for emergency situations.
K. In addition to meeting the requirements in subsection (B), in order to renew a Section 1302 Permit, the permit holder shall:

1. Participate in 18 clock hours of continuing education every three years in one or more of the following areas:
a. General Anesthesia,
b. Parenteral sedation,
c. Physical evaluation,
d. Medical emergencies,
e. Monitoring and use of monitoring equipment, or
f. Pharmacology of Drugs and non-Drug substances used in General Anesthesia or Parenteral sedation; and

2. Complete at least 10 Moderate Sedation cases per calendar year; and
3. Apply a maximum of six hours of ACLS coursework toward the continuing education requirements for subsection (K)(1).

F.L. The Section 1302 Permit holder shall establish intravenous access on each patient receiving parenteral sedation utilizing a new infu-
sion set, including a new infusion line and new bag of fluid. The Section 1302 Permit holder shall establish a functional intravenous
catheter for each patient receiving sedation services.

G.M.The Section 1302 Permit holder shall utilize supplemental oxygen for patients receiving parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation
Sedation for the duration of the procedure as necessary.

H.N.The Section 1302 Permit holder shall continuously supervise the patient from the initiation of parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation
Sedation until termination of the parenteral Parenteral Moderate sedation Sedation procedure and oxygenation, ventilation and circu-
lation are stable. 

O. The Section 1302 Permit holder shall establish written guidelines for discharging a patient.
P. The Section 1302 Permit holder shall not commence with the administration of a subsequent anesthetic case until the patient is in

monitored recovery or meets the guidelines for discharge.
I. A Section 1302 Permit holder may employ a health care professional as specified in R4-11-1301(I).
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Q. A Section 1302 Permit holder who has obtained a Pediatric Endorsement according to subsection (D), and who administers Enteral
Moderate Sedation to a pediatric patient who is less than eight years of age shall ensure:
1. The following additional persons are present with the patient during the procedure:

a. One person who has a current certification in PALS or ACLS; and
b. One person having a current certification in Basic Life Support Health Care Provider Level endorsed by the American

Heart Association or ACLS; and
2. A person who has a current certification in PALS or ACLS and monitors the patient after the patient’s oxygenation, ventilation,

and circulation are stable until the patient meets criteria for discharge using a recognized pediatric discharge scoring system.
R. Except as according to subsection (C), a Section 1302 Permit holder may also administer Enteral Moderate Sedation or lower levels

of sedation without obtaining a Section 1303 Permit.
S. A Section 1302 Permit holder shall not perform a procedure, with the administration of any sedation, the Section 1302 Permit holder

anticipates to be longer than five hours, in a dental office or dental clinic.

R4-11-1303. Enteral Moderate Oral Sedation
A. Before administering Enteral Moderate Sedation Oral Sedation in a dental office or dental clinic, a dentist shall possess a Section

1303 Permit issued by the Board. The dentist may renew a Section 1303 Permit every five three years by complying with R4-11-
1307.
1. A Section 1301 Permit holder or Section 1302 Permit holder may also administer oral sedation without obtaining a Section 1303

Permit.
2. The administration of a single Drug for minimal sedation does not require a Section 1303 Permit if:

a. The administered dose is within the Food and Drug Administration’s maximum recommended dose as printed in the Food
and Drug Administration’s approved labeling for unmonitored home use;
i. Incremental multiple doses of the drug may be administered until the desired effect is reached, but does not exceed the

maximum recommended dose; and
ii. During minimal sedation, a single supplemental dose may be administered. The supplemental dose may not exceed

one-half of the initial dose and the total aggregate dose may not exceed one and one-half times the Food and Drug
Administration’s maximum recommended dose on the date of treatment; and

b. Nitrous oxide/oxygen may be administered in addition to the oral drug as long as the combination does not exceed minimal
sedation.

B. To obtain or renew a Section 1303 Permit, a dentist shall:
1. Submit a completed application on a form provided by the Board office that, in addition to the requirements of subsections

(B)(2) and (3) and R4-11-1307, includes:
a. General information about the applicant such as:

i. Name;
ii. Home and office addresses and telephone numbers;
iii. Limitations of practice;
iv. Hospital affiliations;
v. Denial, curtailment, revocation, or suspension of hospital privileges;
vi. Denial of membership in, denial of renewal of membership in, or disciplinary action by a dental organization; and
vii. Denial of licensure by, denial of renewal of licensure by, or disciplinary action by a dental regulatory body; and

b. The dentist’s dated and signed affidavit stating that the information provided is true, and that the dentist has read and com-
plied with the Board’s statutes and rules;

2. On forms provided by the Board, provide a dated and signed affidavit attesting that any dental office or dental clinic where the
dentist will administer Enteral Moderate Sedation Oral Sedation:
a. Contains the following properly operating equipment and supplies during the provision of sedation:

i. The following emergency Emergency Drugs;:
(1) Vasopressor;
(2) Bronchodilator;
(3) Opioid antagonist;
(4) Benzodiazepine antagonist;
(5) Antihistaminic;
(6) Anticholinergic;
(7) Anticonvulsant;
(8) Coronary artery vasodilator;

ii. Cardiac defibrillator or automated external defibrillator AED;
iii. Positive pressure oxygen and supplemental oxygen;
iv. Stethoscope;
v. Suction equipment, including tonsillar or pharyngeal and emergency backup medical suction device;
vi. Pulse oximeter;
vii. Blood pressure monitoring device; and
viii. Auxiliary lighting; and
ix. A pretracheal or precordial stethoscope, or end tidal capnography; and

b. Maintains a staff of supervised personnel capable of handling procedures, complications, and emergency incidents, includ-
ing at least one staff member who:
i. Holds a current certificate in Basic Life Support Health Care Provider Level endorsed by the American Heart Associ-

ation cardiopulmonary resuscitation healthcare provider level;
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ii. Is present during the Enteral Moderate Sedation Oral Sedation procedure to monitor appropriate physiologic parame-
ters and to assist in any supportive or resuscitation measures; and

iii. After the procedure is completed, adequately monitors the patient on a one-on-one basis until discharge criteria is met;
3. Hold a valid license to practice dentistry in this state;
4. Maintain a current permit to prescribe and administer Controlled Substances in this state issued by the United States Drug

Enforcement Administration;
5. Provide confirmation of completing coursework within the two years prior to submitting the permit application in one or more of

the following:
a. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation healthcare Provider Level ACLS from the American Heart Association, American Red

Cross, or another agency that follows the same procedures, standards, and techniques for training as the American Heart
Association or American Red Cross; or

b. Pediatric advanced life support (PALS) in a practice treating pediatric patients; or
c.b. A recognized continuing education Recognized Continuing Dental Education course in advanced airway management.

6. Provide affidavit confirming completion of PALS coursework within the two years prior to submitting the permit application if
the Section 1303 Permit holder is treating patients less than eight years of age.

C. Before administering Enteral Moderate Sedation in a dental office or dental clinic, to a patient who is less than eight years of age, a
dentist shall possess a Section 1303 Permit with a Pediatric Endorsement issued by the Board. A dentist who has obtained a Section
1302 Permit with a Pediatric Endorsement pursuant to this section may utilize a QAP according to R4-11-1304. The dentist may
renew the Pediatric Endorsement every three years by complying with subsection (D).

D. To obtain or renew a Pediatric Endorsement for a Section 1303 Permit, a Dentist shall:
1. Maintain a PALS certification; and
2. Have completed a CODA-accredited residency program that has a standard for pediatric anesthesia training within the two years

immediately preceding the dentist’s application for a Pediatric Endorsement; or
3. The dentist shall submit an affidavit to the Board indicating the dentist has provided Enteral Moderate Sedation for 15 patients,

who are less than eight years of age, within three years immediately preceding the dentist’s application. Cases for Enteral Mod-
erate Sedation completed with a Permit Holder who maintains a Pediatric Endorsement, can count towards the 15 cases; and
complete 20 Credit Hours, in addition to the 30 Credit Hours required according to subsection (E)(1), of Recognized Continuing
Dental Education training over the past two years in areas of pediatric airway anatomy, physical evaluation, medical conditions,
pharmacology, sedation, General Anesthesia, and medical emergencies.

C.E.  Initial applicants shall meet one of the following conditions by submitting to the Board verification of meeting the condition directly
from the issuing institution:
1. Complete a Board-recognized post-doctoral residency program that includes documented training in Oral Sedation within the

last three years before submitting the permit application; or Provide a written affidavit of successfully completing 30 hours of
Recognized Continuing Dental Education within the three years before submitting the permit application, that includes the fol-
lowing Enteral Moderate Sedation training:
a. Physical evaluation;
b. Pharmacology;
c. Management of medical emergencies;
d. The importance of, and techniques for, maintaining proper documentation; and
e. Monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment; or

2. An applicant who completed Complete a Board recognized post-doctoral residency program that includes documented training
in Enteral Moderate Sedation Oral Sedation more than three years before submitting the permit application shall provide the fol-
lowing documentation:
a. On a form provided by the Board, a written affidavit affirming that the applicant has administered enteral Enteral Moderate

Sedation oral sedation to a minimum of 2520 patients within the year or 75 patients within the last five years before submit-
ting the permit application;

b. A copy of the Oral sedation permit in effect in another state or certification of military training in Enteral Moderate Seda-
tion Oral Sedation from the applicant’s commanding officer; and

c. On a form provided by the Board, a written affidavit affirming the completion of 30 hours of continuing education Recog-
nized Continuing Dental Education taken within the last five years as outlined in R4-11-1306(C)(1)(a) through (f); or this
Article.

3. Provide proof of participation in 30 clock hours of Board-recognized undergraduate, graduate, or post-graduate education in oral
sedation within the three years before submitting the permit application that includes:
a. Training in basic oral sedation,
b. Pharmacology,
c. Physical evaluation,
d. Management of medical emergencies,
e. The importance of and techniques for maintaining proper documentation, and
f. Monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment.

F. To renew a Section 1303 Permit, an applicant shall provide proof of participation in 18 clock hours of Board-recognized undergradu-
ate, graduate, or post-graduate education in oral sedation within the three years before submitting the permit application that includes:
1. Training in basic oral sedation,
2. Pharmacology,
3. Physical evaluation,
4. Management of medical emergencies,
5. The importance of and techniques for maintaining proper documentation, and
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6. Monitoring and the use of monitoring equipment.
D.G. After submitting the application and written evidence of compliance with requirements in subsection (B) and, if applicable, subsec-

tion (C) (E) to the Board, the applicant shall schedule an onsite evaluation by the Board. After the applicant completes the application
requirements and successfully completes the onsite evaluation, the Board shall issue a Section 1303 Permit to the applicant.
1. The onsite evaluation team shall consist of:

a. For initial applications, two dentists who are Board members, or Board designees.
b. For renewal applications, one dentist who is a Board member, or Board designee.

2. The onsite team shall evaluate the following: 
a. The availability of equipment and personnel as specified in subsection (B)(2); 
b. Successful responses by the applicant to oral examination questions from the evaluation team about patient management,

medical emergencies, and emergency medications;
c. Proper documentation of Controlled Substances, that includes a perpetual inventory log showing the receipt, administra-

tion, dispensing, and destruction of Controlled Substances;
d. Proper recordkeeping as specified in subsection (E)(I) by reviewing the forms that document the oral sedation record; and
e. For renewal applicants, records supporting continued competency as specified in R4-11-1306this Article.

3. The evaluation team shall recommend one of the following:
a. Pass. Successful completion of the onsite evaluation;
b. Conditional Approval for failing to have appropriate equipment, proper documentation of Controlled Substances, or proper

recordkeeping. The applicant must submit proof of correcting the deficiencies before permit will be issued;
c. Category 1 Evaluation Failure. The applicant must review the appropriate subject matter and schedule a subsequent evalua-

tion by two Board Members or Board designees not less than 30 days from the failed evaluation. An example is failure to
recognize and manage one emergency; or

d. Category 2 Evaluation Failure. The applicant must complete Board approved continuing education Recognized Continuing
Dental Education in subject matter within the scope of the onsite evaluation as identified by the evaluators and schedule a
subsequent evaluation by two Board Members or Board designees not less than 60 days from the failed evaluation. An
example is failure to recognize and manage more than one emergency.

4. The onsite evaluation of an additional dental office or dental clinic in which Enteral Moderate Sedation Oral Sedation is admin-
istered by a Section 1303 Permit holder may be waived by the Board staff upon receipt in the Board office of an affidavit verify-
ing compliance with subsection (D)(2)(a)(G)(2)(a).

5. To obtain a Mobile Permit for a Section 1303 Permit A Section 1303 mobile permit may be issued if the Section 1303 Permit
holder travels to dental offices or dental clinics to provide Oral Sedation. The the applicant must shall submit a completed affida-
vit verifying:
a. That the equipment and supplies for the provision of Enteral Moderate Sedation Oral Sedation as required in R4-11-

1303(B)(2)(a) either travel with the Section 1303 Permit holder or are in place and in appropriate condition at the dental
office or dental clinic where Enteral Moderate Sedation Oral Sedation is provided, and

b. Compliance with R4-11-1303(B)(2)(b).
H. Notwithstanding any other section, an onsite evaluation shall be required to renew a Section 1303 Permit every six years.
E.I.  A Section 1303 Permit holder shall keep a an Oral sedation record for each Oral sedation procedure that:

1. Includes the following entries:
a. Pre-operative, intra-operative, and post-operative, pulse oximeter oxygen saturation and pulse rate documentation;
b. Pre-operative and post-operative blood pressure;
c. Documented reasons for not taking vital signs if a patient’s behavior or emotional state prevents monitoring personnel from

taking vital signs; 
d. List of all medications given, including dosage and time intervals;
e. Patient’s weight;
f. Consent form;
g. Special notes, such as, nothing by mouth or List of the patient’s last intake of food or water; and
h. Evaluation of the patient’s airway;
i. Time of discharge and status, including name of escort; and

2. May include the following entries:
a. Pre-operative and post-operative electrocardiograph report; and
b. Intra-operative blood pressures.

F.J. The Section 1303 Permit holder shall utilize supplemental oxygen for patients receiving Enteral moderate Oral sedation for the dura-
tion of the procedure as necessary.

G.K.The Section 1303 Permit holder shall ensure the continuous supervision of the patient from the administration of Enteral moderate
Oral sedation until oxygenation, ventilation and circulation are stable and the patient is appropriately responsive for discharge from
the dental office or dental clinic.

L. A Section 1303 Permit holder who has obtained a Pediatric Endorsement according to subsection (D), and who administers Enteral
Moderate Sedation to a pediatric patient who is less than eight years of age shall ensure:
1. The following additional persons are present with the patient during the procedure:

a. One person who has a current certification in PALS or ACLS; and
b. One person having a current certification in Basic Life Support Health Care Provider Level endorsed by the American

Heart Association or ACLS; and
2. A person who has a current certification in PALS or ACLS and monitors the patient after the patient’s oxygenation, ventilation,

and circulation are stable until the patient meets criteria for discharge using a recognized pediatric discharge scoring system.
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H. A Section 1303 permit holder may employ a health care professional to provide anesthesia services, if all of the following conditions
are met:
1. The physician anesthesiologist or Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist meets the requirements as specified in R4-11-1301(I);
2. The Section 1303 Permit holder has completed coursework within the two years prior to submitting the permit application in one

or more of the following:
a. Advanced Cardiac Life Support from the American Heart Association or another agency that follows the same procedures,

standards, and techniques for training as the American Heart Association;
b. Pediatric Advanced Life Support in a practice treating pediatric patients;
c. A recognized continuing education course in advanced airway management;

3. The Section 1303 Permit holder ensures that:
a. The dental office or clinic contains the equipment and supplies listed in R4-11-1304(B)(2)(a) during the provision of anes-

thesia or sedation by the physician anesthesiologist or Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist; 
b. The anesthesia or sedation record contains all the entries listed in R4-11-1304(D);
c. For intravenous access, the physician anesthesiologist or Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist uses a new infusion set,

including a new infusion line and new bag of fluid for each patient; and
d. The patient is continuously supervised from the administration of anesthesia or sedation until the termination of the anes-

thesia or sedation procedure and oxygenation, ventilation and circulation are stable.
M. The Section 1303 Permit holder shall not commence with a subsequent procedure or treatment until the patient is in monitored recov-

ery or meets the guidelines for discharge.
N. The Section 1303 Permit holder shall not use pharmacy compounded medications for sedation for a patient that is less than eight

years of age.
O. If a patient expectorates the sedation medication, the Section 1303 Permit holder shall not administer any additional dose of any seda-

tion medication.
P. All sedation medications used to achieve Enteral Moderate Sedation for a patient that is less than eight years of age, shall be adminis-

tered in the immediate presence of the Section 1303 Permit holder.
Q. A Section 1303 Permit holder shall not perform a procedure, with the administration of sedation, the Section 1303 Permit holder

anticipates to be longer than five hours, in a dental office or dental clinic.
R. The Section 1303 Permit holder shall establish written guidelines for discharging a patient.

R4-11-1304. Permit to Employ or Work Working with a QAP Physician Anesthesiologist or Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist
(CRNA)
A. This Section does not apply to a Section 1301 permit holder or a Section 1302 permit holder practicing under the provisions of R4-11-

1302(I) or a Section 1303 permit holder practicing under the provisions of R4-11-1303(H). A dentist may utilize a QAP physician
anesthesiologist or certified registered nurse anesthetist (CRNA) for anesthesia or sedation services while the dentist provides treat-
ment in the dentist’s office or dental clinic without after obtaining a Section 1301, 1302, or 1303 Permit if: Section 1304 permit issued
by the Board.
1. The physician anesthesiologist or CRNA treating dentist ensures the QAP meets the requirements as specified in R4-11-

1301(I)R4-11-1301(N).
2. The treating dentist permit holder shall provide all dental treatment and ensure ensures that the physician anesthesiologist or

CRNA QAP remains on in the dental office or on the dental clinic premises until any patient receiving anesthesia or sedation ser-
vices is discharged.

3. A dentist may renew a Section 1304 permit every five years by complying with R4-11-1307.The treating dentist notifies the
Board that the dentist is utilizing a QAP within 10 days of utilizing the QAP by providing the Board the following information:
a. The name of the QAP;
b. The license number of the QAP; and
c. The address where the treating dentist is utilizing the QAP to provide anesthesia or sedation services.

B. To obtain or renew a Section 1304 permit, a dentist shall:
1. Submit a completed application on a form provided by the Board office that, in addition to the requirements of subsections

(B)(2) and (3), and R4-11-1307 includes:
a. General information about the applicant such as:

i. Name;
ii. Home and office addresses and telephone numbers;
iii. Limitations of practice;
iv. Hospital affiliations;
v. Denial, curtailment, revocation, or suspension of hospital privileges;
vi. Denial of membership in, denial of renewal of membership in, or disciplinary action by a dental organization; and
vii. Denial of licensure by, denial of renewal of licensure by, or disciplinary action by a dental regulatory body; and

b. The dentist’s dated and signed affidavit stating that the information provided is true, and that the dentist has read and com-
plied with the Board’s statutes and rules;

2. On forms provided by the Board, a treating dentist who utilizes a QAP pursuant to this section, shall provide a dated and signed
affidavit attesting that any each dental office or dental clinic where the dentist provides treatment during administration of gen-
eral anesthesia General Anesthesia or sedation by a QAP physician anesthesiologist or CRNA:

a.1. Contains all the following properly operating functioning equipment and supplies during the provision of general anesthesia and
sedation: as specified in R4-11-1301(B)(2)(a) during the provision of anesthesia or sedation; and

i. Emergency drugs;
ii. Electrocardiograph monitor;
iii. Pulse oximeter;
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iv. Cardiac defibrillator or automated external defibrillator (AED);
v. Positive pressure oxygen and supplemental continuous flow oxygen;
vi. Suction equipment, including endotrachael, tonsillar or pharyngeal and emergency backup medical suction device;
vii. Laryngoscope, multiple blades, backup batteries and backup bulbs;
viii. Endotracheal tubes and appropriate connectors;
ix. Magill forceps;
x. Oropharyngeal and nasopharyngeal airways;
xi. Auxiliary lighting;
xii. Stethoscope; and
xiii. Blood pressure monitoring device; and

b.2. Maintains a staff of supervised personnel capable of handling procedures, complications, and emergency incidents. as specified
in R4-11-1301(B)(2)(b). All personnel involved in administering and monitoring general anesthesia or sedation shall hold a cur-
rent course completion confirmation in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) Health Care Provider level;

3. Hold a valid license to practice dentistry in this state; and
4. Provide confirmation of completing coursework within the last two years prior to submitting the permit application in one or

more of the following:
a. Advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) from the American Heart Association or another agency that follows the same pro-

cedures, standards, and techniques for training as the American Heart Association;
b. Pediatric advanced life support (PALS) in a practice treating pediatric patients; or
c. A recognized continuing education course in advanced airway management.

C. The treating dentist shall ensure a second person, other than the QAP is present with the patient during a procedure using General
Anesthesia or Deep Sedation and has:
1. A current certification in PALS;
2. A current certification in ACLS; and
3. Completed four clock hours of a Recognized Continuing Dental Education course in advanced airway management or General

Anesthesia or Deep Sedation within two years prior to the procedure.
C. After submitting the application and written evidence of compliance with requirements in subsection (B) to the Board, the applicant

shall schedule an onsite evaluation by the Board. After the applicant completes the application requirements and successfully com-
pletes the onsite evaluation, the Board shall issue the applicant a Section 1304 permit.
1. The onsite evaluation team shall consist of one dentist who is a Board member, or Board designee.
2. The onsite team shall evaluate the following:

a. The availability of equipment and personnel as specified in subsection (B)(2);
b. Proper documentation of controlled substances, that includes a perpetual inventory log showing the receipt, administration,

dispensing, and destruction of controlled substances; and
c. Proper recordkeeping as specified in subsection (E) by reviewing previous anesthesia or sedation records.

3. The evaluation team shall recommend one of the following:
a. Pass. Successful completion of the onsite evaluation; or
b. Conditional approval for failing to have appropriate equipment, proper documentation of controlled substances, or proper

recordkeeping. The applicant must submit proof of correcting the deficiencies before a permit is issued.
4. The evaluation of an additional dental office or dental clinic in which a Section 1304 permit holder provides treatment during the

administration general anesthesia or sedation by a physician anesthesiologist or CRNA may be waived by the Board staff upon
receipt in the Board office of an affidavit verifying compliance with subsection (B)(2).

D. Before utilizing a QAP to provide anesthesia or sedation services to a patient who is less than eight years of age, a treating dentist
shall verify the QAP:
1. Maintains a PALS certification;
2. Maintains the necessary equipment and medication listed in R4-11-1301(B)(2)(a); and
3. In the three years immediately preceding the date of service, has provided anesthesia or sedation services to at least 30 patients

who are less than eight years of age.
E. A Section 1304 permit holder treating dentist that utilizes a QAP that is not a dentist licensed in Arizona, shall keep an anesthesia or

sedation record for each general anesthesia and sedation procedure that includes the following entries meets the as requirements spec-
ified in R4-11-1301(H). required by a 1301 permit:
1. Pre-operative and post-operative electrocardiograph documentation;
2. Pre-operative, intra-operative, and post-operative, pulse oximeter documentation;
3. Pre-operative, intra-operative, and post-operative blood pressure and vital sign documentation; and
4. A list of all medications given, with dosage and time intervals and route and site of administration;
5. Type of catheter or portal with gauge;
6. Indicate nothing by mouth or time of last intake of food or water;
7. Consent form; and
8. Time of discharge and status, including name of escort.

E. For intravenous access, a Section 1304 permit holder shall ensure that the physician anesthesiologist or CRNA uses a new infusion
set, including a new infusion line and new bag of fluid for each patient.

F. A Section 1304 permit holder shall ensure that the physician anesthesiologist or CRNA utilizes supplemental continuous flow oxygen
for patients receiving general anesthesia or sedation for the duration of the procedure.

G.H. The Section 1304 permit holder treating dentist shall ensure the QAP continuously supervise supervises the patient from the admin-
istration of anesthesia or sedation until termination of the anesthesia or sedation procedure and oxygenation, ventilation, and circula-
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tion are stable. The Section 1304 permit holder treating dentist shall ensure the QAP does not commence with a subsequent procedure
or treatment until the patient is in monitored recovery or meets the guidelines for discharge.

I. The treating dentist shall ensure the QAP has established written guidelines for discharging a patient.
J. The treating dentist shall ensure that the QAP:

1. Has the properly operating equipment and supplies identified in R4-11-1301(B)(2)(a) during the provision of General Anesthe-
sia and Deep Sedation;

2. Has completed ACLS certification from the American Heart Association or another agency that follows the same procedures,
standards, and techniques for training as the American Heart Association within the two years prior to providing anesthesia or
sedation services;

3. Only uses use intraosseous access exclusively for emergency situations; and
4. Does not provide General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation services in a dental office or dental clinic for a procedure that the treating

dentist anticipates to be longer than five hours.
K. A treating dentist shall not perform a procedure in a dental office or dental clinic, with the administration of General Anesthesia or

Deep Sedation that the treating dentist anticipates to be longer than five hours.

R4-11-1305. Reports of Adverse Occurrences Mandatory Reporting
If a death, or incident requiring involving the activation of emergency medical response, occurs in a dental office or dental clinic, occurs
during the administration of or recovery from general anesthesia, deep sedation, moderate sedation, or minimal sedation, the permit holder
and the treating dentist involved shall submit a complete Article 13 Incident Report report of the incident consistent with A.R.S. § 32-
1272(D) to the Board within 10 seven business days after the occurrence.

R4-11-1306. Education; Continued Competency Enteral Sedation
A. To obtain a Section 1301, permit by satisfying the education requirement of R4-11-1301(B)(6), a dentist shall successfully complete

an advanced graduate or post-graduate education program in pain control.
1. The program shall include instruction in the following subject areas:

a. Anatomy and physiology of the human body and its response to the various pharmacologic agents used in pain control;
b. Physiological and psychological risks for the use of various modalities of pain control;
c. Psychological and physiological need for various forms of pain control and the potential response to pain control proce-

dures;
d. Techniques of local anesthesia, sedation, and general anesthesia, and psychological management and behavior modifica-

tion, as they relate to pain control in dentistry; and
e. Handling emergencies and complications related to pain control procedures, including the maintenance of respiration and

circulation, immediate establishment of an airway, and cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
2. The program shall consist of didactic and clinical training. The didactic component of the program shall:

a. Be the same for all dentists, whether general practitioners or specialists; and
b. Include each subject area listed in subsection (A)(1).

3. The program shall provide at least one calendar year of training as prescribed in R4-11-1301(B)(6)(a).
B. To maintain a Section 1301 or 1302 permit under R4-11-1301 or R4-11-1302, a permit holder shall:

1. Participate in 30 clock hours of continuing education every five years in one or more of the following areas:
a. General anesthesia,
b. Parenteral sedation,
c. Physical evaluation,
d. Medical emergencies,
e. Monitoring and use of monitoring equipment, or
f. Pharmacology of drugs and non-drug substances used in general anesthesia or parenteral sedation; and

2. Provide confirmation of completing coursework within the two years prior to submitting the renewal application from one or
more of the following:
a. Advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) from the American Heart Association or another agency that follows the same pro-

cedures, standards, and techniques for training as the American Heart Association;
b. Pediatric advanced life support (PALS) in a practice treating pediatric patients; or
c. A recognized continuing education course in advanced airway management;

3. Complete at least 10 general anesthesia, deep sedation or parenteral sedation cases a calendar year; and
4. Apply a maximum of six hours from subsection (B)(2) toward the continuing education requirements for subsection (B)(1).

C. To maintain a Section 1303 permit issued under R4-11-1303, a permit holder shall:
1. Participate in 30 clock hours of continuing education every five years in one or more of the following areas:

a. Oral sedation,
b. Physical evaluation,
c. Medical emergencies,
d. Monitoring and use of monitoring equipment, or
e. Pharmacology of oral sedation drugs and non-drug substances; and

2. Provide confirmation of completing coursework within the two years prior to submitting the renewal application from one or
more of the following:
a. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) Health Care Provider level from the American Heart Association, American Red

Cross or another agency that follows the same procedures, standards, and techniques for training as the American Heart
Association or American Red Cross;

b. Advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) from the American Heart Association or another agency that follows the same pro-
cedures, standards, and techniques for training as the American Heart Association;
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c. Pediatric advanced life support (PALS);
d. A recognized continuing education course in advanced airway management; and

3. Complete at least 10 oral sedation cases a calendar year.
A. A treating dentist does not need to obtain a Section 1303 Permit to administer a single Enteral Drug for the purpose of achieving Min-

imal Sedation.
B. The treating dentist shall not administer a single Enteral Drug in excess of the total maximum recommended dose per the package

insert for that Drug for unmonitored home administration.
C. The treating dentist may administer Nitrous oxide in combination with a single Enteral Drug for the purpose of achieving Minimal

Sedation.

R4-11-1307. Renewal of Permit
A. To renew a Section 1301 Permit, Section 1302 Permit, or Section 1303 permit Permit, and Pediatric Endorsement, the permit holder

shall:
1. Provide written documentation of compliance with the applicable continuing education requirements in R4-11-1306;
2. Provide written documentation of compliance with the continued competency requirements in R4-11-1306;
3.1. Before December 31 of the year the permit expires, submit a completed application on a form provided by the Board office as

described in R4-11-1301, R4-11-1302, or R4-11-1303; and
4.2. Not less than 90 days before the expiration of a permit holder’s current permit, arrange for an onsite evaluation as described in

R4-11-1301, R4-11-1302, or R4-11-1303.
B. To renew a Section 1304 permit, the permit holder shall:

1. Before December 31 of the year the permit expires, submit a completed application on a form provided by the Board office as
described in R4-11-1304; and

2. Not less than 90 days before the expiration of a permit holder’s current permit, arrange for an onsite evaluation as described in
R4-11-1304.

C.B.  After the permit holder successfully completes the evaluation, where applicable, and submits the required affidavits, the Board shall
renew a Section 1301 Permit, Section 1302 Permit, or Section 1303 Permit, 1304 permit, as applicable.

D.C. The Board may stagger due dates for renewal applications.
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NOTICES OF PUBLIC INFORMATION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC INFORMATION

STATE LAND DEPARTMENT
[M24-06]

1. The public information related to this notice:
Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1056(A) and A.R.S. § 41-1091(C), the Arizona State Land Department hereby provides notice that there
were no Substantive Policy Statements issued by the agency in 2021, 2022, and 2023. The current Directory and Substantive Pol-
icy Statements are located on the Department's website at azland.gov/reports-notices. Paper copies may be obtained in person or
via mail by contacting the Arizona State Land Department at 1110 West Washington Street, Suite 160, Phoenix, Arizona, 85007, or
by telephone at (602) 542-4631. The Department charges $0.50 per page for copying. Payment may be paid with check or money
order, made payable to the Arizona State Land Department.

2. The name and address of agency personnel with whom persons may communicate regarding this notice:
Name: Kristen Desmangles
Address: Arizona State Land Department

1110 W. Washington St., Suite 160
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-3130
Email: kdesmangles@azland.gov
Website: azland.gov

Agencies use Notices of Public Information to notify
stakeholders about other information that pertains to
rulemaking notices under A.R.S. § 41-1013(B)(14). When
required by law, agencies also use this notice to notify the
public about information not related to rulemaking.

The most common use for this notice is to correct
errors printed in a rulemaking notice or extend a public
comment period.

The Administrative Rules Division of the Office does
not provide a standard template for Notices of Public Infor-
mation because the content of this type of notice varies.

An agency shall follow the Office’s formatting stan-
dards when preparing this type of notice and use a num-
bered list of questions and answers. Additionally, an
agency receipt shall be filed with a Notice of Public Infor-
mation. 
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NOTICES OF SUBSTANTIVE POLICY STATEMENT
SUMMARIES AND LOCATION OF STATEMENTS

NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE POLICY STATEMENT

ARIZONA CORPORATION COMMISSION
[M24-07]

1. Title of the Substantive Policy Statement and the substantive policy statement number by which the substantive
policy statement is referenced:

Arizona Corporation Commission Policy Statement Regarding Acceptance and Docketing of an Application by a Public Service
Corporation; Decision No. 50795.

2. Date the substantive policy statement was issued and the effective date of the policy statement if different from
the issuance date:

The substantive policy statement was voted on and approved by the Commission at the April 8, 1980, Open Meeting. The Com-
mission issued Decision No. 50795 for the substantive policy statement on April 8, 1980, and determined it was effective on that
date.

3. Summary of the contents of the substantive policy statement:
This substantive policy statement addresses the procedures for acceptance and docketing of an application by public service corpo-
rations. The resolution details procedures that will be implemented if incomplete applications are received by the Commission. 

4. Federal or state constitutional provision; federal or state statute, administrative rule, or regulation; or final court
judgment that underlies the substantive policy statement:

Article XV, Section 2 of the Arizona Constitution; Arizona Revised Statutes Title 40

5. A statement as to whether the substantive policy statement is a new statement or a revision:
This is a new substantive policy statement.

6. The agency contact person who can answer questions about the substantive policy statement:
Name: Nicole M. Layton, Staff Attorney
Address: Arizona Corporation Commission

Legal Division
1200 W. Washington St.
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-3402
Fax: (602) 542-4870
Email: NLayton@azcc.gov
Website: www.azcc.gov

7. Information about where a person may obtain a copy of the substantive policy statement and the costs for
obtaining the policy statement:

A copy of the substantive policy statement may be obtained at no cost from the Commission’s website, https://
docket.images.azcc.gov/H000007593.pdf?i=1705620542563.

Substantive policy statements are written expressions
that inform the general public of an agency’s current
approach to rule or regulation practice as defined under
A.R.S. § 41-1001(24).

Agencies are required to prepare a Notice of Substan-
tive Policy Statement and publish the titles of its substan-
tive policy statements, a summary of statements, and its
website where full statements can be reviewed under
A.R.S. § 41-1013(B)(9). These notices are published in
this section of the Register.

Substantive policy statements are advisory only. A
substantive policy statement does not include internal pro-
cedural documents that only affect an agency’s internal
procedures and does not impose additional requirements
or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential
information or rules made in accordance with the APA.

Any person may petition an agency under A.R.S. § 41-
1033(A)(2) to review an existing agency practice or sub-
stantive policy statement that the petitioner alleges to con-
stitute a rule.

Contact the agency liaison listed under Item #6.
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NOTICE OF SUBSTANTIVE POLICY STATEMENT

ARIZONA CORPORATION COMMISSION
[M24-08]

1. Title of the Substantive Policy Statement and the substantive policy statement number by which the substantive
policy statement is referenced:

Arizona Corporation Commission Policy Statement Regarding Consideration of the Computer Oriented Cost of Service Informa-
tion System Funded by Innovative Rates Program Grant Pursuant to the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (PURPA);
Decision No. 52814.

2. Date the substantive policy statement was issued and the effective date of the policy statement if different from
the issuance date:

The substantive policy statement was voted on and approved by the Commission at the February 11, 1982, Open Meeting. The
Commission issued Decision No. 52814 for the substantive policy statement on February 13, 1982, and determined it was effective
on that date.

3. Summary of the contents of the substantive policy statement:
This substantive policy statement addresses the Commission resolution to use certain elements of PURPA’s innovative rates cost of
service information as standard practice in rate cases whenever possible.

4. Federal or state constitutional provision; federal or state statute, administrative rule, or regulation; or final court
judgment that underlies the substantive policy statement:

Article XV, Section 2 of the Arizona Constitution; Arizona Revised Statutes Title 40.

5. A statement as to whether the substantive policy statement is a new statement or a revision:
This is a new substantive policy statement.

6. The agency contact person who can answer questions about the substantive policy statement:
Name: Nicole M. Layton, Staff Attorney
Address: Arizona Corporation Commission

Legal Division
1200 W. Washington St.
Phoenix, AZ 85007

Telephone: (602) 542-3402
Fax: (602) 542-4870
Email: NLayton@azcc.gov
Website: www.azcc.gov

7. Information about where a person may obtain a copy of the substantive policy statement and the costs for
obtaining the policy statement:

A copy of the substantive policy statement may be obtained at no cost from the Commission’s website, https://
docket.images.azcc.gov/H000007591.pdf?i=1705620542563.
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The Register is published by volume in a calendar year (See “General Information” in the front of each issue for more information). 

Abbreviations for rulemaking activity in this Index include:

PROPOSED RULEMAKING
PN = Proposed new Section
PM = Proposed amended Section
PR = Proposed repealed Section
P# = Proposed renumbered Section

SUPPLEMENTAL PROPOSED RULEMAKING
SPN = Supplemental proposed new Section
SPM = Supplemental proposed amended Section
SPR = Supplemental proposed repealed Section
SP# = Supplemental proposed renumbered Section

FINAL RULEMAKING
FN = Final new Section
FM = Final amended Section
FR = Final repealed Section
F# = Final renumbered Section

SUMMARY RULEMAKING
PROPOSED SUMMARY
PSMN = Proposed Summary new Section
PSMM = Proposed Summary amended Section
PSMR = Proposed Summary repealed Section
PSM# = Proposed Summary renumbered Section
FINAL SUMMARY
FSMN = Final Summary new Section
FSMM = Final Summary amended Section
FSMR = Final Summary repealed Section
FSM# = Final Summary renumbered Section

EXPEDITED RULEMAKING
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PEN = Proposed Expedited new Section
PEM = Proposed Expedited amended Section
PER = Proposed Expedited repealed Section
PE# = Proposed Expedited renumbered Section
SUPPLEMENTAL EXPEDITED
SPEN = Supplemental Proposed Expedited new Section
SPEM = Supplemental Proposed Expedited amended Section
SPER = Supplemental Proposed Expedited repealed Section
SPE# = Supplemental Proposed Expedited renumbered Sec-
tion
FINAL EXPEDITED
FEN = Final Expedited new Section
FEM = Final Expedited amended Section
FER = Final Expedited repealed Section
FE# = Final Expedited renumbered Section

EXEMPT RULEMAKING
EXEMPT
XN = Exempt new Section
XM = Exempt amended Section
XR = Exempt repealed Section
X# = Exempt renumbered Section
EXEMPT PROPOSED
PXN = Proposed Exempt new Section
PXM = Proposed Exempt amended Section
PXR = Proposed Exempt repealed Section
PX# = Proposed Exempt renumbered Section
EXEMPT SUPPLEMENTAL PROPOSED
SPXN = Supplemental Proposed Exempt new Section
SPXR = Supplemental Proposed Exempt repealed Section
SPXM = Supplemental Proposed Exempt amended Section
SPX# = Supplemental Proposed Exempt renumbered Section
FINAL EXEMPT RULEMAKING
FXN = Final Exempt new Section
FXM = Final Exempt amended Section
FXR = Final Exempt repealed Section
FX# = Final Exempt renumbered Section

EMERGENCY RULEMAKING
EN = Emergency new Section
EM = Emergency amended Section
ER = Emergency repealed Section
E# = Emergency renumbered Section
EEXP = Emergency expired

RECODIFICATION OF RULES
RC = Recodified

REJECTION OF RULES
RJ = Rejected by the Attorney General

TERMINATION OF RULES
TN = Terminated proposed new Sections
TM = Terminated proposed amended Section
TR = Terminated proposed repealed Section
T# = Terminated proposed renumbered Section

RULE EXPIRATIONS
EXP = Rules have expired
See also “emergency expired” under emergency rulemaking

CORRECTIONS
C = Corrections to Published Rules 
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R20-5-664. PM-197
R20-5-665. PM-197
R20-5-666. PM-197
R20-5-667. PM-197
R20-5-669. PM-197
R20-5-680. PM-197

R20-5-681. PM-197
R20-5-682. PM-197
R20-5-683. PN-197
R20-5-801. PM-210
R20-5-802. PR-210
R20-5-803. PM-210
R20-5-804. PM-210
R20-5-805. PM-210
R20-5-806. PM-210
R20-5-807. PM-210
R20-5-808. PM-210
R20-5-809. PM-210
R20-5-810. PM-210
R20-5-811. PM-210
R20-5-812. PM-210
R20-5-813. PM-210
R20-5-814. PM-210
R20-5-815. PM-210
R20-5-817. PM-210
R20-5-818. PM-210
R20-5-819. PM-210
R20-5-820. PM-210
R20-5-821. PM-210
R20-5-822. PM-210
R20-5-823. PM-210
R20-5-824. PM-210
R20-5-825. PM-210
R20-5-825. PM-210
R20-5-826. PM-210
R20-5-827. PM-210
R20-5-828. PM-210
R20-5-829. PM-210
R20-5-901. PN-217
R20-5-902. PN-217
R20-5-903. PN-217
R20-5-904. PN-217
R20-5-905. PN-217
R20-5-906. PN-217
R20-5-907. PN-217
R20-5-908. PN-217

Infrastructure Finance Authority of 
Arizona, Water

R18-15-101. PEM-221

R18-15-102. PEM-221
R18-15-103. PEM-221
R18-15-104. PEM-221
R18-15-105. PEM-221
R18-15-107. PEM-221
R18-15-401. PEM-221
R18-15-402. PEM-221
R18-15-403. PEM-221
R18-15-404. PEM-221
R18-15-405. PEM-221
R18-15-901. PEN-221
R18-15-902. PEN-221
R18-15-903. PEN-221
R18-15-904. PEN-221
R18-15-905. PEN-221
R18-15-906. PEN-221
R18-15-1001. PEN-221
R18-15-1002. PEN-221
R18-15-1003. PEN-221
R18-15-1004. PEN-221
R18-15-1005. PEN-221
R18-15-1006. PEN-221

Nursing, Board of

R4-19-207. EM-66

Pharmacy, Board of

R4-23-101. FM-155
R4-23-119. FM-155
R4-23-201. FM-155
R4-23-202. FM-155
R4-23-203. FM-155
R4-23-205. FM-155
R4-23-301. FM-155
R4-23-302. FM-155
R4-23-303. FR-155
R4-23-304. FR-155
R4-23-305. FR-155

Regulatory Board of Physician 
Assistants, Arizona

R4-17-401. FXN-63
R4-17-402. FXN-63
 

Docket Opening, Notices of 
Rulemaking

Administrative Hearings, Office of; 2
A.A.C. 19; p. 142

Board of Dental Examiners, State; 4
A.A.C. 11; p. 246

Conservation Commission, Oil and
Gas; 12 A.A.C. 7; p. 180

Health Services, Department of -
Health Care Institutions:
Licensing; 9 A.A.C. 10; pp. 34-
35

Industrial Commission of Arizona;
20 A.A.C. 5; pp. 248-249

Infrastructure Finance Authority of
Arizona, Water; 18 A.A.C. 15;
pp. 247-248

Governor’s Office

Governor’s Regulatory Review
Council
Notices of Action Taken at Monthly

Meetings: p. 192

Ombudsman, Notices of Agency

Dental Examiners, State Board of; p.
39

Physical Therapy, Board of; p. 143
Psychologist Examiners, Board of; p.

184
State Retirement System, Arizona; p.

39
Transportation, Department of; p.

143
Water Resources, Department of; p.

76

OTHER NOTICES AND PUBLIC RECORDS INDEX

Other legal notices required to be published under the Administrative Procedure Act, such as Rulemaking Docket Openings, are
included in this Index by volume page number. Notices of Agency Ombudsman, Substantive Policy Statements, Proposed Delegation
Agreements, and other applicable public records as required by law are also listed in this Index by volume page number.

THIS INDEX INCLUDES OTHER NOTICE ACTIVITY THROUGH ISSUE 5 OF VOLUME 30.



286 Vol. 30, Issue 6 | Published by the Arizona Secretary of State | February 9, 2024

Indexes Arizona Administrative Register

Substantive Policy Statement, 
Notices of

Corporation Commission, Arizona; 
pp. 36-38, 73-75, 181-183
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2024 RULES EFFECTIVE DATES CALENDAR

A.R.S. § 41-1032(A), as amended by Laws 2002, Ch. 334, § 8 (effective August 22, 2002), states that a rule generally
becomes effective 60 days after the day it is filed with the Secretary of State’s Office. The following table lists filing dates
and effective dates for rules that follow this provision. Please also check the rulemaking Preamble for effective dates.

January February March April May June

Date Filed Effective
Date Date Filed Effective

Date Date Filed Effective
Date Date Filed Effective

Date Date Filed Effective
Date Date Filed Effective

Date

1/1 3/1 2/1 4/1 3/1 4/30 4/1 5/31 5/1 6/30 6/1 7/31

1/2 3/2 2/2 4/2 3/2 5/1 4/2 6/1 5/2 7/1 6/2 8/1

1/3 3/3 2/3 4/3 3/3 5/2 4/3 6/2 5/3 7/2 6/3 8/2

1/4 3/4 2/4 4/4 3/4 5/3 4/4 6/3 5/4 7/3 6/4 8/3

1/5 3/5 2/5 4/5 3/5 5/4 4/5 6/4 5/5 7/4 6/5 8/4

1/6 3/6 2/6 4/6 3/6 5/5 4/6 6/5 5/6 7/5 6/6 8/5

1/7 3/7 2/7 4/7 3/7 5/6 4/7 6/6 5/7 7/6 6/7 8/6

1/8 3/8 2/8 4/8 3/8 5/7 4/8 6/7 5/8 7/7 6/8 8/7

1/9 3/9 2/9 4/9 3/9 5/8 4/9 6/8 5/9 7/8 6/9 8/8

1/10 3/10 2/10 4/10 3/10 5/9 4/10 6/9 5/10 7/9 6/10 8/9

1/11 3/11 2/11 4/11 3/11 5/10 4/11 6/10 5/11 7/10 6/11 8/10

1/12 3/12 2/12 4/12 3/12 5/11 4/12 6/11 5/12 7/11 6/12 8/11

1/13 3/13 2/13 4/13 3/13 5/12 4/13 6/12 5/13 7/12 6/13 8/12

1/14 3/14 2/14 4/14 3/14 5/13 4/14 6/13 5/14 7/13 6/14 8/13

1/15 3/15 2/15 4/15 3/15 5/14 4/15 6/14 5/15 7/14 6/15 8/14

1/16 3/16 2/16 4/16 3/16 5/15 4/16 6/15 5/16 7/15 6/16 8/15

1/17 3/17 2/17 4/17 3/17 5/16 4/17 6/16 5/17 7/16 6/17 8/16

1/18 3/18 2/18 4/18 3/18 5/17 4/18 6/17 5/18 7/17 6/18 8/17

1/19 3/19 2/19 4/19 3/19 5/18 4/19 6/18 5/19 7/18 6/19 8/18

1/20 3/20 2/20 4/20 3/20 5/19 4/20 6/19 5/20 7/19 6/20 8/19

1/21 3/21 2/21 4/21 3/21 5/20 4/21 6/20 5/21 7/20 6/21 8/20

1/22 3/22 2/22 4/22 3/22 5/21 4/22 6/21 5/22 7/21 6/22 8/21

1/23 3/23 2/23 4/23 3/23 5/22 4/23 6/22 5/23 7/22 6/23 8/22

1/24 3/24 2/24 4/24 3/24 5/23 4/24 6/23 5/24 7/23 6/24 8/23

1/25 3/25 2/25 4/25 3/25 5/24 4/25 6/24 5/25 7/24 6/25 8/24

1/26 3/26 2/26 4/26 3/26 5/25 4/26 6/25 5/26 7/25 6/26 8/25

1/27 3/27 2/27 4/27 3/27 5/26 4/27 6/26 5/27 7/26 6/27 8/26

1/28 3/28 2/28 4/28 3/28 5/27 4/28 6/27 5/28 7/27 6/28 8/27

1/29 3/29 2/29 4/29 3/29 5/28 4/29 6/28 5/29 7/28 6/29 8/28

1/30 3/30 3/30 5/29 4/30 6/29 5/30 7/29 6/30 8/29

1/31 3/31 3/31 5/30 5/31 7/30
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July August September October November December

Date Filed Effective
Date Date Filed Effective

Date Date Filed Effective
Date Date Filed Effective

Date Date Filed Effective
Date Date Filed Effective

Date

7/1 8/30 8/1 9/30 9/1 10/31 10/1 11/30 11/1 12/31 12/1 1/30

7/2 8/31 8/2 10/1 9/2 11/1 10/2 12/1 11/2 1/1 12/2 1/31

7/3 9/1 8/3 10/2 9/3 11/2 10/3 12/2 11/3 1/2 12/3 2/1

7/4 9/2 8/4 10/3 9/4 11/3 10/4 12/3 11/4 1/3 12/4 2/2

7/5 9/3 8/5 10/4 9/5 11/4 10/5 12/4 11/5 1/4 12/5 2/3

7/6 9/4 8/6 10/5 9/6 11/5 10/6 12/5 11/6 1/5 12/6 2/4

7/7 9/5 8/7 10/6 9/7 11/6 10/7 12/6 11/7 1/6 12/7 2/5

7/8 9/6 8/8 10/7 9/8 11/7 10/8 12/7 11/8 1/7 12/8 2/6

7/9 9/7 8/9 10/8 9/9 11/8 10/9 12/8 11/9 1/8 12/9 2/7

7/10 9/8 8/10 10/9 9/10 11/9 10/10 12/9 11/10 1/9 12/10 2/8

7/11 9/9 8/11 10/10 9/11 11/10 10/11 12/10 11/11 1/10 12/11 2/9

7/12 9/10 8/12 10/11 9/12 11/11 10/12 12/11 11/12 1/11 12/12 2/10

7/13 9/11 8/13 10/12 9/13 11/12 10/13 12/12 11/13 1/12 12/13 2/11

7/14 9/12 8/14 10/13 9/14 11/13 10/14 12/13 11/14 1/13 12/14 2/12

7/15 9/13 8/15 10/14 9/15 11/14 10/15 12/14 11/15 1/14 12/15 2/13

7/16 9/14 8/16 10/15 9/16 11/15 10/16 12/15 11/16 1/15 12/16 2/14

7/17 9/15 8/17 10/16 9/17 11/16 10/17 12/16 11/17 1/16 12/17 2/15

7/18 9/16 8/18 10/17 9/18 11/17 10/18 12/17 11/18 1/17 12/18 2/16

7/19 9/17 8/19 10/18 9/19 11/18 10/19 12/18 11/19 1/18 12/19 2/17

7/20 9/18 8/20 10/19 9/20 11/19 10/20 12/19 11/20 1/19 12/20 2/18

7/21 9/19 8/21 10/20 9/21 11/20 10/21 12/20 11/21 1/20 12/21 2/19

7/22 9/20 8/22 10/21 9/22 11/21 10/22 12/21 11/22 1/21 12/22 2/20

7/23 9/21 8/23 10/22 9/23 11/22 10/23 12/22 11/23 1/22 12/23 2/21

7/24 9/22 8/24 10/23 9/24 11/23 10/24 12/23 11/24 1/23 12/24 2/22

7/25 9/23 8/25 10/24 9/25 11/24 10/25 12/24 11/25 1/24 12/25 2/23

7/26 9/24 8/26 10/25 9/26 11/25 10/26 12/25 11/26 1/25 12/26 2/24

7/27 9/25 8/27 10/26 9/27 11/26 10/27 12/26 11/27 1/26 12/27 2/25

7/28 9/26 8/28 10/27 9/28 11/27 10/28 12/27 11/28 1/27 12/28 2/26

7/29 9/27 8/29 10/28 9/29 11/28 10/29 12/28 11/29 1/28 12/29 2/27

7/30 9/28 8/30 10/29 9/30 11/29 10/30 12/29 11/30 1/29 12/30 2/28

7/31 9/29 8/31 10/30 10/31 12/30 12/31 3/1
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REGISTER PUBLISHING DEADLINES

The Secretary of State’s Office publishes the Register weekly. There is a three-week turnaround period between a
deadline date and the publication date of the Register. The weekly deadline dates and issue dates are shown below.
Council meetings and Register deadlines do not correlate. Also listed are the earliest dates on which an oral proceeding
can be held on proposed rulemakings or proposed delegation agreements following publication of the notice in the
Register.

Deadline Date 
Friday, 5:00 p.m.

(*earlier date due to holiday)

Register
Publication Date

Oral Proceeding may be 
scheduled on or after

November 17, 2023 December 8, 2023 January 8, 2024

November 24, 2023 December 15, 2023 January 16, 2024

December 1, 2023 December 22, 2023 January 22, 2024

December 8, 2023 December 29, 2023 January 29, 2024

December 15, 2023 January 5, 2024 February 5, 2024

December 22, 2023 January 12, 2024 February 12, 2024

December 29, 2023 January 19, 2024 February 20, 2024

January 5, 2024 January 26, 2024 February 26, 2024

January 12, 2024 February 2, 2024 March 4, 2024

January 19, 2024 February 9, 2024 March 11, 2024

January 26, 2024 February 16, 2024 March 18, 2024

February 2, 2024 February 23, 2024 March 25, 2024

February 9, 2024 March 1, 2024 April 1, 2024

February 16, 2024 March 8, 2024 April 8, 2024

February 23, 2024 March 15, 2024 April 15, 2024

March 1, 2024 March 22, 2024 April 22, 2024

March 8, 2024 March 29, 2024 April 29, 2024

March 15, 2024 April 5, 2024 May 6, 2024

March 22, 2024 April 12, 2024 May 13, 2024

March 29, 2024 April 19, 2024 May 20, 2024

April 5, 2024 April 26, 2024 May 28, 2024

April 12, 2024 May 3, 2024 June 3, 2024

April 19, 2024 May 10, 2024 June 10, 2024

April 26, 2024 May 17, 2024 June 17, 2024

May 3, 2024 May 24, 2024 June 24, 2024
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GOVERNOR’S REGULATORY REVIEW COUNCIL DEADLINES FOR 2024
(MEETING DATES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE)

[M23-72]

GOVERNOR’S REGULATORY REVIEW COUNCIL DEADLINES

The following deadlines apply to all Five-Year Review 
Reports and any adopted rule submitted to the Governor’s 
Regulatory Review Council. Council meetings and 
Register deadlines do not correlate. We publish these 
deadlines under A.R.S. § 41-1013(B)(15).

All rules and Five-Year Review Reports are due in the 
Council office by 5 p.m. of the deadline date. The Council’s 
office is located at 100 N. 15th Ave., Suite 305, Phoenix, AZ 
85007. For more information, call (602) 542-2058 or visit 
https://grrc.az.gov.

 * Materials must be submitted by 5 PM on dates listed as a deadline for placement on a particular agenda. Placement on a particular agenda
is not guaranteed.

DEADLINE FOR
PLACEMENT ON AGENDA*

FINAL MATERIALS
SUBMITTED TO COUNCIL

DATE OF COUNCIL
STUDY SESSION

DATE OF COUNCIL 
MEETING

Tuesday
December 19, 2023

Tuesday
January 23, 2024

Tuesday
January 30, 2024

Tuesday
February 6, 2024

Tuesday
January 23, 2024

Tuesday
February 20, 2024

Tuesday
February 27, 2024

Tuesday
March 5, 2024

Tuesday
February 20, 2024

Tuesday
March 19, 2024

Tuesday
March 26, 2024

Tuesday
April 2, 2024

Tuesday
March 19, 2024

Tuesday
April 23, 2024

Tuesday
April 30, 2024

Tuesday
May 7, 2024

Tuesday
April 23, 2024

Tuesday
May 21, 2024

Wednesday
May 29, 2024

Tuesday
June 4, 2024

Tuesday
May 21, 2024

Tuesday
June 18, 2024

Tuesday
June 25, 2024

Tuesday
July 2, 2024

Tuesday
June 18, 2024

Tuesday
July 23, 2024

Tuesday
July 30, 2024

Tuesday
August 6, 2024

Tuesday
July 23, 2024

Tuesday
August 20, 2024

Tuesday
August 27, 2024

Wednesday
September 4, 2024

Tuesday
August 20, 2024

Tuesday
September 17, 2024

Tuesday
September 24, 2024

Tuesday
October 1, 2024

Tuesday
September 17, 2024

Tuesday
October 22, 2024

Tuesday
October 29, 2024

Tuesday
November 5, 2024

Tuesday
October 22, 2024

Tuesday
November 19, 2024

Tuesday
November 26, 2024

Tuesday
December 3, 2024

Tuesday
November 19, 2024

Tuesday
December 24, 2024

Tuesday
December 31, 2024

Tuesday
January 7, 2025

Tuesday
December 24, 2024

Tuesday
January 21, 2025

Tuesday
January 28, 2025

Tuesday
February 4, 2025
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